How can the PSL be upgraded to compete with IPL?

IPL season 8 was in 2015. If he really wants to compare digital OTT access of 2015 to 2023 then i have nothing to say.

The most promising league after IPL in my opinion is SA20. But its only one season old.So i will wait to see which league takes the number 2 spot.

The SA20 may have more high profile foreign names then us, but the worldwide target audience will always be smaller than the PSLs, given the Pakistani diaspora.

We also have larger stadia and more passionate fans, so the atmosphere at PSL games transmits through the screen. It can absolutely be better marketed.

And let’s not forget, eventually the quota element will impact the SA20 auction in coming years, which will effect the quality of the league.

IPL season 8 was in 2015. If he really wants to compare digital OTT access of 2015 to 2023 then i have nothing to say.

The most promising league after IPL in my opinion is SA20. But its only one season old.So i will wait to see which league takes the number 2 spot.

According to data released by the Broadcast Audience Research Council India (BARC), a TV audience measurement firm, IPL had a reach of 267 million last year (2022).

"If you look at concurrent viewers on Disney+Hotstar, in 2021 there were 10 million people and right now that number has increased to 13 million", Divyanshu Singh, head of sales and marketing, JSW

"It’s appalling to see the IPL tv ratings falling down by almost 30 percent. Advertisers had paid a premium against last year‘s costings," said Sahil Chopra, CEO of iCubesWire, a digital marketing agency.

Outside the cricket fans in the SC no one watches the IPL or the PSL except in passing glances. IPL will always be bigger because the Ind population is bigger but we will always enjoy the PSL and the Inds will enjoy their own tamasha. PSL has carved a decent niche and with work on getting better fielding standards and better local batsman and less pensioners, it will continue to look
Good. What's helped the PSL back in PK due to IK and this has brought atmosphere and passion

PSL needs DTH services & paid OTT subscriptions. These will increase revenue by many folds & result in quality improvement in all aspects.

The PSL has its own niche where players come because of the talent and skills on show not just for $$$$$$.

The PSL is widely regarded as having the best and toughest bowling in T20 franchise cricket globally by many ex pros and current players who have played IPL and other franchises around the world.

The IPL is Bollywood first $$$$$$ and cricket second
The PSL is cricket first and money second.

The whole IPL brand is focused on foreign based players to make it $$$$$$ where as the PSL model is having a strong core of home grown talent especially bowling with a few overseas superstars.

The PSL definitely has massive growth in it Globally but it needs quality marketing and PR to take revenue streams to the next level.

I personally would like to see that money reinvested in to schools and grass roots cricket and flourish that way rather than follow the IPL model.

i have never come across a non-pakistani who has interest in the PSL, PCB needs to focus on pak market, and local player quality. The PSL will never be the IPL, but what it can be is an entertaining profitable pathway to help develop international level cricketers.

According to data released by the Broadcast Audience Research Council India (BARC), a TV audience measurement firm, IPL had a reach of 267 million last year (2022).

"If you look at concurrent viewers on Disney+Hotstar, in 2021 there were 10 million people and right now that number has increased to 13 million", Divyanshu Singh, head of sales and marketing, JSW

"It’s appalling to see the IPL tv ratings falling down by almost 30 percent. Advertisers had paid a premium against last year‘s costings," said Sahil Chopra, CEO of iCubesWire, a digital marketing agency.

Big Bash suffered when they increased the leagues duration from 1 to 2 months. IPL will likely meet the same fate because no one has the time, patience and stamina to watch a 2 month long T-20 league.

Even the PSL started to become tiring after 4.5-5 weeks and the PCB needs to stick to the same duration even if they add 2 more teams next season, play double headers on Friday, Saturday and Sunday if necessary but do not increase the length of the tournament, keep the viewers wanting more when the tournament ends.

The SA20 may have more high profile foreign names then us, but the worldwide target audience will always be smaller than the PSLs, given the Pakistani diaspora.

We also have larger stadia and more passionate fans, so the atmosphere at PSL games transmits through the screen. It can absolutely be better marketed.

And let’s not forget, eventually the quota element will impact the SA20 auction in coming years, which will effect the quality of the league.

Indian money can keep the SA T20 and ILT20 and the US T20 League afloat for only so long.

The PSL has its own niche where players come because of the talent and skills on show not just for $$$$$$.

The PSL is widely regarded as having the best and toughest bowling in T20 franchise cricket globally by many ex pros and current players who have played IPL and other franchises around the world.

The IPL is Bollywood first $$$$$$ and cricket second
The PSL is cricket first and money second.

The whole IPL brand is focused on foreign based players to make it $$$$$$ where as the PSL model is having a strong core of home grown talent especially bowling with a few overseas superstars.

The PSL definitely has massive growth in it Globally but it needs quality marketing and PR to take revenue streams to the next level.

I personally would like to see that money reinvested in to schools and grass roots cricket and flourish that way rather than follow the IPL model.

Neither league has any global presence outside the desi communities from Ind and PK. Its a myth that South Africans, Aussies or English people watch these leagues. I
In these countries cricket itself is in trouble

Neither league has any global presence outside the desi communities from Ind and PK. Its a myth that South Africans, Aussies or English people watch these leagues. I

Pakistani's will only watch the IPL if a significant number of Pakistani players are allowed to take part in the league. I remember the 2008 IPL tournament and it was very keenly watched in Pakistan like a World Cup because the top of the creme Pakistani talent was taking part in that tournament. Similary the 2014 Champions League was also watched eagerly by the Pakistani because of the presence of the Lahore Badshah's team which had a good number of serving active international Pakistani cricketers at the time.

Cricket fans will watch cricket and IPL is top tamasha. But my point is that outside the SC fans, cricket has little impact and there is no such thing as global. Cricket is simply too desified to be global.

There will be no quota element in SA20.

Secondly high profile foreign recruitment means interest from fans of those players.

Also SA20 managed to capture the Indian audience due to franchisee connect. So audience isn't an issue.

The atmosphere at SA20 was the best i have seen on TV. It gives even IPL a run for its money.

Ofcourse tv viewership fell compared to covid lockdown days.As the numbers you are posting is only from the first week.

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, sponsored by the Tata group, attracted 229 million television viewers in the first week of the tournament’s 15th year, falling short of last year’s numbers.

According to data released by the Broadcast Audience Research Council India (BARC), a TV audience measurement firm, IPL had a reach of 267 million last year.

OTT viewership has increased. 13mn concurrent viewers.

So while PSL may have more digital viewers in 2023 compared to IPL of 2015, i don't see how it compares.

So Broadcasters are paying millions a year only for the overseas Indian?

Overseas rights of the IPL was sold for 135mn USD. Thats 27mn a year. That more than twice of the 12mn a year PSL gets even for its pakistan rights.

So unless there is a sizeable non Indian audience companies won't pay 27mn a year for IPL's overseas rights.

Ofcourse tv viewership fell compared to covid lockdown days.As the numbers you are posting is only from the first week.

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, sponsored by the Tata group, attracted 229 million television viewers in the first week of the tournament’s 15th year, falling short of last year’s numbers.

According to data released by the Broadcast Audience Research Council India (BARC), a TV audience measurement firm, IPL had a reach of 267 million last year.

OTT viewership has increased. 13mn concurrent viewers.

So while PSL may have more digital viewers in 2023 compared to IPL of 2015, i don't see how it compares.

Tbh a reach of 267 million is low for a country with a 1.5 billion population with a high gdp, internet, technology development, higher per capita income and higher middle class.

267mn doesn't include digital.

The PSL is comfortably the second-best franchise league going around, and I'm content with that.

I am pleasantly surprised at how the PSL has grown in the midst of all the organisational mismanagement ventures.

Pakistan has a globally renowned product on the world stage and that's what matters. This year we managed to bring in some leading players for the women's edition too. It's all going in the right direction.

IPL returns in Pakistan after a long break. Tapmad has got the govt's approval for IPL streaming. Let's hope it wouldn't impact PSL's revenues in future.

There will be no quota element in SA20.

Secondly high profile foreign recruitment means interest from fans of those players.

Also SA20 managed to capture the Indian audience due to franchisee connect. So audience isn't an issue.

The atmosphere at SA20 was the best i have seen on TV. It gives even IPL a run for its money.

This may surprise you, but quota targets are getting even stricter in coming years. That’s a political government initiative to appease the majority of the population.

If you think SA20 isn’t going to get affected by that down the line, I gave a bridge to sell you

This may surprise you, but quota targets are getting even stricter in coming years. That’s a political government initiative to appease the majority of the population.

If you think SA20 isn’t going to get affected by that down the line, I gave a bridge to sell you

IPL is a pvt league run by foreign investment. Its Not the SA national team.

IPL is a pvt league run by foreign investment. It’s Not the SA national team.

The SA20 is a private league, but it will come under pressure to play more African players, to match the national sentiment. At the end of the day the league is allowed to function because the government allows it to. Thus it will cede to any local government requirements/rules/pressures down the line.

The PSL is proving to be an excellent standalone product. Doesn't need to compete with any other league and also doesn't discriminate against any national groups. A wholesome, family friendly and enjoyable spectacle.

The SA20 is a private league, but it will come under pressure to play more African players, to match the national sentiment. At the end of the day the league is allowed to function because the government allows it to. Thus it will cede to any local government requirements/rules/pressures down the line.

You are talking about something that hasn't happened and not even proposed.

Coke has 21% market share and Pepsi has 10%.

Both are a success. That is how I see IPL & PSL.

PSL needs to continue its way.

So Broadcasters are paying millions a year only for the overseas Indian?

Overseas rights of the IPL was sold for 135mn USD. Thats 27mn a year. That more than twice of the 12mn a year PSL gets even for its pakistan rights.

So unless there is a sizeable non Indian audience companies won't pay 27mn a year for IPL's overseas rights.

There isn't. A few people watch, but those few will watch any cricket. Its more about the Inds belonging to AB income groups that advertisers love.

PSL should continue as it is.Quality of pitches should improve.Other franchises should follow LQ’s talent hunt programme.

The most notable improvement I’ve seen from PSL every season is the improvement in production quality. Was impressed by the graphics, camera work etc. The branding and identities of the franchises, in particular the kits in my opinion are better than IPL teams (bar the obvious 2/3 household names).

Most importantly the teams and approaches to which the likes of Lahore and Multan have adopted from previous years is paying out greatly and it only strengthens the quality and image of the league. We’ve always had a position in the T20 game with our standard of players & this is epitomised from the current generation, however the PSL as a whole has done well to find it’s place in franchise cricket. The aim was always to bring international cricket back to Pakistan on a consistent basis.

Lahore, Multan and Pindi crowds bode quite well, but hope to see more even contests between bat and ball in Pindi next year. Karachi Kings do need to do a lot work to recapture excitement and connection to the city and bring crowds. Inshallah Quetta and Peshawar too will host games at home. Whilst reaching parity with IPL may not be possible, PSL provides an excellent alternative.

There isn't. A few people watch, but those few will watch any cricket. Its more about the Inds belonging to AB income groups that advertisers love.

Tell that to the media giants who invested. They perhaps have a better way of knowing the audience than you or me.

No one is asking what can BPL,CPL,BBL or Vitality Blast can do to compete with IPL.

21st-March.jpg

More than half Pakistanis (51%) did not watch any PSL match: Gallup & Gilani Pakistan
(Islamabad), March 21st, 2023

According to a survey conducted by Gallup & Gilani Pakistan, more than half Pakistanis (51%) did not watch any PSL match.

A nationally representative sample of adult men and women from across the country, was asked the question: “Have you watched any PSL match, even partially?” In response, 49% said yes while 51% responded no.

https://gallup.com.pk/post/34296

Did you watch the SA20?

The timings here were good so I did. Not all of it same as PSL these T20 tournaments are hard to watch.

I have not watched a single game of IPL for over 6 years. Got over it in the first few years.

21st-March.jpg

More than half Pakistanis (51%) did not watch any PSL match: Gallup & Gilani Pakistan

According to a survey conducted by Gallup & Gilani Pakistan, more than half Pakistanis (51%) did not watch any PSL match.

A nationally representative sample of adult men and women from across the country, was asked the question: “Have you watched any PSL match, even partially?” In response, 49% said yes while 51% responded no.

Think this is a pretty good number!

21st-March.jpg

This is a terrible number and therefore this is a lesson to the PCB. They need to take a leaf out of the IPL and look to broadcast the league in their local market in Urdu, Punjabi, Pashto, Sindhi, Balochi e.t.c like the Indians do in the IPL. For e.g. a poor taxi driver will not watch the match with English commentary.

Tell that to the media giants who invested. They perhaps have a better way of knowing the audience than you or me.

You fail to understand how this works. A high income small audience for example Golf, can be very valuable to advertisers. The IPL has no mass following outside Ind and the Ind diaspora. It shows how little you know about the outside world. Maybe getting out more will help you.

21st-March.jpg

I would be surprised if this is true.Gallup isn't very professional and not very trust worthy

21st-March.jpg

I didn’t watch any match this year in the PSL. Wanted to see us perform only when it mattered in our international games.

Think this is a pretty good number!

Agree, its a superb number, a lot of people in a country's general populace aren't into sports. Just talking pure numbers rather percentages and taking Pakistan's population into account, that's a lot of people.

PSL has taken Pakistan by storm.