Iftikhar Ahmed may just surprise us all...

Square Drive

Test Star
Been in good nick in T20s vs the Lions. Him & Babar have been our best batsmen.

I probably wouldn't have picked him but come to think about it, someone who can strike the ball a long way and is also a part-time spinner may turn out to be a great pick.

All in all, give Ifti a chance.

He's the definition of rubbish. How the hell do you drop Zafar, Yamin, Rizwan and select this trash?

Yes, just like Mohmand bhai will win us the World T20.

Did you see his last innings?

One of the most ugliest innings you'll ever see.

Russell made him look a like pub cricketer.

He might but does not seem likely tbh, he has looked out of place even in PSL T20, someone like Rizwan or Yamin would have been much better options.

He's the definition of rubbish. How the hell do you drop Zafar, Yamin, Rizwan and select this trash?

The biggest injustice is done to Yamin and Gohar. You have players in the squad, you do not play them and just drop them?? I cant think of England doing this without any good reason. This is so stupid and hurting you really wana beat the hell out of selectors and captain Afridi. It seems like he has something against Yamin since he is a big threat to Anwar Ali.

yes he will be holding not one but three waterbags at once!! while running on the fielddd

I doubt it but lets see what he can do.

A poor selection based on what I have seen of him.

InshaAllah. I hope and pray that u r right my friend. I really hope so.
Unfair treatment of yamin though

Replies above were expected, TBH.

As I said I wouldn't have picked him but now that he's been picked, he might just turn out to be a good utility pick.

Optimism is good but not when it borders delusion.

Only man capable of taking us to victory now is Shoaib Louis Malik.

Unlike his wife, there is no Maria like partner in crime, he'll have to do it all alone as a one man army.

Optimism is good but not when it borders delusion.

Only man capable of taking us to victory now is Shoaib Louis Malik.

Unlike his wife, there is no Maria like partner in crime, he'll have to do it all alone as a one man army.

That first statement is so ironic.

Shobby is the light at the end of the tunnel. India probably is looking through old footage of him batting and thrashing their trundlers already to try and foil him this time.

Hehe back then India didn't have 140kph pacers. Malik got out to the most erratic pacer in the history of all cricket aka mohammad sami. Anything with pace gives Malik nightmares.. Its a good thing Malik doesn't play tennis, he would've been straight aced in all the serves he faces. Most of the serves cross the 160kph mark :)))

Bro 8 months in and you are still in denial. Even gave you time since Shobby's comeback to sit down and think about how much he has contributed to our team's newfound aggression, but still you are not willing to flip the page.

Won't tolerate these potshots anymore.

Did you see his last innings?

One of the most ugliest innings you'll ever see.

Russell made him look a like pub cricketer.

I was embarrassing to watch our domestic tiger to bat so poorly and ugly, and then he was rewarded with a berth in WC team, amazing.

No offense to him, but he is a crafter and Pakistan is full of them. We need firepower to compete in modern day cricket. Only an Akmal and an Afridi won't win you the cup.

His selection is justified , yes he could not do well in the 2 Odis and the PSL so far but he scored a 66 not out against england lions in a t20 game. He has 9 50s in this format and merits a place in the team. His strike rate is 120 which isn't bad either. For once I think PCB are backing the right horse.

Lets see best Hafeez is our best bat in this outfit. He is our most consistent, most reliable, if we want to get anywhere in this life, we need the Professor to lead the charge.

It's sad Mohammad Rizwan is out, he exuded so much energy in the outfield; particularly in the inner ring. Our fielding takes a hit with him and Shehzad being left out. Manzoor and Iftikhar doesn't possess even half their level of agility to make it count.

Lets see best Hafeez is our best bat in this outfit. He is our most consistent, most reliable, if we want to get anywhere in this life, we need the Professor to lead the charge.

He's averaged 15 in the last 2 years, the only thing he's been consistent in is being a liability now that he doesn't bowl either.

I don't care about stats, looked like a no 11 in the last innings he played in the PSL. So ugly to watch. If he's one of the best we have got then our cricket is doomed.

Lacks confidence. So if i was PSL i would play him up the order and give him more chances so he is ready and tuned in for the WC.

No he will not surprise us we are confident he will fail as he is a low quality hack...We actually have better hacks than him..If he is selected for his performance in Domestic T20 than Faisal Mubashir should have been selected and not him.

Bro 8 months in and you are still in denial. Even gave you time since Shobby's comeback to sit down and think about how much he has contributed to our team's newfound aggression, but still you are not willing to flip the page.

Won't tolerate these potshots anymore.

Did you see captain marvel raise his game under pressure vs Zalmi? It sure was a once in a lifetime knock.. I'm sorry that was Bopara the no.7 batsman.. Malik wilted under pressure like he always does

I've seen every ball of Iftikhar Ahmed's international and PSL career and I can't recall him hitting the ball cleanly once.

Everything is a hack or streaky edge with this guy.

Did you see captain marvel raise his game under pressure vs Zalmi? It sure was a once in a lifetime knock.. I'm sorry that was Bopara the no.7 batsman.. Malik wilted under pressure like he always does

He gave Bopara confidence.

Inki Allah Allah karne ki omer agayi hai, abhi tak cricket khel rahay hain.

I hope he doesn't throw his back out running in to give the boys some drinks.

In sha Allah he does.

But he won't. He may surprise us in being even more rubbish then he is.

I think he is def the worst player I've seen in this psl

He may not get more poor longhop from a spinner to hit a six or atleast a four and he gets out on that delivery.

What a player he is ¿ ¿

To be fair I am surprised, surprised he can hold a bloody bat let alone score single digits.

Awful pick.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Ifthikar Ahmed who is in the Asia Cup & World T20 squads, at the PSL:<br>0*<br>19 from 20 balls<br>8 from 14 balls<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HBLPSL?src=hash">#HBLPSL</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/701084175059828736">February 20, 2016</a></blockquote>

He has surprised me with his extremely disgusting batting. Waqar Younis seems to be highly impressed with this garbage.

Waqar or peshawar cricket association and Kabir Khan selector of PCB selection committee ? Hidden quota

According to Cricinfo he is 25 years 7 months old.

According to Cricket Archive he is 30 years 7 months old.

Who is right?

This quota thing only applies to Karachi, other regions are way too talented for having this quota system

Gee I wonder where you're from. I despise regionalism but look at the level of cricketers Karachi has produced in the last decade some real hacks even worse than some of the hacks from Lahore or Peshawar. I can't remember a decent Karachi player in the last 10-15 years (maybe Sarfraz).

Scary how poor the standards of domestic cricket must be if Iftikhar Ahmed was one of the top performers in last year's T20 competition.

I'm all for supporting players and giving them chances. But the good ol' eye test tells me Iftikhar is crap. I didn't see anything special when he played against England and he has had a terrible PSL. Looks like a tailender with the bat. He seems like a guy who can do well in domestics but will never be good enough for international level.

Gee I wonder where you're from. I despise regionalism but look at the level of cricketers Karachi has produced in the last decade some real hacks even worse than some of the hacks from Lahore or Peshawar. I can't remember a decent Karachi player in the last 10-15 years (maybe Sarfraz).

Asad Shafiq and Fawad Alam???

Seriously it's an embarrassment.

How are the selectors not HORRIBLY embarrassed when they see him play? Seriously? How is this not a tremendous joke?

I am not from karachi but they have two quality batsman coming up in shape of Saad Ali & Saud Shakeel who should both be part of Pakistan A next four day and list A squads.

Ramiz has 2 test tons and 9 ODI tons so he's not completely pathetic (although he's pretty bad) but chacha ifti the 40 year old youngster is one of the worst for sure.

It took him 57 test matches to score those two test tons against the minnows of the day and that too at home...

Asad Shafiq is a great find in tests! But I was focusing on LOIs and Fawad is mediocre and got exposed and even he is a joke in LOIs.

Sorry was Fawad given some 50 odd consecutive innings to fail like Malik was given in LOIs. Fawad still has a pretty high average in ODIs and only failed in one series but was shown the door...

Asad Shafiq is a great find in tests! But I was focusing on LOIs and Fawad is mediocre and got exposed and even he is a joke in LOIs.

How is Fawad a joker in ODIs with an average of 40? How many Pakistani batsman have higher average than him after 38 games? Him not playing in the current side is another story.

It took him 57 test matches to score those two test tons against the minnows of the day and that too at home...

Yes, don't get me wrong because Ramiz is a joke cricketer but to compare him with Ifti chacha is a bit unfair. Although I understand your point about longevity.

How is Fawad a joker in ODIs with an average of 40? How many Pakistani batsman have higher average than him after 38 games? Him not playing in the current side is another story.

Stats can be deceiving. If you have seen him bat, you would know that he can't play decent pacers. He looks like a real tailender against them like Ifti Chacha

Sorry was Fawad given some 50 odd consecutive innings to fail like Malik was given in LOIs. Fawad still has a pretty high average in ODIs and only failed in one series but was shown the door...

You are right man. Fawad is out of the team because he cannot speak Punjabi and because he's from Karachi. :inti

The most irritating thing is that NO ONE ASKS SELECTORS TO JUSTIFY!!!!

Everyone's complaining about Khurram, but it's not like he's failed at the int'l level yet.

Iftikhar was crap when he was selected and is bad here.

What an innings today!

KK were under immense pressure to qualify, but out he strolled and played a match-winning knock - one which we'll never forget.

Next Viv in the making.