How are Pakistan planning on competing in the Champions Trophy?

ahmedwaqas92

During the entire last week, I was following the discussions here on Pakpassion as well as on a few other platforms regarding the announcement of our CT 2017 squad. Needless to say, like most of you guys, I am extremely disappointed with the final outcome of the selection committee and the blokes that will probably take the field come June 4th at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

However, what I was extremely surprised is how out of sync our administrators (read: Chief Selector & Coach) are with the modern game as they are literally sending the most limited batch of individuals in trying to overhaul the impossible. Another, and an even more frustrating factor, is that there are statistics and quantifiable numbers publicly available for venues / grounds / conditions which we can expect to face during this English summer yet we somehow like to live in this mundane bubble :livid: where everything that we do is based on 'experience' and hearsay of past players :facepalm: :69:

I did a quick Google search on the venues at which we are supposed to play our matches and these are the numbers I came up with.

Edgbaston, Birmingham (where we will play against Ind (4th June) and Aus (7th June)
Edgebaston.jpg

Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (where we will play against SL (12th June)
Sophia Gardens Cardiff.jpg

Why don't we rely on these types of data sets when we are selecting a squad ?We needed to look at options which can enable us to reach a score of 310+ and not at the cheer leading squad that we have selected :sanga After a billionth comeback we are expecting players like Hafeez, Shehzad, Umer Akmal to suddenly become world beaters and help us lift the Champions Trophy ?????? WTH !!!!!!!!

How are we planning on competing at the champions trophy ?? Are we going to try and replicate that same old 270+ and try to win the game via bowling 90s formula ??? Are the selectors and management THAT STUPID ????

Can someone explain the logic behind this ??? Why is this happening AGAIN !!! ???

We will play South Africa on 7th June, not Australia.

Regardless of the typo, can I know how we are planning on competing with SA then ?? or is it that we are relying on their usual world tournament asphyxiation ??

Pakistani selectors are known for selecting this way, they expect miracles from TTFs.

this torture will not end anytime soon brother, Inzi and Mickey are here to stay for another year at least:(

Same old formula.

1. Somehow score 250.

2. Wahab the savior will outdo the opposition in an ICC tournament.

All based on hopes and wishes. Nothing on logic or merit. I guess that's the Pakistani way.

Bhai Pakistani mentality hai ke jo bhi number wumber dekhtay hain onhain "spreadsheet clan" kehla diya jata hai aur bola jata hai ke cricket ground pe kheli jati hai laptop pe nahi.

This dehati mentality is the reason we are number 8 in the rankings.

Numbers do not lie, numbers do not have bias. Inzi recalled Azhar who averages 27 since 2016 at atrocious strike rate. Inzi also recalled Umar Akmal who has just one fifty in last three years and has an average of 22 at 70 odd strike rate.

Don't wish injury on players so hoping Azhar, Wahab, and Hafeez decided to retire from odis and are replaced by 3 deserving players.

We have Bradman Hafeez, Gavaskar Azhar, Shehzad Kohli.

Grand Plan for CT.

We'll take out Sri Lanka and West Indies easily which will give us safe passage to the semis even if we get thrashed by the Proteas. And losing in a semi-final is a more than respectable way to go out of a tournament.

Errr......West Indies is not part of the CT....... The other team is India and they won't just roll over and die you know.....

I thought that the strategy was to provoke the BCCI into withdrawing, so that India don't beat you like they always do! :)

West Indies is going to replace India...
So well have Saf,SriLanka,Westindies..

So now you need all weaker opponents in your group to do anything good??? Shame.
By the way if India pulls out and WI get in then i think the group will be resuffled to balance the groups. NZ will be in your group and WI will be in our group.

we wont be competing. This CT is simply an obligation we have to fulfil. If we win a match it will be an achievement.

You guys have no idea about our secret weapon.

Our very own, Don :malik . After Vivian Richards, he's probably the 2nd best batsman against pace bowlers.

Will ensure we reach 300+ against England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and India. :malik

You guys have no idea about our secret weapon.

Our very own, Don :malik . After Vivian Richards, he's probably the 2nd best batsman against pace bowlers.

Will ensure we reach 300+ against England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and India. :malik

Nope, it's :hafeez who will be making the big hundreds against the likes of England, Australia and South Africa and will lead us to the title.

Hafeez is a mere peasant of a batsman in front of Don :malik .

He can't average as good as the Don against any of the top 5 ODI sides, against any half decent bowling. Last 2 years record is a proof of that. :najam

Kids in the streets take up Don as their role model of playing pace bowlers of the top ODI sides. :shezzy

Hafeez is a mere peasant of a batsman in front of Don :malik .

He can't average as good as the Don against any of the top 5 ODI sides, against any half decent bowling. Last 2 years record is a proof of that. :najam

Kids in the streets take up Don as their role model of playing pace bowlers of the top ODI sides. :shezzy

This is the difference; I am serious.

Hafeez is in the form of his life now, going into the Champions Trophy after a good WI tour and Pakistan Cup.

Expecting big things from him!

Hafeez is in the form of his life now, going into the Champions Trophy after a good WI tour and Pakistan Cup.

I think one of three seniors will have very good tournament whether it is hafiz,Malik or shehzad

Out of all the seniors Hafeez has the highest chance of doing well.

Provided he doesn't open. :usman

Pakistan will fail to win major tournaments and series . There batting is one dimensional . The selectors are too dumb too undrestand how modern day cricket has changed.

Mate do you have any replacements in mind ie batters who are not one dimensional. I mean who do you think should have been selected?

So now you need all weaker opponents in your group to do anything good??? Shame.
By the way if India pulls out and WI get in then i think the group will be resuffled to balance the groups. NZ will be in your group and WI will be in our group.

nup.. West Indies is going to replace India and hence they'll come to our group and we'll reach semis :)))

Looking at our squad selected, there is no intention to win the CT.

All we can do is hope and pray for the best.

Sarfraz has to put his step down and put Mickey in his place. He should select the playing 11 that he has faith in Mickey should not be allowed to meddle in.

This is what will happen in all the games (except Sri Lanka):
Start at a low runrate
Crawl towards 250
Take few early wickets in second innings which will give false hope to Pak fans
Watch the opposition steadily reach the target without any hesitation

Sarfraz has to put his step down and put Mickey in his place. He should select the playing 11 that he has faith in Mickey should not be allowed to meddle in.

he will play his peers...and his 11 will be as follows...

azhar
shehzad
babar
hafeez
malik
sarfraz
imad
shadab
wahab
hasan
amir

im sure this will be the team, and i dont see this team giving me any hope of competing against top 5 sides. first let them compete then can talk about winning..

Supposedly we are planning by improving our fielding. And to be honest, if our fielding is above average, I will take that as a positive. We really need to select a side that can field well. Dropping Kamran was a good start, and I hope Sarfaraz works on his fitness & keeping and doesn't let it slip!

And yeah, we have no hope to win against South Africa. But if we get Kohli out, can India get a good score against us? :P Sri Lanka is an even game. Doesn't take much to get into the semis -- and for that reason I think we can still make it :P