"Foreign players have told me that quality of bowling in PSL is better than in the IPL": Wasim Akram

ISLAMABAD, Jun 04 (APP):Sultan of Swing Wasim Akram believes Pakistan Super League was the second biggest tournament in the World of Twenty20, saying the quality of bowling in (PSL) was much better than Indian Premier League (IPL).

“PSL was the second biggest tournament in the World of T20 after IPL. But to compare PSL with Indian Premier League (IPL) is not fair. PSL has just started and it was the fifth addition which was played in Pakistan, whereas IPL is a matured tournament which was being played from 11 to 12 years,” he said while speaking on Basit Ali’s YouTube channel.

Wasim, who had won 17 Man-of-the-Match awards in 104 Tests, said he had been asking the foreign players only one question during the five years he had spent with different PSL teams Islamabad United, Multan Sultans and now Karachi Kings, which was the difference between both the leagues.

“The answer I got was the quality of bowling in PSL was very much better than IPL. We came to knew how great PSL was after it was held in Pakistan. Thanks to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), PSL Franchise team owners and to the Pakistanis,” he said.

Wasim, who bagged 414 wickets and scored 2,898 runs in 104 Tests, said our young batsmen lack confidence as there was still a lot to be improved in Pakistan cricket. “We will get quality batsmen and players in the team, when our club, under16 and under19 cricket will improve,” he said and lauded batsmen Peshawar Zalmi’s Haider Ali and Multan Sultan’s Zeeshan Ashraf.

To a question, he ranked five best batsmen in the world according to him which included by ranking West Indies Great Sir Vivian Richards on top followed by New Zealand’s Martin Crowe, West Indies Brian Lara, former Pakistani skipper Inzamam-ul-Haq and Indian Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar.

Speaking about Pakistan’s upcoming tour to England which includes three Tests and as many T20s, he said it would be a big test for Pakistan batsmen including Babar Azam as cricket was already very difficult in England with duke ball.

“Due to COVID-19 pandemic, the scenario will be different this time, as players will be in isolation and quarantined. Tests will be conducted prior to every match and there will be no crowd in the stadiums,” Wasim, who turned 54 on Wednesday (June 3), said.

The legendary pacer, who bagged 502 wickets and scored 3,717 runs in 356 ODIs, said it would be a big test for head coach Misbah ul Haq and co. with the duke ball against the likes of England’s pacers James Anderson and Stuart Broad, who move the ball around all day.

“Apart from Babar, Haris Sohail can be an asset for Pakistan team if he remains physically fit and lose weight.

Shan Masood is a good player but needs to work on leaving the ball and driving as he mainly plays on the on-side, which will make the English bowlers bowl him outside off-stump,” he said and added among bowlers Shaheen Shah Afridi would do well in England as long as he learns the length to bowl-on.

https://www.app.com.pk/quality-of-bowling-in-psl-better-than-ipl-wasim-akram/

Is there any doubt? PSL 5 ended the careers of anyone remotely mediocre. You got to be on the mark or you are going for 6x6 in PSL

It's been known since 3 years bro.

PSL rules the cricket world in terms of bowling.
CPL rules the cricket world in terms of batting.
IPL for entertainment
BBL for management and innovations

If the PSL is held in PK for 3 years and more the dross will be eliminated on the good wickets. PSL has some cracker Jacks coming through with likes of Naseem, SSA and Dilbar, we need more young batsmen to come through and the spinners are poor in the PSL

Bowlers who play in IPL
1.Jofra Archer
2.Kagiso Rabada
3.Jasprit Bumrah
4.Trent Boult
5.Pat Cummins
6.Mitchell Starc
7.Dale Steyn
8.Lungi Ngidi
9.Imran Tahir
10.Mohd Shami
11.Bhuvi Kumar
12.Navdeep Saini
13.Ben Stokes
14.Shakib al hasan
15.Rashid khan
Literally every nations's top bowler plays in IPL(except pak),the only reason PSL matches are low scoring is the quality of pitches in UAE(and obviously low quality batsmen) ,nothing else

Bowlers who play in IPL
1.Jofra Archer
2.Kagiso Rabada
3.Jasprit Bumrah
4.Trent Boult
5.Pat Cummins
6.Mitchell Starc
7.Dale Steyn
8.Lungi Ngidi
9.Imran Tahir
10.Mohd Shami
11.Bhuvi Kumar
12.Navdeep Saini
13.Ben Stokes
14.Shakib al hasan
15.Rashid khan
Literally every nations's top bowler plays in IPL(except pak),the only reason PSL matches are low scoring is the quality of pitches in UAE(and obviously low quality batsmen) ,nothing else

And literally only 5 good T20 bowlers (Bumrah, Starc, Bhuvi, Archer, Rashid) in that list.

Bowlers who play in IPL
1.Jofra Archer
2.Kagiso Rabada
3.Jasprit Bumrah
4.Trent Boult
5.Pat Cummins
6.Mitchell Starc
7.Dale Steyn
8.Lungi Ngidi
9.Imran Tahir
10.Mohd Shami
11.Bhuvi Kumar
12.Navdeep Saini
13.Ben Stokes
14.Shakib al hasan
15.Rashid khan

Archer, Bumrah. Cummins and Rashid would add to the PSL. The rest are good bowlers but either they are out of form like Rabada, or not really top T20 bowlers like Starc and Boult.

Bowlers who play in IPL
1.Jofra Archer
2.Kagiso Rabada
3.Jasprit Bumrah
4.Trent Boult
5.Pat Cummins
6.Mitchell Starc
7.Dale Steyn
8.Lungi Ngidi
9.Imran Tahir
10.Mohd Shami
11.Bhuvi Kumar
12.Navdeep Saini
13.Ben Stokes
14.Shakib al hasan
15.Rashid khan

I believe Malinga, Mujib, Sam Curran, Andrew Tye, Nortje, Behrendorff, Oshane Thomas, NC Nile, Southee, CDH, Andre Russell, Narine, Lockie Ferguson, McClenaghan, Stanlake, Sodhi, Hazlewood, Kane Richardson as well, but not sure Starc is there.

I think, Wasim’s point is made based on the domestic resources, but IPL tends to play foreign pacers more in the allotted quota of four foreigners.

Maybe the quality of batting in the PSL beeing poorer vs the IPL might have something to do with it?

Even if you have better batsman, they won’t score more than 180-210

I think, Wasim’s point is made based on the domestic resources, but IPL tends to play foreign pacers more in the allotted quota of four foreigners.

This is indeed one of the factors. Even the domestics ones IPL plays are the likes of Thakur, Chahar who are really crap.

I believe Malinga, Mujib, Sam Curran, Andrew Tye, Nortje, Behrendorff, Oshane Thomas, NC Nile, Southee, CDH, Andre Russell, Narine, Lockie Ferguson, McClenaghan, Stanlake, Sodhi, Hazlewood, Kane Richardson as well, but not sure Starc is there.

I would have agreed if this was 2015 but the year is 2020. Pakistan's domestic resources might still be better but the difference is not enough to compensate for the lack of foreign exports.
The matches are low scoring bcoz of the quality of pitch,UAE pitches are not suited for t20is.The ball never really comes onto the bat while in IPL we have venues like chinnaswamy,wankhede where 200 is not good enough.

I would have agreed if this was 2015 but the year is 2020. Pakistan's domestic resources might still be better but the difference is not enough to compensate for the lack of foreign exports.
The matches are low scoring bcoz of the quality of pitch,UAE pitches are not suited for t20is.The ball never really comes onto the bat while in IPL we have venues like chinnaswamy,wankhede where 200 is not good enough.

This year the pitches in PK were excellent and any dross bowled got dealt with. In the UAE your point would have been valid.

This is indeed one of the factors. Even the domestics ones IPL plays are the likes of Thakur, Chahar who are really crap.

Still, he shouldn’t have made such cheap statements for publicity stunts - it doesn’t fit Wasim Akram. The point that the Indian poster raised here, added to the names I have listed - if someone asks him to do the same for PSL and validate his statement, he will end up with red face, because there is a difference between Wasim Akram & Abdul Razzaq (should be).

If any foreign player had said this to him, then he should have realised that money is talking here - not many IPL foreigners play in PSL (very few common players), means unless it’s from Watson, AdV, BMac or Shakib (may be few more), there is absolutely no merit in such statements.

PSL should live on it’s own right and build own identity - such statements are good for PAK Passion’s self esteem, but not for Wasim Akram’s reputation even if it was true. Have you ever heard any Indian even pony cricketer comparing PSL’s batting (or anything) with IPL, let alone players of similar stature like Tendulkar, Kapil, Gavaskar?

Still, he shouldn’t have made such cheap statements for publicity stunts - it doesn’t fit Wasim Akram. The point that the Indian poster raised here, added to the names I have listed - if someone asks him to do the same for PSL and validate his statement, he will end up with red face, because there is a difference between Wasim Akram & Abdul Razzaq (should be).

If any foreign player had said this to him, then he should have realised that money is talking here - not many IPL foreigners play in PSL (very few common players), means unless it’s from Watson, AdV, BMac or Shakib (may be few more), there is absolutely no merit in such statements.

PSL should live on it’s own right and build own identity - such statements are good for PAK Passion’s self esteem, but not for Wasim Akram’s reputation even if it was true. Have you ever heard any Indian even pony cricketer comparing PSL’s batting (or anything) with IPL, let alone players of similar stature like Tendulkar, Kapil, Gavaskar?

I absolutely agree with you and most of the Pakistan posters also would agree I'm sure. These statements I expect from someone like a Shaoib Akthar but not Wasim Akram for sure.

I don’t think, it was true even in 2015, but this shouldn’t even be a concern for Wasim Akram.

A bowling attack is formed with 5 bowlers - for Asian condition, two of them has to be spinners. What IPL is doing is they are filling the spin quota from local resources (unless you are someone like Rashid, Mujib, Narine, Shakib .... level), plays explosive foreign batsmen and at least two regular (for their respective team) pacers in every playing XI; add few quality Indian pacers in the mix, each of the eight teams has an attack comparable to top international T20 sides.

You have to look at it this way.

PSL is free from Indian bowlers which results in less deterioration of quality

But it has Pakistani bowlers which adds to quality

Net result, for anyone good at maths is a huge +++ in favour of PSL

Even BCCI knows this but they will never admit it in a press conference that IPL is inferior to PSL because it could result in loss of revenue

The same batsmen who face IPL bowlers have probably told Wasim that they find PSL bowlers more difficult to score against.

The usual baseless nonsense that gets repeated all the time.

Fact: the pool of foreign pacers in IPL is vastly superior to PSL.

Fact: India’s bowling has been largely superior to Pakistan during the IPL era. Apart from the Champions Trophy and perhaps 2012-13 period, Indian bowling has been better than Pakistan’s bowling in the IPL era.

So who are these bowlers whose presence in PSL have made it the best bowling league in the world, and who are these bowlers whose absence in the IPL have made the quality of bowling in IPL poor? Can someone provide a list?

IPL is superior in quality to bilateral T20 international cricket (where the top players are often rested) and on par with the WT20.

It is not comparable to PSL or any other cheap imitation that is levels below the giant that IPL is today.

This statement wouldn’t have come from Wasim if he was still on KKR’s payroll instead of jumping from one PSL franchise to another, and these so-called “foreign” players who told Wasim this are probably some rubbish players who are not good enough to get IPL contracts and are thus reduced to feeding our fragile egos to keep the PSL income flowing.

I understand Pakistan’s inferiority complex with respect to India. Considering the gulf between the two cricket nations and where India stands today compared to Pakistan, it is inevitable that one would be a victim of inferiority complex.

However, that does not mean that you make yourself look like a laughing stock on every occasion. PSL is a good league and has the potential to further improve but let’s not embarrass ourselves by comparing it to IPL which is a completely different beast in terms of stature and brand value.

The tragedy is that even Pakistani players would not think twice if the choice was between PSL and IPL.

It is a pity to see Pakistan cricket reduced to such mediocrity that its entire existence is now relevant only when compared to India.

“India is afraid of playing Pakistan” - Sarfraz Ahmed, captain of Pakistan before India smashed his team from Ras-al-Khaima to Abu Dhabi twice without Kohli.

The other day, a former Pakistan Test batting great with an average of 26.76 claimed that Naseem Shah with his “genuine pace and swing” claimed that Kohli would be his bunny,

A sea of Pakistani ex-players have claimed that India deliberately lost to England to eliminate Pakistan from the World Cup, without realizing that eliminating England was in India’s best interests as far as their aim of winning the World Cup was concerned.

Now Wasim is recycling the same old nonsense that has been disproved and dispelled a dozen times over the years.

Perhaps we should make people happy and just say what they want to hear - PSL has the best bowling among all leagues and IPL is burning with jealously because they cannot get the likes of Naseem, Hasnain, Irfan, Dilbar, Rumman Raees, Sohail Khan, Rahat etc. from playing in their inferior league instead of Bumrah, Starc, Shami and Cummins.

As the great Ghalib once said, hamko maaloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat lekin, dil ke khush rakhne ko Ghalib ye khayaal acha hai.

Congratulations - PSL has better bowling than IPL. Aap ko aap ki behtar bowling mubarak ho.

Do we have even 1 sensible former cricketer amongst us???

Recycled trash:
1) PSL bowling is best in the world
2) Pakistan has no shortage of talent
3) India always loses deliberately to hurt Pakistan when it can
4) India is afraid to play Pakistan

Do we have even 1 sensible former cricketer amongst us???

Recycled trash:
1) PSL bowling is best in the world
2) Pakistan has no shortage of talent
3) India always loses deliberately to hurt Pakistan when it can
4) India is afraid to play Pakistan

Rameez Raja?

PSL is mostly played in UAE where almost every game is a low scoring one. Even in last Asia cup there all the matches were low scoring and 250 was par score like in the 90s. However, low score does not equate to superior bowling. If I am not wrong, there were many high scoring games as soon as PSL moved back to Pakistan in the last season.

How can a tournament with bowlers like Hasnain, Shaheen Afridi, Amir, Sohail Tanvir, Chris Jordan, Samit Patel etc is better than Starc, Bumrah, Rabada, Cummins, Kuldeep, Mustafiz, Shakib, Stokes, Rashid Khan?

Also what seperates IPL from the rest is it has the money power to buy players at their absolute peak. I mean its no good to buy a Dale Steyn now just for the name sake when he is almost finished. IPL invested and bought him around 10 years ago when he was in his destructive best. Similarly, it wont mean much to buy a Rabada or Starc say 5-6 years later. Buying big name is one thing but buying them at right time is where IPL excels. Ofcourse, it comes with a premium price tag and only IPL can afford it.

Take Ben Stokes for example. Can any league other than IPL offer him 15 crores for 2 months of service? Same Ben Stokes will play for even 80 Lakh rupees say 10 years later when his skills will deroriate. Pat Cummins who charges 15.5 crores will settle down to maybe a crore in later years. Its all basic economics - demand and supply. You pay $1000 and buy Iphone11 now or wait for few years to buy it when its value reduces. This is what differentiates between the two leagues.

Also, I am curious did those foreign players (plural) proactively approached Wasim out of the blue to tell him that PSL has better bowling quality than IPL or they were specifically asked this question? I find it very odd, especially for a foreign player in the middle of a tournament to get engaged into these Indo-Pak comparisons unless they were asked about it.

Nothing against PSL which is a pretty decent league but there is also nothing in PSL which is better than IPL. Its time for PSL to work its way up like other leagues (BBL, CPL) are doing rather than comparing with IPL every time. IPL is a league which now has a rich history, tradition, brand value and a league where many legends of the game of yesteryears have played. No other cricket league is even remotely close, let alone being better.

This is basically saying the Indian and Australian bowling combined is better or worse than pakistan
In tests its a clear cut answer
In t20s and looking at the lower scores in psl as a whole its got to be down to the quality of the bowling

Last time I checked Warner & Labuchangne were eating Pak bowlers alive Smith was waiting in the dressing room for days swatting flies!!

PSL is mostly played in UAE where almost every game is a low scoring one. Even in last Asia cup there all the matches were low scoring and 250 was par score like in the 90s. However, low score does not equate to superior bowling. If I am not wrong, there were many high scoring games as soon as PSL moved back to Pakistan in the last season.

How can a tournament with bowlers like Hasnain, Shaheen Afridi, Amir, Sohail Tanvir, Chris Jordan, Samit Patel etc is better than Starc, Bumrah, Rabada, Cummins, Kuldeep, Mustafiz, Shakib, Stokes, Rashid Khan?

Also what seperates IPL from the rest is it has the money power to buy players at their absolute peak. I mean its no good to buy a Dale Steyn now just for the name sake when he is almost finished. IPL invested and bought him around 10 years ago when he was in his destructive best. Similarly, it wont mean much to buy a Rabada or Starc say 5-6 years later. Buying big name is one thing but buying them at right time is where IPL excels. Ofcourse, it comes with a premium price tag and only IPL can afford it.

Take Ben Stokes for example. Can any league other than IPL offer him 15 crores for 2 months of service? Same Ben Stokes will play for even 80 Lakh rupees say 10 years later when his skills will deroriate. Pat Cummins who charges 15.5 crores will settle down to maybe a crore in later years. Its all basic economics - demand and supply. You pay $1000 and buy Iphone11 now or wait for few years to buy it when its value reduces. This is what differentiates between the two leagues.

Also, I am curious did those foreign players (plural) proactively approached Wasim out of the blue to tell him that PSL has better bowling quality than IPL or they were specifically asked this question? I find it very odd, especially for a foreign player in the middle of a tournament to get engaged into these Indo-Pak comparisons unless they were asked about it.

Nothing against PSL which is a pretty decent league but there is also nothing in PSL which is better than IPL. Its time for PSL to work its way up like other leagues (BBL, CPL) are doing rather than comparing with IPL every time. IPL is a league which now has a rich history, tradition, brand value and a league where many legends of the game of yesteryears have played. No other cricket league is even remotely close, let alone being better.

Be curious no longer, players talk to each and other and coaches all the time. You may not agree with their sentiment but say its made up is just rubbish

You are mixing up money with quality.

People who compare football leagues to cricket leagues should read this thread lol. Don't you find it funny that a player who plays in IPL praises IPL when he is in India and then moves on to next league and praise that country's league? This process continues until he has played in all the cricket leagues in the World lol.

Imagine if Cristiano Ronaldo does the same and play in multiple leagues all over the world. There is no loyalty in cricket leagues. Most of their fans are confused. They don't even know which team and player they should support. :inti

And how do you define quality here ? And quality of what ? The players ? The games? Marketing? Because in pretty much every metric, IPL is miles ahead of any other franchise league in the world let alone PSL.

IPL teams > International Teams > Other Leagues

I hope we send one of our IPL team in the next T20 World Cup because our national team can't win these ICC tournaments for some reason. :inti

You cant buy quality without money. Ofcourse there will be odd occasions where you will get top local talents here and there but a franchise league's quality depends on quality international superstars. And you need money to afford them which only IPL can for now.

As I said before, a bowling attack Bumrah, Cummins, Rabada, Starc, Rashid is better than Shinwari, Afridi, Naseem, Amir, Samit Patel, Chris Jordan. We all agree with it (hopefully). But PSL can never afford likes of Cummins, Starc or Rabada now at their peak years. And hence it can never match the quality of IPL.

We can all get sentimental and brag about our own league. But in a world of economics- you pay what you get.

You cant buy quality without money. Ofcourse there will be odd occasions where you will get top local talents here and there but a franchise league's quality depends on quality international superstars. And you need money to afford them which only IPL can for now.

As I said before, a bowling attack Bumrah, Cummins, Rabada, Starc, Rashid is better than Shinwari, Afridi, Naseem, Amir, Samit Patel, Chris Jordan. We all agree with it (hopefully). But PSL can never afford likes of Cummins, Starc or Rabada now at their peak years. And hence it can never match the quality of IPL.

We can all get sentimental and brag about our own league. But in a world of economics- you pay what you get.

No I mean you are getting carried away with the amount IPL is earning.

Bhaijaan, can we please buy one allrounder and one match finisher for our Indian LOI teams? I have been waiting since IPL 1. :inti

Just look at the best bowlers in the IPL, then look at the best bowlers in the PSL. If you think the PSL bowlers are better you are just deluded and ridiculously biased towards Pakistan cricket.

Bhaijaan, can we please buy one allrounder and one match finisher for our Indian LOI teams? I have been waiting since IPL 1. :inti

The same old arguement from you which does not fit the bill. This thread is about franchise cricket and its quiet obvious that I was specifically refering to IPL. Isnt it quiet obvious that you cant buy players for internationals? But in league cricket you can buy quality with money and that was my point. Not sure why you always drag international cricket whenever we discuss IPL. Both are totally different discussion.

For the umpteenth time, IPL is under no obligation to select all rounder for team India. Think we discussed this many times before but for some strange reason you does not seem to understand or intentionally being ignorant.

Wasim Akram speaking on Sky Sports: “IPL is definitely the number 1 league in the world, it’s been there for 11-12 years, PSL has had 5 seasons. I spoke to many foreign overseas players during the PSL and they said that as far as bowling is concerned, PSL is definitely the number 1 league in the world. But in general terms, I reckon PSL is number 2. Now it’s happening in Pakistan and eventually we will touch IPL but it’ll take some time.”

A lot of top bowlers from IPL also play in PSL.

Also, Pakistan generally have better fast bowling reserve than India.

lol c'mon. just no. Pakistani reserve bowlers are quite good and may be better than indian reserves but the main bowlers of india are superior.

Obviously it's better than that overrated league.PSL's bowling is way better than that league.Even young fast bowling talent can match the international standard in t20s.

We're talking about the league as a whole. That's atleast 20-30 bowlers. The main bowlers constitute 4 players. The fact that some of the worlds best batsmen can go to IPL and score freely but struggle in PSL is a telling sign.

Luke Ronchi, Ravi Bopara etc was very good in PSL but failed IPL..

Your point is?

Chris Gayle and McCullum were gold dust in IPL but failed like no tomorrow in PSL.

lol c'mon. just no. Pakistani reserve bowlers are quite good and may be better than indian reserves but the main bowlers of india are superior.

Are you suggesting that wasim akram is lying or is it the foreign contingent that's lying?

IPL is the bench mark of all cricket leagues. The fact that commentators speaks about why a Babar is not playing in IPL and not why Kohli is not there in PSL sums it up.

It is due to pitches and conditions. As we witnessed in last Asia cup, scoring runs freely in UAE is tough and 250 was still par score there in ODIs. Lets have a season of PSL in Pakistan and you will see big scores.

Bowlers who play in IPL
1.Jofra Archer
2.Kagiso Rabada
3.Jasprit Bumrah
4.Trent Boult
5.Pat Cummins
6.Mitchell Starc
7.Dale Steyn
8.Lungi Ngidi
9.Imran Tahir
10.Mohd Shami
11.Bhuvi Kumar
12.Navdeep Saini
13.Ben Stokes
14.Shakib al hasan
15.Rashid khan

IPL bowling is very weak if foreign bowlers excluded.PSL bowling is still strong without any foreign bowlers.Batting and spin bowling in PSL is below par.

Your point is?

Chris Gayle and McCullum were gold dust in IPL but failed like no tomorrow in PSL.

Lol i know someone will mention Gayle.. Did he or McCullum plays PSL in their prime years? They mostly sits on the bench by the time they joined PSL..

Gayle flopped is PSL right after having a monster season in IPL.

Shabash next

Gayle flopped is PSL right after having a monster season in IPL.

Shabash next

Yeah 227 runs in 10 innings is a monster season, Sabash (that too after playing most of his game in chinnaswamy stadium) :14::14:

Playing above your league munnay.

Gayle has averaged above 40 three times in the last five seasons of the IPL. He played two seasons of PSL averaged 20 odd and 17. Went unpicked in 2018.

Obviously he couldn't feast on Indian trundlers in PSL hence flopped like no tomorrow.

This "Pakistan has great bowlers" cliche only started because as rivals, they wanted to oppose our bonafide line of "India has great batsmen", and bowling is the opposite of batting.

Fact remains they have produced 0 great bowlers since Wasim and Waqar. Everybody since has been a flash in the pan, and any given Pakistani line-up always contains some kid who is touted as the next big thing but falls by the wayside sooner rather than later.

Playing above your league munnay.

Gayle has averaged above 40 three times in the last five seasons of the IPL. He played two seasons of PSL averaged 20 odd and 17. Went unpicked in 2018.

Obviously he couldn't feast on Indian trundlers in PSL hence flopped like no tomorrow.

My bad then.. So why the likes of Bopara and Ronchi failed here.. Seems they don't like Indian trundler 🙏

For a decade or so pakistani fans acknowledged that their fast bowling was struggling to live up to the standards set by generations gone by. It's hard to argue against the skills possessed by Amir and Asif pre-ban so saying the talent was non-existent is ludicrous. It is only now, since that dark period that the likes of Shaheen and Naseem are being touted as exciting prospects.

Lots have to do with team selection as well. Often times Misbah as captain in UAE played only one pacer in Gul.

This pathetic guy is back to ruin our cricket.

This "Pakistan has great bowlers" cliche only started because as rivals, they wanted to oppose our bonafide line of "India has great batsmen", and bowling is the opposite of batting.

Fact remains they have produced 0 great bowlers since Wasim and Waqar. Everybody since has been a flash in the pan, and any given Pakistani line-up always contains some kid who is touted as the next big thing but falls by the wayside sooner rather than later.

Shoaib was a great but otherwise i totally agree. 2010-2020 was a disaster for Pakistan fast bowling but it didn't stop the pace narrative being touted at every opportunity. We are clinging onto it due to precious little else to shout about right now.

It’s alarming that Waqar Younis was the last Pakistani fast bowler to reach 200 test wickets. I hope Shaheen, Naseem and the other young and upcoming quicks turn the tide.

Startling stat. India have produced a few bowlers who have achieved that feat - Zaheer Khan, Javagal Srinath and even Ishant.

Proves my point where I said Pakistani fast bowlers since Wasim and Waqar are just 15-test wonders who are hyped to the moon before they disappear.

Who are the bowlers whose absence in the IPL and presence in the PSL have made PSL’s bowling superior?

Can anyone list the names?

I asked the above question previously and no one answered.

Pakistan bowlers have been living off the reputations of Wasim/Waqar era for long when the truth is they have been very ordinary and poor for the last two decades.

Pakistani bowlers who are good in t20s-
1.Amir
2.Haris Rauf
3.Shaheen
4.Shadab
Indian bowlers who are good in t20s-
1.Bumrah
2.Bhuvi
3.Chahal
4.Ashwin

The likes of Musa,shinwari,Hassan Ali ,Riaz are on the same level as indian trundlers.
Wahab is probably the most overrated bowler,always gets hammered against us.Hassan Ali is not suited for t20is,shinwari is skilled but doesn't have the bowling brains and Musa is ordinary.

Wasim Akram is speaking truth because a friend of mine was present in the hotel where the two foreign players approached him and said Wasim bhai PSL ki bowling quality kaafi lajabawb lag rahi hae, bohot maza aa raha hae yahan khel ke :yk

Wasim is clearly over hyping.
Take any parameter, IPL is 5 times greater than PSL.