From united front to solo exit: PCB’s cowardly backtrack in the Bangladesh-ICC fiasco and its reputational cost

Bhaijaan

Hall of Famer
In the theatre of international cricket politics, words travel faster than deeds, and memory is rarely short. The Pakistan Cricket Board now finds itself at the center of such a moment, one where intent, posture, and follow-through are being weighed in the unforgiving court of public perception.

When Bangladesh raised its demands before the ICC regarding the ICC WT20 2026, PCB appeared to stand firmly by its side. Signals from Pakistan suggested a shared front, even hinting that if Bangladesh’s concerns were brushed aside, Pakistan too would reconsider its participation. The message was loud enough to echo across cricketing corridors: solidarity, or at least the performance of it.

Then came the ICC’s refusal. Bangladesh, standing alone at the decisive moment, chose to pull out of the tournament. And suddenly, the script changed. PCB, which had earlier adopted a muscular tone, now seems set to participate as originally scheduled, quietly stepping back from the brink it once gestured toward.

Predictably, social media has had a field day. Memes have flourished, jokes have sharpened, and accusations have followed. Many are framing this as a bluff being called, suggesting that Pakistan’s earlier stance may have emboldened Bangladesh to take an extreme step, only for Pakistan to retreat when consequences became real. Fair or not, the narrative gaining traction is uncomfortable: that of an ally who speaks loudly but exits early.

The deeper question, however, extends beyond memes and momentary embarrassment. In the ecosystem of international sport, credibility matters. Alliances, especially among boards that often find themselves on the margins of power, are built less on formal treaties and more on trust, consistency, and the willingness to share risk. If support appears conditional or symbolic rather than substantive, future partners may hesitate before taking similar cues at face value.

For PCB, the reputational impact may not be immediate or catastrophic. Cricket boards are pragmatic, memories can be selective, and geopolitics often overrides sentiment. Yet such episodes leave faint but persistent marks. The next time Pakistan signals solidarity, counterparts may quietly ask: will this hold when the cost comes due?

In the end, this is not merely about participation in one tournament. It is about the currency of reliability. In international cricket, as in diplomacy, standing together means little if standing apart becomes the default at the decisive moment.

I think nothing is more cowardly than a nation who go ahead and play cricket with the bully who has been causing them decades of distress and humiliation.

If that’s not being a habitual coward, then what is?

@DeadlyVenom @KingKhanWC @Suleiman @Cpt. Rishwat @Major @Slim @Bilal7 @Bewal Express @emranabbas @LordJames @Junaids @Savak @HalBass9 @gazza619

What was initially being seen as a brave and never seen before stand from the PCB ultimately turned out to be all talk and no substance as when it mattered the most and when the time came for PCB to follow up on its aggressive posturing at the ICC in support of a new ally, they conveniently backtracked as if nothing happened.
Bangladesh is already history now for them who went to fight at the ICC despite their non existent clout, counting on PCB’s strengths, but when they were thrown out, PCB just issued some harmless statements and moved on in life m, announced their squad and all.

There is a cost to everything and this bluff being called out by the ICC-BCCI nexus is gonna haunt them for a long time:

I would be upset if Pakistan pulls out. I am even rooting for them to lift the cup....

Bangladesh Cricket Board President Aminul Islam when he was asked, "Which country stood by Bangladesh during the ICC vote."

Aminul Islam said, "Only our brother Pakistan was by our side. Pakistan, which itself has endured various pressures and blows, supported Bangladesh's position in the ICC. When India raised one question after another against Bangladesh, Pakistan answered each question so firmly that they did not have the courage to ask any more questions after that."

Bangladesh Cricket Board President Aminul Islam when he was asked, "Which country stood by Bangladesh during the ICC vote."

Aminul Islam said, "Only our brother Pakistan was by our side. Pakistan, which itself has endured various pressures and blows, supported Bangladesh's position in the ICC. When India raised one question after another against Bangladesh, Pakistan answered each question so firmly that they did not have the courage to ask any more questions after that."

They didn’t ask questions they just voted to kick out bangldesh from the world cup

@DeadlyVenom @KingKhanWC @Suleiman @Cpt. Rishwat @Major @Slim @Bilal7 @Bewal Express @emranabbas @LordJames @Junaids @Savak @HalBass9 @gazza619

What was initially being seen as a brave and never seen before stand from the PCB ultimately turned out to be all talk and no substance as when it mattered the most and when the time came for PCB to follow up on its aggressive posturing at the ICC in support of a new ally, they conveniently backtracked as if nothing happened.
Bangladesh is already history now for them who went to fight at the ICC despite their non existent clout, counting on PCB’s strengths, but when they were thrown out, PCB just issued some harmless statements and moved on in life m, announced their squad and all.

There is a cost to everything and this bluff being called out by the ICC-BCCI nexus is gonna haunt them for a long time:

This new Dharma is confusing bro . For the last 12 months you’ve been calling Bangladeshi players , the team , the nation all kinds of derogatory or negative terms . Now you’re supporting Bangladesh ?

Surely your upset and frustration for Bangladesh be directed at the RSS , I mean BCCI ?

The team has been announced but it doesn’t mean Pakistan will take part.The decision has been left to government.I hope the government shows spine and boycotts the wc.It will be very disappointing if Pakistan participates.

Where has the PCB back tracked?
Sequence of events in this entire saga:

1. BCCI: “KKR, remove Mustafizur.” KKR: “Done”
  2. BCB: gets offended “Fine then, move our matches out of India.”
  3. PCB & Mohsin Naqvi: “Bangladesh tum aage badho, hum tumhare saath hain 🤝
    (background music intensifies)
  4. PCB: “Bro, play your matches in Pakistan, problem solved.”
  5. Nobody listens. PCB: “Okay then… we might pull out of WT20.” 👀
  6. ICC meets all member boards. Result: 14 boards say “We stand with ICC.” PCB: left on read
  7. BCB: “Uri baba saar 🥺, give us 24 hours saar, need to talk to govt saar.”
  8. BCB + some players meet govt. Decision: “Yeah no India trip.”
  9. Rumours: “Scotland might replace Bangladesh. ”BCB: “Saar we have 180 million viewers, please saar.” 📺
  10. BCB: “We will go to dispute committee and CAS.” ⚖️
  11. Next day ICC: “Congrats Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿, here’s your new fixture.”
  12. Mohsin Naqvi: “We will consult govt and decide whether to play or boycott. ICC must prepare for a 22nd team”
  13. ICC: “If Pakistan also pulls out, severe sanctions incoming.”
  14. PCB: “Relax yaar, just joking 😂” Announces team faster than a T20 powerplay.

The team has been announced but it doesn’t mean Pakistan will take part.The decision has been left to government.I hope the government shows spine and boycotts the wc.It will be very disappointing if Pakistan participates.

In that case the squad announcement should have been delayed.

PCB is now being seen as a dishonest and an unreliable ally in the cricketing circles.

All I want to know is what change between yesterday and today?

Last night when I went to sleep, Naqvi said PCB is waiting for PM Sehbaz Sheriff to come back to Pakistan before making a decision (whether to take part in WT20).

This morning they announced the team.

Can anyone fill in the blank what happened in between?

All I want to know is what change between yesterday and today?

Last night when I went to sleep, Naqvi said PCB is waiting for PM Sehbaz Sheriff to come back to Pakistan before making a decision (whether to take part in WT20).

This morning they announced the team.

Can anyone fill in the blank what happened in between?

Trolling happened. Naqvi once again trolled our fans, bro. We need to get better at trolling. Time to unite against Naqvi. Awaaz kahan tak jaani chahiye? :yk :inti

1. ICC: “If Pakistan also pulls out, severe sanctions incoming.”
  2. PCB: “Relax yaar, just joking 😂” Announces team faster than a T20 powerplay
You are lying

I told you this on the other thread. Pakistan media announced yesterday (before these fake sanction threats) that PCB will announce their squad today.

6. ICC meets all member boards. Result: 14 boards say “We stand with ICC.” PCB: left on read
  9. Rumours: “Scotland might replace Bangladesh. ”BCB: “Saar we have 180 million viewers, please saar.” 📺
  12. Mohsin Naqvi: “We will consult govt and decide whether to play or boycott. ICC must prepare for a 22nd team”
  14. PCB: “Relax yaar, just joking 😂” Announces team faster than a T20 powerplay.

More like...

BCCI - remove Mustafizur. Don't ask us why. It's not because of security, umm, actually maybe it is. It's because, ummm, just don't ask. Just remove him.
BCB - This is a bit weird. Why would you remove him? Is it not safe? If it's not safe for him it won't be safe for our team. Let's not take the chance. Move our games to Sri Lanka. Afterall, the world cup is already being joint hosted by them, and it's not as if there is no precedent for this. I mean, India got to move their games to Dubai in the CT. And then couldn't justify not doing the same for Pakistan from now on.
PCB - Fair point. Agreed. Can't have double standards. We support your stance.
BCCI- No there are no double standards. Don't ask us to explain why there are no double standards. But there are no double standards.
ICC - Yeah, we have to agree with BCCI.
BCB - This is a bit weird lads.
PCB - Yeah agreed this is a bit weird. Let's talk to our government and see what they say.

Moshin Naqvi on 24th Jan - We obey our government, not ICC

ICC - No Bilateral Series with any international team, no entry for Pak in Asia cup and no NOC for foreign players in PSL

Moshin Naqvi on 25th Jan - Jaldi announce kar de bhai team

PCB announces team

Face savers - they were trolling bro :yk

#YehDarrAchaHai

Moshin Naqvi on 24th Jan - We obey our government, not ICC

ICC - No Bilateral Series with any international team, no entry for Pak in Asia cup and no NOC for foreign players in PSL

Moshin Naqvi on 25th Jan - Jaldi announce kar de bhai team

PCB announces team

Face savers - they were trolling bro :yk

#YehDarrAchaHai

Isko bolte hai Ek dhamki main hi surrender karna. :klopp :kp

I think you rely too much on Indian sources. The same sources who claimed BCCI threatened Naqvi in the Asia cup board meeting…

Whereas the reality was that Naqvi muted their mics and they kept screaming in mute mode.

Reality is BCCI runs world cricket an in world cricket naqvi is a nobody in front of of BCCI, bcci isn’t pcb or bcb they don’t need to scream they tell and boards fall in line. Naqvi has trolled bcb into getting themselves expelled from the world cup

No thats not a reality. Naqvi knows full well how to hold BCCI/ICC by the akhrot.

Test him. Try him. He will nuke the ICC. Aazma Kar tou dekho. This is Pakistan, not Bangladesh.

Why are Indians spreading misinformation here?

I think it’s the ICC (BCCI) who shat the bed and spread false rumours of sanctions knowing the financial hit they will take if PCB pulls out.

Bhai auqaat main raho…behave until 15th February. Toss se pehle ya uske ma’an baad bhi pairo taley zameen khench lenghe!

Ahh I am happy now Pakistan is playing.

Wishing them all the best and hope they win the tournament, great sportsmanship.

😇

when did Pakistan say they will boycott world cup? more likely its the India vs Pakistan game they will boycott.

Awww… Now down to 1 match, Cute :ik2

Nothing will happen, everything will be business as usual. Naqvi saab got the message from BCCI/ Jay /Shah to tone down and he backed off. That’s all.

BCB is collateral damage. Back to normal for everyone.

Awww… Now down to 1 match, Cute :ik2

Nothing will happen, everything will be business as usual. Naqvi saab got the message from BCCI/ Jay /Shah to tone down and he backed off. That’s all.

BCB is collateral damage. Back to normal for everyone.
show me one evidence where naqvi said he will boycott worldcup

the difficult part is getting it from a non Indian source which is not based on reports

No thats not a reality. Naqvi knows full well how to hold BCCI/ICC by the akhrot.

Test him. Try him. He will nuke the ICC. Aazma Kar tou dekho. This is Pakistan, not Bangladesh.
You give Naqvi way more credit than he deserves. Below is his track record:

During Champions Trophy 2025:
Before - If India dont travel to Pakistan, we will replace them with Srilanka.
After - India played all their matches in Dubai and lifted the trophy

During Asia cup 2025:
Before - If ICC dont replace Pycroft as match referee, Pak team will boycott
After - Went onto play the Asia cup with same Pycroft as match referee

During WT20 2026:
Before - If ICC doesn't fulfil Bangladesh's demand, we will boycott WT20 .
After - ICC removed BD from WT20, Pakistan announced their squad immediately

Yes he did ran away with Asia cup trophy though. If you want to give him credit for that, you are most welcome.

:klopp :kp

During Asia cup 2025:

During WT20 2026:

Yes he did ran away with Asia cup trophy though. If you want to give him credit for that, you are most welcome.

I think Naqvi gives Indians more heartburn than usual.

It’s ok. Playing stupid games will result in stupid prizes. India learnt this the hard way in the Asia cup. They celebrated an imaginary trophy.

Pakistanis always known for backstabbing . This is nothing new :kp

In fact when the talk between ICC and BCB was happening, PCB, Naqvi and ex-Pakistani players should not spread venum against India and provoked BCB. If they all kept quite, ICC and BCB would have resolved the issue and Bangladesh ready to play their matches in India

During Asia cup 2025:

During WT20 2026:

India should not keep T20 WC trophy in Srilanka otherwise

You guys are still crying for the trophy you neglected receiving from the ACC boss?

During Asia cup 2025:

During WT20 2026:

Lol when did pcb backtracked

They voted in favour of Bangladesh

That's more than enough

Where was Bangladesh in 2009

Just out of curiosity, did the Pak govt. give the green light on safety in SL? Did they give the ok to PCB? Hence the announcement of squad?

According to govt sources the Pakistani government will instruct the PCB to participate in the world cup but to forfeit the game vs India. What will the ICC and BCCI reaction be to this step by the PCB?

So a nobody stopped india from lifting the asia cup and getting their winner medals.
Lol a nobody got the better of India

PCB doesn’t control BCB.PCB didn’t tell BCB to withdraw from the tournament.PCB supported BCB in Indian Cricket Council(ICC) meeting.Unfortunately the rest of ICC members showed no backbone and voted against Bangladesh’s request to relocate matches to S Lanka.Pakistan government will hold a meeting tomorrow to decide if Pakistan will participate or not.I hope the government will go for a boycott.

According to govt sources the Pakistani government will instruct the PCB to participate in the world cup but to forfeit the game vs India. What will the ICC and BCCI reaction be to this step by the PCB?
its not PCB fault if Pakistan government not allowing Pakistan to play with India. so ICC and BCCI can't do jack all

India will play all their matches in flat Indian tracks and have to travel SL for this one game against Pak. Pakistan on the other hand will be playing in SL all along and will be well adjusted to the conditions. India need to get acclimatized quickly for the low and slow SL tracks. Ofcourse no one here will cry unfair, rigged etc like they have done in CT.

So if Pak decides to boycott this game, they will be missing a golden opportunity of beating India

:genius

During Asia cup 2025:

During WT20 2026:

Bro, I remember you and other posters were adamant that India would never agree to hybrid model and wouldn’t go to Columbo to play Pak so what happened? Who should get the credit for making this happen??

In fact when the talk between ICC and BCB was happening, PCB, Naqvi and ex-Pakistani players should not spread venum against India and provoked BCB. If they all kept quite, ICC and BCB would have resolved the issue and Bangladesh ready to play their matches in India
PCB had nothing to do with it
In spite of India harboring hundreds of Bangldaeshi criminals, BD were ready to play in India

It is only when a BD player got removed from IPL because of his nationality, that the people wanted Bangladesh to not visit India

Basically if India feels one of BD players is not welcome in India to play, then India is also not a welcome place to visit to play

India will play all their matches in flat Indian tracks and have to travel SL for this one game against Pak. Pakistan on the other hand will be playing in SL all along and will be well adjusted to the conditions. India need to get acclimatized quickly for the low and slow SL tracks. Ofcourse no one here will cry unfair, rigged etc like they have done in CT.

So if Pak decides to boycott this game, they will be missing a golden opportunity of beating India

:genius

you can stick this golden opportunity. we don't want to play India.
so stop threatening us and making us play with you.

Brother why wouldn’t you play India.
What’s the reason.

PCB had nothing to do with it
In spite of India harboring hundreds of Bangldaeshi criminals, BD were ready to play in India

It is only when a BD player got removed from IPL because of his nationality, that the people wanted Bangladesh to not visit India

Basically if India feels one of BD players is not welcome in India to play, then India is also not a welcome place to visit to play

Thanks for admitting that BCB raised security concern issue after dropping their player.... Don't say that PCB was innocent ent in this episode.... they provoked BCB and crated trust in BCB officials mind that PCB with them.

Interpol must investigate how many phone calls were made by PCB to BCB during this drama

PCB used the opportunity to have some fun in the side. They have now seen what happens if they try to force ICCs hands. They have perfect pasty in BD. world cricket doesn’t care as BD are eternally relegated to bottom of the table and irrelevant as for actual competition is concerned. So fun times for PCB st the cost of stupidity of BCB

Yeah, what have they got to lose. They have can have fun at the cost of BCB

Chalo jee Boycott still not off the table

Hun araam eh???

As a man, I will respect that but as a lover, cricket fan and a happy soul I will be disappointed because brother let’s not make life too difficult. We need to move on collectively:

PCB used the opportunity to have some fun in the side. They have now seen what happens if they try to force ICCs hands. They have perfect pasty in BD. world cricket doesn’t care as BD are eternally relegated to bottom of the table and irrelevant as for actual competition is concerned. So fun times for PCB st the cost of stupidity of BCB
Just like they did with the whole hybrid model issue, right? :yk :inti

As a man, I will respect that but as a lover, cricket fan and a happy soul I will be disappointed because brother let’s not make life too difficult. We need to move on collectively:
Move forward how?? By constantly poking the bear and making Pakistan feel it’s a matter of ego and pride now?

What good will a boycotted T20 World Cup do for sincere cricket fans??

Move forward how?? By constantly poking the bear and making Pakistan feel it’s a matter of ego and pride now?

What good will a boycotted T20 World Cup do for sincere cricket fans??

Brother we never said we wouldn’t play Pakistan. It’s our dharma to play you as one of the top teams.

What reason are Pakistan going to pull out? Does PCB have any sense?

Stop fighting other people's battles.

There is no logic for Pakistan pulling out, as they are not due to play in India at all.

Some people just don't know when to take a victory, and are determined to make into a defeat. There will be litigation against PCB and PCB will lose and will end up having to pay money and then teeter on bankcruptcy..

Remember that Indians will still pay money to watch cricket, which Pakistanis do not. Until and unless Pakistanis pay money to watch cricket, India's monopoly cannot be broken. All that will happen is that India will continue to host tournaments and Pakistan will either be forced to play in India or just have to sit out.

What reason are Pakistan going to pull out? Does PCB have any sense?

Stop fighting other people's battles.

There is no logic for Pakistan pulling out, as they are not due to play in India at all.

Some people just don't know when to take a victory, and are determined to make into a defeat. There will be litigation against PCB and PCB will lose and will end up having to pay money and then teeter on bankcruptcy..

Remember that Indians will still pay money to watch cricket, which Pakistanis do not. Until and unless Pakistanis pay money to watch cricket, India's monopoly cannot be broken. All that will happen is that India will continue to host tournaments and Pakistan will either be forced to play in India or just have to sit out.
This guy Naqvi is a lunatic. These Indians are really shooting themselves in the foot by constantly challenging him.

Pretty sure it’s India who was still sulking in September during the Asia cup

Brother we were not hurt but disappointed. Because we always expected better from our dearies in Pakistan.

So a nobody stopped india from lifting the asia cup and getting their winner medals.
Lol a nobody got the better of India

Naaah the ICT Refused to take the cup from a nobody. The same nobody was kicked out from the CT Presentation ceremony :cigar

Icc will still sanction pcb and pcb will still spoil relationships with srilanka cricket