"I will transform paan-eating Karachi into Lahore" : Shehbaz Sharif

Mian

Replace SS name with IK and imagine the reaction in media for these racist remarks.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پان کھانےوالے کرانچی کو میں لاہور بناوں گا، شہبازشریف</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/1011590247187173376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2018</a></blockquote>

Replace SS name with IK and imagine the reaction in media for these racist remarks.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پان کھانےوالے کرانچی کو میں لاہور بناوں گا، شہبازشریف</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/1011590247187173376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2018</a></blockquote>

I doubt he will be stupid enough to say anything like this especially when he is trying to introduce himself in Karachi as the alternative option but then why would their personal channel report it....let's see!

He actually said it live in his press conf 1 hour ago in Karachi! yeh karachi fatah kerne chala he

DgnsOtyUwAAQNZE.jpg:small

But as per esteemed PP celebrity and learned scholar Dr. [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], Shahbaz Sharif is the best man to lead the nation at the moment.

Just imagine had IK said this. The entire media would have buried him specially since most big media houses (GEO, ARY etc) are Karachi based.

Nooras don't face camera and media like IK every other day but whenever they come on media they gives you gems like this :yk

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] come collect your people, they're a little worse for wear and need taking home.

Another so called educated leader of PMLN and our ex federal minister china ka arastu insulting Artists. Ibrar ul Haq is the candidate against him.
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پی ٹی آئی میرے مقابلے میں پروفیسر،ڈاکٹریاانجینیرلائے،مجھے ٹھمکے لگانے نہیں آتے،احسن اقبال</p>— Geo News Urdu (@geonews_urdu) <a href="https://twitter.com/geonews_urdu/status/1011606535015936002?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2018</a></blockquote>

“Khai ke paan banaras wala, Khul jae band aqal ka taala”

Being a Karachiite and a paan enthusiast I am not at all offended by this comment. A lot of Urdu speaking people are lazy and laid back, caring more for their precious paans and paandaans than working and trying to make Karachi a better place like Lahore.

While we are giving up paan to catch up with Lahore we should also give up tea. Too much time, effort and money is being wasted every day in buying, making and consuming tea by the people of Karachi in my opinion. That time can be easily put to use for constructive things like building roads and eliminating load shedding for the whole country by reducing our own consumption of electricity.

Also, while we are being honest about our shortcomings, let us all Karachiite admit and finally own up to the fact that we are all MQM supporters and still have a picture of Altaf Bhai in our bedrooms. We can pretend all we want that we support PTI or PPP or whatever other party there is but people of Pakistan know the truth...Urdu speaking/Mohajir = MQM Supporter.

While at it we should also finally accept Pakistan as our mother nation and pledge our alliance to the green and white chaand-sitara flag and stop pining about our ancestoral homeland in India.

Thank you Shahbaz Sharif for opening our eyes.

I'm not sure about the social dynamics in Pakistan,I haven't lived there but it seems like punjabis consider themselves superior to the rest of Pakistanis. Iam not trying to offend anyone but that's just the perception I get.

Shehbaz is a passionate man who often gets carried away with his statements. It was a poorly worded declaration, but he is obviously referring to the fact that Lahore has surpassed Karachi in terms of infrastructure & development and cleanliness.

Paan-littering is obviously a major issue as well. The educated class of Karachi is arguably the most dignified and civilized group in the country, but you can never be sure around the uneducated masses of the city, who are never far from spitting paan on the roads or greeting you with Dracula teeth.

I have to admit it has been years since I have been to Karachi, but I vividly remember paan stains all over the footpaths when I was there last, i.e. circa 2011-2012.

There is nothing wrong with having paan, but it is important to spread awareness among the common folk on how to dispose it without littering Pakistan's greatest city that has lost its glory.

So according to SS, Karachiites are some Paan Eating uncouth folks that will be enlightened and brought on the path of civilized Lahoris :facepalm:

Good Luck getting any votes now.

So according to SS, Karachiites are some Paan Eating uncouth folks that will be enlightened and brought on the path of civilized Lahoris :facepalm:

Good Luck getting any votes now.

Just a remark from a politician and people already started doing punjabis vs pashtuns vs karachiites. :14:

What a way to do a press conference in the city and mock it and its citizens..... yeh aye hain vote lehnay :uakmal

Good luck winning a single seat from Karachi.... oops I meant KaraNchi.... *spits paan*

What is amazing and more shocking than Shehbaz's remarks is how some are supporting his basically racist remarks.

I heard this kind of rubbish all my life from some in Lahore (thankfully a small minority) but now we have a mainstream politician saying this and his supporters are trying to justify it.

Shame.

What a way to do a press conference in the city and mock it and its citizens..... yeh aye hain vote lehnay :uakmal

Good luck winning a single seat from Karachi.... oops I meant KaraNchi.... *spits paan*

There is another theory he knows PMLN stand no chance in Karachi but to damage other parties specially PTI maybe he wants MQM to win more seats by stirring up the old punjabi vs muhajir, lahore vs karachi racist debates? It's a win-win all you have to do is stop the Muhajir vote from going out.

Replace paan with naswar and Karachi with Peshawar and trust me Shobaz will find it hard to cross Attock bridge ever again in his life to enter KP.

There is another theory he knows PMLN stand no chance in Karachi but to damage other parties specially PTI maybe he wants MQM to win more seats by stirring up the old punjabi vs muhajir, lahore vs karachi racist debates? It's a win-win all you have to do is stop the Muhajir vote from going out.

Iss baat mein bhi sadaqat hai.... kyun ke recently MQM was also using the Muhajir card after quite a while and I'm sure they will continue to use it during election campaigning.

Yea educated muhajir voter was looking toward PTI after the recent issues of MQM

There is also the possibility that this remark will play well in the rural areas of Sindh (which have few Muhajir voters and do not particularly like Muhajirs). I am not familiar with the details of PMLN support, but does it have a better change of getting a few seats in rural Sindh compared to Karachi.

Finally, the remark could attract some support in Punjab, and the reality is that PMLN only needs to win Punjab to get a majority.

This Dramabaaz should be hanged for corruption, Model town killings
and fake encounters. Abid boxers confessions are enough to nail this
clown.

There is also the possibility that this remark will play well in the rural areas of Sindh (which have few Muhajir voters and do not particularly like Muhajirs). I am not familiar with the details of PMLN support, but does it have a better change of getting a few seats in rural Sindh compared to Karachi.

Finally, the remark could attract some support in Punjab, and the reality is that PMLN only needs to win Punjab to get a majority.

Attracting rural sindhi voter is a mission possible they will die but never vote anyone else except their waderas, sardars, nawabs and all of those big guns of sindh are PPP loyalists.

And here comes another gem from MQM's Ali Raza Abidi in return!

Abidi slams Shobaz for using “paan” reference in KHI and offending Mohajirs...But jumps the gun and uses “naswaar” reference himself against Shobaz, thus offending Pashtuns.

WTH is happening?

Is he really doing his party favours by saying stuff like this? I'm sure karachites took this statement really well:facepalm:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thank you Karachi. I am taking off for Lahore now after a very productive stay of two days. You have renewed my determination to do what I can to make you the City you were known for. This great city of the Quaid e Azam needs action, not hollow slogans. Pakistan Zindabad!</p>— Shehbaz Sharif (@CMShehbaz) <a href="https://twitter.com/CMShehbaz/status/1011660255888015360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 26, 2018</a></blockquote>

:sendoff

This is offending to all Karachiites.Not all of us(infact a large minority) do not eat paan at all.Rubbish comments and a rubbish mindset.

I don't expect much support for Shahbaz Sharif,or PMLN,in Karachi now.

The 'Paris' of Pakistan a.k.a Lahore. :ss

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WSCmkogC_B4" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The 'Paris' of Pakistan a.k.a Lahore. :ss

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/WSCmkogC_B4" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

have you checked the dam picture in middle of a road. Who said PMLN is building dams?

DhK1DoKXcAAX7hs.jpg:large

Will Imran Khan in his political rallies at Lahore promise Lahoris that He will make Lahore into Peshawar ? :-) ;-)

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=101697]LegendInzi[/MENTION]

Will Imran Khan in his political rallies at Lahore promise Lahoris that He will make Lahore into Peshawar ? :-) ;-)

I always wonder why you tag posters in every post of yours to get a reply? Raise the quality of your posts instead of length and trust me you will get replies without even tagging them : )

As Rumi says "Raise your words, not voice. It's rain that grows flowers, not thunder..."

I think barish in Lahore is a saazish by Army to expose Shobaz and his promises of making Lahore Paris.

@<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=131701" target="_blank">Mamoon</a> @<a href="http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/member.php?u=101697" target="_blank">LegendInzi</a>

After 30 years of power, and being PM 3 times, and more money "spent" than the entire KP budget in some years, this is what NS constituency looked like in Lahore.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="es" dir="ltr">Lahore <a href="https://t.co/Aov0pU6Xcq">pic.twitter.com/Aov0pU6Xcq</a></p>— Nadeem Malik (@nadeemmalik) <a href="https://twitter.com/nadeemmalik/status/1014067644964704256?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 3, 2018</a></blockquote>

Nah we're good SS, thanks for the offer.

I think barish in Lahore is a saazish by Army to expose Shobaz and his promises of making Lahore Paris.

Have you seen the new Gaddafi Swimming Pool?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is what the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore looks like today <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/duMzXHpJj8">pic.twitter.com/duMzXHpJj8</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1014117670889934848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 3, 2018</a></blockquote>

Have you seen the new Gaddafi Swimming Pool?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is what the Gaddafi Stadium Lahore looks like today <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/duMzXHpJj8">pic.twitter.com/duMzXHpJj8</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1014117670889934848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 3, 2018</a></blockquote>

wow we can have swimming classes there :yk

Karachi is a megacity, Lahore is comparitively still a village. Yes there are more paan stains in Karachi, but thereis also morr $$$$ coming from Karachi that this idiot has used to develop Punjab.

Paris tou nahi leken Venice zaroor buna diya hai Khadim-e-Aala ne Lahore ko :yk :uakmal

Think Lahore needs metro boat service now :yk

I think your attempt at a joke has backfired,We are still waiting for your friends to appear or maybe they have more sense. After 10 years of govt, no institutions created to deal with the flooding. Where did the money go.

Think Lahore needs metro boat service now :yk

DhKzGtnWAAI5UnC-768x475.jpg

Careem offers BOAT for ride as heavy rains turn Lahore into ‘Venice’

LAHORE — After cars and bikes, ride-hailing app company Careem is now offering boats to sail through the streets of Punjab capital city which remain flooded by rainwater.

The heaviest rains in 38 years have turned roads into virtual rivers in the eastern city of Lahore, stranding motorists and leaving at least six people dead since Monday night.

“All aboard Careem Boat! Book a Careem Boat now & anchor through the rain!” reads a message received by the app users on Tuesday, explaining Go+ rates are applied to this service.

x36680571_10155369857642260_4635550149509120000_n.jpg.pagespeed.ic.cA0537MArX.webp

It is, however, unclear whether Careem has collaborated with professionals or it is using its existing networks of Captains to sail through the city along with rain-hit passengers.

The company, which competes against Uber Technologies Inc. offering car, motorcycle and rickshaw rides in South Asia’s second-largest economy, already operates the ‘Water-Taxi’ service in Middle Eastern and African countries including Saudi Arabia and Egypt.

Established in 2012, Careem now operates in more than 90 cities across more than 13 countries, and boasts over 15 million users and 500,000 Captains (drivers) in the broader Middle East, Turkey and Pakistan region.

The Dubai-based company operates in 13 Pakistani cities including Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad, Peshawar, Faisalabad, Hyderabad, Multan, Gujranwala, Sialkot, Abbottabad, Sargodha, Mardan and Quetta.

https://en.dailypakistan.com.pk/pak...-ride-as-heavy-rains-turn-lahore-into-venice/

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">Media to Khan: Khan sb aap Karachi ka paan khayen ga?<br><br>Imran Khan: Han, Meetha Pan. <a href="https://t.co/YMzgbhy9ER">pic.twitter.com/YMzgbhy9ER</a></p>— PTI Karachi Official (@PTI_KHI) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTI_KHI/status/1014253340216184833?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 3, 2018</a></blockquote>

Caretakers not taking care of rains: Shahbaz

LAHORE: PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif has said the caretaker government does not appear to be ready to deal with torrential rains.

“In my tenure we used to manage the city during such rains. Drains have to be cleaned ahead of rainy season,” Sharif said asking where had been the Punjab government’s machinery during the last 24 hours.

“It is the duty of the caretaker government to manage things,” he added.

Talking to reporters here on Tuesday, the PML-N president said those who did nothing in their province (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) during the last five years were criticising the PML-N.

He said during his tenure he would make a comprehensive plan to deal with monsoon season.

Sharif also started election campaign at his constituency NA-132 in Lahore. He visited different areas of NA-132 and addressed the party workers.

Speaking on the occasion, the PML-N president claimed that his party would win the July 25 polls. He said the election would be between those who performed in five years and who only did politics of allegations.

PML-N spokesman Marriyum Auranzeb criticised PTI chairman Imran for doing political point scoring over the rain issue. She expressed her grief over the rain-related deaths.

PERVAIZ ELAHI: Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid senior central leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi has said defective planning of the Shahbaz’s administration had turned Lahore into a ‘river’.

Mr Elahi said Shahbaz’s false claim in Karachi about turning Lahore into Paris had been exposed. “The difference between show-off schemes and plans for welfare of the people is visible. Today’s rain has exposed Shahbaz’s defective measures in Lahore and other parts of Punjab. Rescue 1122 did a commendable job,” he said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1417757/caretakers-not-taking-care-of-rains-shahbaz

Caretakers not taking care of rains: Shahbaz

LAHORE: PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif has said the caretaker government does not appear to be ready to deal with torrential rains.

“In my tenure we used to manage the city during such rains. Drains have to be cleaned ahead of rainy season,” Sharif said asking where had been the Punjab government’s machinery during the last 24 hours.

“It is the duty of the caretaker government to manage things,” he added.

Talking to reporters here on Tuesday, the PML-N president said those who did nothing in their province (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) during the last five years were criticising the PML-N.

He said during his tenure he would make a comprehensive plan to deal with monsoon season.

Sharif also started election campaign at his constituency NA-132 in Lahore. He visited different areas of NA-132 and addressed the party workers.

Speaking on the occasion, the PML-N president claimed that his party would win the July 25 polls. He said the election would be between those who performed in five years and who only did politics of allegations.

PML-N spokesman Marriyum Auranzeb criticised PTI chairman Imran for doing political point scoring over the rain issue. She expressed her grief over the rain-related deaths.

PERVAIZ ELAHI: Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid senior central leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi has said defective planning of the Shahbaz’s administration had turned Lahore into a ‘river’.

Mr Elahi said Shahbaz’s false claim in Karachi about turning Lahore into Paris had been exposed. “The difference between show-off schemes and plans for welfare of the people is visible. Today’s rain has exposed Shahbaz’s defective measures in Lahore and other parts of Punjab. Rescue 1122 did a commendable job,” he said.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1417757/caretakers-not-taking-care-of-rains-shahbaz

That is one desperate guy.

Allah bachaye Karachi ko Lahore jaisa bannay se

You know you want dem roads.:ma

Yeah this one :najam

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">VIDEO: Huge sinkhole emerges on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Lahore?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Lahore</a>'s Mall Road after heavy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/rain?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#rain</a> <a href="https://t.co/PNx4EQjQU2">pic.twitter.com/PNx4EQjQU2</a></p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/1014108015375601664?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 3, 2018</a></blockquote>

This hole symbolises what has happened to the money of the poor tax payers.

Pretty good drainage system.

I think Karachi walas don't want this :yk
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">مال روڈ کے بعد گلشن راوی میں بھی بیچ سڑک گڑھا بن گیا، مزید دیکھیے اس ویڈیو میں<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DunyaVideos?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DunyaVideos</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DunyaNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DunyaNews</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/pmln_org?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@pmln_org</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/CMShehbaz?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@CMShehbaz</a> <a href="https://t.co/GaPcmlqrUI">pic.twitter.com/GaPcmlqrUI</a></p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/1014901265552330753?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 5, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I sincerely hope this is a parody. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMLN?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMLN</a> <a href="https://t.co/WDQUB4sVMq">pic.twitter.com/WDQUB4sVMq</a></p>— Asfandyar Bhittani (@BhittaniKhannnn) <a href="https://twitter.com/BhittaniKhannnn/status/1014932959957278720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 5, 2018</a></blockquote>

That was entertaining :)) :ss

2 crore mm rain, Europe waale shock main hen itni taraqee, jab mian shahbaz ki govt thi to barish ka paani zameen per girne se pehle he khatam hojata tha kabhi khera nae hua :))

Thoda ziada khench liya otherwise it was believable :yk

This is a joke,right?

I mean no one can be that deluded.

So Sharif fans are even more deluded than trump fans. What a surprise!

Paan eating Karachiites let go of their ethnic loyalties and voted for a party got change whereas Lahore once again voted for fellow PUnjabis of PML-N

Punjab is not only Lahore and the Sharifs are not Punjabis. But well done to Karachi people :)

Sharifs are punjabis for all intents and purposes. They have been around for generations and are accepted as such. And also identify themselves as such

It's like saying Saulat Mirza the MQM killer who was hanged was not Urdu speaking since ethnically he was Pathan

Sharifs are punjabis for all intents and purposes. They have been around for generations and are accepted as such. And also identify themselves as such

It's like saying Saulat Mirza the MQM killer who was hanged was not Urdu speaking since ethnically he was Pathan

They are Punjabi however Kashmiri-Punjabis are pretty recent migrants to Punjab, even Imran Khan's ancestors have been in Punjab MUCH longer.

What they is irrelevent as ethnically they are not Punjabis. If they were Mirpuris then their claim would have had some weight as Mirpur was part of Punjab I believe.

Umm yeah you clearly can't be competitive in the elections, might as well open a paan ka khokha now :))

Bro, he can't actually do that, because opening a paan ka khoka is a legitimate and legal small business. Since he can't do corruption I don't think this business model is suited for him :))

What they is irrelevent as ethnically they are not Punjabis. If they were Mirpuris then their claim would have had some weight as Mirpur was part of Punjab I believe.

It doesn't matter. People of Punjab see them as punjabis and PML-N is most certainly a Punjabi party

Lol, [MENTION=138463]Slog[/MENTION], the funny thing is that this idiot actually had support for the work he did in Lahore. First this nonsense, then the Baarish lost him any bit of support he had in Karachi :)))