"I really don’t think Kamran Akmal fits into our plans going forward" : Mickey Arthur

Shafi

"I really don’t think Kamran Akmal fits into our plans going forward" : Mickey Arthur

SHARJAH: Despite being in scintillating form with the willow, it is almost certain that Kamran Akmal is unlikely to be playing for Pakistan again if the national team head coach Mickey Arthur keeps to his word.

During Friday night’s post-match media conference here at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, the Pakistan coach was asked whether the 36-year-old wicket-keeper/batsman merits a recall after he had blasted a brilliant unbeaten 107 against Lahore Qalandars, while steering defending champions Peshawar Zalmi to the PSL playoffs.

Arthur came straight to the point.

“To be brutally honest I really don’t think Kamran fits into our plans going forward with a young team into the [upcoming] matches against the West Indies. There’s no doubt in my mind about his abilities as a very fine batsman and he’s form has been awesome in this PSL. He’s one of those guys who never says never and he played beautifully against Lahore and was truly outstanding.

“But then the same old question that comes to mind is where will Kamran field? Because Sarfraz Ahmed would keep wickets and he’s the Pakistan captain. To be fair to Kamran, he really scored a wonderful century but we got to be realistic as well,” Arthur replied.

“Pakistan are the world No. 1 T20 side at the moment and so there won’t be too many changes for that series against the West Indies, I guess,” he added.

Kamran is the leading run-getter in the current edition, as he was last year when he scored 353, with 347 runs ahead of Tuesday’s first eliminator clash Quetta Gladiators in Lahore.

Published in Dawn, March 18th, 2018

Source:::: https://www.dawn.com/news/1395905/kamran-akmal-not-in-national-team-plans-says-mickey-arthur

I still think he can do a job as a T20 opener but if the idea is to invest in a youngster instead, I much prefer that.

Kamran got his chance. the guy never performed when he was playing. now move on

I still think he can do a job as a T20 opener but if the idea is to invest in a youngster instead, I much prefer that.

bro, thing is, When Kamran was a regular part of the team where was his performance then?

THe guy was a permanent member of the team for atleast 10 years.

The guy blew it up himself.

BOM BOM POW!

Best statement ever. Straight to the point. No walking on eggshells.

Mickey has earned a spot in the hall of fame.

Good to hear. The right call. Mickey should be honest like this about more domestic bullies.

weird to come in the middle of the tournament where kamran bats for a rival team... some kind of mental point scoring as well? perhaps not but the timing isn't right... would have expected him to say ask me this after the tournament

Damn, even after performing well he won't be considered. Sarfraz has secured the wicket keeper spot, and that's probably going to keep Kakmal out. That's a shame would have liked to see him play in his current form :(, based on what Arthur said don't think Kamran will ever get a chance again.

bro, thing is, When Kamran was a regular part of the team where was his performance then?

THe guy was a permanent member of the team for atleast 10 years.

The guy blew it up himself.

I don't disagree, my two points of contention would be

a) awarding merit based on performance

b) the absolute dearth of good openers (incredible how our opening would go from Achilles heel to outright strength if we had Sharjeel...)

I'm certainly no fan of Kami bhai, just think as an immediate option, probably the best of a poor bunch sort of argument. However, as stated, if Mickey wants to invest in a youngster who actually has potential and talent, then I'm all for it. My issue would be skipping Kami for dross like Rafatullah which is something we have done and are capable of doing but Mickey's words are reassuring.

He's absolutely right.

You get cases in English domestic t20 tournaments where an old has been would occasionally play a few gems, but no one even thinks about them as potential England players to return.

Why is it that every time an old flop has a decent tournament he should be re-considered for national colours?

In this PSL, the only guy that I can just about tolerate for a return is Wahab Riaz in T20s and possibly Rahat Ali

T20 require conservative, reliable and consistent pacers. Wahab and Rahat can be serial match losers. That is exemplified far more in T20s than tests where they can often get away with it. Riaz's pace can bully poor batsman on decks where the ball doesn't come onto the bat cleanly, but he'll be THE prime piñata against international batsman on typical decks.

Thank god for that. Kamy had his chances and shouldve worked on his game then Hes 37 and its time to move on He can make as many runs as he likes, the horse bolted years ago

Has proven this entire year that he is still one of the best openers in Pakistan, not a Kamran fan but he deserves to be in the team as an opener because if he plays like this then why would anybody complain, do we not remember the fast starts he gave us in 2009.

What is stopping the other younger openers from scoring? They face the same bowling attacks

Unprofessional for a rival coach to come out and say this mid tournament, hope Kamran blitzes Karachi again and shuts this arrogant guy up, taking credit for how the team is doing, when its individual brilliance guiding the team nearly every series from players he was initially reluctant to play and had his hand forced by injuries to his favourites

What was Kamran's performance in his last series?? He was the main culprit for Sydney test, World Cup 2011........

If you want to go back to 2011 go back to 2009 and his heroics opening the batting in a world cup win too. Nearly all of our batsmen failed in Australia, his keeping has always been poor but nobody should doubt the mans batting. Only two Pakistani players have played such an exciting opening innings this season and that is Kamran twice in a row and Fakhar Zaman. What is stopping the younger players from emulating him? I understand nobody likes him but that should not stand in the way of his performances, he has had an absolutely amazing year including a double hundred and once again possibly could be top scorer of Pakistans elite T20 league.

Performances should always be rewarded, no matter who you are

Had both brothers actually worked hard on their fitness and lost some weight then Micky could worry about fielding this guy in the side.

Both are at least 10kg over weight.

Ha ha ha.. brilliant... exact samething I said in another thread that someone should ask Mickey about Kami

and he ‘ll say “No he is not in our plans” and that’s what exactly he said. Thanks Micky. Akmal Brothers can make their own team called “Crying 11” and play on street tournaments because psl willnot allow such team either.:yk

Akmal will try to use media to criticize Mickey for not selecting him and try to emotionally blackmail selectors into getting him on the side. It's like Pakistani team owes them something.

He's absolutely right.

You get cases in English domestic t20 tournaments where an old has been would occasionally play a few gems, but no one even thinks about them as potential England players to return.

Why is it that every time an old flop has a decent tournament he should be re-considered for national colours?

Wahab Riaz' no balls against India in CT and his utter brainless well wide of the pitch volley to the standing at the edge of the pitch still haunts me.

You people never learn. I remember arguing two pages with two Akmal fans last time this failure was chosen to play against WI. He failed miserably, the 18 and 21 runs he made in the T20s were awful and I did and posted an analysis that 80% of balls were dot balls.

If we are going down that route let's play Shehzad. He wasn't good enough to play as a keeper-batsman, never mind a batsman only.

We beat NZ, no need to include failure has-beens.

Allah ka shukar Mickey ko bhi aqal ayi.... I hope he uses the same logic with Hafeez and later on Malik.

A coach should not be making such statements in public.

Maybe he doesn't, but if his performances are better than the likes of Ahmed Shehzad then what does that say about the selectors.

Thank God. Last year he had an amazing PSL too but we saw how mediocre he was back in Pakistan colours.

Great thinking! Nothing against Akmal, he is putting his hand up with some good performances, but it's time for Pakistan to move on from the past.

Thank God. Last year he had an amazing PSL too but we saw how mediocre he was back in Pakistan colours.

Even last year it wasn't amazing. He only scored runs above 10 in 3 out of 10 innings. The other 7 innings he failed miserably. He padded runs in only 3 games to make it look like his average per game was high.

The current Kami in T20s would be better than almost every T20 batsman in the Pak lineup.

Had both brothers actually worked hard on their fitness and lost some weight then Micky could worry about fielding this guy in the side.

Both are at least 10kg over weight.

I actually read the heading as - "I don't think Kamran Akmal fits into our planes going forward", and thought, boy he must have really put on weight.

Mickey's thoughts are muddled a little bit. He is concerned about where Akmal will field. He can take place of any other batsman and not necessarily of only Sarfraz.

“But then the same old question that comes to mind is where will Kamran field? Because Sarfraz Ahmed would keep wickets and he’s the Pakistan captain. To be fair to Kamran, he really scored a wonderful century but we got to be realistic as well,” Arthur replied.

In an attempt to read between the lines: Arthur is basically admitting that Kamran is a better player than Sarfraz, who has the luxury of being the captain.

two birds with one stone... Sarfraz better watch out!

Hey Mickey, thats good to know.... can i have ur opinion on a non performing Mr Hafeez as well?

dont read into too much guys, thats the first thought came to mickey's mind about fielding position to curve the question.

Based on Sarfraz's performances over the last year, I have no doubts that Kamran is a betters batsmen right now.

Inshallah when Zalmi runs though Quetta, it will be good to see if Kakmal scores 70+ against Arthur's Karachi kings to win the game. It would be a great sight arthurs reactions in the dressing room. :D

Mickey's thoughts are muddled a little bit. He is concerned about where Akmal will field. He can take place of any other batsman and not necessarily of only Sarfraz.

Who's place will he take? Wouldn't it be better to give a chance to someone new than recycle a tried tested and failed player?

As much as some people would like for Sarfraz thrown out of the team (Due to some convoluted bias that they might have) Let me remind everyone, to make their Peace with the fact that Saifi will remain captain for the forseeable future!

Thank You :)

As much as some people would like for Sarfraz thrown out of the team (Due to some convoluted bias that they might have) Let me remind everyone, to make their Peace with the fact that Saifi will remain captain for the forseeable future!

Thank You :)

He averaged 38 at a strike rate of 86 in ODIs 2017. Not sure what these paindoos are complaining about.

Thank you Mickey for being straightforward and blunt. There's absolutely no place for tried and tested failure and shady characters like Akmal brothers. They should be noway near our national team.

Sarfraz haters can fantasize and dream all they want it will only affect their own health. Sarfraz is our national hero and he's here to stay.

I don't think there is a single cricket coach around the world who gives bytes about some player or the other like Micky does. It is either about someone being the next Klusner or it is about someone being out of favour. Anyways, all in good fun.

Sarfraz should stay as our captain and WK, however I would play Kakmal as a specialist opener as not many have done a good job of partnering Fakhar.

I just believe a player should be selected on merit, and we pretty much have an openers slot available alongside Fakhar.

This is a brilliant ploy by Mickey to demoralize Kamran so that he doesnt play to his potential in further PSL games. :bm

I think this is good from Mickey ,he doesn't suit international matches, he scores heavily in domestics always but when it comes to international matches he is totally flop and his fitness is not good for international matches, There are more youngsters who r waiting for their chance and r better than Kamran

Sarfraz should stay as our captain and WK, however I would play Kakmal as a specialist opener as not many have done a good job of partnering Fakhar.

I just believe a player should be selected on merit, and we pretty much have an openers slot available alongside Fakhar.

No there r better players than Kamran ,kamran is useless in international matches .players like Sahibzada, talat ,asif Ali, shaheen shah should be tried in WI series

I don't think there is a single cricket coach around the world who gives bytes about some player or the other like Micky does. It is either about someone being the next Klusner or it is about someone being out of favour. Anyways, all in good fun.

very unprofessional

Arthur didn't compare Ashraf to Klusener publicly, it was Ashraf who revealed the comment in an interview.

Such straight talk is welcome. Kamran has no place in the national team in 2018, he was given his shot in the Caribbean last year after strong domestic performances but failed.

"Just give me three chances as an opener and if I fail to deliver, then I will have no complaints even if I’ll be dropped permanently.” - Kamran Akmal, Jan 2014

somebody mail him this

No harm in playing him in T20's as an opener. Can slog and bat as a rapid pace which is what Pk needs. T20 is a unique format where technique is less crucial. If you can wallop for 5 overs, you are dangerous.

54 off 17 so far.

This is beyond a blinder, what a knock. Happy the crowd is getting treated to this today. Akmal, for all his innumerable sins, is the closest Sharjeel-like opener we have left when he's confident and in form.

I'm fine with him in T20Is. But you have to drop Sarfraz. Make Fakhar, Imad or Amir captain

What will we achieve by selecting this domestic bully? World Cup 2 years away.

T20 should be used in prep for that or as a means to blend youngsters into the system. Kamran fits neither. Enjoy your pay day with T20 now.

The current Kami in T20s would be better than almost every T20 batsman in the Pak lineup.

I said it here.

People hate him because of biases. The fact is he's our best chance at winning anything major in T20s.

And that's because we have no quality hitters against pace bowling.. apart from him, Hafeez who can time pace well, and Fakhar Zaman.

What will we achieve by selecting this domestic bully? World Cup 2 years away.

T20 should be used in prep for that or as a means to blend youngsters into the system. Kamran fits neither. Enjoy your pay day with T20 now.

You win cups with best players, especially against pace.

Most alternatives are significantly poor so your logic does not make sense.

Only few have potential who are not competing for Kami s spot.. Hussain Talat and Farhan.

Kami always had ability with the bat and a decent enough game to face intl level pace bowling
He never did himself justice ,

It's his shenanigans behind the stumps that probably effected everything and ruined his career