ICC Under-19 World Cup | Feb 9, 2016 | Matches Thread

he might have to move out of the keepers spot if he wants to play for india which might be a blessing in disguise for the rest of the world. he keeps dropping the ball every other over.

yes some humility would have been nice too. wonder what dravid thinks of it.

Well ok with that coz the ball is bouncing but this run out missed chance is pathetic to say the least absolute overconfidence.

Also after Dhoni leaves there is a huge gap to be filled behind stumps Samson,Pant would be eyeing that.

Terrible, last 2 overs have been most pathetic piece of cricket by Indians ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Batham Washington are bowling their hearts out and are extremely unlucky here.

Not impressed by the attitude of some our U-19 cricketers. Keep your heads down and focus on the job at hand. Dravid should give Sarfraz,Pant and co. a piece of his mind

Pant is annoying a lot he is playing it like gully cricket.

[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] talk nah, my boy Mohsin singlehandedly destroying Nepal out there..

Pant just acting like a spoilt brat. Honestly u are winning so easily, just be classy.

Never seen anything like this in my life and Lankan keepers are particularly chatty.

I don't know if it's due to his form or he's always like that, but Ishan Kishan looks a subdued captain unlike Kohli..

Whereas Pant shows a lot of histrionics.

[MENTION=136079]ahmedwaqas92[/MENTION] talk nah, my boy Mohsin singlehandedly destroying Nepal out there..

Bas Rehnay doh ab !!! We lost to a Windies side, in Asian conditions I might add; that needed to Manikind Zimbabwe for a win. Kahan tha yeah itna Tailunt kal ?? Windies cruised to a win with 10 overs to spare loosing only five wickets and two of those dismissals we're brainfreeze by the WI boys themselves.

This chest thumping against Nepal of all teams amounts to Jack and the reality remains that this U-19 are not even half as talented as to those we have churned out in yesteryears.

Pant just acting like a spoilt brat. Honestly u are winning so easily, just be classy.

Never seen anything like this in my life and Lankan keepers are particularly chatty.

He makes Sanga look silent.

Bro these are upcoming IPL superishtaars. Since BCCI generates 70% of the cricket revenue these guys have right to mock anyone. Some of them have already got into the ipl teams.

I don't know if it's a one off or he's always like that.

As I type that, he has received a warning from the umpire.

Yeah and after that his team mates teased him and he was like "mera mann mat kharab karo yaar" Like don't spoil my mood or something similar.

So it's going to be a India Bangladesh final.
[MENTION=130260]Executioner[/MENTION] Are you guys ready:shakib:srini

These kids need to respect the opposition to win the final some of them are cocky as hell.

Anmolpreet MOM man he has grabbed the opportunity with both hands.

These kids need to respect the opposition to win the final some of them are cocky as hell.

Very. That too at this age. People often accuse Kohli of arrogance but Kohli only ever abuses a lot - that's not necessarily arrogance IMO. These U-19 players though have massive egos in my opinion.

So India Bangladesh final then?? :shakib

Think we will loose. BD will be playing in home conditions backed up by massive home support. U19 players are young and can get indimidated with such crowd. But anyway very well played by our team. Proud of our boys.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Anmolpreet MOM man he has grabbed the opportunity with both hands.

Indeed. Only got the chance after Ricky Bhui failed in the group stage.

Same for Mayank Dagar replacing leggie Zeeshan Ansari (who is an exciting prospect too. A bit harsh on him, but he'll get more chances being just 16).

Those IPL contracts need to be cancelled. That will bring them back to earth.

Yes atleast reduce the base price till they come into the national team.

Very. That too at this age. People often accuse Kohli of arrogance but Kohli only ever abuses a lot - that's not necessarily arrogance IMO. These U-19 players though have massive egos in my opinion.

True Kohli respects the opposition and from what i have seen in last 3-4 matches is pretty shocking tbh they are behaving as if they already the champions.

Indeed. Only got the chance after Ricky Bhui failed in the group stage.

Same for Mayank Dagar replacing leggie Zeeshan Ansari (who is an exciting prospect too. A bit harsh on him, but he'll get more chances being just 16).

True we needed the best combination for the KOs and both of them fit right in also Batham has upped his game in the semifinal which was nice to see.
Except Pant(keeper) and Ishan almost everyone bowls.

So India Bangladesh final then?? :shakib

Think we will loose. BD will be playing in home conditions backed up by massive home support. U19 players are young and can get indimidated with such crowd. But anyway very well played by our team. Proud of our boys.

It was good while it lasted:(

Bro these are upcoming IPL superishtaars. Since BCCI generates 70% of the cricket revenue these guys have right to mock anyone. Some of them have already got into the ipl teams.
If India got knocked out in league stages you would have still blamed IPL. Now India U19 team is undefeated and reached finals, still you are blaming IPL. And the biggest irony of all is Rishabh Pant never played in IPL. Your rants are getting boring now.

He does have a point. Even though we disagree over the IPL, but giving youngsters so much money is ridiculous. They need to have a smaller base prize, something like what had been implemented for the first few seasons.

Also, for these U19 cricketers, there need to also be some kind of a rule that an U19 cricketer needs to play a season of ranji before IPL. And every ranji teams needs to have an u19 cricketer in the playing XI

True Kohli respects the opposition and from what i have seen in last 3-4 matches is pretty shocking tbh they are behaving as if they already the champions.

:lmao

When Kohli won the U19 world cup final he was abusing the SA players non stop .Real respect to the opposition that was lol

He does have a point. Even though we disagree over the IPL, but giving youngsters so much money is ridiculous. They need to have a smaller base prize, something like what had been implemented for the first few seasons.

Also, for these U19 cricketers, there need to also be some kind of a rule that an U19 cricketer needs to play a season of ranji before IPL. And every ranji teams needs to have an u19 cricketer in the playing XI
I follow most Ranji games and Rishabh Pant has a terrific first class record. So no one gets to play in IPL without playing Ranji. Money is subjective, its upto individuals to stay level headed even after earning money. Making money at young stage makes someone arrogant is a false notion. IPL cannot be blamed for that. Infact its giving a young player like Pant to play against say a veteran like KP. Thats a massive learning oppurtunity.

Youngsters/interns everywhere are earning lots nowadays. Why restrict cricketers?

:lmao

When Kohli won the U19 world cup final he was abusing the SA players non stop .Real respect to the opposition that was lol

Yeah my friend told me same thing right now i guess he has matured now or i would like to believe that.Maybe abusing is different from ego thin line i suppose.

You need to start reading the context behind the post rather than coming straight to my post and quoting it.
There was a post above mine where one of the indian poster said the same thing but as always you chose to quote me. :inti

Yes exactly this.

No offence, but these Indian players look way overage. Not surprised they have made it this far. Bangladesh should win this tournament providing that Saif guy is dropped and promote Shanto to three. They can only win if they bat first and post over 250. Chasing is very difficult in knock-outs. I'd say its 60:40 in India's favour.

Youngsters/interns everywhere are earning lots nowadays. Why restrict cricketers?

exactly . What if something goes wrong and the player does not have the same success in future , are these fans going to take care of his finances ? Some laughable suggestions really .

No offence, but these Indian players look way overage. Not surprised they have made it this far. Bangladesh should win this tournament providing that Saif guy is dropped and promote Shanto to three. They can only win if they bat first and post over 250. Chasing is very difficult in knock-outs. I'd say its 60:40 in India's favour.

its 90:10 in Indias favour . which indian player looks overrage ?

There are few posters who genuinely feels IPL is not good for Indian cricker like [MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION] and give logical explanation behind it. I respect those opinions because they dont rant about it in every thread. And then....there are certain posters who just for attention...Sigh.

Cant believe we are blaming IPL on a day when our U19 team went world cup final undefeated and looked almost invincible.

Some posters I tell you :91:

There are few posters who genuinely feels IPL is not good for Indian cricker like [MENTION=132715]Varun[/MENTION] and give logical explanation behind it. I respect those opinions because they dont rant about it in every thread. And then....there are certain posters who just for attention...Sigh.

Cant believe we are blaming IPL on a day when our U19 team went world cup final undefeated and looked almost invincible.

Some posters I tell you :91:

You do realise the gap between the skills of U19 cricketers and the skill at International cricket level.

Even if we end up winning this U19 WC, the cricketers would have only beaten players at the U19 level, and there is no guarantee that even 20% of the cricketers will graduate to the international level.

In fact, lets just get some numbers
Between 2000 (when we first won the U19 cup) and 2006 U19 WC (before IPL) how many of the U19 cricketers graduated to the international level within 5 years of participating in the U19 WC. We dont even need to look in whether they were successful at the international level, lets just check whether they debuted in any form at this level.

Now, compare that to the 2008 -2012 U19 WC. How many cricketers have graduated to the international level within 5 years of playing in the WC.

Cricketers from 2008 onwards had access to IPL riches, and thus their skill development was hindered.

I am all for IPL being played as it allows the cricketers to earn some good money. These U19 cricketers will become IPL superstars in the future and will easily earn a few crores. But, let them focus on developing their skills for the next couple of years. They can earn to their hearts content after a couple of ranji seasons.

this is a fitting reply to your question

sir ji , I prefer test matches over LOIs any day too , but in the end its the players call . if some one is not interested in the longer format you just cant force him .A lot more people watch the shorter formats than tests too , nothing wrong in it .
Also its not for you are me to decide how much these guys should be earning . Some of these guys may have a very short career , teams are ready to pay now & that may change tomorrow . why should there be a cap when these teams think they are worth that amount ?

Energetic bhai's getting nervous already:misbah

So, average looking Indian players have a 60:40 winning chance against Bangladesh? Now imagine what would have happened had we actually looked? 90:10?

Sounds like you are ready with your excuse in case you lose at home in the finals.

Don't jump too far ahead, BD still have to beat WI and going by how WI beat Pakistan, BD's place in finals is not guaranteed.

sir ji , I prefer test matches over LOIs any day too , but in the end its the players call . if some one is not interested in the longer format you just cant force him .A lot more people watch the shorter formats than tests too , nothing wrong in it .
Also its not for you are me to decide how much these guys should be earning . Some of these guys may have a very short career , teams are ready to pay now & that may change tomorrow . why should there be a cap when these teams think they are worth that amount ?

The cap does need to be there for good. Just for 1 ranji season or till they have played a certain number of ranji matches.

One of the primary ways to prevent them from having a very short career is by ensuring that their skills get well developed.

So, average looking Indian players have a 60:40 winning chance against Bangladesh? Now imagine what would have happened had we actually looked? 90:10?

He obviously did not mean average but overage or in other words that India U-19 have cheated their way into finals.

You do realise the gap between the skills of U19 cricketers and the skill at International cricket level.

Even if we end up winning this U19 WC, the cricketers would have only beaten players at the U19 level, and there is no guarantee that even 20% of the cricketers will graduate to the international level.

In fact, lets just get some numbers
Between 2000 (when we first won the U19 cup) and 2006 U19 WC (before IPL) how many of the U19 cricketers graduated to the international level within 5 years of participating in the U19 WC. We dont even need to look in whether they were successful at the international level, lets just check whether they debuted in any form at this level.

Now, compare that to the 2008 -2012 U19 WC. How many cricketers have graduated to the international level within 5 years of playing in the WC.

Cricketers from 2008 onwards had access to IPL riches, and thus their skill development was hindered.

I am all for IPL being played as it allows the cricketers to earn some good money. These U19 cricketers will become IPL superstars in the future and will easily earn a few crores. But, let them focus on developing their skills for the next couple of years. They can earn to their hearts content after a couple of ranji seasons.

lol
Can you name one u19 player who earned crores in the past few years and has disappeared even from the domestic scene ?

The cap does need to be there for good. Just for 1 ranji season or till they have played a certain number of ranji matches.

One of the primary ways to prevent them from having a very short career is by ensuring that their skills get well developed.

Prepare a list of all those who have played for India in U-19 WCss in the last 12-14 years, you will find 50% of them lose their way and do not even get to play Ranji Trophy and this at a time when, unlike previous decades, there are enough coaches to guide and help you. And this was happening before IPL came into existence. IPL does give them cushion of some easy money, but those who are willing to work hard continue doing so irrespective of the money they make at IPL.

Almost Every Indian U19 player :srt looks overage. Even if BD manage to reach final and lose to India, I don't regret. Cause I know who's the real 'Under' 19 champion here.

Good players will survive no matter what . The ones who loose their way cos of money never had that will power to start with , they would have failed at some point and screwd us over . Now they will fail with some money in their bank account , which again is fine . The ones who play for the country should be able to handle pressure , money , fame well at a early stage . Kids these days do that much better than the past generation imo .