Garbage mountain of Delhi 'slowly poisoning' residents

• 1741610977400.png
    1741610977400.png
    771.3 KB · Views: 1
  • 1741611152511.png
    1741611152511.png
    3 MB · Views: 1
Incinerate this or dispose of it another way. Strange country, maybe they dont like the Taj Mahal so created another wonder of the world.

@Bhaijaan whats going on here?
You cannot incinerate it. It is basically burning plastic which is even more deadlier. Only solution is recycle. India does not have the resources to either recycle or export all of that trach to third world poverty stricken nations in Asia and Africa where it gets recycled by poor and destitute.

I visited Delhi recently. Only central Delhi is good. Most places in Delhi were stinking. Time to shift capital to one of the southern states. Not to mention most NCR folks are rude and boorish.

Incinerate this or dispose of it another way. Strange country, maybe they dont like the Taj Mahal so created another wonder of the world.

@Bhaijaan whats going on here?
The first time I saw it, I thought, "Wow, Delhi finally has its own mountain". But as we got closer, my nose broke the news, it wasn't a scenic hill, just the mighty Ghazipur garbage dump. :jk :inti

I visited Delhi recently. Only central Delhi is good. Most places in Delhi were stinking. Time to shift capital to one of the southern states. Not to mention most NCR folks are rude and boorish.
Every city is like that. Some more and some less. Solution is to not move the capital to other places. But to build more cities with enough job opportunities so that people with no means to live do not all flock in millions to one city and ruin it.

140 crores and counting. India is a morbidly obese person trying to compete in 100 m dash. Until India sheds those oodles of fat hanging from all over its body, there is no hope. It will stink with trash everywhere for the coming decades. A fact everyone has to accept. Most Indians accepted it. You do not see any protests on the streets over the quality of air or lack to infrastructure. But somebody eats beef or someone insults their favorite religious script, you will see people out in thousands protesting and damaging public property.
Priorities are down the toilet. Moving capital from Delhi to Chennai or Bangalore or Mumbai makes no difference. Its the same trash everywhere. :mv

Which one would you recommend? :inti
Pretty sure he will suggest some place in Kerala. That will turn into trash too the moment it is made the capital. Everyone from around the country will flock there in search of job opportunities and the results will be the same within a couple of years.

Let's make Srinagar the capital of India. Imagine the Parliament with a view of Dal Lake. :inti

New York - https://nymag.com/news/features/52452/
View attachment 151996

San Francisco - https://www.sfgate.com/la/article/puente-hills-landfill-becomes-regional-park-19543517.php
View attachment 151997

Chicago - https://theyawningchasm.com/2021/08/02/the-pungent-history-of-americas-garbage-mountains/
View attachment 151998

I can post on and on. They are called Landfills for a reason. Most rich nations export their garbage to under developed third world nations where most of the plastic gets recycled and sold back to US and other rich nations.

Do they contaminate the city groundwater & environment like the toxic waste dumps of Delhi ? Hope not.

Every city is like that. Some more and some less. Solution is to not move the capital to other places. But to build more cities with enough job opportunities so that people with no means to live do not all flock in millions to one city and ruin it.

140 crores and counting. India is a morbidly obese person trying to compete in 100 m dash. Until India sheds those oodles of fat hanging from all over its body, there is no hope. It will stink with trash everywhere for the coming decades. A fact everyone has to accept. Most Indians accepted it. You do not see any protests on the streets over the quality of air or lack to infrastructure. But somebody eats beef or someone insults their favorite religious script, you will see people out in thousands protesting and damaging public property.
Priorities are down the toilet. Moving capital from Delhi to Chennai or Bangalore or Mumbai makes no difference. Its the same trash everywhere. :mv
Most cities are far better than Delhi, atleast the major ones. Delhi is capital due to historical reasons not practical reasons. Delhi is the capital of India, it should represent best of India. Most international delegates land in Delhi. Its not a good pricture that we are painting. Not to mention you should be on on your edge to protect oneself from thieves/ goons in Delhi.

You could move capital and still continue development of other cities in parallel, these are mutually exclusive.

I know Champ Pal and Rajdeep are experts are comparing and deflecting but Islamabad is also a capital, its a very clean city with no such garbage, of course there are other cities which are different.

Dehli being the capital shouldn't have this huge issue. Im sure this is visible from the air when landing at Dehli airport, its not a good sign for those arriving esp foreign envoys or diplomats.

Maybe do as Pak did and build a brand new capital city.

New York - https://nymag.com/news/features/52452/
View attachment 151996

San Francisco - https://www.sfgate.com/la/article/puente-hills-landfill-becomes-regional-park-19543517.php
View attachment 151997

Chicago - https://theyawningchasm.com/2021/08/02/the-pungent-history-of-americas-garbage-mountains/
View attachment 151998

I can post on and on. They are called Landfills for a reason. Most rich nations export their garbage to under developed third world nations where most of the plastic gets recycled and sold back to US and other rich nations.

If you zoom in any more you may become ill.

How much is exported to India on an yearly basis? Or is none? I genuinely have no idea.

Which one would you recommend? :inti

Any city that has good roads, infrastructure, is hygienic and maybe slightly metropolitan too. Any one of these four will do - Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad or Trivandrum. Trivandrum is probably the cleanest but Hyderabad is maybe the best bet imo.

How about Chandigarh? It's quite similar to Islamabad, one of the cleanest cities in South Asia. :inti

Most cities are far better than Delhi, atleast the major ones. Delhi is capital due to historical reasons not practical reasons. Delhi is the capital of India, it should represent best of India. Most international delegates land in Delhi. Its not a good pricture that we are painting. Not to mention you should be on on your edge to protect oneself from thieves/ goons in Delhi.

You could move capital and still continue development of other cities in parallel, these are mutually exclusive.
You did not get my point. Once you make any of the better southern cities the capital, they will become like Delhi quickly. They may be better now. Won’t stay that way once made the capital city.

There are some smaller garbage mountain in Karachi too. Waste disposal is sort of an after thought for developing countries.

I understand its a problem and there are big dumps around the world. The Issue here is , its so huge and so near residents. India is a huge country, surely they can move all this to somewhere outside of the city, where less people live?

Anybody from Dehli know this area?

I understand its a problem and there are big dumps around the world. The Issue here is , its so huge and so near residents. India is a huge country, surely they can move all this to somewhere outside of the city, where less people live?
Definitely. I'm not an expert not knowledgeable enough on the subject. But I do know that developing countries do not handle waste disposal and sanitation well. This is certainly evident from the way garbage pollution affects city people.

Some Indian posters on PP keep on bragging about alleged Indian wealth. :inti

So, why this garbage mountain? If India want to become NUMBER ONE, they should take care of this issue.

Delhi NCR (Delhi + Gurgaon + Noida) is the fastest growing metropolitan in Bharat currently, home to already the busiest airport in the country and soon to be home to one of the largest airports in Asia (in Noida). The ring roads network development, real estate development and metro rail network development in the NCR region has happened at a staggering pace. Delhi is a city like no other in the subcontinent with its rich history, diverse culture and mouth watering cuisines.

The city has its flaws like you mentioned. But the people voted for a change and we have a new government which has made development and cleanliness of the city its top most priority. Time will tell what difference they make. Of course this is a mock thread so i welcome you all to have a laugh at this and put pity the people of Delhi living like slum dwellers as you would like to believe. I cannot change the hatred in anyone’s mind. All we can do is focus on progress.

All for shifting the Capital, but Delhi NCR has been ruined due to excessive migration and having neighbours like UP, Haryana, Panjab.

Also I think we can have two capitals, summer and winter one, I think J&K has it like that..

Delhi NCR (Delhi + Gurgaon + Noida) is the fastest growing metropolitan in Bharat currently, home to already the busiest airport in the country and soon to be home to one of the largest airports in Asia (in Noida). The ring roads network development, real estate development and metro rail network development in the NCR region has happened at a staggering pace. Delhi is a city like no other in the subcontinent with its rich history, diverse culture and mouth watering cuisines.

The city has its flaws like you mentioned. But the people voted for a change and we have a new government which has made development and cleanliness of the city its top most priority. Time will tell what difference they make. Of course this is a mock thread so i welcome you all to have a laugh at this and put pity the people of Delhi living like slum dwellers as you would like to believe. I cannot change the hatred in anyone’s mind. All we can do is focus on progress.

This is not funny at all, poor people are dying from slow poison . You shouldn't always be defensive and come up with shining borat excuses etc.

What is progress in this situation in your opinion?

There are some smaller garbage mountain in Karachi too. Waste disposal is sort of an after thought for developing countries.
They are everywhere. I can see many such landfill hills/mountains when I go on long drives in I-95 along east coast. Usually they are far from the city so as to not stink up the city and its residents. But in countries like India, we may see them in the city limits. Sometimes in the middle of the city. No one complains about it. No one cares. They silently suffer and got used to that smell. For a foreigner coming from European countries, this can be unbearable. Many of these travelers record these things in their videos. Indians get offended. But it is the truth.

This is not funny at all, poor people are dying from slow poison . You shouldn't always be defensive and come up with shining borat excuses etc.

What is progress in this situation in your opinion?
Government will not act until people protest. If people don't care, why will government care? They suffer from this all through the year and in winter it gets worse.

No one complains about it. No one cares. They silently suffer and got used to that smell. For a foreigner coming from European countries, this can be unbearable. Many of these travelers record these things in their videos. Indians get offended. But it is the truth.
Mentally I think people of this region are still slaves. Generations upon generations it is like that. All that oppression done over centuries has added to hereditary trauma.

Can't blame Brits or Mughals or Portueguse for what Subcontinent and India in partuclar is suffering from. People lack civic sense in general. It cannot be taught in schools. Children imitate their parents. Parents are garbage and so are their offspring. The cities and the surroundings is a reflection of their mindset.

All for shifting the Capital, but Delhi NCR has been ruined due to excessive migration and having neighbours like UP, Haryana, Panjab.

Also I think we can have two capitals, summer and winter one, I think J&K has it like that..

How absurd, Indian Punjab has no shared boundaries with Delhi.

At minimum, there is a 3-4 hour drive through Haryana. The total straight line distance between Delhi and Punjab is 320 KM KMs which is longer than Amritsar to Islamabad's 287km.

How absurd, Indian Punjab has no shared boundaries with Delhi.

At minimum, there is a 3-4 hour drive through Haryana. The total straight line distance between Delhi and Punjab is 320 KM KMs which is longer than Amritsar to Islamabad's 287km.
People from Panjab don’t migrate to Delhi? West Delhi in 80s, 90s had massive migration from Panjab

For every 1 Punjabi migrant to Delhi, you will find 9 UP Bhaiyas. Also those 80s, 90s migrants who identify as Punjabis are like of Kohlis and Gambhirs. Lots of displaced Arora's/Khatris from Peshawar eventually settled in Delhi as they are merchant castes and Punjab had agrarian economy. They were net positive contributors to Delhi.

Slightest of bait and all the Bharat posters are here to post venom against people from other states. It’s no less than a miracle why and how we still operate as a strong nation despite such deep seated hatred for each other.

Sometimes i feel all the JNU people are here only.

For every 1 Punjabi migrant to Delhi, you will find 9 UP Bhaiyas. Also those 80s, 90s migrants who identify as Punjabis are like of Kohlis and Gambhirs. Lots of displaced Arora's/Khatris from Peshawar eventually settled in Delhi as they are merchant castes and Punjab had agrarian economy. They were net positive contributors to Delhi.
Kohlis and others arrived during partition, I’m talking about Panjabis from Panjab.
You can call UP what you want but if that’s your comparison, then best of luck.

Panjab’s contribution is below, Toxic Wheat.

Panjabis were doing one thing in Panjab even that is Toxic now like the singers.

Slightest of bait and all the Bharat posters are here to post venom against people from other states. It’s no less than a miracle why and how we still operate as a strong nation despite such deep seated hatred for each other.

Sometimes i feel all the JNU people are here only.
My venom is mostly directed at my own home state of ethnicity- Panjab.

The need a reality check.

Can't blame Brits or Mughals or Portueguse for what Subcontinent and India in partuclar is suffering from. People lack civic sense in general. It cannot be taught in schools. Children imitate their parents. Parents are garbage and so are their offspring. The cities and the surroundings is a reflection of their mindset.
At a micro level yes. Parents are responsible. They are passing it down generations. Their fears, their trauma and their flawed values.

Kohlis and others arrived during partition, I’m talking about Panjabis from Panjab.
You can call UP what you want but if that’s your comparison, then best of luck.

Panjab’s contribution is below, Toxic Wheat.

Panjabis were doing one thing in Panjab even that is Toxic now like the singers.

Not all of them moved to Delhi right after partition, Ambala was one of the major designated refugee centre.

Here is Punjab's contribution to world -

Inventor of Fiber Optics - Narinder Singh Kappany
Contributor to Intel's Pentium CPU - Vinod Dham
Hotmail Co-Founder - Sabeer Bhatia

You probably relied on all 3, one time or another.

Not all of them moved to Delhi right after partition, Ambala was one of the major designated refugee centre.

Here is Punjab's contribution to world -

Inventor of Fiber Optics - Narinder Singh Kappany
Contributor to Intel's Pentium CPU - Vinod Dham
Hotmail Co-Founder - Sabeer Bhatia

You probably relied on all 3, one time or another.
Lol , in that logic I’m sure I can point out UP and Bihar scientist whose work you would had used yet you called them “Bhaiyya”.. a well known slur Panjabis use, try harder next time.

Go ahead and point out.

Regarding Bhaiya being a slur, did you just graduated from the Karen university.

Have you heard of the term Khalistani?

Bhaiya in Bengali means brother. Not sure if it is a slur in another language. :inti

It means brother in every subcontinent language, calling a person from UP a bhaiya is akin to calling a Punjabi paaji. As that's how they refer to each other.

Here our resident JaDed was not offended, but was eagerly offended. He is behaving like a white liberal woman who come to defend a black person from racism when it's not even there. It's called fake empathy and rage farming.

Sure Bhaiyya is equivalent of Lassi but hey I’m sure you are ok with that and then Joodi, 12 bajgaye , I’m not ok with those slurs guess that makes Karan jeet.

Sure whatever goes, still waiting on that list of world class innovations.

Funny thing is that I bet the people living in and around this dump cheer in delight when IPL player makes $1 million and laugh when PSL player makes $200k.

Funny thing is that land fills are found in western developed countries as well.

Funnier thing is that people try to hide behind their acquired passports. Then they should compare their financial status with the Indian origin community of that country and condition of their own community.

My venom is mostly directed at my own home state of ethnicity- Panjab.

The need a reality check.

Good, that’s how it should be.

Unfortunately there seem to be too many of the JNU, AMU ilk on this forum who are only Bharatiya when it comes to cricket but for every other national matter they expose their lack of patriotism by posting rubbish about other states and indulging in North vs South debate. When Aurangzeb was decimating Hindus he didn’t care what your caste was and who was from north/south and that’s the reality that exists today which they don’t realise.

Ek haen to Safe haen,
Katenge to batenge,

People of all states contribute in their way to the nation. Besides some states were fortunate to grow ag the right time while some have been victim of politics, corruption and centuries of systematic oppression. Who are you to judge the other?

South Indians are smart, I would never generalise but there are some who keep talking about their tax contribution to GDP wrt to poorer states, they should also ask themselves what’s their contribution been to the independence movement, and to our armed forces fighting wars at the borders. Few decades of economic prosperity has gotten to the heads of some unfortunately. Give UP a few more decades of stability and good governance, once its economic potential is unlocked there’s no looking back and there’s nothing that’s gonna stop them from becoming #1 GDP in Bharat among all states.

Noida, Navi Mumbai, Gurgaon are good developments. Delhi on the other hand suffered a lot under bickering between Delhi and Federal govt where each party refused to take responsibility to clean the river. And AAP is just a disappointment like PTI, they could have done so much yet they did not do much at all.

Maybe BJP will fix Delhi, if they do, it will definitely burry AAP once and for all.

Funny thing is that land fills are found in western developed countries as well.

Funnier thing is that people try to hide behind their acquired passports. Then they should compare their financial status with the Indian origin community of that country and condition of their own community.
Is this a landfill?

It is land filled with crap but is it a landfill? There are homes directly opposite.

How's the infrastructure there ? I keep hearing that it is the only planned city in India .. so that's a good shout.
Its pretty, but does not comes close to Islamabad. Theres no city like Islamabad in whole of South Asia bar Colombo maybe.

How do you know ? Have you visited all the major cities in India to make the comparison with Islamabad ?

Delhi has a sizeable population of Punjabis. We have a mini Punjab in Tilak Nagar. To be honest, people from Punjab are not the problem. People from Bihar and specifically UP are the problem. :inti

Delhi should take a lesson from Mumbai's Deonar Dumping Ground. Look at the before and after view of Deonar Dumping Ground. :inti

@Bhaijaan, if you want to use it as your Desktop wallpaper, you can use it, but don't forget to put a picture of Shri Jumlendra Modi Ji in the top right corner. It will fit in perfectly with the environment. :inti

images

@Tera Gawaandi

Bhaiya when said in hindi is a very acceptable and respectful way of talking to a labour.

In Punjab and especially the Sikh community says Bhaiya in Punjabi language in a derogatory way to insult migrant labour. It’s like calling a Sikh Gyani, Bhappa or Shanty which triggers them.

Captured it while travelling back from Delhi last time. Can be quite deceiving early morning when the windows are up and you can't smell the stink. I like Delhi, but stuff like this along with pollution really puts me off.

From that video it can be mistaken for New York or San Francisco like @Champ_Pal said.

Western countries send their trash to the third world, or at least we used to. I don't know why you are getting defensive over this, Pakistan probably has the same issues. I think what @Champ_Pal says is right, subcontinent people lack civic pride. Even in a lot of deprived areas of the UK it is the same, difference is we have spent a lot on infrastructure so local authorities deal with it.

Worry about rescuing some 300+ train hostages in the control of Baloch Liberation Army right now. Don’t worry about our cities. Your country is in turmoil and you guys don’t have the guts to open a thread on it.

@Bhaijaan what have you been drinking today...don't derail discussion in this thread please. Thanks