Harry Potter

iZeeshan

Senior Test Player
This has now become an ICON all over the world. More then a million people read J.K. Rowling's famous book, and await the last in the series which is due to come on the 21st of July.

How many HP fanatics do have on PP? Got any rumors to share? Or to discuss ongoing theories about Dumbledore's death, Snape's true stature, etc?

I myself am one, and desperately await the 21st to get my copy! Its even more important then the movie to me!

i've heard that one of the characters from the first book who wasn't in any of the other books, makes a return in a big way in this new book

Havent read it.

Havent watched it.

Dont see the fuss behind it.

Seems like a very successful way of fleecing youngsters/parent for their cash.

And then you have all these weirdos (kids and parents) dressed up as Harry POtter queing up at midnight for the book!

That's the magic of harry potter, almost anything can happen!

I've had the new book for about a week now :D

sam1eh said:

where did you get it from? serious??

sam1eh said:

BS. I don't believe you, AT ALL.

Jayed said:
where did you get it from? serious??

Yep, let's just say a friend of mine is very well connected, I can't say exactly where I got it from tho.
I myself am one, and desperately await the 21st to get my copy! Its even more important then the movie to me!

I always find that books are better than their movies, I guess the author's pretty much have no limitations whereas directors can't go on for 600 pages worth of screen time, for example.

iZeeshan said:
BS. I don't believe you, AT ALL.

:D That's entirely up to you...

I could tell you what happens...but that would be kinda cruel! :p

is Harry Potter's for kids? i ve never read nor seen the entire movie....i did catch scene where they have a race on a flying broomstick

sam1eh said:

So what you are saying is that you have committed a federal offence? :D

J-Essence said:
is Harry Potter's for kids? i ve never read nor seen the entire movie....i did catch scene where they have a race on a flying broomstick
Everyone reads Harry Potter yaar. Kids and adults. Its great!

Btw, this discussion isn't really heading towards where I wanted it to head. I was hoping for some discussions...

Where's Easa?

sam1eh said:
:D That's entirely up to you...

I could tell you what happens...but that would be kinda cruel! :p

Does it live up to its hype.

Please please do not spoil it if you have heard any rumors or anything.. it will completely ruin it for the people that actually hang on to every word JK Rowling says. Huge huge fan of the books, can't wait until July 21st! I have many theories, each as unlikely as the other but one thing is for sure - Severus Snape is on the good side. Any arguments zee?

I disagree. You see, I am a strong proponent of "foreshadowing". In the middle of the book, Dumbleydorey is talking to Harry, and says to him, "I am a wise man. I hardly make mistakes BUT when I do make them, they are huger". I believe this to be forshadowing that Albus has made a huge mistake trusting Snape.

But what contradicts this is that DD was never afrade of death and wouldn't plead for it. I dunno, we'll have to see.

Btw, RAB is Regulus Black, do you agree?

sam1eh said:
I always find that books are better than their movies, I guess the author's pretty much have no limitations whereas directors can't go on for 600 pages worth of screen time, for example.

I agree. :D
I love to read books from many genres and I hate it when a really good book is made into a bad film.I have my own ideas how character's should look and sometimes they get the casting so wrong.. :29:

I do enjoy Harry Potter and I am looking forward to reading the book. :11:

iZeeshan said:
I disagree. You see, I am a strong proponent of "foreshadowing". In the middle of the book, Dumbleydorey is talking to Harry, and says to him, "I am a wise man. I hardly make mistakes BUT when I do make them, they are huger". I believe this to be forshadowing that Albus has made a huge mistake trusting Snape.
I hear where you are coming from but I have a different theory.. Dumbeldore pleaded with him not for his life but for Snape to kill him. there are some quotes that back me up and here they are.. we all know that in HBP Snape and Dumbeldore were having lots of discussions like this..

"I jus' heard Snape sayin' Dumbledore took too much fet granted an' maybe he-Snape- didn't wan' ter' do it anymore... Dumbledore told him flat out, he agreed ter do it an' that was all there was to it" - Hagrid
That there is strong evidence that Dumbeldore was not pleading for his life.. he was pleading for Severus to take his life..

But what contradicts this is that DD was never afrade of death and wouldn't plead for it. I dunno, we'll have to see.
exactly. Even when Malfoy was there, threatening to kill him he never feared death. Why would he say that?

Btw, RAB is Regulus Black, do you agree?
yup, I'd guess so. But he's been dead for quite a while.

Dumbledore sacrificed himself as that was the only way that Harry could be powerful enough to defeat Voldemort. It was a classic case of "You can't win, Darth. If you strike me down, I shall become more powerful than you could possibly imagine."

MCMLXXXII said:
"You can't win, Darth. If you strike me down, I shall become more powerful than you could possibly imagine."

:14: :14: :14:

QOTY.....

Are you an SW fan too???

MCMLXXXII said:
Dumbledore sacrificed himself as that was the only way that Harry could be powerful enough to defeat Voldemort. It was a classic case of "You can't win, Darth. If you strike me down, I shall become more powerful than you could possibly imagine."
Yes I agree with ALL of that.

But don't you think that what Dumbledore said (the line I put up), JK Rowling put in for a reason? I mean, what would be his mistake then?

iZeeshan said:
Yes I agree with ALL of that.

But don't you think that what Dumbledore said (the line I put up), JK Rowling put in for a reason? I mean, what would be his mistake then?
The horcrux. He weakened himself greatly because he incorrectly thought he was drinking that potion in hope of destroying a horcrux. That was his huge mistake..

Wait, I don't get it. Well, I do. But that's not a huge mistake.

I would think that a huge mistake would lead to serious injury or death. Sure he mistakened by not KNOWING that the horcrux was gone. Its not really mistake. It would be a mistake if he wasn't SUPPOSED to drink it.

I think Dumbledore's biggest mistake caused Voldemort to rise and gain power in the first place.

Avoid New Harry Potter Book at Your Own Peril: PCB Official

Submitted by Rohit Bhandiye on Mon, 2007-07-09 15:09.

Controversy

In a dramatic twist, unamed sources within the PCB went off the record to deny that an unamed player within the Pakistani team had been found reading excerpts of the latest Harry Potter book outside curfew times.

Police Action

A library assistant who chose not to reveal her identity told our unamed sources correspondant that 'she had no idea what we were talking about' and that she would 'call the police if he did not leave the premises immediately'.

More from Rohit after the weather....

Avoid New Harry Potter Book at Your Own Peril: PCB Official

Submitted by Rohit Bhandiye on Mon, 2007-07-09 15:09.

Controversy

In a dramatic twist, unamed sources within the PCB went off the record to deny that an unamed player within the Pakistani team had been found reading excerpts of the latest Harry Potter book outside curfew times.

Police Action

A library assistant who chose not to reveal her identity told our unamed sources correspondant that 'she had no idea what we were talking about' and that she would 'call the police if he did not leave the premises immediately'.

More from Rohit after the weather....

As much as I hate you for making fun of HP right now, :))) :))) :)))

MCMLXXXII said:
I think Dumbledore's biggest mistake caused Voldemort to rise and gain power in the first place.
Technically, thats not his mistake. Plus, its meant to be said because something WILL happen, not already happened.

how could you have got hold of the book so soon :s

anyways im a fan of harry potter too, can't wait for the order of phoneix to come outttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttttt i want to see sirius black's last scene and when harry and voldermort fight it out again

voldermort rised from harry's strength, as he became stronger and stronger (as DD said it is in his destiny that a day will come they both will have a major fight, and that harry and voldermort can only be alive together)

Yea can't wait for that either. The trailer looks niiiiice.

still 2more films to be released, i wonder how long the last film will take and i think it wil be the most anticipated wait for all HP fans!!!! i hope they dont change the characters, bt i heard as they have all hit puberty they are growing fast

Muzy said:
still 2more films to be released, i wonder how long the last film will take and i think it wil be the most anticipated wait for all HP fans!!!! i hope they dont change the characters, bt i heard as they have all hit puberty they are growing fast
Haha yea. It will be pretty hard to keep the same three. Though I did hear that Emma Watson (Hermione) didn't want to go on, and didn't sign the contract for the 7th movie.

iZeeshan said:
I would think that a huge mistake would lead to serious injury or death. Sure he mistakened by not KNOWING that the horcrux was gone. Its not really mistake. It would be a mistake if he wasn't SUPPOSED to drink it.

Well not necessarily, the huge mistake could also have led to Dumbledore's worst fear coming true. In this case, it would be that his mistake led to the students' lives at Hogwarts being put in danger when Malfoy found a way to sneak Death Eaters in.

iZeeshan said:
Emma Watson (Hermione) didn't want to go on, and didn't sign the contract for the 7th movie.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
:6: :6: :6:

She signed the deal for the 7th movie. I'm sure I read it.

Hmm, it might have been someone else then. Thought it was Hermione though cuz she wanted to go ahead with her studies.

Also, in reply to m_sohail: You're right. It could be anyone of those things. But the example I gave just seems to fit into everything perfectly. All those other things are really pin-pointed bits.

Emma Watson is :O in the new movie. Sorry, it had to be said!

I have a very interesting theory.. is McGonnagal a death-eater?

Medic said:
She is quite useless actually, seems to have a lot of power but rarely seems to use it. .she's always around the order but is rarely doing something that they need, every time theres a tragedy and something happens, she is a blubbering mess and doesn't really do anything to help. I've begun to enjoy JK Rowling and she doesn't develop static characters.. I feel we're in for a surprise in the final book.

Also, I think we might just be introduced to Aberforth Dumbeldore, Albus's brother in this book and Rowling hinted that he'll play a major part. As far as we know, there have been very few mentions of him in the book.. 1) Dumbeldore mentioned him once but wasn't exactly complimenting his power.. actually hinted that he is deaf.. 2) Sirius mentioned him once.. and he is apparently the bartender at that bar.. the Hogs Head. He might be the character we are introduced to.

Easa said:
Emma Watson is :O in the new movie. Sorry, it had to be said!

I have a very interesting theory.. is McGonnagal a death-eater?
Intersting yes, but what is your base?

Emma Watson was :O -er at the Yule Ball.

iZeeshan said:
Intersting yes, but what is your base?

Emma Watson was :O -er at the Yule Ball.
Read above.. I outlined it.

Easa said:
She is quite useless actually, seems to have a lot of power but rarely seems to use it. .she's always around the order but is rarely doing something that they need, every time theres a tragedy and something happens, she is a blubbering mess and doesn't really do anything to help. I've begun to enjoy JK Rowling and she doesn't develop static characters.. I feel we're in for a surprise in the final book.
I don't think that's entirely true. She told her class about the Chamber of Secrets, and that's how Harry ended up killing the Snape. Your theory isn't proved too well. She doesn't use her power to her fullest extent, but is worried when bad things happen and supports DD 100%.

As for Aberforth, I really dunno. What kind of a role COULD he play?

iZeeshan said:
I don't think that's entirely true. She told her class about the Chamber of Secrets, and that's how Harry ended up killing the Snape. Your theory isn't proved too well. She doesn't use her power to her fullest extent, but is worried when bad things happen and supports DD 100%.

As for Aberforth, I really dunno. What kind of a role COULD he play?
Nope, not true at all. It was Professor Binns who told Harry and the rest of the class about the Chamber of Secrets and the Baslik and Hermione went to the library and researched about it. Again - she didn't do anything at all.

But just because he doesn't do anything doesn't mean she is a deatheater. Honestly, when was she supposed to do anything anway?

iZeeshan said:
But just because he doesn't do anything doesn't mean she is a deatheater. Honestly, when was she supposed to do anything anway?
What? She's the most powerful witch in the school.. she's 2nd only to Dumbeldore in command, she's an Animagi, she's the transfiguration teacher, and she will be headmistress when the school opens. She is very powerful but is often too much of a wreck to do anything which I find suspicious.

Well, you didn't answer my question completely. Name some situations where she should have done something but didn't.

Easa said:
What? She's the most powerful witch in the school.. she's 2nd only to Dumbeldore in command, she's an Animagi, she's the transfiguration teacher, and she will be headmistress when the school opens. She is very powerful but is often too much of a wreck to do anything which I find suspicious.

I don't have the first book on me, but in the first chapter wasn't Dumbledore a bit suspicious of McGonnagal?

It has been a while since I read that chapter, but I remember distinctly getting the vibe that Dumbledore had kept some things only to himself, because he wasn't sure he could trust anyone (including Minervra).

iZeeshan said:
Well, you didn't answer my question completely. Name some situations where she should have done something but didn't.
All right, I was reading an article and it made me believe even more that McGonnagal might be a death eater.. check it out!

When has McGonnagal taught the trio anything that is worth anything? Sure they can turn matches into pins or whatever but what else? Snape has taught Harry occulmens and bezoars and that has saved their life. I think Rowling is building up for a huge surprise.. she likes surprising people and I think Minerva is Voldemort's most trusted servant and Snape is the one on the good side.

Let's consider her age - she was obviously in school when Voldemort was around and could have learned a lot from him. She is actually the trusted one that Voldemort knows is at the school.. here are some suspicious examples..

Let's rewind back to the first scene in the book.. when McGonnogal (AN UNREGISTERED ANIMAGI) is near the Dursley residence in her cat form. Do you know who else is an unregistered animagi? Rita Skeeter? Peter Pettigrew? Not the nicest people..

And you know whats so suspicious? Dumbeldore who's supposed to be her friend doesn't know she's an animagi. Dumbeldore however knows she is in disguise.. and this is what she says (“How did you know it was me?” pg. 9)..

Okay. Let's forget all that. Let's focus on how the cat is acting. “The cat’s tail twitched and its eyes narrowed.” (pg. 8) That is not a good sign; that is her reaction when she says Dumbeldore. Cats are NOT happy when they twitch their tails..

She doesn't seem to be very sad about the Potters either.. this was her reaction: “Yes, yes it’s all very sad.” Furthermore she seems to be unhappy that wizards are celebrating the fall of Voldemort (“sniffed angrily” pg 10).

Why is she even there at Privet Drive? Dumbeldore didn't ask her to be there.. Hagrid didn't ask her to be there.. so why is she there? She fails to answer that and is acting very suspicious.. is she just flustered at the fall of her master?

Need any more evidence?

m_sohail said:
I don't have the first book on me, but in the first chapter wasn't Dumbledore a bit suspicious of McGonnagal?

It has been a while since I read that chapter, but I remember distinctly getting the vibe that Dumbledore had kept some things only to himself, because he wasn't sure he could trust anyone (including Minervra).
Look at my recent post.. I've outlined the first chapter of the whole series in detail.. Dumbeldore is very suspicious of Minerva as this time..

That person REALLY, and I mean REALLY, drives his point home, but I still fail to blieve it.

iZeeshan said:
That person REALLY, and I mean REALLY, drives his point home, but I still fail to blieve it.
Well, give me some credit too, I put it together for you all.. :D

Yes well it seems unlikely but this could be a twist, and I can see it happening. Snape simply can't be bad.. he's been portrayed as an evil, slimeball throughout the series.. Rowling will not make a static character.. Severus Snape will do something in the final book.. mark my words!

Yeah you're right.

There has always been a redemptive pattern to Snape. We get it in each book: He is a jerk but then he does something humane.

I think in the end, Snape is just looking out for himself. But he'll help Harry in some way. It'll be enough to prove he isn't purely evil, but not enough to prove he isn't an a55.

Well its quite easy to mark your words Easa :D

I guess we'll just have to wait till the 21st. No point in all these silly theories :p

m_sohail said:
Yeah you're right.

There has always been a redemptive pattern to Snape. We get it in each book: He is a jerk but then he does something humane.

I think in the end, Snape is just looking out for himself. But he'll help Harry in some way. It'll be enough to prove he isn't purely evil, but not enough to prove he isn't an a55.
And there has to be something about Snape.. why was Albus so stubborn in his defense for Snape? Something must have happened.. we'll just have to wait and see. Meanwhile I think Minerva continues to be useless.

Medic said:
Easa you got me thinking...
Its actually a pretty scary thought.. the one that you would never ever suspect to be a death eater.. but why was she acting so suspiciously in the first scene of SS and the last scene of HBP? A lot of questions to be answered..

Yes there is a lot to left pondered on. Meanwhile, I think that Snape is BaaaaaaaaaaaaD.

snape killed dumbledore how can he not be evil? why would he kill such a man who harry needed for support?? there's mystery in his thinking, but there is a hint of suspician that he may actually be looking out for harry

it's funi but there is a pattern of links of the people who have died, they were mostly harry's side

We used to have a poster on PakPassion (Sportsnetwork days) called 'Harry da Puttar' : :))

lol @ oxy has to break the ice doesnt he

Plasma said:
girls just want attention thats all...

You never know... she might be telling the truth after all.

I know a person that was promised Deathly Hallows the moment it arrived at the store. The book shop owner (just one small store) was very good friends with the person, seeing the person was a regular customer.

Give Sam1eh some benefit of the doubt.

iZeeshan said:
Yes there is a lot to left pondered on. Meanwhile, I think that Snape is BaaaaaaaaaaaaD.
What about Snape and Dumbledore's conversation that was overheard by Hagrid?

" I was coming outta the Forest the other evenin' an i overheard 'em
talkin' - well arguin'. ... it was a well- heated discussion, an it wasn' easy ter block it out.'

'Well - i jus' heard Snape sayin' Dumbledore took too much for granted an' maybe he - Snape- didn't wan' ter do it any more -'

... it sounded like Snape was feelin' a bit overworked, tha's all - anyway, Dumbledore told him flat out he'd agreed to do it...Pretty firm with him. an' then he said summat abou' Snape makin' investigations in his house, in Slytherin.."

Lots of 'agreed to do it', 'didn't wan' ter do it any more'..

Plus Dumbledore has never ever been afraid of death. He is always willing to sacrifice himself, remember he told Harry that Harry's blood was worth more than his. During those final moments, I thin Snape and Dumbledore communicated in their mind using occulumency.. the conversation would have gone something like this..

'Snape.. kill me'
'I can't'

And then out loud..

'Severus please..'

The books are just fantastic and are not only for kids. They are loved by all over the world and appeal to an older audience as well. If you have not even read the book, how can you criticize it? Really looking forward to the book and the movie serves as a little build up as well. I haven't really enjoyed the movies so far but this one looks good.

Easa said:
What about Snape and Dumbledore's conversation that was overheard by Hagrid?

" I was coming outta the Forest the other evenin' an i overheard 'em
talkin' - well arguin'. ... it was a well- heated discussion, an it wasn' easy ter block it out.'

'Well - i jus' heard Snape sayin' Dumbledore took too much for granted an' maybe he - Snape- didn't wan' ter do it any more -'

... it sounded like Snape was feelin' a bit overworked, tha's all - anyway, Dumbledore told him flat out he'd agreed to do it...Pretty firm with him. an' then he said summat abou' Snape makin' investigations in his house, in Slytherin.."

Lots of 'agreed to do it', 'didn't wan' ter do it any more'..

Plus Dumbledore has never ever been afraid of death. He is always willing to sacrifice himself, remember he told Harry that Harry's blood was worth more than his. During those final moments, I thin Snape and Dumbledore communicated in their mind using occulumency.. the conversation would have gone something like this..

'Snape.. kill me'
'I can't'

And then out loud..

'Severus please..'

Hmmm...I still don't get that. Lots of people have tried to prove me wrong with that but it makes no sense to me.

Easa, forshadowing is a HUGE part of all books. Well, a lot of books. If wasn't lazy, I'd look thru books 1-6 and find at least one or two instances of forshadowing. This time, it just seems to fit perfectly.

iZeeshan said:
Hmmm...I still don't get that. Lots of people have tried to prove me wrong with that but it makes no sense to me.

Easa, forshadowing is a HUGE part of all books. Well, a lot of books. If wasn't lazy, I'd look thru books 1-6 and find at least one or two instances of forshadowing. This time, it just seems to fit perfectly.
Zeeshan mere bhai, read between the lines. The examples I am giving are examples of foreshadowing. The conversations with Snape that he had, his willingness to get hurt while with Harry, and teaching Harry everything he knows all lead to his death. He planned it, I'm sure of it.

Your idea makes sense, but mine is more clear cut. Foreshadowing is clear cut. Plus, with my idea everythign fits in SO perfectly. DD says that his mistakes are usually bigger and then BAM he dies.

But the one and only thing that contradicts my theory is the DD would never beg for his life. In fact he knew he was going to die so told Snape to kill him to strenthen his everlasting bond with Voldy.

If you ignore the foreshadowing, the its obviously the 2nd theory. And its prolly the 2nd theory. But the 1st theory makes a lot more sense.

Or as sam1eh, if she really has it..

As for you ms, I want you to take a pic of any one of the pages of the book (THE INSIDE), make sure you focus on the top because thats where its gonna say the deathly hollows or a name of a different chapter...

u gotta do it...

After watching the latest Harry Pothead movie (his hands were sort of tied), one of my cousins gave this synopsis:

"Harry potter.. a 14 year old with glasses you would only wear as a dare.. a plastic wand to substiute a real danda.. talks muble jumble, sometimes it passes as 'magic' other times your wondering *** this kid is on.."
Classic.
Havent seen the movie (only seen bits of the first one and havent read the books either) but from what I gather, people who've read the book say its crap and people who havent seen the previous movies say its crap

pakistani_banda said:
just 8 days left for the book inshAllah
Yea bro I can't wait!

I am not at home, but the two kids here are HUGE Harry Potter fans, but their parents are kinda strict so I might have to end up watching the movie after the book. :| :(

The movie doesn't come out in Kuwait until Wednesday.. why are we always behind the damn world? And for the release of the book, its July 21st for English speaking countries.. what about us? I hope it releases the same time or else I'll be really mad..

Oh that would stink Easa! Movie came out today, but haven't seen it.