Hussain Talat at Islamabad United, from #5 to #8 under Misbah-ul-Haq

Every second of Misbah after the 2nd test match vs Australia has been detrimental to Pakistani cricket. Ridiculously unmerited role in the PSL, and a certified failure at working with youth.

We wanted Afridi out to finally move on from an overall negative impact player among the ranks, Misbah has attained the same distinguished position now, in any capacity.

Whether its him or Deano or whoever, the management this campaign for United couldn't be worse if they literally tried with all their heart.

Misbah should retire and focus on beard-grooming shops in Mianwali rather than playing cricket.

Every second of Misbah after the 2nd test match vs Australia has been detrimental to Pakistani cricket. Ridiculously unmerited role in the PSL, and a certified failure at working with youth.

We wanted Afridi out to finally move on from an overall negative impact player among the ranks, Misbah has attained the same distinguished position now, in any capacity.

Whether its him or Deano or whoever, the management this campaign for United couldn't be worse if they literally tried with all their heart.

No way it's Deano, because when RAEES was captaining, even then Deano was the coach. But Talat played in the top order.

It's clearly Misbah, the best coach after Imran.

Complete screw up from Misbah, nice way to destroy a youngsters confidence

Misbah's train of thought usually involves playing friends and his friends are usually 30+

No way it's Deano, because when RAEES was captaining, even then Deano was the coach. But Talat played in the top order.

It's clearly Misbah, the best coach after Imran.

Agree, Misbah clearly have a lot of influence there, Waqar loves him as well, so every one will listen to him and accept his gameplans

What is Misbah even doing in PSL? He should go to some jungle and do some tapasya under a banyan tree.

Throughout his career he has ensured that the confidence of youngsters is destroyed. He single handedly ruined Pakistan's LOI teams in his last 7 years.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hussain Talat made 48* off 34 balls batting at number 5. Since then he has batted at number 6 when he faced only 13 balls at the end of the innings and today he's been sent in at number 8 <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL2018</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IUvLQ?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IUvLQ</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/969630323586879489?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 2, 2018</a></blockquote>

Funny thing is Misbah actually feels vindicated sending Talat at #8 since he has struck a few boundaries now. To him, Talat is a finisher.

Finishers dont bat at 8. Which country or captain places their finishers at 8? Nobody.

Muddled thinking between Misbah, Dean Jones and the rest of the army of coaches and so-called experts.

Constant shuffling of the batting order and the team - they look all at sea.

Misbah will go whenever he wants to - his detractors can keep crying. Regarding Talat, it is a poor decision. I'm not going to defend it.

Finishers dont bat at 8. Which country or captain places their finishers at 8? Nobody.

It depends on match situation though. IU have been 2 down within first 3 overs multiple times now. So Faheem at #8 is justified. Not Talat though he should be higher.

Hussain Talat is tailer made for No.6 in the LOI team for Pakistan. Him coming in No.8 is awful. A more than capable player who can come in No.5 or No.6. Instead they push him No.8 yet got a solid 33* off 21 balls.

Talat and Fahim should be batting at 4 and 6. If the buddha had his way, they'd both be out of the team for inexperience.

Islamabad should play:

Farhan
Walton
Duminy
Talat
Shadab
Faheem
Russell
Amad
Gohar
Sami
Misbah

Islamabad should play:

Farhan
Walton
Duminy
Talat
Shadab
Faheem
Russell
Amad
Gohar
Sami
Misbah
Naa I like
Farhan
Walton
Duminy
Misbah
Talat
Asif
Faheem
Russell
Patel

You're lineup is far-fetched

Misbah and Asif need to be booted ASAP

Naa I like
Farhan
Walton
Duminy
Misbah
Talat
Asif
Faheem
Russell
Patel

You're lineup is far-fetched

Misbah and Asif need to be booted ASAP

I’m desperate for Shadab to get some batting time. He’s got infinite potential with both bat and ball.

8 - Talat
9 - Fahim
10- Shadab

meanwhile Misbah gets a nice 4 off 10 at #4

This is typical Misbah - no man in history has destroyed young Pakistani cricket talent like Misbah has

why doesn't this guy get lost already

I don't see why Farhan is so hyped? He is another tuk tuk...i checked his SR for t20 and it's 107...Him and Asif need to be dropped. First Farhan should focus on improving his SR before he can play for United. Not every decent ODI player is a decent t20 player. So far I've sees nothing in him that suggests he will win any matches for united.
My XI for United
Ronchi
Walton
JP
Talat
Misbah (Well we are stuck with him...hit boundaries or get out)
Faheem
Dre
Shadab
Sami
Raees
Badree

This is absolutely pathetic from Misbah to say the least. And then the owners / Dean say that we are looking to promote the youngsters :facepalm:

And as usual. The majority of the posters didnt watch the match and yet critiszing.

Due to run rate being less, the team managment employed a tactic where a hitter would come from 1 end while a steady player would come from the other end.

This is why he came in late last night

And as usual. The majority of the posters didnt watch the match and yet critiszing.

Due to run rate being less, the team managment employed a tactic where a hitter would come from 1 end while a steady player would come from the other end.

What shame that it happened throughout Misbah's career as a captain. Poor Misbah , every factor works against him always. He is forced to trample upon an upcoming batting talent.

who was the winning captain last night?

A pathetic batsman and even worse captain... can't wait to see him go. Allah Allah karne ki umar hai aur T20 khel rahay hain....

Even after being sent in at number 8, Hussian Talat played the best innings in the side. You can restrict and impede talent, but you can never stop it.

.Why will you play a good promising batsman at No 8 is beyond me....
Players like Samit patel ,Asif ali playing ahead of Talat is crimnal.Talat played well but I dont think it will change much.He will still come at No 8 in the next match thanks to Misbah captaincy.
What I feel is the biggest problem with Psl is that any laloo player who played has few internationals is given preference over upcoming talent.Samit patel,umar akmal,Sohaib,khurram,kamran akmaletc are examples.

I don't see why Farhan is so hyped? He is another tuk tuk...i checked his SR for t20 and it's 107...Him and Asif need to be dropped. First Farhan should focus on improving his SR before he can play for United. Not every decent ODI player is a decent t20 player. So far I've sees nothing in him that suggests he will win any matches for united.
My XI for United
Ronchi
Walton
JP
Talat
Misbah (Well we are stuck with him...hit boundaries or get out)
Faheem
Dre
Shadab
Sami
Raees
Badree

asif ali is needed.

On a pitch where there is alot of break, you need such wackers. He proved it last night

Did anybody noticed Misbah's reaction after Farhan took that catch ? This guy cannot see a youngster doing anything good.

He is destroying the careers of pak youngsters from the time he was captain of national team and now doing the same in psl. Sooner he leaves cricket better for pak.

Talat is best suited at number 4 position. But don't know why Misbah Chacha is not allowing him to bat higher.

If one of your best batsmen is batting at #8, the team management is doing something terribly wrong.

aagain, watch the match please and understand the context of it

Thanks, I watched the whole match very closely and have watched every match in PSL.

Please elaborate on why it was the correct decision for Misbah/Samit/Asif/Russell to bat ahead of Talat.

asif ali is needed.

On a pitch where there is alot of break, you need such wackers. He proved it last night

Asif only score 16 runs and most were lucky boundaries were he could have easily gotten out and he has completely failed in other two matches as well.

Yes that's why big hitter like misbah and dumminy we're batting together and then when misbah got out a massive hitter known as Patel came out to bat, so there goes your theory they wanted a hitter from one end. If that was the case why didn't they send fahim or Russel before samit. But unfortunately you will still defend him since it's your lifes mission.

Thanks, I watched the whole match very closely and have watched every match in PSL.

Please elaborate on why it was the correct decision for Misbah/Samit/Asif/Russell to bat ahead of Talat.

as i have said before, because the score was very low, the management decided to send hitters from one end, while sending in steady batsmen from the other end.

it was clear, that they wanted to unleash from one end as the batting was going down till no.10. So alots of options but needed to be used correctly.

While duminy stood, i think it was samit patel and asif ali who came, after whom RUssel followed. All three came in to wack it. Now what happened in hindsight is easy to judge and critisize, but im talking about the plan that was being employed.

If duminy was to departed earlier then tallat would had come earlier aswell.

Thing is, as the pitch was very very very bowling friendly, it was needed that a steady batsmen to be at one end at all time, while risk was needed to be taken from some tulay baaz to get the runrate up.

At the end, the plan worked well. Islamaabad at one time did not look to get above 100

as i have said before, because the score was very low, the management decided to send hitters from one end, while sending in steady batsmen from the other end.

it was clear, that they wanted to unleash from one end as the batting was going down till no.10. So alots of options but needed to be used correctly.

While duminy stood, i think it was samit patel and asif ali who came, after whom RUssel followed. All three came in to wack it. Now what happened in hindsight is easy to judge and critisize, but im talking about the plan that was being employed.

If duminy was to departed earlier then tallat would had come earlier aswell.

Thing is, as the pitch was very very very bowling friendly, it was needed that a steady batsmen to be at one end at all time, while risk was needed to be taken from some tulay baaz to get the runrate up.

At the end, the plan worked well. Islamaabad at one time did not look to get above 100

What happened to this hitter plan when Misbah came out to bat at #4? Is he a hitter?

Samit Patel the hitter has a SR in T20s that is barely higher than Talat's. In PSL 3, Patel SR = 94, Talat SR = 129.

Asif Ali has been batting like a tailender this season with a SR of 95.

IU were never in danger of being bowled out for <100 with Shadab batting at #10. In fact, wasting time with Misbah etc. ultimately meant that the batsmen who are in better form ended up facing lesser balls, restricting their total. Talat and Faheem are their two top-scorers and are batting at #8 and #9. :))

Misbah Out!

Hes always been someone that buries exciting batting prospects or makes them so dull and useless!

Hes the HHH now of Pakistan cricket

Misbah has been doing this his whole career, playing TTF's and his old friends ahead of youngsters, don't see why people are surprised. I like Misbah, but his fans blindly support everything he does and it's pathetic.

What happened to this hitter plan when Misbah came out to bat at #4? Is he a hitter?

Samit Patel the hitter has a SR in T20s that is barely higher than Talat's. In PSL 3, Patel SR = 94, Talat SR = 129.

Asif Ali has been batting like a tailender this season with a SR of 95.

IU were never in danger of being bowled out for <100 with Shadab batting at #10. In fact, wasting time with Misbah etc. ultimately meant that the batsmen who are in better form ended up facing lesser balls, restricting their total. Talat and Faheem are their two top-scorers and are batting at #8 and #9. :))

the situation wasn't bad when misbah came out.

after misbah and duminy stayed in and narine bowled out his overs. situation got worsen.

Stop posting half cooked stats.

Hussain Talat might have a higher SR, but thats because he bats steadily then unleashes. He ain't a pinch hitting type of batsmen.

Asif ali and Samit patel were sent in as hitters.

Like i said before, and have to repeat it again, one end was to be served by a batsmen who could be steady while the other end was to be covered by a hitter.

No words can describe this.

Best way to destroy the confidence of a youngster, especially after a match winning knock.

That's Misbah's specialty , for him, country and club come only second to himself.

Remember he batted Haris Sohail at number 7 in his debut series. And huge LOL at the people trying to defend this with lame logic of hitter from one end and tuk tuk from other. These people will defend Misbah no matter what.

after misbah and duminy stayed in and narine bowled out his overs. situation got worsen.

Hussain Talat might have a higher SR, but thats because he bats steadily then unleashes. He ain't a pinch hitting type of batsmen.

Like i said before, and have to repeat it again, one end was to be served by a batsmen who could be steady while the other end was to be covered by a hitter.

Couldn't he have batted ahead of misbah since talat is way better then him or they the the 10 ball 4 from him?

I just told you that Samit Patel is not a hitter. He batted at #5. His overall T20 SR is 125 and PSL SR is 94. Those aren't the stats of a hitter. If they wanted to send a hitter at #5, they could have sent Faheem or Russell who are the best hitters in the team, but they didn't.

Yeah, Hussain Talat isn't a pinch-hitting batsman, he's a proper batsman who should be batting at #4 instead of Misbah who starts slowly and gets out. Like I said before the tournament started, I have a lot of respect for the guy and wish he would have left cricket in a better way rather than becoming a burden on the team. After his BPL stint, I'm sure he himself realised that he doesn't really have anything left in the tank.

I just told you that Samit Patel is not a hitter. He batted at #5. His overall T20 SR is 125 and PSL SR is 94. Those aren't the stats of a hitter. If they wanted to send a hitter at #5, they could have sent Faheem or Russell who are the best hitters in the team, but they didn't.

Yeah, Hussain Talat isn't a pinch-hitting batsman, he's a proper batsman who should be batting at #4 instead of Misbah who starts slowly and gets out. Like I said before the tournament started, I have a lot of respect for the guy and wish he would have left cricket in a better way rather than becoming a burden on the team. After his BPL stint, I'm sure he himself realised that he doesn't really have anything left in the tank.

Guy is not a burden and could win matches for this team as captain like he did yesterday :)

Misbah is trying to hand Talat the book he gave maqsood and asad shafiq who are still finding their feets in int'l cricket after years of experience...

Good to see Misbah’s spokesperson back in action, just like old times [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] :misbah

Misbah needs to go, he is the reason pakistan didn't find good replacement for the future.

If its upto misbah he will still be playing ajmal, zulfi chachu. MISBAH dented pakistan cricket in the long run.

dont try to run away from facts please

See bro, i really think you are a terrific poster but when it comes to Misbah, you seem to put a blindfold on. I know you like what he has achieved against all odds like background and age. He is an inspiration blah blah All fine. The fact is, if Misbah was India's captain, he would make Virat kohli bat at 8 and you would be defending him because you'd think it is some kinda of working Strategy of Misbah.

hard and cold fact in light of Misbah's LOI career is that he doesnt fave faith in any youngster if he is a batsman. It is NOT any strategy. It is NOT a coincidence. It is NOT an exception. It is a norm with Misbah. Always has been and always will be.

Misbah needs to be kept away from Pakistan's LOI side in every single capacity if Pakistan is to make any progress there. He needs to be kept away from youngsters too because he will make them bat at number 12 if he will be allowed to.

His cancerous attitude is the single biggest reason why Pakistan plummeted to number 9 in the ODI rankings. That was not a coincidence either. Misbah is only good for slow paced cricket and hence his team reached number 1 in tests by playing tortoise like cricket in UAE over the years.

Misbah should not be playing PSL. He's unnecessarily occupying an important batting spot.

McCullum playing Salman at 3 Vs Misbah playing Talat at 8

One is a foreign player.

One was a national captain.

Despite this McCULLUM promoting the local talent whereas Misbah playing future upcoming all rounders Talat, Faheem and Shadab at 8, 9 and 10.

Hussain Talat should definitely be batting at four. Misbah needs to drop to five. I am a Misbah fan but this move was really pretty shocking.

Another unrelated shocker from Pakistani 'think-tank' btw was Anwar Ali bowling that final over ahead of Nawaz in game vs Zalmi.

Two massive shockers from the Pak cricket brain trust...

One is a foreign player.

One was a national captain.

Despite this McCULLUM promoting the local talent whereas Misbah playing future upcoming all rounders Talat, Faheem and Shadab at 8, 9 and 10.

McCullum is not a selfish man, that's the difference.

Atleast Talat is getting game time under Misbah and is being given a platform to get noticed. Same can't be said about young batsmen in other teams. Misbah played 4 youngsters in the last match: Farhan, Faheem, Shadab and Talat. What more can the guy do

He punishes the youngsters so much that Shadab Khan and Rumman Raees both made it to the Pakistan team while he was Islamabad United captain. Sharjeel Khan got back into the Pakistan team after a two year absence thanks to his PSL performances under Misbah.

How many PSL captains have brought more players through to the Pakistan team than that? Misbah hates the youngsters so much that every other team must have helped at least four or five players make their Pakistan debut right?

That's without looking at other players he captained in domestic cricket that ended up playing for Pakistan, of which there are plenty.

Of course, let's not allow facts to get in the way of this nonsense.

He punishes the youngsters so much that Shadab Khan and Rumman Raees both made it to the Pakistan team while he was Islamabad United captain. Sharjeel Khan got back into the Pakistan team after a two year absence thanks to his PSL performances under Misbah.

How many PSL captains have brought more players through to the Pakistan team than that? Misbah hates the youngsters so much that every other team must have helped at least four or five players make their Pakistan debut right?

That's without looking at other players he captained in domestic cricket that ended up playing for Pakistan, of which there are plenty.

Of course, let's not allow facts to get in the way of this nonsense.

Haters just need an excuse to have a dig at him, will miss no opportunity

There’s no excuse for dropping Talat at #8 after his innings that helped win a match for Iu the other day.

Did you follow the match? The match situation did not allow for a pinch hitter to come in earlier. IU was struggling to play out the overs - I think it was a conscious decision to hold him and Faheem back for the latter overs

McCullum is not a selfish man, that's the difference.

True, he's so big-hearted that he makes sure Lahore finish bottom of the table each year so the youngsters don't have to feel the pressure of knockout games.

:afridi

There’s no excuse for dropping Talat at #8 after his innings that helped win a match for Iu the other day.

Yes there is, they won the match.

Besides, is anyone gonna try and answer my question? How many PSL teams have sent more youngsters to the Pakistan team than Islamabad United? I'm sure you can name four players for each team that made their Pakistan debut thanks to PSL performances right?

True, he's so big-hearted that he makes sure Lahore finish bottom of the table each year so the youngsters don't have to feel the pressure of knockout games.

Besides, is anyone gonna try and answer my question? How many PSL teams have sent more youngsters to the Pakistan team than Islamabad United? I'm sure you can name four players for each team that made their Pakistan debut thanks to PSL performances right?
I agree that IU has sent more youngsters into international cricket, that’s why I support them. (You can look at the “ which team are you supporting in this year’s PSL” thread) They won because Yasir Shah dropped the match on the last ball of the 1st innings if you want me to be honest. Winning a match does not cover the obvious flaws. Talat came in at #4 under Raees and than #8 under Misbah. Misbah himself should not have been selected these two past years for the PSL.

What kind of logic is this?

Sharjeel was already a known name. He scored a 50 on t20i debut and a 50 under Misbah's captaincy on his ODI debut only to be dropped after a few bad games for - ba dam tsssss - TTFs. He revived his career himself by playing some great knocks in PSL 1. Obviously he was an opener so it helped his cause because he could not have been slotted anywhere else.

Rumman was actually a known name due to his domestic performances. Shadab and Rumman made it to the team as bowlers and Misbah's track record is decent in giving chances to bowlers. Its the young batsmen that he has no faith in.

No words can describe this.

Best way to destroy the confidence of a youngster, especially after a match winning knock.

This same MISBAH : WAQAR combo did exactly the same to MAQSOOD after he won a intl match against SRL by chasing the score making 80+ coming in at 6 got pushed further down to 7

Glad a sane voice finally comes

Did you follow the match? The match situation did not allow for a pinch hitter to come in earlier. IU was struggling to play out the overs - I think it was a conscious decision to hold him and Faheem back for the latter overs

Guys, please make up your mind. Earlier [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] was saying that IU was sending pinch hitters up the order as a tactic. So what exactly is the truth here? :13:

And Talat is not a pinch-hitter, he averages 43 in List A cricket. :facepalm:

They beat the worst team of the tournament in a Super Over. Congrats.

The point was that Talat is in good form + is their highest scorer so why is he batting at #8? Please don't say he's a pinch-hitter. :afridi

Regarding others, sure, everyone gives IU and Misbah credit for giving Shadab etc. opportunities. That doesn't mean that he's immune to criticism for other decisions.

Guys, please make up your mind. Earlier [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] was saying that IU was sending pinch hitters up the order as a tactic. So what exactly is the truth here? :13:

We're different posters with different opinions - the truth is in front of you - it was a conscious effort to hold back the pinch hitters. Not sure why Talat's 'treatment' is being singled out when the likes of Russell and Faheem were also lower in the order. Heck even Asif Ali was demoted to 5th

And Talat is not a pinch-hitter, he averages 43 in List A cricket. :facepalm:

It was in reference to his role in the team, not his ability. Plus that average might be inflated due to not outs as he usually bats in the mid-lower order.

Also kindly fix thread title as he hasn't batted at #4 yet in the tournament. The previous match he was at 6 :shadab

Hussain Talat needs to bat in the Top 4 and him batting at 8 was a travesty. However I just don't quite understand why everything ranging from the Zimbabwe's financial crisis to people putting ketchup in haleem is Misbah's fault. Misbah retired from ODI cricket 3 years ago, yet every single loss in ODI cricket is somehow Misbah's fault. That his legacy is ruining our cricket.

We as a nation have an extremely external locus of control which is reflected in our political landscape with respect to foreign policy as well as in our cricket and society in general. We always require a scapegoat in order to absolve ourselves of blame and in cricket we have found the "unicorn of scapegoats" in Misbah-ul-Haq ever since that 2007 T20 world cup final.

Islamabad United has given the most chances to youngsters in the PSL but somehow that doesn't go in the credit of Misbah but Talat playing at #8 in one match has resulted in total destruction of Pakistani cricket by Misbah.

Hussain Talat needs to bat in the Top 4 and him batting at 8 was a travesty. However I just don't quite understand why everything ranging from the Zimbabwe's financial crisis to people putting ketchup in haleem is Misbah's fault. Misbah retired from ODI cricket 3 years ago, yet every single loss in ODI cricket is somehow Misbah's fault. That his legacy is ruining our cricket.

We as a nation have an extremely external locus of control which is reflected in our political landscape with respect to foreign policy as well as in our cricket and society in general. We always require a scapegoat in order to absolve ourselves of blame and in cricket we have found the "unicorn of scapegoats" in Misbah-ul-Haq ever since that 2007 T20 world cup final.

Islamabad United has given the most chances to youngsters in the PSL but somehow that doesn't go in the credit of Misbah but Talat playing at #8 in one match has resulted in total destruction of Pakistani cricket by Misbah.
Pakistan's worst phase as a ODI team co-incided with Misbah's captaincy. Not a co-incidence is it? Afridi and Misbah effectively destroyed our ODI cricket.