"I want to improve myself and better myself as a cricketer" : Asif Ali

Yes we do have the talented pool of players and u definitely not in it.

What a garbage player. This is what happens when you disregard domestic average of 15 odd and select on the basis of three sixes in the PSL.

Mashallah Alhumdulilah :inzi2

What a garbage player. This is what happens when you disregard domestic average of 15 odd and select on the basis of three sixes in the PSL.

Mashallah Alhumdulilah :inzi2

Even Umar Gul hit sixes in T20 WC. He should be in the side too

He may have a use in T20s but keep him away from LO until he performs consistently in list A cricket. And shows signs of building an innings. 2 or 3 sixs shouldn't be enough to represent Pakistan.

The guy simply cannot really last a while. He may be useful for a couple of sixes but its not worth it when he fails so often. Shadab outclassed him today.

He may have a use in T20s but keep him away from LO until he performs consistently in list A cricket. And shows signs of building an innings. 2 or 3 sixs shouldn't be enough to represent Pakistan.

Even 2-3 sixes can work when needed - 2nd T20I was one such case ..... and he made 3 of 3 balls, being dismissed twice in that space :( Always couple of steps behind, even in T20I - when you need 12 ball 23, gets out for 3 ball 3; when you need 29 ball 48 , gets out for 25 of 20.

Yes it can work in T20s but it won't work in ODIs and scoring a few 6s in 1 game is the reason he was selected. That shouldn't be the case.

Doing well Asif Ali - Why cant he do it in international games?

Mickey on Asif Ali

"Asif Ali played some good innings through the PSL. We're looking for a guy who can hit it at the back end. We also know that towards the end of the World Cup, we might lose 1-2 senior players in the middle order and we need to find guys who can replace them and that's why we given opportunities. Asif is a wonderful player and hits the ball incredibly well and he'll be back in the reckoning. We're in a really good place. We want to win every game but there's the bigger picture where we want to win the World Cup"

Mickey on Asif Ali

"Asif Ali played some good innings through the PSL. We're looking for a guy who can hit it at the back end. We also know that towards the end of the World Cup, we might lose 1-2 senior players in the middle order and we need to find guys who can replace them and that's why we given opportunities. Asif is a wonderful player and hits the ball incredibly well and he'll be back in the reckoning. We're in a really good place. We want to win every game but there's the bigger picture where we want to win the World Cup"

Good to hear from Mickey. Need more firepower lower down the order.

Fans need to be patient with him but anyway there's no point settling for these so called "competitive" below par scores because this time out bowling has too many liabilities to come to the rescue. We need to take a bit of a gamble and play to win.

Team needs balance of accumulators who rotate strike effectively but firepower as well. Fakhar, Umar and Asif Ali can make the difference between Pakistan scoring a below par score and a match winning one.

I want Asif in as he's unique for us even though inconsistent. He can do it on true engish pitches. Imagine:

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Haris
Umar
Asif

One of Babar and haris must play through the innings and if one of fakhar, Asif or Umar click it will be great

Needs to be warming up for the summer ahead with some big scores in the Pakistan Cup.

It is clear from mickeys statement. That asif ali will not be in the wc squad. He mentions that Pakistan will lose 1-2 senior players after the wc, and asif will be back in the reckoning. So after the World Cup, he will get his next chance.

Overrated cricketer .after watching him bat he makes umar akmal the next coming of garey sober

Doesn't score in domestic, yet people want him in the World Cup XI

asif will further deteriorate our problems ..
we need stability hafeez will do better job at 6 than asif/akmal

Asif Ali needs to be looked at seriously for the WC squad - but then some work needs to be done with his game also to make sure he does do his job right in England

If someone isn't scoring runs in domestic, why would he score runs in international cricket.

A better option would be to just take Umar

If someone isn't scoring runs in domestic, why would he score runs in international cricket.

A better option would be to just take Umar

If someone has repeatedly failed at the international level and has fitness, technique and discipline issues, why would he score suddenly in a World Cup?

Asif is average but at least there is a bigger chance than Akmal who has been given hundreds of chances.

If someone has repeatedly failed at the international level and has fitness, technique and discipline issues, why would he score suddenly in a World Cup?

Asif is average but at least there is a bigger chance than Akmal who has been given hundreds of chances.

Because we're looking at the Pakistan Cup performances.

But I don't think any of the two will be going.

A bit unlucky not to make it in the World Cup squad.

I think he offers Pakistan something different with the bat and should have been picked.

Finally selected for a series outside of the UAE.

MUST play all five ODIs Vs England and hopefully forces his way into WC Squad.

A bit unlucky not to make it in the World Cup squad.

I think he offers Pakistan something different with the bat and should have been picked.

Unfortunately it could only have happened at the expense of Hafeez or Malik, and we know that Pakistani cricket is not ready to let go of their 'senior player' culture yet :misbah

Finally selected for a series outside of the UAE.

MUST play all five ODIs Vs England and hopefully forces his way into WC Squad.

To be fair he's had plenty of chances to force his way into the team so far so i see no reason to expect differently in the series vs England. Ultimately Asif Ali just isn't that good.

You couldn't be more wrong.

Lol couldn't score in the Pakistan Cup, yet people think he'll score versus England.

No sane team has a pure hitter in their squad. All of them can bowl a few overs to balance out the side.

Needs to make more of his chances for Pakistan.

Faheem and Asif are domestic level players, maybe even not that cuz both of them couldn’t do much even in PSL. They will lose Pak many games.

I reckon Asif Ali will get a chance in the England series with Hafeez still being injured and Malik going back to Pakistan for 'personal reasons' let's see how he does

Everyone in the squad will play at least 1 game. It's a long WC and the players will need to be rotated.

Asif Ali 80* for Northern as they fightback after following on

do not think he deserves a place in the playing XI .... T20 at best... but thts it ... much better to go with likes of Saud Shakil or Khushdil Shah or Umar Amin or Rizwan at no5/6 .....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In beautiful Abbottabad stadium helped Northern secure a draw vs Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/QeATrophy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#QeATrophy</a> with century, 114 runs, 18 fours & 1 six.<br><br> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/cricketcomeshome?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#cricketcomeshome</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pakistancricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pakistancricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/RGx7Q6lA0d">pic.twitter.com/RGx7Q6lA0d</a></p>— Asif Ali (@AasifAli2018) <a href="https://twitter.com/AasifAli2018/status/1174649557365460993?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 19, 2019</a></blockquote>

Needs to improve his game by a few levels, He is 20 average player even on the flats of tracks.

Pakistan's hard-hitting batter, Asif Ali while speaking to local media, he said:

"I don't run on petrol to hit 300 sixes daily. I used to practice hitting sixes during the camp in the NCA, but there was a mistake in my statement and also who wrote."

"Cricket is the name of pressure, this thing has to be handled well. I have experience of playing with different teams abroad. I have worked on what I lacked, I will try to show them in PSL."

"I have not lost hope, if I am lucky, I will make a comeback. The first step is to perform well in PSL."

"It is Babar bhai's generosity, that he trusted me and included me in the team. I will try my best to fulfill his expectations. Babar is captaining the same way he led Pakistan. He tries to guide all the players on the field."

Pakistan's hard-hitting batter, Asif Ali while speaking to local media, he said:

"I don't run on petrol to hit 300 sixes daily. I used to practice hitting sixes during the camp in the NCA, but there was a mistake in my statement and also who wrote."

"Cricket is the name of pressure, this thing has to be handled well. I have experience of playing with different teams abroad. I have worked on what I lacked, I will try to show them in PSL."

"I have not lost hope, if I am lucky, I will make a comeback. The first step is to perform well in PSL."

"It is Babar bhai's generosity, that he trusted me and included me in the team. I will try my best to fulfill his expectations. Babar is captaining the same way he led Pakistan. He tries to guide all the players on the field."
Finally he has corrected himself

Asif Bhai cricket is not just about hitting sixes. You need to improve your game... it seems like you have never come out of your tape ball version of cricket yet.

A Uber driver and absolute nothing player that can make a name for himself in today’s Micky mouse cricket era - the mela begins in a day, ‘test match players niklah gai inshallah’….

I’ll be turning my tv off…..