"Hope peace doesn't have to wait until Sidhu becomes PM," says Imran Khan

NEW DELHI: The bonhomie between Imran Khan and Navjot Sidhu was in full flow in Pakistan today hours after India refused to attend the SAARC summit there, citing continuing cross-border terror. Mr Sidhu, who had triggered a raging controversy back home with his decision to attend the groundbreaking ceremony of the Kartarpur Sahib corridor, hailed Mr Khan as his "Yaar Dildaar" (dear friend) and thanked him for giving a green signal to the corridor, which has been on the wishlist of India's Sikhs for decades.
The Pakistan Prime Minister responded with a sugary barb. "I hope we don't have to wait for Navjot Sidhu to become India's Prime Minister for the two countries to become friends," Mr Khan said.

"As a cricketer Navjot Sidhu was someone who took risks, never was scared of failing. He is not one of those politicians who are selfish," Mr Khan said.

He also raised the subject of the criticism Mr Sidhu had to face back home when he went to Pakistan to attend his oath ceremony in August.

"Why is Sidhu in so much trouble? We are two countries that are nuclear countries, we can't be at war because that's madness. So why do they criticise him?" Mr Khan said. Then he added an open invitation: "Sidhu come here and you will win elections here... I hope we don't have to wait for Sidhu to become Prime Minister for peace talks to happen."

Navjot Sidhu had been ripped apart by the BJP and on social media after he was seen but embracing Pakistan army chief General Qamar Bajwa and sitting with the "president" of Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir. After Pakistan signed off on the Kartarpur Sahib corridor, Mr Sidhu bragged that the episode had to some positive outcome.

This time, he was roasted after deciding to go to Pakistan even when his boss, Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh declined, citing terror attacks in his state. One of these took place last week at a prayer hall near Amritsar in which three persons died.

Mr Singh has said he had asked Mr Sidhu to reconsider his decision. "Sidhu told me he had already committed himself to going. When I informed him of the stand I had taken on the issue, he said it was his personal visit but he would get back to me. But I did not hear from him," the Chief Minister said.

Earlier today, while addressing the gathering, Mr Sidhu had been effusive.

The former cricketer, who earlier referred to Mr Khan as an angel, said, "This is miracle, what hasn't happened in 70 years... Mera yaar, dildaar, Imran Khan jive (may my friend Imran Khan thrive, live). He has been a good friend and delivered his promise".

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/hop...ntil-sidhu-becomes-pm-says-imran-khan-1954756

Mr.Khan seems to be speaking way too much on the issue ,should stop politicising and move on has got enough good PR.

IK was making a sarcastic comment here for sure. Just one little comment has all of Indian media on fire!:ashwin Bajwa and IK have made a great political move here by opening the Kartarpur border which is giving India nightmares.

What nightmare India always said terror and talks can't go together. Everyone supports government's stance including opposition

It was funny seeing Sushma trying to take credit for opening this corridor lol

Its funny how Indian media is getting riled up for no reason. IK made a funny comment and they are losing it. Chill out guys!

To swerve the iron curtain in Pakistan's favour in all departments has been commendable to say the least. Diplomacy is something Pakistan as a nation have longed for over the last couple of decades but to see Khan make such a strong case for peace after his staunch criticism of Modi on abandoning the talks raised the need for honor and esteem.

The way Imran Khan has presented himself to be desperate for peace on the global sphere shows how Pakistan is motivated and moving towards peace under his regime. In spite of being shunned by Modi, the drive for peace continues.

As a fellow Indian poster said in another thread, Pakistan have played a diplomatic blinder. I would like to make a small correction, Imran Khan has.

What nightmare India always said terror and talks can't go together. Everyone supports government's stance including opposition

enough of this terror Bakwaas. You come on this forum you better have the facts to back up your rhetoric. So i'll ask you as I've asked every Indian who spouts this government propaganda. Give me the figures. How many Indian civilians have been killed in pakistan sponsored terror attacks since 2009.

I can give you the Pakistan numbers , as in how many have been killed by indian sponsored attacks but you wont be able to do the other.
If you cant stop talking Modi RSS nonsense on this forum.

As a fellow Indian poster said in another thread, Pakistan have played a diplomatic blinder. I would like to make a small correction, Imran Khan has.

Pakistan should be ashamed of stealing India's thunder. It is India which is supposed to be pro peace not Pakistan.

enough of this terror Bakwaas. You come on this forum you better have the facts to back up your rhetoric. So i'll ask you as I've asked every Indian who spouts this government propaganda. Give me the figures. How many Indian civilians have been killed in pakistan sponsored terror attacks since 2009.

I can give you the Pakistan numbers , as in how many have been killed by indian sponsored attacks but you wont be able to do the other.
If you cant stop talking Modi RSS nonsense on this forum.

Latest figure from last week is 3 according to your beloved sidhu's CM https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www....singh-isi-responsible-1393709-2018-11-22.This is not a RSS or BJP propaganda.He had done it in the past also. It's not difficult to dig up similar incidents from the past 8 to 9 years.I can give you the number of Pakistani terrorists eliminated from Kashmir who were involved in target killings of pro indian civilians, politicians and security personnel.Someone posted Amarinder's statement in another thread find it out give him a befitting reply rather wasting time on attacking posters.

Your link is not working. I want the figures surely it shouldn't be hard. A single attack is a minor incident in comparison to your country's ten year war against Pakistani civilians. On the other hand we have reams and reams of evidence that goes to the top of your govt. where are the hundreds and thousands of dead Indians from Pakistani terror? where are the thousands of dead children? We have our figures and yet we are still able to show some foresight and statesmanship and offer a hand in peace..you give us APS attacks..

I had to go through each and every incident to count the numbers, I'm sure it will be over hundred. If your government have evidences regarding role of India in terrorist attack across your country you should share those with relevant world bodies. It's not just your country Indian government had taken effort to bring peace between both countries inspite of knowing the backlash they had to face from public and opposition even if it fails.

Support it all you want! You are not getting Hafiz no matter how much you cry! The nightmare that India did not want was to be forced in to letting Sikh's go through the new corridor. I agree that India must stop sending terrorists like Yadav, instigating terrorism through Afghanistan and punish the perpetrators of the Samjhauta Express. Pak demands that!

Arey bhai halka haath rakho

Kahin aik aur "Sir G Kal strike" na hojaye :))

If you think that's a nightmare I feel sorry thinking about mental state of your boys and government who are witnessing hundreds of your citizens lining up in front of enemy embassy to apply for medical visas

So Times Now people hard at work

Imran Khan said:

DtGdFkqXoAA34zn.jpg

Time Now

DtGdGytX4AEaz4D.jpg

If you think that's a nightmare I feel sorry thinking about mental state of your boys and government who are witnessing hundreds of your citizens lining up in front of enemy embassy to apply for medical visas

You can say "no" to them! You don't do us any favours by giving these people medical treatment for which you are paid for. Once again India must stop terrorism in Pak, period. Your Sikhs also visit Pak in thousands as well.

I guess they didn't get the memo that India doesn't want peace. But peace is important, good on IK for trying.