"I met Wasim and Waqar last week and they told me not to fear anyone" : Wahab Riaz

Pakistan pace bowler Wahab Riaz says he would have been watching the World Cup at home without the help of inspirational advice from Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis.

Riaz was not on the selectors' radar for the World Cup following a costly spell of 8.4 overs which yielded 89 runs against arch-rivals India in Pakistan's Champions Trophy match two years ago.

He was only a last-minute inclusion in the World Cup squad after another left-arm paceman, Junaid Khan, was short of fitness and form in the one-day series defeat against England just prior to the tournament.

But the 33-year-old has made the most of his unexpected chance thanks to pep talks from his idols Wasim and Waqar, the former Pakistan stars regarded as two of the sport's finest fast bowlers.

“It's a complete change of fate and I am enjoying that,” Riaz told reporters on Thursday. “I would have been watching the World Cup in my drawing room and praying for Pakistan team.

“But I am here taking wickets and getting inspiration from Wasim, who I watched bowling in my childhood and idolised all my career, and my former coach Waqar. They are inspiring me here.”

Riaz led the Pakistan attack with 3-82 in his team's surprise 14-run win over tournament favourites England on Monday and immediately gave the credit to Wasim and Waqar.

“I met Wasim and Waqar last week and they told me not to fear anyone. Wasim told me that I looked great and those words inspired me a lot,” he said.

Riaz admitted he needed words of encouragement after his disappointing form in recent years.

“When you are not in the team then you need encouragement and the two great bowlers helped me get back to my full confidence,” he said.

After a dismal opening match defeat against the West Indies, Pakistan kick-started their World Cup campaign at England's expense on Monday.

Now they will look to build on that confidence-boosting success against Sri Lanka in Bristol on Friday. “We know that it was just one win. We need to cover nine steps before the semi-final so we must cover them slowly and gradually,” Riaz said.

As the battle to be the World Cup's top wicket-taker heats up, Riaz feels the hype around Jasprit Bumrah will put pressure on India's pace spearhead.

“Bumrah has been doing well,” Riaz said after Bumrah took 2-35 in India's opening game win over South Africa on Wednesday.

“Obviously, he has played just one game (in this World Cup) but has been doing well in the recent past. If he is rated to be the best bowler in this event then he will have more pressure of that.

“Bowlers are all good but whoever does well on the day will be rated as the best.”

https://www.dawn.com/news/1486720/pakistan-legends-inspired-riazs-journey-to-world-cup-fame

For someone who goes for an average of 105 runs of his 10 overs this guy surly talks a lot!!

Lol why do you need someone to tell you that ?

Got to admit he did bowl well against England though. The only fear I have is that there will be a game where he will be taken apart.

Just try to concede about a 100 less runs Wahab. Not asking for much here.

Wahab has tendency to make these kind of remarks. Ultimately if he continues to perform it doesn’t really matter.

Call him whatever but dude genuinely goes out there to do best for the country and has a big heart.

Too many players these days moan and ***** when not selected like Tape Khan, or when selected go into their shells like it’s just another 9-5 job so look disinterested, or play for themselves.

I’m not his biggest fan but best of luck to Wabby.

Koi na wahab give your 100 percent and results will come.He has bowled intelligently he will keep picking up wickets.

Should have recorded what W&W said on his phone and listen on repeat before every match.

I find it odd that a grown man father of a daughter needs to be given a pep talk like a teenager ke darna nahi hai.

It took a Wasim and/or Waqar to tell him that? Is he a 6 year old?

He wasn't MOM, bowled well but wasn't a great spell.Not sure why he's giving all these statements as if he has actually achieved something.

Lets not make fun of him. He is just sharing his experiences. And its harmless really.

Call him whatever but dude genuinely goes out there to do best for the country and has a big heart.

Too many players these days moan and ***** when not selected like Tape Khan, or when selected go into their shells like it’s just another 9-5 job so look disinterested, or play for themselves.

I’m not his biggest fan but best of luck to Wabby.

"Runs in hard and has a big heart".

Equals giving 100 runs in 10 overs every other match. Wait for his century, will score it soon.

:najam

We can see the effort he is putting into the game and rightly he is being rewarded.
He has become a clever fast bowler.

Lets not make fun of him. He is just sharing his experiences. And its harmless really.

A grown man sharing his experiences like he's a little kid receiving advice for the first time. He deserves to be made fun of. Anyone else from the team makes childish comments like this deserves it as well.

To be fair to Wahab, after listening to Wasim bhai commentate this is exactly the kind of cliched advice he would have given. Maybe he also told him about flicking his wrist ...

I swear this guy only pops up in world cups and goes missing on the selectors radar after them. Big 33 year old cannot even move the ball 1cm, try to not concede 5 boundaries in one over please.

3-82 should be a test match figure

For someone who has not watched the match. Wahab indeed bowled well, he was unlucky that there were no slips and the edges went for runs rather than wkts.in the end he did his job.