If India-Pakistan relations get better and movement becomes easy which places are on your list?

Bhai I meant no ill will and apologize for my past behavior if it offended you in any capacity.
What I actually meant was that Bihar, an ancient civilization and a birthplace of so many art and architectural forms as well as literary geniuses, has been ruined by it's pathetic politicians and Jungle Raj politics. I didn't mean to insult Biharis who in general are pretty great people to get along with. It's just that the place had so much potential and yet the leaders wasted everything away.

Re Rajasthan Yes it's no jannat either. It has it's fair share of problems be it social or economical. I never claimed otherwise.
Hope that clears up everything for you.

That’s alright bro. Sorry I couldn’t be online for last 3-4 days because of work.

The thing is - it boils my blood if someone intentionally or unintentionally mock us for being Bihari. You won’t believe what i personally have gone through when i went out of Bihar for studies, i have been looked upon with suspicion, denied a rented place because of being a Bihari. Being mocked for accent etc are trivial things so I won’t stretch on that.

I don’t know if its a relevant thread for my post. But since this topic of Bihar pops up every now and then i have decided to share my experience and opinion. Mods are free to decide.

People often say that Biharis are stupid. If they have so many issues, why have they elected corrupt politicians(Lalu Prasad Yadav) again and again.

If you see the potential, Bihar had the potential to become richest state in the country. On one side you have Fertile land in the planes, so many rivers, adequate rain fall and on the other side full of natural resources/minerals(Now Jharkhand).

But the thing is- Common people (especially lower income/caste) group never had the access to the land or the resources. Agricultural land was controlled by these land mafias for hundreds of years who called themselves Zamindars. They used to treat people like ****. Ever heard of the term ‘Bandhua Majdoor’. That means if you took money from these crooks for any reason (medical/marriage of daughter etc) , you and your coming generations is bound to work for them for free of cost(may be just food and clothing twice a year) and that loan won’t be paid ever.

These people (Harijans as termed by Gandhi) were(still are at many places) untouchables and denied even the basic rights. But when they get married their wives had to spend the first night with these Zamindars.

You can’t imagine the pathetic life these people were living. Some of them took the route of violence and picked up guns. And then emerged Lalu Prasad Yadav. People saw hope in him. He gave the respect and voice to the neglected ones which hadn’t experienced even in their wildest dreams. Lalu could have been a Messiah if he hadn’t looted everything which came to his way. People didn’t had a problem if these corrupt politicians took 20-30 out of 100 but Lalu decided to score 100 out of 100. And Bihar kept on suffering. He kept getting elected again and again because People didn’t had a choice. Either go back to slavery or at least have a voice even at a cost of having an empty stomach.

Rest of the country often complains that their places are full Biharis. Yes its a sad truth. Biharis had/have to migrate to earn their livelihood , work on daily wages because they have nothing to do back home. Most of the lower class have a piece of land or 2 at most which isn’t sufficient to raise their families and kids.

And my friend that is the reason of my frustration. People of Bihar are mocked, criticised, looked upon as some low life creatures for none of their faults.

I can go on and on but i think its already a long post. And i hope you get my point. Anyways no hard feelings. I’m a proud Bihari and a proud Indian at the end of the day.

Kashmir for the scenic beauty.

Gujrat(both of my mother's parents and both of my father's parents migrated from there.My mum's parents belonged to the same area, while Dad's paternal grandfather and paternal grandmother belonged to different villages)

Also would like to visit historical sites in India for the Maugham architecture etc

Jaipur has a decent Muslim population.
So you are originally from Rajasthan then.
Cool ;)

A lot of Rajasthani Muslims moved to Pak during Partition. I don't have the exact numbers, but I'd say they're the third largest contingent after those with roots in UP/Gujarat, ofc because of the geographic proximity if anything. The best known of those are obviously Mehdi Hassan/Reshma, easily the single most powerful male/female (respectively) voices from Pak. In cricket, Rameez Raja has roots in Jaipur and in fact modeled his mansion in Lahore after Jaipur's Rambagh palace, once the Maharaja's abode.

As for those in India, Khaleel Ahmed, the bowler who has recently been included to play the Asia Cup for India, is a Muslim from Rajasthan. Apparently nearly 10% of Rajasthan is Muslims, intuitively I would have put it at a bit less (like 3-5%).

Bhai I meant no ill will and apologize for my past behavior if it offended you in any capacity.
What I actually meant was that Bihar, an ancient civilization and a birthplace of so many art and architectural forms as well as literary geniuses, has been ruined by it's pathetic politicians and Jungle Raj politics. I didn't mean to insult Biharis who in general are pretty great people to get along with. It's just that the place had so much potential and yet the leaders wasted everything away.

Re Rajasthan Yes it's no jannat either. It has it's fair share of problems be it social or economical. I never claimed otherwise.
Hope that clears up everything for you.

4-5 years ago Imran Khan used to give example of bihar CM Nitesh Kumar as someone who has changed face of bihar's economy. Iirc the CM also came to pakistan for a visit.

what happened?

A lot of Rajasthani Muslims moved to Pak during Partition. I don't have the exact numbers, but I'd say they're the third largest contingent after those with roots in UP/Gujarat, ofc because of the geographic proximity if anything. The best known of those are obviously Mehdi Hassan/Reshma, easily the single most powerful male/female (respectively) voices from Pak. In cricket, Rameez Raja has roots in Jaipur and in fact modeled his mansion in Lahore after Jaipur's Rambagh palace, once the Maharaja's abode.

As for those in India, Khaleel Ahmed, the bowler who has recently been included to play the Asia Cup for India, is a Muslim from Rajasthan. Apparently nearly 10% of Rajasthan is Muslims, intuitively I would have put it at a bit less (like 3-5%).
Rajasthan has always had a sizable Muslim population(Understandable because of its proximity to Sindh which came under Junaid's forces as early as 8th century) with a very few incidents of communal disharmony esp before Independence since Rajputana's monarchs relatively enjoyed autonomy in their internal matters during Mughal era ( Watan Jagir) thus more stability in administration.
Even in present times you would see very few incidents of rioting in Rajasthan (compared to other parts of North). We all live in peace here.

4-5 years ago Imran Khan used to give example of bihar CM Nitesh Kumar as someone who has changed face of bihar's economy. Iirc the CM also came to pakistan for a visit.

what happened?

I believe [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] and [MENTION=138780]OneTip-OneHand[/MENTION] have a better knowledge on this subject than me.

Really hope peace prevails between the 2 neighbors and we can roam freely in both countries with open borders like Grrmaany and France.

No one is born with hate and common man in both countries are suffering. Let's move on and let bygones be bygones.

Aur raaj karay gi khalq-e-Khuda
jJo mai bhi hun aur tum bhi ho

Insha Allah ham dekhein gai!

I couldn't understand the last three lines. I appreciate the first three. I too wish peace prevails between the people of these two countries and people get along well with each other. In fact, I want people of all countries love all the people and enjoy their lives peacefully.
There are so many divisions even within India. I believe that is there in Pakistan too. Still hope, people of future generations become more spiritual, look at the big picture of life and come together as one family.

Back to the topic, I don't have a specific place in my wish list. Perhaps, I would love to visit a village in Pakistan and have dinner with family.

What does drinking have to do with enjoying a day out on the beach? Or marvelling at the beautiful views of the ocean? Or even partying, and while I must admit, dancing and losing it is more fun while under the influence of an intoxicant, it is not as bad sober.

So, if I may ask, what does drinking have to do without enjoying luxury resorts on a beach anyway?

Please look up Goa as a tourist destination.

It's a beach and party destination. Alcohol flows like water and to vacation without it is a stretch at best.

There are historic sights being a Portuguese colony however.

Pondicherry comes to mind.

Then also shimla.

Then the tiger forests. Nagaland too is something i've been fascinated about. Basically distant India, not the Dehli and Mumbai / Bangalore kind of cities but distant India which is basically still not as modern as the other places.

Please look up Goa as a tourist destination.

It's a beach and party destination. Alcohol flows like water and to vacation without it is a stretch at best.

There are historic sights being a Portuguese colony however.

I've visited tourist destinations around the world in the dozens and not once have I felt the need to be intoxicated to have a relaxing day at the beach or to have a fun time at the club.

Fact of the matter, if I was at some EDM festival or something of the sort, being deprived of intoxicants would make me feel like I'm missing out but to a holiday? I'd seriously doubt that.

I couldn't understand the last three lines. I appreciate the first three. I too wish peace prevails between the people of these two countries and people get along well with each other. In fact, I want people of all countries love all the people and enjoy their lives peacefully.

Ameen :)

And translation of last 3 lines:
And then God’s creation will rule
Which is I, as well as you
We shall Witness!

Peace, prosperity and love for all :)

what happened?

I believe [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] and [MENTION=138780]OneTip-OneHand[/MENTION] have a better knowledge on this subject than me.

Its very difficult to give you a short answer about what happened. But I’ll try to be as short and precise as i can.

When Nitish Kumar came into power, it was first time in decades when people voted for development rather than caste, religion etc. During his first tenure he truly was remarkable. Some of his achievements or initiatives were-
1. Speedy trial court for criminals.
2. Construction of roads and availability of electricity even in villages.
3. Establishment of some world class state sponsored institutions (other than IITs and IIMs). These instructions have 50% state reservations to stop the migration of youth.
4. Control on red tapism. Monitoring the work of govt officials. There used be a saying in Bihar- “ 12 baje late nahi, 4 baje bhet nahi”( 12 noon is not too late to come to the office, 4 pm is not too early to finish the work and go home)
5. Inviting the businesses to invest in Bihar. Revival of old and dead factories, sugar mills etc.
6. Improvements on school and college education. Providing bicycles etc to girls and poor kids etc

I mean you can imagine how people were surprised and delighted who had never experienced a Government so dedicated. After all Bihar has always been in news for wrong reasons.

But then during his 2nd tenure, Nitish Kumar started dreaming to become PM, desperately trying to come out of the shadow of Narendra Modi. He saw the opportunity of being the front face of an Anti-BJP govt in 2019 general elections. So he joined the hands of Lalu, his arch rival. And things went as they were earlier. Lalu started controlling everything with his 2 crook sons, one as deputy CM and the other one as some other minister.

Although Nitish realized his mistake later and broke the tie with Lalu, went ahead and made the alliance with BJP again. But the damage was already done. He and his Govt was never the same. He is now seen as someone who would do anything to remain in power.

Thats the story of Nitish’ fall. Someone who was once regarded as an honest politician who wanted to make a change and he was called Vikas Purush for that.

Tamil Nadu and possibly, Kerala

Its very difficult to give you a short answer about what happened. But I’ll try to be as short and precise as i can.

When Nitish Kumar came into power, it was first time in decades when people voted for development rather than caste, religion etc. During his first tenure he truly was remarkable. Some of his achievements or initiatives were-
1. Speedy trial court for criminals.
2. Construction of roads and availability of electricity even in villages.
3. Establishment of some world class state sponsored institutions (other than IITs and IIMs). These instructions have 50% state reservations to stop the migration of youth.
4. Control on red tapism. Monitoring the work of govt officials. There used be a saying in Bihar- “ 12 baje late nahi, 4 baje bhet nahi”( 12 noon is not too late to come to the office, 4 pm is not too early to finish the work and go home)
5. Inviting the businesses to invest in Bihar. Revival of old and dead factories, sugar mills etc.
6. Improvements on school and college education. Providing bicycles etc to girls and poor kids etc

I mean you can imagine how people were surprised and delighted who had never experienced a Government so dedicated. After all Bihar has always been in news for wrong reasons.

But then during his 2nd tenure, Nitish Kumar started dreaming to become PM, desperately trying to come out of the shadow of Narendra Modi. He saw the opportunity of being the front face of an Anti-BJP govt in 2019 general elections. So he joined the hands of Lalu, his arch rival. And things went as they were earlier. Lalu started controlling everything with his 2 crook sons, one as deputy CM and the other one as some other minister.

Although Nitish realized his mistake later and broke the tie with Lalu, went ahead and made the alliance with BJP again. But the damage was already done. He and his Govt was never the same. He is now seen as someone who would do anything to remain in power.

Thats the story of Nitish’ fall. Someone who was once regarded as an honest politician who wanted to make a change and he was called Vikas Purush for that.

interesting!

thanks for sharing!

I remember IK used to give an example of him a lot for our 2013 elections and then suddenly stopped referencing him.

I want to visit the Taj Mahal for sure (Before some fanatic shuts it down), that would be number one. After that, the Banglawali mosque in Nizamuddin, the city of Hyderabad (for eating well, mainly) and of course experiencing a cricket match at Eden Gardens, Mohali or that really beautiful venue in the mountains.

A tour of India with the wifey will actually be a lot of fun.

Thanks

Ameen :)

And translation of last 3 lines:
And then God’s creation will rule
Which is I, as well as you
We shall Witness!

Peace, prosperity and love for all :)

Thank you SarfiBabarHaris!

It will be difficult (not impossible) for current generation to get over the hatred. May be in the future, there won't be any border dispute and people rise above the differences. Let us hope!

Thank you SarfiBabarHaris!

It will be difficult (not impossible) for current generation to get over the hatred. May be in the future, there won't be any border dispute and people rise above the differences. Let us hope!

Ameen again bro. I also think its not impossible.

Together we will do our bit to make the world filled with love, peace and humanity. Hopefully!