Hasan Ali is the best ODI bowler in world cricket today!

yes and also the hardest working bowler in cricket right now unlike wahab who claims to give it his all but keeps throwing the short ball

Shami is injured.Thats the only explanation.Even Umesh was picked ahead of him :facepalm:

Hasan seems great at middle overs while Bumrah nails yorker more than anyone currently exept Starc

Great that he nails yorkers. So far he's averaging about 50 in this tourney with 2 wickets. Hasan has 10 at 17.

You know honestly most Pakistan fans will be simply relieved to have something to cheer in the fast bowling dept after suffering the tripe that is wahab riaz and rahat Ali

No one is saying he doenst need to improve. Rather we are appreciating him.

yes but to be able to improve you need to be realisitc with where you are. I bet after the India match no one said he is the best in the world. A person doesnt become the best after three good games. Yes he has bowled the best in this tournament but his skill set needs to improve further to be the best.

I am one of his biggest fans and you can read my previous comments about him. Even I would not call him the best. However, I have no hesitation to call him the most passionate and the most clever bowler at this point. A bowler who backs his wit with skill as well and not a one trick pony.

best is a relative term :) who is the best in your opinion right now?
I m sorry but I dont think Rabada and Starc are the best right now. They struggled big time in a global tournament. Such tournaments carry lot of weightage. Hasan is in the form of his life and I think he does deserve the best i world tag right now.

And its not like he performed only in this tournament. He has been pretty good for last 6 months now.

hasan ali is clearly not the best fast bowler in the world. he however has outperformed all the bowlers who participated in champions trophy and is having an amazing tournament.

he is improving and getting stronger and now building a good solid reputation which is brilliant for pakistan.

Hassan Ali doesn't get batsmen out with rubbish

He bowls jaffers even against India.KOHLI was scratchy against him

Not the best ODI bowler but in a year definitely in the top 5

Best bowler in pakistan. Yes.

You are right! Fizz and Taskin are better. Give Rubel 1-2 years and he too will be better than Hassan Ali.
East or West Fizz is the best! , Bangladesh will win against India tomorrow because of Fizz
Hassan Ali just got lucky. If South Africa, Sri Lanka and England had not gifted him wickets he would not be that impressive. Just look at the match against India. They did not gift him any wickets and he could not get them out. Tomorrow Fizz and Taskin will bowl India out. They will dominate him and then in the final Bangla will attack Hassan Ali. Tamim will smash him to all parts wait and see

This isn't a flat pitch. Starc didn't have a strong tournament but it doesn't take away from the fact he was instrumental in Australia winning a WC on some of the deadest pitches on the planet. Hazlewood has also performed well, Rabada has been good for a while.

Yes the match against NZ before the final was such a road. Also unlike most ODI pitches, Aussie pitches do not have any bounce. Wahab was able to use phantom bounce to unsettle the Aussies in that match in the WC. This is why people always call Wahab's bowling in that match a "great spell of fast bowling."

As you know, Shane Watson is superstitious and deathly afraid of ghosts. He was struggling against Wahab’s phantom bounce, but luckily Darren Lehmann did an old pagan incantation ritual and it was able to break the spell. The phantom bounce that Wahab produced suddenly disappeared. This allowed the Aussies to fight back and win against Pak and ultimately win the WC.

In fact, after the match Shane Watson tweeted and thanked Darren Lehman for breaking the spell saying:

“Thanks for using that old school voodoo to break that devastating spell. Can’t believe Wahab was able to produce phantom bounce with the help of Jinn? Who knew Pak fast bowlers not only do dodgy things with the ball, but also know how to use black magic. Btw isn’t Starc great? He is bowling on such roads and he doesn’t need any magic. Just good old fashion Aussie grit.”

Darren Lehman tweeted back:
"No prob Shano. Yeah Starc is amazing! Yeah such roads we are playing on especially in the game against NZ. Starcy got 6 wickets. Both teams scored 150+. Damn those roads. Flattest pitches in the world. Unlike India, Eng and everywhere else where the average score is just 120. Btw well played Shano"

http://www.espncricinfo.com/icc-cricket-world-cup-2015/engine/match/656437.html

Hes not even best in Asia.Bumrah is ahead,let alone Shami

This! also Umesh Yadav, Bhuvi, Mohit Sharma, Pankaj Singh etc. Basically anyone with Indian nationality is automatically better. Hassan Ali is overrated, but Indian fats bowlers are underrated. Also there were 5 bowlers in the IPL who are better! East or West India is best ! In fact Irfan Pathan would be better than him if he made a comeback such is the strength of Indian bowling today.

No. Starc, Hazlewood are better. Starc is the best ODI bowler by a comfortable margin.

Player of the tourney thus far for mine. Brilliant bowling.

Lol at best bowler after two good games. If Pakistan win this tournament, thread will be opened saying Pakistan is the best odi team.

We all saw how Hasan Ali bowled against India. 70/1.

That was 3 matches ago.

Hasan has come good when it mattered the most while Starc looked like an innocuous trundler for most part of this tournament.

:salute

Guys you have to factor in he bowled against mentally fragile team. Pak always had some random bowler upping their game in a crucial match. Wahab in 2011 world cup against India, Umar Gul in T20 world cup. Best bowlers are judged over a period. That is why they have something called ranking.

I remember when junaid was called best bowler.

I remember when Irfan was called best bowler.

He is doing well because he is new. When even amir is finding it hard to grip, Hasan will get smashed after a few matches.

Lol at best bowler after two good games. If Pakistan win this tournament, thread will be opened saying Pakistan is the best odi team.

Even if Pak win the tournament India will still be number 1. Heck if India lose the next 54 matches in row India will still be the best. And even if Pakistan win the 327 matches in row including the next WC final Pak will still rank below India. You know why? Because East or West, India is the best!

Also IPL is the best thing since sliced bread and Bumrah will break Waqar and Wasims records. All of their records.

Happy now? :) No really? Are you Happy? Admit it. This is how you think ;)

It's ok the first step is admitting it

Hasan is still new. But he's not a mystery bowler that teams will find him out like Mendis. He relies on line and length with the odd variation here and there. Bowlers like that never fail in the long run because they focus primarily on the basics.

He is doing well because he is new. When even amir is finding it hard to grip, Hasan will get smashed after a few matches.

To be fair, Junaid's knee injury hampered his progress a lot.

Hasan Ali will have loads of work to do as he develops but the skill is there.

If he wins CT for Pakistan from here he will definitely be in contention for the top LO bowler in the world. Currently Starc holds the fort.

Starc is hit or miss because of the length he bowls. He has one gear, full or short. He really hasn't perfected the back of a length delivery which is preventing him from being word class in Tests. He has however one thing Hasan doesn't along with Hazelwood and that is extra height. [MENTION=132916]Junaids[/MENTION] is right to some extent that extra height allows for steeper bounce and although Hasan can get away with it in LOI, it will be harder for him to have the same success in Test. He will have the opposite problem of Flintoff. In that Flintoff's natural length was shorter than a good length thus when he did get batsmen to play, they missed the ball. Hasan's length is fuller than a good length and will ultimately either get wickets from yorkers only or get smashed through half-volleys. All the best to him though.

You are right he is just a flash in the pan. However, Bumrah is the real deal and Bhuvi and Mohit are the future Lillee and Thompson. Pak bowlers do not last they have 1-2 good years then fade away. India bowlers are consistently good over a long period of time for example Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, VRV Sing, Pankaj Singh, Ashoke Dinda, Abey Kuruvilla, Debashish Mohanty etc. They have just dominated world cricket so consistently.

Also off topic but FYI, James Andersen has recently said that he is scared of Kohli and has nighmares about him. He said his legs start shaking. He fears that Kohli will score 299*, 349* and 444* in the next series in England. In other news NASA announced that the world is indeed spherical.
We are just blessed to have you in our presence. Please tell us more about Pakistan bowlers and how bad they are. Please? Irfan is bad. Junaid is Kohli's favorite bowler to hit for 4. Amir will be hit for 6 sixes By Rohit Sharma then by Kohli and then by Hardik Pandaya. Did I mention that the Indian economy is the best in the world? And that scientist believe that Indians are the smartest people ever? Also they discovered an algorithm that proves that Pakistani bolwers are average

You are right he is just a flash in the pan. However, Bumrah is the real deal and Bhuvi and Mohit are the future Lillee and Thompson. Pak bowlers do not last they have 1-2 good years then fade away. India bowlers are consistently good over a long period of time for example Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, VRV Sing, Pankaj Singh, Ashoke Dinda, Abey Kuruvilla, Debashish Mohanty etc. They have just dominated world cricket so consistently.

Also off topic but FYI, James Andersen has recently said that he is scared of Kohli and has nighmares about him. He said his legs start shaking. He fears that Kohli will score 299*, 349* and 444* in the next series in England. In other news NASA announced that the world is indeed spherical.
We are just blessed to have you in our presence. Please tell us more about Pakistan bowlers and how bad they are. Please? Irfan is bad. Junaid is Kohli's favorite bowler to hit for 4. Amir will be hit for 6 sixes By Rohit Sharma then by Kohli and then by Hardik Pandaya. Did I mention that the Indian economy is the best in the world? And that scientist believe that Indians are the smartest people ever? Also they discovered an algorithm that proves that Pakistani bolwers are average

When did I mention we have great bowlers? Our bowlers got smashed by those Lankan batsman whom I don't rate at all. We probably have the pathetic bowling in top 8.

But I don't see how it is relevant to what I said.

To be fair, Junaid's knee injury hampered his progress a lot.

Hasan Ali will have loads of work to do as he develops but the skill is there.

Skills were always there. But problem comes in with adaptation.

Batsman will adapt. And the bowlers as a result will have to adapt too.

Before calling him the best odi bowler, I will like to see him for a period of time.

What happened to the best ODI bowler in the world against india, got smashed allover the park in that match didn't he, it is laughable that few good games and he is suddenly best in the world.

Pakistani bowlers are judged on performance basis against all countries except India because... Let's face it, everyone of them was bad. So it's no point to include India and hence, your logic doesn't stand here.

When did I mention we have great bowlers? Our bowlers got smashed by those Lankan batsman whom I don't rate at all. We probably have the pathetic bowling in top 8.

But I don't see how it is relevant to what I said.

Just giving you context and perspective because your statement seemed rather ill informed and illogical. (I do not mean that in a derogatory way or as a personal attack against you). But I did think it would be better to shake you up a bit first with a few friendly short ones before giving you a line and length explanation. Hence my previous post.

All the bowlers you mentioned are good bowlers. Injuries have taken their toll on them and some have gone through bans. Going by Junaid's performance in this tournament he is still quite good despite the loss on pace. He had knee issue that required medical treatment. I hope that his pace will increase with time.

Irfan was (is) a threat to any batsmen, but age has caught up to him. He also never got to play enough domestic cricket at the right age so his "bowling fitness" has always been a bit low. He never develop his body to be able to withstand and sustain long spells. The guy worked in a pipe factory or something for years and had given up on cricket.

He is currently banned for failing to report an approach by a bookie, but before that when he last played international cricket he was causing serious problems for batsmen with his first spell(s). Unfortunately because of a lack of fitness as well as his body not having been trained at a younger age to withstand the rigors of fats bowling, he would often get injured or unfit. In his last International outing, he was threating to win the match on his own, but then he started having fitness issues. Despite these issue his every ball looked like taking a wicket. Mickey was angry at his lack of fitness and sent him back to Pakistan after the match.

Amir just came back after 5 years of not touching a cricket ball. He might never become who he once was or at least could have been, but I remain hopeful. He has showed glimpse. I just fear that more than anything his problems are mental. He seems to fear leaking runs and so does not bowling the kind of attacking length that he once did. Think about that first over against India as an example. That kind of length is what is needed.

So all these bowlers were indeed the best bowlers. That they could not sustain it and had nothing to do with being new and then found out. If you disagree that is fine. But I will bring up Bumrah and Mohit :) Just kidding…I will bring up Robin Singh though :)

Pakistani bowlers are judged on performance basis against all countries except India because... Let's face it, everyone of them was bad. So it's no point to include India and hence, your logic doesn't stand here.

what?

What happened to Virat Kohli against James Andersen? What happened to SRT against Anderson?
Does that mean that they are not good players? Of course not right? Do you understand the line of reasoning? Good!

Hassen Ali actually bowled quite well. Made Kohli look scratchy. He got hit in his last three overs. It happens. It is just part of the game. SRT was made to look like joke against Asif does that mean he was not champion and genius? Of course not. He was a legend and I loved watching him bat. SRT was made to like a scared rabbit against Akhtar and allegedly, his legs started shaking. So who cares? It is all part of the game. Sometimes you win sometime the other team wins. Btw nothing wrong with being scared, courage is doing something despite being afraid. And SRT is a brave man and great man.

However if you are not satisfied with my answer this will make you happy:

East or West, India is the best!

Happy now? That is what you were actually looking for isn't it? You just wanted to put us down and feel good about yourself. Well did you know that fictional scientist believe that India is the best things since the computer? Happy now? No, you want more? Fictional scientists say that the India economy is better than any other country in the world. Happy now?

Name a single bowler in the history who never had a poor match?
Laughable is a poster like you, but keeping in mind where you hails from, its not surprising.
Also, Hasan Ali is not new, has been in team since more than a year, he might and might not end up as the best pacer in the world but there are high chances that he will remain a quality bowler!

Bowler of the tournament yes, best ODI bowler in the world hell no.

Has still a long way to go to prove that.

I am very impressed though, he reminds of Pakistani bowlers of the past. Not so much in his action and skill, Amir is a better reminder of that. But more so in his fighting attitude and extreme confidence.

Let's pray that he doesn't break down after 4 or 6 overs in the final. He took lot of toll on his body from last 3 matches. After the tournament (during two months rest) Azhar Mahmood mentioned that they will try to reduce his run up in future.

One doesn't become the best just performing in a couple of matches. Consistent performances over a period is what separates the best from the rest.

What happened to Virat Kohli against James Andersen? What happened to SRT against Anderson?
Does that mean that they are not good players? Of course not right? Do you understand the line of reasoning? Good!

Hassen Ali actually bowled quite well. Made Kohli look scratchy. He got hit in his last three overs. It happens. It is just part of the game. SRT was made to look like joke against Asif does that mean he was not champion and genius? Of course not. He was a legend and I loved watching him bat. SRT was made to like a scared rabbit against Akhtar and allegedly, his legs started shaking. So who cares? It is all part of the game. Sometimes you win sometime the other team wins. Btw nothing wrong with being scared, courage is doing something despite being afraid. And SRT is a brave man and great man.

However if you are not satisfied with my answer this will make you happy:

East or West, India is the best!

Happy now? That is what you were actually looking for isn't it? You just wanted to put us down and feel good about yourself. Well did you know that fictional scientist believe that India is the best things since the computer? Happy now? No, you want more? Fictional scientists say that the India economy is better than any other country in the world. Happy now?

Neither sachin tendulkar or virat kohli suddenly became best in the world playing 4 games. My point was more pertaining to the best in the world tag he got and how stupid it is.

He hasn't faced all countries, he faced england, SL, SA and India and there failed against india, come back when he performs at a similar level for 1-2 years.

You are so bitter.

There is a saying don't say anything if you haven't got anything good to say.

He's been the bowler of the tournament - no one can dispute this.

Let's remember he gets wickets in the middle of the innings - normally harder when ball isn't doing much and batsman taking less risks.

You are so bitter.

Let's remember he gets wickets in the middle of the innings - normally harder when ball isn't doing much and batsman taking less risks.

Having one good tournament doesnt make you the best in the world. Consistency is what sets the greats apart.

Yes bhuvi is the most consistent with an amazing bowling average of 39 in ODIs.

Hes not even best in Asia.Bumrah is ahead,let alone Shami

Where are the bowlers hiding? I cant see them in the top 5 wicket takers of the tournament let alone competing with the bes i.e Hassan Ali

You are so bitter.

The subject being best odi bowler in the world today, he just doesn't make the cut. I know you want him to be special, but he is now where near the best.

He just had a good game. That's it.

The subject being best odi bowler in the world today, he just doesn't make the cut. I know you want him to be special, but he is now where near the best.

Good game? or Good tournament? or Good year (Since his debut)?
I think he has been performing and improving since his debut, you have to be good to become highest wicket taker in a tournament. Kid is special, deal with it unlike Bumrah whose action makes him look like a special child.

I never said he was best bowler in the world.

I said regarding the tournament he is.

Also he didn't have 1 good game - he's had 3 outstanding games.

Even first game he was decent till the last 3 overs.

Again never said he was best in the world.

But he is bowler of the tournament - most would easily agree.

Again never said he was best in the world.

But he is bowler of the tournament - most would easily agree.

The ones who dont agree cant even provide a solid stat or fact to prove their point.

You are so bitter.

did you check the thread title?

Has a Fifer vs England in England and one against OZ's in Australia. Man of the Tournament of the CT and an epic final performance. Consistently picks up wickets and isn't a tailender bully. Definitely makes him the best of this year.

Definitely one of the best fast bowlers, has increased his pace since his debut [alongwith Ruman Raees]

Hasan Ali is the 3rd highest wicket taker in year 2017 behind Liam Plunkett at no.2. and Afghanistan's Rashid Khan at no.1.

He's the best fast bowler in the world when it comes to bowling in the middle of the innings - no one does it better and no one can dispute this fact.

But I also hope he can improve his death bowling skills so he can be a all around bowler that we need at different stages.

He's been very good and hopefully will carry his form!!!!

has really worked on his fitness.. really impressed with this boy

Really proud of him. Last 2 years in Pakistan cricket have been Babar Azam this, Mohammad Amir this, and at the start people were mocking Hasan, that he's too short, too slow, too mentally fragile, too weak, some folks were parading behind Junaid Khan over him (LOL) and other lallu panju bowlers. This guy has shown the same intensity and commitment that he did in the PSL edition that got him selected that he is right now. Has put on some mass and sharpened his discipline in bowling. He's the real gem of this team.

Also the continued selection of Wahab who is a mediocre bowler in ODIs hindered any progress the team could've made Hasan is very good at the moment in ODIs hopefully he can show the same form in tests and t20Is.

Wahab, Rahat, Irfan...our ODI selection policy has for a long time been bewildering at best. We consistently fielded some of the least consistent players around on the basis of the belief that they were each capable of "making something happen" "on their day." Problem "their day" didn't come along all that often. So what we got was consistent inconsistency, and "making something happen" rarely if ever translated into winning.

Some of the Indian fans on this thread haven't been seen since the CT. Haar jeet hoti rehti hai, bura mannay waali kya baat hai bhai.

He has the opportunity to become fastest to 50 ODI wickets from Pakistan, he currently has 45 wickets in 22 ODIs.

Currently, the record is held by Waqar Younis who did it in 27 ODIs.

Starc is the best of this era but he hasn't played much/done much for a while now. Based on last year, Hasan is definitely the numero uno ODI bowler in the world today followed by the SA duo of Tahir and Rabada.

He has been awesome for you guys but I can't really say about the no.1 odi bowler in the world tag.

I keep hearing Starc this and Starc that... when over-hyped Starc plays a grand total of 10 ODIs in a year before breaking down and is out-bowled by his own teammate Josh Hazelwood.

If anything it should be Hazelwood vs Hasan for a more accurate comparison.

Starc is the best of this era but he hasn't played much/done much for a while now. Based on last year, Hasan is definitely the numero uno ODI bowler in the world today followed by the SA duo of Tahir and Rabada.

Don't you think he is a bi-literal series bully? Like most of SA team.

We seem to have the World’s Best player at every position .... but our Ranking is nothing to write Home about !!!!

On comparisons with Bumrah:
Sorry but Bumrah is better at death or when batsmen go after him while Hasan is a go to bowler for all stages of the match. 11-40 overs is the point where teams make partnerships and then score big runs but thanks Hasan, he takes wickets regularly during middle of the match which more often than not break the back of the opposition. There is no one better than him in odi cricket currently. Long may it continue.

We seem to have the World’s Best player at every position .... but our Ranking is nothing to write Home about !!!!

Desai bhai how can you expect 5-7 years of ill-performance during Misbah/Azhar era to be wiped away in just a year or so.

Off our last 10 LOI matches we have won 8. The two loses are one against World XI T20 and the other being the India group game in CT.

Generally, it has been the batsmen who have let SA down in tournaments and not the bowlers.

Not really, in WC2015, they give away 300 against India in MCG. If an SA sid concedes 300+ against an Asian team on bouncy wicket, bowling is not your strength. Similarly in SF, they could not defend 280+ in 40 overs, their bowlers bottled at the end, even they made comical errors in fielding (which is again their strong suite), that was the case in infamous SF, Donald (with all his experience) cannot hold the nerve in last over although while batting, but that was a very choky runout to say the least...Where as our bowling rarely choke, we defend big/small/medium all kind of targets in all kinds of conditions and pressure situations, even when we don't had gun bowlers...They choke as a package ;-)