Imad Wasim & Shan Masood in race to replace Shadab Khan as Vice Captain for series versus N Zealand

Who should be the Vice-Captain for Pakistan in T20Is?

Imad Wasim & Shan Masood in race to replace Shadab Khan as Vice Captain for series versus N Zealand

All-rounder Imad Wasim and opener Shan Masood are strong contenders to replace Shadab Khan as vice-captain in the upcoming home series against New Zealand.

Babar Azam will once again take the responsibilities as captain in the aforementioned T20I and ODI series against New Zealand, after being rested in the Afghanistan series.

A selection committee meeting will be called next week, in which the T20I and ODI squads will be selected for the series after consultation with Babar Azam. The meeting is expected to take place on April 4 and the squad will be announced on the same day.

According to sources, top PCB officials were not happy with the decision making of Shadab in Afghanistan series and have decided to rest him for New Zealand series.

Usama Mir is likely to be given a chance in the New Zealand series in place of Shadab as leg-spinner in the squad.

Mohammad Rizwan is expected to retain his vice-captaincy of the Test team.

Final decision regarding the appointment of vice-captain for the limited-overs team will be taken by PCB management committee chairman, Najam Sethi. A formal announcement will be made after approval from the PCB chief.

CricketPakistan

Should be Imad

Shan needs to be phased out of the white ball teams.

Tbf, Shan and Imad can be our desi boys (Akshay and John Abraham) because they know English and are both 6ft tall

Why is Babar getting captaincy again? This is madness!

Shan needs to be sent back to England.

Why is Babar getting captaincy again? This is madness!

Shan needs to be sent back to England.

Because Sethi Dada Jaan has said jab tak mera pyara bacha khud nahi kehta, he will remain captain.

Not sure Sethi is an admin or Santa clause

Give him the powerplay like Babar has every time and then ask Babar to do his job at the back end, we will see who makes who look like the tailender.

Title of the thread:

Imad Wasim & Shan Masood in race to replace Shadab Khan as VC for the white-ball series vs NZ

Not sure why Imad is being touted as VC seeing as hes just come back into the team

A much better bet would be Shaheen Shah Afridi whos place is settled and coming off a very good PSL win as captain

No way. No way.

Whatever you think of Shadab, Shan is a joke of an option.

How much influence does this guy or his dad or whoever have on the PCB exactly?

Literally this generation’s Imran Farhat.

If we play 3 anchors again in the next t20 WC, be prepared to hope for Uganda or Netherlands to upset another top 6 nation… let alone as VC. How about grooming someone young you clowns?

Ridiculous.

Not sure why Imad is being touted as VC seeing as hes just come back into the team

A much better bet would be Shaheen Shah Afridi whos place is settled and coming off a very good PSL win as captain

He was out of the team and the team lost touch with reality

Sad state of affairs

According to sources, top PCB officials were not happy with the decision making of Shadab in Afghanistan series and have decided to rest him for New Zealand series.

Don't like this at all. Shadab was given a young, inexperienced team and told to try and make something work. Shadab himself is a young and inexperienced captain.

Why has Babar been given so many opportunities to learn on the job but Shadab is sidelined at the first opportunity? Shadab is a much more natural leader than Babar is.

And how and why are two people who aren't even mainstays in the t20 side suddenly in the running for captaincy??

We're back to the chaotic days of Pakistan cricket. One day you're in favour, next day you're out, next day you're in favour again. Can't wait!

Woah someone just suggested that asif ali ll be a better pick than babar if he plays at the top. U guys lol

Shadabs captiancy wqs spot on. Its our social media crickrt experts that were bashing him plus shadab was given a young team in which he probably had no say.

Shadab is a good captain even as vice. Would be a ridiculous decision if they drop him.

Shadabs captiancy wqs spot on. Its our social media crickrt experts that were bashing him plus shadab was given a young team in which he probably had no say.

Shadab is a good captain even as vice. Would be a ridiculous decision if they drop him.

Shadab has been made the fall guy for the loss to Afghanistan.

It's absolutely ridiculous how badly that comes across. Shadab will feel rightly hard done by and will not be taking any risks at all in any future captaincy stints.

We may see other captains refuse to go ahead with experimental and weakened sides now, lest they too be "rested" after a series loss.

The policy of selecting the new players was the right one because that's how you develop new players but to punish Shadab for the loss shows the stupidity of the people in charge of the PCB.

I don’t think Shadab has been punished for losing, otherwise why has Babar continued to captain after losing to England at home and the NZ ODI series home loss?

Had PK beaten Afg, would he have possibly lost his job? You have your answer and it shows what clowns these guys are.

Always an overrated role the vice captain, too many heads also lead to dressing room troubles and specially when the individual mentioned are not guaranteed in starting XI

Shan doesn't even captain his PSL side or get into it, so why is he being considered?

Absolutely ridiculous.

Had PK beaten Afg, would he have possibly lost his job? You have your answer and it shows what clowns these guys are.

I don’t agree with the way it’s done but I don’t think it was done because he lost. Shadab should not have said that Babar+Rizwan thing in the interview. It felt like a direct shot at the management considering Shadab previously said something like ‘I’ve spoken to them and they don’t want to rest’. The management knew what they wanted from this series and Shadab made it seem like he wasn’t on board with how they wanted to do it.

I’m pretty sure they may have had a tiff off behind the scenes as well.

Also, the Imad Wasim 2nd T20i scene becomes more evident now, Shadab was protecting the clique players by making sure Nawaz gets his 4 overs in and somehow still stays relevant with Imad strongly emerging as a locked in player

Just Pakistan things…one guy who is just making a comeback and another who gets into the team because of papa are being considered for VC.

Not the guy who won 2 PSL’s, not a youngster that could potentially replace Babar in the future, but 2 guys in their mid 30’s.

If Shan Masood had any self respect, he’d retire from LOI and focus on the red ball format.

Sethi has been a disaster. Tells us that Babar will decide when he wants to give up the captaincy, brings back Mickey who will pick players based on favouritism. The one guy every fan wants out of the team is the one player the coach has a good relationship with lol - that’s our luck man.

If only Umar Akmal had an influential daddy and a coach that he could suck up to.

I don’t agree with the way it’s done but I don’t think it was done because he lost. Shadab should not have said that Babar+Rizwan thing in the interview. It felt like a direct shot at the management considering Shadab previously said something like ‘I’ve spoken to them and they don’t want to rest’. The management knew what they wanted from this series and Shadab made it seem like he wasn’t on board with how they wanted to do it.

I’m pretty sure they may have had a tiff off behind the scenes as well.

Also, the Imad Wasim 2nd T20i scene becomes more evident now, Shadab was protecting the clique players by making sure Nawaz gets his 4 overs in and somehow still stays relevant with Imad strongly emerging as a locked in player

So had he won, they would have dropped him from VC? These are just semantics, and hold no water. If they felt strongly they could have heard a quiet word. It shows the stupidity of a board that has no idea what it's doing.

Had they won, he wouldn’t say something like “I hope you realise how important Babar and Rizwan are”. This statement is problematic

It’s like Morgan saying “I hope you realise how important Kevin Pietersen is” straight after being knocked out of the 2015 World Cup. You still by your board’s decision as their contracted captain

Simple as that

Had they won, he wouldn’t say something like “I hope you realise how important Babar and Rizwan are”. This statement is problematic

It’s like Morgan saying “I hope you realise how important Kevin Pietersen is” straight after being knocked out of the 2015 World Cup. You still by your board’s decision as their contracted captain

Simple as that

But he is only stating a basic fact,its not a controversial fact that at this point Riz and Babar are our main players. If that's the reason, these losers are even bigger clowns than the ones running PK

Board can’t believe they lost to Afghanistan and so badly the last game was a dead rubber. Makes them look stupid. They were probably envisaging Pakistan winning and them being praised as heroes giving youngsters a chance.

Shadab is now the fall guy for the defeat. They will go running back to the seniors now, thinking these youngsters have been exposed.

Not to mention what will be the biggest headache of who to cut now. Haris, fakhar, Rizwan, abdullah, Saim, Babar all can’t bat top 3. Meanwhile at the positions of 4-6 it’s difficult to even think of a single batsman worth trying/playing there, which should have been our priority in the first place to find.

Just no planning. We’ve learned nothing about our best batting line up and order from Afghanistan. Even less than a usual series.

PCB is playing dirty politics and creating rifts between the players. Vice captain is really a very useless title in cricket but this change in VC has a lot of potential to cause groupings in Pakistan camp. PCB should be ashamed of themselves.

I wonder if PCB set Shadab up to fail?

They knew he isn't an experienced international skipper and then brought in a number of new and untried players.

Anything other than a 3-0 win was going to be disappointing for most Pakistan fans.

I personally think the long game is to make Shaheen the captain eventually. Hes also the only logical choice other than Shadab and my first pick too.

Babar being retained as captain is pathetic. Shan should be nowhere near any team let alone a VC option.

They knew he isn't an experienced international skipper and then brought in a number of new and untried players.

Anything other than a 3-0 win was going to be disappointing for most Pakistan fans.

Big fan of Shadab but thats no excuse.

Ben Stokes was given a similar opportunity with a C team while just coming back from injury and he took them to victory. That was an indication as to the type of leader he was and we saw the benefits when he was handed the Test team with the absolute mess created by Joe Root.

Shadab didn't show he could be counted to that level. But that is a high bar admittedly.

Sethi has no idea what he is doing- appointment of Afridi as Chief, the appointment of Kami as a selector who never selected one squad, the terrorism tweet, the appointment of an online coach, and kak handling of this shows a budha looking for attention than caring for any long term interests of PK cricket

Any captain will succeed when he has team of match-winners.

The real challenge is to take talent and use it in the best way.

Shadab failed to do so.

Ridiculous to strip someone who has shown promise in the past after 1 game with a complete fresh off the boat squad. Seriously.

You could’ve had MS Dhoni or Imran as captains of that team and the result would’ve probably been the same.

Pretty unfair. To add insult to injury they gave the VC to Shan who deserves it even less. Lol. What a circus PCB is and was.

Ridiculous to strip someone who has shown promise in the past after 1 game with a complete fresh off the boat squad. Seriously.

You could’ve had MS Dhoni or Imran as captains of that team and the result would’ve probably been the same.

Pretty unfair. To add insult to injury they gave the VC to Shan who deserves it even less. Lol. What a circus PCB is and was.

I reiterate

Im pretty sure losing isn’t the reason why he was stripped off vice captaincy

What is this obsession with Shan Masood by the current PCB hierarchy?

If Shadab's captaincy was spot on as some are suggesting - I must have been watching a different series.

A reminder, Pakistan lost 2-1 and for large parts of the series were awful in every facet.

If Shadab's captaincy was spot on as some are suggesting - I must have been watching a different series.

A reminder, Pakistan lost 2-1 and for large parts of the series were awful in every facet.

Exactly. Anyone who thinks Shadab captained the Pakistan side well has totally lost it.

The only thing Imad Wasim and Shan Masood should be in the race for is a place on the bench.

Shan's a hard worker but had plenty of opportunities which he hasn't taken. Imad's a decent T20 option at best. Both are intelligent guys and can offer their inputs around the setup without the official title of vice-captain.

I don't understand why PCB are digging a hole for themselves. The two best leaders I see in Pakistan cricket currently are Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Rizwan. They're two guys who've won trophies domestically and have the right blend of tactical and motivational skills. Shaheen should be the next captain with Rizwan as his deputy.

Make the decision, done. Then concentrate on the World Cup without this nonsense in the background.

How was shadabs captaincy poor? It wasn't the best but much better then babars captaincy
List the errors he's made other than choosing yo bat first

Although Shadab captaincy was poor in the series, he was given a squad with 4 players making their debut, and gave chance to everyone, on top of that one of the player (Azam Khan) is like a 12th man for the other team, his wicket keeping alone, will cost you.

I think if Shadab had the full squad, or a bit of a better squad, he would have done better, at the same time it was his first time captaining a series, and that vs Afghaistan full squad, in Sharjah pitches which is tailored made for their brand of cricket.

I think Shadab should still have been vice, and try to learn from this series, and maybe even given a couple of more series (T20) only to captain, after that you can come to a better conclusion, yes he was really poor but we have to take into consideration, the factors mentioned.

this is a very interesting question and i think it deserves a thread of its own.

Yes one can critisize his captaincy, but he was never as bad as he has been made to look.

Interestingly, they could had allowed Arthur and that Islamabad data analyst to join him earlier but they never did.

Shadab decision making was poor that is sure . But still not enough to judge him . He should continue as VC

The only thing Imad Wasim and Shan Masood should be in the race for is a place on the bench.

Shan's a hard worker but had plenty of opportunities which he hasn't taken. Imad's a decent T20 option at best. Both are intelligent guys and can offer their inputs around the setup without the official title of vice-captain.

I don't understand why PCB are digging a hole for themselves. The two best leaders I see in Pakistan cricket currently are Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Rizwan. They're two guys who've won trophies domestically and have the right blend of tactical and motivational skills. Shaheen should be the next captain with Rizwan as his deputy.

Make the decision, done. Then concentrate on the World Cup without this nonsense in the background.

It’s not Pakistan cricket until you make the wrong decision 50 times before arriving at the correct one.

Completely echo this. Any organisation needs a measure of stability to be successful. Making wholesale changes on a series by series basis is so detrimental!

I wonder what Mickey thinks of these shenanigans.

Yes but that wouldnt have happened if a full squad was picked

Youre only as good as the players you have at your disposal

We have seen many times Pakistan doesnt have much quality outside its main 15 players

Shadab and management were in a no win situation

If they did try the newbies they were damned and damned if they didnt give them a chance

When you pick the likes tayyab and azam khan etc in the playing x1 plus several other newbies debuting outside their home conditions what result do you expect?

Even youve said it saj most of these players were picked due to their psl performances which isnt an adequate gauge of any quality and needs to stop

Trying to make changes for the sake of it. Shadab's being made the scapegoat here. Oh well let's see how long this lasts. Shadab is the future, Imad and Shan are on their last legs.

Hope shan masood becomes Vice captain and plays every single odi and t20i

That's what pakistani fans deserve

Hope shan masood becomes Vice captain and plays every single odi and t20i

That's what pakistani fans deserve

If the PCB management does it then it's they who deserve our "attention"

I think PCB is trying to break the so called group in Pakistan team which consists of babar, shaheen, rizwan and shadab. They gave very young team to shadab so that he can be sacked easily and now appointing a combeback players captain.

Imad has been ridiculous throuhtout this PSL season and he always choked under pressure.

Shan well no words to say how he is still going around the team maybe because of this papa or his good english speaking skills. Never rated this guy because is a very very average and soft runs making player.

Ideally the Vice captaincy should go to next predecessor which is rizwan. Shaheen should be third in line.
But i dont like the excuse to take captaincy from shadab.

Yes but that wouldnt have happened if a full squad was picked

Youre only as good as the players you have at your disposal

We have seen many times Pakistan doesnt have much quality outside its main 15 players

Shadab and management were in a no win situation

If they did try the newbies they were damned and damned if they didnt give them a chance

When you pick the likes tayyab and azam khan etc in the playing x1 plus several other newbies debuting outside their home conditions what result do you expect?

Even youve said it saj most of these players were picked due to their psl performances which isnt an adequate gauge of any quality and needs to stop

Regardless of the players available.

Shadab's captaincy was poor, lacked thought or innovation. He wasn't much better at PSL 8 either.

Everyone is willing to say shadabs captaincy was poor nobody is saying why it was poor

The only 2 excuses I've heard are

"Chose to bat first" "didn't bowl imad enough"

Imad is a poor bowler and would have got tonked all over the park

And everyone know how good of chasers the pakistsnis are

Everyone is willing to say shadabs captaincy was poor nobody is saying why it was poor

The only 2 excuses I've heard are

"Chose to bat first" "didn't bowl imad enough"

Imad is a poor bowler and would have got tonked all over the park

And everyone know how good of chasers the pakistsnis are
Field placements
Over bowling Zaman in the beginning when the whole world knows he is one of the best death bowlers
Not keeping at least 1 experienced player like Iftikhar in the opening matches
No slip to spinners on a turning pitch
Not playing Nawaz in the opening match and whrn he played Faheem he didnt give him a single over

I think if Babar is to remain as T20I skipper, then Rizwan should be the vice-captain at this stage.

However it seems that the PCB want to bring in a new face with new ideas as the vice-captain.

Shan Masood shouldn’t even be in the T20 squad let alone vice captain. Imad would have been a good option if he was 5 years younger.

Shadab’s captaincy in the Aghanistan series while unimpressive, did not warrant being stripped of the vice captaincy.

The PCB is run by clowns

Good to see PCB finally putting Shadab in his place.

An average cricketer who has been hyped to the moon and getting golden boy treatment for 6 years and counting.

He should have never been the VC and should not be an automatic choice in any format.

Shaheen should be white ball captain but if PCB doesn’t want to remove Babar then there is no better option than Shaheen for VC.

Shaheen : absolutely not, he has long way to go to become a Pakistan great, which he has the potential to be , his concentration should not be distracted with additional responsibility at this point , he needs to continue to improve his bowling. International cricket is a different ball game.

Shaan has been struggling to cement his place in the team , so he is out of the race .

Shadab: again , needs to work on his game which has not improved much, rather has deteriorated over last 2 years or so, since he has been been given captaincy of IU and has become the VC of national team. He has not impressed me at all with the leadership talent, not yet . I would not give up on him, may be after 2-3 years .

Rizwan : Has not impressed me with his leadership qualities so far, but he is not the worst choice either.

Imad: has proved everything to be the captain , not just VC of white ball cricket. Has the experience , skill , form and communication skill to be the best option we have, he is my guy to lead the team.

Neither Shan or Imad deserve to be Vice Captain. To be VC your spot should be guaranteed in the team. Imad has just returned to the team, and even though he had a good PSL its too early fo him to get the VC spot. Shaan does not deserve a spot in the team.

I would give the VC spot to Shaheen Afridi. He has captained Lahore to back to back PSL titles and is the best player in the Pakistan team.

None of them. Both rubbish and not even in the team. People have a problem with shaheen even after winning 2 psl’s but Imad has proved more by failing to qualify for ply offs.

Rashid Latif reacting to rumours about Shadab

"One person is trying to speak the truth but they [PCB] are trying to zip his lips. Disturb him so much that he leaves cricket and make him a psycho. Why do 90 per cent of Pakistan players become psycho after leaving cricket? They become psycho because of Pakistan Cricket Board"

"I don’t understand who brings these people in the board"

PCB are making a mess . Babar should be captain till WC their should be no doubt on that . Also shadab hasn’t got enough opportunities to prove he is bad or right choice . Too early to judge . He should continue as VC

Rashid Latif reacting to rumours about Shadab

"One person is trying to speak the truth but they [PCB] are trying to zip his lips. Disturb him so much that he leaves cricket and make him a psycho. Why do 90 per cent of Pakistan players become psycho after leaving cricket? They become psycho because of Pakistan Cricket Board"

"I don’t understand who brings these people in the board"

Hmm. What truth? Did anything suspicious happen in the Afghanistan series? Many decisions did not make sense to be honest.

Imad Wasim is the best option for Vice-captain among the lot.

Shan Masood doesn't even merit a position on the bench.

Shaheen, Rizwan, Shadab are just Babar wannabes who worship him. That would make them puppets only.

Both are poor choices. And takes our cricket back rather than forward.

Najam bhai is turning into a circus ring leading spectacle.

Lots of speculation and talk about a change of vice-captain, but Shadab keeps the role for now.

Imad Wasim is the best option for Vice-captain among the lot.

Shan Masood doesn't even merit a position on the bench.

Shaheen, Rizwan, Shadab are just Babar wannabes who worship him. That would make them puppets only.

Bang on here.

Even though Shaheen is my favourite player in the side. He's not ready to captain until his cringe worshipping of Babar comes to an end. It will do because Babar's days as captain are numbered.

Well according to some people, the skipper wanted Shadab Khan as his vice-captain and that's what the Board agreed to.

I think that's fair enough - give the skipper some power and authority and to stand by his decisions.

Well according to some people, the skipper wanted Shadab Khan as his vice-captain and that's what the Board agreed to.

I think that's fair enough - give the skipper some power and authority and to stand by his decisions.

Of course

It’s all part of the you scratch my back thing they have going on

This has to happen now. He has zero leadership skills and consistently bottles it in crunch situations