Government right to crack down on Faizabad protesters?

Pakistan will truly die if ever these m-word come to power

Is this thing related to the attempt by someone in the civil service to change the constitution?

Why that individual has not been charged and punished yet?

The citizens have every right to protest (peaceful) and demand action. Imagine if someone in US made tried to pull a fast one and changed text of the constitution... will there be riots, you bet!!

You cannot change text dude. Whatever it should be, had to be done by parliament. This individual should have been punished, tried to sabotage the constitution. It was an outrageous attempt. From that point on, till that individual/s are held to account, the protest is fair.

What's Happening in Pakistan?

In 1974 the constitution of Pakistan declared Qadiyanis as non-Muslims due to the Muslim creed that our Prophet Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم is the Last Prophet. Hence, Qadiyanis are not allowed to say they are Muslims, build Masjids and perform the Muslim adhan etc. Recently the clauses on Qadiyanis were removed in silence which is believed to be a conspiracy. The Sunni public found out and came to the streets asking the government of Pakistan:

1. Why the clauses on Qadiyanis were repealed?

2. Who passed the judgement for this?

Feeling the pressure, the Govt retracted and reinstated the clauses after initial hesitation and denial. The public's questions remain unanswered and they demand the law minister to be removed and penalised and all those behind the conspiracy. The argument is: even if you've reinstated the clauses, you're not free of the legal repercussions. You kidnap someone's daughter and return her after a month apologizing to the whole family doesn't free you from legal trial and punishment. You steal something and return it but still face the penalty.

A dialogue started but the Govt has not replied nor acted on the agreed points within the time frame mutually agreed. The Govt is not sitting to dialogue or answering any questions.

You are both talking nonsense. The Election Act is a subordinate piece of legislation, only a constitutional amendment can change the 1974 declaration relating to Ahmedis. If you've read the Election Act, you'd know it does no such thing.

The only change was to the wording of the declaration a Muslim candidate must sign, from, "I hereby declare that...I believe in the absolute and unqualified finality of the Prophet", whereas in the old form it was worded as "I solemnly swear that... I believe". Its also changed from an affidavit to a declaration. The legal consequence is unchanged: a false declaration attracts disqualification whether you swore upon it or just stated it !

The Election Bill was passed on October 2 by Parliament, and the bill itself was overseen by a 34 member committee so this wasn't a secret plot by some civil servant. It was meant to consolidate eight different pieces of electoral legislation, as well as enable Nawaz to be party head despite disqualification. Zahid Hamid is just a bakra the PML-N are serving up to appease the religious lobby.

And AS IF anyone would touch the 1974 anti-Ahmedi declaration given how many crazies there are in Pakistan and wannabe Mumtaz Qadris who clearly aren't beyond killing to serve their objectives.

Anyone with an ounce of political objectivity can see this dharna is an attempt by Rizvi and TLY to gain votes before next year's election by creating a storm in a teacup.

Finally, I wouldn't talk about kidnapping pak4life - the "protesters" have kidnapped two police officers (https://www.dawn.com/news/1372988). How that is protecting the finality of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) only they and their supporters can answer.

Protecting the finality of the Prophet (P.B.U.H) by kidnapping policemen, giving ma bhen ki galliyan to passer-bys, burning buildings, destroying cars and motorcycles of innocent civilians, etc. Mashallah, Islam aur hazoor ki izzat ki rakhwali ka theka Allah ne in hi ko diya hai na...

The COAS has made two important statements:

1) There should be no violence between the 'two parties', and there should be a ‘negotiated settlement’, i.e. the protestors demand for the resignation of the entire cabinet, which means the government.

I fail to understand how can he equate the mob with the government?

2) There is no need to send the army to Islamabad because it would not like to open fire on its own people. I wonder if FATA is included in 'our own people' - we have bombed entire villages and settlements there.

1) There should be no violence between the 'two parties', and there should be a ‘negotiated settlement’, i.e. the protestors demand for the resignation of the entire cabinet, which means the government.

2) There is no need to send the army to Islamabad because it would not like to open fire on its own people. I wonder if FATA is included in 'our own people' - we have bombed entire villages and settlements there.

But but but its govt mess and its not armys job as army is seperate entity from govt.

#jahillogic

Agree with you.

If this mob is allowed to win today then tomorrow they will come up with more nonsense.

Agree with you.

If this mob is allowed to win today then tomorrow they will come up with more nonsense.

Tehreek-e-Labaik has a vote bank too. This situation can easily get out of hand if it is not dealt with appropriately.

FYI

Ok so just so people are clear.

The Prophet PBUH's name or his life is not open here for ridicule or discussion. Think very carefully before making any light or strong hearted statement about someone who is held in the highest respect by Muslims.

Tehreek-e-Labaik has a vote bank too. This situation can easily get out of hand if it is not dealt with appropriately.

Last year, in March when Khadim Rizvi publicly insulted and abused the COAS he should have been arrested and charged under national action plan. He was spreading hate speech against the army, after all. But I am sure within the army the incident was just brushed aside as "wade ghusa kar jande ne, koi gal nahi. " the elderly got a bit angry, no big issue.

Today the mess has gotten out of hands, where these people think they can hold the whole country hostage and can't be touched.

Khadim Rizvi seems to be a very dangerous and influential person, not only did he got away with abusing the army, he also openly abused Tahir ul Qadri and despite that he is popular among Bralevis.

Last year, in March when Khadim Rizvi publicly insulted and abused the COAS he should have been arrested and charged under national action plan. He was spreading hate speech against the army, after all. But I am sure within the army the incident was just brushed aside as "wade ghusa kar jande ne, koi gal nahi. " the elderly got a bit angry, no big issue.

Today the mess has gotten out of hands, where these people think they can hold the whole country hostage and can't be touched.

Khadim Rizvi seems to be a very dangerous and influential person, not only did he got away with abusing the army, he also openly abused Tahir ul Qadri and despite that he is popular among Bralevis.

The government has lost control - it is time for the military to step in. I don't buy this excuse of the military not wanting to take up arms against its own people. History tells us that the military has not been shy of taking action against our own when it has been convenient.

Unfortunately, the military establishment thrives in situations like these. This is exactly what they want.

Chaotic and lawless situation all around. PMLN can’t figure out what it is doing and some protesters are using the constitutional amendment as an excuse to destroy property and they also caused some deaths. As a leader it was Khadim Rizvi’s responsibility to stop them from disrupting people’s life and focus on the protests. All people who caused property damage and deaths should be isolated from the protests and punished.

As for PMLN, if it was an opposition party they would have tried all kind of methods to stop it from protesting. They let the protests go put of control. Now they are expecting Army to rescue them. PMLN has been in power since quite some time. They know dharnay are a regular thing in Pakistan. By now they should have come up with some sort of strategy to deescalate violent protesters. Why didn’t they train the Police to deal with such occasions? As expected Fedreal government run institutions are useless.