If you could show four Bollywood movies to foreigners, what would they be?

marlonbrowndo

Some of my Canadian friends and I meet up every weekend to watch a movie. Everyone gets their own month where they pick a movie for each weekend to show everyone else. May is my month and I thought I'd show some Bollywood with subtitles of course.

Figured it shouldn't be too hard to pick 4 since most Bollywood movies are garbage. However selecting 4 is harder than I thought. 3 I think I have decided upon are

Dil Chahta Hai
Gangs of Wasseypur
Gangs of Wasseypur 2

Some others I thought about were 3 idiots, Black Friday, Ship of Theseus, Anand, Bajrangi Bhaijaan, PK, Devdas, Company, Rangeela. Thought about Lagaan and while it is an excellent movie, I feel it delves very deep into Indian culture and it probably wouldn't be as enjoyable if you don't know cricket. Same with Swades

These people are actual intellectual/avid film watchers so please no Varun Dhawan/Alia Bhatt trash

Black Friday is what I'm leaning towards most but that would be 3/4 Anurag Kashyap movies and I'd rather show Gangs of Wasseypur

My name is khan but I wouldn't show them bollywood movies, I'd try to promote Pakistani stuff.

I'd rather not embarrass myself. If there was a music month or something like that then there'd be a lot to show

If you want to watch a sensible thriller with a killer twist in the end I’d recommend “ Kahaani”

Thanks for the suggestion. Reviews look good. Would it be enjoyable from a foreigners perspective

What about maula jatt? It's a Pakistani classic :afridi

One of the best punjabi movie. Though its a shame that pakistan comedy shows are funny as hell but pakistani punjabi industry hardly produced movies which are watchable,whereas there is a long list of very good indian punjabi movies...

4 is just too small a number

But my suggestions would be based on their preferences

1st Category

content oriented Genre films set in the Indian world but still in tune with sensibilities of western cinema

Satya, Company, Dev D , Gangs of Waseeypur I and II, Shaithan, Udaan, Kahaani, Taare Zameen Par,Queen, Shahid, Margharita with a straw, Lootera, Love Sex aur Dhoka, Kapoor and Sons, Lunchbox, Pan Singh Tomar, Aligarh, Kaun, Chandni Bar, Dhrushyam, Haazaron Khwahish Aisi, Iqbal, Madras Cafe, Highway, English Vinglish , Black Friday, Gulaal

2nd Category
Content Oriented Films but mixed with Indian style of Film making with Songs etc

Lagaan, 3 Idiots, Omkara, Rangeela, Swades, Barfi, Rang De Basanti, Dil Chahta Hai, Dangal, Dil Se, Haider, Maqbool, Oh My God, Sholay, Sarfrosh, Guru,Maachis, Chak De India, Vaastav, Wake up sid, Vicky Donor , Piku,Zindagi Na Milegi Dobaara, Lootera

3rd Category
Hardcore Bollywood with Family, huge Music Numbers ...still good cinema

Rangeela, Mr. India, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, Taal,Hum Aapke Hain Kaun, Jab We Met, Kal Ho Na Ho, 2 States, DevDas, DDLJ, Om shanti Om

Most of them in the list will be from last 10-15 years. I am sure missed many films from before I started actively watching Bollywood,

I don't watch Indian movies generally, but my gf (now wife) forced me to watch Karthik calling Karthik a few years ago and it is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life.

There is also one category I will never show: Slumdog Millionaire.

I will show them movies which show the reality of India, where surroundings are clean, homes are palaces with designer moms, people are fair skinned who fly to europe for a song and have westerners dance to their tune in the background, and the most important issues in life is deciding which among the list of fair skinned girls to love at the moment.

Newton ,Queen, PK (best alien Desi movie), Anand(if they can take classics).

Indian English movie which you can show them is The last Lear surprised me really, Amitabhs best performance.

Most of them in the list will be from last 10-15 years. I am sure missed many films from before I started actively watching Bollywood,

oh, and I will also show movies which show the cast and ethnic hierarchy. The rich dad will be a jindal, khanna or bajaj. the honest cop will be a shekhawat, rathore or some pratap singh, the junior corrupt cop will be a shinde. the corrupt politician will be a backward caste like yadav, the bad muslim will wear soorma in his eyes and the good muslim will dance in the functions of the lead hindu family.

Is this "gangs of wasseypur" y'all keep mentioning, like a knockoff of "gangs of new york"?

Have you thought about "A Wednesday" starring Naseeruddin Shah and Anupam Kher? It will surely be enjoyable.
Also, "Pyar ka Panchnama" can be enjoyed by foreigners.

Aamir starring Rajeev Khandelwal is also good.

Is this "gangs of wasseypur" y'all keep mentioning, like a knockoff of "gangs of new york"?

The director Anurag Kashyap is a big Scorsese fan and probably named it therefore.

Scorsese reciprocally has done his bit to create awareness regarding Kashyap's work in the West.

1st Category

content oriented Genre films set in the Indian world but still in tune with sensibilities of western cinema

Satya, Company, Dev D , Gangs of Waseeypur I and II, Shaithan, Udaan, Kahaani, Taare Zameen Par,Queen, Shahid, Margharita with a straw, Lootera, Love Sex aur Dhoka, Kapoor and Sons, Lunchbox, Pan Singh Tomar, Aligarh, Kaun, Chandni Bar, Dhrushyam, Haazaron Khwahish Aisi, Iqbal, Madras Cafe, Highway, English Vinglish , Black Friday, Gulaal

2nd Category
Content Oriented Films but mixed with Indian style of Film making with Songs etc

Lagaan, 3 Idiots, Omkara, Rangeela, Swades, Barfi, Rang De Basanti, Dil Chahta Hai, Dangal, Dil Se, Haider, Maqbool, Oh My God, Sholay, Sarfrosh, Guru,Maachis, Chak De India, Vaastav, Wake up sid, Vicky Donor , Piku,Zindagi Na Milegi Dobaara, Lootera

3rd Category
Hardcore Bollywood with Family, huge Music Numbers ...still good cinema

Rangeela, Mr. India, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, Taal,Hum Aapke Hain Kaun, Jab We Met, Kal Ho Na Ho, 2 States, DevDas, DDLJ, Om shanti Om

Ok PP, you've convinced me. I'll give a shot to Gangs of Wasseypur (correct spelling :yk ). Let's see what's up

As a 4th option have you considered old time classics like Mother India, Mughal E Azam, Pyaasa, Pakeezah, Shatranj Ke Khiladi, Guide, Kaagaz Ke Phool, Do Bigha Zameen, Awaara, Koshish, Saaransh, Ardh Satya, Mera Naam Joker, Masoom, Garam Hava, Sahib Bibi Aur Ghulam, Aandhi, Bandit Queen etc or even Sholay (but I found it nonsensical tbh). If your friends are avid film watchers they will enjoy the old stuff too !!!!

Sholay was fantastic for it's time but it would look slightly ridiculous now, especially to a foreign audience. I don't watch Bollywood movies, only recent ones I've seen were Devdas and Veer Zara. Out of those two I would definitely recommend Veer Zara, it was fun film with good songs.

I haven't seen some of the more high brow films like Gangs of Wesseypur, these arty films make me nervous. See the cinephile thread where saadibaba and Deadball are pontificating on the nuances of unheard of Indie films to a generally perplexed audience. I thought I was a film snob but I ran from that thread with my tail between my legs.

I can only think of 3 off the top of my head

1) PK because it highlights many of the problems Indian society (and every other society) has, which is the intolerance some followers of religion show towards other religions. It's a topic that anyone can understand and relate to, as it's evident throughout the world.

2) My Name is Khan because it's an epic take on the racism and abuse some people face because of their religious and ethnic backgrounds. An extremely moving film and SRK and Kajol were utterly brilliant in it. Once again, this film tackles a topic that anyone can relate to.

3)3 idiots is amongst the most hilarious movie to come out of bollywood and has themes and ideas in the plot that every student can relate to.

1)Devdas ( grand sad poetic love story)
2)Swades/rang de basanti (patriotism)
3)Chak de india ( sports drama)
4)Massan / water ( about social issues and reality)
5)Haider ( hemlet adaption based in kashmir)
6)English vinglish/ dear zindagi ( coming age & empowerment)
7)Gangajal ( serius cop drama about crimes and law & order situation in backward state)
8)Udta punjab ( dark drama about drug bussiness in punjab and effects )
9)Garam masala/ tere bin laden/ hungama ( good comedy movies that will entertain ))
10) badlapur ( violence and vengeance)

Gangs Of Wasseypur
Iqbal
Ugly
Haider

If 10 then will add

Satya
Lagaan
Kahaani
PK
Shahid
Dangaal

Actually I have show the above mentioned (and more) movies to foreigners (Romanians (who are actually quite into Bollywood movies) and Germans and they really liked it. Also showed them my favourite all time comedy Andaz Apna Apna but the jokes were lost in translation.

There is also one category I will never show: Slumdog Millionaire.

I will show them movies which show the reality of India, where surroundings are clean, homes are palaces with designer moms, people are fair skinned who fly to europe for a song and have westerners dance to their tune in the background, and the most important issues in life is deciding which among the list of fair skinned girls to love at the moment.

You still here , Long Long Time !!

I believe Satya, Company, Gangs,Aligarh, Shahid and many another in the list shows the not so good side of India. It doesnt always have to be a poverty porn that is reality!!...Homophobia...religous tensions..Caste...all of these are the reality of India. Just not the only reality.

Newton ,Queen, PK (best alien Desi movie), Anand(if they can take classics).

Indian English movie which you can show them is The last Lear surprised me really, Amitabhs best performance.

Another under rated Indian English Film is Being Cyrus starring Saif Ali Khan directed Homi Adjania.

Most of the good modern Bollywood flicks have been mentioned here. Just want to add a couple more : Peepli Live and Talvar.

Must try to watch Gangs of Wasseypur, so many recommendations here, I will be highly disappointed if it it doesn't live up to the hype. I'll look for it on Netflix, they have a whole load of Bolly stuff.

I don't watch Indian movies generally, but my gf (now wife) forced me to watch Karthik calling Karthik a few years ago and it is one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life.

I saw that years ago on TV with my family. Kind of scared me at the time but good movie.

Funny to see Indians rating gangs of wasseypur.. This movie continued the casteist stereoptyping which is a bollywood tradition. the pathan family was shown as brave and honourable, while the qureshis shown as immoral and savage.

Andaaz Apna Apna.

Haha haha they won't get most jokes but you will be laughing out loud and your friends will be wondering what on earth is going on.

"Gogo ji apka gaghra" Lol

"ankhe nikal ke gotiya khelunga gotiya" Translation: will take your eyes out and will play marbles. :))

Funny to see Indians rating gangs of wasseypur.. This movie continued the casteist stereoptyping which is a bollywood tradition. the pathan family was shown as brave and honourable, while the qureshis shown as immoral and savage.

How were pathans shown honorable? Sardar Khan was shown as a womanizer.

I think you should show em all Salman Khan movies, I mean all other countries have movies similar to ones mentioned in the thread, but Salman lol.

Another under rated Indian English Film is Being Cyrus starring Saif Ali Khan directed Homi Adjania.

Yes as a dark aspect, finding fanny was somewhat decent one, among the recent Indian English check the Hungry ,stars Nasserudiin shah ,Tisca Chopra as well, remarkably depressing movie.

Finding fanny was pathetic, but maybe it was liked because it was in angrezi, the baba log find it difficult to criticise anything in the master language.

Must try to watch Gangs of Wasseypur, so many recommendations here, I will be highly disappointed if it it doesn't live up to the hype. I'll look for it on Netflix, they have a whole load of Bolly stuff.

Don't watch it with your family,esp if your children are below 12.
And it's not Artie , has good dark humor.

Finding fanny was pathetic, but maybe it was liked because it was in angrezi, the baba log find it difficult to criticise anything in the master language.

I said decent..did I recommend it nope, the reason I mentioned it was coz same director.

You upgraded a pathetic movie to decent only because it was in english, and the baba log get some smug satisfaction when they do anything in english. Same reason why they dont criticize english literary work and assume them to be superior to say a kaalidasa or bhartrihari.. even tagore gets the acknowledgement only because he got the nobel, otherwise the indian babalog would have put him below jk rowling.

Not sure what you on about,have criticized English movies ,TV shows etc, not my issue if you don't read movie threads.

I was talking about the babalog..not my issue if you think you are one. The same baba log who think the common english word for posterior ( a recurring theme in finding fanny) is cool, but their regional equivalents are crass.

More than half of bollywood movies, and plots are copied from Foreign movies. Forgeiners would identify this and label bollywood a copycat film industry.

So better not to show it to foreigners

More than half of bollywood movies, and plots are copied from Foreign movies. Forgeiners would identify this and label bollywood a copycat film industry.

So better not to show it to foreigners

My Name Is Khan one of the few original ones and has a great message.

Andaaz Apna Apna.

Haha haha they won't get most jokes but you will be laughing out loud and your friends will be wondering what on earth is going on.

"ankhe nikal ke gotiya khelunga gotiya" Translation: will take your eyes out and will play marbles. :))

I've seen it many times and I'm pretty sure it won't be funny if you can't understand Hindi

Lol i just looked it up and it has the same plot

No it doesn't. I'm a huge Martin Scorsese fan but gangs of wasseypur is much better and more complex. Scorsese himself praised it. Maybe watch it instead of just googling it. It's completely different

Gulal and Ugly are much more complex, sadly Anurag is dumbing it down nowadays.

What was so complex about gulaal? Lines like agar tere baap se nahi waqt par withdraw kar liya hota...or the needless ardhnarishwar or the irrelevant lines on world politics "door desh ke tower me ghus gayo aeroplane"?

Mughal e Azam

3 Idiots

Shakti

Are Satyajit Ray movies considered Bollywood?

Andaaz Apna Apna.

Yeh Vasco de Gama ki gun hai

Kis ke mama ki gun hai ?

Andaaz Apna Apna.

Yeh Vasco de Gama ki gun hai

Kis ke mama ki gun hai ?

Engrish know you?

Talk Engrish, Walk Engrish

Fineesh, Fineesh

My brother and I used to quote all of AAA before sleeping everyday.

Gangs of New York itself was just an Irish version of the Italian mafia movies which made that genre so popular. Taking the same name of that film and substituting it with Wasseypur immediately makes it seem like a copy cat film rather than something which can stand on it's own feet.

Thankfully films aren't judged based on their names

Haven't seen any mentions of Iqbal apart from Ignited Mind (who seems to be a BW cinephile) and myself. People should watch this movie. Naseerudin Shah is great as usual but this was the break though role for Shreyas Talpade who conveyed all his emotions without saying a word.

Also loved Shreyas in Dor with all his behroopiya costumes. One of my more memorable cinematic moments.

Watch from 1:13 onwards

Don't talk about something you have no knowledge about. Things are copied all the time. Wasseypur may be a tribute to The Godfather but it is very unique in its "Indianess".

Six years later not much has Changed yeh...Cricket Cartoon. Still the same judging people based on trivial issues like their choice of movies....or undermining people by their choice of entertainmet.

If you have something to contribute...Do so, why do have to make everything a personal dig. Even if you feel a certain way about certain choices people make , you dont have to always let them know. Live...and Let live.

Yes, I choose to watch a fun bollywood movies over Satyajit ray movies when I am unwinding....may be when I am in a mood to watch something artisitically brilliant...I will watch Ray or some 40's movies. You dont have to be pretentious about liking something....Your likes are your likes...somebody else has theirs. Lot of times a choice of a movie is based on acquired taste growing up, where you are in life. If somebody is having a hard life or a bad day or in mood for some fun...dont judge him for choosing Govinda over Interstellar. Its a movie, nothing else. For people making it, it is art. For us, it is entertainment....irrespective of whether the movie is hiting your primal instincts..either way it is entertainment. Choose yours...Let others choose theirs

Forgot to add Dor and Shakiti in the list btw. Powerful movies.

Actually would rate Dor higher than the above mentioned movies.

Don't talk about something you have no knowledge about. Things are copied all the time. Wasseypur may be a tribute to The Godfather but it is very unique in its "Indianess".

No one cares about "Indianess" over here. That film is unheard of.

Haven't seen any mentions of Iqbal apart from Ignited Mind (who seems to be a BW cinephile) and myself. People should watch this movie. Naseerudin Shah is great as usual but this was the break though role for Shreyas Talpade who conveyed all his emotions without saying a word.

Also loved Shreyas in Dor with all his behroopiya costumes. One of my more memorable cinematic moments.

Have you seen the movie " dil dosti etc." Shreyas performance was better in that movie. Along with shreyas it also star nasiruddin shah's son imaad shah.
It was interesting movie about college poletics and libral vs conservative view about life for two different characters. Also ending was also sad where one character commits sucide by shooting him self.

Have you seen the movie " dil dosti etc." Shreyas performance was better in that movie. Along with shreyas it also star nasiruddin shah's son imaad shah.
It was interesting movie about college poletics and libral vs conservative view about life for two different characters. Also ending was also sad where one character commits sucide by shooting him self.

Here you go
<div style="position:relative;height:0;padding-bottom:75.0%"><iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/nCAApWv4Z8A?ecver=2" width="360" height="270" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" style="position:absolute;width:100%;height:100%;left:0" allowfullscreen></iframe></div>

One Amir Khan movie to show the potential of the industry and that good movies can be made.

Then, 3 Shahrukh Khan movies to convey the message than 99% of Bollywood movies are utter garbage not worth wasting time on.

One Amir Khan movie to show the potential of the industry and that good movies can be made.

Then, 3 Shahrukh Khan movies to convey the message than 99% of Bollywood movies are utter garbage not worth wasting time on.

It's wrong to generalize actors or industry based on their commercial movies.
Hollywood makes equally crap commercial movies.
As long as people keep enjoying routine commercial blockbusters situation will remain like that. Actors are bounded by business side aspect of movies they can't suddenly let go their stardom. But they can choose balanced scripts that satisfies both mass & class which amir is getting and srk is not.
So it doesn't matter whether it is amir or srk they can't change the public opinion. General movie watchers would always prefer entertainmenting commercial blockbusters.

From old movies
Pyasa
Kagaz ke phool
Guide
Do bigha zameen

New one
Udaan
Masaan
Lunch box
Aligarh

Amir's recent movie Secret superstar is v.good too.
In male dominated societies like India, Pak jahan larkioun ko hamesha dabaya jata hai, such a movie was the need of the hour.