"I am hopeful of making a comeback if I get enough support from senior players": Umar Akmal

You’ve got to hand it to people who can’t quite read cricket and claim Umar did nothing in the PSL…

Umar Akmal, average 23.75 @186 sr. 8 sixes in 51 bf (6.3 balls per six)

Iftikhar Ahmed, average 23.62 @126 sr. 10 sixes in 149 bf (15 balls per six)

Iftikhar is our power hitter on these stats

I think you will find that most people will suggest that neither should be in the Pakistan T20 squad.

But then who for that position?

You can always add safety first options like Saud Shaqeel and Kamran Ghulam in those positions

And hope they bat like Miller and Tim David

yar Kamran tum apnay baaray rou leitay k give me a chance toh bhi shayad hum dar-guzar kr deitay, pr apke majnu malang bhai ki zero performances pr ap kis mou se mintain tarlay kr rahay ho, khuda ka waasta hai apni izzat toh barkarar rakho and stop begging for an unperforming player who also is your brother.

Its times like this where you appreciate the selection committee or the captain... 🤭

I think Umar Akmal deserves one last go. I think he showed enough in the recent domestic one day tournament and PSL to be given a last hurray at position 5 or 6. Pakistan desperately need a no.5 who can finish an innings and I do believe he can do a decent job at the World Cup given his past pedigree

Sadly this is what weve come to expect from Kamran and his brother

Very little performance and more unprofessionalism and continuous crying

These guys have made themselves into a joke which isnt very funny

And then they ask why they arent in the pakistan team

You’ve got to hand it to people who can’t quite read cricket and claim Umar did nothing in the PSL…

Umar Akmal, average 23.75 @186 sr. 8 sixes in 51 bf (6.3 balls per six)

Iftikhar Ahmed, average 23.62 @126 sr. 10 sixes in 149 bf (15 balls per six)

Iftikhar is our power hitter on these stats

Umar wanted to bat higher even though he was doing very well in the #6 position only because he thought he was coming too low and didn't get a chance to get 100s. He should've taken Misbah's advice to become the finisher we always needed.

I think right at this moment, he will happily do this job for the country without any fuss.

So one does not need actual cricketing merit and performances to get back in the side, but senior player support? I see.

So basically in Pakistan cricket it's all about support from others rather than performances.

Sad times indeed.

So basically in Pakistan cricket it's all about support from others rather than performances.

Sad times indeed.

There is an element of truth in this. Rizwan’s career was made due to the OTT support he received by Misbah ul Haq

Rizwan was actually the best keeper batsman in the land and still is

Its people like umar and kamran who rely on connections rsther than performance and which saj was alluding to

Rizwan was actually the best keeper batsman in the land and still is

Its people like umar and kamran who rely on connections rsther than performance and which saj was alluding to

Matter of perspective

Rizwan doesn’t have 1/5th of the ability, bottle and talent Umar has. Believe that.

Matter of perspective

Rizwan doesn’t have 1/5th of the ability, bottle and talent Umar has. Believe that.

Yes thats why nobody giving akmal any time and rizwan is one of the most important characters in the pakistan team

Akmals very talented i ll give u that.

Unfortunately that doesnt matter one jot when you dont have the correct temperament or mindset

As far as rizwan is concerned hes so above these akmals its not even a contest

Matter of perspective

Yes thats why nobody giving akmal any time and rizwan is one of the most important characters in the pakistan team

Unfortunately that doesnt matter one jot when you dont have the correct temperament or mindset

Can we move on now? Don't see any more that can be said now that both of you have made your positions clear!

Matter of perspective

Wow! You've lost all credibility with a statement like that. Rizwan is one of the top wicketkeeper batsman in the world and Umar Akmal to be fair to him is one of the better batsman in his house, if you ensure the house is empty.

Rizwan is the most important character how?

Explain

Guys, this thread is about Umar Akmal.

If you want to discuss Mohammad Rizwan, there are plenty of threads about him.

Umar Akmal speaking to the press:

"All performers get their deserving chance in the Pakistan team. I'll keep working hard, and if God wills, I will make a comeback in the national team,"

"My best wishes to the national team's players who are working really hard in the training camp. Players are giving their 100 percent in this extreme heat,"

"I am also equally training hard at the Salman Qadir Cricket Academy, and my focus is on my fitness as well since it is very important along with performance."

"I will give my 100 percent if I'm selected for Lanka Premier League."

Umar Akmal after meeting Nawaz Sharif in London

"I am thankful to him [Nawaz Sharif] for taking out time for me. It's an honour for me. I have made a request to him, I am hopeful that my request would be taken up," said the veteran cricketer.

I rather pick NS than UA.

Fahim ashraf meeting with NS set very bad precedent .His surprised inclusion in odi squad is quite controversial and seems forced by NS

Seems umar akmal also wants same" Sifarish".Next in the line may be ahmed shehzad

If in doubt, speak to a politician.

It has worked for others and might work for Umar Akmal.

Of late Pakistan team selection seems to be apolitical. Can not think of the last pick that was politically motivated.

At least give him credit for speaking to the right person - the one who makes the decisions! :)

Fahim ashraf meeting with NS set very bad precedent .His surprised inclusion in odi squad is quite controversial and seems forced by NS

Seems umar akmal also wants same" Sifarish".Next in the line may be ahmed shehzad
Umm no

Faheem ashraf probably met nawaz to get work done in his villiage as faheem is close to his roots.

Faheem gets preference from inzamam ul haq and misbah ul haq which is why he gets selected

Fakhar Zaman (fauj)
Mohammad Haris (wk) (PTI?)
Babar Azam (c) (PMLN?)
Tayyab Tahir (PPP?)
Salman Ali Agha (PMLN?)
Umar Akmal (PMLN)
Mohammad Nawaz (PMLN?)
Usama Mir (PTI?)
Shaheen Afridi (PTI)
Haris Rauf (PMLN)
Naseem Shah (PTI?)

arguably the most balanced team for the WC.

Fakhar Zaman (fauj)
Babar Azam (c) (PMLN?)
Tayyab Tahir (PPP?)
Salman Ali Agha (PMLN?)
Umar Akmal (PMLN)
Mohammad Nawaz (PMLN?)
Usama Mir (PTI?)
Shaheen Afridi (PTI)
Haris Rauf (PMLN)
Naseem Shah (PTI?)

I doubt Umar Akmal is a PMLN supporter. His brother in law Usman Qadir is a staunch PTI supporter. Also didn't Umar Akmal ask Imran for a "request" as well during the 2016 wt20?

Fakhar Zaman (fauj)
Babar Azam (c) (PMLN?)
Tayyab Tahir (PPP?)
Salman Ali Agha (PMLN?)
Umar Akmal (PMLN)
Mohammad Nawaz (PMLN?)
Usama Mir (PTI?)
Shaheen Afridi (PTI)
Haris Rauf (PMLN)
Naseem Shah (PTI?)

Rizwan and Iftikhar most definitely PTI beneficiaries

We must apreciate the talent rather associating them with political parties.
Na sorry mate

They are 100% beneficiaries of PTI coming into power. Rizwan in my opinion is not even a batsman, but it seems like PCB under Imran Khan wanted me to believe he is Ricky Ponting

I doubt Umar Akmal is a PMLN supporter. His brother in law Usman Qadir is a staunch PTI supporter. Also didn't Umar Akmal ask Imran for a "request" as well during the 2016 wt20?

well his brother is a hardcore Noonie, he’s even used the word youthi* on twitter. So I have no doubt that Umar is a PMLN supporter.

The request was to push him up the order, why wouldn’t you ask the most popular cricketer in your country for help when he’s in your team hotel.

Whether he meets with Mian Sahb or not it does not make an iota of difference, he will not be selected

Can't believe in 2023 his name is still being talked about

UA has suddenly realised that time has by passed him and because everyone has realised he is useless he needs intervention from mafia dons.

In all honesty, Umar Akmal deserves another chance. He has historically been a match-winner and did his best for Pakistan during the dark days of Misbah.

It's not been a great day for Umar Akmal, getting out for a golden duck today in the Pakistan Cup.

His stats so far in the PakCup:

6 matches:
95 runs
Average: 15.8
SR: 75

RiWgqBy.png

Need the tooth fairy Kamran Akmal to campaign for him aggressively.

His time is up there’s another World Cup in 4 years that’s too long for his fitness especially to hold up its not surprising he’s not doing well on these slower sluggish wickets and did well on flatter wickets earlier this year his game is built to attack on faster wickets when the ball is coming in nicely.

In international cricket that’s what’s you get everywhere they need to find a younger version of Umar to play at 100 strike rate in ODIs in the middle order.

It's not been a great day for Umar Akmal, getting out for a golden duck today in the Pakistan Cup.

His stats so far in the PakCup:

6 matches:
95 runs
Average: 15.8
SR: 75

RiWgqBy.png
One can see lack footwork from a still picture alone. He looks like a tailender beaten by a full outswinger. Not going sufficiently forword and groping at ball :uak .

And look at that angled bat outside the body defence

If Shan can make a comeback at 34 then so can UA at 33. I remember his innings in NZ when he first started, such a naturally talented batter. His stats are not that bad, better than Shan :ua

1700869537217.png

I've always wondered this. Why don't any T20 league sides pick him any more? Earlier atleast the BPL and CPL would throw him a bone. But he is getting chances nowhere right now.

Look at the sight of him. He is no longer international standard. He bats like a tail ender now. The Umar Akmal of 2009 to 2016 is long gone now.

Umar Akmal was dropped from today's Lahore Whites game in the National T20 Cup 2023. Despite aspiring to secure a spot in the national side, he struggles to maintain his position even within his domestic team.

He’s an absolutely nothing player. He benefitted from playing a few good knocks in the beginning of his career but he’s an incredibly flawed batsmen who has only regressed over time. He should be nowhere near the international team.

Umar Akmal scored 75(100) for WAPDA in second innings against KRL in President's Trophy 2023-24.

Yes
Umar Akmal scored 75(100) for WAPDA in second innings against KRL in President's Trophy 2023-24.

It shows a glimpse of what Pakistan missed a decade ago when Umar Akmal should have been playing tests in Asia.

He once score a 200 at over 80 strike rate in the domestic final still despite Pakistan being a poor test team wasn’t selected that was during his prime.

Yes

It shows a glimpse of what Pakistan missed a decade ago when Umar Akmal should have been playing tests in Asia.

He once score a 200 at over 80 strike rate in the domestic final still despite Pakistan being a poor test team wasn’t selected that was during his prime.
Was he the only test maker in that game.

Umar will always have my support, I still get excited at least once a month watching his Chukkaz in Australia. If he was playing, he would have took Starc and Cummins on, down the order his cameos would be immense

Umar Akmal scored 87(95) against HEC in first Innings for WAPDA in second round of President's Trophy 2023-24.

It seems he is getting his form back.

Umar Akmal scored 87(95) against HEC in first Innings for WAPDA in second round of President's Trophy 2023-24.

It seems he is getting his form back.
Umar Akmal notched up another fifty in the second innings against HEC during the second round of the President's Trophy 2023-24. He ended the day unbeaten on 61*(138) and is set to resume his innings on day 4 tomorrow.

His form will magically disappear when he dons the shirt for Pakistan.

He is like Graeme Hick of Pakistan.

Domestic bullying is his forte.

2 excellent knocks by Umar Akmal in WAPDA's 4-wicket vs HEC in the President's Trophy

1st innings: 87
2nd innings: 85

b29EOmN.png

2 excellent knocks by Umar Akmal in WAPDA's 4-wicket vs HEC in the President's Trophy

1st innings: 87
2nd innings: 85

b29EOmN.png
He has been scoring decent runs in this President's Trophy but he couldn't score many runs in the recent National T20 Cup. A few good scores in that tournament might have helped him got picked by a PSL franchise.

In the second innings for WAPDA against SNGPL in the fifth round of the President's Trophy 2023-24, Umar Akmal scored 128 (210). This marks his 18th First-Class century and notably, his first FC hundred since December 2019. Furthermore, during his splendid knock for WAPDA, he reached the milestone of 8000 First-Class runs.

He looks well prepared to make a comeback to the Test side for Pakistan.

In the second innings for WAPDA against SNGPL in the fifth round of the President's Trophy 2023-24, Umar Akmal scored 128 (210). This marks his 18th First-Class century and notably, his first FC hundred since December 2019. Furthermore, during his splendid knock for WAPDA, he reached the milestone of 8000 First-Class runs.

He looks well prepared to make a comeback to the Test side for Pakistan.
First Century in over 3 years and he's ready? No wonder he needs support from senior and fans

Umar Akmal completes 8000 runs in the Pakistan domestic circuit. Quite a feat but still feels there is no way he is going to make a comeback into the National side.

The quality must be very poor if he's scoring runs. He genuinely looked a no 10 in the national t20 cup and the standard of that tournament was pathetic.

Umar Akmal smashes 128 against SNGPL today in President's Trophy Tournament 2023-2024.

I it's time to bring him back, but it must be as captain of all three formats

Let’s be real, he would’ve won us a test in Australia single handedly.

Looks like he’s lost a bit of weight too, the stars are aligning.

Umar's time is gone. He ruined himself when he could have been the next great thing in the batting world, he chose the limelight of social media. Should keep playing domestics and PSL and let's ee when he brings consistency to his performances. We already have bits-and-pieces players, don't need another one.

Umar Akmal claims rejecting T20 league offers worth crores

Pakistan cricketer Umar Akmal said he rejected offers from international level Twenty20 (T20) leagues to play domestic cricket but got nothing in return.

Umar Akmal made the statement in a podcast. The wicketkeeper batter said his mission was to only play for Pakistan and domestic cricket.

He said he got offers from the Big Bash League and Bangladesh Premier League with salaries worth $100,000, but the Pakistan Cricket Board told him to play in the country so emerging players could learn from him.

The wicketkeeper batter said the Pakistan Cricket Board never fulfilled their promises nor honoured his services.

It is pertinent to mention that Umar Akmal has not represented the Green Shirts since 2019. His last appearance for the side was in a T20I against Sri Lanka at Lahore on October 07 that year.

Moreover, he was not picked by any franchise to play in the country’s premier T20 event Pakistan Super League this year.

The right-handed batter has played 221 matches for Pakistan across all three formats. He has scored 5,887 international runs with the help of three centuries and 34 half-centuries.

Source: ARY News

I think he is a mediocre cricketer.

But he shouldn't have let his mediocre cricket career spill over to his brain as well, which he seems to have done.

How could anyone believe in what PCB promises?

Seems dense as a thicket.

I think he is a mediocre cricketer.

But he shouldn't have let his mediocre cricket career spill over to his brain as well, which he seems to have done.

How could anyone believe in what PCB promises?

Seems dense as a thicket.

You really believe what he’s saying here?

At best he’s misunderstood the message the person was trying to give him.

Because one thing we know about Umar Akmal - nothing was ever his fault.