"I think Australia is probably going to blow them away" : Shane Warne on 2nd Australia v India Test

Spin legend Shane Warne believes Australia will "blow away" India in the Boxing Day Test as the visitors are still a "bit shocked" by the Adelaide humiliation.

Australia had bundled out India for their lowest-ever Test score of 36 in the opening Test which the hosts won by eight wickets. The next game is due to start on Saturday and India will be without talismanic skipper Virat Kohli, who has gone on paternity leave.

"I think Australia is probably going to blow them away," Warne, who claimed a record 708 Test wickets for Australia, told 'Fox Cricket'.

"Having said that, they have some class players to come in like KL Rahul. Young Gill will come in. (Ajinkya) Rahane is a class act. We know what (Cheteshwar) Pujara can do," he said.

"(Mohammed) Shami is a huge loss as well. He's such a quality bowler. And if you look at bowlers for the Melbourne conditions – drop in pitches – Shami hits the seam and stands it up and bowls a good length and straight."

Indian batsmen drew a lot of flak after the Australian bowling unit, including Pat Cummins (4-21) and Josh Hazlewood (5-8), bamboozled the visitors in the opening Test.

However, Warne believes the Australian pace battery deserves more credit for the win in the series-opener than the criticism faced by the Indian batsmen.

"Yeah, you can have a go at the Indians but I think you would rather give credit to the Australians and how well they bowled," the 51-year-old former leg-spinner said.

"They were outstanding, that bowling attack. The four bowlers plus Green, they have been good bowlers for a long time. They are turning themselves into great bowlers now. To watch them go to work in Adelaide was fantastic."

Warne believes the current quartet of Cummins, Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon is already on track to become Australia's greatest bowling unit.

"They are definitely in the conversation (to compare them to my era). They are outstanding those four bowlers and they have been for a while," Warne said.

"If they continue on this form for the next four or five years going like this, then they will be in the conversation as the best bowling attack Australia maybe has ever had."

Australia has produced some of the world's greatest bowlers such as Dennis Lillee, Jeff Thomson, Glenn McGrath, Brett Lee and Jason Gillespie, apart from a spin wizard like Warne.

"You think of Lillee, Thommo, Lee, Gillespie and those guys... But as a four any one time, these guys are in the conversation as some of the best Australia has ever had," he said.

https://www.outlookindia.com/websit...ill-blow-away-india-in-boxing-day-test/368251

Can definitely see this happening. Warne will know the feeling of knowing you are on top of the opposition in a series. He was in that position for most of his career.

Stay Strong Indian brothers

Already weakened, I am still in coma. That collapse and Kohli run out still haunting me.
Better take a break from cricket for a while. I am not in a mood to watch rest of the series.

Already weakened, I am still in coma. That collapse and Kohli run out still haunting me.
Better take a break from cricket for a while. I am not in a mood to watch rest of the series.

I’m missing my Indian brothers reminding us of our 7th ranking and what not etc. Kya ho gaya hai bhai logo? Haar jeet hoti rehti hai....banter should not stop

Hai jazba junoon tou himmat na haar. Fully backing India to fight back

I cant understand the bold part but I am sure you are using some good words.. Thanks bro.

I’m missing my Indian brothers reminding us of our 7th ranking and what not etc. Kya ho gaya hai bhai logo? Haar jeet hoti rehti hai....banter should not stop

All is yours bro.

Why you guys opening so many threads, you can merge this into India vs Australia tour thread.

This is called harassment :sree

I cant understand the bold part but I am sure you are using some good words.. Thanks bro.

All is yours bro.

It roughly translates to “If you have energy and passion (jazba) then don’t lose hope”. All is not lost yet, there is still much to play for.

I think so. It might go wrong as I haven’t seen the MCG wicket yet, but these are thing that I’m expecting

1. One of Smith, Labus to hit a hundred. Would be more surprised if none hits a hundred than both hitting one.

2. Cummins to get a 5for

3. Lyon to trouble India, may be a 5for in 2nd innings

4. If India bats first, Aussies might not bat second time or may be just academic few runs.

It’s the highest rated series of the year and the Boxing Day Test at MCG, also starting just at the start of my 4 days long weekend ..... but Kohli’s kid had decided to come at a time spoiling the party.... I am not getting enough motivation!!!! There are three Tests starting in next few hours and I hope our neighbours keep their hosts on field for this whole long weekend period.

Don’t see a repeat happening!! Aussies will win but the neighbours will put up a better fight

Not gonna lie, I love it when Australia know they have the opponents number and just run through them ruthlessly. This is why I love Australian cricket, they understand the game and when on top they don't give you a sniff.

Warne is not being smart here, he genuinely believes Indians will get blown out and after the 36 all out spectacle, no one should blame him... Like I said before the series' Indians would have done real well if they can escape with a 2-0 defeat..

Well, duh. Aus just beat India badly, and now India have lost their best player and whatever confidence they had.

Anything less than an innings defeat will be disappointing for Auz

I get it man. I get it. All good. India were weakened before the start of the series. Australia shouldn't underestimate a weakened India. Without the brat we may actually perform better. If bewda doesn't mess up the selections it's game on.

India are far from out of it.

Yeah dont see anything but a serious humiliation for team Indo here. Will make my year its been a rather crappy one. :)

India has the best chance here as the mcg is a road with the slowest wicket in the country.

If they fail here, they should just pack up and leave such is the humiliation.

This could be the tour Pujara is finished too.

I cant remember last time i felt like watching cricket vs Australia in Australia. It can be a torcher.

Never write off the GOAT Asian Test team. Phenomenal mentality.

I think so. It might go wrong as I haven’t seen the MCG wicket yet, but these are thing that I’m expecting

1. One of Smith, Labus to hit a hundred. Would be more surprised if none hits a hundred than both hitting one.

2. Cummins to get a 5for

3. Lyon to trouble India, may be a 5for in 2nd innings

4. If India bats first, Aussies might not bat second time or may be just academic few runs.

It’s the highest rated series of the year and the Boxing Day Test at MCG, also starting just at the start of my 4 days long weekend ..... but Kohli’s kid had decided to come at a time spoiling the party.... I am not getting enough motivation!!!! There are three Tests starting in next few hours and I hope our neighbours keep their hosts on field for this whole long weekend period.

Any change of thoughts??

But mamoon bhai u have to agree this could be the weakest Aus batting line up ever

It isn’t. They have Smith this time around as well as Labuschagne. Green is also a great addition who will become a world class player.

This lineup will score 400+ against most sides and 500+ against Pakistan. They are currently up against the most well-rounded and intelligent bowling unit in the world.

Have to say, many Pakistanis mistakenly thought Indian team would behave like Pakistani team and provide the fans with one humiliation after another. Solid comeback from Indians. However I think Aussies will still win the series. 36 ao will remain a classic tho lol :rp

Lol you guys trumpet about 36. That's not even an issue on the whole. Yea we lost but we also dominated most sessions.

Australia would have been all out for 120 if not for poor fielding and some wrong decisions by umpires. So India actually played well.

Pink ball is weird. It's not like the red ball. Night sessions can make it difficult. Also starting at midday causes confusion for players. Pink ball makes it easy to clean up opposition in a session. It's actually happened several times before.

India were also missing some players due to injuries and wrong selections.

Left right combo is what caused problems for Australia.

I look at the positives and there is no reason to feel ashamed about the 36. Yea we got wrecked in that session but Aussies had a lot of luck too. India could have Bowled them out way earlier but it just wasn't to be.

Pink ball can do that to you.

Lol you guys trumpet about 36. That's not even an issue on the whole. Yea we lost but we also dominated most sessions.

Australia would have been all out for 120 if not for poor fielding and some wrong decisions by umpires. So India actually played well.

Pink ball is weird. It's not like the red ball. Night sessions can make it difficult. Also starting at midday causes confusion for players. Pink ball makes it easy to clean up opposition in a session. It's actually happened several times before.

India were also missing some players due to injuries and wrong selections.

Left right combo is what caused problems for Australia.

I look at the positives and there is no reason to feel ashamed about the 36. Yea we got wrecked in that session but Aussies had a lot of luck too. India could have Bowled them out way earlier but it just wasn't to be.

Pink ball can do that to you.

No need to get riled up. I was actually taking a dig at pakistani fans with that comment. Like I said, Pakistani fans were doing bhangra after 36 ao because many of us thought Indian team will behave like pakistani team and keep serving humiliation after humiliation to its fans. However like I said, 36 ao will remain a classic and there's nothing you can do about that.

Great to see the arrogant aussies getting humiliated at home against India C. Lol cant even win at home. Should stop inviting India if they keep getting thrashed.

Lol you have just one match champ not the world cup

Thanks India for giving your fans the wonderful New Year gift of a Wonderful win especially after the disastrous 36 all out in the previous game ( in spite of doing well in the first Innings and in the Tour Game ). This is the beauty of Test Cricket i,e one horrible session can cost u t he entire game . This is a wonderful win but kindly note that there is no guarantee how the next 2 games will go and we have to take one game at a time and not get too over confident with this victory . Have a wonderful New Year Celebration and all the best for the next 2 games .

Whatever happens next year we will still not be white washed :wasim

Nice to hear the condescension from fans of teams who are literally minnows in Australia. :)

Tbh you are being generous by calling Pakistan minnow in Australia. In the last test Pakistan played in Australia, Australia made 589/3 d. When we had our legends Akram, Waqar, Shoaib etc. that's when we were minnows. We are on a different level now lol

Whatever happens next year we will still not be white washed :wasim

I consider now this series to be a 2 Test Series and if India looses 2-0 then it is considered as a white wash . Anyway I am not making any predictions and would like to say that this current win has helped the Team to get the needed confidence especially after disastrous 36 all out the previous game and how one horrible innings can alter the course of the entire series and this Win was badly needed to make the teams look on par . So now looking at this series as a 2 Test Series and we need to give our best and play highly competitive cricket to earn the respect of Cricket fans world over . All the best to India

Warne was not wrong to make that prediction. Aus goes on to roll other teams at home if the opposition is down.

True. England, NZ,Pakistan have all been hammered when that happens. Only SA and, now, India have shown the resilience and tenacity to keep at the Aussies even when some sessions dont go their way. Other teams have just been blown away.

Yeah, That's what I meant. Also, India was missing key players. I also thought that India will be totally deflated and lose badly.

I still think that Aus will win the series 3-1. The main reason is India will be picking the 3rd seamer and it will allow Aus to score freely. Right now, all bowlers were able to keep it tight. Smith is also too good to not score big at home for too long.

For me 36 all out was as rare as what India pulled off in 2nd test.

IN retrospect even I thought we would be blown away. Face palm not just for warne for me as well.