How do we neutralize Indian batting?

This indian team will win 8 out of 10 matches vs current pakistan side. The gulf is that large.

Pakistan's only hope is if ball swings in overcast sky when Pakistan bowls, is dead dry and sunny when pakistan bats, and lady luck favours them in the field. I.e. Indians drop catches.
Otherwise, india is in rinse, repeat mode.

I think Indian batting and Pak bowling will cancel out each other.

It depends on how Indian bowling fares against Pak's batting. This will decide the result me thinks.

Many India - Pak contests have been decided on this aspect. Especially if Pakistan is batting first.

If this is flat new pitch (not abrasive) then you can just forget it. None of Pakistani bowlers have the speed of Shoib or swing of Wasim to get 3-4 early wkts.

They will be targeting his nose with every hit.

Great, we'll just leave a fielder there all match. India will be bundled up for 50 all out and that fielder will set a record for catches in an ICC championship match.

I just hope they don't resort to brain-dead tactics like starting with Imad Wasim.

I would give him two overs at the start definitely. Last time he bowled well , fielding gave softer runs.

If sharma wants to go after him that early, he can be my guest Also that means more pace overs with the old ball.
With kohli do away with the fine leg and get a short third man in at the start of his innings to stop that run

Do exactly as we did to England, i.e. bowl and field with relentlessly controlled aggression. I know it's horribly cliched but we need to leave everything out on the field: work as hard as anything, field like demons, bowl to our fields in a disciplined manner etc. As long as we try our hearts out, I don't think any reasonable thinking individual will blame the team even if we lose.

Play Rashid Latif videos non stop on the giant screen.

Great, we'll just leave a fielder there all match. India will be bundled up for 50 all out and that fielder will set a record for catches in an ICC championship match.

I assume you have a fielder who can jump 20 feet straight up to grab the ball on its way to the nose on the giant screen.

Play this bowling line up:

Amir
Junaid
Hasan
Raees
Shadab

Hai koi mai ka laal jo teen sau buna ke dekhaye?

I would give him two overs at the start definitely. Last time he bowled well , fielding gave softer runs.

If sharma wants to go after him that early, he can be my guest Also that means more pace overs with the old ball.
With kohli do away with the fine leg and get a short third man in at the start of his innings to stop that run

India target is 48 runs in 10 overs. You play right into their hands

Good to see so much of respect is being given to team India unlike the 90 when we were being whipped left and right by them.As an Indian supporter I will want India to win again but Pakistan has played better cricket by knocking out the best team of this tournament so they will be favorites in my book.

This indian team will win 8 out of 10 matches vs current pakistan side. The gulf is that large.

Pakistan's only hope is if ball swings in overcast sky when Pakistan bowls, is dead dry and sunny when pakistan bats, and lady luck favours them in the field. I.e. Indians drop catches.
Otherwise, india is in rinse, repeat mode.
Are you a Pakistani fan jinxing India ? Who in the right frame of mind will think that a team that has beaten the best of the world will be knocked out so easily in the final.We are playing against a team that won against the mighty England.

India target is 48 runs in 10 overs. You play right into their hands

There target is for 0 wickets down. There is a chance with Imad on missing a straight ball early in the innings.
And he will keep the score down.

It adds up to me as I want the quicks to bowl more overs with a reversing ball and Imad is an important player on the scuffing up of the ball given how he bowls

There target is for 0 wickets down. There is a chance with Imad on missing a straight ball early in the innings.
And he will keep the score down.

It adds up to me as I want the quicks to bowl more overs with a reversing ball and Imad is an important player on the scuffing up of the ball given how he bowls

I think they should also give hafeez couple of overs against SD imad should bowl first couple with a junaid then hafeez to bowl couple with amir one of them is bound to get their line length together plus not let them get settled with one type of bowling action and don't forget people we only need 2 of them rest will fall like a house of cards .

Amir
Junaid
Hasan
Raees
Shadab

1000% agree on that attack. One thing I would change though, I would give first over to Junaid Khan instead of Amir...
secondly I would give Amir a short 3 over burst and ask him to go all out...thankfully we have Raees and Hasan as our amazing back up new ball bowlers

I am an India fan, stating my view on the chances and conditions that can favour a Pakistan result.
Seen enough of these to care about jinxing anyone.. looking forward to a more even contest than the one last week.

Well if I consider the pitch will most likely be a flat wicket and one which won't have much in it for the bowlers. I will initially start off with Aamir and Junaid. Give Aamir 2 overs if he can strike, in recent times Aamir only gets conventional swing for 1-2 overs max. If nothing works I shall bring in Hafeez in hope he can trap Shikar Dhawan. After abt 10 overs I would change Junaid with Hasan Ali and bowl Imad Wasim from the other end. Hopefully Imad can ensure we get some reverse and Hassan Ali's discipline can get us some wickets. After that it is all about adapting to situations once a wicket falls. Whether it reverses or not. I think for Pakistan Junaid, Hassan Ali and Shadab Khan will be key.

There is no real answer to how to stop this Indian batting. They are at another level but if you bowl good line and length and get good seam or swing movement all batsmen in the world are susceptible to it. Let's hope we get some conventional swing and some reverse in the end.

Had we played Juni instead of Wahab and took those two dropped catches we had restricted india too in first match. Yuvraj onslaught would have never happened. Some bad decisions by sarfaraz like giving Imad last over was damaging as well.

India has their batting lineup but they are not superheroes. Study their individual weaknesses, Plan the field and bowl the right areas in accordance with that field. Dont drop catches either.

Had we played Juni instead of Wahab and took those two dropped catches we had restricted india too in first match. Yuvraj onslaught would have never happened. Some bad decisions by sarfaraz like giving Imad last over was damaging as well.

India has their batting lineup but they are not superheroes. Study their individual weaknesses, Plan the field and bowl the right areas in accordance with that field. Dont drop catches either.

Rightly put. Come on how hard can it be with all that international experience around.

Guys when a new batsman walks to the crease anything can happen.
Just bowl it tight and bring the field up.
I would get a short leg in first ball of the game. Just put doubt In Rohit mind that it could swing back into him. Straight ball will then be deadly.
With kohli put a man between him and third man and bowl the 4th stump line.
Keep things tight and pressure will build. I'm believing inshAllah

This is what Sarfaraz needs to do. Everytime any new batsman comes to the crease, he must attack with a pacer with aggressive field placings and with men up in the ring.

Sarfaraz will need to keep the infielders on the toes to dry up the singles.

The Pakistani pacers must have a plan for the final 10 overs as well.

India slows down in overs 15-40. Attack with all pace and Shadab during those 25 overs and reap your rewards.

Starve rohit and Dhawan for singled and pressure will build. Kohli also relies on singles before he gets going. Our fielding has to be excellent and we can't afford to drop catches.

I think we will do it. Have a very good feeling about this.

Will Pakistan have any answers for the Indian ability to hit full blooded 140 km/hr plus yorkers for sixes?

As I see it the match will most probably be decided by the first 20-25 overs of Pakistan's bowling. If we bowl first it's imperative that our bowlers knock out their top four in the first 20 overs. With their middle order not having had much match time we can then hope to restrict them to somewhere between 250-270. If Pakistan is put in to bat by India, given their chasing prowess anything below 275 will be a cakewalk for India and even if we do get something around or in excess of 275 we will still have to get their top order in the first half of the innings to have a chance.

It takes one good delivery to take any batsman out. No one is invincible.

The Indian top-order has been brutally efficient in this tournament, but the bowlers have not tested them enough; they have bowled to their strengths: either too wide, too short or straying down the leg-side. The difference between the Indian batsmen and the other batsman is that the former will not throw their wickets away to nothing deliveries. You have to earn them, and if Pakistan can bowl a probing line on the fourth stump channel with an attacking off-side field, Dhawan, Rohit and Kohli shall be tested.

Same goes for the middle and the lower-order, and Hasan should be introduced into the attack as soon as Yuvraj arrives at the crease. He is at his most vulnerable at the start of the innings, especially against pace. Hasan needs to around-the-wicket and try and recreate the deliveries he bowled to Parnell and Moeen. Similarly, Dhoni also has the tendency to be tentative outside the off-stump, but any width and he will punish you.

The bowlers will have to be at their absolute best in terms of line and length. They don't have to produce magic deliveries, they just need to ensure that they don't give the Indian batsmen free boundaries. Force them out of their comfort-zone.

The pitch will not be abrasive like Cardiff and Birmingham and there will be little to no reverse-swing, but disciplined bowling can be achieved on any surface. The Indian batsmen have not been pushed so far, and when that happens, a sense of comfort develops involuntarily. Our bowlers need to exploit that comfort-zone that the Indian batsmen find themselves in, make them sweat for runs which they have not so far.

We disrupted England's Plan A and they could not formulate a Plan B in a short period of time. Similarly, we need to challenge India's Plan A and hope that they will not have more strings to their bow. Difficult, but certainly achievable.

Pakistan must look for wickets early on. Rohit and Dhawan will want to set a platform for the middle order. So must keep it tight and not bowl in there zones.

As I said on pre match thread , if Pakistan play the containment game it will be a repeat of 4th June.

Use McGrath method. A journo asked, "do you have plans to get Sachin out". He said yes. Then he asked about Sehwag. McGrath said same plan. Then Dravid, same plan. VVS, same plan.

The plan was to hit the outer half of the off bail every time.

Pak should focus more on neutralizing Indian bowling and up their batting game. I have noticed that since 2007 whenever india has beatean Pak, barring one asia cup 2012 match, the blame lays on Pak batsmen who always fail to put pressure and are routinely over-whelmed by indian bowling.

Heck even in 2007 WT20 final, Younis Khan played out a full maiden over after Imran Nazir got out & handed back the momentum to the indian bowlers who until that point were stunned by onslaught from Imran Nazir. I am surprised that i don't hear it in cricketing conversations with friend regarding that match & it is rarely mentioned in PP also. Making scapegoats never hides the truth.

This younis khan blockade & other bats failure including everyone's beloved afridi is one of the reasons i don't entirely blame Misbah for 2007 loss. Our top order sucked at that match and has been killing us in every high profile indo-pak game ever since.

1.Rohit - Good inswinger lbw/bowled
2. Dhawan short ball outside off - caught at point
3. Kohli - outswinger early in innings
Do this in 1st ten overs. 30/3 Match over

In Dhawan, Rohit, Kohli, Yuvi, Jhadav and Dhoni India has 6 explosive batsmen capable of scoring a century at S/R 100+.

Then come Pandya and Jadeja, capable of scoring 30 to 50 at S/R 120.

Pakistan's bowling is very good. Would be great contest.

In Dhawan, Rohit, Kohli, Yuvi, Jhadav and Dhoni India has 6 explosive batsmen capable of scoring a century at S/R 100+.

Then come Pandya and Jadeja, capable of scoring 30 to 50 at S/R 120.

Pakistan's bowling is very good. Would be great contest.

Ash too is good along with Bhuvi

I hope Umesh rather than Ash plays tomorrow. Last time around he was too fast for Pakistan to handle, ending up with figures of 7.3-0-29-3. An economy rate of 3.9 per over and 3 wkts is something we should keep.

The real question is how to stop the likes of Sharma, Kohli, Yuvraj, Dhoni and co in the final 10 overs?

If Pakistan starts landing those yorkers then it won't be a problem. Specially stuff from Amir. When they are hot, it's difficult to hit.

These guys are masters are dealing with the yorkers. Just watch the Helicopter shots they play for sixes. Yuvraj is a master of converting the yorker into a full toss which he drives straight down the ground for 6 or flick for six. Same goes for Kohli.

The team managment needs to watch the last 4 overs of the 2014 T-20 WC where Kulusekra, Malinga bowled amazingly where even though the Indians had so many wickets in hand, the likes of Yuvraj, Kohli, Dhoni could only score singles, dots or max doubles against the wide outside the offstump yorker with a packed off side field.

My point is that even if Pakistan fails to take early wickets and Indians have plenty of wickets in hand in the last 10 overs, they should not panic and must ensure that runs are minimized with disciplined bowling where the 4's and 6's are minimized. This is the modern game now where bowlers need to learn how to dry up the runs if the wickets are not conducive to bowling, the Pakistani bowlers at times still follow the Imran Khan doctrine of attack and implode without a plan which is suicidal on the flat wickets of today against master flat track bullies like India.

These guys are masters are dealing with the yorkers. Just watch the Helicopter shots they play for sixes. Yuvraj is a master of converting the yorker into a full toss which he drives straight down the ground for 6 or flick for six. Same goes for Kohli.

The team managment needs to watch the last 4 overs of the 2014 T-20 WC where Kulusekra, Malinga bowled amazingly where even though the Indians had so many wickets in hand, the likes of Yuvraj, Kohli, Dhoni could only score singles, dots or max doubles against the wide outside the offstump yorker with a packed off side field.

My point is that even if Pakistan fails to take early wickets and Indians have plenty of wickets in hand in the last 10 overs, they should not panic and must ensure that runs are minimized with disciplined bowling where the 4's and 6's are minimized. This is the modern game now where bowlers need to learn how to dry up the runs if the wickets are not conducive to bowling, the Pakistani bowlers at times still follow the Imran Khan doctrine of attack and implode without a plan which is suicidal on the flat wickets of today against master flat track bullies like India.

flat track bully loll...Give us greent pitch and you wont score even 100...we have batting to deal with any sort of pitch.....But if its flat pitch you guys have chance...because it will take our bowlers out of equation like sri lanka match.....our batting will perform anyway most of the times.

Amir
Junaid
Hasan
Raees
Shadab

It's OK to support one's team...but in v bad taste to denigrate players of others team.....All ur posts hv been of this order !!!

Pakistan bowlers can easily handle Indian batting provided the fielders support them. In the past in every such encounter Pakistan has dropped catches, some key ones.

You hold them and India won't make more than 250 tops.

Now whether our batsmen can chase 250 is another thing. Totally different proposition :)

flat track bully loll...Give us greent pitch and you wont score even 100...we have batting to deal with any sort of pitch.....But if its flat pitch you guys have chance...because it will take our bowlers out of equation like sri lanka match.....our batting will perform anyway most of the times.

Not really, on most green wickets, Pakistani bowlers have prevailed over the Indian batting and we have won those test matches and ODI's.

On a green top, the Pakistani bowling gets to another level vs the Indian batting.

Pak should focus more on neutralizing Indian bowling and up their batting game. I have noticed that since 2007 whenever india has beatean Pak, barring one asia cup 2012 match, the blame lays on Pak batsmen who always fail to put pressure and are routinely over-whelmed by indian bowling.

Heck even in 2007 WT20 final, Younis Khan played out a full maiden over after Imran Nazir got out & handed back the momentum to the indian bowlers who until that point were stunned by onslaught from Imran Nazir. I am surprised that i don't hear it in cricketing conversations with friend regarding that match & it is rarely mentioned in PP also. Making scapegoats never hides the truth.

This younis khan blockade & other bats failure including everyone's beloved afridi is one of the reasons i don't entirely blame Misbah for 2007 loss. Our top order sucked at that match and has been killing us in every high profile indo-pak game ever since.

India was lucky with Imaran nazzir run out and misbaahs scoop shot. I am an Indian poster wishing all the best for Pakistan. They need bit of luck.would like to see a tight game

Not really, on most green wickets, Pakistani bowlers have prevailed over the Indian batting and we have won those test matches and ODI's.

On a green top, the Pakistani bowling gets to another level vs the Indian batting.

Yes as to how Indian bowling came on top in 1999 world cup with a 225 odd score.

Pakistan bowlers can easily handle Indian batting provided the fielders support them. In the past in every such encounter Pakistan has dropped catches, some key ones.

You hold them and India won't make more than 250 tops.

Now whether our batsmen can chase 250 is another thing. Totally different proposition :)

Isn't that part of the cricketing aspect? Fielding, Running between the wickets etc.

Pakistani bowlers cannot plan to make them bat full fifty. If you are relentlessly good, you can restrict them to 250. But 1- that is difficult and 2- can we chase 250?

It's best to go back to our old ways of playing cricket. Bowl to take wickets. Take wickets take wickets take wickets. That's the only way. You need to snuff out the top 4 by 25 overs. And then don't sit back, keep attacking and get them all out soon as possible. If you don't let a partnership. Hold, I don't see any reason why we can't dismiss them for around 200-230. Or even less than that.

We have the bowling to do it, if it performs to its potential and the fielders support them

I think its Pakistani batting which can win game for Pakistan.

But at the same time Indian bowling shows up usually when their batting fails.

Yes as to how Indian bowling came on top in 1999 world cup with a 225 odd score.

Do you recall the 1999 test match where India lost inspite of bowling first and having Pakistan 26/6? What about the 2006 test match which India lost inspite of bowling first and having Pakistan 39/6?

Bhai current teams ki baat ho rahi hai not historical.

You need to look for wickets all the time. If you for stopping the runs , you will not succeed , Indian batting is too much crafty and good for that.

:afridi1

What's the over-under on Fakhar for the Final? I'd feel comfortable betting that he's gone for less than 25. Probably more like 10 or so, but he can get lucky with a few top edges and airy shots with the field restrictions. But 25 or so is about as far as he can get in the Final I think.

Indian bowling lineup is not as good as its been made to look. Sri Lanka showed what can happen if India happens to bowl second. Of course Pakistan's batting lineup is one of the most brittle around, Fakhar or no Fakhar.

Pakistan who never had to defend a total. Batting is much easier batting second. Will be interesting to see what happens when they bat first

I told you so