ICC T20 World Cup (2026): Pakistan squad announced

BouncerGuy

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced a 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026, where they are placed in Group A and scheduled to face Netherlands in their opening game on 7 February in Colombo.

The names were unveiled during a press conference addressed by the PCB Director High Performance and member men’s national selection committee Aqib Javed, Pakistan’s T20I captain Salman Ali Agha and white-ball head coach Michael James Hesson at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday morning.

Among the players, skipper Salman Ali Agha, Faheem Ashraf, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay, Mohammad Salman Mirza, Sahibzada Farhan and Usman Tariq have received their maiden mega-event call-ups to the Pakistan squad.

Meanwhile, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan and Usman Khan have played in at least one or more editions of the tournament since 2021.

In the 20-team tournament, each team is set to play four group games before the Super Eight and Knockout Stage, all between 7 February and 8 March.

Pakistan are also set to face Australia in a three-match T20I series at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on 29, 31 January and 1 February with the preparation camp starting today.

15-member squad for T20 World Cup:

Salman Ali Agha (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Salman Mirza, Naseem Shah, Sahibzada Farhan (wk), Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan (wk) and Usman Tariq.

PCB

images

for australia series

Saim
Farhan
Babar
Salman
Usman
Shadab
Nawaz
Faheem
Shaheen
Mirza
Abrar

If saim fails in the aus series

Farhan
Babar
Salman
Fakhar
Usman
Shadab
Nawaz
Faheem
Shaheen
Mirza
Abrar

Unlucky guys, Samad and Wasim Jr....

Overall good squad... Shadab is a freeloader but not like there are no other passengers in the team.

Imagine if Pakistan win this? Bangladesh would be the proudest nation on earth for their victory.

Going with 3 keepers, such was the value of Rizwan, we've got 3 in the squad and bet they're still unsure who is #1.
Bad luck WasimJr his career has been a tale of being hard done

Mediocre squad, these are the passengers:

-Salman Ali Agha
-Shadab
-Usman Khan
-Naseem Shah
-Faheem

So much mediocrity. No proper T20 batters apart from Saim Ayub and Fakhar.

Sahibzada Farhan will be a BIG FAILURE, yet another Ahmed Shehzad.

Absolute travesty leaving out:

-Hassan Nawaz
-M Haris (not great but better than Usman)

I have a great feeling about this World Cup. With all our games pretty much in Colombo, the boys will start feeling like they're at home by the third group game against India.

The added support from the brothers in Bangladesh will also be much appreciated; meanwhile India will have to travel for every game, lol.

The squad could have been better with a couple of tweaks but overall, a very solid core and it's pretty much perfect for Sri Lankan conditions. This should be the team for the first three games at least:

1) Saim Ayub
2) Sahibzada Farhan
3) Babar Azam
4) Fakhar Zaman
5) Salman Ali Agha (c)
6) Usman Khan (wk)
7) Shadab Khan
8) Mohammad Nawaz
9) Faheem Ashraf
10) Shaheen Afridi
11) Abrar Ahmed

Batting all the way to #10, 5 genuine spin-bowling options, two seamers that should thrive in Sri Lanka and a mix of left and right-handers are all big positives.

The negatives are the same problems that we have been carrying for a decade now: a lack of true power-hitting and the propensity of a lot of these batsmen to get bogged down with dot balls.

The team really needs to play like they have ten batters in each game because they genuinely do. Each batter needs to aim to maximise the runs they can get off 10-20 balls and we should be getting to 200 each game.

The Pakistan Cricket Board has announced a 15-member squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2026, where they are placed in Group A and scheduled to face Netherlands in their opening game on 7 February in Colombo.

The names were unveiled during a press conference addressed by the PCB Director High Performance and member men’s national selection committee Aqib Javed, Pakistan’s T20I captain Salman Ali Agha and white-ball head coach Michael James Hesson at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday morning.

Among the players, skipper Salman Ali Agha, Faheem Ashraf, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay, Mohammad Salman Mirza, Sahibzada Farhan and Usman Tariq have received their maiden mega-event call-ups to the Pakistan squad.

Meanwhile, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan and Usman Khan have played in at least one or more editions of the tournament since 2021.

In the 20-team tournament, each team is set to play four group games before the Super Eight and Knockout Stage, all between 7 February and 8 March.

Pakistan are also set to face Australia in a three-match T20I series at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on 29, 31 January and 1 February with the preparation camp starting today.

15-member squad for T20 World Cup:

Salman Ali Agha (captain), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Khawaja Mohammad Nafay (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Salman Mirza, Naseem Shah, Sahibzada Farhan (wk), Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan (wk) and Usman Tariq.

PCB
Why announce squad if you are boycotting? Please liaise with Naqvi and advise him that in your wisdom as the mod you recommend pulling out and getting replaced by Uganda.

Show him the your thread and the brilliant open surgery :wa .

I am sure he will concur once he's seen PPs proposed strategy even if it was dressed up as 3rd rate satire.

Mediocre squad, these are the passengers:

-Salman Ali Agha
-Shadab
-Usman Khan
-Naseem Shah
-Faheem

So much mediocrity. No proper T20 batters apart from Saim Ayub and Fakhar.

Sahibzada Farhan will be a BIG FAILURE, yet another Ahmed Shehzad.

Absolute travesty leaving out:

-Hassan Nawaz
-M Haris (not great but better than Usman)

Mediocre squad indeed. So glad that atleast Babar is there. I was ready to riot if we went without him as the anchor.

Nothing new here ... they have Naseem Shah, absolutely useless but not M Wasim.

Either go with Usman, who is useful not dynamic, or Nafay.

Plenty of spinners in Abrar, Usman T, Nawaz, Shadab, Saim .. so thats covered.

Why announce squad if you are boycotting? Please liaise with Naqvi and advise him that in your wisdom as the mod you recommend pulling out and getting replaced by Uganda.

Show him the your thread and the brilliant open surgery :wa .

I am sure he will concur once he's seen PPs proposed strategy even if it was dressed up as 3rd rate satire.
Did you read the title before you spit this ????

Thread is about the Pakistan squad... take your boycott stuff in different thread.

I have a great feeling about this World Cup. With all our games pretty much in Colombo, the boys will start feeling like they're at home by the third group game against India.

The added support from the brothers in Bangladesh will also be much appreciated; meanwhile India will have to travel for every game, lol.

The squad could have been better with a couple of tweaks but overall, a very solid core and it's pretty much perfect for Sri Lankan conditions. This should be the team for the first three games at least:

1) Saim Ayub
2) Sahibzada Farhan
3) Babar Azam
4) Fakhar Zaman
5) Salman Ali Agha (c)
6) Usman Khan (wk)
7) Shadab Khan
8) Mohammad Nawaz
9) Faheem Ashraf
10) Shaheen Afridi
11) Abrar Ahmed

Batting all the way to #10, 5 genuine spin-bowling options, two seamers that should thrive in Sri Lanka and a mix of left and right-handers are all big positives.

The negatives are the same problems that we have been carrying for a decade now: a lack of true power-hitting and the propensity of a lot of these batsmen to get bogged down with dot balls.

The team really needs to play like they have ten batters in each game because they genuinely do. Each batter needs to aim to maximise the runs they can get off 10-20 balls and we should be getting to 200 each game.
Looks good on paper ... but could have done with a totally different set up from nos 3 to 7. This batting line will struggle.

Passengers / Bits & Pieces / TTF:
Salman Agha, Shadab, Faheem, Usman Khan (batting so bad that its not a pleasant sight)
These guys aren’t match winners , they’re just filling jerseys.

Unlucky Players:
Sufiyan Muqeem, H. Nawaz
Punished for others’ mediocrity. Classic.

X-Factors (actual upside):
Nafay, Usman Tariq, Salman Mirza
At least these guys look like they can change a game instead of “holding one end”. Unfortunately none of these guys got enough opportunities to solidify their place in the lineup

Justified Exclusion (celebration worthy):
Rauf ✔️

Reality Check:
Now compare this with India. Their squad is stacked, aggressive, fearless and merit based. No weak links, no charity selections. They throw youngsters into the fire and keep backing them until they become match winners. Bravo India! Credit where it is due

Looks good on paper ... but could have done with a totally different set up from nos 3 to 7. This batting line will struggle
I can see us outscoring every other team in Sri Lanka, especially since we play pretty much every game in Colombo.

So Farhan will be makeshift keeper
Saim
Farhan
Babar
Fakhar
Agha
Nawaz
Shadab
Faheem
Mirza
Abrar
SSA

Anyways, last I heard they were planning to boycott the tournament, weren't they?​
Who said Pakistan were going to boycott? Don't rely on YouTubers or small news media that likes to create Drama before every big tournament.

Nobody from PCB ever said they were going to boycott.

Salman Ali Agha - Specialist Captain
Abrar Ahmed - Best Pakistan Spinner in LOs
Babar Azam - King hai. Kya bol skte hein
Faheem Ashraf - Rana is Rana
Fakhar Zaman - One of the few team players
Khawaja Nafay (wk) - Great bold pick!
Mohammad Nawaz - Pakistan's best T20I Player / Match Winner
Salman Mirza - Performing well
Naseem Shah - 50/50 Call
Sahibzada Farhan - Performing well
Saim Ayub - As a batter or bowler?
Shaheen Afridi - Still Pakistan's best Pacer
Shadab Khan - Parachute Landing
Usman Khan - Hack Usman
Usman Tariq - Bows

Thread is about the Pakistan squad... take your boycott stuff in different thread.
I did and pointed out the ludicrousness of Pakistan announcing a squad for a tourney you are advocating to boycott.

Do you have the ability to join the dots or trollings take. It's toll on on your cognitive abilities?

It seems Pakistan didn't announce the squad but instead announced the end of speculation about a boycott, and in doing so, disappointed the same group of people who couldn't even boycott the India vs Pakistan match, yet now want Pakistan to boycott the World Cup for Bangladesh despite having no valid grounds to do so. :yk :inti

Hot take: I think Naseem Shah choice is good. He has recently done well in ILT20, similar conditions. He bowled in crucial phases of the game for his team and even in death. Effectively won them the tournament. Even in WT20 2022 Final Naseem Shah bowled well near the death. He looks to be in good rhythm and I believe he can play the role of a death bowler also.

I did and pointed out the ludicrousness of Pakistan announcing a squad for a tourney you are advocating to boycott.

Do you have the ability to join the dots or trollings take. It's toll on on your cognitive abilities?
Take your boycott drama to somewhere else. Pakistan has announced the squad. Stick to the topic at hand. Or don't bother posting in this thread. You have cried enough in other threads. :inti

Wasn't pak supposed to boycott it , anyways on topic dunno much about the two usman's ,nafay and mirza perhaps ppers can shed light on these guy's

I think if Hesson was given full control Babar would be out.

Aqib is a very uninspiring person to have in this set up. He will take us back in all formats

Hopefully Chants of “Parchi Parchi” when Babar comes out to bat

He needs to be reminded that he is the undeserving player in this squad

Hesson says. Usman been exceptional since the comeback.

Glad they didn't dropped Nafay. That means further in the tournament. He'll replace Usman as WK.
Why take him though? He's just a liability with the bat. Makes zero sense considering he has probably been the worst batsman in the side based on form

I think if Hesson was given full control Babar would be out.

Aqib is a very uninspiring person to have in this set up. He will take us back in all formats
You can’t truly believe Aqib wants Babar in the squad?

Now in order to play Shadab we will sacrifice Usman Tariq, a far better bowler with mistique of being new and unique, but as Pakistan struggles to impress he will eventually come in but at the expense of M Nawaz may be?

When they eventually turn into playing an extra spinner, Naseem will come in to partner Shaheen, this is where we needed M Wasim. Faheem is at best a 3rd seamer.

As for batting, bar the first 2, absolutely useless but as someone mentiomed earlier, for slow Sri Lankan wickets where you only need to grind out 140 -160, Pak batting is tailor made. Now matter how further they go, all their matches will be played in Sri Lanka.

Now in order to play Shadab we will sacrifice Usman Tariq, a far better bowler with mistique of being new and unique, but as Pakistan struggles to impress he will eventually come in but at the expense of M Nawaz may be?

When they eventually turn into playing an extra spinner, Naseem will come in to partner Shaheen, this is where we needed M Wasim. Faheem is at best a 3rd seamer.

As for batting, bar the first 2, absolutely useless but as someone mentiomed earlier, for slow Sri Lankan wickets where you only need to grind out 140 -160, Pak batting is tailor made. Now matter how further they go, all their matches will be played in Sri Lanka.
knowing pakistan
they will
Saim
farhan
babar
fakhar
agha
usman/Nafay
shadab
nawaz
faheem
shaheen
abrar/usman tariq

Think there was too much negativity on this forum about Pakistan's T20 squad.

So glad that Bilal7 bhai has come, yet again , before an ICC tournament and clarified that this team is gonna outscore everyone.

The ultra positive posters like Billu, Bullet Drive, Square Drive and their enthusiastic posts are sorely missed :pkflag

It seems likely he is involved. Doesn't seem like a Hesson decision. I don't even understand why we need Aqib.
Na this decision is beyond them. They know how handicapped they are to do what they want without him being in the squad. There are some highly influential journalists who put extreme pressure on them and the team if they don’t have this lot (Babar, Rizwan, Rauf, Naseem) in the team. They’ve literally done it to reduce the amount of pressure applied on them from external forces

No one genuinely believes Babar should be in the T20 squad. The next World Cup is in Australia. Watch these 2 kori journalists argue that Babar should be in the team due to his vast experience on Australian conditions as everyone else doesn’t have BBL experience.

Ashwin likes the contrarian players who bring unknown element. He has also praised Usman Tariq on his channel.

Pak's XI composition is likely going to be as follows

4 top order batters: Farhan + Saim + Babar + Fakhar fixed

2 Middle order disruptors : Salman + Shadab (Nafay/Usman backup)

2 Allrounders: Nawaz + Faheem fixed

3 specialist Bowlers: Abrar + Shaheen + Naseem fixed (Mirza/Tariq backup or tactical subs)

I believe Pak will back Shadab's past success as middle order batter and his ability to give 1-2 overs of matchup legspin which may be useful over Nafay/Usman at the start of tourney. Thus Farhan will likely take the keeping gloves

Na this decision is beyond them. They know how handicapped they are to do what they want without him being in the squad. There are some highly influential journalists who put extreme pressure on them and the team if they don’t have this lot (Babar, Rizwan, Rauf, Naseem) in the team. They’ve literally done it to reduce the amount of pressure applied on them from external forces

No one genuinely believes Babar should be in the T20 squad. The next World Cup is in Australia. Watch these 2 kori journalists argue that Babar should be in the team due to his vast experience on Australian conditions as everyone else doesn’t have BBL experience.
Journalists have influence over the set up. But they put pressure for favourites in every country. At the moment we have the home minister in charge of cricket. He needs guys there that can confidently feed back to him and take bold calls and are in a position to push back against this journalist and ex player mafia.

Aqib ain't that guy. He is part of the ex boys club himself. He will do what it takes to keep himself safe.

Ashwin likes the contrarian players who bring unknown element. He has also praised Usman Tariq on his channel.

Pak's XI composition is likely going to be as follows

4 top order batters: Farhan + Saim + Babar + Fakhar fixed

2 Middle order disruptors : Salman + Shadab (Nafay/Usman backup)

2 Allrounders: Nawaz + Faheem fixed

3 specialist Bowlers: Abrar + Shaheen + Naseem fixed (Mirza/Tariq backup or tactical subs)

I believe Pak will back Shadab's past success as middle order batter and his ability to give 1-2 overs of matchup legspin which may be useful over Nafay/Usman at the start of tourney. Thus Farhan will likely take the keeping gloves
This is probably going to happen. But I feel giving Sahibzada the gloves is a big risk before a big tournament. He is the only player at the moment who can maybe do damage if he comes good. Burdening him with multiple roles will put even more pressure on him.

Think there was too much negativity on this forum about Pakistan's T20 squad.

So glad that Bilal7 bhai has come, yet again , before an ICC tournament and clarified that this team is gonna outscore everyone.

The ultra positive posters like Billu, Bullet Drive, Square Drive and their enthusiastic posts are sorely missed :pkflag
Are you serious or trolling with this team they will struggle even against minnows just watch this space

I’m trying to understand the strategy here. By playing Babar at 3, you then displace the captain, who’s best position is also no.3.

Looks like opener Usman will play at 6, given the praise give to him by Hesson.

So that’s a top 6 of:

Saim
Sahibzada
Babar
Agha
Shadab
Usman

What are we doing here?!?

It’s once again a batting line up that asks the bowling to overperform.

I’m trying to understand the strategy here. By playing Babar at 3, you then displace the captain, who’s best position is also no.3.

Looks like opener Usman will play at 6, given the praise give to him by Hesson.

So that’s a top 6 of:

Saim
Sahibzada
Babar
Agha
Shadab
Usman

What are we doing here?!?

It’s once again a batting line up that asks the bowling to overperform.
I don't think Shadab will bat in the Top 6. Maybe as a floater depending on match situation but otherwise, no .

To kiske saath kya discuss karta hai sabko patta hai.

Do hi option hai yahan - ya to tu ek mentally ill troll hai jo doosri country ka hone ka pretend karta hai for treatment ya, tu desh ka dushman gaddar hai jo humesha apni country ko neecha dikhata hai aur enemies ko upar.

Neither of the option makes you look good. Tu na rehne hi de, you are neither respected by Indians nor Pakistanis, no one respects those who are gaddar against their own. They can pretend to support you but every single one laugh at you behind your back.
Bro NGL we laugh at you behind your back too.

Hopefully Chants of “Parchi Parchi” when Babar comes out to bat

He needs to be reminded that he is the undeserving player in this squad

This is your fantasy world.

In reality, fans start leaving when Babar gets out