First Indian Netflix Original Show - ‘Sacred Games’

JaDed

Test Star
Netflix announces first original series from India based on Vikram Chandra’s Sacred Games - See more

Netflix Inc., the world’s leading Internet television network, announced a new Netflix original series based on the critically-acclaimed best-selling novel Sacred Games by Indian author Vikram Chandra. Shot on location in India, this Hindi-English series will be produced in partnership with Phantom Films, one of India’s leading production houses, and be available to Netflix members globally upon completion.

Set in Mumbai, Sacred Games delves into the city’s intricate web of organized crime, corruption, politics and espionage that lie beneath India’s economic renaissance. It is an epic masterwork of exceptional richness and power that interweaves the lives of the privileged, the famous, the wretched and the bloodthirsty. .

“Over the last few years, I’ve watched with great excitement and pleasure as Netflix has transformed narrative television with its ground-breaking, genre-bending shows,” commented Mr. Chandra. “I’m confident that all the colour and vitality and music of the fictional world I’ve lived with for so long will come fully alive on the large-scale canvas provided by Netflix. I’m thrilled to be working with Netflix and Phantom Films.”

Sponsored: Open a demat account with Sharekhan & learn online trading

“We are very happy to start this journey with Netflix by producing Vikram’s outstanding story, set in Mumbai ” said Madhu Mantena of Phantom Films. “And we are extremely confident that, together we will create some exciting and groundbreaking Television content from hereon.”

“We are delighted to partner with creative powerhouse, Phantom Films, to bring Vikram Chandra’s epic novel to life with the best Indian and global film talent available today,” said Erik Barmack, vice president of international original series at Netflix. “ Sacred Games reinforces our commitment to bring the authenticity of local stories to Netflix members across 190 countries worldwide.”

http://indianexpress.com/article/entertainment/entertainment-others/netflix-announces-first-original-series-from-india-based-on-a-novel-2836978/

----

Hopefully the TV viewing gets a bit better.

• sacredgamescover.jpg
    sacredgamescover.jpg
    367.7 KB · Views: 1,136
Netflix Original Indian Tv show -- "Sacred Games" starring Saif Ali Khan and Nawazuddin --

Directed by Anurag Kashyap(gangs of Wasseypur, Ugly, Blackfriday) and Vikram Aditya Motwane(Udaan, Lootera)

Watched 3 Episodes so Far.

Brilliant so far! Up there with many great shows from any country.

Will be a Game changer as far as Indian shows Go. In Hindi and English.

Trailers:

<iframe width="854" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/28j8h0RRov4" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Saif Ali Khan is truly the king of bollywood. Always comes up with meaty performances and the only guy from Bollywood who can play James Bond.

Very slick production, looks almost western standard with lots of dramatic slo-mo in the trailer. For some reason it was really convincing until the beautiful damsel breathed to police sardar - " Aiy neeD a Kopp lyke yoo!"

(Translated: 'I need a cop like you' in desi accent).

One of the few things coming out of India I’ve been very excited about. Anurag Kashyap + Nawaz combo. Also seems well made from the trailer.

Gem of a show. Started watching today and totally loved it. Mind blowing acting from Nawazuddin, Radhika Apte and Saif.

Its not a family show by the way. Directed by Anurag Kashyap so those who have seen Gangs of Wasseypur would know what I’m talking about.

If you have exams or important work next day please don’t start because I’m sure you’re to going be busy for next 7-8 hours.

Lots of subliminal messages.. in the opening credits, hindu architecture is shown as dull and dark, but muslim architecture is bright and beautiful.. angry mob shown with our holy symbol..also some pretty blasphemous remarks about Bhagwan from nawazuddin.

Are you sending him to Pakistan?

Will be watching it, looks good.

As per reddit, its theme is similar to Alt Balaji's shows; controversial in nature, right? Alt Balaji has better web TV series than what has Netflix has done for India. I think Indians should pay attention to Alt Balaji as well especially the one that has Karishma Sharma. :ksi

Haven’t seen any Alt Balaji’s show and i have no idea who Karishma Sharma is.

Sacred Games is the 1st Netflix show with an Indian Director, actors and story. And they have done an amazing job. You should give it a try if you don’t mind Hindi profanities.

One more indian show coming from Netflix called "ghoul"
<div style="position:relative;height:0;padding-bottom:56.25%"><iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/zg0N4L4mwFk?rel=0&controls=0&ecver=2" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" style="position:absolute;width:100%;height:100%;left:0" allowfullscreen></iframe></div>

From the makers of Insidious, Get Out and Udta Punjab - Ghoul is a chilling series about a prisoner who arrives at a remote military interrogation centre and turns the tables on his interrogators, exposing their most shameful secrets. You can fight the demons of this world but what about the ones that aren't?

<div style="position:relative;height:0;padding-bottom:56.25%"><iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/zg0N4L4mwFk?rel=0&controls=0&ecver=2" width="640" height="360" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" style="position:absolute;width:100%;height:100%;left:0" allowfullscreen></iframe></div>

From the makers of Insidious, Get Out and Udta Punjab - Ghoul is a chilling series about a prisoner who arrives at a remote military interrogation centre and turns the tables on his interrogators, exposing their most shameful secrets. You can fight the demons of this world but what about the ones that aren't?
Wow this looks seriously good!

Seems to be inspired from those turkish Horror movies

Sounds like a great idea for a show to be honest, would love to see an American show with that theme.

Haven’t seen any Alt Balaji’s show and i have no idea who Karishma Sharma is.

Sacred Games is the 1st Netflix show with an Indian Director, actors and story. And they have done an amazing job. You should give it a try if you don’t mind Hindi profanities.

What you call hindi profanities are actually urdu profanities.

Total number of Bollywood movies I have seen in my life: 2

However the trailer looks good enough to give this production a chance.

Turkish horror movies are basically jin horror movies & i suspect the ghoul in this series is actually a jinn as there was a moulvi in the trailer too talking about it's horror's.

Some good turkish horror movies that i have seen are baskin, dabbe series & Siccin series.

Im very curious now. Is Sacred Games like a mystery, who did it or crime espionage type show??

Turkish horror movies are basically jin horror movies & i suspect the ghoul in this series is actually a jinn as there was a moulvi in the trailer too talking about it's horror's.

Some good turkish horror movies that i have seen are baskin, dabbe series & Siccin series.

Thank you so much

It was just okay. You get hundreds of these churned out in US/Euro TV industry but definitely a novelty for indian standards. I noticed the end credits of this series has a lot of a turkish names. Maybe netflix outsourced some of the production to a turkish crew?

Btw I don't think these web productions have to go through the censor board because they are more graphic than the usual mainstream or theatre releases.

Finally watched all 8 episodes at one go,amazing show really liked it,didn't read the book but happy they showed so many different languages which is how Mumbai is,well acted.

Saif finally got the Sikh character right this time unlike Love Aaj Kal, althought would had been nice to see Diljit in this character.

Finally watched all 8 episodes at one go,amazing show really liked it,didn't read the book but happy they showed so many different languages which is how Mumbai is,well acted.

Saif finally got the Sikh character right this time unlike Love Aaj Kal, althought would had been nice to see Diljit in this character.

Amazing analysis. I would try to find time to watch the remaining episodes. Saif is very underrated. He has a national award for acting. Who is diljit?

It was just okay. You get hundreds of these churned out in US/Euro TV industry but definitely a novelty for indian standards. I noticed the end credits of this series has a lot of a turkish names. Maybe netflix outsourced some of the production to a turkish crew?

Btw I don't think these web productions have to go through the censor board because they are more graphic than the usual mainstream or theatre releases.

Yes you’re right. There is no censorship on web series currently. Thats why you see that many of intimate scenes and nudity in Sacred Games and yes the language, the profanity. Anurag Kashyap has taken full advantage of no censorship here.

But expecting it soon as web series are getting very popular in India these days.

Yes you’re right. There is no censorship on web series currently. Thats why you see that many of intimate scenes and nudity in Sacred Games and yes the language, the profanity. Anurag Kashyap has taken full advantage of no censorship here.

But expecting it soon as web series are getting very popular in India these days.

Indeed. Web series should be censored so that the videos watched during regular hours should not have profanity and only those which are watched in late night be allowed some adult content.

Great season.

It's nice enough to keep you interested from start to finish.

I finished it.. lots and lots of unanswered questions and no closure.. it was a fantastic effort and would have been great if they gave us some answers.. I am ok with setting up a second season and some loose threads but this seemed more like the pre interval part of a movie and not the first season of a tv series because of lack of answers and closure.

You can clearly see that this series has been immensely inspired by True Detective, although i am not sure the book it’s based on cane first or the first season of True Detective. It could be a coincidence they seem so similar though.

Spoiler warning: please stop here if you don’t want to read a mild spoiler!!!

At the end of the day I hope the show runners don’t do a cop out by somehow making ISI or Pakistan as the master mind behind it all. There were enough signs in the last few scenes to forshadow a nuclear fall out..

I finished it.. lots and lots of unanswered questions and no closure.. it was a fantastic effort and would have been great if they gave us some answers.. I am ok with setting up a second season and some loose threads but this seemed more like the pre interval part of a movie and not the first season of a tv series because of lack of answers and closure.

You can clearly see that this series has been immensely inspired by True Detective, although i am not sure the book it’s based on cane first or the first season of True Detective. It could be a coincidence they seem so similar though.

Spoiler warning: please stop here if you don’t want to read a mild spoiler!!!

At the end of the day I hope the show runners don’t do a cop out by somehow making ISI or Pakistan as the master mind behind it all. There were enough signs in the last few scenes to forshadow a nuclear fall out..

There are 4 seasons apparently, it's only 25% and imo that was good ending and yes you are right about fall out, which pretty much answered everything that started with 25 day theory of Nawaz.

Tbf it's a book ,and not a serial killer but probably a political mastermind Guruji's story the third Baap,and the book came out in 2006 so maybe you need to ask TD makers regarding the similarities which you seem to see and not me at least.

Some review mentioned how they felt Saifs character was similar to Emily Blunt in sicario. This whole thing confused me a lot and makes me feel that everyone wants to say something 'feels.like that' when there are so many differences.

Binge watched the series the whole weekend after reading the review in NYT & i am now obsessed with the Bolly-Noir genre - Cant wait for season 2 now! Loved the character of Sartaj’s sidekick & that transgender molly. Good to see something dark & gritty finally coming out of the sub-continent.

Birju Amar hai(something like that) new series coming soon, trailer is out

Binge watched the series the whole weekend after reading the review in NYT & i am now obsessed with the Bolly-Noir genre - Cant wait for season 2 now! Loved the character of Sartaj’s sidekick & that transgender molly. Good to see something dark & gritty finally coming out of the sub-continent.

How is the NYT review?

Ugly , Black Friday -you can't check director 's other work for that genre.

Watch Manorama six feet under & johnny gaddar. They are fine examples of bolly-noir

The issue is these actors and actresses always bring in a a bollywood style acting so even when they are serious it looks funny and hard to take it seriously.

Is this Saif Ali Khan's finest performance? I have never found him to be a top notch actor, but he has been brilliant in this series.

Son of famous indian cricketer and former actress, Saif got dozens of opportunities in movies and by failing again and again he finally became a decent actor. Decent not extraordinary actor. Any actor who is guaranteed opportunity after opportunity despite failures will eventually become good provided the desire to learn and work hard exists. Saif had the desire and worked hard so is decent now.

Second season is out guys. The reviews are great, I may watch it today itself.

Have seen 2 episodes. Much faster pace than the season 1.

On episode 3 so far of season 2, all pretty similar to the first season, Gaitunday wears a funky shirts, Sartaj still depressed and everyone still has no idea what the hell is going on.

Season 2 was horrible. Overrated show. Typical Indian bollywood masala type stuff.

Don't understand all the hype.

Just finished season 2.

Apart from the lazy and often forced references to Pakistan and ISI, it was pretty good. Not as good as season 1 though.

havent seen any seasons, but have read some blogs and watched some clips, i think it has some nude scenes, the blog also mention that every second indian web series have some nude scenes, may i ask why ist necessary to have a nude scene in almost every second web series ? its looks like the case of Indian industry dreams comes true. cant just focus on content ?

My biggest problem with the second season (apart from the forced references to Pakistan) was how the Indian government sent an aunty to defuse the bomb, who thought it was sensible to try and fluke the password by drawing random lines even though they only had 5 attempts and 11 minutes to work with.

You would think the government would send a team of computer hackers and RAW super-agents who would actually use some logic and deductions to try and decode the password.

The one thing I find really funny is how unfit the lead character is. He’s always put in scenarios where he is chasing someone and can never catch them. Also, he’s quite bad at apprehending people and always manages to get beaten up instead. However, he’s not too bad at investigating things or chasing up leads.

The show became stupid with the whole creating a new world after a global nuclear holocaust started by Pakistan.

havent seen any seasons, but have read some blogs and watched some clips, i think it has some nude scenes, the blog also mention that every second indian web series have some nude scenes, may i ask why ist necessary to have a nude scene in almost every second web series ? its looks like the case of Indian industry dreams comes true. cant just focus on content ?

Indian producers tend to copy western content, just like in every other field of life, whether fashion, language or lifestyle. Nudity is in demand for the western palate, so Indian producers are probably guessing that Indians abroad want to watch some nudity in their homegrown entertainment as well.

The series is by far the best thing I have seen coming out of Indian entertainment until the point when they return to the 'Aashram'. It just kind of dies and loses its interesting elements.

Amazing cinematography when depicting mumbai and kenya.

Read the plot online, a part of my brain died. To preserve the functioning part I will gladly skip.

My biggest problem with the second season (apart from the forced references to Pakistan) was how the Indian government sent an aunty to defuse the bomb, who thought it was sensible to try and fluke the password by drawing random lines even though they only had 5 attempts and 11 minutes to work with.

You would think the government would send a team of computer hackers and RAW super-agents who would actually use some logic and deductions to try and decode the password.
hey

They were going to but the fancy computer guys were bust waiting in line for for their H1B visa approvals

Just finished season 2.

Apart from the lazy and often forced references to Pakistan and ISI, it was pretty good. Not as good as season 1 though.

This IS Modi's India after all.

West be like: Sex sells
India be like: Pakistan sells

Season 2 was good. Season 1 was better.

I bet the bomb exploded because he saw Gaitonde's ghost before entering the password.

This IS Modi's India after all.

West be like: Sex sells
India be like: Pakistan sells

It is based on a 2006 novel, so it has nothing to do with Modi. I haven’t read the book but most reviews state that it is a pretty faithful adaption.

Loved Season 1, couldn't get past episode 3 of Season 2.

Anyone wanting to experience the same thrill, suspense, badassery of Sacred Games 1, I'd vigorously recommend The Family Man with Manoj Bajpayee, who humor was a notch above too. It has taken Indian TV series to the next level and has provided fair, balanced and realistic views of what is going on in India at the moment.

The parts about Pakistan are hilarious as usual with everyone speaking with "Janaab" and what not but it still is a very honest and introspective effort.

Also better not read the negative reviews.

Loved Season 1, couldn't get past episode 3 of Season 2.

Anyone wanting to experience the same thrill, suspense, badassery of Sacred Games 1, I'd vigorously recommend The Family Man with Manoj Bajpayee, who humor was a notch above too. It has taken Indian TV series to the next level and has provided fair, balanced and realistic views of what is going on in India at the moment.

The parts about Pakistan are hilarious as usual with everyone speaking with "Janaab" and what not but it still is a very honest and introspective effort.

Also better not read the negative reviews.
Agree regarding Family Man.

As for Sacred Games Season-II, there was no sense in keeping the climax of the series in suspense. First season was simply great, 2nd not so much.

As for this Hindu-Muslim thing, I think Hinduism was bashed much more than Muslims. Am surprised so far Sanghis have not yet burnt effigies of Anurag Kashyap, one of their pet hates.

Indian producers tend to copy western content, just like in every other field of life, whether fashion, language or lifestyle. Nudity is in demand for the western palate, so Indian producers are probably guessing that Indians abroad want to watch some nudity in their homegrown entertainment as well.

Hmmm..... No.
Web series are not censored by film censor board, so you see more nudity. Plus, Anurag Kashyap doesn't shy away from showing extreme violence and nudity.

Hmmm..... No.
Web series are not censored by film censor board, so you see more nudity. Plus, Anurag Kashyap doesn't shy away from showing extreme violence and nudity.

You are missing the point. Indian censor boards are there to serve the interests of the Indian community, so if they have stricter censorship that is because the people of India demand it. Web series show more violence and nudity because they are obviously aimed at a wider audience which has less sensitivity to violence and nudity, hence why I said they are probably aimed more at Indians abroad.

Your point would have made sense if most (if not all) web series showed nudity. I have seen all the decent shows on Netflix and Amazon Prime and only SG showed nudity. And SG was directed by Anurag Kashyap.

Why would most web series show nudity? The point is that Indians abroad are not as sensitive to nudity so that gives directors like your man Anurag some licence to show it IF they want to. Point being, they are not restricted by Indian censorship laws.