How to revive cricket after its death at the hands of India in Champions Trophy 2025 Final? What must be done?

Suleiman

Against all hope and support of the good hearted people of the world, evil has won (for now)

What must the true cricket fans do to restore balance to world cricket?

This is easily the lowest cricket has been. Instead of the gentleman’s game it’s just a marketing plot device for India and BCCI.

How can we break the shackles that have been imposed by BCCI on cricket?

Should Pakistan, South Africa, England, NZ, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Australia pool resources as the other 9 titans of cricket to restore balance and ensure India is taken care of? Or is it too late?

What if in the next tournament India isn’t the host but want to play all their games in Mumbai? Then what?

We want cricket restored, asap

This is easily the lowest cricket has been. Instead of the gentleman’s game it’s just a marketing plot device for India and BCCI.

You are right about this. Cricket has been a classy gentleman sport for majority of its existence. But, that is no longer the case. Things have changed over the past 10-15 years.

It has turned into a farcical sport thanks to BCCI's influence and petty antics.

In order to fix cricket, ICC needs to be independent again. ICC is currently effectively BCCICC. :inti

One question. Are you going to cremate cricket or bury cricket.

Burying is classier and more dignifying. Cremating is tasteless and bad for environment too (air pollutions). :inti

Anyway, cricket needs to be revived. Not buried or cremated.

Cricket needs to be rescued from the hands of BCCI/GOI.

By playing bilateral series in one stadium for the next 15 years. After learning that on the ground only spin bowling is effective during those 15 years, host an event there, and instead of playing 3 spinners, play 4 fast bowlers and 1 spinner.

Team loses, do a surgery of the team.

There is no point of whining. We were the ones that approved all of this ****. This time we cant even cry because we were the host and we agreed to this

Disband the ICC. Rest of the members create a new world governing body. 1 year of IPL with no foreign players, and India having no one to tour will put them back in line. BCCI will go bankrupt within a year, as revenue will plummet

Yes. ICC right now serves only 1 board and that board is BCCI.

So, what's the point of ICC? :inti

Cricket needs an independent governing body like FIFA.

Against all hope and support of the good hearted people of the world, evil has won (for now)

Should Pakistan, South Africa, England, NZ, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Australia pool resources as the other 9 titans of cricket to restore balance and ensure India is taken care of? Or is it too late?

What if in the next tournament India isn’t the host but want to play all their games in Mumbai? Then what?

India just hijacked cricket since the introduction of IPL in 2007

They now literally created their window for IPL.

Hence they proved that anybody can be bought with power of money.

The brutal reality apart from india there isn't a large fanbase or money anywhere for cricket in other countries.

Other sports have bigger following.

Pakistan could have a large fanbase but poverty, poor economy and deterioration in domestic cricket and lack of intl caliber players or household names of the past that led to people calling their sons waqar , wasim , imran , shoaib etc has ended that , our cricket has met the same fate as our hockey .

The brutal reality apart from india there isn't a large fanbase or money anywhere for cricket in other countries.

Other sports have bigger following.

Pakistan could have a large fanbase but poverty, poor economy and deterioration in domestic cricket and lack of intl caliber players or household names of the past that led to people calling their sons waqar , wasim , imran , shoaib etc has ended that , our cricket has met the same fate as our hockey .
Yup. As the Indian economy rises and India makes its way to being a rich country, the Indian team will keep getting better and better and eventually the main form of cricket will be IPL.

Swap Indian team with Pakistan team. Swap Indian administrators with Pakistan administrators. That is the shortest solution.

Rizwan and Babar opening for Bharat. Both will need security lol Indian fans won't be that patient.

Sadly I think cricket as we know it is only here for 5-10 years max.

It will dead and buried when the IPL season is extended into a 5-6 month thing with a few iconic series sprinkled in between (i.e. Ashes, BGT, T20 World Cups). And the only reason those will be played is for marketing purposes to advertise the talent in the IPL.

A lot of other leagues will fade away as the IPL schedule lengthens. They will simply pay more and take up more time rendering those other tournaments into domestic ones.

This is why it's better to enjoy what's left of the sport instead of complaining.

consolidate the cricket teams of Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh. so basically the current Bangladesh Team with Fakar Zaman. That will make the team more competitive. You can even call it the second best team in Asia by process of elimination.

Then have this team play a five match series against India at the team's home ground: Dhaka.

The competitive games that shall ensue will surely revive cricket in Pakistan.

Also let Mohammed Aamer play for Sri Lanka.

It will dead and buried when the IPL season is extended into a 5-6 month thing with a few iconic series sprinkled in between (i.e. Ashes, BGT, T20 World Cups). And the only reason those will be played is for marketing purposes to advertise the talent in the IPL.

A lot of other leagues will fade away as the IPL schedule lengthens. They will simply pay more and take up more time rendering those other tournaments into domestic ones.

This is why it's better to enjoy what's left of the sport instead of complaining.
wont fade away. become feeder leagues. like the nba g league.

Athers and Nasser hussain asked DK about how the following in India for CT. He had to say this "Right now everyone is focusing on IPL so CT has taken the back seat". It is true. There is a large group that don't consider internationals seriously like they consider IPL. Other day there was so much crowd in a WPL match. Around the same India was playing CT. Nobody watching that.

It makes sense.

They can do incredible ground-level marketing for IPL teams throughout the year. All of the matches are played in India and it's a high-quality production with lots of glamour plus local talent. You immediately attract not only cricket fans but the average Indian too.

The league's growth is just getting started.

I understand how neutrals feel but this is the reality of cricket now. The BCCI itself has little incentive to focus on the international game beyond marketing purposes.

Burying is classier and more dignifying. Cremating is tasteless and bad for environment too (air pollutions). :inti

Anyway, cricket needs to be revived. Not buried or cremated.

Cricket needs to be rescued from the hands of BCCI/GOI.

Cremating is a whole lot safer and actually environment as well as human friendly than burying....

u dont use up land that can be used for a thousand other purposes in the wake of land shortages everywhere and the ghastly reality of burial grounds themselves being turned up to create more spaces

The final truth is Death. only kids like u can do complan vs bournvita in deciding how to go after that

When Australia & England were powerfull boards before 2000 and influencing the icc no pakistan fan has any objections, It's because of India they are against us, we are the reason for generating revenue so we call the shots, we are influential on the field & off the field, pakistan with this cry baby attitude has already turned from bad to worse, nothing would change in the next decade or so, so keep on crying.

It makes sense.

They can do incredible ground-level marketing for IPL teams throughout the year. All of the matches are played in India and it's a high-quality production with lots of glamour plus local talent. You immediately attract not only cricket fans but the average Indian too.

The league's growth is just getting started.

I understand how neutrals feel but this is the reality of cricket now. The BCCI itself has little incentive to focus on the international game beyond marketing purposes.

Hotstar had over 90 crore viewers last night ...and sufficient to say most of them were Indians....

thats a mind boggling numbers... higher than populations of Pak , and all the other countries playing cricket involved....

so really funny to say theres no one watching ct here based on commentators word...

Hotstar had over 90 crore viewers last night ...and sufficient to say most of them were Indians....

thats a mind boggling numbers... higher than populations of Pak , and all the other countries playing cricket involved....

so really funny to say theres no one watching ct here based on commentators word...
Obviously final will be watched by everyone. At group stage many were watchign WPL on the ground. Even on social media there was more discussion about IPL.

When Australia & England were powerfull boards before 2000 and influencing the icc no pakistan fan has any objections, It's because of India they are against us, we are the reason for generating revenue so we call the shots, we are influential on the field & off the field, pakistan with this cry baby attitude has already turned from bad to worse, nothing would change in the next decade or so, so keep on crying.

Better to have Australia and England in charge than India. :inti

BCCI has caused cricket to become unappealing. They are guilty of overcommercialization and petty antics.

If it is already dead it cannot be revived. You can only mourn now.

BCCI has caused cricket to become unappealing. They are guilty of overcommercialization and petty antics.
Coming from a Pakistani is no surprise at all, nothing is going to change in the next decade or so, so you guys keep on crying

So when are you relinquishing Ex-Pakistans membership as a Test Playing nation that was given to you purely due to BCCI ... lol

And this is where jhaadu_shot bhai will leave us ( Thank me though !! ) 😁

Athers and Nasser hussain asked DK about how the following in India for CT. He had to say this "Right now everyone is focusing on IPL so CT has taken the back seat". It is true.

Is this really true @jnaveen1980 ? Everybody in India is focussing on IPL instead of CT ? I find that hard to believe especially since it's an ICC tournament this.

Indian fans who live in India, please confirm.

yaar..... diabetes ho jaayega.. itna meetha nahi :ROFLMAO:

Denial Anger Bargaining Depression Acceptance

Congratulations at the rapid progress some of you are making through the five stages of grief.

You are presently at Bargaining (‘How to revive cricket after its death’, etc).

Do not worry, because you shall soon progress to the mediocrity of complaining with Acceptance.

Pak as a nation has been in self destruct mode since it inception, as a nation it came in to existence in the name of Islam but never put any values in Islamic principles on a state Or governmental level and as a result we are close to destruction.

God only helps a nation when the followers of it really follows Tauheed and obey shariah law but in Pakistan most of the people are the followers of sufis and not following shariah at all and on a state level the shariah law was never there

When Saudi was strict in religion they got help by the god by way of discovering oil and now they are slowly getting detract from their path so let’s see what happens to them.

As for the non Muslim nations the more justice and equality in their society the more success it will get from the God.

Rules are simple for everyone.

Pak as a nation has been in self destruct mode since it inception, as a nation it came in to existence in the name of Islam but never put any values in Islamic principles on a state Or governmental level and as a result we are close to destruction.

God only helps a nation when the followers of it really follows Tauheed and obey shariah law but in Pakistan most of the people are the followers of sufis and not following shariah at all and on a state level the shariah law was never there

When Saudi was strict in religion they got help by the god by way of discovering oil and now they are slowly getting detract from their path so let’s see what happens to them.

As for the non Muslim nations the more justice and equality in their society the more success it will get from the God.

Full sharia is the only answer for nations like Pakistan and Bangladesh in all walks of life, including cricket .It's clear that Afghanistan are more talented than BD and PAK because the Taliban are uncompromising and implement Islamic law and etiquette without fail.

Faithless, hypocritical East and West Pakistanis need to emulate them if they want some success. :inti

First revive the Pakistan cricket as its becoming minnows level in all formats. :kp

Is this really true @jnaveen1980 ? Everybody in India is focussing on IPL instead of CT ? I find that hard to believe especially since it's an ICC tournament this.

Country as huge as India and kind of following cricket has, you can have three different tournaments and you will have people watching and attending the matches.

There are so many cricket grounds in India which get almost one international match per year. the market is is untapped.

I live in a tier 4 city, during cricket matches almost all the shop keepers, auto/cab drivers keep watching the match on mobile. India is such a huge market that there will always be people to watch any type of cricket match in India.

Full sharia is the only answer for nations like Pakistan and Bangladesh in all walks of life, including cricket .It's clear that Afghanistan are more talented than BD and PAK because the Taliban are uncompromising and implement Islamic law and etiquette without fail.

Faithless, hypocritical East and West Pakistanis need to emulate them if they want some success. :inti
Exactly! See the value of Afghan currency now it has surpassed even India.

Our subcontinental people need danda to stay on right path.

Ok muhammad.

Let's break this one down:
1. soodis follow religion.
2. allah gives oil in return.
3. oil destroyed soodi faith in allah.
4. pakistanis to see what happens to soodi now.

In your narrated cycle, didn't allah just push soodi away from faith? And what has this got to do with pakistanis reviving cricket?

God doesn't help a nation unless it helps itself for non muslim nations the requirements are simple that is equality and justice if they do that they will get success and for muslim nations they get addtional requirement of Shariah and Tawheed plus the justice and equality and if they do all of these things together then will get divine help from God which happens to many Muslim nations in the past with recent examples being Afg and Saudi.

Ok muhammad.

Let's break this one down:
1. soodis follow religion.
2. allah gives oil in return.
3. oil destroyed soodi faith in allah.
4. pakistanis to see what happens to soodi now.

In your narrated cycle, didn't allah just push soodi away from faith? And what has this got to do with pakistanis reviving cricket?
Allah can test you in any way he wants , he can test by giving you ample providence and he can test you by taking away your providence , it's in your hands if you stick to the faith or not in both conditions.

It's already mentioned in the ahadeeth that poor tribes from Saudi (bedon) who used to get salary by grazing the cattles will get super rich and will enter in competition regarding who will make the tallest building , that's exactly what is happening today.

Same applies to cricket if you follow Allah's commandments even in cricket that is Justice and equality then your cricket team will also get success , this laws applies to any nation irrespective of their religion and if you add Tawheed and Shariah as well then you get divine help and ample providence which you can use to strengthen your faith or you can use it to your own destruction.

and in the past when muslim rulers get detract from their religion then tataris conquered them and kill them left right and center and later when they applied God's law in to their system that is Tawheed , Shariah ,Justice and Equality then they become the next rulers of Islam ( They weren't even Muslims to begin with) So God laws applies to any one irrespective of their religion.

Denial Anger Bargaining Depression Acceptance

Congratulations at the rapid progress some of you are making through the five stages of grief.

You are presently at Bargaining (‘How to revive cricket after its death’, etc).

Do not worry, because you shall soon progress to the mediocrity of complaining with Acceptance.
Dawn se copy paste?

Hold on muhammad.

Where is this part written? Or your own personal directive?
It's common sense isn't? if you work hard as a nation and provides justice equality to your people then you will get success irrespective of your religion and if you add Tawheed and Shariah as well then you will get divine help as well that means double success , that's what happens in the past and current as well, my own views and experience from the history if you have read it.

I can’t speak for anyone else. I watched India in the ICC tournament: don’t care much for the IPL.

I can’t think of a situation where IPL would be preferred over a CT game that has India in it.

However, if you were to compare viewership of other (‘non India’) CT games with the IPL, I don’t know.

Maybe DK is saying because he himself is associated with IPL. I find it tough to believe that people in India these days takes IPL more seriously than internationals. If anything, the aura of IPL has diminished compared to what it was 10 years ago. I remember around 2010-11, when DLF IPL used to be on Set Max, there was a real buzz around it and we couldn't wait for 8PM. For example, when Pondulkar (Ponting + Tendulkar) was opening for MI, the hype was unreal. Now I don't see that type of passion. I maybe wrong as I don't live in India anymore but that is my take.

The five stages of grief, or the Kübler-Ross model, is a fifty years old concept.

I have no clue Dawn used it

I am aware of the model, Dawn had quoted it as well this morning for one of the articles on PCT fans coping on their team's performance, hence the query....

In other words, it would revert back to what it was in the 70's Isn't that what is being praised and glorified?

2 countries had the money and Veto power. 1 country had a professional domestic league. 1 country introduced pyjama cricket.

everyone else was there for table scraps

I urge CA, ECB , CSA and PCB take a stand against evil BCCI

Otherwise this sport would be dead by next decade

For sure.

Cricket is currently mostly good for Indian interests. They get all sorts of blatant perks. Other countries are getting ripped off.

:inti

In other words, it would revert back to what it was in the 70's Isn't that what is being praised and glorified?

2 countries had the money and Veto power. 1 country had a professional domestic league. 1 country introduced pyjama cricket.

everyone else was there for table scraps

At no point was county cricket greater than international cricket.

That's the IPL's comparison.

You are looking at it from the administrative perspective (i.e. who holds veto power), but I am looking at it from cricket as a whole. The entire structure will be finished within the next decade and Indians are well aware of the hold IPL has on the masses over there.

Once those salaries cross a certain threshold, no international team will be able to keep up with the IPL. Not even England and Australia. That's when it's game over and you will see much longer IPL seasons.

This is not about India vs the rest of the world. It's about league cricket vs international cricket. People who prefer international cricket are about to see things change dramatically in the coming years and need to be prepared for it mentally.

Yes, that includes Indian fans who love international cricket.

:facepalm
Which deeply religious nation is progressing well?? Only the cultures and nations that put into personal private domains progress well.

Religions into mainstream of the communities always leads to decay and stagnation. History is proof. Relgiions are meant to provide divine eternal message, Change goes against the very foundational thesis of any religion.

Pakistan was doing well, till it gave religion a giant Bear Hug under Zia and has never let go.

Honestly, you sound exactly like The MAGA cult of Donald Trump, the only difference is your skin color and religion.
Actually this is a common misconception. The rot started long before that when Bhutto was in power and gave in to the mullah's demands.

if you work hard as a nation and provides justice equality to your people then you will get success irrespective of your religion
Alrighty, per your assessment then, injia is a bastion of equality and hard work.

Hence the deserved success.

Good luck finding friends on PP now.

I can only speak for myself, and for me, cricket is a dead sport. It probably died a long time ago, but I only came to terms with it recently. The reality is that cricket has become an India-centric sport, and fans from other countries might be better off focusing on other sports or simply stepping away from cricket altogether. The others are just there to make up the numbers anyway. It would be one thing if your team was any good like NZ or South Africa, but when your side is so monumentally rubbish why would you waste time watching a sport that barely has a future to begin with? Crying about how you want things to be won't change anything. The reality of the situation is far different. You can either come to terms with it and move on, or keep torturing yourself.

I'm happy for Indian posters. They deserve to celebrate all the incredible success their team has had in the last couple of years. But personally speaking, the Pakistan team's performances in recent times combined with the rapid Indianization of this sport has completely killed my interest. I just don't care anymore.

Counter point, Pakistan cricket was best when liberal bad boys like imran and wasim and akhtar were playing.

As soon as radicalization of players started under Inzi etc the cricket suffered big time. Same happening under Rizwan.

At no point was county cricket greater than international cricket.

That's the IPL's comparison.

You are looking at it from the administrative perspective (i.e. who holds veto power), but I am looking at it from cricket as a whole. The entire structure will be finished within the next decade and Indians are well aware of the hold IPL has on the masses over there.

Once those salaries cross a certain threshold, no international team will be able to keep up with the IPL. Not even England and Australia. That's when it's game over and you will see much longer IPL seasons.

This is not about India vs the rest of the world. It's about league cricket vs international cricket. People who prefer international cricket are about to see things change dramatically in the coming years and need to be prepared for it mentally.

Yes, that includes Indian fans who love international cricket.
no sure about that. Many cricketers world around gravitated to county cricket to make money.

there was not much of international cricket anyway and definitely not during the county season

same thing with IPL. I was in a window where there literally no international cricket, until international cricket calendar stated getting croiwded to make as much money as possible from ... I'll let you guess which market

eg: Aus toured India for ~8 years while the ashes and series with WI was in full flow

I can only speak for myself, and for me, cricket is a dead sport. It probably died a long time ago, but I only came to terms with it recently. The reality is that cricket has become an India-centric sport, and fans from other countries might be better off focusing on other sports or simply stepping away from cricket altogether. The others are just there to make up the numbers anyway. It would be one thing if your team was any good like NZ or South Africa, but when your side is so monumentally rubbish why would you waste time watching a sport that barely has a future to begin with? Crying about how you want things to be won't change anything. The reality of the situation is far different. You can either come to terms with it and move on, or keep torturing yourself.

I'm happy for Indian posters. They deserve to celebrate all the incredible success their team has had in the last couple of years. But personally speaking, the Pakistan team's performances in recent times combined with the rapid Indianization of this sport has completely killed my interest. I just don't care anymore.
After cricket, what has Pakistan got left in sports?
I do relish Pakistani losses like Pakistanis enjoy Indian losses. but honestly to grow at global stage, we do need our neighborhood to grow and develop, Else we won't grow ourselves. Good rivals are needed to push each other.

Case in point is hockey, India is stuck in the mediocre Asian region and is not really uplift itself to Gold level domination because the all the best teams are in Europe and they keep improving each other with regular top quality play.

Before indianization, came islamization. Of cricket.

That triggered the collapse in affection we witness today. For many. In pakistan.

And no. cricket is still a much loved sport in aussieland, england, safrica, nzland and other places.

After cricket, what has Pakistan got left in sports?
I do relish Pakistani losses like Pakistanis enjoy Indian losses. but honestly to grow at global stage, we do need our neighborhood to grow and develop, Else we won't grow ourselves. Good rivals are needed to push each other.

Case in point is hockey, India is stuck in the mediocre Asian region and is not really uplift itself to Gold level domination because the all the best teams are in Europe and they keep improving each other with regular top quality play.
Pakistan have nothing left in sports. As for what you're saying. You have Australia. Enjoy that rivalry. If things get really bad for the sport there is no reason why down the line, the IPL can't become like what the AFL is in Australia or the NFL and MLB are in the US.

Re: field hockey, let's be honest the Europeans killed this sport long ago. Us Pakistanis and Indians used to have to most skillful players. While the Europeans entire game was based on speed and fitness. Shifting from grass turfs to astro turfs took all the skill out of the sport, and suddenly it was all about passing and speed, and the sport has never been the same ever since. I can see India has improved in hockey too but frankly, I don't see hockey even rising to those heights of the 70s, 80s (even 90s) ever again.

This is India's third ICC Champions Trophy title, having shared one with Sri Lanka in 2002 and securing the second under 'Captain Cool' ol' MS Dhoni in 2013. With this triumph, India became the most successful team in Champions Trophy history, surpassing Australia with three titles.

Before indianization, came islamization. Of cricket.

That triggered the collapse in affection we witness today. For many. In pakistan.
Did it really? I feel like the masses in this country are pretty Islamized themselves. There's no denying that it played a big part in destroying our cricket. But we were still a good team through the 2000s.

And no. cricket is still a much loved sport in aussieland, england, safrica, nzland and other places.

Australians excel at just about every sport they play. Over there Aussie Rules Football is number one.

NZ are rugby giants. That is the number one sport there.

In South Africa Football is by far the biggest and most popular sport. Rugby is probably two.

In England, football is everything. Cricket is only followed by rich white snobs and South Asians.

Maybe DK is saying because he himself is associated with IPL. I find it tough to believe that people in India these days takes IPL more seriously than internationals. If anything, the aura of IPL has diminished compared to what it was 10 years ago. I remember around 2010-11, when DLF IPL used to be on Set Max, there was a real buzz around it and we couldn't wait for 8PM. For example, when Pondulkar (Ponting + Tendulkar) was opening for MI, the hype was unreal. Now I don't see that type of passion. I maybe wrong as I don't live in India anymore but that is my take.
You don't know. CSK fans were rooting for NZ because CSK has a lot of NZ players Also they hate Rohit since he is associated with their arch rival MI.

This is India's third ICC Champions Trophy title, having shared one with Sri Lanka in 2002 and securing the second under 'Captain Cool' ol' MS Dhoni in 2013. With this triumph, India became the most successful team in Champions Trophy history, surpassing Australia with three titles.
India has won CT in three unique ways :ROFLMAO:
  1. Washed out final shared with SL
  2. Rain affected almost T20 final against England
  3. A full match finally against NZ

What's next? A win after a super over : :snack:

Apart from the indianization part i understand your position. If my team consistently does poorly i won't pay attention. Any time i decided to take a break India always bounced back with sweet wins like India got all out for 36 even though they took first innings lead. It hought how can you be all out for 36 runs no matter what. It turned me off completely. The completely turned around in next 3 mathes. India is somewhat like South Africa. In South Africa they have quotas that hurt them. In India superstars get elongated run unfairly over talented players. That is also sort of a quota system. So India has a lot of room for improvement. But i would be disappointed if my team consistently performs poorly and also there is no room for improvement.

You have to understand that this is not an overnight thing. For me, this has been going on since 2007. With only 2009 and 2017 being the outliers. But in alot of previous tournaments there was fight. So you could accept it and hope for something better next time. Since 2023, there hasn't even been any fight. Just embarrassing, gutless surrenders. At the end of the day, you can only take so much before you start switching off as a fan. Especially if you ever followed this sport passionately. Life is full of enough problems as it is, for cricket to rent so much needless space.

Should we have a rival cricket board to PCB to only promote badtameez and aggressive players? Fight has to be taken to India.

Or can we form a coalition of island countries like West Indies? Pakistan needs to form an alliance with Afghanistan and Sri Lanka with Bangladesh then we can take India down easily.

Maybe Australia and NZ to create an Oceania team.

AFBaNPak Cup should be introduced immediately to revive interest in cricket.

A triseries featuring Afghanistan Bangladesh and Pakistan.

Let's determine the pecking order