"I don't think we should go gaga about him (Mohammad Amir)" : Rohit Sharma

A few years from now this statement will be just as hilarious as "I think Ahmed Shehzad has more talent than Sachin Tendulkar"

Finally we have an indian talking crap before an india pak game.

Finally!!

And he has just asked for the biggest send off on March 19th.

Let the games begin!

Kohli praises Amir -> Kohli is a legend.
Rohit doesn't praise Amir -> Rohit is a tool.

#PPLogic

Here is the thing Bumrah didn't say any of this ,the guy is trying is best in what capacity he can no point bringing him here and calling him names say what you want about the guy that gave the interview.

I am just opposing Rohit here. He said very high of Bumrah and compared him to Aamer. But Bumrah is not even in near league with Aamer. He is very new and yet to cement his place in Indian line up. Bhubeneshshor Kumar was hyped like him but where he is now?

#PPLogic

Not praising someone is different than going out of your to way bash someone, without provocation.

Not praising = not saying anything on the topic.

#PPLogic

Its not about praising but he could had easily handled the question but what he said was

aisa kuch nahin ki aake woh sabko uda hi deta hai (it's not that he rips apart all line-ups). He's just a normal bowler who was good on that day.

It also could be that i don't like Rohit Sharma the batsman but to a bowler that got him out twice in the same match he seems to be talking a bit extra.He might be right about other things as being compared to Wasim is wrong and all but the above is just his bitter reply.

I wont be too sure about that. Yes Kohli is very consistent but he will not hurt you with big sixes. If its Rohit Sharma's day he can tear apart any bowler. Remember how he assaulted Junaid Khan in the Asia cup 2014? Not saying Rohit will smash Amir next time they face but he is very capable of doing that. And once get going there is no Indian batsman more destructive than him.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Rohit Sharma is the VVS Laxman of this generation. Overhyped by Indian fans on the basis of a few innings. When VVS played, we heard similar "best batsman, most talented, etc etc".

Kohli is the real champion in the Indian team, the others are really good but at no point should someone like Rohit be regarded as most destructive, etc.

I am just opposing Rohit here. He said very high of Bumrah and compared him to Aamer. But Bumrah is not even in near league with Aamer. He is very new and yet to cement his place in Indian line up. Bhubeneshshor Kumar was hyped like him but where he is now?

Where every Indian fast bowler ends up in 12-15 months....

Amir already has bigger performances in test cricket in a year or so than rohit has in his whole test career .

He is entitled to say what he wants but i think most neutral pundit believe that amir has everything needed to be a great .Sharma ji had a bit to say about Amir before the asia cup game too , wonder why he wants the world to rate bumrahs and the kumars higher than Amir .

Relax sharma , the world rates him for a reason.

Let's see how Amir performs on flat decks against ATG Sharma. If he goes for runs, then there's no difference between these 2 players.

Not exactly:

Instead of talking about Amir you should talk about Bumrah. He's our Indian bowler and doing well

He wanted Indian media to highlight the Indian bowler because Indian media doesn't do it.

Sharma ji should have told reporters that "" Mery paaon ka angoota sooj gaya hy aur ap muj sy poochty ho k amir kesa bowler hy ""

I think he was frustrated that their own bowler Bumrah isn't getting much hype as Amir even among the Indians.

Also I believe he knows that there are more lefty pacers who can bowl better than Amir and has more talent than him. Among them one has already destroyed Sharmajee in one Odi series last year. So its normal for Rohit to feel angry on people and media who are not focusing on right talents.

I think he was frustrated that their own bowler Bumrah isn't getting much hype as Amir even among the Indians.

Also I believe he knows that there are more lefty pacers who can bowl better than Amir and has more talent than him. Among them one has already destroyed Sharmajee in one Odi series last year. So its normal for Rohit to feel angry on people and media who are not focusing on right talents.

One Sharma standing up for another Sharma:asif

lol this is the difference between class and flat track bully
kohali praised aamir while this arrogant man can't go beyond his ego.. he is only good against SL trundlers..

Rohit Sharma is the VVS Laxman of this generation. Overhyped by Indian fans on the basis of a few innings. When VVS played, we heard similar "best batsman, most talented, etc etc".

Kohli is the real champion in the Indian team, the others are really good but at no point should someone like Rohit be regarded as most destructive, etc.

Oh please VVS is more loved and respected by neutrals for his ability to perform in the toughest situations against the best in the business. He is rated very highly by experts in western world. Rohit is someone who will be hyped by Indian fans only but won't be rated that highly outside India because of his FTB image.

According to cricinfo, this is what he said on Amir -

"Stop talking about him already," Rohit said of Amir in Kolkata. "He isn't the only bowler, Pakistan have five other bowlers who are doing well for them."

"There is just so much hype around him, I don't think it is right to give him too much hype after one match. He is good but he needs to prove it over and over again. Now people are comparing him to Wasim Akram and all that. He is just a normal bowler, on that given day if he is good, he is good. It is not as if he turns up and blows everyone away."

If Wasim himself is comparing Amir to his younger days then who is Rohit to make such statement who got out twice in two balls?

and he did blew him away. I think he is just upset for getting out twice in two balls.

Not praising someone is different than going out of your to way bash someone, without provocation.

Not praising = not saying anything on the topic.

He said he was good on the day and he is yet to prove himself -- Not praising. He didn't bash him as you stated in your post.

#PPLogic

weather Kholi praises Amir or not, Kholi is on the road to be a legend.

Rohit, nothing exciting about him

If Wasim himself is comparing Amir to his younger days then who is Rohit to make such statement who got out twice in two balls?

and he did blew him away. I think he is just upset for getting out twice in two balls.

He does come across as bitter in this interview.

AMIR? HO GA APNE GHAR KA AMIR!!!!!

Oh Lord, if this quote is true, tailunt has certainly livened things up. On the whole, this much masala is fine. Tailunt may regret it though.

Thats why i dont like Rohit and some Indians. Those words by Rohit about Aamer is arrogant and devoid of courtesy. Rohit himself is an overhyped batsman with no consistency.

Aamer is >>>>>>>better than Bombraaah.Bumrah is not eye pleasing at all with an ugly looking action.He will be exposed soon.

This is how it feels to us whenever Dios hypes up the Bangladeshi bowlers:srini

He's just set himself up to get embarassed in Dharamsala.

When did Indians start making poor statements?

Who is Kholi and for which team does he play? Why does he gets mentioned in Rohit's post?

This thread is GOLD and I'm loving the fact that someone from India woke up and trash talked.

But Rohit has always done that, mostly kicking himself in the foot..

"Come to India, then we'll talk", and now about Amir. :))) :)))

This thread is GOLD and I'm loving the fact that someone from India woke up and trash talked.

But Rohit has always done that, mostly kicking himself in the foot..

"Come to India, then we'll talk", and now about Amir. :))) :)))

I've always maintained whenever Rohit talks aggressive, he talks rubbish. Dude doesn't know how to sledge and always backfired whenever he did. He always does better when he keeps mum instead of running his mouth. Still can't get over that "Come to India" sledge:sree

I think Sharma has a point - as someone who grew up watching Marshall, Holding, Imran, Wasim, Waqar, Donald, Ambrose who would win test matches by ripping apart batting line ups taking 5-fers, 6-fers, 7-fer even on the day they bowled great spells - please forgive me for my lack of knowledge of modern day pyjama cricket, but the media hype and talk about Wahab's two or three bouncers to Watson last year and Amir's 3-fer in a 4 over spell on a green top , I just don't get it... Marshall and Wasim would bowl spells of fast bowling that would leave you speechless, that's how good they were.

Let me ask all Pakistan fans a question ..I agree your attack is better than Indian attack.But how many matches your bowling attack won you purely based on bowling in recent time?

If it is so strong why you didn't defend your total against Bangladesh in Asia cup. I agree defending 83 against India was quite difficult , and very rare bowling attacks in world across all era could done that ...

I think except Amir you don't have out and out match winning bowler .
Wahab is hot and cold most of the time and so is irfan .

Also I was readin couple of post from Pakistan fans before Asia cup match , most of you were saying that Amir will be effective only if there is little swing in the wicket or else kohli and company will hit him all over park.

I mean you want some help from wicket for amir to be effective , but on same track if rohit fails you think he is FTB.

Let Amir prove him on flat wickets first and then we will call him great . He has talent I agree may be the greatest talent to come through in last 15 years in bowling ..but you need to perform for atleast 10 to 15 years to start calling a great or to even compare with was in and waqar ..

Amir is a great Talent, but we should not put pressure on him becoming great and all that crap. Let him play and hopefully he will go strength to strength. Hopefully 1 year down the line, he will be a stable bowler who can help us win games in Test Cricket. Who gives a damn about T20, its tulla baaz game. Any great bowler could be taken to the cleaner on flat decks. Even steyn has suffered this, so who is Amir. He has long way to go for a full recovery, his real test will be in Test cricket. Rahi baaat Rohit Sharma ki tu who cares what he thinks, he is another flat track bully, Kohli is a champ cricketer, sharma jaise bohat hai India mein. Hopefully Amir will shut him up on 19 march.

Kohli talks trash on the field but is class off it.

Sharma pretends to be gentleman on the field but his true trashy colours come off the field.

And no surprise to see chest thumping Indian fans supporting him, expected nothing better.

How about Rohit "talented" Sharma uses a typical cricket bat that was made 20 years ago that had edges no bigger than 20mm and a spine no bigger than 50mm.
Let's see then how "talented" he will be then, maybe he will not get rewarded for all his mishits.

I wont be too sure about that. Yes Kohli is very consistent but he will not hurt you with big sixes. If its Rohit Sharma's day he can tear apart any bowler. Remember how he assaulted Junaid Khan in the Asia cup 2014? Not saying Rohit will smash Amir next time they face but he is very capable of doing that. And once get going there is no Indian batsman more destructive than him.

Well lets see this day against Aamir. :hafeez2

Kohli talks trash on the field but is class off it.

Sharma pretends to be gentleman on the field but his true trashy colours come off the field.

And no surprise to see chest thumping Indian fans supporting him, expected nothing better.

How about Rohit "talented" Sharma uses a typical cricket bat that was made 20 years ago that had edges no bigger than 20mm and a spine no bigger than 50mm.
Let's see then how "talented" he will be then, maybe he will not get rewarded for all his mishits.
He is better LOI batsman than all Pakistan produced since turn of millenium. Dont need batting lecture from neighbours. Thanks :)

Sir rohit bradman has two double hundreds in ODI. What does amir have? dont see anything wrong with this

"I have more runs than you in this series Rohit, you've done nothing in your career"

"...................Come to India"

He is correct, Amir got a lot to prove. It remains to be seen if he can maintain consistency. It is a bit much comparing him to Wasim.

Amir's just a normal bowler, nothing special, had a good day, friendly pitch...but this Bumrah guy - WOW, special and rare talent, will surpass Marshall etc.

Not a biased interview at all there.

Lol exactly, let's hope ordinary aamir gets him out in the next game they play.

Stupid statements from a very poor interview...

By the end of 2016,'Amir would have achieved a lot more than Rohit in tests... I am amazed at the line of thought that Rohit has, he could not put bat to ball against Amir and then has the cheek to say, " let him perform for a year "... What if we ask him, " how about Rohit performing in tests for a year"....

His respect in my eyes has gone down....

I can't remember any past Indian batsman ( including Viru, Gauti etc) dissing a talented bowler like this... Really class less interview...

Pak fans by the way should note that Amir has developed a very good fan base in India after that spell..

Did I hit a raw nerve regarding the truth ?? Let's your FTBs use a stick like all other batsmen did 20 years ago before bat tampering became the norm.

Oh yea you do need lectures and you will get plenty because that's all what trashy fans like you expect and deserve.
So Pakistani batsman use bats from 20.years back?

Sharma's disdain for the said bowler is due to his shady past and not because he got dismissed.That is the only reason I can think of when reading these unexpected remarks.Suddenly I have more respect for Rohit and his principles instead of Kohli who has been slobbering all over Amir for no reason.

How do you know that Rohit Sharma's disdain is because of his past ?

Why such unprovoked aggression?

He is entitled to his views about Amir's return but he could have made the same points in a nicer way.

A bit cringeworthy interview to be fair.

I think it has to do with the context. I would like to know the exact question that was posed to him. I think he got a bit too defensive with his statement regarding Amir may be because he has that thing running at the back of his mind

Sharma can talk big.

Somebody please let me know when he scores a 150 when it actually matters.

One of those threads where senseless jingoism rears its ugly head and people lose perception of reality.

Same people who were all sour grapes regarding Kohli and called him a flat-track bully etc. etc. for years now suddenly hail him as a world class batsman because he praised Amir, and are now Rohit Sharma haters all of a sudden because of his comments regarding Amir.

We truly are the most gullible and pitiful nation in the world. Always fishing for appreciation and validation from others.

There is nothing wrong with what Rohit has said. Amir has a lot to prove before he can draw comparisons with Wasim even though he has his talent for swing and spot-fixing, but he has to earn these comparisons with his performance over a period of time.

Kohli wasn't compared to Tendulkar after 2-3 hundreds, but when he had scored around 15 centuries before the age of 25, because he had earned the right through his performances.

However, I'd say that Rohit's tone was very aggressive. Obviously, people will call you bitter if you criticize a bowler in this fashion days after he gets you out for a duck.

This thread will be fun before, during and after the match on March 19, and I hope this fires Amir up and dismissing Rohit again cheaply would be the best response. A 'ssshhh' celebration would be icing on the cake, but Rohit seems up for the battle as well so let's see how he responds.

Not should.Do they play with bats 20 year old?

I said they should like everyone else, do you understand before chest thumping at every opportunity.

Let's how your FTBs like Sharma do then. His chest thumping might be a little less just like the fans I suspect as his lucky mishits will amount to zilch.

Rohit Sharma is always bit of a motormouth and less he speaks better it is for him. His articulation of words is pretty poor and even though he sometimes dont mean but because of choice of words he sounds like whinner. Remember he told Dale Steyn once "Come to India, will see". Dale steyn replied "You played handful of test matches and done nothing in your career" :))

Also he took an unnecessary fight against Brad Haddin on the MCG test which was pretty uncalled for.

There are some players like Kohli who is very good playing with words and knows how to sledge or talk in media. Sharmaji is totally opposite.

Its better for him to concentrate on batting and focus on becoming a permanent in test side. If he thinks Amir is nothing, show it with the bat rather than talks.

Also after that spell from Amir, I have seen huge appreciation for him in Indian media. Star sports simply cant stop showing his spell again and again. May be that has made Sharmaji furious :danish

[MENTION=23613]90MPH[/MENTION] - You should not have said chest thumping is in the blood of Indians. That is insulting the whole country and in a very poor taste. You can criticize Rohit's comment but why blame entire country?

I said they should like everyone else, do you understand before chest thumping at every opportunity.

Let's how your FTBs like Sharma do then. His chest thumping might be a little less just like the fans I suspect as his lucky mishits will amount to zilch.
Rohit Sharma plays with the same specifications of the bat as everyone today does.Still he is better bat in LOIs than every Pakistani out there who play with similar bats so stop whining about bats.

Rohit should have calmed down with his statements.

He got owned by Amir and he should leave it at it. Can't believe this guy making statements when he went missing in the finals.

I do agree that the conditions made every bowler look like Wasim in his prime. But Amir has some history behind him which shows that he is not just a green track bully.

Hold on a second, people. Let's not go hard on Rohit. It's just his opinion and like everyone else he's bound to have one. So go easy on him and let him think what he thinks....

...until Amir gets him plumb in front again in the wt20 and then he'll perhaps consider him 'just a normal bowler with two good days'.

One of those threads where senseless jingoism rears its ugly head and people lose perception of reality.

Same people who were all sour grapes regarding Kohli and called him a flat-track bully etc. etc. for years now suddenly hail him as a world class batsman because he praised Amir, and are now Rohit Sharma haters all of a sudden because of his comments regarding Amir.

We truly are the most gullible and pitiful nation in the world. Always fishing for appreciation and validation from others.

There is nothing wrong with what Rohit has said. Amir has a lot to prove before he can draw comparisons with Wasim even though he has his talent for swing and spot-fixing, but he has to earn these comparisons with his performance over a period of time.

Kohli wasn't compared to Tendulkar after 2-3 hundreds, but when he had scored around 15 centuries before the age of 25, because he had earned the right through his performances.

However, I'd say that Rohit's tone was very aggressive. Obviously, people will call you bitter if you criticize a bowler in this fashion days after he gets you out for a duck.

This thread will be fun before, during and after the match on March 19, and I hope this fires Amir up and dismissing Rohit again cheaply would be the best response. A 'ssshhh' celebration would be icing on the cake, but Rohit seems up for the battle as well so let's see how he responds.

Legend himself compare Amir to himself. That should be enough.

Praising Kholi because he had good words to say about Amir? NO! Just like "you" want most to wait before anyone compare Amir to Akram, People were waiting and see if it would be fair before they call Kholi what he is now. And he has proved that he is currently one of the best batsman in the world.

Neither this nation is gullible or pitiful as you would like to portray in every post. Nothing wrong with appreciating compliments from other.

But please carry on with your wrist slitting repeated posts.

I do agree that the conditions made every bowler look like Wasim in his prime. But Amir has some history behind him which shows that he is not just a green track bully.

I am just curious here as, I have only seen him bowl this year but what are his achievement on non-green tracks?

Good stuff - let the fun begin.
Rohit s aggressive tone to AMir is really a back door compliment.
There s no logic having a go at average players. That's why the Indian players just have fun with Afridi - they know he carrys little very little threat these days.

He has every right to express his opinion about any bowler .... the way he is talking about Aamer it looks like highest individual T20 score is on cards .... waiting for Dharamshalla

Rohit Sharma plays with the same specifications of the bat as everyone today does.Still he is better bat in LOIs than every Pakistani out there who play with similar bats so stop whining about bats.

I can whine or say anything I like you sad silly Indian chest thumping troll.

He has every right to express his opinion about any bowler .... the way he is talking about Aamer it looks like highest individual T20 score is on cards .... waiting for Dharamshalla

Yeah right. Maybe he can predict the next world war as well.

I am just curious here as, I have only seen him bowl this year but what are his achievement on non-green tracks?

I got confused hin with Asif who owned some of our legends on Pak dead pitches.

Okay. Can anyone post some stats of Amir on flat beds of Subcontinent?

I know Amir did well in Aus, England and now in Bangla green mambas. How about his stats on flat tracks?

Hold on a second, people. Let's not go hard on Rohit. It's just his opinion and like everyone else he's bound to have one. So go easy on him and let him think what he thinks....

...until Amir gets him plumb in front again in the wt20 and then he'll perhaps consider him 'just a normal bowler with two good days'.

Bowling performances of India Pak bowlers in Asia cup 2016

H.Pandya (part time bowler)
vs Pakistan 3.3-0-8-3
vs UAE 3-1-11-1
vs Bangladesh 4-0-23-1
vs SL 4-0-26-2

J.Bumrah ( main bowler)
Vs Pakistan 3-2-8-1
vs SL 4-0-27-2
vs Bangladesh 4-0-23-1
vs UAE 4-0-23-1

M.Amir ( premier strike bowler) of Pakistan
vs India 4-0-18-3
vs UAE 4-1-6-2
vs Bangladesh 4-0-26-2
vs SL 4-0-31-0

All these stats prove is
If the pitch supports fast bowling even someone like Pandya becomes a demon bowler.
If pitch is flat, even Amir is taken apart by SL batsmen who are not exactly world class as of now.
So basically Amir is bowler who is normal who can bowl some great spells based on pitch type.
BKumar had great figures in only match he played in Asia cup 4 overs-2-8-2 wkts after a long time out of team. Does that make him great?

Gotta laugh at those calling Rohit a FTB.

Amir is a quality bowler no doubt but he is still unproven on those flat tracks Rohit has dominated.

Gotta laugh at those calling Rohit a FTB.

Amir is a quality bowler no doubt but he is still unproven on those flat tracks Rohit has dominated.

Same can be said about consistent Sharma. Great FTB can't last 2 balls on a green track. Even stevens?

Didn't Rohit score runs in the first match against Bangladesh? Yes, he has failed quite often in difficult conditions, but what has Amir done on flat wickets to suddenly get so much pull over Rohit? Rohit is a world class LOI opener and has been for a number of years. Amir has just come back to the game and has only had the few noteworthy performances, he needs to keep it up for another year or two before he can be compared to anyone world class tbh.

Like who?

"He's just a normal bowler who was good on that day." - Amir

"He's a rare talent. The way he has started he will do something special." - Bumrah

Right.......

Sounds bitter.

Key difference here is that if it were a statement made by some Pakistani cricketer ex or current flaming Kohli, and suggesting that he's a "normal batsman" then most of the pakistani fans would be against him; however, in this case, with the indian doing the trash talking you can see how their fans are split with half of them defending this stance. Which fanbase has the biggest chest-thumpers now?