How does the salary based middle/upper class make ends meet in Pakistan?

Gayle_Force

Tape Ball Captain
Just a question out of curiosity for posters living in Pakistan.

I have been living in Canada almost 20 years but visit Pakistan once every two years or so. In my last visit(about a year and a half ago), I found that the daily expenses in Pakistan are not much lower than in the west. Restaurants, groceries, clothing etc roughly costs about the same, maybe slightly cheaper. However, there is also added costs for children's education and health care etc.

Recently, I was just researching jobs in Pakistan and found that the average salaries for jobs in Pakistan are less than half of similar jobs in western countries. It just boggled my mind a little bit and i can't put together how people on a monthly salary manage their expenses.

Just a note: I primarily was looking at jobs in the banking/finance sector but i am assuming pay range would be similar in other sectors as well. (I could be wrong).

I have been living in Canada almost 20 years but visit Pakistan once every two years or so. In my last visit(about a year and a half ago), I found that the daily expenses in Pakistan are not much lower than in the west. Restaurants, groceries, clothing etc roughly costs about the same, maybe slightly cheaper. However, there is also added costs for children's education and health care etc.

Recently, I was just researching jobs in Pakistan and found that the average salaries for jobs in Pakistan are less than half of similar jobs in western countries. It just boggled my mind a little bit and i can't put together how people on a monthly salary manage their expenses.

Just a note: I primarily was looking at jobs in the banking/finance sector but i am assuming pay range would be similar in other sectors as well. (I could be wrong).

Your assessment is not accurate ...

If you look at purchasing power parity conversion rate of pkr vs cad , you would know that if you earn less than half in pakistan, still you can have better purchasing power in pakistan.

W.r.t India I had this doubt when I checked out my parents' living expense(GTA) and mine here in India,what I came to realize is utilities is way less here compared to over there,also many live in joint families thereby saving on rent etc.

Also public transport is cheaper here and in MNCs many provide cabs for lower cost,so one doesn't need to get Transit like Canada.

Education is expensive and that probably is an issue,with healthcare also you are right,but healthcare is not monthly.

cost of living in pakistan compared to the west is much cheaper so your calculations are wrong

however it is not possible to live a lavish lifestyle in pak unless your earning is very high or you have inherited property

that is why middle class people like my family have left pakistan for a better future. the standard of living that we have now was not affordable to us in pakistan but obviously you have to fore go certain things such as family,relatives etc

W.r.t India I had this doubt when I checked out my parents' living expense(GTA) and mine here in India,what I came to realize is utilities is way less here compared to over there,also many live in joint families thereby saving on rent etc.

Also public transport is cheaper here and in MNCs many provide cabs for lower cost,so one doesn't need to get Transit like Canada.

Education is expensive and that probably is an issue,wigan th healthcare also you are right,but healthcare is not monthly.

Yea the joint family system reasoning makes sense or inheriting housing from family, not having housing expenses would cover a significant gap in wages.

cost of living in pakistan compared to the west is much cheaper so your calculations are wrong

however it is not possible to live a lavish lifestyle in pak unless your earning is very high or you have inherited property

that is why middle class people like my family have left pakistan for a better future. the standard of living that we have now was not affordable to us in pakistan but obviously you have to fore go certain things such as family,relatives etc

Not saying that cost of certain things is not cheaper in Pakistan but it doesn't cover the significant wage gap. Furthermore, there are certain additional expenses that are required in Pakistan but not in the west. like children's education which itself seems quite expensive to afford.

However, i agree with what JaDed mentioned about joint families, which probably saves a lot of money on housing expenses.

They don't lol, people there are in debt and underpaid. I think the reason why it isn't as bad is probably cause people still live in joint families and have some inheritance money/property, otherwise it's a hellhole.

as usual completely misinformed opinion. why do you even bother when you know nothing about life in the country and have no experience of living there for a considerable period of time :facepalm:

Not saying that cost of certain things is not cheaper in Pakistan but it doesn't cover the significant wage gap. Furthermore, there are certain additional expenses that are required in Pakistan but not in the west. like children's education which itself seems quite expensive to afford.

However, i agree with what JaDed mentioned about joint families, which probably saves a lot of money on housing expenses.

there are plenty of decent schools whose fees are not very high and the government universities are affordable to the middle class as well

however very high class education is definitely beyond their pocket

that is why in the top universities of pakistan you would see that over 70% of the students are from rich families

Depends on what kind of company you work for. Often times if you reach a good pay grade you will be earning around 1.2 - 1.5 lacs per month (my best friend is just 4 years out of school and he is an engineer at P&G and earns 1.5 lacs/month Mashallah). Some companies pay for your car or transport to and from work. Also alot of companies have health insurance for their employees meaning major chunk of your and family's health will be covered.

Buying or renting property is expensive for salaried class hence that is why most live with extended family or in dad's house until they reach a stage where they can buy their own.

Yes its comparable when you have kids and want to rent or make your own house.

But as a single person living with parents you save a lot of money if your salary is 1 lac+

Depends on what kind of company you work for. Often times if you reach a good pay grade you will be earning around 1.2 - 1.5 lacs per month (my best friend is just 4 years out of school and he is an engineer at P&G and earns 1.5 lacs/month Mashallah). Some companies pay for your car or transport to and from work. Also alot of companies have health insurance for their employees meaning major chunk of your and family's health will be covered.

Buying or renting property is expensive for salaried class hence that is why most live with extended family or in dad's house until they reach a stage where they can buy their own.

That's what boggled my mind a bit as a similar job in Canada woild earn you $4-5k minimum after tax. That's about 4-5 lacs PKR.

Dude. I earn that much here and in the GTA the rent of a good 1 bed + den condo is 1800-2000. That's half the paycheck right there. Then car payments of about 200, insurance is notoriously high in GTA, mine is 190 this year. Then gas about 200-250 per month. So roughly 600 right there. Then food for wife and I, I'd say about 500-600 per month. Then phone, internet, utilities for two ppl another 150ish. That only leaves about 200-500 for savings. And that doesn't even include any amount left aside for actually living our lives and going out shopping or any events.

Thankfully my wife earns too.

So all in all salaried class ki dunya jahan mein G hai.

Completely clueless. I find it hilarious how it's always the expats who write stuff about the inner workings of the country when they don't even know what's what

Completely clueless. I find it hilarious how it's always the expats who give their clueless opinions

He is not even an expat... he is an American of Pakistani descent who probably has been to Pakistan only once or twice in his life and acts as an expert on all things Pakistan.

My parents aren't super rich but they are well off and have worked hard. However we are able to live a very comfortable and enjoyable life in Pakistan. The cost of living there is low compared to the west.

Dude. I earn that much here and in the GTA the rent of a good 1 bed + den condo is 1800-2000. That's half the paycheck right there. Then car payments of about 200, insurance is notoriously high in GTA, mine is 190 this year. Then gas about 200-250 per month. So roughly 600 right there. Then food for wife and I, I'd say about 500-600 per month. Then phone, internet, utilities for two ppl another 150ish. That only leaves about 200-500 for savings. And that doesn't even include any amount left aside for actually living our lives and going out shopping or any events.

Was like watching an episode and suspense opens in the last.

My parents aren't super rich but they are well off and have worked hard. However we are able to live a very comfortable and enjoyable life in Pakistan. The cost of living there is low compared to the west.

Not sure if that is true yet,probably was true from 1990-2008,when earning people were able to buy property home,live comfortable life,its not the same anymore,atleast not here in India,have to thrive much harder and quality of life still aint that good in cities,also the water,air those two things are very good in west compared to South Asia.

TBF GST hit us couple of months ago,and that has really been hurtful.

Haha totally agree with that, specially the last part. Just couldn't imagine people surviving with even lower income and maintaining a decent lifestyle.

I guess the answer is that many people in Pakistan don't have to worry about housing expenses.

didnt know you were married bro!

desi or canadian? my parents are nagging me about this already

I think Pakistan is too expensive aswell. I remember eating pizza hut last time I was there and our bill was like 3,000 rupees for two pizzas which is about $30. I never spent that much on Pizza in the states but in Pakistan it seemed to be a norm.

Exactly and an evening out with family to a fancier restaurant means you are easily out 10k rupees. Hard to imagine how people afford that with the salary over there. The funny thing is the restaurants in Pakistan always seem full.

I guess what I was trying to find out was that as an overseas Pakistani whether it is financially feasible to move back to Pakistan. It seems that unless you have a paid for property it is difficult to maintain a comfortable lifestyle while working there. Would that be a fair assessment?

IT sucks career wise in Pakistan. I cant have a job for more than 40k-50k and our home rent is 41k :D too many startups hiring people at much low pay is to blame. Dont know about other fields. Few MBAs are earning good around me. CAs are in heaven. Docs are also getting pretty good paychecks.

I guess what I was trying to find out was that as an overseas Pakistani whether it is financially feasible to move back to Pakistan. It seems that unless you have a paid for property it is difficult to maintain a comfortable lifestyle while working there. Would that be a fair assessment?

I agree. Most people who are comfortable are those who still live with their parents / have properties already so they do not need to save for anything. Plus I feel like when you are in Pakistan you have to maintain a certain standard of living because of rishtydaars expectations and everyone trying to outdo each other so that's more extra pressure to live lavishly.

People in Canada don't really make that much, in fact i ran into a lot of people who complained about being underpaid in Canada and how taxes, utilities, mortgage, insurance and other daily expenses mean very little savings and it takes a long time for people to save up on a 20% downpayment for a house. Many complained about how they wished that their spouses were also able to work in decent career paying jobs but then would complain about who would look after the kids. Ultimately they kept giving philosophical answers that life has now become very hard for people and life is just about what you make of it.

Well you can say the same about Pakistan where life is what you make of it and that you just have to manage your expenses.

I personally over a period of time lost the craze, fascination i had for living in the West in my 5 years in Canada and have been very happy upon my return to Pakistan inspite of all the problems associated with living in Pakistan. Home is Home. I would rather struggle in my home country and find a way to contribute here and make a difference.

People in Canada don't really make that much, in fact i ran into a lot of people who complained about being underpaid in Canada and how taxes, utilities, mortgage, insurance and other daily expenses mean very little savings and it takes a long time for people to save up on a 20% downpayment for a house. Many complained about how they wished that their spouses were also able to work in decent career paying jobs but then would complain about who would look after the kids. Ultimately they kept giving philosophical answers that life has now become very hard for people and life is just about what you make of it.

Well you can say the same about Pakistan where life is what you make of it and that you just have to manage your expenses.

I personally over a period of time lost the craze, fascination i had for living in the West in my 5 years in Canada and have been very happy upon my return to Pakistan inspite of all the problems associated with living in Pakistan. Home is Home. I would rather struggle in my home country and find a way to contribute here and make a difference.

The question is can one do that independently? (Without living in a joint family or gaining inheritance)

Canada is not a paradise, far from it but a half decent job will allow you live independently and have a comfortable life.

Your assessment is not accurate ...

If you look at purchasing power parity conversion rate of pkr vs cad , you would know that if you earn less than half in pakistan, still you can have better purchasing power in pakistan.

Then explain how a subway sandwich cost the same amount in Karachi and Toronto after conversion?

I just came back from Karachi and no way is living in Karachi the same as North America. Karachi is much much cheaper.

I know most of people own the houses. They do not have to pay the rent. rest i think is similar to west or slightly cheaper.

I just came back from Karachi and no way is living in Karachi the same as North America. Karachi is much much cheaper.

I have found most things(food, clothing, gas etc) to be at par maybe slightly cheaper in Pakistan. I haven't seen a major price difference in my experience. Unless you are talking about food off the street which is very cheap.

I pay for petrol in my car and uber via my Canadian CC, all it shows on my statement is $4, $19, $20 whereas the cost of filling up my tank would be $85 in Canada

Just looked up online and it seems gas prices/litre are about 30% cheaper in Pakistan compared to Canada. That is a considerable amount I agree but wages are almost 65-70% lower in Pakistan.

I think it's pretty evident that the missing variable is housing costs. Based on my assumption, in the west, Mortgage/rent + additional expenses account for about 50% of an average person's pay. It seems most middle/upper class people in Pakistan manage to avoid those costs altogether.

Lower cost of living = Lower quality clothes, food, electronics etc...

Only reason stuff would be cheaper in Pakistan is lower salaries and lower taxes but Pakistan doesn’t make any quality stuff... Most stuff you want to buy is imported....

Yeah housing is cheaper but houses don’t have same amenities as in the USA... Also don’t have isolation and stuff like that...

So it’s an apples to oranges comparison... If you wanted the exact same lifestyle as Canada with similar consumables and similar houses in Pakistan, obviously Pakistan would be more expensive... But if you want food with no quality control and clothes made in Sialkot falling apart in few months then yeah Pakistan is cheaper...

What about the price of property in Pakistan? It seems to be sky high looking from the outside, but then that might just be in the desirable areas which I hear about. I'm guessing the more shoddy parts which make up the majority of the country are probably more affordable.

Some totally clueless posts. A middle-class person who makes 15-30K a month struggles to make ends meet;let alone living a luxurious life. In Pakistan, there is hyperinflation.

Just for the sake of comparison: a kg of mutton costs 700 rupees, a kg of apples costs 200 rupees, a kg of lentils costs 300 rupees. If a person wants to have mutton for dinner, he would have to spend his whole day's worth of income. All in all, Pakistan is a bad place for middle-income people.

Some totally clueless posts. A middle-class person who makes 15-30K a month struggles to make ends meet;let alone living a luxurious life. In Pakistan, there is hyperinflation.

Just for the sake of comparison: a kg of mutton costs 700 rupees, a kg of apples costs 200 rupees, a kg of lentils costs 300 rupees. If a person wants to have mutton for dinner, he would have to spend his whole day's worth of income. All in all, Pakistan is a bad place for middle-income people.

15-30k isnt middle class lol

my driver makes 20k or so

[MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION] 30-40k is starting pay scale in corporate sector. However is better after year or two

With firms however you are unlikely to earn any real money in Pakistan specially first 3 years

I always find your case amusingly weird, parents living abroad while the son lives in India :misbah

Having an income at that level is not considered middle class.

I would say in Pakistan to live comfortably, one has to be making around 2 lakhs a month (this is with a family).

That's the point, educated people in Pakistan get paid pitiful salaries for high skilled work, while rich people can afford to pay their servants more money than what regular white collar people in Pakistan would make loooool.

Yeah but did your friend study in Pakistan? He likely got his job cause of his foreign credentials, of course employers are gonna pay you more if you have a degree from America lol.

No he did mechanical engineering from NUST Karachi, interned twice with P&G over two summers and then worked with them full-time right after graduation. From what I hear for a competent engineer working at a big multi-national and relevant internship experience you can expect to make 80-100k per month easy. The thing is jobs with such multi-nationals are few and applicants in the thousands so hard to get.

yeah and you get the jobs cause you have some big connections, like family ties. Also $800-1000 is a pretty low salary, I make more money and I haven't graduated college yet lol, Pakistan is really third world lol.

Your assessment isn't wrong. Inflation rates in Pakistan are at an all-time high and the cost or living is increasing by the day. The middle/upper-middle class form a very small part of the total population and therefore, they manage - owing to different reasons; hardwork, inheritance or corruption.

However, coming back to your original point, I fail to understand why most overseas Pakistanis have formed the opinion that Education and Health are as bad as somewhere like Africa or even India. Most top ranked officials, businessmen, stars, athletes and Co have gone to Govt. schools where the fee is practically non-existent.

As for health, while things may be inferior to the West, considering the over population crisis we have at hands - It's not that bad. You have state of the art institutions and doctors that the West takes with open hands working in most Govt. Hospitals in Pakistan. The only reason for a gloomy picture to have been painted is because of the overpopulation which leads to few (while many to numerically) hospitals to accommodate patients.

What about the price of property in Pakistan? It seems to be sky high looking from the outside, but then that might just be in the desirable areas which I hear about. I'm guessing the more shoddy parts which make up the majority of the country are probably more affordable.

In the relatively bigger cities, an average cost for an average locality land is around 600k Rs per marla. Construction charges aside. So, a 5 marla house will cost at least 7 million Rs, 10 marla house will cost at least 12 million rupees. But in posh localities with modern structure the value of 10 marla house is around 17 million.

Lower middle level income starts around 50k per month. The middle of middle class would be around 70-80k per month.

Yes, food is not cheap in Pakistan particularly milk, meat and fruits. Loose gawala milk is at least 90 rs per litre in cities.
Electricity is also very expensive. If you have 2 small air conditioners in your home, the electricity bill during summer will exceed 20k rs per month.

Lower middle level income starts around 50k per month. The middle of middle class would be around 70-80k per month.

Yes, food is not cheap in Pakistan particularly milk, meat and fruits. Loose gawala milk is at least 90 rs per litre in cities.
Electricity is also very expensive. If you have 2 small air conditioners in your home, the electricity bill during summer will exceed 20k rs per month.

Yeah but most don't make that much money, I don't think any teachers, accountants or tech guys in Pakistan make enough to even be considered lower middle class lol. I have a friend that went to Pakistan to study medicine and according to him even fresh doctors barely make like 20 k rupees, that's $200. In America, doctors are among the highest paid professionals, a first year intern or resident makes at least $60k and once they finish their residency after 3-5 years, they can make anywhere between $200,000-400,000 a year, the only successful doctors in Pakistan are the ones that got their credentials outside Pakistan.

Your assessment isn't wrong. Inflation rates in Pakistan are at an all-time high and the cost or living is increasing by the day. The middle/upper-middle class form a very small part of the total population and therefore, they manage - owing to different reasons; hardwork, inheritance or corruption.

However, coming back to your original point, I fail to understand why most overseas Pakistanis have formed the opinion that Education and Health are as bad as somewhere like Africa or even India. Most top ranked officials, businessmen, stars, athletes and Co have gone to Govt. schools where the fee is practically non-existent.

As for health, while things may be inferior to the West, considering the over population crisis we have at hands - It's not that bad. You have state of the art institutions and doctors that the West takes with open hands working in most Govt. Hospitals in Pakistan. The only reason for a gloomy picture to have been painted is because of the overpopulation which leads to few (while many to numerically) hospitals to accommodate patients

Yea, I personally don't know much about the education and healthcare system in Pakistan as I left Pakistan at quite an early age. My opinion of the system is basically developed from my relatives, who seem to be willing to pay an arm and a leg to get high-end education and healthcare.

Yeah but most don't make that much money, I don't think any teachers, accountants or tech guys in Pakistan make enough to even be considered lower middle class lol. I have a friend that went to Pakistan to study medicine and according to him even fresh doctors barely make like 20 k rupees, that's $200. In America, doctors are among the highest paid professionals, a first year intern or resident makes at least $60k and once they finish their residency after 3-5 years, they can make anywhere between $200,000-400,000 a year, the only successful doctors in Pakistan are the ones that got their credentials outside Pakistan.

dude :)))

why are you so hell bent on embarrassing yourself over and over again??

As for health, while things may be inferior to the West, considering the over population crisis we have at hands - It's not that bad. You have state of the art institutions and doctors that the West takes with open hands working in most Govt. Hospitals in Pakistan. The only reason for a gloomy picture to have been painted is because of the overpopulation which leads to few (while many to numerically) hospitals to accommodate patients.

india is far ahead of us when it comes to education and health

as i said please take of your green tinted glasses

so according to the pakistan expert [MENTION=142256]Pakistanian[/MENTION],

accountants,teachers and young doctors in pakistan make less than 20k a month

salute to the sheer ignorance of overseas pakistanis like him :salute:

Their salary is more than that now. Health is a provincial matter so i don't know about all provinces but in KPK and Punjab starting salary for a doctor is around 50k.

High School teacher also makes around 50-60k.

That's the point, educated people in Pakistan get paid pitiful salaries for high skilled work, while rich people can afford to pay their servants more money than what regular white collar people in Pakistan would make loooool.

no educated professional/regular white collar person in pakistan earns 15-30k

salaries for teachers,doctors,engineers,accountants,bankers etc are above 50k

you really don't have a point. you are clueless and have absolutely no idea what you are talking about

make it easy on yourself and stop embarrassing yourself loooool

yeah and you get the jobs cause you have some big connections, like family ties. Also $800-1000 is a pretty low salary, I make more money and I haven't graduated college yet lol, Pakistan is really third world lol.

lol yes mr. american it is a third world country loooool. thanks for noticing looool

you may be earning more than that while still in college but you are also ignorant to the bone like a true yank

thankfully i spent my teenage years in pak and have been in america for the last 8 years only otherwise i would have been ignorant like a true yank as well loooool

so according to the pakistan expert [MENTION=142256]Pakistanian[/MENTION],

accountants,teachers and young doctors in pakistan make less than 20k a month

salute to the sheer ignorance of overseas pakistanis like him :salute:

Lol aren't you overseas Pakistani too :))

india is far ahead of us when it comes to education and health

as i said please take of your green tinted glasses

Your comments are actually hilarious. Please back it up with some stats? A majority of Indians have formal education yet are under the line of poverty? You've got to be kidding me.

Also, I don't understand what you're trying to achieve here. You're ignoring the crux of my post and cherry-picking quotes merely mentioned for a better overview in order achieve your personal vendettas - which as of now are pretty unclear.

[MENTION=145243]Leo23[/MENTION]

What [MENTION=142256]Pakistanian[/MENTION] is saying is true.

Lol aren't you overseas Pakistani too :))

i am but i was born and raised in pakistan. i moved to usa in 2009 and i'm not a second/third generation ignoramus who haven't been to pakistan in years or haven't spent more than a few weeks there but pretend they know everything about the country

Your comments are actually hilarious. Please back it up with some stats? A majority of Indians have formal education yet are under the line of poverty? You've got to be kidding me.

Also, I don't understand what you're trying to achieve here. You're ignoring the crux of my post and cherry-picking quotes merely mentioned for a better overview in order achieve your personal vendettas - which as of now are pretty unclear.

poverty has little to do with education. india's biggest problem is over population. but the standard of their education especially when it comes to IT,engineer,medicine etc is better than ours.

the problem is that you live in pakistan and you are not aware of how things actually work. you are living in a bubble. come out of the country and you will see that when it comes to education we are clearly lagging behind our neighbors

poverty has little to do with education. india's biggest problem is over population. but the standard of their education especially when it comes to IT,engineer,medicine etc is better than ours.

the problem is that you live in pakistan and you are not aware of how things actually work. you are living in a bubble. come out of the country and you will see that when it comes to education we are clearly lagging behind our neighbors

You have got to be kidding me? How old are you? I'm the one living in a bubble? Rock on, man. I don't want to argue with someone of inferior ability because it isn't worth my time. Good day.

yes man pakistan's education system puts america to shame as well. what is india in comparison?

you are so delusional its not even funny

"gaddafi is the best stadium in asia"

"lahore is the center of south asia"

"pakistan's education system is ahead of india"

try stand up comedy. i think you will have a great career.

yes man pakistan's education system puts america to shame as well. what is india in comparison?

you are so delusional its not even funny

"gaddafi is the best stadium in asia"

"lahore is the center of south asia"

"pakistan's education system is ahead of india"

try stand up comedy. i think you will have a great career.

While I back up my statements with proof, facts and figures - you take the irrational approach using emoticons and trying to form to popular opinion. Ironic that you think I'd make a good comedian.

yes pls provide "proof, facts and figures" to validate your above mentioned statements

and once again

the head count ratio (no of ppl below poverty line) is not a valid indicator of the education system in a country

Your driver is paid 20K because you are an affluent family. A university graduate in Pakistan ,who works in an office,bank or a lab, makes around 15-30 K.

Absolutely right education has no value in Pakistan you are paid 15-20k as new entrant in a job regardless of degree be it pharma mgmt. ACCTS etc

Whereas you can earn around 30k as a salesman on a branded clothing store or 20k on a cash & carry salesman/medical store