Has India become to the present Pakistani team, what Pakistan used to be to the Indians in the 90s?

No worries, shoe is on other side of foot now.

That's the whole point of being a sports fan, you take the rough with the smooth.

A true fan will always support their team come what may.

I can take this rough ride but it will be harder for the newer generation who may just abandon a ship they seek sinking.

Ha Ha......Yes true. Changing times

miss contest like sunny/jimmy vs imran, sachin vs Ws etc....Used to hate Miandad to core and fan of Imran.
Heck, I remember watching a match when there was no way Pakistan could have won but Salim Malik came & played some 40 balls 70 something inning in those days and won the match. it used to be really frustrating.....
records in WC matches are somewhat neutralizing.....

Yeah I must be dreaming.

You can squash the statistics whichever way you like as this is your trait it seems but you can't change the past. What does the head go head record say ?? Is it even close ?? I rest my case.

Fact is India were a mediocre cricket side for 50 years. Only after the millennium did you become a more decent all round team and became competitive.

And yes I will cherish those memories when beating India was something expected as a norm and losing was a shock. Unlike now.

Yes you are indeed dreaming and here is the evidence :

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...anval3=span;team=6;template=results;type=team

17 Wins in the 90s is always far greater than ZERO wins.

And we won the WC fair and square much earlier than Pakistan ... if India is mediocre then I guess going by your own logic Pakistan was even worse during those times.

The interesting thing is that is if you look into the Indo Pak record between 1986 - 1995 is where Pakistan really outshone India.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...anval1=span;team=6;template=results;type=team

India had W/L record of 0.2 against Pakistan, winning 4 and losing a whopping 20 games in that period. Since 1996 its not been bad at all.

The next period was again interesting as India improved, but still trailed Pakistan with a W/L of 0.65. India won 23, losing 35 matches in the meantime.

Since 2006 India has been on the ascendancy, winning 16 and losing only 10 matches.

An interesting point to note that despite India being a very strong team the number of matches played in this period is really low.

1986 - 1996 - 24 matches played
1996 - 2006 - 58 matches played
2006 - 2016 - 26 matches played

Some good stats based arguments but - if someone can be bothered- I'd advise them to look at this:

Indian team are known more for their batting while Pak team are known more for their bowling.

In 90s, our batting was comparable to their batting while they were well ahead in terms of their bowling.

Nowadays, their bowling is comparable to ours while we are well ahead in terms of batting.

Whatever the batting fans say, I believe in the adage that bowling wins you games.

From the 90s to now this is what happened. Pakistani bowling got worse, Indian bowling got better. Indian batting, while not as good as in the time of the Fab 4, is still okish. Pakistani batting hasn't improved.

Pak in 80s and 90s was formidable.

Lack of international cricket post 2009 is affecting badly.

Not sure why my response got deleted but yes you are indeed dreaming and here is the evidence :

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...anval3=span;team=6;template=results;type=team

17 Wins in the 90s is always far greater than ZERO wins.

And we won the WC fair and square much earlier than Pakistan ... if India is mediocre then I guess going by your own logic Pakistan was even worse during those times.

Truth is weather you it or not is that India has been a mediocre side for 50 years.

You can keep harping on about wc matches but who gives a flying toss, what did you win in 92 ?? I remember us winning he World Cup and your team taking a lotta.

We smashed your team many times more than you did to us. 6 times the population and resources, you have no excuse

We have been Lol @ Fair and square :)), what was the need to mention that. So basically you are saying it was a fluke you win 82. Thanks for admitting it but everyone knows that already.

Truth is weather you it or not is that India has been a mediocre side for 50 years.

Why because you say so ?

You can keep harping on about wc matches but who gives a flying toss, what did you win in 92 ?? I remember us winning he World Cup and your team taking a lotta.

Just like how you won nothing nothing in 1983 and 1985 ? lol

We smashed your team many times more than you did to us. 6 times the population and resources, you have no excuse

We have been Lol @ Fair and square :)), what was the need to mention that. So basically you are saying it was a fluke you win 82. Thanks for admitting it but everyone knows that already.

You can keep harping on how you did soo well in the numerous Cola and Hajmola cups ... nobody cares about them which is why they have been discontinued ... but feel free to watch re-runs of thirty year old footage to give you hope.

So in what world does beating the West Indies twice in 1983 amount to fluke ?

The population excuse is moot. There are loads of sports other than cricket where India is far above Pakistan which brings into picture the advantage in population and GDP. Just cause India has a better cricket team than China does not mean that China is not using it's population and GDP advantage.

Pakistan don't win anything in Olympics and gets a pitiable 1-2 medals per Asian/Commonwealth games.

Why because you say so ?

Just like how you won nothing nothing in 1983 and 1985 ? lol

You can keep harping on how you did soo well in the numerous Cola and Hajmola cups ... nobody cares about them which is why they have been discontinued ... but feel free to watch re-runs of thirty year old footage to give you hope.

So in what world does beating the West Indies twice in 1983 amount to fluke ?

You can keep barking about the slective matches you have won but since you are a stats obcessed fan here is one you need to digest:
Pakistan 72 - 51 India (ODIs)
Pakistan 12 - 9 India ( Tests)

And that gap has only narrowed after the year 2000 when India finally progressed to becoming a decent cricket team from a mediocre side on the previous 50 years, not withstanding winning a a flukey 82 WC when the WI decided not to show up in the Final.

And like I said you can keep celebrating about winning a 92 or 96 qualifying match but you went home with a lotta in 92 and 96 your fans rioted disgracefully in the semis when the match got abandoned. But yes celebrate the meaningless qualifying matches.

You can keep barking about the slective matches you have won but since you are a stats obcessed fan here is one you need to digest:
Pakistan 72 - 51 India (ODIs)
Pakistan 12 - 9 India ( Tests)

And that gap has only narrowed after the year 2000 when India finally progressed to becoming a decent cricket team from a mediocre side on the previous 50 years, not withstanding winning a a flukey 82 WC when the WI decided not to show up in the Final.

And like I said you can keep celebrating about winning a 92 or 96 qualifying match but you went home with a lotta in 92 and 96 your fans rioted disgracefully in the semis when the match got abandoned. But yes celebrate the meaningless qualifying matches.

You can post your overall W/L stats all day long but there is nothing that comes close to the feeling of repeatedly dumping your bitter rivals out from *THE* most important World tournament . You just don't know what it is !! You can shout, bark , do a whole lot of chest thumping , show all the Cola & Hajmola cups but there is nothing - absolutely nothing - that comes close to this. Pretty much a guarantee that you will not see this record overcome in your lifetime. Suck on that and see if you can come to terms with that sobering reality.

Ohh and did the WI decide to take it easy twice in the same tournament in 1983 WC ? :))

You can post your overall W/L stats all day long but there is nothing that comes close to the feeling of repeatedly dumping your bitter rivals out from *THE* most important World tournament . You just don't know what it is !! You can shout, bark , do a whole lot of chest thumping , show all the Cola & Hajmola cups but there is nothing - absolutely nothing - that comes close to this. Pretty much a guarantee that you will not see this record overcome in your lifetime. Suck on that and see if you can come to terms with that sobering reality.

Ohh and did the WI decide to take it easy twice in the same tournament in 1983 WC ? :))

So disappointed.

You have just typed the same gibberish as before but this time in one big paragraph. Just to let you know sunshine have you ever heard of spaced out lines ?? It's gives me an eye sore but realised it's the same recycled nonsense.

You can keep screaming about winning a 92 match or 96 match there but you didn't even make the super 6s in the 99 WC and in the others your tournament ended early with a lotta or in disgrace - that too at home.

But no, you only want to remember the meaningless qualifying matches.

Regardless 72 -51 to Pakistan, remember that before you go to sleep. And don't bother replying if you have nothing new to say.

So disappointed.

You have just typed the same gibberish as before but this time in one big paragraph. Just to let you know sunshine have you ever heard of spaced out lines ?? It's gives me an eye sore but realised it's the same recycled nonsense.

You can keep screaming about winning a 92 match or 96 match there but you didn't even make the super 6s in the 99 WC and in the others your tournament ended early with a lotta or in disgrace - that too at home.

Regardless 72 -51 to Pakistan, remember that before you go to sleep. And don't bother replying if you have nothing new to say.

Oh my bad you did finish in the super 6s but lost nearly every match. Well done.

So disappointed.

hahaha ... so the 96 QF exit doesnt matter because India didn't win the WC ... is that your excuse for writing off the exit ... wah ji wah kya mast logic hai :bow: only on PP I suppose that world cup exits can be justified on how your opponent does thereafter ... :)))