"I would love to repeat that performance from the World Cup" : Wahab Riaz

jeetu

PPCL Hall of Famer
Left arm quick Wahab Riaz has vowed to attack Australia's batsmen in a bid to help finally end Pakistan's Test series winning drought Down Under.

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2016/12/13/i-will-attack-aussie-batsmen-wahab

YouTube footage of Wahab Riaz's ferocious battle with Shane Watson in the 2015 World Cup quarter-final in Adelaide can sometimes be hard to stomach.

Especially for a budding batsman.

But it seems Australia better start studying it - the Pakistan left-arm quick has promised more of the same in this week's first Test at the Gabba.

Wahab relentlessly bounced Watson at Adelaide in a fast bowling display then Australian captain Michael Clarke described "as good as I have faced in ODI cricket".

Wahab consistently reached 150kph as he removed Clarke and opener David Warner, only for Watson to steer Australia to victory after being dropped off the Pakistan quick.

"That was one of my best matches I have ever played,"
Wahab said ahead of his first Test in Australia, the three-match series opener from Thursday.

"I would love to repeat that performance from the World Cup."

"I want to bowl like that on this tour."

"I am going to bowl aggressively, I will bowl short as well - it's part of the plan."

No prizes for guessing what the honest quick's approach will be to Australia's leading batsmen this series - captain Steve Smith and Warner.

"You have to attack them - that's it," Wahab said.

"You cannot look for them to give you their wicket."

Wahab chimes into a Pakistani attack boasting fellow left-arm speedster Mohammad Amir, who has taken 13 wickets in his last four Tests since his return to international cricket following a spot fixing ban.

Then there's champion leg-spinner Yasir Shah, Australia's tormentor in their last Test series at UAE in October 2014.

No wonder Wahab believed they had the firepower to end Australia's 28-year unbeaten Test run in Brisbane.

That's despite Pakistan never having won a Test series on Australian soil.

And they last won a Test in Australia in 1995.

"Records are meant to be broken," Wahab said.

"We know even no Asian country has won a series here in Australia."

"(But) we have to take the challenge."

"To compete with them we have to counter-attack them - we have to have that confidence."

Wahab got a taste of the pink ball he will wield in Brisbane during Pakistan's comfortable tour match win over a Cricket Australia XI in Cairns.

Asked about the ball, a glint appeared in Wahab's eye that Watson is no doubt familiar with.

"It's lively. It's really lively,"
he smiled.

Additional quotes from Wahab press conference:

"Azhar Mahmood is doing good work with us and keeping us on our toes."

"We know Australia are good in their backyard but we have to counterattack them and have confidence in our skills."

"I want to be among the wickets this time".

"We have Mickey Arthur and Steve Rixon who have good knowledge of Australian team and conditions and they are passing that information to us"

"Everyone knows how Steve Smith and David Warner play as in they don't give away their wickets."

Lots to do for Pakistan bowlers but the batsmen have a huge role in this game. One 400+ score and we could be on our way to a good result

Yes, you normally don't want to be among the wickets and it has nothing to do with the fact that you are not good enough.

I know people love his pseudo-aggression, but I personally find Wahab the least likable member of the team and one of the most rubbish performers to boot.

Rahat is mostly rubbish as well but at least he doesn't pretend that he's any good.

For someone who has forgotten how to hold a cricket bat in the last 12 months, Wahab sure does talk a lot of smack off the field.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] is correct in pointing out his pseudo-aggression that basically does nothing in the grand scheme of things !! Needs to stop shooting off in the media and focus on how to actually win matches for Pakistan for a change........

ufff, now he will only bowl short :facepalm:

Short pitched stuff is of no use, if you cant bowl the other 3-4 balls of the over in the right channels.

Yeah where you "scared" Watson into scoring a 50 for his country and taking them to semis.

This guy needs to move on already. Days, weeks, months have passed. LBWatson is gone as well.

Such puerile trolling on this thread. His record is not stellar, but we already know that. whatever he needs to channel to find match winning performance, I say go for it

I think the problem is not his aggression.

He seems to have plenty of it.

But you must have some skills in your armor too, to back them up. And unfortunately, a spell in the World Cup, a spell 3 months afterward and then most of career in oblivion is not a good template to be overly aggressive.

I really hope he can show what he means, because otherwise, he is just shouting himself hoarse and no one will listen at the end of the tour.

The difference was that day he was aggressive as well, it was fast, accurate short pitch deliveries that kept Aussie batsmen on their toes.

If on is predictable, wayward or give them room they will take advantage of the bad balls. Wahab is experienced enough to know this.

He must be used in short spells to be effective!

The only thing Wahab can deliver consistently is the fluent English he speaks in his pressors... if he wasn't an Aitchison College grad, I doubt he would be given the hype he largely gets as a fast bowler (considering Imran Khan and a few other known greats are alumini of that school)..

When Amir wasn't around I remember Wahab being dubbed the 'third W' and he was on stage with Wasim and Waqar.. this was during the PSL logo launch party :))

Regardless of what we say, he gave every Pakistani in that World Cup something to cheer about in that tournament after we lost.. And was the only player from our side to have made the WC 'Team of the tournament'

Apparently his bouncers made the Indians try bouncers vs Australia and they duly failed at that in the semi final.. that was nice to see too :D

Khuda ko maan yaar.. aek dafa achi bowling kya karali osshi ke baray mein batata rehta hai :facepalm:

They can keep ducking. If the pitch is not conducive they can keep hooking. Hope that is not his plan. Australian batsmen are very vulnerable against swinging balls. We have seen time and again. Bowling full will be the best way to create chance while mixing short ones in between to keep them guessing.

God!! This guy talks alot of smack, bowls rubbish and is pretty poor with the bat..

How is he even in the team, is mind boggling, and then to give these statements, without any notable performances for a long time, he should just keep quiet and fly under the radar.

World cup performance was legendary. It will be nice to see him bowling the same way all the time.

The difference was that day he was aggressive as well, it was fast, accurate short pitch deliveries that kept Aussie batsmen on their toes.

If on is predictable, wayward or give them room they will take advantage of the bad balls. Wahab is experienced enough to know this.

He must be used in short spells to be effective!
Saying he met Aussie batsmen on their toes is stretching the truth
Watson was just one guy

What was special about his performance? Did he win us the match? Shoaib Akhtar won us matches with his pace. Wahab cannot even sort out his run up despite playing for years. These guys think too highly of themselves without any achievements under their belt.

God!! This guy talks alot of smack, bowls rubbish and is pretty poor with the bat..

How is he even in the team, is mind boggling, and then to give these statements, without any notable performances for a long time, he should just keep quiet and fly under the radar.

Wahab is certainly not poor with the bat, he just lacks heart and application. He should have been dropped for his cowardice approach.

Khuda ko maan yaar.. aek dafa achi bowling kya karali osshi ke baray mein batata rehta hai :facepalm:

Now you know how we feel about Kanitkar.

But honestly, who is doing the media management for pakistani team? Everyone from players to coach to ex-players to Chairman of selectors are not shy to give a interview or 2 at the drop of a hat.

I think he will be alright at least for an innings or so.

There we go again.....

He can bully Mitch Marsh all he wants but no way is he troubling Warner, Smith, and Khwaja with his short balls.

To be honest at this point I am willing to have him dropped for Junaid.

All this talk of aggression will fall short if he fails in this series. This is his last chance to perform. If he doesn't than he should be dropped.

Quality bowler. If he turns up in at least two test matches and one of Shah or Amir supports him consistently, Pakistan will win the test series. He's always turned up during the big moments and this may be yet another one of those for this clutch fast bowler.

Wahab doesn't seem to get that the Pink Ball Test won't be one to bowl short in.

So now he again made selectors remember that performance. It wont matter how he bowls now, he will stay in the team based on his wc bowling spell... :))

Yes, after getting selected months back, he made a statement just to remind the selectors.Had he not made the statement, selectors would have called him back from the middle of the tour, atleast this is what some ppl think:harby

I said it wont matter how he bowls now on Aussie tour. He didnt bowl well on NZ tour as well. and he must be knowing if this tour he doesnt perform then possibly he will be out of the team hence making selectors reminding about his performances.

And secondly I said it for fun bro...

I said it wont matter how he bowls now on Aussie tour. He didnt bowl well on NZ tour as well. and he must be knowing if this tour he doesnt perform then possibly he will be out of the team hence making selectors reminding about his performances.

And secondly I said it for fun bro...

And Mickey also praised Wahab just to remind the selectors ...LOL

and it doesn't matter how he bowled in NZ, as all Pak pacers were poor.His place is safe in the side as he's good enough to be in the 16 member squad.Wahab is just an average bowler who at times can bowl great.

And Mickey also praised Wahab just to remind the selectors ...LOL

and it doesn't matter how he bowled in NZ, as all Pak pacers were poor.His place is safe in the side as he's good enough to be in the 16 member squad.Wahab is just an average bowler who at times can bowl great.

and that time has stretched now for almost 2 years... :)

No! He had bowled beautifully in UAE in past, so its not just a case of 1 good performance in the WC.

Good to see that at least a few people here know what they are talking about. Riaz has been our second best bowler for over two years now.

What's the point of Captain, Coaching staff if they can't sort out such 'simple' issues ?

What a joke this guy is. Awful cricketer who is nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.

Wahab bhai 150kph mar ke hi khush hosakte hain , yes he did clock 150k.

It was terrible from Wahab.

But I was sensing a wicket just like UAE with warner getting beaten by pace and in drift when Warner was at 50 something. Was waiting for next over and Misbah replaced Wahab with Amir immediately.

Not ruling out (another no ball) but he just geared up at that time.

Overall terrible bowling.

Not a huge Wahab fan but people need to understand that he is a very inconsistent pace bowler who bowls 1 great spell every test series or every second test series, is the fastest so gets retained. Had we developed other " Fast " bowlers he wouldn't have been in Pakistan team atm.

Absolute rubbish bowler who is all talk but no substance. Just get him out please. We don't need an Afridi version of a bowler in the team.

and replace him with 130 kph cannon fodder who are worse ?

please tell us of all the brilliant 150 kph bowlers who are tearing up the Domestic first class scene?

Here's his chance...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Wahab Riaz is back in the Pakistan the side... the last time Australia played an ODI at Adelaide, this happened. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AUSvPAK?src=hash">#AUSvPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/Coj82jzaBq">pic.twitter.com/Coj82jzaBq</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/824457052546330624">January 26, 2017</a></blockquote>

When did he call himself the 3rd W ?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Proud to b called the third W of Pakistan standing next to my n world living legends <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive">@wasimakramlive</a> n <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WaqarYounis?src=hash">#WaqarYounis</a> <a href="http://t.co/10m6ZcFfjR">pic.twitter.com/10m6ZcFfjR</a></p>— Wahab Riaz (@WahabViki) <a href="https://twitter.com/WahabViki/status/645830597936480256">September 21, 2015</a></blockquote>

The third W. What a spell to Watson. I'm sure he's still having nightmares.

Lol third W :)). Wasim and Waqar bowling with their weak hand are still much better than Wahab Riaz.

once again save his career on last odi of the series just like england odi series ,useless bowler

I wouldn't have picked him again on a matter of principle. Any bowler who is 31 yrs old and is still overstepping the line on wicket taking deliveries is a waste of time and space. But that's the state of Pakistan cricket for you. This dunderhead is still living off one spell against a single batsman who he failed to get out. It's pathetic beyond belief.

Didn't he bowl well today? He was 7 overs for 28 if I remember correctly..

He also took a very good catch off Smith, that's an understated part of the job considering how poorly the other Fast bowlers are catching