How the Coronavirus ruined my future plans!

Had our wedding all booked and set for Mid April and a house going through around the same time...corona put a end to both things ..Venue closed down and mortgage probably withdrawn ( still praying on this one it goes through 50 50 as yet). Now fiances family being a hesitant to proceed with the wedding as they see this as some sort of divine sign , , wedding most likely off but hope they come around but not looking too good. Feeling quite depressed still live at parents Home thought my life was set and future was looking bright...Feeling down in the dumps. Love the girl too..Just needed to vent

Was this part of Allah swt plans for me? this freak incident had to occur now ..been divorced before and approaching mid thirties my life was set ...Back to square one meeting someone from scratch..Back to taking little comments from married siblings and family members...everything back to square 1. why corona why why Just feeling Lost. See no point in anything . I understand perspectives and being grateful which I am and thank The almighty for everything But cant see why I am being subjected to this. Really wanted an child by now..Back to the rat race.....:(

Don’t worry about something that isn’t under your control. I don’t understand why your fiancée family would think this is some divine sign though. That’s a big red flag

Got emotionally manipulated in to a first marraige which caused an immense amount of stress and hard to divorce. girl is happy married now thankfully...Any single guys in thier mid thirties ? Hows life ......Acheieved everything I wanted to career wise ...excelled in 2 different vocations but see zero hapiness in financial gain..Just wanted to start a family and marry the girl I Love and be good and kind to her and be a nice father...Consumption of wild bats has ruined my plans and my future. Getting too old to meet someone now . God help me. Feeling on the brink. All i do is train and excersise which is getting old now . God help me please pray for me I'm feeling on the Brink

Love or arrange marriage?

Seems weird and tough to figure out this one.

Says he loves the girl which I don’t know can be the case in an arranged marriage scenario esp before marriage. Like what is the love based on lol. But then again I’ve seen many arranged marriage couples go out of their way to profess love on social media. I guess it’s cause they are feeling left out when compared to people who actually fell in love and married.

But if it was an actual love marriage then surely the girl would fight her parents because the reasoning here is just ridiculous. I know a couple which just cancelled their grand wedding plan and did a small service of 10-15 people at their home due to this. And you can always postpone.

Anyways. Corona has ruined many lives obviously but there’s really nothing we can do about that

Not a very emotional just need to vent . Feel on the brink trying to keep it together during family iftars playing Big happy families but starting to hate putting a mask of happiness on. Really struggling to keep it together. Hope I see the light

Honestly man sometimes we get dealt with a bad hand. We have everything planned and everything seems to be coming together but just when you thought it was all gonna be okay everything turns upside down. There is no point in stressing over situations we cant control. You will get through this and inshallah it will be okay. Times like this we just have to be grateful that we are alive and healthy.

Thanks for the input. Just trying to keep it together . will soon propose an alternative wedding arrangement..Howwver can feel and sense fiance slipping away ...Allah give her all the happiness shes a really good person. Sometimes destinies are not intertwined. Not persuing her too much apart from the odd call .

Love can develop through a strong bond in place of physical intimacy.

Pray for me. Not seeing any enjoyment in any activity and cant fall asleep. Usually a a very easy going person and now snapping at family members. Anyway thanks for listening

May I suggest that you try and convince people that a Nikah with a few people be done and the couple be allowed to proceed with their lives? A party can always be held later.

I have ...currently in limbo whilst they "decide" which is a bad sign in itself. Curtains are closing unfortunately but Pray they come around . Currently in a predicament of praying then thinking I'm praying to God but God knew the corona was happening so why pray....The only joy I get is after a hours hard excersies then fall back in to dark cloud of despair. Hope I see the light and Gods plans for me. Maybe I'll look back this time next year and be glad it never happened..which has happened before...But all these are just coping mechanisms and when I think about
our brains propensity to develop coping mechanisms it makes me even more depressed. Sometimes things really are better if they actually happened...Anyway I'm going of on a ramble . God help me Ameen

Had our wedding all booked and set for Mid April and a house going through around the same time...corona put a end to both things ..Venue closed down and mortgage probably withdrawn ( still praying on this one it goes through 50 50 as yet). Now fiances family being a hesitant to proceed with the wedding as they see this as some sort of divine sign , , wedding most likely off but hope they come around but not looking too good. Feeling quite depressed still live at parents Home thought my life was set and future was looking bright...Feeling down in the dumps. Love the girl too..Just needed to vent

You are not alone. Many have had to abandon so many plans. COVID-19 has also ruined many of my plans.

Just try your best and hope for the best. Trust God.

You got this brotha 💪 stay strong

People are not getting jobs either outta college

I have ...currently in limbo whilst they "decide" which is a bad sign in itself. Curtains are closing unfortunately but Pray they come around . Currently in a predicament of praying then thinking I'm praying to God but God knew the corona was happening so why pray....The only joy I get is after a hours hard excersies then fall back in to dark cloud of despair. Hope I see the light and Gods plans for me. Maybe I'll look back this time next year and be glad it never happened..which has happened before...But all these are just coping mechanisms and when I think about
our brains propensity to develop coping mechanisms it makes me even more depressed. Sometimes things really are better if they actually happened...Anyway I'm going of on a ramble . God help me Ameen

We have a similar predicament in our family and all have agreed that life cannot be held hostage by events like Coronavirus so Nikah will be done regardless and the couple will live together, even if a very small gathering is needed for whatever celebrations one wants to do within the laws of the land.

May ALLAH swt help you and family take the right decision in this situation.

We have a similar predicament in our family and all have agreed that life cannot be held hostage by events like Coronavirus so Nikah will be done regardless and the couple will live together, even if a very small gathering is needed for whatever celebrations one wants to do within the laws of the land.

May ALLAH swt help you and family take the right decision in this situation.

Ameen. appreciate the input brother. Trying to keep it together and be positive.

Says he loves the girl which I don’t know can be the case in an arranged marriage scenario esp before marriage. Like what is the love based on lol.

Same thing the love in a love marriage is based on: an illusion. Being in love is a state of mind which we superimpose on our idea of the person rather than the person. We don’t need to know the person. In fact, it’s easier when we don’t. Come to think of it, there need not even be a person.

Man! I am in a similar situation.
Left job to prepare for CAT (MBA entrance exam), gave interviews and got selected for a decent B-school.
Now because of this coronavirus situation I am unsure of joining college this year. Economy is expected to enter recession and spending lakhs for a MBA this year seems to be a foolish decision to me. Finding a job in this situation is also very difficult.
Don't know what to do. Corona has wasted atleast two years of my life.

Left job to prepare for CAT (MBA entrance exam), gave interviews and got selected for a decent B-school.
Now because of this coronavirus situation I am unsure of joining college this year. Economy is expected to enter recession and spending lakhs for a MBA this year seems to be a foolish decision to me. Finding a job in this situation is also very difficult.

Man that is tough...what can j say I would console you by reminding you of all the people who barely have anything to eat or a roof to sleep under...but I doubt that will work as we tend to only see things through own lense. Hope it works out for you.

? If your college starts this year then by next year or after things would be better, considering if you might take a loan interests rate are good.

Unless you are coming out of college this year , it should be ok..

Obv everyone has different situation but if you need to get an MBA at some point for sure then, I would say pursue it at this point if you’re not breaking the bank for the degree. Delaying doesn’t achieve much and no one cares when the MBA was conferred. If anything people maybe sympathetic to your year if graduation. Lot of people graduated in 2008 from top schools and times were very uncertain but they’re all doing fine now.

You May struggle for a summer internship but the economy for sure will have rebounded by your second year. If it hasn’t rebounded we are all screwed for sure anyway so nothing to lose.

Ideally the option would have been to defer for one year and Join next year (dunno if indian schools allow) but considering thats not
Possible this is an option to think about

There could be hope

Stormont’s leaders have announced a series of proposed lockdown relaxations in Northern Ireland.

The decisions agreed by the executive on Thursday, which will provisionally start from 8 June, include:

Small weddings and civil partnership ceremonies permitted outdoors, with no more than 10 people present
Outdoor sports courts, horse trainers and dog groomers can reopen
Hotels will be able to take advance bookings, for when they can reopen again
Large non-food retailers can reopen, including car showrooms, electrical shops and phone shops
The steps will only be introduced if the scientific evidence indicates that the virus continues to be suppressed.

Stormont has sought to co-ordinate with the Republic of Ireland to relax restrictions on common principles, although timings may differ.

You're in same situation as one of my cousins... His mom and siblings dont want wedding without all shoor sharaba smh. If i was him I wouldve flipped out.

May Allah help you and your family during these tough times. I am somewhat in a similar situation. My dad keeps pressing me to ask my wife and in laws about what the wedding plans for December are even though it is very difficult to predict what the future is like with this Covid 19 epidemic. My inlaws already officially politely got back to us 2 months ago when my dad was pressing them on the subject that because of the pandemic they are not in a position to make any decisions on the wedding functions in December given that the entire economy is on lock down.

I think its a pragmatic view and it is best to not put any money down on anything until the situation becomes extremely clear. However i applied for spousal immigration for my spouse 2 months ago and that usually takes 12 months to come through and the other problem is my mother's health is also declining. I keep pressing my parents to take it one day at a time for now and not press the in laws at this point in time when the entire world is stressed out over the pandemic.

About 250,000 weddings take place in the UK each year - adding an estimated £10bn to the economy.

Ceremonies this year have been devastated by coronavirus, but Northern Ireland will allow small outdoors weddings from Monday. There is no official word yet about the rest of the UK.

If yours was cancelled, or you are thinking about postponing, what are your rights?

Are weddings allowed at the moment?

Only in exceptional circumstances.

The prime minister banned weddings and christenings when lockdown started on 23 March, and that guidance is still in effect.

However, the government is looking into allowing small weddings to take place again in England. This may be as soon as June, but bigger celebrations are unlikely to be permitted until later on. Weddings in Wales and Scotland are also currently on hold.

Northern Ireland has allowed weddings to take place if one partner is terminally ill, and will allow outdoors weddings with 10 people present from 8 June.

Some English councils have been granted emergency powers to allow weddings where one partner is ill.

If your wedding cannot take place, or you feel it will be too different from the day you wanted, it is generally better to postpone rather than cancel it.

Check alternative dates with your venue as soon as possible, and then ask your suppliers if they would also be able to switch.

Couples ''do need to be understanding of what venues and suppliers are going through at the moment", says Henrietta Dunkley of Ellis Jones Solicitors. She specialises in dispute resolution, and is due to get married in August.

Many venues and suppliers are likely to have lost significant sums of money, so try to find a solution that works for everyone, she advises.

For example, if the wedding was on a Friday or Saturday or in peak season and the venue can't offer an equivalent date, it's generally reasonable to ask for a fee reduction, or an upgrade in the service you will receive.

What if I want to cancel?
If your ceremony was due while weddings were banned, you should generally be entitled to a full refund if you don't want to postpone.

The Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) says in most cases this would be if:

An exception is the costs a business has incurred on your behalf already, such as a wedding meal tasting or a dress fitting.

As a result, venues and suppliers may be entitled to keep all or part of your deposit, but consumer rights law states they must give you a breakdown of costs.

If your wedding is coming up and may technically be allowed to take place, that's where things become trickier.

Read the small print in your contract to check the rules on cancellation or date changes of the businesses you are using. And then ask them what they are prepared to offer.

Under consumer rights law, contract clauses that could be deemed unfair may be unenforceable, even if you previously agreed to them. Any ''non-refundable'' deposit can only have been a small percentage of the total price.

Can I claim on wedding insurance?
Most wedding insurance does not cover a ''government act", so it is unlikely to pay out if the lockdown affected your wedding.

A few wedding insurers are paying out now under some circumstances. For example, John Lewis suggests it will refund you if restrictions mean your wedding cannot be held and you can demonstrate you have tried to recoup the money from your venue and suppliers.
Many, if not all insurers are not selling new wedding policies, so this only covers existing agreements.

If not, you may have to register a claim with the administrator or can claim up to £30,000 per supplier from your credit card company for services not rendered, under section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act.

If you paid on debit card you may be able to secure a refund under the chargeback scheme.

Businesses are not allowed to profiteer from the pandemic, meaning they cannot just hike up their prices.

Ms Dunkley says some couples have found venues are charging them far more for a postponed wedding than if they tried to book the same date as a new customer. This is unlikely to be deemed reasonable.

However, she adds it is fair for an equivalent wedding in 2021 to cost slightly more, because of inflation - the rise in costs for goods and services over time - and to reflect an increase in supply costs.

The CMA has set up a taskforce to investigate harmful pricing practices during the pandemic. Consumers can fill in this form if they feel a business has treated them unfairly.

Some insurance policies will pay out if your supplier or venue goes bust.

[MENTION=30271]big_pappa_cricket99[/MENTION]

So how are things now? new rules come into place from 4th July - will they help?

The Queen's granddaughter, Princess Beatrice, married her Italian fiance Edoardo Mapelli Mozzi this morning, at a private ceremony in Windsor - two months after her original wedding was postponed.

But the newlyweds won't be the only couple celebrating today.

There's been some good news from Boris Johnson, who announced wedding receptions of up to 30 people would be allowed to take place in England from 1 August.

Currently, ceremonies can go ahead as long as social distancing is in place and there are no more than 30 people, but receptions are banned. Couples can only have receptions with six people outside or two households inside.

So, if you're in the inner circle of a bride and groom and will qualify as among their first 30 guests, a wedding this summer may still be on the cards.

Elsewhere in the UK, Northern Ireland has allowed outdoor weddings with 10 people present since early June. Wales and Scotland also now allow wedding ceremonies to take place, but social distancing must be observed, and big gatherings are not allowed.

There's more on the rules around weddings here. And if you're interested in how couples are feeling about their big day on a much smaller scale, check this out.

Nordic couple gets married in border ceremony

A Norwegian bride married her Swedish groom at a ceremony conducted at the border between their countries - with the guests standing on each side of the border, in line with Covid-19 restrictions.

The couple told the BBC that they couldn't wait any longer for the restrictions to be lifted. ''We did not want to change the date… all we wanted was to get married!'' they said.

And because Sweden has taken a much more relaxed approach to Covid-restrictions, neighbouring countries like Norway have not included it in the list of destinations that people can travel from.

So what the couple did was exchange their vows in the middle of a forest in Norway's south-eastern Holebekk region, right next to the Swedish border. They stood on one side of the border, separated by a white ribbon from some of their family and friends.

The bride, Camilla Oyjord, said she had suggested the idea as a joke, to which friends and families responded with enthusiasm.

''We wanted to become husband and wife! Love conquers all!'' she said.

The groom, Alexander Clern, said they didn't think anyone would come, as it was a long drive into the woods, but they were delighted by a big turnout of wedding guests.

And there were two uninvited guests as well - police officers who were there to make sure no one crossed the ribbon.

''The police officers asked politely if they could join in and watch. We off course said yes to that,'' the newlyweds added.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-news-from-elsewhere-53477021

I'm posting in this thread not because i need any sympathy. Its because i need to get it out, the toxicity which is building and growing inside me day by day.

I had moved to Gurgaon from Pune in last December, which was a costly affair- Transportation of goods, Finding a new home, brokerage, deposit money etc. Before that i was already in financial troubles because of a failed investment in a housing project. The builder took money from many and ran away leaving the project halfway. The matter is in court but you know how our judiciary system is. These things go for years.

Still somehow i managed it, in the hope of a fresh start. New job. Things started to come on track. And then this COVID happened. Starting from March my employer sent a notice to me and many others that since cash flow is not happening, they won't be able to provide salaries. We were put on Leave Without Pay. After all these months last month i was handed a termination letter without any explanation.

I was surviving on whatever little savings i had. But now situation has become so critical that i don't know how i'll be able to manage for next week's food. Loan emis, credit card debts, Rent everything is piling up. I asked my friends to help me out and couple of them did. But that was not enough. Because everyone is in mess and they need to take care of their families. I'm getting calls everyday at least 10 times to pay the rent and Emis.

Coming to another point. I am in a relationship for a long time. You know how hard is it for a Hindu in North India to convince your families for a inter-caste marriage. The girl whom i love didnt want go against her family. After 6 years of struggle we both finally managed to convince our parents if not the entire family. We were set to be married in April. That again postponed and since then someone (Tau, Fufa, Mausa) has been poking their noses in this matter, creating new problems, new doubts in the mind of our parents. I can't take a firm stand or do anything because I'm jobless and have no money now.

I don't know what to do. People in my circle say Anxiety, Depression ye sab kuchh nahi hota hai. Sab mann ka waham hai. Positive socho. How can anybody think positive in this situation. When you're surrounded by negative thoughts, there seems no way out of the situation. When suddenly you start sweating, unable to breathe properly, can't seem to feel your own hands and feet.

Sometimes it feels lets end this, end this miserable life. I even managed to buy poison but couldn't do it at last minute. I guess I'm a coward too.

Sorry for this long post. I doubt anybody will read it fully. But i needed to share what I'm going through, what I'm feeling. I can't do it with anybody i know in real life. Since My identity will be anonymous here so this seemed to be ideal place.

I'm posting in this thread not because i need any sympathy. Its because i need to get it out, the toxicity which is building and growing inside me day by day.

I had moved to Gurgaon from Pune in last December, which was a costly affair- Transportation of goods, Finding a new home, brokerage, deposit money etc. Before that i was already in financial troubles because of a failed investment in a housing project. The builder took money from many and ran away leaving the project halfway. The matter is in court but you know how our judiciary system is. These things go for years.

Still somehow i managed it, in the hope of a fresh start. New job. Things started to come on track. And then this COVID happened. Starting from March my employer sent a notice to me and many others that since cash flow is not happening, they won't be able to provide salaries. We were put on Leave Without Pay. After all these months last month i was handed a termination letter without any explanation.

I was surviving on whatever little savings i had. But now situation has become so critical that i don't know how i'll be able to manage for next week's food. Loan emis, credit card debts, Rent everything is piling up. I asked my friends to help me out and couple of them did. But that was not enough. Because everyone is in mess and they need to take care of their families. I'm getting calls everyday at least 10 times to pay the rent and Emis.

Coming to another point. I am in a relationship for a long time. You know how hard is it for a Hindu in North India to convince your families for a inter-caste marriage. The girl whom i love didnt want go against her family. After 6 years of struggle we both finally managed to convince our parents if not the entire family. We were set to be married in April. That again postponed and since then someone (Tau, Fufa, Mausa) has been poking their noses in this matter, creating new problems, new doubts in the mind of our parents. I can't take a firm stand or do anything because I'm jobless and have no money now.

I don't know what to do. People in my circle say Anxiety, Depression ye sab kuchh nahi hota hai. Sab mann ka waham hai. Positive socho. How can anybody think positive in this situation. When you're surrounded by negative thoughts, there seems no way out of the situation. When suddenly you start sweating, unable to breathe properly, can't seem to feel your own hands and feet.

Sometimes it feels lets end this, end this miserable life. I even managed to buy poison but couldn't do it at last minute. I guess I'm a coward too.

Very sorry to hear your story and how everything ruined by covid 19 pandemic. But, you have no choice but to be positive. I have gut feeling in some years from now, when you'll be in much better situation, you will be proud of yourself getting out of this mess by sheer determination. My friend you are in bad situation but so many people are in worst situation than you are. Best of luck, hang on, things will turn around for the better in matter of months, not years.

Sorry for this long post. I doubt anybody will read it fully. But i needed to share what I'm going through, what I'm feeling. I can't do it with anybody i know in real life. Since My identity will be anonymous here so this seemed to be ideal place.

Babu, who knows about these struggles that is going inside you except the people you wrote here?

Very sorry to hear your story and how everything ruined by covid 19 pandemic. But, you have no choice but to be positive. I have gut feeling in some years from now, when you'll be in much better situation, you will be proud of yourself getting out of this mess by sheer determination. My friend you are in bad situation but so many people are in worst situation than you are. Best of luck, hang on, things will turn around for the better in matter of months, not years.

Thanks for encouraging words. Doing my bit with all my capacity and hoping that things will turn around soon.

I read every word you wrote. I am sorry for what you are going through, and while i hope everything works out soon, i would like to point out that if it doesn't work out with the gf, that time heals all.

I had a gf who dumped me last December and i was devastated. I kept on thinking about her for months, and months, wallowing in self pity, thinking how i lost the "one". I even had dreams that we got back together. It was only last month that i have stopped thinking about her for the most part. So worse case scenario it does not work out with her, it will suck for a while but eventually you will move on.

No girl is worth considering suicide over.

I just wanted to tell you that I read your story and I know things will get better for you man. Just have faith and keep pushing you will get through this.

It is really sad and shocking how many lives have been ruined and how many people have been pushed to despondency and bankruptcy by this goddamned virus!

I'm sorry to hear your tales. But remember that the greatest assets of the human race, the ones that have ensured our survival through all the odds nature has thrown at us, are perseverance and patience.

Stay strong chaps! This too shall pass. And above all, don't forget that the night is darkest just before dawn. Cliched words, I know, but it is the least I can do to give you strength.

Whatever you do, don't ever consider taking your own life. It is way too precious to be thrown away in that fashion. Remember that there are people who need you, even if you don't see them.

Be strong and God bless you all.

Couples due to get married had hoped that from 1 August, receptions of up to 30 people would be allowed in England as the government started planning to ease restrictions.

But last week, due to an increase in cases, the government announced that receptions can still only be attended by a group of six people outside, or two households inside, meaning brides and grooms have to change or cancel their plans, again.

For Justin Dew and his fiancee, Kay, their day on 14 August will be a far cry from the 90-guest wedding they had originally planned.

The couple had cut the guest list to 30 but, following the latest announcement, have cancelled their reception completely.

However, they are going ahead with the ceremony.

"We thought about it and we've decided that the most important thing is to get married," says Justin, 43, from Essex.

"We we want something positive to come out of this so come hell or high water we'll be husband and wife on 14 August."

Bump !! Just wanted to bump this thread and give an update . Well almost exactly a year later (1 day off) I got married to a beautiful and faithful woman who lives much closer and is much more.conveniant for me . My house came through fine and not only that my financial situation , relationships with my father have never been better. God surely works in mysterious ways . Just wanted to remind everyone to be patient and believe in God's plans. Shukr al hamdullilah

I am looking back now almost exactly a year later and I am glad it never happened! this lady was a good lady but she had a child. I'm quietly relieved corona happened and the venue was cancelled, as I definitely wasn't ready to take on that situation. Life couldn't be better and if it takes a down turn then I am prepared. As surely there is wisdom in qll God's decisions. I've learnt this the hard way ! peace out

Hm, in the opening post you say you loved the girl, but you had no idea she already had a child?

Chalo, jou hou gaya sou hou gaya, harr cheez mein behtari hoti hai

Hm, in the opening post you say you loved the girl, but you had no idea she already had a child?

Chalo, jou hou gaya sou hou gaya, harr cheez mein behtari hoti hai

I Knew she had a child but she is a good lady regardless. But Glad it never happened