Imran Khan or Narendra Modi - The better leader?

BreadPakoda

Both IK and NM have very strong personalities and backed staunchly by their supporters within their countries and by those residing outside.

They have/have had the mandate to bring change to their countries. Who do you think will be more successful as a leader?

I know its too early to say, but that's the whole point of forums, innit

I think it's too early give him 1 year at least to have an idea of direction.

Imran has a much harder job of reviving Pakistan's fortunes, but it also gives him an opportunity to really go ahead with his vision without much friction. He will either turn things around for Pakistan, or look very bad just like the previous leadership did.

The whole comparison rests on how Imran performs because no matter what Modi does, he will most likely continue leading the fastest growing major economy in the world.

Modi is a veteran now and Imran has not even started working as PM.

Give Imran at least 2 years and you will get half an answer.

The youth of Pakistan is experiencing the euphoria we patriot indians experiences 4 years back. All the best to Pakistan. Hope Imran becomes like Modi and even surpasses him.

Lol at least let the Guy work.
It's Babar Azam vs Kohli debate all over again.

Pakistan has some very different problems from india.

The youth of Pakistan is experiencing the euphoria we patriot indians experiences 4 years back. All the best to Pakistan. Hope Imran becomes like Modi and even surpasses him.

Same thought crossed my mind as well CC. I remember being ecstatic on the day Modiji was elected as PM.
Thought we were finally going to get 'achhe din'. Lol how things have changed.

Let's see if Imran can fulfill his promise of 'Naya Pakistan' . Honestly I don't see things changing for Pak on India front at least. Expect the status quo to remain.

Same thought crossed my mind as well CC. I remember being ecstatic on the day Modiji was elected as PM.

Let's see if Imran can fulfill his promise of 'Naya Pakistan' . Honestly I don't see things changing for Pak on India front at least. Expect the status quo to remain.

problem with India is that its issues are so huge that it will need decades to see a visible change, while Pakistan is a compact country 10 years of good direction and people will start doing comparsion with Turkey/Malaysia etc

There is no comparison. It is like saying if Tendulkar is a better batsman then Amir!!:sm IK has to be compared with someone who has just won the election first time ever.

One house has 100 people and 50 are poor, other house has 10 people and 5 are poor. Which one you think is easier to fix?

problem with India is that its issues are so huge that it will need decades to see a visible change, while Pakistan is a compact country 10 years of good direction and people will start doing comparsion with Turkey/Malaysia etc

I highly doubt it.
As long as the Military influence exists in Pakistan no civil govt can set things right.
I know most of you people must be elated right now (Like I said been in your shoes four years ago) but trust me one single man can't do jack in societies like India and Pakistan where the system or establishment as you guys like to call it is so heavily skewed in the favor of elite that it would take a lifetime for somebody to set things straight.
Whilst no doubt Imran might have good intentions here but as long as the 'fauz' is there don't expect any drastic change in the coming five years. But yes if he can improve the economy a bit making Pakistan attractive for investors then I would say it would be a huge achievement for him.

One house has 100 people and 50 are poor, other house has 10 people and 5 are poor. Which one you think is easier to fix?

Yaar world doesn't work this way lol

If anything India having a bigger middle class gives it greater opportunity to invite investment and set up industries and drum up demand for economic activity.

And in any case. Pakistan isn't a small country by any measure and we have a smaller middle class (probably even by % terms)

Anyways lets hope for the best

Other house also has 5 deranged people with knives who are hell bent on destroying everything.

Anyway me rang me bhang nahi dalna chahata. You people deserve to have expectations considering you waited for so long but bat seedhi ye hai ki akela chana bhad nahi fod sakta.

Don't get me wrong here. I wish y'all good luck and I hope we will see improved relations between both the countries.

I highly doubt it.
As long as the Military influence exists in Pakistan no civil govt can set things right.
I know most of you people must be elated right now (Like I said been in your shoes four years ago) but trust me one single man can't do jack in societies like India and Pakistan where the system or establishment as you guys like to call it is so heavily skewed in the favor of elite that it would take a lifetime for somebody to set things straight.
Whilst no doubt Imran might have good intentions here but as long as the 'fauz' is there don't expect any drastic change in the coming five years. But yes if he can improve the economy a bit making Pakistan attractive for investors then I would say it would be a huge achievement for him.

you are right , having un realistic expectations would be harsh on PTI and Imran Khan but if he can just instill a national spirit of hardwork to change the course of country , it would be great achievement.

Not talking of his ideology, but as of now Modi : a chaiwala from an OBC background in Gujarat who after years of struggle ends up as PM of a +1 billion in New Delhi is quite the success story, even if of course IK himself has fought a lot. The difference is not that huge but it goes Modi's way in this dpt IMO.

I think the difference will be in their lasting legacies : Modi is in a relatively sane democratic set up despite casteism, and benefits from a growing economy ; Imran Khan can leave his signature in these very fields, and change the whole equation for the country.

Some could argue that Imran Khan destroyed the status quo in Pak by beating PPP/PML-N, and Modi could have compared if he himself fought BJP/Congress (some sort of powered up Kejriwal), but IMO that point is negated by the pop difference between the countries.

you are right , having un realistic expectations would be harsh on PTI and Imran Khan but if he can just instill a national spirit of hardwork to change the course of country , it would be great achievement.

Exactly see the problem with Desis is that they have one of the worst mindsets about many problems plaguing their society. The 'chalta hai' attitude is so deeply ingrained inside every Indian and Pakistani that it would take a whole generation to change that kind of mentality. What we need are stabilized Democratic institutions which are transparent and accountable to the public. Now this can only be brought about by the behavioral change in awam which would take time.
Here the importance of a good leader becomes imperative. Like you said if Imran manages to inculcate the values of patriotism and responsibility in the citizens it would be a tremendous achievement for him, far better than those improved GDP figures which the Govts love to display to show their success.

Modi had to force indians to pay taxes ( just paid my taxes for the year). With Imran Khan at the helm, I think pakistanis will voluntarily pay taxes now, as they know their money will go for national building.

Say what you about Modiji (and there's a LOT to say) but the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan has been tremendously successful. Credit where it's due.
And of course GST but it would take time for it's positive effects to start showing on economy.

Guys i am no expert and i dont know the ins and outs but as someone who catches snippets here and there and my impression is that he has awoken Hindu nationalism. Am i wrong?

He has done jack squat for Hindus.
Nationalism ain't gonna put food in a poor Hindu's plate.
Although I would say economy wise we ain't doing bad(Indians I mean and not just Hindus).

Guys i am no expert and i dont know the ins and outs but as someone who catches snippets here and there and my impression is that he has awoken Hindu nationalism. Am i wrong?

Of course you are wrong. He is for sabka saath sabka vikas. ( inclusive growth with everyone's cooperation).

Can Imran Khan become Narendra Modi?

Surely Imran Khan being compared to many cricketers, but this will be the first time he will be leading the nation. Being a PM is very different from being a captain of a cricket team. As we have seen recently, Indian PM gets red carpet welcome when travelling overseas where as Pak PM being strip searched at the airport. But can Khan's aura and charisma change the perception of Pak PM for outsiders?

There are many issues to be dealt with in Pakistan like corrution, terrorism, poverty etc. Can he works towards the development of Pakistan and put the country in global stage as his counterpart NaMo is doing for India?

Can IK become as popular and effective as Modi? Or will he be always under his (NaMo's) shed?

Discuss

You are giving Modiji way too much credit. The reason he gets such a grand welcome everywhere he goes is because of the image of India carefully built up by his predecessors over the decades. It isn't as if he is single handedly responsible for changing India's perception in the world.

He is a good orator for sure but his leadership qualities are nothing much to brag about and dare I say in that regard AB Vajpei was miles better.
Modiji is an alright leader in that comparison. An astute politician without a doubt but nothing more than that.
Although some of his policies are definitely praiseworthy and yes Imran has a long way to go before he catches up with him.

You are giving Modiji way too much credit. The reason he gets such a grand welcome everywhere he goes is because of the image of India carefully built up by his predecessors over the decades. It isn't as if he is single handedly responsible for changing India's perception in the world.

He is a good orator for sure but his leadership qualities are nothing much to brag about and dare I say in that regard AB Vajpei was miles better.
Modiji is an alright leader in that comparison. An astute politician without a doubt but nothing more than that.
Although some of his policies are definitely praiseworthy and yes Imran has a long way to go before he catches up with him.

Leader wise no one comes close to Amit shah

Let's hope that imran doesn't turn out to be jumlebaaz, feku & sensationalist like modi.

I dont rate Modi as a leader so Imran will be remembered as a much better in years to come.

Modi's government has been using hateful propaganda against Pakistan, making relations worse and worse. Imran wont be doing the same against India.

Why do you think he's a Feku and Jumlebaz?
Because over the four years I felt there is no difference between him and opposition parties.he turned out to be same as other politicians who just want to sustain their chairs for longer periods .
He promised a lot ,sellout huge dreams to common men & now not able to fulfill them all so changed his development date from 2019 to 2022. Nowadays I am noticing he constantly blaming past governments for his present failures. Modi & bjp in general are now silent on the topics that they protested heavily when they were in in opposition.
Modi also used same age old religion & nationalism based polarisation techniques to divert from real issues.
Overall I had hopes from him but he mostly disappointed me.

The word "feku" & "jumlebaaz" are now synonymous with his name on social media due to his dramatic speeches & antics in election campaigns. Similar to how he made "pappu" & "shehzada" synonymous with rahul.

Because over the four years I felt there is no difference between him and opposition parties.he turned out to be same as other politicians who just want to sustain their chairs for longer periods .
He promised a lot ,sellout huge dreams to common men & now not able to fulfill them all so changed his development date from 2019 to 2022. Nowadays I am noticing he constantly blaming past governments for his present failures. Modi & bjp in general are now silent on the topics that they protested heavily when they were in in opposition.
Modi also used same age old religion & nationalism based polarisation techniques to divert from real issues.
Overall I had hopes from him but he mostly disappointed me.

The word "feku" & "jumlebaaz" are now synonymous with his name on social media due to his dramatic speeches & antics in election campaigns. Similar to how he made "pappu" & "shehzada" synonymous with rahul.

The usual nonsensical drivel posted by Khangressis. Why not talk in empirical figures and objectively explain your issues with him instead of regurgitating the same old ** repeated incessantly by his opponents with no basis in logic.

Apologies if my post comes across as harsh. Feeling bit of a Bhakt today.

The usual nonsensical drivel posted by Khangressis. Why not talk in empirical figures and objectively explain your issues with him instead of regurgitating the same old ** repeated incessantly by his opponents with no basis in logic.

Apologies if my post comes across as harsh. Feeling bit of a Bhakt today.

Congress is turning desperate now.2019 election will be go down as most bitterly fought election in Indian history.

Probably Modi. Hes really doing well with what Congress left him after 60 years. India is tremendously trending in the right direction.

Not sure a cricket player with no history of governance is going to be able to get anything done.

Neither Vajpayee nor Advani able to strengthen BJP when they at power.Without Modi BJP would not have even half the seats they have now.Also Modi/Shah made BJP one of the most powerful political parties in world,if left to Advani BJP should have worse than Congress now.

Just building and maintaining a party for few decades not enough need to make sure even when you retired Party should progress smoothly.

From what I gather, IK is not very intelligent and a religious bigot,so he already has that in common with Modi.
Rest ,comparing the suave,charismatic and well-spoken IK to boorish, vulgarian Modi is rather insulting to IK.