"I think that I am ready for international cricket" : Sami Aslam

If he continues to show the form he did today then surely he deserves another chance.

Still find it strange that he was dropped after making 45 off 50 balls.

Nothing strange at all. He performed poorly in the TEST matches and was rightly dropped from the ODI side.

Baatien karwalo insay.. Umar Gul level bowlers tou khelay nahi ja rahay thay, aur janab apne ap ko international ke liyay ready samaj behtay hein

Nothing strange at all. He performed poorly in the TEST matches and was rightly dropped from the ODI side.

I agree he does have technical issues against pace but is a very fine prospect especially for ODIs. Id take him over Shehzad even with his current technical issues

tbh, that was a sarcastic comment hinting at the god awful selection policy of the PCB. :))

Baatien karwalo insay.. Umar Gul level bowlers tou khelay nahi ja rahay thay, aur janab apne ap ko international ke liyay ready samaj behtay hein

What I've been most disappointed with in the Pakistan Cup is that not ONE opener from any of the sides has taken the initiative to take the attack to the bowlers.

6(22), 11(30) and so on is crime a in international cricket, even if they do go on to convert those starts in to selfish centuries.

We need openers in the mold of David Warner. Someone to get us to a flyer. We don't have a David Warner or a Martin Guptill but I think Sharjeel needs to be tried in LOIs, provided he makes a decent effort on his fitness (No one's asking him to get 6 pack abs, just needs to get rid of that protruding belly).

Lovely interview but sad to see him struggling to get in the team - could tomorrow be the start of something special for Sami?

Why risk his career by playing him in conditions he is not familiar with? Does anyone really believe he can do any better against Anderson and Woakes?

We dont play home series.

The country where we have swept countries like England and Australia is our home now. Sami has to perform there first before graduating to play in a country where openers of Pakistani origin have struggled historically because of swinging/seaming conditions.

Finished as the best batsman of QeA trophy this season.

Averaging 78.55 with 4 centuries in 15 innings. Amazing.

Why are we still opening with Shan Masood? Mind boggling. Hope Misbah takes notice.

Sami's last stint in the side he seem to get into an issue of want to block everything and just stay at the crease with no intent to score runs or rotate the strike. That needs to change, yes by all means battle it out but you have to score runs as well.

Should be opening with Abid Ali in SL series.

Finished as the best batsman of QeA trophy this season.

Averaging 78.55 with 4 centuries in 15 innings. Amazing.

Why are we still opening with Shan Masood? Mind boggling. Hope Misbah takes notice.
Shan Masood is mediocre, but across two difficult series in South Africa and Australia he has been the second best batsman in the team.

The first batsman in line to be dropped should be Azhar Ali.

Second in line should be Imam-ul-Haq.

Third in line for the axe should be Haris Sohail.

Fourth in line should be Asad Shafiq.

Anyway, disappointingly Sami Aslam has actually gone off the boil in the QEA.

His five most recent innings have been:

1 and 4
9 and 14

That’s not great.