Happy Diwali to all members

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Festivals should be celebrated together. Happy Diwali to all members.

Stay away from crackers and cartoons. :uakmal

Happy Diwali to every pper here. :)
Hope this Diwali bring prosperity and wisdom to each and every one

Happy Diwali to all who celebrate it!

Wish all members Happy Diwali, specially across the border.

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="W3FJGis"><a href="//imgur.com/W3FJGis">View post on imgur.com</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Salman Khan's Eid Mubarak in Kick was better

Happy Diwali to all those celebrating..

#HoliIsBetterTho :srt

Happy Diwali to all my Indian brothers and sisters. :135:

Barack Obama calls up PM Narendra Modi to greet him on Diwali

Link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...-greet-him-on-Diwali/articleshow/49741477.cms

US President Barack Obama called up Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday night to greet him on Diwali and they agreed to meet in Turkey on the sidelines of the G20 Summit to be held early next week.

"A short while ago @POTUS (President of the United States) called. We exchanged Diwali greetings. This was our first conversation through the newly-established hotline," Modi tweeted.

"President Obama & I look forward to meeting in Turkey during the G20 Summit," he said.

Modi said President Obama and he "discussed a wide range of other issues as well. It was good knowing how @WhiteHouse is marking Diwali."

After his visit to the United Kingdom beginning on November 12, Modi will travel to Turkey to attend the G20 Summit to be held on November 15-16.

Modi makes us Indians so proud.

I hope you were being sarcastic, by the way Obama rang India's Prime Minister NOT Modi if you know what i mean :)

On a side note, happy Diwali to all Indians here :)

How does this help the millions of poor people without toilets?

It does help to the world fastest growing economy and one of the top strongest country in the world both gdp wise and defense wise though.....hamari ek class hi bhai duniya me woh alag bat hi hamari asliyat toh ap hi jante hi duniya me bas..

Thanks guys! Eventhough I'm a fake hindu, I celebrate all the festivals nevertheless. Happy diwali everyone :)

Happy Diwali to everyone celebrating...stay safe and blessed.

Happy Diwali to all Hindus :)

Diwali is mainly a north indian upper caste hindu festival. But slowly it has spread across the country, because of media power and corporate backing, and now this festival is being seen as the main Indian festival.

I have a question though. Why don't keralites celebrate diwali?
Even the hindus there don't celebrate with same zeal as other states people do.

I have a question though. Why don't keralites celebrate diwali?
Even the hindus there don't celebrate with same zeal as other states people do.

Diwali is not celebrated in bengal either (the marwaris do). Kali Pujo is celebrated during this time, but now Kali Pujo is being wrapped under the label of Diwali. Cultural aggression from the north india.

Diwali is mainly a north indian upper caste hindu festival. But slowly it has spread across the country, because of media power and corporate backing, and now this festival is being seen as the main Indian festival.

Yeah, happy diwali to you too.
Looks like you know a lot about your religion.

The best thing about diwali is the spectacle in the sky during the night. Fantastic fireworks will light up the sky and would be a treat to watch. I am not the best at firing rockets though. Many a time the rockets I fired took a wrong turn and burst in my neighbour's house.

Diwali is not celebrated in bengal either (the marwaris do). Kali Pujo is celebrated during this time, but now Kali Pujo is being wrapped under the label of Diwali. Cultural aggression from the north india.

But there is no festival coinciding with Diwali in kerala.
Onam (there main festival) is celebrated much before Diwali.
[MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=133135]kaayal[/MENTION]

The best thing about diwali is the spectacle in the sky during the night. Fantastic fireworks will light up the sky and would be a treat to watch. I am not the best at firing rockets though. Many a time the rockets I fired took a wrong turn and burst in my neighbour's house.

Two brothers in my locality died because of crackers some years ago

Happy Diwali.:)

Hindus mainly celebrate Vishu instead of Diwali. Vishu is one of their main festival followed by Onam.

Happy Diwali.:)

Hindus mainly celebrate Vishu instead of Diwali. Vishu is one of their main festival followed by Onam.

Is Onam a religious festival? I thought it was cultural since its the celebration for the first harvest.

Ram a Kshatriya returned back after 14 years and not to forget killed Ravan(A Brahmin) yes totally a upper caste thing.

Not too sure on Kerala mate i live in Chennai and over here its celebrated a day before and in the morning unlike evening in North India and is celebrated due to the reason of defeat of Narakasura.

Is Onam a religious festival? I thought it was cultural since its the celebration for the first harvest.

There is a legend associated with Onam. It's marks the return and annual visit of Asura king Mahabali from Patalam (underworld). He was pushed down into there by Vamana avatar of Vishnu. [MENTION=113824]Nikhil_cric[/MENTION] help:D

Happy Diwali try not to burst crackers everyone not only has the industry spoiled many children lives but gives a lot of problem to Asthma,TB patients,senior citizens and animals.
God bless!Be safe.

Ram a Kshatriya returned back after 14 years and not to forget killed Ravan(A Brahmin) yes totally a upper caste thing.

As you agree, the protagonist and antagonist are upper caste. Add the merchant class, and it completes those who celebrated diwali historically.

It was Holi which was the festival of the masses, related to the harvest month, and celebrated by all by different names.

As you agree, the protagonist and antagonist are upper caste. Add the merchant class, and it completes those who celebrated diwali historically.

It was Holi which was the festival of the masses, related to the harvest month, and celebrated by all by different names.

Could be or may be the "kingdom" irrespective of the caste was happy on the return of their king?

I am not talking about why it was celebrated in the mythology (history if you are a believer), but who celebrated it over the centuries.

Is there any credible source that it wasn't celebrated by all castes but then suddenly they started celebrating it?

Happy Diwali weekend to all my Hindu friends and those who celebrate it. [MENTION=130700]TM Riddle[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=90888]Itachi[/MENTION] [MENTION=131528]niishaa[/MENTION]

Happy Diwali to u too Sanju bhai

Happy Diwali weekend to you too Cricket Cartoons ji. :D

Happy DIwali to you CC

isn't this a celebration of an attempted genocide in sri lanka by indians?

Winning a war is genocide?

Its triumph of good over evil.

Raavan kidnapped Lord Ram's wife and didn't give her back even after requests. So an actual war ensued and Raavan lost. Raavan's own brother Vibishana (who joined Rama and fought from his side) was later crowned king.

Dussehra is a celebration of killing of Raavan (who was a great man in many aspects except for few).

Diwali is a celebration of return of Lord Ram to Ayodhya.

Happy Diwali. I hope Bollywood comes up with a movie on Ramayana soon. Most of the available content is very 90s, would love a fresher take on this.

Happy Diwali to all Hindu and Sikh Brothers.

Sorry bro we don't celebrate diwali, we actually started buying crackers only after watching your celebrations, Never spend more than 150rs to buy crackers and we don't gift sweets to neighbours and friends.

My first deepawali in TN. Today morning the paper boy came and knocked the door. I opened the door half asleep and then he asked me Akka, diwali bonus enge? I was like wth is this diwali bonus? :))) But the boy told me it is some extra pay he gets during the diwali. I liked him and gave some extra money to buy crackers. Also wished a Happy diwali.

Anyways happy diwali to everyone here.:)

Sorry bro we don't celebrate diwali, we actually started buying crackers only after watching your celebrations, Never spend more than 150rs to buy crackers and we don't gift sweets to neighbours and friends.

Who are you representing?

We don't celebrate?
We don't spend?
We don't gift?

Tu hai kaun? Kis group ko represent kar raha hai?