How successful will India be under Virat Kohli's Captaincy?

Batman_DB

Local Club Regular
india don't play overseas series for 2-3 years but so we cant judge virat immediately but what do u think how successful india will be in under virat in 3 years time when he start to tour SAF ENG AUS

i still think india might be able to win a test or 2 overseas still cant see them winning series in SAF AUS Eng as the bowling is bad

Unless we land up with some atg bowlers we wont win a series overseas.
We could win say 1-2 tests overseas per year though.

A sad day for indian cricket to appoint a very very immature guy who talks drivel in press conferences and mouths expletives like his birthright, he needs a sudden image makeover now that he is a leader and an ambassador of the country, else cricket is a great leveler its going to tear him and the team to shreds at the blink of an eye. Ideally, the captaincy should've gone to ashwin as he has got better and has always been tactically very sound, rahane could have taken over full time after a year or two.

If India can find some express pace bowlers who can bowl good line and length, then Kohli can succeed in overseas tests. Otherwise, he will look the same as MSD did.

May be some bowler from Jammu and Kashmir team can come and save India.

It will either be very good or very bad.
There doesn't seem to be a middle way with Kohli - and I like it!

india don't have any other potential captain so he will be stay in reign for atleast 5 years i wonder who will be the vice captain? ashwin mayb?

Al bark and no bite. Spoilt brat Kohli will fail miserably and his batting will suffer.

We will see more of Umesh and Aaron. Also, Ashwin's days in Test side seem numbered unless he starts batting well again.

Its going to be interesting. One thing I am pretty sure about is that we will be risking a lot of losses going after some unlikely wins. India will be a better team to watch.

We will see more of Umesh and Aaron. Also, Ashwin's days in Test side seem numbered unless he starts batting well again.

Its going to be interesting. One thing I am pretty sure about is that we will be risking a lot of losses going after some unlikely wins. India will be a better team to watch.

Why so? Thought he was decent in 2 tests.

The Test Kohli captained, he sat Ashwin out. Gives me a feeling that he doesn't consider Ashwin to be a wicket-taking option.

Why else would he prefer a rookie spinner over Ashwin?

Due to the logic leg spinners are better than off spinners in Aus.

That's why he also made a press statement saying bold decisions are needed or something.

India has a couple of test in Bangladesh in June probably .
So if we tour Srilanka later and play Pakistan in December then it means
in the second half of 2015 we would be playing all our
cricketing Asian neighbours on their turf and with all
teams going through leadership change it will make for
a interesting viewing . Pakistan will be without
Misbah and Younis & will be under a new skipper while
SL will be without Jaya and probably also without
Sanga, Dilshan & Herath . So I am expecting a easy and
steady year of captainship for VK with victories
against all our neighbours and if SA is to tour India in 2015 then
it will be great if we are able to break their away undefeated streak
in India after so many years. . Will be an interesting 6
months of Cricket for India if all this tours do happen
without non -sporting external political issues affecting
them

The Test Kohli captained, he sat Ashwin out. Gives me a feeling that he doesn't consider Ashwin to be a wicket-taking option.

coz they want to try a wrist spinner as they felt they can purchase better on australian tracks ashwin def will play more overseas tests he did a good job in this test with both bat and ball

we can judge virat when SAF tour india that will be his 1st acid test before that series against SRI PAK BAN WI not really

A sad day for indian cricket to appoint a very very immature guy who talks drivel in press conferences and mouths expletives like his birthright, he needs a sudden image makeover now that he is a leader and an ambassador of the country, else cricket is a great leveler its going to tear him and the team to shreds at the blink of an eye. Ideally, the captaincy should've gone to ashwin as he has got better and has always been tactically very sound, rahane could have taken over full time after a year or two.
For a starter he has the guts to call ,spade a spade.

what test series do india have in the next 18 months or so?

Aug '14 - 3 tests with SL (most likely in SL now)

Oct-Nov '14 - 3 tests vs SA (Home)

Dec -Jan '14 - Could see a 2 test series in BD

Feb-Mar '15 - 3 tests vs WI (Away)

Jul-Aug '15 - 2 tests vs Zim (Away)

Oct-Nov '16 - 3 tests vs NZ (home)

Dec-Jan '17 - 4 tests vs Eng (Home)

Feb-Mar '17 - 4 tests vs Aus (Home)

There are some slots left for series with Pakistan but high;ly unlikely we will see any bilateral test series with Pakistan any sooner.

Great player but those thinking that just because it's Kohli and he's aggressive, and they'll win more or perform better might get a shock.

India's batting is great, the issue has been the bowling and if they can get Yadav and Varun fit and firing, they'll have a great chance. If not then expect the same issues to occur every-time they tour.

I hope he does well because I really like him as a cricketer and it would show people from around the World, but mainly Pakistan, that you need quality captains that can think outside of the box and are tactically good and aggressive.

I just hope there's not these unrealistic expectations of him, that might deter his batting. We've seen it happen to the best.

India has a couple of test in Bangladesh in June probably .
So if we tour Srilanka later and play Pakistan in December then it means
in the second half of 2015 we would be playing all our
cricketing Asian neighbours on their turf and with all
teams going through leadership change it will make for
a interesting viewing . Pakistan will be without
Misbah and Younis & will be under a new skipper while
SL will be without Jaya and probably also without
Sanga, Dilshan & Herath . So I am expecting a easy and
steady year of captainship for VK with victories
against all our neighbours and if SA is to tour India in 2015 then
it will be great if we are able to break their away undefeated streak
in India after so many years. . Will be an interesting 6
months of Cricket for India if all this tours do happen
without non -sporting external political issues affecting
them
The way things are shaping up for Pakistan, you can only dream of easy victories.

Why so? Thought he was decent in 2 tests.
Ashwin is a goner now.

How, Bhajji, Yuvi and Zak were Dada's boys, we had a Dhoni lobby of Ash, Jaddu and Vijay.
I think Ash and Jaddu are gonna go and we would see more of Axar and some other spinner (god knows who and from where!)

The timing of leadership change for Indian Test team can't be better. By the time IND starts touring AUS, ENG, SAF & NZ, they 'll have a very settled team. At home, any of the playing 11 can lead them to win a Test series at home.

The way things are shaping up for Pakistan, you can only dream of easy victories.

finding replacement for gun players like misbah, Younis, Ajmal will not be that easy especially in the test match format of the game they have been legends for Pakistan.. let's see but it will be an interesting series if it do take place. But in Indo pak relations its always difficult to predict.

Don't think he will be as successful as Dhoni. I also see a lot of feuding in the Indian dressing room if he does become the captain and the team performance to suffer.

Someone like Rahane and Pujara would be a better choice.

finding replacement for gun players like misbah, Younis, Ajmal will not be that easy especially in the test match format of the game they have been legends for Pakistan.. let's see but it will be an interesting series if it do take place. But in Indo pak relations its always difficult to predict.

This is off topic but this team will be hard to beat.

1. Shehzad
2. Aslam
3. Azam
4. Akmal
5. Fawad
6. Haris
7. Sarfraz
8. Raza/ Azam (depends on condition)
9. Amir
10. Junaid/Sadaf
11. Rahat

They will be good at home but toothless away. This has always been the case with them and will continue.

Ashwin is a goner now.

How, Bhajji, Yuvi and Zak were Dada's boys, we had a Dhoni lobby of Ash, Jaddu and Vijay.
I think Ash and Jaddu are gonna go and we would see more of Axar and some other spinner (god knows who and from where!)

Do't think so bro.

Bhajji, Yuvi and Zak played under Dhoni for most part. Only when they turned garbage and we carried them for a year or so, they got finally dropped.

If Ashwin becomes a liability and the team has to carry him for a long time, then he deserves to be dropped.

Now if Kohli prefers Axar over him even in normal cases, that's a different story. Possible but in Tests, such moves won't be taken unless Ashwin's performance is bad.

Aug '14 - 3 tests with SL (most likely in SL now)

Oct-Nov '14 - 3 tests vs SA (Home)

Dec -Jan '14 - Could see a 2 test series in BD

Feb-Mar '15 - 3 tests vs WI (Away)

Jul-Aug '15 - 2 tests vs Zim (Away)

Oct-Nov '16 - 3 tests vs NZ (home)

Dec-Jan '17 - 4 tests vs Eng (Home)

Feb-Mar '17 - 4 tests vs Aus (Home)

There are some slots left for series with Pakistan but high;ly unlikely we will see any bilateral test series with Pakistan any sooner.

Something is wrong!

Do't think so bro.

Bhajji, Yuvi and Zak played under Dhoni for most part. Only when they turned garbage and we carried them for a year or so, they got finally dropped.

If Ashwin becomes a liability and the team has to carry him for a long time, then he deserves to be dropped.

Now if Kohli prefers Axar over him even in normal cases, that's a different story. Possible but in Tests, such moves won't be taken unless Ashwin's performance is bad.
But Ashwin is a liability right? If he fails in one home test, that should be the end of him. Problem is where will we find a replacement? Spin cupboard is bare.

I gave Axar as an example. Kohli can select the team he wants, but I get a feeling, the days of passengers are over.

But Ashwin is a liability right? If he fails in one home test, that should be the end of him. Problem is where will we find a replacement? Spin cupboard is bare.

I gave Axar as an example. Kohli can select the team he wants, but I get a feeling, the days of passengers are over.

How is Ashwin a liability? In India or SC, he isn't.
Outside SC, he gave a decent performance. Has a lot to improve.

Just last test, he outbowled Lyon in both innings (that doesn't he is better than Lyon in these conditions of course).

If the days of passsenger are over, its a great thing for India. But not performing for a few matches or in a bad patch doesn't make one a passenger. If so, then Pujara should have been dropped by now. A lot of factors come into play (potential, formation of core, allowing a bowler to mature, etc). Yes, in the end, results HAVE to be delivered but I don't think Kohli can chop and change as he pleases. If he does, he won't build a team.

With that being said, the fundamental philosophy that you need to perform or else you will be thrown out will make players play out of their skin to compete and that's good for Indian cricket.

How is Ashwin a liability? In India or SC, he isn't.
Outside SC, he gave a decent performance. Has a lot to improve.

Just last test, he outbowled Lyon in both innings (that doesn't he is better than Lyon in these conditions of course).

If the days of passsenger are over, its a great thing for India. But not performing for a few matches or in a bad patch doesn't make one a passenger. If so, then Pujara should have been dropped by now. A lot of factors come into play (potential, formation of core, allowing a bowler to mature, etc). Yes, in the end, results HAVE to be delivered but I don't think Kohli can chop and change as he pleases. If he does, he won't build a team.

With that being said, the fundamental philosophy that you need to perform or else you will be thrown out will make players play out of their skin to compete and that's good for Indian cricket.

As I said, Ashwin is walking on thin ice. If he fails at home, he's done. He is definitely a liability abroad. How can you even say he gave a decent performance outside SC? We all know it took him 9 abroad tests to start landing the ball in the right areas. I don't want to start all over reg him, you know what I think of him. The stats are to be seen. That said, I agree he did great in the last test and hope he gets a bagful in Sydney. If he does well, I would be really happy.

Reg passengers, yes sadly Pujara is getting a reputation of being a FTb. If Kohli feels, he should be dropped then why not? All I'm saying is players getting picked on merit. No more CSK lobby or Mumbai lobby or Karnataka lobby.

Would Kohli have players like Sachin,Dravid, Gambhir and Sehwag ? If yes, my answer is yes, if no my answer is also no

Don't take this in the wrong way my Indian brothers I mean well, but I unfortunately foresee a lot of infighting in the dressing room if Kohli is to be named captain for the national side in the long run. I am not criticizing him or anything but Kohli's man management and PR skills are sub standard as compared to Dhoni's, as a matter of fact they can't even be said in the same sentence; there is the gulf of skills between the two when it comes to handling the microphone or the media.

Believe me this might sound stupid but even with the drubbings you were receiving overseas all the while in 2010/11/12, your skipper kept sanity in the dressing room churning out good, TV worthy press conferences that didn't let the general morale of the team or the fans down to utter brink. As a result you guys notched up performances in CT 13 when you were essentially overseas - I know the formats are different and India has always been a gun ODI team but it was, in all fairness, overseas conditions.

I can relate to this situation because Wasim was also in a similar boat when he was handed the captaincy for Pakistan Cricket, he was the poster boy for our nation and at the height of his powers. Because he was such an aggressive captain and player himself he expected the same things from other players plus Wasim also had great work ethic and would put in the hard yards in both his batting and bowling. The minute he noticed someone slacking off during training in the squad he would throw a tantrum and that was the reason the famous 1996 infighting and revolt happened within the Pakistani cricket team. Waqar was made the ring leader by all opposing Wasim's captaincy and our two best bowlers ever, became bitter enemies for a good 1-2 years. All was resolved in 1998 but that revolt hurt Pakistan Cricket the most and I could see something similar with the likes of Kohli, Dhawan, Rehane, Vijay and Sharma.

Not all players are cut from the same cloth you know and some might even get a little fazed and upset with all the aggressive attitude being displayed in the press conference and on the field. Some might even try to emulate him in order to go with the general flow and that could in turn reduce their on field performance. Sub Continent teams are not seen as those who would start sledging and take up hostility as a necessary means to counter the banter thrown at us and for good reason. If Kohli tries to impose this culture on the team, it could backfire and result in infighting which would overall be bad for the team. If Kohli wants to be aggressor then he should keep the tantrums away from the Press Conference as this labels the whole team's mindset and players who are not inclined on sharing a verbal could end up being targeted by the opposing team (remember sledging is part of Aussie, NZ culture) its not for us hence this unnatural demeanor could actually hurt in the long run. For banter and sledging (the right kind, not abuse or anything) 1-2 guys can be more than enough in the team while keeping on field issues tucked away when they leave the pitch at the end of the day.

Another thing that Kohli lacks are proper man management skills. For someone who will (most likely) be made captain I believe he does not know how to take the best out of his players at crucial given times. There seems a lot of miss-communication between what Kohli wants from his players and what they are capable of doing - especially the fast bowlers. I think (personally) in his mind bowling 145K would automatically make a bowler in (Johno or Steyn) but what he fails to realize is that those same former bowlers, having equivalent pace are gifted in other skill sets of bowling fast i.e. swing and seam + pace variation and a good cricketing brain. Kohli sets them field by observing his opposing number which is good but his bowlers who, he thinks, are of the same level bowl differently and hence he faces disappointment more often than not.

There is a reason why Dhoni has achieved the No 1 Test Rank, WT20, WC and CT in his career and that is because he was excellent in the two facets discussed above. Nothing personal against Kohli or anything but for the betterment of India's future and their cricket I would highly recommend to make someone captain that has a calm head on his shoulders and could hold his own as a player. Right now, the best choice would be Rahane.

Where is leggie who played in last Asia Cup and World T20 for you guys?

Don't take this in the wrong way my Indian brothers I mean well, but I unfortunately foresee a lot of infighting in the dressing room if Kohli is to be named captain for the national side in the long run. I am not criticizing him or anything but Kohli's man management and PR skills are sub standard as compared to Dhoni's, as a matter of fact they can't even be said in the same sentence; there is the gulf of skills between the two when it comes to handling the microphone or the media.

Believe me this might sound stupid but even with the drubbings you were receiving overseas all the while in 2010/11/12, your skipper kept sanity in the dressing room churning out good, TV worthy press conferences that didn't let the general morale of the team or the fans down to utter brink. As a result you guys notched up performances in CT 13 when you were essentially overseas - I know the formats are different and India has always been a gun ODI team but it was, in all fairness, overseas conditions.

I can relate to this situation because Wasim was also in a similar boat when he was handed the captaincy for Pakistan Cricket, he was the poster boy for our nation and at the height of his powers. Because he was such an aggressive captain and player himself he expected the same things from other players plus Wasim also had great work ethic and would put in the hard yards in both his batting and bowling. The minute he noticed someone slacking off during training in the squad he would throw a tantrum and that was the reason the famous 1996 infighting and revolt happened within the Pakistani cricket team. Waqar was made the ring leader by all opposing Wasim's captaincy and our two best bowlers ever, became bitter enemies for a good 1-2 years. All was resolved in 1998 but that revolt hurt Pakistan Cricket the most and I could see something similar with the likes of Kohli, Dhawan, Rehane, Vijay and Sharma.

Not all players are cut from the same cloth you know and some might even get a little fazed and upset with all the aggressive attitude being displayed in the press conference and on the field. Some might even try to emulate him in order to go with the general flow and that could in turn reduce their on field performance. Sub Continent teams are not seen as those who would start sledging and take up hostility as a necessary means to counter the banter thrown at us and for good reason. If Kohli tries to impose this culture on the team, it could backfire and result in infighting which would overall be bad for the team. If Kohli wants to be aggressor then he should keep the tantrums away from the Press Conference as this labels the whole team's mindset and players who are not inclined on sharing a verbal could end up being targeted by the opposing team (remember sledging is part of Aussie, NZ culture) its not for us hence this unnatural demeanor could actually hurt in the long run. For banter and sledging (the right kind, not abuse or anything) 1-2 guys can be more than enough in the team while keeping on field issues tucked away when they leave the pitch at the end of the day.

Another thing that Kohli lacks are proper man management skills. For someone who will (most likely) be made captain I believe he does not know how to take the best out of his players at crucial given times. There seems a lot of miss-communication between what Kohli wants from his players and what they are capable of doing - especially the fast bowlers. I think (personally) in his mind bowling 145K would automatically make a bowler in (Johno or Steyn) but what he fails to realize is that those same former bowlers, having equivalent pace are gifted in other skill sets of bowling fast i.e. swing and seam + pace variation and a good cricketing brain. Kohli sets them field by observing his opposing number which is good but his bowlers who, he thinks, are of the same level bowl differently and hence he faces disappointment more often than not.

There is a reason why Dhoni has achieved the No 1 Test Rank, WT20, WC and CT in his career and that is because he was excellent in the two facets discussed above. Nothing personal against Kohli or anything but for the betterment of India's future and their cricket I would highly recommend to make someone captain that has a calm head on his shoulders and could hold his own as a player. Right now, the best choice would be Rahane.

Too earlyy to judge Kohli on all these things

Ashwin is still one of the best bowlers for matches played in India. Not sure why his days will be numbered? He averages 24 in India and with a lot of home matches coming up, he will further strengthen his position in the team.

Where is leggie who played in last Asia Cup and World T20 for you guys?

No idea bro, I don't follow domestic Cricket much.

Ashwin is still one of the best bowlers for matches played in India. Not sure why his days will be numbered? He averages 24 in India and with a lot of home matches coming up, he will further strengthen his position in the team.

I know, I myself support Ashwin's place in the team, but there is a good chance that Kohli might not find Ashwin to be an attacking enough option in away Tests. He loves to show off his aggressiveness , and I won't be surprised if he makes this decision just to make a statement.

With Kohli the only thing I fear is his aggressive attitude might cost him key moments. We got a glimpse of that in Asia up. What India has done well under MS, is stay calm in key moments and not let the emotions get the better of you. Even during Ganguly's leadership India used to well but lose the key moments in ODI's. IIRC we lost a lot of K/O games under his leadership.

(This assessment is for ODI's, i.e if and when MS steps down and Kohli takes over.)

No idea bro, I don't follow domestic Cricket much.

I know, I myself support Ashwin's place in the team, but there is a good chance that Kohli might not find Ashwin to be an attacking enough option in away Tests. He loves to show off his aggressiveness , and I won't be surprised if he makes this decision just to make a statement.

So which Indian spinners have proved themselves to be attacking options outside Asia? What are their records? I can foresee a one or two leggies competing with Ashwin on Australian/SA tours, but leggies can fare much worse than Ashwin if they are not accurate.

Kohli likes Axar, so Ashwin is right to be worried. Ever since Axar's been playing well and especially since he had a good partnership with Kohli to beat Srilanka, Kohli trusts him.

I'll add in my 2 cents about Ashwin. I don't think it takes a special spinner to do well on Indian tracks, especially not the recent ones.

Drop Ashwin for good. He is useless even on indian pitches. Hope Kohli removes all the deadwood which were in the team because of Dhoni.

There is a reason why spinners are asked to do the hard yards in domestic cricket.

Guys like Narine, Mendis can be amazing in LOI but in Test cricket they couldn't buy a wicket (in Mendis's case after his mystery was sorted out). Sure they can work on their game and improve in Test cricket but the point is that they weren't able to get wickets JUST bowling normally like they did in LOI which got them so much success.

In test cricket, you have EARN wickets. Not get them. That's why lot of spinners who look world beaters in LOI don't cut it in tests.

Right now Axar has just started his first class with just 11 matches. Let's see how well he goes. If he does well overseas or in India, let him take away the spot of Ashwin. No issues.

What I don't get is that after a long time, we have got a bowler who ACTUALLY has brains which he uses to improve himself, work on his game, sort out his weakness, etc but many want him removed (talking in general...not just on PP).

As I said, Ashwin is walking on thin ice. If he fails at home, he's done. He is definitely a liability abroad. How can you even say he gave a decent performance outside SC? We all know it took him 9 abroad tests to start landing the ball in the right areas. I don't want to start all over reg him, you know what I think of him. The stats are to be seen. That said, I agree he did great in the last test and hope he gets a bagful in Sydney. If he does well, I would be really happy.

Reg passengers, yes sadly Pujara is getting a reputation of being a FTb. If Kohli feels, he should be dropped then why not? All I'm saying is players getting picked on merit. No more CSK lobby or Mumbai lobby or Karnataka lobby.

IMHO, he's not at all on thin ice reg home tests. We use 3 spinners at home. Min 2. Ashwin wil surely be in the top 2 no matter what he does. With his new accuracy, its very very very hard for him to not perform at home.

Overseas there is only one slot. There will be serious competition with Jaddu and Axar and Karn. There Ashwin has to work hard to maintain his spot.

Axar the darter in Tests?? we are playing cricket right, not a game of darts...

Axar in Indian test whites is a bigger disgrace than RJ in the whites

The public wants him bro.

Atleast Jaddu did the hard yards in domestic cricket.

Bro public to kehti hai Sehwag ko bhi le aao- aaya kya?

Axar is good enough for LOI's to keep tight overs and take a wicket through pressure. In tests he aint gonna create that pressure.

WWE Attitude era...... sorry I meant Shastri & Kohli's #AttitudeEra for team India.

I for one can't wait :snack:

Whatever happens it's not going to be boring :)

Won't be any different.

They will win at home and lose away, simple!

Like Steve Smith, Kohli, on early advice, has proven himself to be one of those players that will probably score runs and lead by example. But also like Smith, I think the jury is out on whether he can be an effective captain and man-manager. Getting the best out of each individual, making sure that cliques do not develop in the team, and synthesising all the disparate players in the side into a whole that is greater than the sum of the parts is the No1 job of any captain.

He needs to control his temper for one. It's fine to be the angry young man of the team when you're not in charge, but he needs to be able to manage his team and set a good example, particularly in the heat of battle. Because as captain you're really speaking for your team, your teammates and the country you represent. And given his reputation every opposition team will try and goad him to get him to lose his cool. It's fine to be defiant when you are scoring runs and the team is competing - the true test of statemanship in a captain is holding his team together when it is getting mullered.

People have looked back on the Adelaide Test as if it was some watershed moral victory for India, where a team of cavalier swashbucklers made a charge at the OZ and came within 40 runs of winning on the last day, with Kohli scoring 140-odd. It was a fantastic knock but in the cold light of day his team took 12 wickets for the match, had to rely on declarations from Clarke in both innings, struggled to dismiss the opposition captain who couldn't even move his feet properly, and at times looked unsure of whether to attack or defend with his field placings.

End of day I think that Kohli can take his team forward but he will have to be patient, particularly with his teammates who may not be as talented as he is.

Like Steve Smith, Kohli, on early advice, has proven himself to be one of those players that will probably score runs and lead by example. But also like Smith, I think the jury is out on whether he can be an effective captain and man-manager. Getting the best out of each individual, making sure that cliques do not develop in the team, and synthesising all the disparate players in the side into a whole that is greater than the sum of the parts is the No1 job of any captain.

He needs to control his temper for one. It's fine to be the angry young man of the team when you're not in charge, but he needs to be able to manage his team and set a good example, particularly in the heat of battle. Because as captain you're really speaking for your team, your teammates and the country you represent. And given his reputation every opposition team will try and goad him to get him to lose his cool. It's fine to be defiant when you are scoring runs and the team is competing - the true test of statemanship in a captain is holding his team together when it is getting mullered.

People have looked back on the Adelaide Test as if it was some watershed moral victory for India, where a team of cavalier swashbucklers made a charge at the OZ and came within 40 runs of winning on the last day, with Kohli scoring 140-odd. It was a fantastic knock but in the cold light of day his team took 12 wickets for the match, had to rely on declarations from Clarke in both innings, struggled to dismiss the opposition captain who couldn't even move his feet properly, and at times looked unsure of whether to attack or defend with his field placings.

End of day I think that Kohli can take his team forward but he will have to be patient, particularly with his teammates who may not be as talented as he is.

top post that!

All this talk about being agressive is fine when you have nothing to lose . Virats biggest challenge will be when India starts winning , to maintain that , if we reach the top to stay there ..thats where the presure on the captains mounts & starts impacting their won performances . Will he still continue to be agressive ?
Hes lucky to have inherited a decently settled team , which will mostly play at home for next 12-15 months . if he dosent change much with the core set of players then we should be fine & the results will start coming in . I think his captaincy is actually a lot like MSD .

Exactly !! +1

IMHO, he's not at all on thin ice reg home tests. We use 3 spinners at home. Min 2. Ashwin wil surely be in the top 2 no matter what he does. With his new accuracy, its very very very hard for him to not perform at home.

Overseas there is only one slot. There will be serious competition with Jaddu and Axar and Karn. There Ashwin has to work hard to maintain his spot.
I'm not talking about home tests and IMO one should not view home and away performances differently. In that way Rohit should also not be on thin ice) and continued playing.

What new found consistency bro? Give me a break. Guy bowled decent in only one match. AFTER 8 freaking away tests. IMO he is lucky to play in this series. But, as I said, he did well in MCG and hope this is a new beginning. Good luck to him. Still puzzled as to why isn't he able to turn the ball as much as Lyon ?

I'm not talking about home tests and IMO one should not view home and away performances differently. In that way Rohit should also not be on thin ice) and continued playing.

What new found consistency bro? Give me a break. Guy bowled decent in only one match. AFTER 8 freaking away tests. IMO he is lucky to play in this series. But, as I said, he did well in MCG and hope this is a new beginning. Good luck to him. Still puzzled as to why isn't he able to turn the ball as much as Lyon ?

1. Rohit Sharma is on thin ice cos he is NOT way better than others on Indian tracks. Ashwin is.

2. I got your point about home and away tests as a whole. As in Ashwin if he flops in home will have his career cut out. My answer to that is yes, I agree. But even if he flops in 1 series, he will get another series where he will do well. If he flops in 2 series at home, he deserves to be thrown out.

3. I never used words like new found consistency. Why you misinterpreting me bud? I meant Ashwin's biggest issue was accuracy and his new action allows him to land the ball properly and in rank turners at home, its HARD for him to not do well there. I didn't say his accuracy will help him overseas. For that he needs to do a lot more.

4. How much did Lyon turn in the 5th innings in MCG? He was harmless in the 5th innings. It was reverse swing and Aussie pacers who were threatening and looked like taking wickets.

I felt he was good from England tour.

The reason Ashwin doesn't turn the ball much overseas is because he doesn't use his body too much. That's an area he needs to work on. Its an issue with him.

1. Rohit Sharma is on thin ice cos he is NOT way better than others on Indian tracks. Ashwin is.

2. I got your point about home and away tests as a whole. As in Ashwin if he flops in home will have his career cut out. My answer to that is yes, I agree. But even if he flops in 1 series, he will get another series where he will do well. If he flops in 2 series at home, he deserves to be thrown out.

3. I never used words like new found consistency. Why you misinterpreting me bud? I meant Ashwin's biggest issue was accuracy and his new action allows him to land the ball properly and in rank turners at home, its HARD for him to not do well there. I didn't say his accuracy will help him overseas. For that he needs to do a lot more.

4. How much did Lyon turn in the 5th innings in MCG? He was harmless in the 5th innings. It was reverse swing and Aussie pacers who were threatening and looked like taking wickets.

Buddy, trust me no one would be more frustrated than me after seeing him fail like that. It's as if there is a denial to work hard and only use what comes naturally. Guy has so much potential.

Coming back, sorry I meant 'new found accuracy', but u get my point. I would still wait for a few more abroad matches before coming to a conclusion. Agreed Lyon didn't turn the ball in MCG but you know where I'm coming from. Yes, less body into action. As I said too lazy.

Having said all this, I reckon everyone including Ashwin would breathe easy now coz next year all tests are in SC. I think Ashwin escaped in this regard. Hope he performs at home well else there is no Dhoni anymore to select him in the Xl

To your point, reg ash being one of our best spinners at home, we don't know if he is the best spinner in India or not, coz no one has been given a chance. Heck I think even Bhajji would bowl better than Ashwin if he is given so many chances.

Not getting emotional reg Ashwin. Simply annoyed as a team India fan.

Buddy, trust me no one would be more frustrated than me after seeing him fail like that. It's as if there is a denial to work hard and only use what comes naturally. Guy has so much potential.

Coming back, sorry I meant 'new found accuracy', but u get my point. I would still wait for a few more abroad matches before coming to a conclusion. Agreed Lyon didn't turn the ball in MCG but you know where I'm coming from. Yes, less body into action. As I said too lazy.

Having said all this, I reckon everyone including Ashwin would breathe easy now coz next year all tests are in SC. I think Ashwin escaped in this regard. Hope he performs at home well else there is no Dhoni anymore to select him in the Xl

To your point, reg ash being one of our best spinners at home, we don't know if he is the best spinner in India or not, coz no one has been given a chance. Heck I think even Bhajji would bowl better than Ashwin if he is given so many chances.

Not getting emotional reg Ashwin. Simply annoyed as a team India fan.

1. Ashwin vs Bhajji happened during England home tour. Ashwin was not in form still Bhajji couldn't outbowl him. Bhajji was dropped for subsequent tests as Ashwin's batting saved him.

2. The battle again happened in Chennai against Aus. Cowan hit a 6 of Bhajji and he tried the SAME shot against Ashwin and got stumped. The ball spun (of course it was due to the pitch but I am talking about Ashwin vs Bhajji comparison). Chennai and Hyderabad - Bhajji played with Ashwin who clearly outbowled him. In the Aussie series, Ashwin was the best spinner who made a mark in every test and hence got the MOS award (Jaddu had better average though - he was definitely the best in a few innings but overall Ashwin was the best among the lot impact wise).

3. Ashwin doesn't get spin overseas mainly because he is NOT a natural spinner. He has flaws. He is not a gifted spinner. Yes laziness could be an isssue but its not a case of Ashwin simply using more body and getting more spin. The issue runs much more deeper. Let's see how he goes. He missed out Adelaide which would have told us how he is as a spinner overseas.

Lyon > Ashwin outside SC (Ashwin would do well to learn from Lyon's bowling).

I felt he was good from England tour.

The reason Ashwin doesn't turn the ball much overseas is because he doesn't use his body too much. That's an area he needs to work on. Its an issue with him.

Bang on.He doesnt use his body to put revs like Swann did or even Lyon is doing.Its all fingers.Until he does that there is no hope on less helpful tracks

Kohli likes Axar, so Ashwin is right to be worried. Ever since Axar's been playing well and especially since he had a good partnership with Kohli to beat Srilanka, Kohli trusts him.

same was said about Umesh but Kohli didnt play him in Adelaide despite him having a FAR better case

Bro public to kehti hai Sehwag ko bhi le aao- aaya kya?

Axar is good enough for LOI's to keep tight overs and take a wicket through pressure. In tests he aint gonna create that pressure.

and Ashwin is doing it?We know even Axar can be accurate and economical

Bang on.He doesnt use his body to put revs like Swann did or even Lyon is doing.Its all fingers.Until he does that there is no hope on less helpful tracks

He will figure something out. Maybe work on it or find something.

On less helpful tracks a spinner doing 2/60 or 3/100 with economical spells is a very good thing. Obviously not talking about ATG spinners.

If he had played on Adelaide, it would have given us a good picture.

The one thing Ashwin has is brains (something very rare in our bowlers).

Lyon is a superior spinner compared Ashwin outside SC but he couldn't outbowl him in MCG. In fact, impact wise, Ashwin outbowled him in that test despite having that issue. So let's see. If he doesn't do well in future, he will be right thrown out.

and Ashwin is doing it?We know even Axar can be accurate and economical

Actually Ashwin was creating pressure which was getting released at the other end.

1. Yes Smith destroyed him. Agreed. He is damn good at spin. Even in India he fought well. Ashwin should have gone around the wicket to counter him as there wasn't much turn in the pitch.

2. The ONLY times when Ashwin leaked runs or things looked easy was when Ashwin bowled 10-15 continuous over spells.

1. Ashwin vs Bhajji happened during England home tour. Ashwin was not in form still Bhajji couldn't outbowl him. Bhajji was dropped for subsequent tests as Ashwin's batting saved him.

2. The battle again happened in Chennai against Aus. Cowan hit a 6 of Bhajji and he tried the SAME shot against Ashwin and got stumped. The ball spun (of course it was due to the pitch but I am talking about Ashwin vs Bhajji comparison). Chennai and Hyderabad - Bhajji played with Ashwin who clearly outbowled him. In the Aussie series, Ashwin was the best spinner who made a mark in every test and hence got the MOS award (Jaddu had better average though - he was definitely the best in a few innings but overall Ashwin was the best among the lot impact wise).

3. Ashwin doesn't get spin overseas mainly because he is NOT a natural spinner. He has flaws. He is not a gifted spinner. Yes laziness could be an isssue but its not a case of Ashwin simply using more body and getting more spin. The issue runs much more deeper. Let's see how he goes. He missed out Adelaide which would have told us how he is as a spinner overseas.

Lyon > Ashwin outside SC (Ashwin would do well to learn from Lyon's bowling).
Not supporting Bhajji here, as I equally dislike him for his attitude. What I meant was Ashwin has been given way too many chances. Could have tried a different spinner (which is where I gave bhajjis example, but could be anyone).

I think we both agree Ash's acid test would be the SL and NZ series. I hope he does well.

IMO, he has outstayed his welcome (away performances) and survived purely coz of Dhoni. Good news is hard part is over. He needs to take a leaf out of Kohlis book and start working harder, esp on his fitness

Actually Ashwin was creating pressure which was getting released at the other end.

1. Yes Smith destroyed him. Agreed. He is damn good at spin. Even in India he fought well. Ashwin should have gone around the wicket to counter him as there wasn't much turn in the pitch.

2. The ONLY times when Ashwin leaked runs or things looked easy was when Ashwin bowled 10-15 continuous over spells.

He was creating pressure because of bowling economically,not because of bowling wicket taking deliveries himself.Thats not his job,specially as a 4th bowler.For 5th bowler its good enough.

On 4th day here he wasnt looking good right from ball one of second spell when he bowled wicket to wicket stuff and using wind to drift it.Kartik said on commentary that he wasnt looking to turn it.Even Dhoni was saying his line is wrong.

He will figure something out. Maybe work on it or find something.

On less helpful tracks a spinner doing 2/60 or 3/100 with economical spells is a very good thing. Obviously not talking about ATG spinners.

If he had played on Adelaide, it would have given us a good picture.

The one thing Ashwin has is brains (something very rare in our bowlers).

Lyon is a superior spinner compared Ashwin outside SC but he couldn't outbowl him in MCG. In fact, impact wise, Ashwin outbowled him in that test despite having that issue. So let's see. If he doesn't do well in future, he will be right thrown out.

I think it works against him.He over-complicates things way too much.Ofcourse having brain is good but keeping things simple is too.I think he should try to bowl like Lyon as much as possible.Same lines and lengths atleast

Not supporting Bhajji here, as I equally dislike him for his attitude. What I meant was Ashwin has been given way too many chances. Could have tried a different spinner (which is where I gave bhajjis example, but could be anyone).

I think we both agree Ash's acid test would be the SL and NZ series. I hope he does well.

IMO, he has outstayed his welcome (away performances) and survived purely coz of Dhoni. Good news is hard part is over. He needs to take a leaf out of Kohlis book and start working harder, esp on his fitness

I respectfully disagree with you here.

Let's look at his tests:

1. 3 Tests in Australia 2011-2012 - No finger spinner does that well there. Barring Lyon of course (home). Even Murali wasn't at his best here. Add to the fact that whenever Ashwin came on to bowl, the score would be a good one with well set batsmen. In Sydney he didn't pick up any wickets but did okayish in Adelaide and Melbourne (I am NOT saying he did satisfactorily....no no....but it was surely not garbage in the context).

2. Joberg - Screwed up. Deserves blame. Known as a spinners graveyard. 10 years back Kumble and warne took a 3 wicket haul there. But he should have taken atleast 1-2 wickets. Got dropped JUST befor the Durban spin track. :)

3. 2 tests in England (bowled 2 innings) - 0/35 and 3/75 odd. Avg 35. Bowled much better. No scoreboard pressure, pacers were all over the place (4th and 5th test). I felt he bowled decently.

4. 2 tests now in Aus. You saw him.

Where did he overstay his welcome?

3 tests in Aus and Joberg was his mistake.

In England, a lot of posters said he looked more threatening than Jaddu. With many lefties in England side, I always felt Ashwin would do something.

I think it works against him.He over-complicates things way too much.Ofcourse having brain is good but keeping things simple is too.I think he should try to bowl like Lyon as much as possible.Same lines and lengths atleast

In the past it was.

Right now, its working for him.

1. He has got 1 action for all formats. Which means when he switches formats (which he regularly does), his action won't get messed up. Technical errors won't crop up. England disaster was due to the run up technical glitch (of course England being better players of spin helped).

2. He would have realized that he take his place for granted. BEST THING EVER. Fear of losing a spot brings out the best in you. Either perform or perish.

Finally after getting ripped apart, he is using his brains well.

Plus his mental strength always helped in not lose his cool in crucial situations.

He was creating pressure because of bowling economically,not because of bowling wicket taking deliveries himself.Thats not his job,specially as a 4th bowler.For 5th bowler its good enough.

On 4th day here he wasnt looking good right from ball one of second spell when he bowled wicket to wicket stuff and using wind to drift it.Kartik said on commentary that he wasnt looking to turn it.Even Dhoni was saying his line is wrong.

In the 3rd test, he LITERALLY created 10-15 chances of Marsh.

He did look like picking his and Rogers wicket.

It was Smith he had issues with and he anchored the whole innings of Aus.

In MCG, he didn't create a lot of chances but that's the nature of the pitch. He really tried.

In the 3rd test, he LITERALLY created 10-15 chances of Marsh.

He did look like picking his and Rogers wicket.

It was Smith he had issues with and he anchored the whole innings of Aus.

In MCG, he didn't create a lot of chances but that's the nature of the pitch. He really tried.

Yeah that was a very good spell to Marsh.Not sure why he cant be consistent with that stuff.Got turn and bounce there

In MCG his line was wrong as I said,specially in 2nd innings.Same Marsh was hitting him easily,cant be just due to the pitch.Also bowled a lot of flatter deliveries and carrom balls to lefties which was unnecessary.He should have tried what worked at Gabba atleast and then switched to using drift etc if it didnt work imo

Yeah that was a very good spell to Marsh.Not sure why he cant be consistent with that stuff.Got turn and bounce there

In MCG his line was wrong as I said,specially in 2nd innings.Same Marsh was hitting him easily,cant be just due to the pitch.Also bowled a lot of flatter deliveries and carrom balls to lefties which was unnecessary.He should have tried what worked at Gabba atleast and then switched to using drift etc if it didnt work imo

1. Yeah 2nd test, 2nd innings last spell wasn't great. 1st spell was good. Got turn and bounce. Suddenly after tea, he bowled the same deliveries and it wasn't spinning. Same place. To Marsh later on, he could have bowled a better. Agreed.

2. The carrom balls were rare dude.

3. MCG for some reason never deteriorated. Ashwin pretty much bowled the same line he bowled in Gabba. I didn't find much difference.

See that's the thing. These drop in pitches are making it harder than it should. I was VERY concerned about his last spell in MCG 2nd innings. I mean it was not bad per se but he wasn't getting much purchase. So I was waiting for Lyon to bowl on the 5th day (to see what's the issue - whether its just Ashwin or not). And Lyon too faced the same issue. Hardly any purchase.

1. Yeah 2nd test, 2nd innings last spell wasn't great. 1st spell was good. Got turn and bounce. Suddenly after tea, he bowled the same deliveries and it wasn't spinning. Same place. To Marsh later on, he could have bowled a better. Agreed.

2. The carrom balls were rare dude.

3. MCG for some reason never deteriorated. Ashwin pretty much bowled the same line he bowled in Gabba. I didn't find much difference.

See that's the thing. These drop in pitches are making it harder than it should. I was VERY concerned about his last spell in MCG 2nd innings. I mean it was not bad per se but he wasn't getting much purchase. So I was waiting for Lyon to bowl on the 5th day (to see what's the issue - whether its just Ashwin or not). And Lyon too faced the same issue. Hardly any purchase.

Lyon hit the rough lot more and got spin on 5th day.Ofcourse didnt have wickets to show for it but he troubled batsmen on ocassions,specially Pujara

I respectfully disagree with you here.

Let's look at his tests:

1. 3 Tests in Australia 2011-2012 - No finger spinner does that well there. Barring Lyon of course (home). Even Murali wasn't at his best here. Add to the fact that whenever Ashwin came on to bowl, the score would be a good one with well set batsmen. In Sydney he didn't pick up any wickets but did okayish in Adelaide and Melbourne (I am NOT saying he did satisfactorily....no no....but it was surely not garbage in the context).

2. Joberg - Screwed up. Deserves blame. Known as a spinners graveyard. 10 years back Kumble and warne took a 3 wicket haul there. But he should have taken atleast 1-2 wickets. Got dropped JUST befor the Durban spin track. :)

3. 2 tests in England (bowled 2 innings) - 0/35 and 3/75 odd. Avg 35. Bowled much better. No scoreboard pressure, pacers were all over the place (4th and 5th test). I felt he bowled decently.

4. 2 tests now in Aus. You saw him.

Where did he overstay his welcome?

3 tests in Aus and Joberg was his mistake.

In England, a lot of posters said he looked more threatening than Jaddu. With many lefties in England side, I always felt Ashwin would do something.

No finger spinner does that well there. Barring Lyon of course (home). Rangana Herath says hi. Check his figures in Aus.

When you start defending someone series by series bud, surely there is something wrong. He might have bowled tight lines, and looked threatening in England and in MCG, but end of the day, his away stats cut a sorry figure and no one would present a series-by-series argument like how you are doing. End of the day, this is what he has done away from home and it is shambolic for your number 1 spinner to even do this. Ok, forget about the strike rate, look at his average!

Dhoni should take some blame for this, but I think Ashwin hardly gave him any confidence to set attacking fields abroad. That begs me to ask, then why pick Ashwin again and again? At least give him space to go back and sort stuff in Ranji and get his head straight, but no.

Ashwin.JPG