India Seizes Troubled Yes Bank and Limits Withdrawals

Technics 1210

India’s stock and currency markets tumbled after the central bank seized control of beleaguered Yes Bank Ltd., raising concerns about the knock-on effects on the financial system.

The Reserve Bank of India capped withdrawals at 50,000 rupees ($682) and imposed strict limits on operations at the country’s fourth-largest private lender, while a rescue plan is devised. In a statement late on Thursday, the regulator said it was forced to step in after Yes Bank’s latest effort to raise new capital failed to materialize and as the lender “was facing regular outflow of liquidity.”

Yes Bank shares fell as much as 25% on Friday morning in Mumbai, with the Bankex index dropping more than 5%. The rupee fell more than 1%, approaching a record low reached in October 2018. The S&P BSE Sensex index of shares lost as much as 3.8%.

The move to rescue Yes Bank illustrates the widening damage from India’s shadow banking crisis, which has left the lender with a growing pile of bad loans. Indian authorities have been struggling to contain the turmoil that has choked credit to consumers and small businesses, slowing economic growth to an 11-year low.

“In the absence of a credible revival plan, and in public interest and the interest of the bank’s depositors, it had no alternative,” but to seize Yes Bank, the RBI said in the statement.

Read Andy Mukherjee on how authorities dragged their feet over Yes Bank

The takeover will help authorities implement a revival plan after numerous attempts by the lender to raise capital failed. Under a government-backed proposal State Bank of India, the nation’s largest lender, has been selected to lead a consortium that will inject new capital into Yes Bank, people familiar with the matter said earlier on Thursday.

While the RBI works on the rescue plan, there could be uncertainty about the liabilities of smaller Indian banks and shadow lenders, including their deposits and bonds, Manish Shukla, an analyst at Citigroup Inc., said in a report. “Fast clarity on the plan of reconstruction/amalgamation is critical from a system perspective,” Shukla wrote.

Yes Bank had been seeking new capital since last year, to bolster its ratios and quell questions about its stability due to its exposure to shadow banks entangled in a prolonged crunch in the local credit market. That erupted with a series of defaults at Infrastructure Leasing & Financial Services Ltd. in September 2018.

The seizure of Yes Bank is the largest of the government’s moves to stem an erosion of confidence among investors due to the shadow bank crisis. The government took over IL&FS in 2018 in an effort to reassure creditors after the defaults. And last year, the RBI seized control of another struggling shadow lender, Dewan Housing Finance Corp., and said it will initiate bankruptcy proceedings.

RBI Governor Shaktikanta Das pledged this week in an interview with Bloomberg News that no major bank would be allowed to fail. He didn’t comment on the revival plan in an interview to BloombergQuint earlier on Thursday.

State Bank of India has been authorized to select other members of the consortium, the people said earlier Thursday, asking not to be identified as the information isn’t public. In a subsequent filing to the stock exchange, State Bank of India said its board met on Thursday and “an in-principle approval has been given by the board to explore investment opportunity” in Yes Bank.

Yes Bank’s total exposure to shadow lenders and developers -- both caught up in a funding crunch since late 2018 -- was 11.5% as of September, filings show. A Credit Suisse Group AG note in April marked Yes Bank out as the lender with the largest proportion of outstanding loans to large stressed borrowers, including Anil Ambani group companies, Essel Group, Dewan Housing and IL&FS.

Last month, Yes Bank said it has received non-binding offers from foreign investors including JC Flowers & Co., Tilden Capital, Oak Hill Advisors and Silver Point Capital. But the RBI made clear those talks had fizzled.

“These investors did hold discussions with senior officials of the Reserve Bank but for various reasons eventually did not infuse any capital,” the RBI said in its statement.

And it wasn’t the first time the bank had announced names of potential investors. In November, the bank’s board disclosed several other names before rejecting most of the offers.

Read about the puzzling Canadian behind a bid for Yes Bank

Moody’s Investors Service cut the bank’s credit ratings in December and in January said its “standalone viability is getting increasingly challenged by its slowness in raising new capital.”

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...-bank-to-seize-yes-bank-to-help-revive-lender

Wonder where that GDP figure is now? If anyone believes India's economy is strong and stable, think again.

I remember this bank from the IPL : ‘That is a Yes Bank maximum’. Shocking that the bank is in this state.

No economy is strong an stable , the world being in brink of recession ..India is still better placed than most countries if it goes from bad to worse . I would be more concerned about a country with no real industry under massive debts bordering on Hyperinflation .

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...-bank-to-seize-yes-bank-to-help-revive-lender

Wonder where that GDP figure is now? If anyone believes India's economy is strong and stable, think again.

I suggest you to study a little bit about economy and how its economic progress are measured in terms of GDP.

India's GDP is $3.2 trillion dollars which is 5th best in the world after going past UK.

Now coming to this topic, it's a wise decision or else indian govt. would had to bail out a package from budget (from tax payer's money) to save this bank. 'Yes Bank' reached this stage bcoz they had given loans to people who didn't bother pay them back.

I remember I had bad credit score 3 years back and no bank was willing to give personal loan but 'Yes Bank' said 'Yes', I was like 'this bank will go bankrupt for sure in coming years'

No economy is strong an stable , the world being in brink of recession ..India is still better placed than most countries if it goes from bad to worse . I would be more concerned about a country with no real industry under massive debts bordering on Hyperinflation .

India is certainly not well placed.
If you disagree then please name the reasons for why you think it is?

I suggest you to study a little bit about economy and how its economic progress are measured in terms of GDP.

India's GDP is $3.2 trillion dollars which is 5th best in the world after going past UK.

Now coming to this topic, it's a wise decision or else indian govt. would had to bail out a package from budget (from tax payer's money) to save this bank. 'Yes Bank' reached this stage bcoz they had given loans to people who didn't bother pay them back.

I remember I had bad credit score 3 years back and no bank was willing to give personal loan but 'Yes Bank' said 'Yes', I was like 'this bank will go bankrupt for sure in coming years'

India’s economy is failing badly that is a fact.
Of course your government and press will tell you otherwise.

Lot of the newer banks went aggressive to garner market share , this happened even with the big ones like ICICI and AXIS in the early days , but they survived as the economy was in upswing and they where only competing with the PSUs unlike today where we have 20+ Private banks , more NBFC's and micro financiers. Slowdown weed out the weaker banks, may not be such a bad thing in the end as there is bound to be consolidation in Banking space , there is no room for so many players anyway.

I suggest you read up on GDP per capita, then compare yourself with the top economies of the world.

In either case, GDP is not helping the banking system in India.

All hail Modi.

Sitting in Hyderabad and working as software developer I receive a 6 figure salary monthly, new jobs are being filled by IT companies. So I don't mind much as long as I get payed well.

Secondly, India's growth rate is 4.7 % amid global slowdown, India has a huge workforce and rest assured we will cross germany's economy in next couple of years. India has gone past UK in terms of economy and has more purchasing power than UK.

Please don't confuse purchasing power with per capita income. Purchasing power (for a govt.) means having more money in hand . For example : in future if we want to send a satellite to mars or purchase an expensive S400 or S500 , we can do that but UK can't do it !

In India we are not even comparing ourselves with UK as we have gone past them.

India is certainly not well placed.
If you disagree then please name the reasons for why you think it is?

Can you tell me why its not well placed ?

5% GDP growth is only bad by our standards , not by rest of the world which is projected to grow at 1% this year thanks to China .
if you compare to last time we where under 5% growth nearly 10 years back , Fiscal deficit is in far better state at less than 4% , lower inflation , higher reserves of nearly $500 billion . Bulk of our Import bill is Crude , the world growth slows means crude crashes and this always helps our import bills more than negating for any slowness in our exports . So yes , we are better placed than most countries .

Last year we contributed ~15% to world growth , which was the highest ever and there is every chance it will go up even higher this year .

I suggest you read up on GDP per capita, then compare yourself with the top economies of the world.

In either case, GDP is not helping the banking system in India.

All hail Modi.

Which idiot told you that we are developed country ?

Failing? Is it in a recession? Has the gdp contracted?

Is rupee in a free fall?

Is India on a IMF bailout package?

Are the currency reserves empty and India is on the verge of default?

Indian ruppee is down to 15 month low while their exports are registering negative growth.

Modi hai tu mumkin hai. Long may he reign

:salute

Whilst we are at it, let's not forget to blame Nehru for Yes Bank's failure.

Indian ruppee is down to 15 month low while their exports are registering negative growth.

Modi hai tu mumkin hai. Long may he reign

:salute
Unemployment is at its highest in 45 years....No wonder all those unemployed youth have now been given new job of rioting.....

Burning India.

The extremists are destroying the country.

Sanghis have this habit of burying their heads in sand, so don't go by their blabbering that all is well in India.

And our clueless FM has already managed to blame Congress for Yes Bank's failure. Nehru is waiting with bated breath, in his grave for his turn to be blamed for this fiasco.

Oh man Modi supporters are something else.

The ability to collectively bury your head in the sands and act like nothing is wrong is almost admirable.

On topic. Remember Yes Bank from IPL and a few series where they sponsored. Also I think they were big in investment banking m in India because once a firm I worked for was looking at a joint financial advisory mandate and they were one of the potential co-advisors.

Raghuram Rajan had told the government to rein in these banks

The failure of Yes Bank is an instance of capitalism in action. Sometimes banks will make mistakes, like the loans given to Anil Ambani group companies, Essel Group, Dewan Housing and IL&FS. They have to face the consequences of their mistakes.

Japan in the 1990s kept their "zombie" banks going for a long time after the real estate bubble burst and the banks had huge amounts of bad debt. That was not the right thing to do and negatively affected their economy.

Sitting in Hyderabad and working as software developer I receive a 6 figure salary monthly, new jobs are being filled by IT companies. So I don't mind much as long as I get payed well.

Secondly, India's growth rate is 4.7 % amid global slowdown, India has a huge workforce and rest assured we will cross germany's economy in next couple of years. India has gone past UK in terms of economy and has more purchasing power than UK.

Please don't confuse purchasing power with per capita income. Purchasing power (for a govt.) means having more money in hand . For example : in future if we want to send a satellite to mars or purchase an expensive S400 or S500 , we can do that but UK can't do it !

Are you for real? 90% of India would he empty if the UK opens its borders to the Indians for even half an hour lol Talk about being deluded!

This has got to be one of the biggest laughs I've had on here, talk about levels of delusion.

I did see the call centre scams were pulling in a lot of money.

Fascist Indians are pathetically gullible.

#BurningIndia

Banks should be responsible. They shouldn't hand out loans so easily.

I expect this type of thing to happen to many banks and credit unions.

Lmao at the delusions. The amount of applications I see from Indians in the NHS alone is insane, not only that but the Indians are the biggest amount of immigrants in the UK every year by applications, same for USA and the top in Australia.

UK still have a bigger economy than India according to the World Bank rankings this year, India have fallen behind Germany, France and UK at number 7.

How deluded does one have to be.

Unemployment is at its highest in 45 years....No wonder all those unemployed youth have now been given new job of rioting.....

I feel for educated, moderate and rational Indians like you. While BJP is obviously fascist and severely detrimental to your country, the other option of Congress is hardly any better. They have ruled for much of your history and are directly responsible for India having such abject poverty despite having all the ingredients to match China pound for pound. You need a third option that has India-wide appeal.

A country where 600 million sh1t in public, where the amount of starving children and poor people are more than sub-saharan Africa and who's people still make up the top spot for immigrant applications in three western nations, apparently has gone past the UK. :))

Indians just don't have any social ethics, even if their country doubles the UK economy, you'll still have defecating in public and filth strewn on the streets. All the money will be lining the top 1% pockets and the country will still look like a giant dump.

I feel for educated, moderate and rational Indians like you. While BJP is obviously fascist and severely detrimental to your country, the other option of Congress is hardly any better. They have ruled for much of your history and are directly responsible for India having such abject poverty despite having all the ingredients to match China pound for pound. You need a third option that has India-wide appeal.
True.

Congress is as much to blame for India's current state, especially for rise of these religious bigots. However sanghis took less than 5 years to drive us into gutter, something which I think Congress couldn't do in their 50 years reign.

I for one, would anyday pick those years in a heartbeat over current toxic days.

Would anyday pick even Vajpayee years over 56" reign, however incompetent he might have been in reining in this bigot.

More than IPL , I remember Yes bank along with Kotak offering 6% interest in saving account over 1 lakh after govn removed rule.

I have an account in Kotak and it worries me at times so i do keep a tab on NPA.

Irrespective of whom to blame, it’s becoming clearer as to why demonization was done to keep banks affloat at cost of average person, now all the banks that still couldn’t figure out are done and it’s going to be survival of the fittest.

Politics is a big curse , democracy has to have checks and balances in place, which is not happening anymore due to fall of Congress and absolute blind Followers of BJP

Raghuram Rajan is a legend for me, tried to correct Indian banks as he saw this and also predicted the global Recession when American govn had ridiculed him.

It’s sad that he was given very late a position in RBI by congress when they had messed up with loans as well.

True.

Congress is as much to blame for India's current state, especially for rise of these religious bigots. However sanghis took less than 5 years to drive us into gutter, something which I think Congress couldn't do in their 50 years reign.

I think Congress pandered to religious bigots only to win votes, they still seemed more progressive in outlook overall. I look at the hero worship of reprobates like Amit Shah, and I just don't understand how people see a future in it in this day and age.

Indians just don't have any social ethics, even if their country doubles the UK economy, you'll still have defecating in public and filth strewn on the streets. All the money will be lining the top 1% pockets and the country will still look like a giant dump.

If someone was to ask me “who will bring feces into a discussion about banks?”, my first guess would have been you.

What a dumb post. You are happy as long as others are in worse position than India? Wow. No wonder this country is going down with each passing day. :inti

It's always funny to see NRI's gloating about India's growing economy. It just doesn't make any sense. They should just keep quiet and sit in the corner.
They ran away from this country for better facilities, life style and money. Now please don't try to show your fake patriotism here online by defending something you have already left. Bunch of wannabes. :inti

I for one, would anyday pick those years in a heartbeat over current toxic days.

Would anyday pick even Vajpayee years over 56" reign, however incompetent he might have been in reining in this bigot.

I would still pick Kejriwal for Delhi though. :inti

Acha ji? I would like to know more about the bolded part. :inti

Economically and socially India are far ahead of the UK, which is why I am considering swapping London for Delhi. I hear Delhi is nice this time of year.

Resorting to ad hominem response only reinforces my point.

You should not use phrases like "ad hominem" if you do not understand their meaning. My post referred to an obsession of yours, which was evident in your post.

He has been arrested and brought to court, even his daughters have been stopped from boarding the flight to UK due to connections to the companies.

Atleast that is something nice to see after what happened to Mallya and Modi , not sure why UK allows all Indian white collar crooks an entry into their country.

The 4th largest bank in India is nationalised and we have Saffron apologists telling us its not a problem. next up, the national airline of India, Air India.

There is no economic prosperity in India for the ordinary ilk of India. It is all a facade. The gap between rich and poor, low and upper caste, Hindus vs. Non-hindus is forever expanding in India.

No wonder the biggest selling product is whitening cream in India. Priorities all over the place.

The 4th largest bank in India is nationalised and we have Saffron apologists telling us its not a problem. next up, the national airline of India, Air India.

There is no economic prosperity in India for the ordinary ilk of India. It is all a facade. The gap between rich and poor, low and upper caste, Hindus vs. Non-hindus is forever expanding in India.

No wonder the biggest selling product is whitening cream in India. Priorities all over the place.

Fourth Largest bank- Lie,

It’s fourth largest private lender, big difference.

Lowest caste upper caste economic difference increase -lie

Hindus - non Hindus ,economic difference -lie

Whitening cream selling product- lie

The narrative is good what you are trying to sell but it will take time and years and India has to keep doing same mistakes, in the mean time try worrying about UK as well from the time you moved there to now , most countries ate just going ahead( not India but others), it’s not even close to USA now absolutely bringing nothing to the world, 20 years down the line all. would be is a place Indian and Pakistanis wanting to move there and nothing else.

Fourth Largest bank- Lie,

It’s fourth largest private lender, big difference.

Lowest caste upper caste economic difference increase -lie

Hindus - non Hindus ,economic difference -lie

Whitening cream selling product- lie

The narrative is good what you are trying to sell but it will take time and years and India has to keep doing same mistakes, in the mean time try worrying about UK as well from the time you moved there to now , most countries ate just going ahead( not India but others), it’s not even close to USA now absolutely bringing nothing to the world, 20 years down the line all. would be is a place Indian and Pakistanis wanting to move there and nothing else.

Yes yes all lies according to saffron apologists. You"ve jumped from UK, USA, and Pakistan all in the same para - now that's panic.

Take a deep breath. If India was doing so well you wouldn't have bailed the motherland.

Yes yes all lies according to saffron apologists. You"ve jumped from UK, USA, and Pakistan all in the same para - now that's panic.

Take a deep breath. If India was doing so well you wouldn't have bailed the motherland.

Which is true, India is nowhere near states in economy or freedom of expression( hopefully it will be someday).

Also astonishing how you shut every Indian down by saying Saffron apologists, which is ok but try backing it with some statements of mine

Reply me with source on all what i called lies in your statement, would save us more time, also remember non Hindus include Jains, Sikhs, Parsis, Christians.. go search.

As I said keep trying the narrative, seen you say it multiple times , there us no panic, because i know the cycle and I know you do as well. 5 years.

What a dumb post. You are happy as long as others are in worse position than India? Wow. No wonder this country is going down with each passing day. :inti

Why would I be happy ? did I say that .
I am trader , I need customers to buy and sell ..why would I be happy if my customers are having a financial crisis ? What am doing is lowering my expectations till things get better for my customer .

you got it , or I have to still elaborate and explain ?

No country will go through a economic boom , when the whole world is reeling under recession . This is a time to gain some more share in world trade , especially with China being in trouble some of the Indian Industries can benefit , this could also help us to clean up the system , cheaper loans , cheaper Crude ..all good , but GDP growth of 10% wont happen . That's just a fact .

He has been arrested and brought to court, even his daughters have been stopped from boarding the flight to UK due to connections to the companies.

At least that is something nice to see after what happened to Mallya and Modi , not sure why UK allows all Indian white collar crooks an entry into their country.

Mallya's Company went bust , he owed Banks a lot of money which he was willing to pay ..but it was noting like Nirav Modi . His case was no different from how credit card defaulters try to settle their outstanding amount for less . The media has made a criminal out of Mallya , which hes not .

There is nothing nice about companies going bankrupt , you definitely cant avoid a few but its disgusting how the Indian middle class takes sadistic pleasure out of some one failure , especially the rich . Even Geetanjali gems had ambitious plans of expansion, but once the scam including PNB came out it was over for the company . While it may be nice to see a rich guy behind bars , lets not forget Geetanjali gems was employing 15K employees , same case with KIngfisher or Yes Bank .

Mallya's Company went bust , he owed Banks a lot of money which he was willing to pay ..but it was noting like Nirav Modi . His case was no different from how credit card defaulters try to settle their outstanding amount for less . The media has made a criminal out of Mallya , which hes not .

There is nothing nice about companies going bankrupt , you definitely cant avoid a few but its disgusting how the Indian middle class takes sadistic pleasure out of some one failure , especially the rich . Even Geetanjali gems had ambitious plans of expansion, but once the scam including PNB came out it was over for the company . While it may be nice to see a rich guy behind bars , lets not forget Geetanjali gems was employing 15K employees , same case with KIngfisher or Yes Bank .

I didn’t even know Rana Kapoor (just knew the bank) also I get no pleasure seeing people unemployed but money laundering needs to be tackled.

I agree partially on Mallya, I knew people working in the airlines and also how ignorance and robbery (not from Mallya but upper management) lead to bankruptcy.

Yes Bank: Founder Rana Kapoor held over alleged money laundering

India's financial crime detectives have arrested the chief of the private Yes Bank over allegations of money laundering.

Rana Kapoor was arrested days after the country's central bank seized control of the lender.

Mr Kapoor was produced in a court in the western city of Mumbai and remanded to police custody until 11 March.

The country's federal financial agency has claimed that Mr Kapoor's crime amounts to around $581m (£445m).

Mr Kapoor has denied all charges against him.

The Enforcement Directorate has alleged that the founder had refused to cooperate with the investigation.

But Mr Kapoor denied this on Sunday, as he broke down in court. "I'm willing to cooperate day and night despite the fact that I haven't slept a wink," he told the court, news agency Reuters reported.

The bank has been saddled with bad loans and has unsuccessfully tried to raise capital to meet its regulatory requirements.

How India avoided its 'Lehman Brothers moment'
Why India's financial system is vulnerable to hacks
The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) said Yes Bank's weakened position was "largely due to inability of the bank to raise capital to address potential loan losses and resultant downgrades".

Worried customers have queued up outside Yes Bank branches to withdraw money after the RBI said it would take over the troubled lender. Depositors can now only withdraw the equivalent of about $630 (£486) during a one-month moratorium.

The RBI said it wanted to "quickly restore depositors' confidence" in the bank.

During this time, the RBI will work on a rescue plan for India's fifth biggest private bank - it has asked State Bank of India, the country's largest state-owned bank, to help with a revival plan.

Yes Bank has an estimated $28bn in deposits but had been seeking new capital to bolster its finances before it was seized by the central bank.

In 2016, India passed a law on recovering bad debts that placed more pressure on all banks to more quickly identify and report long-standing troubled loans and poor oversight, which have acted as a major drag on fresh lending.

"India's banking sector - as well as the wider financial sector with the shadow banks - is still under stress, and there have been no quick fixes to this issue," said TS Lombard director of India Research Shumita Sharma Deveshwar.

Private lenders such as Yes Bank were initially welcomed as bringing new technologies and fresh approaches to the state-dominated banking sector.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-india-51797876

Lehman brothers also went bankruptcy. It's nothing new for a institution to go bankruptcy. While it may impact the overall economy, the economy may not trigger it at all such as in the case of yes bank.

If you are overspending, over lending and then go bankrupt, don't blame the system. Blame lies in you.

Hence I don't understand where does Indian economy comes into play here when the trigger was within yes bank itself.

And for clarification, yes bank isn't bankrupt. They still doesn't fall into warning category where RBI is forced to take control. It's just a cautionary measure right now.

Lehman brothers also went bankruptcy. It's nothing new for a institution to go bankruptcy. While it may impact the overall economy, the economy may not trigger it at all such as in the case of yes bank.

If you are overspending, over lending and then go bankrupt, don't blame the system. Blame lies in you.

Hence I don't understand where does Indian economy comes into play here when the trigger was within yes bank itself.

And for clarification, yes bank isn't bankrupt. They still doesn't fall into warning category where RBI is forced to take control. It's just a cautionary measure right now.

Lehman going bankrupt led to the biggest financial crisis in almost a century, and was definitely a symbol of a flawed system.

Obv a Indian bank going bust will not have the same global impact due to not being as big a player but cannot simply brush it under the carpet.

it is only in times of impending economic crisis when risky practises of banks come to roost as has been the case here.

It is crystal clear the majority of Indians do not understand how capitalism works, and how a capitalist system relies on debt via banking. India is lending but people are pot-less and broke. No wonder Indians are bailing from their motherland.

Someone who think Lehmans bankruptcy is nothing new, doesn't have a clue. Bear Sterns, Northern Rock, all flopped and people like the above said, nothing to worry about, it's not new, the rest is history.

The only thing more dangerous than bankruptcy, is sheer ignorance.

Sanghis have to be most clueless creatures ever. They always have their heads buried firmly in sand.

Despite knowing nothing about economy, they'll pass sermons on it just like their master.

Lehman going bankrupt led to the biggest financial crisis in almost a century, and was definitely a symbol of a flawed system.

Obv a Indian bank going bust will not have the same global impact due to not being as big a player but cannot simply brush it under the carpet.

it is only in times of impending economic crisis when risky practises of banks come to roost as has been the case here.

I do agree that impending economic crisis can be a factor but it isn't the only factor. The aggressive lending could also be due to aggressive planning for more market share, or lending to institutions which could default yet avoid any repercussions.

Now let's assume the risk that yes bank had to take due to suspected economic crisis that is incoming. But how you will differentiate where

- scrutiny fails intentionally (where you have to go for sub per institutions as the stable ones already financed by SBI, PNB, ICICI or HDFC bank which takes the majority of share in lending)

- and due to overall increase in NPA and hence the downfall of yes bank.

If that was the case, doesn't SBI or ICICI (two of the major banks) should have been hit in their profits too (I understand with their size, they are in a position to cushion it but the repercussions from crisis should be there in some form in account book) ?

A simple look at their financials show that their profit is indeed falling.

Infact ICICI profit in 2019 (INR 33bn) was almost 1/3rd of what it had 2 years prior to that (INR 98bn in 2017). That fall is fairly worrying Im sure

True.

You really have no knowledge of your own country.

You think Congress did a good job running the country? The percentage of population in extreme poverty in 1980 was 61%. Yes, after the first 33 years of Congress rule life was wretched for the country's poor. The country was absolutely in the gutter.

Today that percentage has fallen to around 10% or possibly lower. Modi has done a good job of making India more business friendly, as measured by WB's Ease of Doing Business ranking. India will keep doing well economically, especially after the current global downturn is over.

A simple look at their financials show that their profit is indeed falling.

Infact ICICI profit in 2019 (INR 33bn) was almost 1/3rd of what it had 2 years prior to that (INR 98bn in 2017). That fall is fairly worrying Im sure

Banks are only one sector of the economy. More relevant is the growth of the entire economy.

Low profits by banks need not necessarily mean that the economy is doing badly. It could mean that there is more competition. Market caps of banks are the discounted value of their profits, and larger profits by intermediaries like banks also means that the rest of the economy has a higher cost of capital.

You really have no knowledge of your own country.

You think Congress did a good job running the country? The percentage of population in extreme poverty in 1980 was 61%. Yes, after the first 33 years of Congress rule life was wretched for the country's poor. The country was absolutely in the gutter.

Today that percentage has fallen to around 10% or possibly lower. Modi has done a good job of making India more business friendly, as measured by WB's Ease of Doing Business ranking. India will keep doing well economically, especially after the current global downturn is over.
And you sitting in foreign land has great knowledge of it?

Get off your high saffron horse which doesn't allow you to think rationally for once for India, instead of eulogizing 56" 24x7.

Ease of doing business? Yeah, its so easy to look at those fictitious rankings, sponsored by biggest liars M/s 56" & co... Go read that link SIF/Swashy shared some weeks back. You'll know the true worth of these fake rankings.

As for Congress, take your rants elsewhere. Unlike your ilk, I'm not one party's stooge. The party which is better for India or its states is good enough for me. However, having experience of seeing Indian polity from close corners for 3.5 decades now, I can safely say, your beloved sanghis are absolutely disastrous for our future.

So have mercy on us Indians, shove your 'pearls of wisdom' elsewhere.

Banks are only one sector of the economy. More relevant is the growth of the entire economy.

Low profits by banks need not necessarily mean that the economy is doing badly. It could mean that there is more competition. Market caps of banks are the discounted value of their profits, and larger profits by intermediaries like banks also means that the rest of the economy has a higher cost of capital.
More smokescreen to hide the fact that Indian economy is in dire straits under sanghi nincompoops.

And you sitting in foreign land has great knowledge of it?

Get off your high saffron horse which doesn't allow you to think rationally for once for India, instead of eulogizing 56" 24x7.

Ease of doing business? Yeah, its so easy to look at those fictitious rankings, sponsored by biggest liars M/s 56" & co... Go read that link SIF/Swashy shared some weeks back. You'll know the true worth of these fake rankings.

Yes, I should go by your assessment or some other posters you like instead of <b>World Bank's</b> Ease of Doing Business ranking.

https://www.financialexpress.com/ec...-world-bank-throws-this-into-the-mix/1863109/

As for Congress, take your rants elsewhere. Unlike your ilk, I'm not one party's stooge. The party which is better for India or its states is good enough for me. However, having experience of seeing Indian polity from close corners for 3.5 decades now, I can safely say, your beloved sanghis are absolutely disastrous for our future.

So have mercy on us Indians, shove your 'pearls of wisdom' elsewhere.

You very clearly compared BJP unfavorably to the Congress which was the reason for miserable poverty for Indian masses for decades after India's independence. Instead of addressing this, you make statements which are nonsensical in this context like "The party which is better for India or its states is good enough for me".

No more replies to you unless I see something intelligent.

Miserable poverty? Lol, like Brits had left us with such overflowing coffers which your pet hate Nehru looted to his heart's content!

Go and treat those fake rankings as gospel's truth. I being a person, living in India, interacting directly with prospective businessmen and existing ones how easy it has become to do business in India...

Comparing bloody sanghis with Congress, well they're not worth comparing to even goons like RJD/SP/BSP/AIADMK/SS...

PS: As I said earlier as well let illiterates like us rot in India, shove your superior knowledge, you know where....I'm not dying to have a conversation with an unpaid brainwashed sanghi for whom a dead man for over half a century is cause of all our ills...

I was replying to the specific poster about a specific point... Didn't need to jump in like his cheerleader.

His claim was about banks so obv Ill reply about that lol

Yes, I should go by your assessment or some other posters you like instead of <b>World Bank's</b> Ease of Doing Business ranking.

https://www.financialexpress.com/ec...-world-bank-throws-this-into-the-mix/1863109/

You very clearly compared BJP unfavorably to the Congress which was the reason for miserable poverty for Indian masses for decades after India's independence. Instead of addressing this, you make statements which are nonsensical in this context like "The party which is better for India or its states is good enough for me".

No more replies to you unless I see something intelligent.

Modi's government has manipulated these rankings to get the ranking they want but not the underlying benefit since it was not achieved organically.

Read this: https://www.cgdev.org/article/all-wrong-modi-govt’s-obsession-ease-doing-business-rankings-print

Its embarassing!

And lol at you - of all people - being the judge of what is intelligent and what is not so :))

Modi's government has manipulated these rankings to get the ranking they want but not the underlying benefit since it was not achieved organically.

Read this: https://www.cgdev.org/article/all-wrong-modi-govt’s-obsession-ease-doing-business-rankings-print

Its embarassing!

And lol at you - of all people - being the judge of what is intelligent and what is not so :))

Modi has manipulated the World Bank to get a better ranking? This is so embarassing [sic] for the World Bank.

Continue living in your delusional world.

Modi has manipulated the World Bank to get a better ranking? This is so embarassing [sic] for the World Bank.

Continue living in your delusional world.

aww someone got hurt!

better read the article though. Would genuinely like your thoughts on it.

Actually the following is a much more comprehensive article detailing what happened if any one is interested.

It is just mindboggling and somewhat impressive:

https://www.huffingtonpost.in/entry...weaker-green-laws_in_5c61ab7fe4b0910c63f39ced

Don’t be so weak, if you let your mind be boggled by the sissy Huff Post you won’t get anywhere in life.

“Modi government made seemingly innocuous changes to India’s elaborate laws and regulations in the building construction sector to achieve its aims.“

Kudos to Modi government for doing so. Huff Post would like its readers to be idiots and believe that the more power is given to the noble bureaucrats at the expense of the evil capitalists the better the world would be. That’s the kind of socialist thinking that left majority of Indians in grinding poverty for 4 decades after the British left, while the Asian tigers zoomed ahead to prosperity.

Before you surrender your thinking to HuffPost, you should consider that its founder Arianna got rich by not paying its contributors.

My participation in this thread is well past the point where diminishing returns for me begin, so bye.

Don’t be so weak, if you let your mind be boggled by the sissy Huff Post you won’t get anywhere in life.

“Modi government made seemingly innocuous changes to India’s elaborate laws and regulations in the building construction sector to achieve its aims.“

Kudos to Modi government for doing so. Huff Post would like its readers to be idiots and believe that the more power is given to the noble bureaucrats at the expense of the evil capitalists the better the world would be. That’s the kind of socialist thinking that left majority of Indians in grinding poverty for 4 decades after the British left, while the Asian tigers zoomed ahead to prosperity.

Before you surrender your thinking to HuffPost, you should consider that its founder Arianna got rich by not paying its contributors.

My participation in this thread is well past the point where diminishing returns for me begin, so bye.

Did you use the same metric for this conclusion that you use to decide which post is intelligent and which is not?

China has a dictatorship and have 90% homogeneous population. India have thousands of different cultures and its virtually impossible to replicate what China had done in India.

I didn’t even know Rana Kapoor (just knew the bank) also I get no pleasure seeing people unemployed but money laundering needs to be tackled.

I agree partially on Mallya, I knew people working in the airlines and also how ignorance and robbery (not from Mallya but upper management) lead to bankruptcy.

I wasn't singling you out , just a general observation about our people . I am not saying anyone should get away with scams , but its not the same as exploiting loop holes in the system which every company does be it Reliance , Adani ..or even Tata's .