Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul suspensions 'lifted with immediate [Post #441]

What exactly did panda and Rahul say which led to such a big mess? I watched the show in bits and pieces and didn't find anything which would lead to suspension and massive uproar. Maybe I missed the part can someone tell me what exaCtly they said which led to all this uproar?
[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] [MENTION=141520]troodon[/MENTION]

What exactly did panda and Rahul say which led to such a big mess? I watched the show in bits and pieces and didn't find anything which would lead to suspension and massive uproar. Maybe I missed the part can someone tell me what exaCtly they said which led to all this uproar?

[MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] [MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=142162]Napa[/MENTION] [MENTION=141520]troodon[/MENTION]

Supreme Court to decide on this matter bext week.

Shouldn’t Supreme Court have more important stuff to do than the night outs of cricketers?

About CoA. Not about pandya and rahul.

I was about to post the same. What is happening....?

You mean about COA vs BCcI right?

This whole thing seems to be a fiasco..

Supreme court will decide what to do in the Pandya Rahul matter. Whether to take any more action or whats done is enough or to appoint a Ombundsman to decide the punishment.

This after CoA submitted the CEO report to the BCCI and asked the SC to take a call as CoA is divided in their opinion.

Supreme court will decide what to do in the Pandya Rahul matter. Whether to take any more action or whats done is enough or to appoint a Ombundsman to decide the punishment.

This after CoA submitted the CEO report to the BCCI and asked the SC to take a call as CoA is divided in their opinion.

Wow, why is supreme court getting involved in this issue. What they did was stupid but not criminal. Only people who are negatively affected by his words are his family, his employers and his sponsors and they have to decide what they want to do. It's crazy that the court is involved in this issue.

SC isn't getting involved willingly. It is dragged in the middle by CoA as they are divided on the punishment issue. But since SC formed the CoA, it has to intervene when such disagreement arise. In ideal world, SC shouldn't have dragged in the first place.

No kidding? Supreme court doesn't have any thing better to do than to focus on such trivial issues? This is so stupid..

SC isn't getting involved willingly. It is dragged in the middle by CoA as they are divided on the punishment issue. But since SC formed the CoA, it has to intervene when such disagreement arise. In ideal world, SC shouldn't have dragged in the first place.

I still haven't got an answer what on earth did pandya and Rahul say to start all this uproar? I didn't hear anything which deserves any attention but then again I didn't watch full uncut version so if you know what exactly they said would appreciate if you let me know here?

It's not what they say it. It's where they say it.

Sometimes, you can say things but if place and timing goes wrong, you will face repercussion.

As an employee, they brought unwanted attention to bcci (rightly or wrongly doesn't matter but this attention is unwanted). Hence, they will have to face some demerits.

But does the punishment fit the crime? That's the only question here.

It's not what they say it. It's where they say it.

Sometimes, you can say things but if place and timing goes wrong, you will face repercussion.

As an employee, they brought unwanted attention to bcci (rightly or wrongly doesn't matter but this attention is unwanted). Hence, they will have to face some demerits.

But does the punishment fit the crime? That's the only question here.

You still didn't answer my question, what is their crime? No one seems to know what exactly is their crime is..

No kidding? Supreme court doesn't have any thing better to do than to focus on such trivial issues? This is so stupid..

Thankfully those who matter are taking it seriously. by ignoring the disgusting behavior of these cricketers too full of themselves, we would be sending the wrong message to our kids. that everything is kosher and you can say and do anything if you are a celebrity and an IPL star. Hope these two get a year long ban and asked to join a correction course where they are repent and get sensitised towards gender equality.

You still didn't answer my question, what is their crime? No one seems to know what exactly is their crime is..

Misogyny and obnoxious behavior is not a crime, doesn't mean it should be tolerated. Good on the employers to give the treatment these two brats deserved. Also good to see snowflakes whining because their super entitled superheroes are being made to beg and kneel down.

Crime is they turnished the reputation of an organization by bringing unwanted attention while divulging their personal adventures in a national television to an audience which may not reciprocate the way they might have wanted.

You still haven't answered my question, what exactly did they say which tarnished the image of their employers? You are just using vague terms did you watch the entire uncut interview yourself or are you juSt quoting what news channels are saying to say they did wrong?

If you didn't watch the entire uncut interview yourself and don't know what exactly they said which led to all this drama then you are like me without knowledge of this incident who is seeking the knowledge from other posters..

If you did watch the entire interview then can you tell me specifically what exactly did they say which led to all this drama?

The twitter lynch mob got after them, and BCCI like most other organizations worldwide showed no spine and promptly caved.

But what exactly they said which caused the Twitter mob to go after them bro? I still can't find the answer to this question no one seem to know this ..

I think you have comprehension issues.. I am asking you simple question what did they say which caused all this drama? I am asking because I dont know .. I am not even saying what you think or mean I am asking a simple question "Do you know what they said which caused all this drama or not?"

I am not sure why you are going all defensive and stuff. Its a simple question really which you can't seem to understand for the life of it.

They have already been told numerous times by the social media that the two players were wrong so it doesn't matter what was said, the only thing that you must remember is that they were wrong. Now even you can join the bandwagon and start bashing the players without even knowing what was said, it will make no difference.

Social media is like that only, it's like a sheep herd with lots of trolls and people with lots of free time.. Everyone acts all pious on social media and is quick to judge and condemn others.. That's how its always been, it's just that now the internet using population has increased by a lot especially in countries like India so it's seem to be worse now..

I get your point but since this incident happened in a television show I would have thought people might have seen the full uncut version and can tell people like me who are curious to know what exactly was said which gave ammunition to all social media vigilantes.

But apparently I am wrong no one seem to know the exact comments which offended so many people. They just know that lot of people got offended.

Pandya said something like below..

I don't ask the names of the women I am dating or I have been with. I am very bad with names. I just watch them move as that is important to me. I am on the black side when it comes to women.
I am very much influenced by the black culture. If more than 2 of us go after the same girl, who ever got more game will take the girl.
I am open with my parents. I told them that I have lost my virginity. If I show them the girl, they will say Shabaash beta.

Not exactly the same words, but you got the gist.

Ahh ok thanks for telling me..

So basically he was bragging on national TV.. We all have been there we have bragged about women we have slept with in front of our friends so not a big deal.. But I guess it's national TV and these guys being celebrities would be judged by the public.. Don't see why they will get banned by BCCi for this non issue, I mean trolls will abuse them and call them names on social media which is sad but happens when you are a celebrity but why would a professional board like BCCI care about personal comments of any players as long as it doesn't violate BCCi policies?

Pandya said something like below..

I don't ask the names of the women I am dating or I have been with. I am very bad with names. I just watch them move as that is important to me. I am on the black side when it comes to women.
I am very much influenced by the black culture. If more than 2 of us go after the same girl, who ever got more game will take the girl.
I am open with my parents. I told them that I have lost my virginity. If I show them the girl, they will say Shabaash beta.

Not exactly the same words, but you got the gist.

And this invited a National Level inquiry and Supreme court into the matter.

It's already on post #5 on this very thread. Since you are posting here, I assume you already went through it.

It was 6 pages long I didn't read the posts so I asked the question.. Trodon has answered now so I get it ..

Milords wanted lime light. Formed the Lodha committee and then the CoA. Now they are getting dragged.

Utter nonsense.

But what exactly they said which caused the Twitter mob to go after them bro? I still can't find the answer to this question no one seem to know this ..

Nothing substantial needs to be said for the twitter lynch mob to become enraged. Just saying that they have been with multiple women or have told their parents that they have had sex is enough reason for the mob.

It was 6 pages long I didn't read the posts so I asked the question.. Trodon has answered now so I get it ..

I dont think many Indians get it.

Your nation has a bad reputation(others to do) towards women. This over hyped cricketer has only helped to cement this view amongst foriegners. Now Indian cricket is on PR exercise to show it wont tolerate such remarks aimed at women. A really good move imo. Not sure why so many Indians are uspet at this.

I dont think many Indians get it.

Your nation has a bad reputation(others to do) towards women. This over hyped cricketer has only helped to cement this view amongst foriegners. Now Indian cricket is on PR exercise to show it wont tolerate such remarks aimed at women. A really good move imo. Not sure why so many Indians are uspet at this.

My nation has far better reputation than many others. The per capita gender crime is not that high.

This is not a PR exercise. This is one woman who wants to show she is fighting for woman againist a male dominated bcci. She knows soon she will be out of bcci and will never ever get close to it again. Then she will use thess issues to cry foul and gather sympathy.

Most of the media in India is presently sympathetic to Pandya.

FYI foreign tourists to India ia rising annually.

My nation has far better reputation than many others. The per capita gender crime is not that high.

This is not a PR exercise. This is one woman who wants to show she is fighting for woman againist a male dominated bcci. She knows soon she will be out of bcci and will never ever get close to it again. Then she will use thess issues to cry foul and gather sympathy.

Most of the media in India is presently sympathetic to Pandya.

FYI foreign tourists to India ia rising annually.

Unless you're running for PM there is no need to play politics.

Headlines such as these are frequent in the UK

the everyday suffering of 650 million Indian women and girls goes unnoticed

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/apr/27/india-abuse-women-human-rights-rape-girls

The image of India(in the west) is one of serious issues for women. You might not care but it seems the cricketing offcials do which is why they have done this PR excercise.

Unless you think Kohli was talking nonsense by calling his comments inappropriate?

What cr@p is this? They were not representing BCCI on that C grade show. What they said in that show was their personal opinion and that had nothing to do with their cricket career.

Some people have hard time to believe that cricketers do not represent BCCI all the time and that they have their own personal lives.

And this invited a National Level inquiry and Supreme court into the matter.

We are a nation of hypocrites. Everybody gets enraged on twitter. But in their real lives, they are hardcore tharkis themselves.

I remember a friend of mine who studied Masters with me. He used constantly criticize woman for wearing revealing clothes and bad mouth them for that. One day I went to the Computer lab and saw him having fun in Yahoo chatroom talking to teenage girls dirty stuff.

Unless you're running for PM there is no need to play politics.

Headlines such as these are frequent in the UK

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/apr/27/india-abuse-women-human-rights-rape-girls

The image of India(in the west) is one of serious issues for women. You might not care but it seems the cricketing offcials do which is why they have done this PR excercise.

Unless you think Kohli was talking nonsense by calling his comments inappropriate?

There are other headlines which are more frequent in UK that concern women. If headlines in some UK papers made or break images of communities let alone countries then these UK papers will run the world. I understand your need to push an agenda it doesnot work.

The cricket officials were happy with a mere 2 match ban. But the lady CoA member didnot agree.

Kohli has his opinion. Doesnt mean others have the same.

This is sort of similar to how people get fired from their jobs for their behavior in public. Companies do not want their image to be tarnished by their employees. If you are racist or sexist then companies will want nothing to do with you. BCCI had to punish these two to maintain their reputation. If BCCI allow their players to behave in such manner in public it will only make Indian cricket look bad.

That's what I mentioned before.

In an ideal world, people could have separated personal life from the professional life. But we don't live in that world hence we need to adapt to the fact that sometimes, personal life may jeopardize the professional life.

This is sort of similar to how people get fired from their jobs for their behavior in public. Companies do not want their image to be tarnished by their employees. If you are racist or sexist then companies will want nothing to do with you. BCCI had to punish these two to maintain their reputation. If BCCI allow their players to behave in such manner in public it will only make Indian cricket look bad.

Sponsors have a say. However, an apology and a ban for a couple of games would have been enough. It would have taught a lesson to everybody too. This now has dragged into a witch Hunt by a frustrated lady who has no business in running a private BCCI body to begin with.

2 match ban was perfect. It would have reduced the outcry in social media and things would have been back to normal by now.

Thing is social media outcry is not a reason to ban people. The media is sympathetic to the players and slamming Edulji for her biased and hypocritic ways of functioning.

You keep repeating yourself. We get it.

Point is, this has been blown out of proportion and a simple ban should've sufficed but do these guys not live in today's world or are they that oblivious to the fact that everything gets thrown out of context and (social) media is extremely sensitive towards women. They tried flexing on a TV show and got carried away. Deserve everything coming their way because they aren't the first ones. They should've known better on how to handle themselves. But then again, money can't buy class.

These things they talked abt happen all the time, but how many people go brag about it on a TV show.

It's like speeding and not getting caught but bragging about it later on social media by posting a video and then crying about it when cops show up.

Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul suspensions 'lifted with immediate effect'

In a huge relief to Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul, the Committee of Administrators (CoA) lifted the interim suspension imposed on the duo with immediate effect, on Thursday. Rahul and Pandya were suspended by BCCI's CoA on 11 January in aftermath of their sexist and misogynist remarks made on a chat show Koffee With Karan.

The CoA, after consulting new amicus curiae PS Narsimha, decided to lift the suspension pending an inquiry, for which an ombudsman is to be appointed by the Supreme Court. The apex court has listed the matter tentatively for 5 February.

The CoA's statement read, "Since the adjudication of all allegations of misconduct against any cricketer registered with, inter alia, the BCCI is required to be undertaken by the BCCI Ombudsman, whose appointment is pending directions of the Hon’ble Supreme Court of India, the CoA is the of the view that the interim suspension orders dated 11.01.2019 should be presently lifted with immediate effect."

The matter has been pending with BCCI for almost two weeks. The two-member CoA was divided with regards to setting up an inquiry process into the sexism comments episode. As per an earlier report, Vinod Rai was in favour of appointing an ad-hoc Ombudsman, to overlook the same. He had suggested the name of BCCI CEO Rahul Johri to carry out a preliminary inquiry but the other CoA member Diana Edulji felt otherwise. Edulji wanted a permanent appointee to probe the case. The matter reached Supreme Court which had adjourned the hearing by a week on 17 January.

Pandya is now expected to join the team in New Zealand while Rahul might play in either domestic circuit or show up for India A in an ongoing home series against England Lions.

While Diana Edulji wanted the BCCI office-bearers to be involved in deciding the fate of the two cricketers, CoA chief Vinod Rai had dismissed the suggestion as it would have been in violation of the Board constitution.

Pandya is now expected to join the team in New Zealand while Rahul might play in either domestic circuit or show up for India A in an ongoing home series against England Lions.

While Diana Edulji wanted the BCCI office-bearers to be involved in deciding the fate of the two cricketers, CoA chief Vinod Rai had dismissed the suggestion as it would have been in violation of the Board constitution.

The CoA said the decision to suspend the two players was taken under "Rule 46 of the approved BCCI Constitution", which covers players' conduct that can bring the Board into disrepute.

The idea of letting the players get on with the game was first mooted by BCCI acting president CK Khanna, who wanted the suspensions to be lifted pending inquiry.

https://www.firstpost.com/firstcric...th-immediate-effect-by-bccis-coa-5955751.html

So in short they were ban for for around 5 odi, assuming they will be available for selection from third odi of the series.

Sanity prevailed finally. Hope this break helped Rahul to regain his lost form and also Pandya to mark his authority again as 2nd best all rounder in this era.

Vinod Rai needed a bit if support to overrule Diana Edulji. He got it from Amicus Curiae.

Great!! I wept a little the other day seeing Shankar delivering 120kph thunderbolts.

Hope Pandya will learn from his mistake and keep his painduness in check. Rahul was just plain unlucky, wrong place wrong time.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Rajasthan: Case registered against Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul & Karan Johar in Jodhpur for comments made during Johar's talk show in December last year. <a href="https://t.co/eC19D3jxoP">pic.twitter.com/eC19D3jxoP</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1092981744997785600?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 6, 2019</a></blockquote>

can some one tell me what exactly did they say?

* conversation *

"Why don't you ask women's names at nightclubs?" asked Johar when Hardik replied saying he struggles in remembering names of the women he interacts with during such parties. "I like to watch and observe how they move. I'm little from the Black side so I need to see how they move," Pandya responded.
He dwelled onto his sex life suggesting, "When I lost my virginity, I came home and said, Main karke aaya hai aaj (I did it today)”. Further highlighting the casual take on the subject from his parents, the 25-year-old revealed how "cool" he is with his family members.
"At a party my parents asked me acha tera wala (women) kaun sa hai (Which are your women)? I said yeh, yeh, yeh (pointing out women) and they were like waah proud of you beta," Pandya asserted.

Another question from Karan Johar that attracted a debatable response from the two cricketers was, "If you all hit on the same women, then how do you decide?". Rahul answered saying, "up to the woman" while an outspoken Hardik said: "Nahi nahi aisa kuch nahi hai, talent pe hota hai. Jisko mila woh leke jao (Nothing like that, it's about talent, whoever gets them, takes them)".

* conversation *

"Why don't you ask women's names at nightclubs?" asked Johar when Hardik replied saying he struggles in remembering names of the women he interacts with during such parties. "I like to watch and observe how they move. I'm little from the Black side so I need to see how they move," Pandya responded.
He dwelled onto his sex life suggesting, "When I lost my virginity, I came home and said, Main karke aaya hai aaj (I did it today)”. Further highlighting the casual take on the subject from his parents, the 25-year-old revealed how "cool" he is with his family members.
"At a party my parents asked me acha tera wala (women) kaun sa hai (Which are your women)? I said yeh, yeh, yeh (pointing out women) and they were like waah proud of you beta," Pandya asserted.

Another question from Karan Johar that attracted a debatable response from the two cricketers was, "If you all hit on the same women, then how do you decide?". Rahul answered saying, "up to the woman" while an outspoken Hardik said: "Nahi nahi aisa kuch nahi hai, talent pe hota hai. Jisko mila woh leke jao (Nothing like that, it's about talent, whoever gets them, takes them)".
Reflecting on this again, I think Rahul would be be cursing his stars that he had Pandya as co-invitee for that episode of Karan's show. I don't think he said anything objectionable, at least not from what I heard.

Hardik Pandya-KL Rahul issue in spotlight as BCCI’s CoA discuss pending issues with new Amicus

New Delhi: The Committee of Administrators (CoA) Monday met Amicus Curiae PS Narasimha to discuss the pending legal issues before the next Supreme Court hearing, scheduled on February 21.

One of the key issues that could be taken up by the two-judge bench of Justice SA Bobde and Abhay Manohar Sapre is the appointment of Ombudsman, who could take a call on the KL Rahul–Hardik Pandya controversy.

Rahul and Pandya were provisionally suspended by the BCCI for their sexist comments on a popular TV chat show. The suspension was later revoked pending inquiry.

The two cricketers are back in national colours, but the final verdict will only be passed once the apex court gives the go-ahead for appointment of Ombudsman.

Vinod Rai and Diana Edulji, the two warring members of the SC-appointed body, have hardly concurred on various policy decisions of late.

However, with the case pending in the apex court, the two members needed to sit for a briefing with the Amicus and update him about the status of compliance as far as the various state units are concerned. Both Rai and Edulji were unavailable for a comment.

It is still not clear whether the CoA will be filing another status report as to which of the affiliated units are fully Lodha Committee recommendations compliant, how many are partially compliant and how many non-compliant.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...discuss-pending-issues-with-new-amicus-804433

They are set to meet again on February 20 to prepare for the case, which will be up for hearing on the next date. There might be another plea to get a third member in the COA as Rai and Edulji have not agreed on most of the policy decisions. The COA has already submitted a list of names from which a third member can be selected by the court.

Edulji has, in fact, appointed a personal lawyer to “protect” her “rights” in the organisation, and she had intimated the COA chief about it, hours before the last hearing.

Ombudsman sends notices to Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul for deposition in chat show controversy

The Supreme Court-appointed BCCI Ombudsman Justice (Retd) DK Jain has issued notices to India players Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul to appear for deposition for their sexist comments on a TV chat show.

Pandya and Rahul were provisionally suspended by the Committee of Administrators (CoA) for their loose talk on chat show “Koffee With Karan” before the ban was lifted pending inquiry by the Ombudsman.

“I have issued notices last week to Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul asking them to appear for deposition,” Justice Jain told PTI on Monday.

However, it is not clear how the BCCI will co-ordinate with Pandya and Rahul’s respective franchises Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab to arrange for their deposition in between the ongoing IPL. It is learnt that they might depose ahead of teh April 11 clash between the two teams in Mumbai.

“Both are playing IPL and the itinerary is packed with back to back matches and a gruelling travel schedule,” a BCCI official said.

The Ombudsman, who is also the BCCI’s ad-hoc Ethics Officer, made it clear that for the matter to reach its logical conclusion, the duo needs to depose.

“As per principles of natural justice, I need to hear their side. It’s up to them now to decide when they want to appear,” Justice Jain said.

It is understood that both players have to appear in person and not through their legal representatives.

The controversial episode was aired in the first week of January, triggering outrage, which prompted the COA to call the duo back from the tour of Australia handing them provisional suspensions.

The two tendered unconditional apologies and their ban was provisionally lifted pending inquiry.

Once Jain assumed his role, the COA handed over the matter to him for the completion of inquiry.

Jain has also received a complaint about former India captain Sourav Ganguly’s alleged ‘Conflict of Interest’ in his dual role of being the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president and an adviser to IPL franchise Delhi Capitals.

“I am supposed to receive a fresh set of complaints on various issues today. I don’t know whether the issue (Ganguly’s Conflict) is in this lot or not. As and when I get the details, I will have a detailed look into the matter,” said Jain.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...or-deposition-in-chat-show-controversy-822761

India all-rounder Hardik Pandya has deposed before the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) ombudsman and ethics officer DK Jain in Mumbai in connection with his controversial comments in a chat show. India opener KL Rahul is expected to depose on Wednesday morning. While Pandya is a part of Mumbai Indians in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL), Rahul is plying his trade for Kings XI Punjab and the two teams are set to face each other at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

Speaking to IANS, a senior board functionary said the ombudsman is expected to submit his report to the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) before the national selectors sit for the selection of the Indian team for the 2019 World Cup.

"While there is no timeline as such, but we are hopeful the ombudsman will submit his report on the duo before M.S.K Prasad and his team sits for the selection meeting in Mumbai on Monday. Nobody can read the mind of another individual, but the punishment cannot be bigger than the crime. Let's see what the ombudsman's report says about the two," the functionary said.

Earlier, in his apology to the BCCI, Pandya had written: "I made an appearance on the chat show where I have made certain statements without realising that these could be disrespectful and offend sensitivities of viewers for which I am sincerely regretful. I would like to assure you that there was no malice or any sort of ill-intent on my part to offend anyone or portray any section of the society in bad light. I made these statements in the flow of the show and had not comprehended the extent to which my statements would be found offensive."

Rahul on his part wrote: "At the outset, I extend my unconditional heartfelt apology for this extremely unfortunate incident. I'm extremely ashamed and embarrassed since this has caused such disgrace and embarrassment to both, the BCCI and sport of cricket. I assure you that, I shall, in the future, act more responsibly and shall ensure that my actions befit my stature as cricketer and a public personality representing India and the BCCI, across the globe."

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/har...budsman-kl-rahul-to-meet-on-wednesday-2020550

Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul fined Rs 20 lakh each for Koffee with Karan row

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Ombudsman DK Jain on Saturday directed Hardik Pandya and opener KL Rahul to donate a sum of Rs 1 lakh each, to widows of 10 constables in paramilitary forces who have lost their lives on duty. The duo have to pay the fine as a punishment for the sexist comments they made on Karan Johar's TV show Koffee with Karan.

Hardik and Rahul have also been asked to pay Rs 10 lakh each in the fund created by Cricket Association for the blind, for promotion of game for the blind within 4 weeks.

The Ombudsman has also said that if both the players fail to do so within four weeks from the date of the receipt of the order, the Board of Control for Cricket in India might deduct the said amount from the match fees payable to the players.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">BCCI Ombudsman directs KL Rahul & Hardik Pandya to pay Rs1,00,000 each to families of 10 constables in para-military forces who have lost their lives on duty & Rs 10,00,000 in the fund created by Cricket Association for the blind,for promotion of game for the blind,within 4 weeks <a href="https://t.co/Ju7Zgvwsit">https://t.co/Ju7Zgvwsit</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1119495664428363781?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">20 April 2019</a></blockquote>

The Ombudsman noted that the players had already missed out on earning of about Rs 30 lakh as they had been sent back from the tour of Australia. But he also noted that cricketers in the country are role models and their act should be befitting the status they have acquired.

But he also noted that since both the players apologised and did not contest the action initiated against them, it is unnecessary to return a categorical finding as to whether the remarks made during the course of the chat show constitutes as an act of indiscipline or misconduct or violation of any of Rules and Regulations on part of players as contemplated under Rule 41 (1) (c) of the rules.

Clearly, the matter ends with this and the two cricketers can now look forward to representing the country with aplomb in the upcoming World Cup in England and Wales as the national selectors have picked the duo in the 15-member squad.

The controversial episode was aired in the first week of January, triggering outrage, which prompted the COA to call the duo back from the tour of Australia, handing them provisional suspensions.

The two tendered unconditional apologies and their ban was provisionally lifted pending inquiry. Once Jain assumed his role, the COA handed over the matter to Ombudsman for the completion of inquiry.

The two players have also spoken publicly on the incident, recalling one of the toughest phases of their respective careers.

Link: https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...fee-with-karan-controversy-1506144-2019-04-20

BCCI Ombudsman DK Jain has asked allrounder Hardik Pandya and opener KL Rahul to pay a sum of Rs 1 lakh each, to widows of 10 constables in paramilitary forces who have lost their lives on duty. They have also been asked to deposit Rs 10 lakh in the fund created for promotion of cricket for the blind as fine for their misconduct in chat show.

In a report, accessed by IANS, the ombudsman has also said that if both the players fail to do so within four weeks from the date of the receipt of the order, the Board of Control for Cricket in India might deduct the said amount from the match fees payable to the players.

The ombudsman noted that the players had already missed out on earning of about Rs 30 lakh as they had been sent back from the tour of Australia. But he also noted that cricketers in the country are role models and their act should be befitting the status they have acquired.

But he also noted that since both the players apologised and did not contest the action initiated against them, it is unnecessary to return a categorical finding as to whether the remarks made during the course of the chat show constitutes as an act of indiscipline or misconduct or violation of any of Rules and Regulations on part of players as contemplated under Rule 41 (1) (c) of the rules.

Clearly, the matter ends with this and the two cricketers can now look forward to representing the country with aplomb in the upcoming World Cup in England and Wales as the national selectors have picked the duo in the 15-member squad.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...tary-forces-promotion-of-blind-cricket-832114

India all-rounder Hardik Pandya and batsman KL Rahul have been fined for "sexist, disrespectful and racist" comments made on a television chat show.

They have been ordered to pay 2m rupees (£22,160) each by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Pandya and Rahul were guests on Indian programme Koffee with Karan in January.

Pandya, 25, and Rahul, 27, were subsequently sent home from India's tour of Australia.

They missed five matches and lost out on match fees worth more than £30,000, although the bans were later lifted.

The BCCI said the players had shown regret and apologised for the comments but that they had to "make amends".

A BCCI ombudsman wrote in his report: "In our country the game of cricket is often treated as religion, revered and the cricketers are idolised.

"A player of international standing needs to bear in mind that he is shouldering a responsibility towards society all the time."

On the show, Pandya spoke about "hook-ups" with several women and said he liked to observe women at bars and nightclubs.

He boasted about being open with his parents about the liaisons, although Rahul was more reserved with his comments.

India captain Virat Kohli described the remarks as "inappropriate" before the players were suspended.

The proceeds of the fines will be shared between the bereaved widows of servicemen and a blind cricket scheme.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/cricket/47998036

The ball was in someone else's court: Hardik Pandya on "Koffee" controversy

India all-rounder Hardik Pandya, the next guest on India Today Inspiration, has spilled beans on the "Koffee with Karan" controversy that lead to his suspension from the Indian team and has also revealed how he came back stronger after witnessing that phase in his career.

Hardik Pandya has not played for India since September last year as he suffered a back injury but the 26-year-old is expected to make a comeback sooner as he has been named in India A squad for the tour of New Zealand.

In conversation with India Today Consulting Editor, Sports, Boria Majumdar, on India Today Inspiration, Pandya said that he is hopeful for yet another good comeback as he has been "lucky" so far in those cases.

The power-hitting batsman also opened up about the "Koffee" controversy where he faced bashing from fans and critics for his sexist remarks on the chat show "Koffee with Karan", hosted by filmmaker Karan Johar. Pandya had appeared on the show with teammate KL Rahul.

The two cricketers were issued show-cause notices by the BCCI after their controversial remarks on the chat show and also suspended them from the team, causing them to sit out India’s ODI series against Australia.

"We as cricketers did not know what was going to happen. The ball was not in my court, it was in some else’s court where they had to take the shot and that’s a very vulnerable place you don’t want to be," Pandya said about that incident.
https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...controversy-india-comeback-1634827-2020-01-08

It appears that I am now also living rent-free in your head, with Rahul as my neighbor. We hang out in the evenings on the sofa drinking beer and chuckling at how we have triggered some souls.

[MENTION=134981]Bhaag Viru Bhaag[/MENTION]

Haven't heard you trash the "average cricketer" in a while. Seems like Rahul has finally given up living rent-free in your head.

Jokes apart, the fact that he earned what he did in the IPL obviously meant his talent was anything but "average".