"I don't think we should go gaga about him (Mohammad Amir)" : Rohit Sharma

#GreenRoars

Kolkata, March 8: He may have been bamboozled by Mohammad Aamir's toe crushing delivery but India opener Rohit Sharma today expressed dismay over the hype around the Pakistani pacer and said the focus should be on Jasprit Bumrah instead. World T20 schedule and squads;

"Just leave him... He's just come (after the ban) and I don't think we should go gaga about him. Let him perform for one more year and we will see whether he deserves so much. Woh koi... (I don't want to use those words). "He's good but he needs to prove again and again. It's not right to hype him so much after just one match. Not just for him or who are watching it, let him do it over and over again," Sharma said.

The pacer, 23, is being compared with Pakistani legend Wasim Akram and Sharma said this was a bit too much. "People are comparing him to Wasim Akram and all that. It's wrong. Let him achieve some bit. Definitely he is got talent but aisa kuch nahin ki aake woh sabko uda hi deta hai (it's not that he rips apart all line-ups). He's just a normal bowler who was good on that day." Asked whether he had reservation against the return from ban of Amir, he said: "It's none of my concern their politics their issues.

I'm not interested. I've nothing to say on that." Sharma went on to shower praise on young pacer Bumrah and urged the media to highlight the young Indian instead. "Instead of talking about Amir you should talk about Bumrah. He's our Indian bowler and doing well. He's a rare talent. He's young. He's got a long way ahead. The way he has started he will do something special." On his slinging action, Sharma said he's very difficult to pick in the nets, something that reminded him of Lasith Malinga when he joined Mumbai Indians.

"He's (Bumrah) an exception. He comes with a surprise, even the captain does not know. He's got everything in his bank. What we saw in Asia Cup and in Australia he did pretty well. He's got a good yorker, bouncer all what a modern day bowler needs. Only time will tell us where he will go."

http://www.oneindia.com/sports/cric...mohammad-aamir-says-rohit-sharma-2035037.html

Woh koi... (I don't want to use those words) I wonder what he wanted to say there :)))

Rohit Sharma seems frustrated about Amir, may be due to Over hype i guess.

Yes, Bumrah is exception, but Amir is a normal bowler who is good good on ONE day :)))

What a funny interview, seems his toe is still not fine. Rofel.
[MENTION=135445]Strike Rate[/MENTION] you will enjoy it man.

Someone print out this interview in text and please post it in Amirs locker

Wow. Comes across as incredibly insecure doesnt he?

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

lol I can understand Sharma how would he know how good Amir is all he felt were two thuds on his pads and game over.

Finally our players are having the guts to give out Pakistaniesque interviews:akhtar

This is almost an Indian version of ghar ka kohli interview:mj

#ghar ka amir

This thread have some potential, so before both pak and indian fans go to extremes i guess we should keep in mind what he said may not be total truth but it also isn't total rubbish and lie. Amir need to win something meaningful for pak otherwise all this hype is useless.

I back Amir to get the better of Rohit 9 times out of 10. Kohli can deliver under pressure but not Rohit.

This thread have some potential, so before both pak and indian fans go to extremes i guess we should keep in mind what he said may not be total truth but it also isn't total rubbish and lie. Amir need to win something meaningful for pak otherwise all this hype is useless.

While I won't say that he is the next Wasim Akram yet, it's clear that he has potential to become one.

So i was wrong
he is in the same category of kohli,raina,dhawan,
Now i love MS and Rahane only because they are not too much aggressive against pakistan in and off the field

Bus badi badi baatein, Amir this Amir that. Even got smashed by Soumya Sarkar of all people when needed the most. can't win any match for his team except against UAE.

Wesy to i think Sharma ji is cool minded person, but what happened to him???? Seems very bitter and annoyed in this interview :))

He is always sleepy or as if he's on weed when he gives out interviews. The interviewer might have annoyed him by asking how will you face Amir questions repeatedly:asif

Sharma ji lost his cool there:misbah

Is it a serious article ?
hahahaa. Its almost like a thrash talk.
Aisa bhi nahi hai ki wo aake sabko uda deta hai. Lets talk about Bumrah he is special..:))

Why such unprovoked aggression?

He is entitled to his views about Amir's return but he could have made the same points in a nicer way.

A bit cringeworthy interview to be fair.

lol whattey interview, no diplomacy, unlike swagger kohli, shooting straight, no if not but sirf sharma :maqsood :misbhah

agree with streety though, this was very pakistaniesque interview, but I love it :srini

Ohhh This is gonna be good ............. :snack:
[MENTION=138379]#GreenRoars[/MENTION] I think this time the streak will definitely be broken :D Good Work Roary

He is correct about comparisons with wasim at this stage.

But apart from that he seems bitter about those 2 deliveries.

Amir's just a normal bowler, nothing special, had a good day, friendly pitch...but this Bumrah guy - WOW, special and rare talent, will surpass Marshall etc.

Not a biased interview at all there.

Interesting to Note that on PP the people who appreciate Amir the most nowadays and have pinned there hopes on Amir than others were members of the Moral Brigade and Angels leaders who thought he should never be allowed back to international cricket.

How Time flies.

To Rohit I ll say Pray to God that India don't bat first if the match is in Dharamshala or in Eden Gardens Kolkata provided Amir is Fit. Otherwise these statements will haunt him and will embarrass him.

Ideal statement would have been that yes he is a quality bowler and we are quality batting side and we will cope with him well hopefully.

Why such unprovoked aggression?

He is entitled to his views about Amir's return but he could have made the same points in a nicer way.

A bit cringeworthy interview to be fair.

I think based on this interview, Rohit will try to target Amir from the get go, just have a feeling.

Nothing wrong with what he said although as SIF has mentioned, he could certainly have articulated his point a lot better.

I thought he made a good point about Amir and the hype and leaving him alone etc, but then contradicted it all by then praising Bumrah and saying he needs equal hype after err.... a handful of games :facepalm:

That is the difference between Kohli and Rohit. Common man it's not like Amir made his début in last Asia cup and people are hyping him, he was there for an year in 2009-10, we all saw what he can do. It was amazing that even after 5 years he could replicate/ come close to his best immediately definitely a rare bowling talent in today's era of batters.

Nothing wrong in appreciating a talisman even when he is an opponent.

Rohit seems to have found his voice now that he is back in the land of flat pitches.

Waiting for a rebuttal from pak players now :))

I hope amir answers him on the field.

Amir's just a normal bowler, nothing special, had a good day, friendly pitch...but this Bumrah guy - WOW, special and rare talent, will surpass Marshall etc.

I don't think he was comparing Amir and Bumrah there. Was more like asking the Indian reporters to concentrate a bit about their bowler Bumrah too, who has been impressive since his debut.

But yeah, he has said it in an aggressive tone.

Reminded me of Taliban's tantrums in Pakistan when they said Pakistani media shouldn't praise Sachin on his retirement (cos he is an Indian) and instead they should praise Misbah cos he is a Pakistani.

I think based on this interview, Rohit will try to target Amir from the get go, just have a feeling.

Permitting that he doesn't face the first over or if the ball is moving in the air.

I thought he made a good point about Amir and the hype and leaving him alone etc, but then contradicted it all by then praising Bumrah and saying he needs equal hype after err.... a handful of games :facepalm:

Exactly what I thought while reading this. Bumrah is nothing more than Sohail Tanvir v 2.0 and will start getting smashed soon.

A lot of talk by a guy who was out twice to amir in two balls

"Aisa kuch nahin ki aake woh sabko uda hi deta hai" :))) :)))

Legendary quote.

I agree with Rohit here.Let him play an year atleast before this hype.The thing is when you overhype a player it won't be long before you unnecessarily find his weakness which may not be the one in reality.

I highly doubt Rohit can utter such nonsense. Is the source reliable? Amir has nothing to prove to anyone. He was the best bowling throughout the whole Aisa cup so don't know what ***** is ranting about?

Rohit has injected the much needed hype before the all important IndoPak clash which was missing.

Hope it doesn't backfire for us:(

What exactly that Rohit said that is wrong ?

He said Amir was very good against India but needs to perform on a longer term before comparisons with Akram

He clearly wants the Indian media to focus on hyping Indian bowlers instead of obsession with opposition players .

He hasn't said anything degradory or arrogant about Amir.Unless u think not going over the top with ridiculous hyping up is Arrogance.

Btw Amir hasn't achieved even Zilch of what Rohit has achieved in Cricket .So there is hardly anything for Rohit to get jealous about lol

All he is saying to the Indian Media is ask questions about Indian bowlers who has just won India the world cup instead of always asking about Amir

Amir doesn't have anything to prove to Rohit. A class bowler will remain a class bowler.

Surprised he's actually said this, thought he was more classier.

Maybe his recent failures have annoyed him.

He said Amir was very good against India but needs to perform on a longer term before comparisons with Akram

He clearly wants the Indian media to focus on hyping Indian bowlers instead of obsession with opposition players .

He hasn't said anything degradory or arrogant about Amir.Unless u think not going over the top with ridiculous hyping up is Arrogance.

Btw Amir hasn't achieved even Zilch of what Rohit has achieved in Cricket .So there is hardly anything for Rohit to get jealous about lol

All he is saying to the Indian Media is ask questions about Indian bowlers who has just won India the world cup instead of always asking about Amir

How the tables would have turned if Rohit was a Pakistani and Amir an Indian . lol

Indian fans getting defensive over anything thier heroes say.

Chest thumping is in thier blood.

I think Rohit also needs to appreciate the hype machine that is a logical outcome of social media platforms. If you are a celebrity/sportsman it can almost feel claustrophobic to see tweets, interviews, videos etc harping on moment in the game. It unduly magnifies the actual event. Plus on India vs. Pakistan while the BCCI and the players have done well minimize the hype (for faux rivalries vs. Australia), the media still considers it a big deal.

How the tables would have turned if Rohit was a Pakistani and Amir an Indian . lol
Like Azhar Mohamed saying Shehzad is better talent than Sachin ?

There is virtually nothing wrong or degradory about Amir in what Rohit said .Heck he even said Pakistan has a top quality attack not just Amir .

lol, sounds like a bitter person who certainly doesn't want to give credit to him opponent.

And on the flip side, wants to highlight Bumrah, lol, nice.

Lmaooooooooo

How's the toe Rohit?

Just need Amir to bowl him first ball, send off will be lengendary

I would have understood his comments if Asia Cup was Amir's first appearance ever, but the guy was a world class bowler at 17 and then comes back after 5 years and is almost equally good, what more do you need to say?

Yes Bunrah is good but it is Bumrah who is new and has to perform over a periode of time.

Anyways both bowlers are there. Let us see how their careers turn out...

The devil is in the details and subtlety. ;-)

Nothing wrong with saying

1. Don't hype up Amir.
2. He has to perform more
3. There are other Pakistani bowlers good too

But he goes above and beyond that.

Definitely he is got talent but aisa kuch nahin ki aake woh sabko uda hi deta hai (it's not that he rips apart all line-ups). He's just a normal bowler who was good on that day."

One doesn't need harsh words to make his points heard. The choice of words in a particular context makes all the difference.

Every damn bowler in the world (even a lulloo) is good on his day.
Very few bowlers can ever come and rip apart line ups.

These are OBVIOUS statements that everyone knows.

So when you make it at a moment when people are hyping up some talent, then what you want to say is clearly known.

Coming on to the next point:

"Instead of talking about Amir you should talk about Bumrah. He's our Indian bowler and doing well. He's a rare talent. He's young. He's got a long way ahead. The way he has started he will do something special."

After the Amir statement, Rohit chooses to ask the media to shift focus on XYZ bowler (who is very good in his own right). After playing down Amir's achievements in Asia Cup with generic statements like "let him perform", "he ain't gonna blow away lineups" that applies to every upcoming bowler....he focuses on Bumrah's bowling details.

Nothing wrong in him asking media to give credit to Indian bowlers (who frankly deserve it) but the sequence of events and the way he says it clear what he wants to imply.

---

We don't have to shout to make our displeasure or annoyance known...a facial expression or a casual remark in the right moment is enough.

That's what Rohit did.

Oh man Rohit! What have you done? Now back your tone with your bat too. These things look good on Pak players not you.. :facepalm:

I agree with him. Amir is all hype. Junaid Khan is the real bowler Pakistan needs.

Bad sportsman spirit by rohit. Really like you as a batsmen but comon, If amir is not good the susperstar kohli wouldn't have rated him high even before the game. Real men appreciate real talent even if its your opponent. Wasim akram himself said amir is better than him so you think we should listen to you. I know rohit is good but take him out for 5 years and tell me if he will be half good. Amir performing even after 5 years is the reason he is getting all the love and respect. Toe must be hurting really bad

I"M LOVIN' THIS. Finally, someone from the parosis have the guts to speak their heart out.

Pakstanisque, as someone mentioned. :srini

But it's also true that Rohit is being EXTREMELY bitter, as sif/@jaded pointed out. He's probably hurt after getting owned twice in 2 balls. :akhtar

I mean, someone like Virat Kohli, who wasn't even being diplomatic, genuinely praised Amir even before the match. Why? Because he'd seen Amir actually bowl, loong before Asia Cup started.

It wasn't Amir's first outing, he's a well known bowler, and highly rated by EVERY friggin' bowling expert in the whole wide world. For a reason. Even Martin Guptill couldn't stop his words of praises for Amir after the ODI series in NZ.

And then.... Rohit goes on to say 'pls hype Bumrah, he's the real deal.' :srini :))) :)))

OK,

It reminds me of "come to India, then we'll see!!". Rohit is back in flat runway lands, he can speak his mind and will probably own bowlers too now.

Rohit's been hiding this, finally let out his frustration:

giphy.gif

Lol! This guy is a FTB, garbage test player. :))

Still upset about that toe-crusher and the ownage, I see.

He is talking nonsense these days i mean what else does Aamir need to prove, dont he remember how destructive Aamir used to be in the past,He is talking as if He Himself used to graze cattle instead of playing cricket 5 years earlier therefore not knowing Aamir,one should spare a good thought for such a wonderful bowler....no takers for such a stupid statement

Lets see if Rohit has the toes to take strike against Amir in the World Cup match.

Really hope Amir bowls him through the gate and then laughs.

It is one of most stupid interviews by an Indian player in the recent times. Sharma needs to shut up and concentrate on his batting. Just say something politically correct and get rid of the interviewer.

What he said about Amir is absolutely spot on. Amir definitely isn't in the league of Wasim Akram yet and needs to actually perform and put his team in positions of strength consistently.

But I'm not sure in what context he spoke about Bumrah. I hope he's not comparing Amir and Bumrah, who are extremely different bowlers. If he did, it comes across as bitter.

He said Amir shouldn't be judged after 1 match. Pretty ignorant considering he's been brilliant in the majority of the matches since his comeback AND quiet easily the best bowler in the asia cup. His hype is pretty much justified.

Rohit has actually 'earned' the right to speak his mind. What he said is not completely ridiculous. Posters have to read them with open mind. We understand that Pakistan has only 1 world class player at the moment but that doesn't mean he can't get equal footing with other bowlers. Amir is yet to earn the next pedestal.

Not hyping Amir (who IS world class, btw) is fine, but what about hyping Bumrah who is a nobody?

Thats why i dont like Rohit and some Indians. Those words by Rohit about Aamer is arrogant and devoid of courtesy. Rohit himself is an overhyped batsman with no consistency.

Aamer is >>>>>>>better than Bombraaah.Bumrah is not eye pleasing at all with an ugly looking action.He will be exposed soon.

Here is the thing Bumrah didn't say any of this ,the guy is trying is best in what capacity he can no point bringing him here and calling him names say what you want about the guy that gave the interview.

I back Amir to get the better of Rohit 9 times out of 10. Kohli can deliver under pressure but not Rohit.
I wont be too sure about that. Yes Kohli is very consistent but he will not hurt you with big sixes. If its Rohit Sharma's day he can tear apart any bowler. Remember how he assaulted Junaid Khan in the Asia cup 2014? Not saying Rohit will smash Amir next time they face but he is very capable of doing that. And once get going there is no Indian batsman more destructive than him.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk