If an Asian batsman would have scored three tons in a five-match series in SA?

Mobashir

If that had happened he would have been hailed as the greatest batsman ever and he couldn't have been compared to anyone.

In total, Asian batsman have 12 hundreds in South Africa. And here is the records of some leading Asian cricketers in South Africa:

Sachin, 22 innings, average 25 and 65 of SR, 1 hundred, 1 fifty.
Sangakarra, 18 innings, average 31,93 and 75 of SR, 1 hundred 3 fifty.
Inzamam, 17 innings, average 29 and 65 of SR, 0 hundred 3 fifty.

And many more.

It show how our cricketers do not adapt to foreign conditions. Compare this with ABDV who has juste score 3 wonderful hundreds in India in 5 matches and still he is criticized in more than half the comments on the forum.

AB's hundred chasing last innings on a turner was equivalent to Kohli scoring one on a green track.

These arm chair experts think they know better, but in reality, everyone rates ABDV as the best in the world.

Kohli scored 4 centuries in 4 tests in Australia and no one said he is the next sachin.
We are not like Pakistani's who start hyping after a few hundreds.
People still talk about Umar Akmal's century in nz till now :)))

If that had happened he would have been hailed as the greatest batsman ever and he couldn't have been compared to anyone.

In total, Asian batsman have 12 hundreds in South Africa. And here is the records of some leading Asian cricketers in South Africa:

Sachin, 22 innings, average 25 and 65 of SR, 1 hundred, 1 fifty.
Sangakarra, 18 innings, average 31,93 and 75 of SR, 1 hundred 3 fifty.
Inzamam, 17 innings, average 29 and 65 of SR, 0 hundred 3 fifty.

And many more.

It show how our cricketers do not adapt to foreign conditions. Compare this with ABDV who has juste score 3 wonderful hundreds in India in 5 matches and still he is criticized in more than half the comments on the forum.

SA has been tough for Asian batsmen not because of foreign conditions, but because they have a very strong bowling side. Sachin facing Steyn, Morkel and Philander is the same as AB facing Mohit, BK and Bhajji? Give me a break.

Stats of the ATG bowling line-up faced by ABDV in this series -

Shane Mishra - Avg of 55
Bhuvaneshwar Holding - Avg of 50
Mohit Marshall - Avg of 43
Murali Patel - Avg of 40

Compare this to the consistent high standard of bowling, SC batsmen face when they go overseas.

To add to this, every batsman (especially in ODI's) has a weak country. ABDV averages 28 in England iirc.

Are you completely oblivious to how ODI cricket works nowadays? Pitches are the same everywhere 90% of the time. Sometimes you get a turner in Asia or a green track but that is rare. That's why in ODIs it means very little to score runs everywhere. The strength of the bowling attack matters much more.

SA has been tough for Asian batsmen not because of foreign conditions, but because they have a very strong bowling side. Sachin facing Steyn, Morkel and Philander is the same as AB facing Mohit, BK and Bhajji? Give me a break.

If we're talking about 5-6 years back then the conditions in South Africa were more difficult too, along with the strong bowling attacks.

Kohli scored 4 centuries in 4 tests in Australia and no one said he is the next sachin.

The op is talking about odis.

The logic is the same. Kohli's centuries apart from the Adelaide knock are rated a little less because pitches in Australia are known to be flat. Similarly in ODIs pitches everywhere are flat right now so the conditions don't matter much (opponent and bowling attack is a lot more important).

PakPassion should be renamed as ProteaPassion.

I don't get the obsession with this gutless cricket team that always fails on the big stage.

Even your fav England (probably the most boring anf gutless team in entire cricket history) is obsessed with SA and love to play SA born players in their team. But well that really helped them win at least 1 trophy lol (in fun cricket)

Its disenginuous how you directly compare.

Sachin, Sangakarra and Inzi faced ATG SA attack on lively tracks. Those stats are

ABD faced toothless Indian bowlers (minus even Ashwin) on tracks that were easy to bat (except 1 game).

Yes ABD is GOAT material but let's get some perspective please.

Tomorrow there will be a thread on how Kohli is greater than Sachin and Gavaskar cos he scored 4 hundreds in 1 tour of Aus when the other 2 fellas scored only 5-6 100s in TOTAL in Aus.

PakPassion should be renamed as ProteaPassion.

I don't get the obsession with this gutless cricket team that always fails on the big stage.

Hmm so you don't like AB because the entire world loves him? Obviously most on PP as well, he is the most loved cricketer worldwide.

I guess that explains why absolute legends like even Viv has critics....

Even your fav England (probably the most boring anf gutless team in entire cricket history) is obsessed with SA and love to play SA born players in their team. But well that really helped them win at least 1 trophy lol (in fun cricket)

Well if the Proteas don't have the stupid racial quota, white Saffers wouldn't be tempted to play for England.

Sachin, Sangakarra and Inzi faced ATG SA attack on lively tracks. Those stats are

ABD faced toothless Indian bowlers (minus even Ashwin) on tracks that were easy to bat (except 1 game).

Tomorrow there will be a thread on how Kohli is greater than Sachin and Gavaskar cos he scored 4 hundreds in 1 tour of Aus when the other 2 fellas scored only 5-6 100s in TOTAL in Aus.

Kohli scored more hundreds in one tour of Aus than Anwar, Inzi and Yousuf combined in all their careers? :murali

Hmm so you don't like AB because the entire world loves him? Obviously most on PP as well, he is the most loved cricketer worldwide.

I guess that explains why absolute legends like even Viv has critics....

I don't have liking/disliking for AB. I think he's a wonderful cricketer, but he is not what people make him out to be, because he's overrated for various reasons which have been discussed to death.

I don't buy this loved throughout the world nonsense. he is only loved in India because of he is an IPL star and on PakPassion because of some weird affinity for Saffers.

I mean the love of certain Saffers is explainable :amla but it is not just de Villiers or any particular player; the whole Proteas are very loved on this forum.

Yeah, this series is not the defining moment for him lol. But some were taking digs at his knocks here, that's also unfair. Well he has scored everywhere so you can take any country and build an argument over that... :P

Even ABD's critics don't deny he is the best batsman of this era.

Maybe barring some odd soul. :))

de Villiers fan club has become like Sachin's.

You are not spared even when you recognize and acknowledge that he is the best batsman of this era.

The mob will be out if you point out the obvious, i.e. when it comes to a certain aspect of batting (chasing for instance) there is someone out there who is better than him.

You must say that he is the greatest thing in the world.

Now they can foam in their mouth as much as they like, but I am absolutely not ready or willing to accept that he is a better chaser than Kohli, and today's match changes nothing at all because the gap is huge nonetheless.

I don't have liking/disliking for AB. I think he's a wonderful cricketer, but he is not what people make him out to be, because he's overrated for various reasons which have been discussed to death.

I don't buy this loved throughout the world nonsense. he is only loved in India because of he is an IPL star and on PakPassion because of some weird affinity for Saffers.

I mean the love of certain Saffers is explainable :amla but it is not just de Villiers or any particular player; the whole Proteas are very loved on this forum.

I think they have the characters and players who are lovable. Steyn is the number one bowler since years in rankings, then AB, Amla, now Faf, Quinton... they gotta have fans.

Compare this to English team. They're quite boring, apart from Root. Who likes Broad? And Anderson is a good bowler, but not of Steyn level. Cook is a great opener, underrated yes. Apart from that, no one to like really.

I think they have the characters and players who are lovable. Steyn is the number one bowler since years in rankings, then AB, Amla, now Faf, Quinton... they gotta have fans.

Compare this to English team. They're quite boring, apart from Root. Who likes Broad? And Anderson is a good bowler, but not of Steyn level. Cook is a great opener, underrated yes. Apart from that, no one to like really.

It can't just be due to cricket related reasons. I think if you take England, we have an ugly history with them. There has been a considerable rivalry there.

Dislike for India is understandable; Australia too at times get irrational hate but it is still understandable because of their success, and success breeds jealously.

Still I'd say that South African players are loved and revered a bit too much here. I mean a South African player farts and the usual suspects created 500 threads in their glory, but when they fail no one creates a thread.

Kohli has been a bit underwhelming chasing in high pressure games though.

He got out to an unbelievably stupid shot today after tonking Rabada for a six. Played a ridiculous shot in the WC semis too.

If we're talking about 5-6 years back then the conditions in South Africa were more difficult too, along with the strong bowling attacks.

SA conditions are like England, which Indian batsmen generally have no problems with. SA tour was generally a little more difficult compared to England because the SA bowling standard was normally higher - even Steyn on an indifferent form could be as tough as Anderson in decent form. SA usually had a three pronged quality pace attack, which was the most difficult part of touring SA.

Kohli has been a bit underwhelming chasing in high pressure games though.

He got out to an unbelievably stupid shot today after tonking Rabada for a six. Played a ridiculous shot in the WC semis too.

Yeah...been acting like a moron with the bat in crucial games.

It can't just be due to cricket related reasons. I think if you take England, we have an ugly history with them. There has been a considerable rivalry there.

Dislike for India is understandable; Australia too at times get irrational hate but it is still understandable because of their success, and success breeds jealously.

Still I'd say that South African players are loved and revered a bit too much here. I mean a South African player farts and the usual suspects created 500 threads in their glory, but when they fail no one creates a thread.

Lol, that's simply untrue. Australians are very much loved here, specially due to the attacking and never back down attitude we've associated with them since the ATG Aussie team.

Everyone in Pak admired that team, they admire Smith, Maxwell, Warner, Starc even now, probably even more than South Africans except AB.

Bhai haara india he or fail kohli hua he tumhaari kyun baji hui he aaj :D

Lol, that's simply untrue. Australians are very much loved here, specially due to the attacking and never back down attitude we've associated with them since the ATG Aussie team.

Everyone in Pak admired that team, they admire Smith, Maxwell, Warner, Starc even now, probably even more than South Africans except AB.

That is why I said at times. People mocked them for their failures in Asia but no one criticized SA for cheating to a win in Dubai and SL.

Australia gets excess love when they are up against England, who happen to be the most hated team after India.

Baji nahi hai meri, haq ki baat kar raha hun. Amla bhai be bhi aik thread bana do na please :yk

Mood koi zyada acha nae laga raha aaj tumhara kuch na kuch link to india ke haarne, kohli ke chase main fail hone or england ke collapse kerne se hai :yk wese don't lose hope england and root can still save the match

Pagri na uchalo meri. :yk

de Villiers fan club has become like Sachin's.

You are not spared even when you recognize and acknowledge that he is the best batsman of this era.

The mob will be out if you point out the obvious, i.e. when it comes to a certain aspect of batting (chasing for instance) there is someone out there who is better than him.

You must say that he is the greatest thing in the world.

Now they can foam in their mouth as much as they like, but I am absolutely not ready or willing to accept that he is a better chaser than Kohli, and today's match changes nothing at all because the gap is huge nonetheless.

You're just bitter because there is no one likeable in the English team. Bunch of boring one dimensional cricketers with the personality of a mule. Flintoff was the last great personality they had, pity he wasn't as good as they thought he was.

Funnily enough, I have no liking for Flintoff. He was a tool.

What's so likable about SA players? Bunch of chokers who can't win a thing on the big stage; play boring and methodical cricket. I mean AB and Steyn are fun to watch but rest are devoid of charisma and personality.

Look at Kallis, Amla, du Plessis, Morkel etc. etc.

QdK is entertaining though. Of course you don't mind it, but as a Pakistani, I do find this obsession with South African players among my countrymen quite bizarre.

you're just bitter because there is no one likeable in the english team. Bunch of boring one dimensional cricketers with the personality of a mule. Flintoff was the last great personality they had, pity he wasn't as good as they thought he was.

kp?

Ab De Villiers has had the luxury to play a lot in the Indian Premier League, hence he has adapted to the conditions.

Sub-continental players don't have that much luxury to play overseas, hence they can't adapt.

And we are not like Indians who declared Kohli better match winner than Sachin/ Bhuvi better bowler than Steyn / Ishant better bowler than Waqar/ Raina better than Hussey/ Unadkat the 2nd coming of Wasim / Praveen Kumar the MacCgrath / ..do you want to see more? oh sorry i forgot one more thing Dhoni the best ever Indian Kaptaan.
You are laughing on people who still remember Uakmal century, you should laugh on your self because you still remember Kohli's centuries. Past is past :))

Well on serious note, if any Asian batsman did that, he would be declared an ATG now.

QdK is entertaining though. Of course you don't mind it, but as a Pakistani, I do find this obsession with South African players among my countrymen quite bizarre.
Could have fooled me. You seem like the furthest thing from being a Pakistani fan based on your comments on the Pakistan team. You're a closet Pom, except when they're playing like crap, then you switch sides to being a closet Aussie.

Who says Indians don't have big hearts, they do, specially their bowelers.
Short of runs ? Go to India, they will let you score hundreds, many.

i think you missed ABD scored 3 centuries in this 5 matches series. 350+ runs in toal

Doesn't matter. ABDV is playing oo flat pattas, and Indian bowling is toothless. Indian bowling don't have Zak, Ashwin, Ishant, e.t.c so it was an ordinary performance. But yes Kohli's hundred during the same tournament was out of the world. Rohit Sharma deserved MOM doesn't matter they lost. ABD is bottler in chasing but Kohli is ATG despite of the fact that Kohli Avg in chasing against top 6 teams = 97 and ABD =95 in case of victories, so the difference of 2 can define who is bottler and who is an ATG. Kudos to our standards.
--------------------------------------------------------------

Doesn't matter. ABDV is playing oo flat pattas, and Indian bowling is toothless. Indian bowling don't have Zak, Ashwin, Ishant, e.t.c so it was an ordinary performance. But yes Kohli's hundred during the same tournament was out of the world. Rohit Sharma deserved MOM doesn't matter they lost. ABD is bottler in chasing but Kohli is ATG despite of the fact that Kohli Avg in chasing against top 6 teams = 97 and ABD =95 in case of victories, so the difference of 2 can define who is bottler and who is an ATG. Kudos to our standards.

Did Kohli or Rohit face India's bowling attack? :))

let me make it short "angoor khatte hen bhai" :yk

Did Kohli or Rohit face India's bowling attack? :))

Patta wickets lol, that's why all were gifted wickets. And 2nd thing a professional cricketer should be able to cope with good bowlers as well as poor bowlers, this the lame excuse that e.t.c bowlers were good or rubbish and an easy way to mask weaknesses.

Patta wickets lol, that's why all were gifted wickets. And 2nd thing a professional cricket should be able to cope with good bowlers as well as poor bowlers, this the lame excuse that e.t.c bowlers were good or rubbish and an easy way to mask weaknesses.

So according to you the quality of the bowling attack doesn't matter at all?

According to me masking some body good/bad performances by saying bowling/batting attack was this and that is not a wise thing. Indian batting isn't Zimbabwe batting and Indian bowling isn't like UAE bowling.

I'm afraid you're by yourself then. It is widely accepted that the bowling attack makes a major difference and looking at performances while ignoring the bowlers is not wise.

Bare khatarnaak mood mein lag rahe ho. Hell in a cell shuru ho gaya kya :misbah

An Asian batsman scored 4 centuries in 4 "Test" matches in Australia against an attack of Johnson, Harris, Hazelwood, Starc and Lyon, and the player was promptly dismissed as a FTB and a hack, who only scores on flat tracks against SL bowlers.

A South african batsman scores 3 centuries in 5 "ODIs" in India against an attack of Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Axar Patel, Bhajji and Mishra, and we have people arguing that he is not getting the deserved recognition and tracks and bowlers don't count.

Come on. We all have our biases and dislikes, but atleast attempt to appear objective lol :-)

Since everybody's commenting on it. Personally I only like watching AB, De kock and Rossouw from SA.

Rest of them are quite boring. Amla especially is ugly to watch, Steyn is one dimensional. I like Faf's guts but he's even more awkward than Amla.

I categorically request Mods to close any thread that deviates from the topic. I see the arguments taking an usual shape.

Question is, if any Asian batsmen 'll get 3 hundreds in 5 innings in SAF? Answer is, none has done so far. However, I am not sure if any non Asian player had done that either or not. However, Anwar & Zaheer has 3 in consecutive 100s in Asia, while Gayle once had 3 in 6 innings in IND.

It's true that facing Mohit, BK in IND & Styen, Morkel in SAF are different proposition - but then it's also should be considered that facing darters on Indian wickets & 85km spinners who don't turn an inch in SAF is also different.

So, I think, it's more about overall condition rather than the players ability/adoptability or the standard of bowling they are facing. ODIs in IND is played on batting dreamlands - you play 60% of your career on those tracks, one can understand what top players batting in top 3/4 can do from the small sample of AB or Faf or De Cock, if you prorate that to 350 match career.

However, I do agree that SAF/AUS players are groomed in professional set up & the transition is easier for them (I. e. adopting Asia wickets for a non Asian & vice verse). PAK national players in 70s & 80s were groomed in Counties, it was possible for them then - now days they get bundled for 49 in 1st outting...........

I categorically request Mods to close any thread that deviates from the topic. I see the arguments taking an usual shape.

Question is, if any Asian batsmen 'll get 3 hundreds in 5 innings in SAF? Answer is, none has done so far. However, I am not sure if any non Asian player had done that either or not. However, Anwar & Zaheer has 3 in consecutive 100s in Asia, while Gayle once had 3 in 6 innings in IND.

It's true that facing Mohit, BK in IND & Styen, Morkel in SAF are different proposition - but then it's also should be considered that facing darters on Indian wickets & 85km spinners who don't turn an inch in SAF is also different.

So, I think, it's more about overall condition rather than the players ability/adoptability or the standard of bowling they are facing. ODIs in IND is played on batting dreamlands - you play 60% of your career on those tracks, one can understand what top players batting in top 3/4 can do from the small sample of AB or Faf or De Cock, if you prorate that to 350 match career.

However, I do agree that SAF/AUS players are groomed in professional set up & the transition is easier for them (I. e. adopting Asia wickets for a non Asian & vice verse). PAK national players in 70s & 80s were groomed in Counties, it was possible for them then - now days they get bundled for 49 in 1st outting...........

You ask moderators to delete any posts that are off-topic and then post that the statistics of Indian batsman are inflated massively because of playing 60% of their matches on these pitches (something that has absolutely no relevance to the topic). :))

I'm afraid you're by yourself then. It is widely accepted that the bowling attack makes a major difference and looking at performances while ignoring the bowlers is not wise.

My point is simple, if any one is performing good, he deserves praise. Indian bowling isn't like UAE bowling. And the thing which you are saying, i totally agree. If some body is performing against good bowling and batting attack, surely deserves something. But can you explain how it is wise to mask ABD good performances by labeling Indian bowling attack poor? fair thing? And if by going the same logic i think every one will agree that in past batsmen and bowlers were much much better than the current generation, so no current player can match past players? Zaheer Abbas, Javed Miandad, Inzimam, Hussey, Ponting, Kallis, they all played cricket during the era of tough pitches and bowlers, so can we say they are better than Kohli, Dhoni, ABD, Cook, e.t.c ??

Who is saying that AB's runs shouldn't be counted? No one is masking his runs. However what people are saying is that the OP is rubbish because scoring runs in SA against world class bowlers is much different than this.

I do agree that the batsman/bowlers in the past where significantly better and not many people dispute that. That doesn't mean that no current batsman or bowler can be better than those past players.

I don't understand this thread or its point.
Is it A) congratulating the SA team in it's entirety or B) chest thumping for one man who needed a platform to perform?
If 'A' then yeah the whole team deserves credit for winning a series against formidable opponents in their backyard despite possessing a lolly pop attack.
If 'B' give it a rest already.
I would rather discuss Rabada, he has given more bite to our pace attack. We have 3 genuine wicket taking options and then there's Tahir who should be serviceable until the next WC if managed properly.
I hope Rabada plays county cricket next winter (even if he debuts for SA in the coming months), even if its just 5 games instead of IPL. Its what destroyed Parnell, he suffered a knee injury and was never the same bowler.
De Kock also missed the trick by not having a county stint at a young age. As a result I only see him as an ODI specialist in the near future.

I don't understand this thread or its point.
Is it A) congratulating the SA team in it's entirety or B) chest thumping for one man who needed a platform to perform?
If 'A' then yeah the whole team deserves credit for winning a series against formidable opponents in their backyard despite possessing a lolly pop attack.

Lollypop attack? Steyn, Rabada, Morkel, Tahir. Lollypop indeed.

This SA attack is not very good. It is just good. It is certainly not ATG.

The Indian attack is playing in India where they learned their cricket.

This SA attack is not very good. It is just good. It is certainly not ATG.

The Indian attack is playing in India where they learned their cricket.

The South African attack is definitely much better than the Indian attack though (especially since we are missing Shami, Ashwin etc).

SA were missing Morkel too and they are playing on Indian roads so their pacers dont get any assistance.