Imran Khan's first speech as Prime Minister of Pakistan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I loved when <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> showed x-ray film showing difference of growth of brain between a stunted & a normal child. I ve been working on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/FoodSecurity?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#FoodSecurity</a> for last 2 decades, never found a decision maker so aware about malnutrition. Do something about it <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> <a href="https://t.co/scH6zLgc6M">pic.twitter.com/scH6zLgc6M</a></p>— Abid Qaiyum Suleri (@Abidsuleri) <a href="https://twitter.com/Abidsuleri/status/1031241234541674498?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

I loved the part about keeping interior ministry with himself. The corrupt plunderers would be buying tickets to go abroad as we speak because soon all of their names will be on the ECL.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">22.8 million out of school children have featured four times in his speech so far. &#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57341; &#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57341; &#55357;&#56399;&#55356;&#57341; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMKhan</a></p>— Mosharraf Zaidi (@mosharrafzaidi) <a href="https://twitter.com/mosharrafzaidi/status/1031224055876214784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

This guy has zero integrity... One day he is praising IK's speech like a teenage fangirl and next day he is using patwari logic.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Inspirational speech from an inspirational man. He lead the Pakistan cricket team to great heights and never avoided a challenge. Now he has set himself targets to transform and take Pakistan forward. Good luck Imran Khan <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1031250496919674883?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Good speech.he ticked all the right boxes.this was a policy speech,it shud be seen to be <a href="https://t.co/VQ263vQFb1">https://t.co/VQ263vQFb1</a>,education, civil services reform,police reforms, adaalat main insaaf,anti corruption drive,rule of law,merit and importantly environment and national action plan</p>— Kashif Abbasi (@Kashifabbasiary) <a href="https://twitter.com/Kashifabbasiary/status/1031240173282054149?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> what a visionary statesman. Anti terror, Law and order, speedy justice, housing, orphans and widows issues, environment, water, fata, FBR, foreign policy, internal policy, police+civil bureaucracy reforms discussed in maiden speech. May Allah be with u. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a></p>— Arif Hameed Bhatti (@arifhameed15) <a href="https://twitter.com/arifhameed15/status/1031239657198178305?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

I have no more doubts now. Pakistan will prosper under Imran if he gets enough time. He has a habit of achieving the impossible. Now all of us need to do our part and make this country better. :pakflag2

IK said today what mush should have done 20 years ago. Today we wouldnt be sitting on a Foreign debt of $100bn.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Not a single innovative or transformational idea -<br>Pedestrian wisdom peddled usually in DHA drawing rooms...</p>— Engr. Khurram Dastgir-Khan (@kdastgirkhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/kdastgirkhan/status/1031233847105658882?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

:vk2

Wow, so pedestrians are useless and shouldn't comment on issues! hukumat chali gayi aakar nahin gayi!

No talk of bullet trains, making Pakistan look like Switzerland etc - some plain talking.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Not in living history can a speech like the one made tonight by <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> be recalled.<br><br>Agenda-setting. No negativity. Toned down. No threats. Succinct. Ambitious. Religious. And yes, even for this skeptic, inspiring.<br><br>Yes, he could’ve said much more.<br><br>But hey, it’s only Day2</p>— WSK (@WajSKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/WajSKhan/status/1031256551242326016?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">From today Dear Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> You are my leader&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;❤️ because you truly love my country my people ❤️&#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816;stay blessed. I am team <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranKhan</a> joining to make a better <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a>.. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> <a href="https://t.co/GorxfGEv31">pic.twitter.com/GorxfGEv31</a></p>— Shaan Shahid (@mshaanshahid) <a href="https://twitter.com/mshaanshahid/status/1031249043345821697?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The speech was coming from the heart and people could feel it. He spoke a common man's language. I sincerely pray that he is able to implement his agenda. Aameen. Baqi jo apna bhala nahi chahtay let them speak whatever they want <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/istandwithmyPM?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#istandwithmyPM</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/imrankhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#imrankhan</a></p>— Faysal Quraishi (@faysalquraishi) <a href="https://twitter.com/faysalquraishi/status/1031240002284466181?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In our last meeting we connected on Rumi who said “what you seek is seeking you.” You sought to serve and Allah has blessed you with the opportunity. I pray that He blesses us with a Pakistan where economy and empathy can thrive together as per your vision. <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> <a href="https://t.co/wNTWk38lKo">pic.twitter.com/wNTWk38lKo</a></p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/1031244988175155200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

No talk of bullet trains, making Pakistan look like Switzerland etc - some plain talking.

Yes it was a speech for common folks.

As for Engr. Khurram Dastagir maybe their government should've implemented those revolutionary ideas that they have and us commoners can't think of then PML-N would've still be in power.

And this is Mujrim Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif 1st qoum se khittab in 2013

The difference is clear :facepalm:
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]
[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Not in living history can a speech like the one made tonight by <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> be recalled.<br><br>Agenda-setting. No negativity. Toned down. No threats. Succinct. Ambitious. Religious. And yes, even for this skeptic, inspiring.<br><br>Yes, he could’ve said much more.<br><br>But hey, it’s only Day2</p>— WSK (@WajSKhan) <a href="https://twitter.com/WajSKhan/status/1031256551242326016?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">From today Dear Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> You are my leader����❤️ because you truly love my country my people ❤️����stay blessed. I am team <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ImranKhan</a> joining to make a better <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a>.. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PrimeMinisterImranKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PrimeMinisterImranKhan</a> <a href="https://t.co/GorxfGEv31">pic.twitter.com/GorxfGEv31</a></p>— Shaan Shahid (@mshaanshahid) <a href="https://twitter.com/mshaanshahid/status/1031249043345821697?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The speech was coming from the heart and people could feel it. He spoke a common man's language. I sincerely pray that he is able to implement his agenda. Aameen. Baqi jo apna bhala nahi chahtay let them speak whatever they want <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/istandwithmyPM?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#istandwithmyPM</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/imrankhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#imrankhan</a></p>— Faysal Quraishi (@faysalquraishi) <a href="https://twitter.com/faysalquraishi/status/1031240002284466181?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">In our last meeting we connected on Rumi who said “what you seek is seeking you.” You sought to serve and Allah has blessed you with the opportunity. I pray that He blesses us with a Pakistan where economy and empathy can thrive together as per your vision. <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> <a href="https://t.co/wNTWk38lKo">pic.twitter.com/wNTWk38lKo</a></p>— Ali Zafar (@AliZafarsays) <a href="https://twitter.com/AliZafarsays/status/1031244988175155200?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

IK should avoid AZ for now.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have been focusing on prime ministerial addresses for the past 30 years. Never heard a PM speak his heart out the way PM Imran Khan did a while ago</p>— farrukh saleem (@SaleemFarrukh) <a href="https://twitter.com/SaleemFarrukh/status/1031243087333470210?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM raises alarm bells: One of best speeches in decades. Atleast new PM understands what ails Pak&how to fix it after massive plunder, loot of state&resources by corrupt elite —Zakota jins ll resist change so KEY to 100pc result will be chose right people for right job.<br>Good luck.</p>— Rauf Klasra (@KlasraRauf) <a href="https://twitter.com/KlasraRauf/status/1031242621782577152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

PPP, others criticise PM Imran's inaugural address

Pakistan Peoples Party leader Saeed Ghani slammed the inaugural address by Prime Minister Imran Khan which was televised Sunday night.

There was nothing in Imran's speech other than the five-point agenda which was presented by former president Pervez Musharraf, remarked Ghani.

The premier remained silent on important issues such as terrorism and extremism, Ghani claimed, adding that the prime minister did not say anything against the killers who have claimed lives of 70,000 Pakistanis.

He also said that that PM Imran did not give any policy statement on China Pakistan Economic Corridor, the seeds of which were planted by PPP co-chairperson Asif Ali Zardari.

Imran did not comment on the constitutional rights of Sindh and other smaller provinces, he remarked.

Ghani further remarked that PM Imran should have also given a policy statement on policies pertaining to NFC Award. "The PM did not say a single word regarding the reservations against the census."

He alleged that all those who have forcefully occupied land in Karachi are the allies of the country's premier.

PM has no interest in Gilgit-Baltistan: GB govt

Reacting to Prime Minister Imran Khan's speech, the spokesperson of the Gilgit-Baltistan government said that the elected premier has no interest in GB.

"The premier spoke about the Diamer-Bhasha dam but did not mention the people residing in the area it is being built."

Imran Khan doesn't even know that GB is the economic hub of the country. The PM spoke about the water crisis but forget about glaciers.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/208054-pp...ise-pm-imrans-inaugural-address?5b79c0fdac591

This guy has zero integrity... One day he is praising IK's speech like a teenage fangirl and next day he is using patwari logic.

Isn't that better then picking a side and blindly supporting whatever that side does? I don't know much about Zaidi so not talking about him in particular but complimenting a person that you are normally a critic of, doesn't mean you lack integrity.

PPP, others criticise PM Imran's inaugural address

Pakistan Peoples Party leader Saeed Ghani slammed the inaugural address by Prime Minister Imran Khan which was televised Sunday night.

There was nothing in Imran's speech other than the five-point agenda which was presented by former president Pervez Musharraf, remarked Ghani.

The premier remained silent on important issues such as terrorism and extremism, Ghani claimed, adding that the prime minister did not say anything against the killers who have claimed lives of 70,000 Pakistanis.

He also said that that PM Imran did not give any policy statement on China Pakistan Economic Corridor, the seeds of which were planted by PPP co-chairperson Asif Ali Zardari.

Imran did not comment on the constitutional rights of Sindh and other smaller provinces, he remarked.

Ghani further remarked that PM Imran should have also given a policy statement on policies pertaining to NFC Award. "The PM did not say a single word regarding the reservations against the census."

He alleged that all those who have forcefully occupied land in Karachi are the allies of the country's premier.

Reacting to Prime Minister Imran Khan's speech, the spokesperson of the Gilgit-Baltistan government said that the elected premier has no interest in GB.

"The premier spoke about the Diamer-Bhasha dam but did not mention the people residing in the area it is being built."

Imran Khan doesn't even know that GB is the economic hub of the country. The PM spoke about the water crisis but forget about glaciers.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/208054-pp...ise-pm-imrans-inaugural-address?5b79c0fdac591

Poor timing and not the right forum to raise objections.

Impressive Speech!!

The only thing i would suggest him, don't take your security lightly. A lot of people won't be too pleased if he starts accountability of corrupt mafia. He shouldn't risk his life by not employing adequate security measures.

Ok tomorrow is first working day of IK's government, lets see what unfolds. What are you guys expecting? Should we be even expecting something on first day?

Isn't that better then picking a side and blindly supporting whatever that side does? I don't know much about Zaidi so not talking about him in particular but complimenting a person that you are normally a critic of, doesn't mean you lack integrity.

Constructive criticism is very wellcomed, heck I think nobody criticizes PTI decisions more than PTI supporters themselves, but sometimes these journalists use logic straight out of Maryam media cell to target Khan and PTI. That is what I was alluding to.

The good thing here is that IK in his first speech is speaking the same language that he was in his election campaign. the VIP culture is a major problem in Pakistan not only amongst politicians but the elite of the country as well. Social justice is the key to forming a successful country and realising the dream of the Quaid. Now all IK has to do is practically implement his idea's but we need to give him time to do that. His entire political set up must live a very modest existence.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] had tears in my eyes when immy said ma shayad zinda nahe honga magr eaisa waqt aaye ga k zakat linay wala neh milay ga..

That was really emotional :(

I used to be a huge suppurter of Ik till 2015 but my support reduced over time when he backed off from some of his principles as for me principles really matter. If you back off from 1 principle you will back off from more too and it will continue to more and more and sometime you won't remain the same why you came to politics .. I am Still a supporter but not as much as I was back then.

That being said there is no doubt in my mind k he has a caring and loving heart for human beings. Is k dil mai insaanun ka dard hai. You can critize his policies , intelligence etc but u can't question his love for the poor, oppressed, and the common man. Very few go out of their way to help those in need. Batain krna asaan hai aur kaam krna mushkil and Imran nay kaam kia hai.

Wish him good luck and success! His success as PM of Pakistan means success of common man and that is what really matters.

What a speech by kaptaan sahib! May Allah SWT help him achieve alm his goals.

Watched ptv for the first time for more than 1 hour since ainak wala jinn stopped airing :)))

I was sending live stream youtube links of the speech to my Noora friends to really rub it in :))

Ab aap ruling party ka hisa hen zimedari ka muzahira keren zakhmon per namak mat chirken :yk

Well it was a good speech - he repeated all that we have heard over the last 5 years. He simply provided a summary. Printing out pictures from Google Images was a nice touch though, visual aids are very effective tools of communication.

It is indeed great to know that he will reside in a three bedroom house with two servants and two cars, and it is also great to note that he commented on how some some civil servants live in some colonial houses with huge grounds that are bigger than what they need.

However, I wish he had said the same for the mansions that are being enjoyed by some of our 3 and 4 star Generals. He didn't bring that up because it was not part of the script that was given to him, and since it was not live, had he said something along those lines, that part would have been edited out. Perhaps that is why it wasn't live, because the establishment couldn't risk him running his mouth beyond the instructions that were given to him.

This maiden speech should have addressed his vision on our relations with neighbors. The world is listening to the new leader of a very volatile state in the middle of the wells of power. However, he was more focused on how many servants and cars that the ex-PM had at his disposal. He also said nothing on terrorism and how all the "zarbs" have failed, and he also did not speak about fundamentalism which has reached the ballot papers.

He claimed that accountability will start with him, and I was hopeful that he will finally comment on the foreign funding case by one of PTI's founding members (Dr. Babar Awan) from which he has been running for over four years now, but alas.

The rest of the speech was we will do this and do that which of course only time will tell. Good luck Mr. Prime Minister select - I wish he had spoken on the rigging charges as well. Mr. Azam Khan, Interior Minister Interim Government stated that the opposition are right about their claims of rigging.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] some people are still n shock needs dopamine and adrenaline infusion in ICU.

Well it was a good speech - he repeated all that we have heard over the last 5 years. He simply provided a summary. Printing out pictures from Google Images was a nice touch though, visual aids are very effective tools of communication.

It is indeed great to know that he will reside in a three bedroom house with two servants and two cars, and it is also great to note that he commented on how some some civil servants live in some colonial houses with huge grounds that are bigger than what they need.

However, I wish he had said the same for the mansions that are being enjoyed by some of our 3 and 4 star Generals. He didn't bring that up because it was not part of the script that was given to him, and since it was not live, had he said something along those lines, that part would have been edited out. Perhaps that is why it wasn't live, because the establishment couldn't risk him running his mouth beyond the instructions that were given to him.

This maiden speech should have addressed his vision on our relations with neighbors. The world is listening to the new leader of a very volatile state in the middle of the wells of power. However, he was more focused on how many servants and cars that the ex-PM had at his disposal. He also said nothing on terrorism and how all the "zarbs" have failed, and he also did not speak about fundamentalism which has reached the ballot papers.

He claimed that accountability will start with him, and I was hopeful that he will finally comment on the foreign funding case by one of PTI's founding members (Dr. Babar Awan) from which he has been running for over four years now, but alas.

The rest of the speech was we will do this and do that which of course only time will tell. Good luck Mr. Prime Minister select - I wish he had spoken on the rigging charges as well. Mr. Azam Khan, Interior Minister Interim Government stated that the opposition are right about their claims of rigging.
Apply some burnol and come back after 5 years. We have seen what destruction your leaders have caused.

Yours leaders can only dream about highlighting these issues - because they are showered in haram pesa.

Whatever he said was two thousand percent true. Khan is not perfect but I trust him to deliver. What does Sharif/Zardari know other than looting?

Imran may not be the best speaker to move you, but his HONESTY is! What a day.

I have never had any interest in Pakistani politics but for the very first time I have been following a leader's speeches quite religiously and I am sure that I am not the only one. A movement starts form one man, then to a group of people, and then spreads to a society. Inshallah Imran will lead us to a glory with his vision.

Apply some burnol and come back after 5 years. We have seen what destruction your leaders have caused.

Yours leaders can only dream about highlighting these issues - because they are showered in haram pesa.

Whatever he said was two thousand percent true. Khan is not perfect but I trust him to deliver. What does Sharif/Zardari know other than looting?

My leaders?

I voted for PTI because I am not sitting in Canada like you, and I was eligible to vote unlike you. Your “support” is limited to the Internet and social media including these forums.

The reason why I voted for him is not because I think he is the leader we need, but rather because he deserves an opportunity to walk the talk. He has earned the right and the ball is in his court now.

He will be criticized and praised accordingly, starting from his first speech and his cabinet which is little more than Commando Mush cabinet 2.0.

As far as his actual performance is concerned, as I said, it is something that only time will tell. There is a massive responsibility on his shoulders not just because he is the PM, but mainly because he gave the nation hope and made promises that he has to fulfill, and I hope he succeeds in his mission in spite of the odds that are stacked again, includes the ones that are self-created.

My leaders?

I voted for PTI because I am not sitting in Canada like you, and I was eligible to vote unlike you. Your “support” is limited to the Internet and social media including these forums.

The reason why I voted for him is not because I think he is the leader we need, but rather because he deserves an opportunity to walk the talk. He has earned the right and the ball is in his court now.

He will be criticized and praised accordingly, starting from his first speech and his cabinet which is little more than Commando Mush cabinet 2.0.

As far as his actual performance is concerned, as I said, it is something that only time will tell. There is a massive responsibility on his shoulders not just because he is the PM, but mainly because he gave the nation hope and made promises that he has to fulfill, and I hope he succeeds in his mission in spite of the odds that are stacked again, includes the ones that are self-created.

You spread negativity whether it is politics or sports.

As far as being away from home, do you any iota of shame blaming expatriots for no contribution. I am sure you as an individual contribute zero to Pakistan - IF you ARE a Pakistani. - I work and send money to Pakistan in DOLLARS to contribute!!!!!!!

I dont really comment much but this mamoon guy is always criticizing imran khan on every single thread. It's really getting annoying now.

- We want to make Pakistan a welfare state. It is our responsibility to improve the situation of our street children, widows and handicapped. We need to take responsibility for them.

Noble sentiments.

- I have spoken to all of Pakistan's neighbours and improve relations with them. There is a need for peace and without it, we cannot improve the country's situation.

Very true. However can you curb those who benefit from the lack of peace?

- There is massive potential for tourism in Pakistan. We will open four new resorts every year to promote tourism. We will develop the beaches in Karachi and Gwadar.

This is a practical idea. Tourism is probably the best potential foreign exchange earner for Pakistan. However, tourists need to feel that they will be secure.

- We have to increase our exports. Our government will help export industries and our business advisory council will hold meetings with them.

Very true.

I hope the above goals are achieved, good luck IK.

If this was scripted then it was the best scripted and what the people of Pakistan from all walk of life had been waiting for as you can see the reaction from people who are far better intellect then you’ll ever be.

Whatever else you had said here is toeing the line of foreign media. Nothing new here.

It is obvious from history of your comments you have to jump on every IK thread and criticize him for the reaction, Reham khan of PP, and if you didn’t then you wouldn’t be able to hold your reputation of being different than the rest of Pakistani, and majority of the time your criticism is as hollow as empty garbage drum. After IK getting elected as PM, it is getting louder, your desperate and invalid attempt to criticize IK.

I am pumped up. Damn, that was some speech. Greatest I've watched in my lifetime.

Our family's main assets are already in Pakistan.

I might invest my hard earned Euros in Pakistan now as well :smith

PS: Some things will never change. Haters hating.

If this was scripted then it was the best scripted and what the people of Pakistan from all walk of life had been waiting for as you can see the reaction from people who are far better intellect then you’ll ever be.

Whatever else you had said here is toeing the line of foreign media. Nothing new here.

It is obvious from history of your comments you have to jump on every IK thread and criticize him for the reaction, Reham khan of PP, and if you didn’t then you wouldn’t be able to hold your reputation of being different than the rest of Pakistani, and majority of the time your criticism is as hollow as empty garbage drum. After IK getting elected as PM, it is getting louder, your desperate and invalid attempt to criticize IK.
LMAOO@Reham Khan of PP. :)))

Great speech, touched on alot of points and made me feel that all this even writing down on the paper is like 50-60 points. Practically they don't seem to be possible, but I would be very happy if he managed to fulfill even 20% of the what he said. Problem is Khan believes he actually is in control of all the issues that are being mentioned here. He has a paper thin majority in the parliament which can be toppled anytime if things go haywire

I also respect him bringing a ct scan to show the stunted growth in the child, the doctor in me found that very moving, that a PM prioritized health issues in the country. Other issues that really impressed me were infant mortality rates, child abuse, education of 22.8 million outside schools, environemnt and water. An environmental friendly PM is soemthing I have never seen before for Pakistan.

Sounded weak in talking about terrorism and other provincial subjects. Could not help but throw shade at his predecssors. I would rate his intentions 80/100. That doesn't stop anyone from criticziing him when he doesn't do something praiseworthy.

I also respect him bringing a ct scan to show the stunted growth in the child, the doctor in me found that very moving, that a PM prioritized health issues in the country. Other issues that really impressed me were infant mortality rates, child abuse, education of 22.8 million outside schools, environemnt and water. An environmental friendly PM is soemthing I have never seen before for Pakistan.

Sounded weak in talking about terrorism and other provincial subjects. Could not help but throw shade at his predecssors. I would rate his intentions 80/100. That doesn't stop anyone from criticziing him when he doesn't do something praiseworthy.

Valid criticism is always appreciated.

That was one emotional statement, i sincerely hope and pray for his safety and long life. We need more people who think about other lot more than their own life, interests, comfort etc

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It was said for Cricket that it is that one thing that unites whole Pakistani nation. Guess we have a new common interest. Scenes from various corners of Pakistan; young and the old, glued to their TV alike & watching <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddress?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddress</a> <a href="https://t.co/4rqQTwpzfG">pic.twitter.com/4rqQTwpzfG</a></p>— PTI Central Punjab (@PTICPOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTICPOfficial/status/1031294020226609152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

Too beautiful. :rabada2

Here for those who missed it :

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/HwFiKXO4P_g" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Why don't it play for me?

All opposition parties leaders names should have been put on the ECL with immediate effect

To be honest even i expected 'Meray hum watno" type speech and it would have been painful to see him sounding robotic.

It was all about people of Pakistan, acknowledgement of issues they face and most people don't care about them.

Kasur victims, street children, farmers, women, widows, land disputes, health, education, madrassah, police reforms etc etc etc

And then we have egoistic losers like Talat Hussian and Geo mafia saying "nothing new" was said?? If he had not spoken about all the promises he had been making and issue he has been raising then they will say "What about this and that he promised" and now saying nothing new. Considering they need to at least pretend to be neutral, i hope strict action is taken against all these crooks who sell their souls for personal gains.

Loved how he said the elites live like the angraz before independence. We were slaves to them before now we are slaves to these elites and our lives have not gotten better. IK setting the right tone hoping he brings more transperency to Pak government and sets precedents that future governments have to abide by.

I just listened to the speech, and it was absolutely fantastic. I have never seen any leader who looked like they meant each and every word they spoke, nor have I been so touched by a speech before. Many parts of it were quite emotional, and I am sure it resonated with people all over Pakistan.

Completely agree brother, that part was extremely emotional for me as well.

Coming to the speech, have already listened to it twice. My God, whatta speech, has there ever been a better speech by a leader in the last 25-30 years? I think not (heck, best speech I've heard in my life). That speech was straight from the heart. He knows/feels the common mans issues. I pray that he fulfills all his promises. Lovely speech!

This is once in a lifetime chance, aisey leader humesha humesha nahi athi and I hope the nation realizes this. Time agiya hei, for Pakistan to take off, jo Quaid-e-Azam ki vision, woh ab Insha'Allah fulfill hogi.

As the Prime Minister himself said, "Ya ye mulk bachega ya ye corrupt log bachengy" everyone is with you sir, take them down. These leeches have completely destroyed the country. He's right, when they go after them, they will react, as he said, the nation needs to stand with him. With the country's support, no one can stop him from putting these lotaras away for good.

If PM Imran Khan can achieve all these reforms, his name will be etched in history as the most important leader of the country after Quaid-e-Azam.

May Allah give him health, May Allah give him the strength to lead Pakistan to a more prosperous future.

All of us are on your team #humheiKuptaankisaath

Wonderful speech.

I actually am not that good in classical Urdu, therefore backing on the summery transcript to understand the thought process, but one thing I can say is that I have never seen a State leader speaking in live telecast like this, for his first speech - as if Khan was charging his team before a major Series. Informal, but articulate and passionate - every word to the point with a conviction and inspiration - something he himself believed. His style was like a conversation rather than an one sided speech, as if he was presenting his views in a talk show; which again tells how many miles this man has run in last 23 years. I read, he was delayed by almost 2 hours, which I am sure well spent for multiple rehearsal - IK for all his qualities, wasn't a great speaker, neither in commi box or even WC winning podium; finally he could fix that one as well.

I think, every such speech, the sate leader often reads out a script with carefully chosen words; here also I am sure Khan had his script, but his style was informal, as if a CEO is presenting his annual operating plan to the board - one has to be extremely confident to deliver such a speech in such style. His start was innovative and punchy as well - for a country like PAK, relating to the last sermon of Prophet (PBUH), I am sure that'll make most of the audience alert instantly, which was essential for an hour long speech. Another impressive thing is, hardly any personal dig, no individual threats, or self boasting glorification like how much sacrifice he had to do "to serve" his people, neither any materialistic commitment, rather he talked mostly on policy level - which are the burning issues, where he wants to see the country reach and what should be the road map. One interesting thing, which I might have missed (someone correct me if so) - no comments on PAK defense, a ministry that consumes probably more than half of annual budget and a force that is equipped with WMD & nuke projectiles; though he did mention about Interior ministry & law enforcement agencies. May be at the start he didn't want to alert any one - in or outside PAK.

Given current situation, I must say he has set sky high targets for himself, but even if he can deliver a fraction of his promises, there is no reason why he can't come back in 5 years time with a stronger mandate - he'll need 229 votes in assembly to deliver many of the reforms, which I think will need constitutional amendments, therefore it can be just the start of a 10, may be even 15 years journey - good luck to him & PAK. Muslim world needs a strong & stable PAK, led by a charismatic and visionary leader.

Very little stake for me, but I wish finally this time Khan will fix PAK domestic cricket, which he left after 1979, stating (almost ...) that it's was a waste of time (and it can't be more true!!!).

Good luck again.

Reham Khan of PP :))) :)))
:hafeez2

Show some respect for your prime minister, the elections commission and each vote that was cast by every citizen of your country.

You would not have wasted your time and voted if you really did not believe in the elections and voting process. So at least show your own vote some respect.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The whole country was glued to the screens today to watch Prime Minister Imran Khan's first address to the Nation<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKAddressToNation?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKAddressToNation</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTI?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTI</a> <a href="https://t.co/qFUCPqtTQU">pic.twitter.com/qFUCPqtTQU</a></p>— Siasat.pk (@siasatpk) <a href="https://twitter.com/siasatpk/status/1031285569123491845?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 19, 2018</a></blockquote>

PPP, PML-N leaders criticise PM Imran's inaugural address

KARACHI/ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) leader Saeed Ghani slammed Prime Minister Imran Khan's inaugural address Sunday night a few hours after it was broadcasted on national TV.

Ghani remarked that there was nothing in Khan's speech other than the five-point agenda that was presented by former president Pervez Musharraf.

The premier remained silent on important issues such as terrorism and extremism, the PPP leader claimed, adding that Khan did not say anything against the killers who have claimed lives of 70,000 Pakistanis.

He also said the PM did not provide any policy statement on the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), the seeds of which were planted by PPP co-chairperson Asif Ali Zardari.

Khan did not comment on the constitutional rights of Sindh and other smaller provinces either, Ghani stressed, adding further that he should have also offered a strategy on policies pertaining to the National Finance Commission (NFC) Award.

"The PM did not say a single word regarding the reservations against the census," he noted, alleging that all those who have forcefully occupied land in Karachi were the allies of the country's premier.

'PM Imran repeated what he has said before'
Ahsan Iqbal, the former interior minister and a member of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), remarked that Khan only repeated what he had said before in the inaugural address.

While speaking to Geo News, he said: “[Imran Khan] didn’t provide any solid mechanism for implementation of his policies."

The fact that Khan did not focus on matters such as terrorism and load-shedding proves that the PML-N government was able to resolve these two problems. “The team formulated by Imran Khan cannot help him achieve his targets.”

He further criticised the new PM's decision to not appoint an interior minister.

In the past, the PTI used to criticise the PML-N government for not appointing a foreign minister, he mentioned, adding that it was, however, negligence on Khan's behalf to not appoint an interior minister.

Terrorism is the biggest threat to Pakistan right now. "We managed to curb terrorism to a considerable degree. But, we still need to curb widespread hate and extremism in the country."

Pakistan needs a full-time interior minister, he added.

Reacting to PM Khan's speech, the spokesperson for the Gilgit-Baltistan government said the elected premier has no interest in his region.

"The premier spoke about the Diamer-Bhasha dam but did not mention the people residing in the area it is being built," he said.

The new premier does not even know that the G-B area is the economic hub of the country. The PM spoke of the water crisis but forgot about the glaciers.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/208054-ppp-other-parties-criticise-pm-imrans-inaugural-address

He spoke like a true leader, MashaAllah.

Having studied psychology myself, I found out that when a leader provides the factor of motivation then those under him acquire positivity effects which increase their production / performance for certain percentage.

Secondly, a genuine leader acts as a father figure, so when he said "Ghabrana nahin hai", he attained this trait of a leader aswell.

May Allah help him and Pakistan achieve the required objectives.

I found the speech fine.

It just droned on a little too long.

Except for fanatics, the normal audience does not have a span of 45 to 60 minutes to listen to things about to be done.

Interestingly, my wife listened to the entire speech and was enthralled by it, while I was captivated for the first 10 minutes and got bored and left the speech.

But he has given himself high targets.

What remains to be seen is if he can walk the talk.

This is just the beginning of his time.

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Monday moved to the military secretary’s residence where he will be residing during his tenure, sources told Geo News.

Last night in his first address to the nation after assuming office, PM Imran said the country will begin an austerity drive to reduce debt and announced that he will live in a three-bedroom house instead of the palatial Prime Minister House.

Before his oath-taking ceremony, PM Imran’s party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, had announced that he will live in the chief minister’s annex in Punjab House. However, owing to security concerns, PM Imran decided to move to the military secretary’s residence.

The military secretary’s residence is located in the PM House colony.

According to sources, PM Imran will spend Sundays at his Bani Gala residence.

Imran during his first address as prime minister also said he plans to have only two servants instead of 524 reserved for a sitting premier.

He also announced plans to sell a fleet of bullet-proof vehicles to help Treasury shortfalls.

"I want to tell my people, I will live a simple life, I will save your money," he said.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/208105-pm-imran-moves-to-military-secretarys-r

Very moved by his speech. Pakistani nation is unparalleled when it comes to have faith that good things will happen to Pakistan eventually. It comes from the faith of Pakistanis and being Muslim that we believe this country is part of a mega plan  of ALLAH Taala. And such belief might get rediculed here on this forum but one thing is for sure that it makes us hopeful and we are not panicked at all....Hum nahi ghabraty : ). However, we should be realistic and  realize that this is the time to change ourselves and only then ALLAH taala will change the situation of this country.<br>
<br>
His speech had many points parts which watered the eyes but the highlight for me was when he talked about empathy. I am a proud paindu and I would really appriciate every move that is done in the best interest of the people of South Punjab,Balochistan, interior sindh rest of the provinces.<br>
<br>
It was very emotional when he said he may not live at the time when we wouldnt find anyone to give zakat in this country. <br>
<br>
The expectations he has raised are very high and I would be very happy even if he struggles in the path of meeting  them but cant achieve in the next 5-10 years. He appears to be the best we have.

Great speech because usually politicians say what the masses want to hear but this leader was truly sincere in every word he uttered.

There is no doubt Pakistan will improve now IA.

You can call me Reham Khan of PP or whatever you want. In my time on PP, I have been called worse and better things.

Can you please explain why he didn't shed any light on the lavish lifestyles of the military elite? He talked about our bureaucracy and our politicians, but what stopped him from talking about the military elite who are also living beyond their means?

Is he afraid, or did he conveniently forgot to pen them down?

Why didn't he say a word on terrorism and extremism, which are amongst the biggest problems the country is facing today?

He lost his own candidate in the election campaign due to terrorism, but not a word on that?

Why didn't he comment on the issues that put our military establishment in bad light?