"Imran Khan is a huge legend and deserves a free hand to implement his vision" : Najam Sethi

Najam Sethi in a video message after his resignation as PCB Chairman:

"I was appointed by the previous PM through the PCB BoG who unanimously elected me for a period of three years, of which one year has passed and two years remain"

"But the situation is such, that there is a new PM and he is the Patron of the PCB, Mr. Imran Khan. Imran Khan has a vision for cricket and is a huge legend. I think he deserves a free hand to implement his vision as he sees fit. He should keep the type of team in PCB that he wants to, and that is his right. I think this is best for the betterment of cricket. As soon as he was sworn-in as PM, he became the Patron and his picture was also put on the website. I also readied my resignation and today I have submitted it to him"

"In this time, we have had some success for the PCB such as PSL and the return of international cricket. There's more too but we don't need to repeat that at this moment. I would like to thank the PCB BoG and my team at the PCB who have diligently and efficiently worked hard and achieved results. I am thankful to them for the way we have helped Pakistan"

"Now, there will be a new team and I am sure that they will perform well insha'Allah. However, it is important that I point out some of the challenges ahead. We need to bring PSL back to Pakistan. For next year, we need to prepare 8-12 matches in Pakistan, that is our promise to the nation. Along with that, we have had evaluations done by international companies about PSL, sponsorships, title rights, etc. We have the report now and it's important that the next team builds on that. For that, we have to have 8-12 PSL matches in Pakistan. Similarly, Karachi stadium needs to be prepared. We are having work done on an emergency basis and I want the next team to pay full attention to this. If it's not ready by February and we don't have matches there, things will become even more difficult"

"Our anti-corruption unit is working day and night to weed out corruption from cricket. This is the biggest threat to PSL. We are leaving strong systems in place to deal with this and I am hopeful that the next team pays due attention to this. Any shortcomings in this matter can damage Pakistan cricket. Any corrupt practices must be stamped out"

"I would like to remind you that we have a case ongoing against BCCI regarding violation of contract. That will conclude in the next two months. I won't be here but there is a witness statement from me. I will have it recorded whether I am PCB Chairman or not, this is my duty and insha'Allah we will win this case"

"We have many more challenges, but coming to cricket. Asia Cup is next month, after which we have series against Australia and New Zealand, a tour of South Africa, PSL and then the World Cup next year. Preparations are complete and I am hopeful there will be continuity and stability in the PCB. There shouldn't be any uncertainty and the team and coaches should get full support so that they can ready themselves with confidence and showcase good performances. I wish my team the best of luck, my prayers and best wishes will always be with you"

"Lastly, I would like to say that all that happened, and the success we achieved, for that I'd like to thank my team, the PSL franchises, governments, Pakistan's security services and the Pakistan fans specially. It all happened thanks to Allah. Many thanks. Khuda Hafiz.

Pretty respectable message while leaving the PCB. Contrast this to Zaka Ashraf who embroiled the PCB in court cases when it was clear he did not have support of the Patron in Chief

Sethi will always be the bigger man in this feud. Imran embarrassed himself with the 35 punctures nonsense due to which PTI had to apologize on his behalf, because his ego prevented him from doing so himself.

This bigger man was most likely given a dignified exit by the new Pakistani government and had no choice but to leave. Furthermore; I wont be suprised after the PSL audit revelation if this big man is involved in corruption.

Sethi represents a Pakistan that we would like to move away from. Some of us will have to live with it.

As for Sehi Sahib - good luck to him and many thanks for what he achieved.

You guys really need to do some research before posting garbage like this. Read Sethi's editorials right after PTI's election victory. In those pieces, he came across everything but the "bigger man". He accused Imran Khan of colluding with the military and the establishment and downright accused his government of being illegitimate. Sethi should have stayed non-political and should have done his job quietly. However, he showed how petty and shallow he is.

Sethi is a sly politician and these sugar-coated fake parting messages/videos are ideal for influencing the perceptions of the typically uninformed Pakistani citizens.

FYI - I have been a fan of Sethi, the PCB chairman, and acknowledge that his tenure brought a lot goodwill to the Pakistan cricket. However, looking at his his role post the 2018 GE, he deserves nothing but the boot.

You guys really need to do some research before posting garbage like this. Read Sethi's editorials right after PTI's election victory. In those pieces, he came across everything but the "bigger man". He accused Imran Khan of colluding with the military and the establishment and downright accused his government of being illegitimate. Sethi should have stayed non-political and should have done his job quietly. However, he showed how petty and shallow he is.

Sethi is a sly politician and these sugar-coated fake parting messages/videos are ideal for influencing the perceptions of the typically uninformed Pakistani citizens.

FYI - I have been a fan of Sethi, the PCB chairman, and acknowledge that his tenure brought a lot goodwill to the Pakistan cricket. However, looking at his his role post the 2018 GE, he deserves nothing but the boot.

Read the post above yours. It always better to look around the thread before firing comments.

Khuda khafiz Sethi saab. Shukriya aap ka, Chor do jaan ab PCB ki.

Adios.

If there is a person on this planet who wants Pak cricket to succeed it has to be Imran Khan. If he thinks Sethi ain't the most optimum choice then he's got Pakistan's support!

Why i have this feeling PTI and Sethi reached an agreement and Sethi will keep his PSL job and in return was asked to resign from PCB? (At least 2 franchise owners met IK and PTI leadership and both of them have good relations with Sethi)

PSL is not a separate entity to the PCB.

Sethi is the best thing to happen to the PCB. Now one will have the impact like he did. I’d he was pro PTI he’s be worshiped on pakpassion

I'm surprised at the way some posters think. At the end of the day no one man is bigger than the system and no one is irreplaceable. One man cannot single-handedly revolutionize Pakistan cricket either. Focus should be to keep improving the structure no matter who is in-charge.

Sethi would have messed up a few things as he left..I am pretty sure about that...

Commendable comments from sethi. Rare to see someone leave their office with dignity in Pakistan in any field.

Sethi represents a Pakistan that we would like to move away from. Some of us will have to live with it.

Why does everything have to be political in Pakistan?? :13:

Why can not Sethi keep his job on the basis of being the most suitable and successful person in this role?

Why does everything have to be political in Pakistan?? :13:

Why can not Sethi keep his job on the basis of being the most suitable and successful person in this role?

There is no cure for Sethiphobia.

Sethi has confirmed to me that he will no longer be involved in the PSL either

Sethi brought cricket back to Pakistan, helped build and promote the world's second or third largest T20 tournament and garner good will with several boards that for a while, had Pakistan and teh PCB on the back burner. He did a terrific job ,regardless of what you think of his political beliefs.

It’s right he acknowledges IK is a legend (finally) and deserves a free hand. Shame he didn’t recognise his and Javed Miandad’s achievement in the 1992 World Cup or he wouldn’t have deliberately ignored giving them credit in the 25 year anniversary tribute video.

First time he spoke such words for a true legend.We don’t need you any more good bye and be ready for investigation.

Was hoping him and IK could mend fences and he could've continued his work. He's been a phenomenal admin and under him the team became professional as did PCB (somewhat).

Just proves that the naya pakistan is just a sham.

I though imran was going to improve the system but he also acted politically by coming in and remving a guy who was elected by the BOG
And yes he was removed, was forced to resign.

Sethi had 2 years left.

Ehsan mani is the same garbage that is being recycled

Best PCB chairman without doubt. Heartbroken to see him go especially after the news broke out that BCCI is on the backfoot in the tribunal case. Very disappointed to see NS go..

I though imran was going to improve the system but he also acted politically by coming in and remving a guy who was elected by the BOG

Sethi had 2 years left.

Imran didnt remove him. He resigned because he feared that Imran will remove him.

Sethi had 2 years left.

I disagree.

Imran's concerns with Sethi involved his active participation in politics (interim chief minister in 2013). This political influence continued once he became PCB chairman. In fact, it was the reason he got the position! While Sethi did a decent job (I have defended him), you need someone away from the political scene.

Ehsan Mani is a wonderful choice and I've been asking for his hiring since 2011 (before Zaka Ashraf's term). He has years of expertise, great connections in the ICC, and has shown to be incredibly competent in management positions (helped Speed set up the T20I WC). In addition, he's a financial wizard with his accounting background. This is one of the most well-rounded options in Pakistan.

As for "Naya Pakistan," I believe that refers to accountability. The person can be anyone but he has to be held accountable by the institution. If Ehsan Mani fails, he will be held accountable once Imran's vision is implemented and that's important. People get lost in the names but those are placeholders for a good system. If Imran fails to hold Mani accountable then you have a legitimate concern.

Najam Sethi ne bhi khub ghotala kiya hoga apne aaka Nawaz Sharif ki tarah. PSL ki kamai BCCI ko court mein khichne mein barbad kiya aur jo bacha wo khud gaban kiya. Ab new Prime Minister ke kehne pe sab jaanch hogi aur pakda jayega wo kitna hera feri kiya wo.😀😁😂🤣😃😄😅😆😉

Yeah Sethi say some good things about the new PM and he may just give you another job!:)):))

I hope Imran Khan brings in people of repute and people with fresh ideas and not just former team-mates of his.

Pakistan domestic cricket is a bit of a shambles and that should be the number one priority.

Looked like a very active chairman and did everything he could to bring cricket back to his country. On the other hand I find Ehsan Mani to be "Talk more, do less" kind of guy.

This! Mani may be a very good finance guy but his implementation skills are still in question and I doubt he can fix any of the big issues pertaining to Pakistan Cricket at the moment.

I disagree. Even Sethi asked for his help cause Mani gets things done.

PakPassion.net: What was your exact role in choosing a broadcaster for awarding a license?

Ehsan Mani: PCB have two series coming up, against South Africa and Sri Lanka. Mr Sethi, the acting Chairman rang me up [the day after becoming Chairman] to ask me to help out with the procedures around sale of these two rights. To be honest, I was very surprised that these rights are still not sold because they really should have been sold 6 months ago. To leave it so late was something which was quite strange to me.

Anyway, I met them and they asked me to be involved but in doing so, I also ensured that there were certain processes and procedure in place which I had insisted on in the past - not only with the PCB, but also with the ICC. One of which was that it should be a totally transparent process. So, I spoke to them on how it should be done and then they asked me to chair this committee. In summary, my main role in this process was to chair the committee that was marketing the rights for the Sri Lanka and South Africa series.

Rumours that Miandad likely to get an important post in the PCB :facepalm:

I don't mind Javed as long as it's more cricket related than admin. He has passion, commitment and would give his best undoubtedly.

No Sethi, you’re in fact the legend. What you done for Pakistan cricket and the PCB will never be topped. Here come a bunch of unqualified uneducated IK puppets.

Miandad ate up PKR RS 100 million as PCB Director General from 2008 to 2014 without doing anything substantive for Pakistan Cricket. We do not want such leeches in Pakistan Cricket

I have no particular affiliation with Najam Sethi or Ehsan Mani but I have to say Najam Sethi has doen a terrific job wit the PSL, I realise this now especially after reading the news that cricket South Africa may once again have to postpone their T20 league for the second year running. It clearly shows there is a lot of planning and a lot of logistics that they have to go through and even then it can still come up short..........Surely Najam Sethi deserves a lot of credit for it, hence his exit does make me sad but I hope Ehsan Mani does take PSL and pakistani cricket to new heights. I guess he does have the credentials after all.

No Sethi, you’re in fact the legend. What you done for Pakistan cricket and the PCB will never be topped. Here come a bunch of unqualified uneducated IK puppets.

Mani is unqualified and uneducated?

The same Mani that advised Sethi in 2013 on managing PCB's broadcasting rights?

If Javed gets any role with the PCB; I am done with this! That guy ate up millions of Taxpayer rupees without ever doing Zilch for the nation during this PCB stints.

I think, until Mani does his first press briefing, and share a road map, there will lots of such speculations. Last couple of weeks, I read lot about Wasim Akram, Majiz Khan, even Zakir Khan to become next PCB Chairman - but, the eventual chosen guy isn't a dud to be honest. I don't think, Javed is going to get a significant position; even if so, he will not get a role that's beyond his range.