India team members receive Rs 38.67 lakh each as ICC Champions Trophy prize money

Indian team members earned Rs 38.67 lakh as prize money for finishing as runners up in the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. The Board of Control for Cricket in India released details of payments it has made to the players, those from the coaching staff and state associations. It revealed that coach Ravi Shastri was paid Rs 2.02 crore for a period of three months between October 18 and January 17. Bowling coach Bharat Arun was paid Rs. 26.99 lakh. Former pacer Lakshmipathy Balaji also earned Rs 50 lakh as a one-time benefit.

Apart from all this, the board also revealed the amounts it has paid to state associations. An amount of Rs 19.44 crore was paid to Indian Premier League franchise Royal Challengers as a share of revenue from this season.

India had finished the ICC Champions Trophy as runners up to Pakistan. They had defeated Pakistan in a group stage match earlier by 134 runs and hence came into the final as overwhelming favourites. But Pakistan came out all guns blazing and put up a total of 339 for India to chase. Opener Fakhar Zaman scored a century and his partnerships with Azhar Ali and Babar Azam helped Pakistan to the total. India’s top order was then taken apart by Mohammad Amir and the defending champions never recovered from that. Hardik Pandya provided some resistance but the Indian innings was in a steady state of collapse. They ended up losing all their wickets for just 158 runs.

http://indianexpress.com/article/sp...-as-icc-champions-trophy-prize-money-4928017/

This means that the Pakistani players should have earned more money as they won the tournament. We don't know about the PCB though!

Congratulations to India and all their fans, runners up at the CT is a huge achievement.

Well done Team India, you made the nation proud by finishing second in a multi nation tournament.

some people seem to be having a tough time with the remuneration the Indian cricketers are getting. Yes, Pakistan played well, and deserved to win. But why act sour if the Indian cricketers get a fat bonus.

The money was paid by BCCI, from its own coffers. It was not paid by Government of India. Paying such amounts to its players is no big deal for BCCI.

Well when you receive this much money, the players will not even think about fixing.

Yeah we all know rich men and politicians would never be corrupt.

Congrats to India for losing to us in a CT final, the biggest Indo-Pak game of all-time.

They lost but they gave it their 100% hence deserve the money/praise. Hope they give a similar spirited performance at the WC and win hearts of all the fans.

Biggest Indo-Pak game ever was 2011 semi-final which your folks bottled.CT would come even after 2007 T20 world cup final.

That would be 2011 and then 2007. We know what happened there.

Mickey mouse T20I is not relevant...

2011 was as relevant as 1996 QF both CANNOT be compared to an ICC ODI Event Final

This post clearly shows Indian frustration at the loss

Biggest Indo-Pak game ever was 2011 semi-final which your folks bottled.CT would come even after 2007 T20 world cup final.

2007 mickey mouse ICC T20 is more important than ICC 50 Over event?

You can go back and look at newspapers in your nation back in 2007 to see how important it was.:farhat.

Yes and you can go on youtube and search about pakistan vs india final India media reaction...the looks if Gambhir,Shewag,Chetan Sharma all crying after 2017...this is an important match..

Btw in 2007 nobody cared about it..it was the first WT20 event and everyone thought it would be another Hong Kong Super Sixes..

2011 was as relevant as 1996 QF both CANNOT be compared to an ICC ODI Event Final

Actually he's right. Those two matches were biggest of the lot.

And this statement wouldn't have differed had india lost.

Those two matches were the fights of the titans. The names on the list in both the sides brings a thrill.

Seriously, do you think a match (be it a final) of the current crop (india and Pakistan) could match to calibre of those in 2011 or 1996?

Indian phir ro rahaay hain...LOL, they will try anything to get the memory of a forced intervention by Pak team a la Miandad 6, only this time it was not even a contest!

Indian phaans, it happens, just drink some water, cry a few tears and move on, just be happy for the loser money your players won :-P

You won one significant tournament for the first time this decade, enjoy it while it lasts, this will be it for the decade ;-)
That win changed the entire cricketing landscape forever, your CT win isn't even a blip as compared to the inaugural WT20 triumph. The 1983 win was the only other (bigger) tectonic shift in cricket.

That would be 2011 and then 2007. We know what happened there.

You can go back and look at newspapers in your nation back in 2007 to see how important it was.:farhat.

Those two matches were the fights of the titans. The names on the list in both the sides brings a thrill.

Seriously, do you think a match (be it a final) of the current crop (india and Pakistan) could match to calibre of those in 2011 or 1996?

The 1985 B&H World Cricket Championship Final was much bigger than 2017 CT final (which was a fluke win by a weak team which had lost many prior series by big margins to Eng and Aus) simply because it was a very strong Pakistani team which played with their greatest bowler Imran and greatest batsman Miandad in the team. Unfortunately for them they were at the receiving end of one of the greatest tournament performances ever by a team.

Ok so if I have read this right

1. Indian fans are happy that their players got paid for not winning the CT17
2. Pak fans are jealous that Indian players got paid so much for something we have been doing for a long time now?

Anyone see the irony?

2. Pak fans are jealous that Indian players got paid so much for something we have been doing for a long time now?

Anyone see the irony?

Pretty twisted when you put it that way :)

Anyone see the irony?

Isnt reaching a ICC tournament final a achievement?

Bilal bhai, around this time last year when Pakistan had not won the CT, you had categorically suggested the the CT is not a cherished a tournament what so ever, and no where near the prestige of the WC.

Extrapolating that information, a WC semifinal will be much greater than any CT championship.

So please be consistent in your comments, and do not be hypocrite and changes statements to suit your argument. Your comments can be found below

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...DI-wins-Update-96/page2&p=8886885#post8886885

The 1985 B&H World Cricket Championship Final was much bigger than 2017 CT final (which was a fluke win by a weak team which had lost many prior series by big margins to Eng and Aus) simply because it was a very strong Pakistani team which played with their greatest bowler Imran and greatest batsman Miandad in the team. Unfortunately for them they were at the receiving end of one of the greatest tournament performances ever by a team.

Nope..1985 was a stupid tournament that only happened once i would have agreed with you if it was held every 4 years like Championtrophy was..just because India win doesn't make it bigger than Championtrophy..use your brain

Yes it will...2011 was the weakest pakistani team..
1996 was weakest Indian team...

2017 had the best teams in the last decade

Deserved.

India was the better team on that day and obviously throughout that tournament. Just a few decisions went against them, otherwise they would have flattened Pakistan just like the group match.

As far as the CT final's importance goes, even the WT20 2007 bowl out in group stages was a more decisive and important match than this over-rated rubbish tournament.

If CT is a nothing tournament and final was 'just another final' then why CT final was the third most watched cricket match of all time.

This CT will be remembered for ages especially the final because of the fact that it was between arch rivals India and Pakistan (you dont see rivals contesting in finals often), and secondly because Pakistan had poor record against India in Global tournaments which made things even more spicier.

If CT is a nothing tournament and final was 'just another final' then why CT final was the third most watched cricket match of all time.

This CT will be remembered for ages especially the final because of the fact that it was between arch rivals India and Pakistan (you dont see rivals contesting in finals often), and secondly because Pakistan had poor record against India in Global tournaments which made things even more spicier.

Agree with you. It was our own fan who said this tournament is meaningless but has now backtracked on his comments. Which exposes him as a hypocrite.

The Champions Trophy Final was a huge match, but it was not bigger than the 2011 World Cup SF and the 1996 World Cup QF. In terms of hype, the biggest of them all was the 2003 World Cup game.

No one is disputing that it was not a big deal. In fact, the final is more important after WC knockout matches.

But the problem here is one particular fan who did not rate the CT until Pakistan won it last year, after which he has suddenly started to rate it even more than any WC knockout matches.

Bilal bhai, around this time last year when Pakistan had not won the CT, you had categorically suggested the the CT is not a cherished a tournament what so ever, and no where near the prestige of the WC.

Extrapolating that information, a WC semifinal will be much greater than any CT championship.

So please be consistent in your comments, and do not be hypocrite and changes statements to suit your argument. Your comments can be found below

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...DI-wins-Update-96/page2&p=8886885#post8886885

A final is a final. An Indo-Pak final is unlike anything else so yes, the CT final was the biggest Indo-Pak encounter of all time.

As for my comments in that thread, I would take a World Cup win over the CT win any day of the week.

A final is a final. An Indo-Pak final is unlike anything else so yes, the CT final was the biggest Indo-Pak encounter of all time.

As for my comments in that thread, I would take a World Cup win over the CT win any day of the week.

Thats not what you said at all. You clearly mentioned that CT is not a cherished tournament, thus winning a CT is not that big a deal. It meant that CT is no where near a WC.

Thus that easily equates to winning a match in CT, even if it is a final, is not as huge as winning a WC match.

I am stating the contradiction in your posts.

My stance has always been the same that the CT is a cherished tournament and is second only to WC. Winning a final in CT is definitely greater than winning a group match in WC. But not as huge as winning a knockout match in the WC.