"I feel that I am back to my best" : Junaid Khan

He's average at best in T20s. Everyone knows this.

Correction:

He's average at best. Everyone knows this. Except his furious fans.

Not a bowler who should be playing for Pak. Look at the future now.

Correction:

He's average at best. Everyone knows this. Except his furious fans.

Not a bowler who should be playing for Pak. Look at the future now.

What are you basing your opinion off of? His average of around 25 over the last year or so? His performance in the 2017 CT and the last Asia Cup? His career average of 27? His age?

Speaking to press after Multan Sultan win

"I enjoy myself at any level of cricket whether its for Pakistan, league or club cricket"

"My belief is that if I cam come from a small village and play Tests for Pakistan then I can also make a comeback"

"The injury I had was due to a problem with my toe which was caused by my shoe"

"Apart from the 19-20 guys who could play the world cup, there are others also who think they can play in the world cup; No one knows who will play or not play there"

"In 2015, I was the main bowler in the World Cup but it wasnt in my 'qismet' to play later so thats what happened"

"If you ask me, I am hoping that I am in the list of XI for the World Cup squad but it depends on Inzi Bhai and Mickey and on my performance and fitness also"

"What more can one say about Shahid Afridi? He is a player who has played for Pakistan for 15-20 years and plays so many leagues etc"

"This was Ali Shafiq's first PSL game and but the way he showed his skills with slow balls and yorkers as well as the variations he brought in, it appeared that he was the most senior bowler; Inshallah he is the future of Pakistan and if he plays like that he will play for Pakistan"

Good yorker and over from JK, slow bouncers also -

"Over the years, I feel that Junaid Khan has lost a little bit of pace, but with the experience he has gained a lot of control over his bowling; bowls wonderful line and lengths"

Waqar on JK

"Over the years, I feel that Junaid Khan has lost a little bit of pace, but with the experience he has gained a lot of control over his bowling; bowls wonderful line and lengths"

Waqar on JK

With his 130 KPH thunderbolts, he isn't really threatening. Better than the likes of Abbas for sure, but does not make the team over Shinwari or even Amir.

Yeah agree pace is pace yr .Every top team play medium pacer to provide control and break through early in inning.India have b.kumar,eng have willey,nz have southee .So i don.t know what phast bowler are you own about .Thankfully you are not chief selector who could have open the bowling with wahab raiz .the same guy who miss his run up 5 time in international game.

Junaid wipes the floor with phasst Shinwari.

Had a good opening spell today. 24 dots out of the 30 he bowled. Hopefully, he finishes well and books his place on the plane to England.

Watching shinwari 135 thunderbolt i don.t know why he is even called fast medium .he is clearly medium pacer

Had a good opening spell today. 24 dots out of the 30 he bowled. Hopefully, he finishes well and books his place on the plane to England.

Still clueless and dont understand why he has been getting dropped since 2017. The only pacer after Afridi that takes wickets with the new ball.

Yea but they didnt even play him in the Asia cup except for that BD game. Then didnt even make it to SA.

Yeah, Mickey doesn't rate him and Inzamam had to intervene. I believe he was injured for the South African tour, at least for the LO leg.

Brilliance from Junaid with those slow bouncers at Maxwell - impressive

He quietly gets the job done. His not a player that will make you stand up. But he knows that to do with ball in hand.

Feels like he's bowled will this series, based on following on CI. He's bowling at the death to a set Maxwell so you have to take that into account when looking at his economy rate.

Junaid Khan Support Thread

Dear mods, if there is already a thread like this then kindly merge it into that.

Saw the longest running PP thread was about one of the most polarizing figures in Pak Cricket: Shoaib Malik.
Thought Junaid has been treated a bit unfairly throughout his career and has been bashed to no limits on Pakpassion with accusations of chucking and whatnot.

I am one of his fans, sounds like a level headed guy in his interviews. I think he is a clever bowler, knows his limitations, reads the game better than most of our bowlers. adapts well to the situation, goes for attack when the situation demands and bowls defensively when team is on the backfoot. Plus is also a pretty underrated death bowler (his pinpoint yorkers back in 2012-14). Raises his game a notch when playing against WI. Has a good record against Chris Gayle. Was instrumental in our CT17 victory(2nd highest wickettaker). Has good record against Virat Kohli of all people. I may be very biased but I like what he brings to the table except his untimely injuries.
So who else supports him?

Already know a lot of them who are going for his head 24/7

Every mediocre player has a support thread on PP, so was only a matter of time before Juno got one.

He’s been a shadow of his former self more or less post Champions Trophy 2013. He was very lethal in that tournament, had pace, had movement, then was the 5-fer vs SL in tests too. His figures don’t show it, but it was the pressure he built that allowed Irfan and Wahab to capitalize. Was decent in SAF too. Him, Irfan and Wahab at the time were shaping up to be quite a trip.

However ever since his knee injury and the exaggerating hopping pre delivery he was never the same again. That 2013 tournament and the aane do series was his peak, and people even thought he was a greater prospect than 2010 Amir. We now know both were false hopes.

He then went wicketless for a record number of games in ODIs all of 2014, got dropped, and now has been hit and miss.

Overall a poor man’s Umar Gul. Umar Gul at least had a peak of a few years and was the most lethal death overs bowler for a period of time. Junaid’s lasted 2 years.

Was a fan of his and gave him a lot of leeway, but after the 2014-2015 season it was clear he wouldn’t reach the previous heights again.

Willing to be surprised but not banking my hopes on him, we have more talented pacers who have shown up in the last 2 years who have shown promise so he wouldn’t be that big of a loss.

Every mediocre player has a support thread on PP, so was only a matter of time before Juno got one.

He’s been a shadow of his former self more or less post Champions Trophy 2013. He was very lethal in that tournament, had pace, had movement, then was the 5-fer vs SL in tests too. His figures don’t show it, but it was the pressure he built that allowed Irfan and Wahab to capitalize. Was decent in SAF too. Him, Irfan and Wahab at the time were shaping up to be quite a trip.

However ever since his knee injury and the exaggerating hopping pre delivery he was never the same again. That 2013 tournament and the aane do series was his peak, and people even thought he was a greater prospect than 2010 Amir. We now know both were false hopes.

He then went wicketless for a record number of games in ODIs all of 2014, got dropped, and now has been hit and miss.

Overall a poor man’s Umar Gul. Umar Gul at least had a peak of a few years and was the most lethal death overs bowler for a period of time. Junaid’s lasted 2 years.

Was a fan of his and gave him a lot of leeway, but after the 2014-2015 season it was clear he wouldn’t reach the previous heights again.

Willing to be surprised but not banking my hopes on him, we have more talented pacers who have shown up in the last 2 years who have shown promise so he wouldn’t be that big of a loss.

Don't you rate his CT 17 performances? Yes he was not the same bowler after his 2014 injury, but don't you think he was simply rushed in too quickly from a major injury? He was bowling at around 135kph avg speed in 2014 and was bowling aroung 128-130 after his comeback. I had lost hope in his bowling after his performances against Bang and SL that year. But his 2016 inripper to Chris Gayle on the first ball of the match gave me a hope that he had gotten in a reasonable shape. Fast forward to 2017, he set the tone for our first ODI victory in AUstralia since 2005 by removing the openers in the 2nd ODI.

Plus I would like to disagree with you over the fact that he built the pressure and Irfan and Wahab reaped the rewards, I think it was Mohammad Irfan's wonder pacy bouncy stuff that created all the pressure and Junaid and the third seamer Gul/Wahab would reap the rewards. Irfan had been pretty consistent in that role of choking the batters in the first powerplay. That was the blue print for our some good bowling performances in 2012-13.

He was again out of the contention during the most part of the last year as Shinwari and Shaheen were preferred over him during Asia Cup yet he found a way back in by claiming a 4fer on his return.

I think if given the same room for improvement that Amir or Hasan have been given, Junaid can do a very very respectable job probably better than what Amir has done apart from that CT final spell.
The thing is with Amir, Hasan and Shaheen being more of the swing bowlers, Junaid is the one who relies on seam movement rather than swing. Not taking anything away from Hasan or Shaheen, Shaheen has been brilliant and Hasan is there to stay even with a blip in his form since Asia cup,

he was our go to bowler pre world cup 2015.A real set back in his career was knee injury.
But now he has lost his pace . his attitude and Aggression is same he still has the appetite to perform for Pakistan. Which gives him edge over amir.
But both amir and junaid are dead horses now and should not be in starting 11. When you have young guns like hasnain, shaheen, hassan, harris rauf.

Been playing international cricket since 2011 and still can't get his run up right. Got obliterated against a club side and people think he's going to be our frontline bowler at the World Cup.

He's way too injury prone and not as good as he used to be. His average used to be around 23 it's now around 28 or 29. It'll only get worse

Why do people keep bringing CT to defend everyone? Why not the same yardstick for Hafeez, Azhar Ali etc who had a good CT as well. CT was 2 years ago for gods sake. People need to perform in between as well to be selected. Junaid hasn't been bad but his CT performance should be the reason for him to get in.

He has seldom played in between due to injuries and not being on management's favorable list.
Yes he was average in the series against Zimbabwe, but he got only 1 dead rubber in Asia Cup where he got 4 wickets. After that injury occurred again, but got only 3 ODI's in the Australia series where all the bowlers did equally poor tbh. Even though he still got 4 wickets in 3 games, but we were extremely poor in that series.
On form and rhythm, I think he deserves a selection over Amir. Shinwari I feel was a bit hard done by even though he fluctuates between the two extremes, really good or really bad.
Hafeez is getting the stick because he might be blocking Haris Sohail's spot at no.4. Otherwise he has been fine ish since CT. Azhar Ali retired himself.

He threatened to quit Pakistan for England, so I am not sure how level-headed he is. Also, his record against Kohli means absolutely nothing.

It is based on three matches 6-7 years ago when Kohli was not the player he is today and was also out of form. He has made mincemeat of far better bowlers and Junaid has nothing in his armory to trouble him.

Junaid was finished 5 years ago. He lost considerable pace due to a series of knee injuries in 2014. He never had the ability to swing the ball but he could reverse at impressive pace. However, once he was reduced to a 130 kph trundler, he became cannon-fodder with the old ball as well.

He cannot be trusted under pressure and can lose the plot at any given moment. The era of Junaid and Wahab etc. is long gone and Pakistan must move on from them for good.

Junaid is clearly better than Amir. I am sure that he will perform well in WC. Those who are not sure about it are blind Amir fans. I saw Junaid bowl in BPL. He was really good.

Pakistan will do a terrible mistake if they select Amir. Amir is no longer suitable for playing for Pakistan

He threatened to quit Pakistan for England, so I am not sure how level-headed he is. Also, his record against Kohli means absolutely nothing.

It is based on three matches 6-7 years ago when Kohli was not the player he is today and was also out of form. He has made mincemeat of far better bowlers and Junaid has nothing in his armory to trouble him.

Junaid was finished 5 years ago. He lost considerable pace due to a series of knee injuries in 2014. He never had the ability to swing the ball but he could reverse at impressive pace. However, once he was reduced to a 130 kph trundler, he became cannon-fodder with the old ball as well.

He cannot be trusted under pressure and can lose the plot at any given moment. The era of Junaid and Wahab etc. is long gone and Pakistan must move on from them for good.

Who is talking about Kohli?
Why so insecure all the time.

Everyone at PP is well aware how great a player Kohli is.

Who is talking about Kohli?
Why so insecure all the time.

Everyone at PP is well aware how great a player Kohli is.

Read post 180. The OP (before his thread was merged) stated that Junaid has a good record against Kohli.

He himself said that move to England was hyped up by media and there was no truth in that.

So Junaid Khan gets a chance to impress in the 3rd ODI

Will be interesting to compare him directly with Faheem today who has come in for a lot of criticism. I'm not convinced that Junaid is much more effective to be honest, but hopefully he will prove me wrong today.

Junaid is a much better option with the ball tbh Where faheem supposedly trumps him is that he offers 25 runs with the bat which however we arent seeing

Pretty much last chance for Junaid to make him relevant for the World Cup

He was finished 5 years ago and this should be his last stint in national colours. No pace, no swing, no seam, no control, no brains - he has nothing going for him. In addition, he is a complete liability with the bat and in the field.

Junaid is a much better option with the ball tbh Where faheem supposedly trumps him is that he offers 25 runs with the bat which however we arent seeing

The sweep/paddle shot for six by Roy summed Junaid up. On flat pitches with no seam movement you'd get more threat from a Shahid Afridi bouncer.

Both are pretty mediocre tbh and dont deserve selction

One is supposed to be a all rounder that cant bat the and junaid fielding has been god awful
If both arent selected for the worldcup then itd be deservedly so

Even the English crowd were jeering and laughing at his fumbling attempts in the field. Send him home for God's sake.

Yea indeed we have seen his best today. Even faheem was actually much better than this trundler at least he could field well.

Think hes done well to book his plane ticket back to pakistan after this game

Enough. Well out of his depth. That angled wide delivery to a hapless Adil Rashid with a deep cover and fine third-man, just sort of said it all about his thought process right now.

Junaid would have been shocked himself when he heard his name included in the World Cup squad in the first place. He is living off his past performances, and that is another big reason where the PCB is a tool of a management board.

People seeing the light now.He is really awful.Should have been dumped a long time ago.He should be send home along with faheem mediocre Ashraf.Both of these trundlers should make way for wahab and haris.

He doesn't have the pace no more and can he consistently rely on variation?

The curtain must fall on Junaid's career now. He is past his best and we must move on now. Shocking he is here ahead of Usman Shinwari and Harris Rauf.