India to host ICC Champions Trophy in 2021 followed by 2023 World Cup

India are all set to host the 2023 ODI World Cup and the 2021 ICC Champions Trophy, the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) confirmed in a Special General Meeting (SGM) held on Monday, December 11. India will be the hosting the World Cup on its own for the first time. The previous three occasions, (1987, 1996 and 2011), India co-hosted the event along with Pakistan and Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. India have the distinction of winning the ODI World Cup twice, first in 1983 which was held in England and then in 2011 which was held in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. India also became the first host nation to win the World Cup in 2011 after Australia repeated the same feat in 2015.

India will host newly-promoted Test side Afghanistan for their first-ever Test match, BCCI announced. The dates of the historic Test will be chalked out later, BCCI acting Secretary Amitabh Choudhary announced after a Special General Meeting.

He said India will also host 81 matches across all the three formats from 2019 to 2023 according to the new Future Tours Programme (FTP).

"Afghans were scheduled to play their first Test in 2019 versus Australia but considering the historic relationship between India and Afghanistan, we decided to host their first Test," Choudhary told reporters.

The next FTP cycle at home will include high-profile series against England, South Africa and Australia.

The BCCI also decided against coming under the jurisdiction of the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) and reiterated that it already follows the regulations laid down by World Anti Doping Agency (WADA).

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/ind...hy-in-2021-followed-by-2023-world-cup-1786505

Seems like India realized they aren't winning much in the near future so better hold some events at home otherwise the trophy cabinet will begin to gather dust.

As opposed to once in a blue moon performances by thy neighbors. Dekhte hai bhai Chaudhvin Ka Chand ab kab niklega :))

It will be the turn of South Africa, followed by Caribbean.

Bullies of highest order. RIP ICC

It will be the turn of South Africa, followed by Caribbean.

Bullies of highest order. RIP ICC

I read somewhere that the South African government have forbidden any global sporting event from being held there, after the corruption scams surrounding the football world cup and the IPL bonus scandal, among others.

As for West Indies - I think they've sunk without a trace at the ICC boardroom level.

Will be good to win our third World Cup in Mumbai. Although that might start a World War so maybe not that good.

We haven't even begun peaking yet.

You could say the same about Starc less Aus, ABDV less SA or many other teams.

Australia have Smith, Warner, Hazlewood and Cummins. South Africa have Amla, de Kock, Rabada and Tahir. India, without Kohli, have the biggest FTB of this generation, a newbie pace bowler, a washed-up great and Dinesh Karthick.

Haven't begun peaking yet? Kohli is 29, Sharma is 30, Dhawan is 32, Jadeja is 29, Ashwin is 31 and Dhoni is 35+. When exactly are these youngster beaus going to begin peaking?

I can't see any of these guys still playing for India by the time 2023 comes around, except perhaps Kohli, but in my opinion he won't play cricket past the age of 33-34.

We haven't even begun peaking yet.

You could say the same about Starc less Aus, ABDV less SA or many other teams.

Peaking by playing and hosting home series and tournaments. Try fighting outside your den.

Will be good to win our third World Cup in Mumbai. Although that might start a World War so maybe not that good.

Australia have Smith, Warner, Hazlewood and Cummins. South Africa have Amla, de Kock, Rabada and Tahir. India, without Kohli, have the biggest FTB of this generation, a newbie pace bowler, a washed-up great and Dinesh Karthick.

Haven't begun peaking yet? Kohli is 29, Sharma is 30, Dhawan is 32, Jadeja is 29, Ashwin is 31 and Dhoni is 35+. When exactly are these youngster beaus going to begin peaking?

I can't see any of these guys still playing for India by the time 2023 comes around, except perhaps Kohli, but in my opinion he won't play cricket past the age of 33-34.
None of them come close to the ATG numbers Starc has atm, in fact Steve Smith is probably the tenth best ODI bat, though Warner is in top 5. Hazlewood is meh at best while Cummins is a potential atg, though still not at the level of Starc.

Only 3 or 4 of them will play the next WC, Chahal & Kuldeep are already better than Ashwin in LO, we need young batters to come good. Not for the first time we'll go in with a relatively inexperienced side, last time we did (in 2003) it took the best ODI team ever to beat us in the finals.
Peaking by playing and hosting home series and tournaments. Try fighting outside your den.
The era of home bullies says hi.

2007 to 2017 will go down as your golden era. Kohli can't handle captaincy
Don't worry strongman Shastri can captain India, even from the bench, in fact his long hard stare will make all our opponents lose their will to fight :P

Great news.

Always wanted to see Pakistan lift a major trophy in front of the Indian public. Let's hope Modi is still there to see Pak lift the trophy in Mumbai.

2021 and 2023 means no more TTF's of the past. No more Kamran, Malik, Hafeez and Wahab.

With a fresh batch of players in the team with some experience behind their names, it could be a very exciting contest. Better than those of the recent past.

Lol it would be great to win of these competition in India.

India have produced some decent pitches in all formats recently, hopefully this is the case for these competions. Don't want to just see roads throughout.

Good :)

2023 will be the year when Pakistan will beat India in a world cup final in India under the captaincy of Sarfraz Ahmed :) Sarfraz will complete his hatrick as 3 time final winner against arch rivals India with u-19, Champions Trophy and World cup all under his belt.

You heard it here first ;)

Great news.

Always wanted to see Pakistan lift a major trophy in front of the Indian public. Let's hope Modi is still there to see Pak lift the trophy in Mumbai.

Not going to happen. RSS will not allow Pakistan in Mumbai. Pakistan have not gone to Mumbai since 25 years ago. In fact many theorists claimed that Pakistani team was pressurised to throw the Mohali semi final in 2011 by the government so that they would not have to go to Mumbai for the final.

Good :)

2023 will be the year when Pakistan will beat India in a world cup final in India under the captaincy of Sarfraz Ahmed :) Sarfraz will complete his hatrick as 3 time final winner against arch rivals India with u-19, Champions Trophy and World cup all under his belt.

You heard it here first ;)

2021 Champions Trophy mai kya hoga ? :ashwin

Hope we stage World cup alone,at least once.

Champions trophy is waste of space except for ICC getting funds.

this year we had a series with OZ..result is 4-1to India :))

Not going to happen. RSS will not allow Pakistan in Mumbai. Pakistan have not gone to Mumbai since 25 years ago. In fact many theorists claimed that Pakistani team was pressurised to throw the

Mohali semi final in 2011 by the government so that they would not have to go to Mumbai for the final.

Wow and you believe this crap?

Why are people crying?

Pakistan always does well in India Vs India, so its a boon for Pakistan to win more cups :tahir2

No need for the Champions Trophy with the new ODI League.

Pakistan should back themselves in Asian conditions. Wouldn't be surprised if 3 out of the 4 semi finalists are Asian like in 2011.

ICC really does stand for Indian cricket board :)) :))

Pakistan should just try to earn all of its money through PSL. Thats what its done this year anyways considering weve played no cricket since the champion's trophy.

ICC really does stand for Indian cricket board :)) :))

Pakistan should just try to earn all of its money through PSL. Thats what its done this year anyways considering weve played no cricket since the champion's trophy.

2013 CT
2017 CT
2019 WC

All in England. Any comments?

2013 CT
2017 CT
2019 WC

All in England. Any comments?

England is easily the most diverse region to host cricket. India and Pakistan hold home advantage here as well. Even Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have large fan bases in England. Tell me any other country that can match the diversity of England and then we will talk

What a lame argument. Diversity doesn't have anything to do with getting the hosting rights. The fact is England, India and Australia got these rights as part of big 3 take over, but I get it why few insecure British Pakistanis would want to ignore that, so that they can have a go at India.

LOL, India have finally realized that they can't win anything outside their home (Well now adays they aren't winning at their home also :)))).

Well, it is always nice to see matches in India, good grounds, huge crowd, excellent tech.

Good luck.

So that means Kohli will officially become a GOAT after 2023 World Cup final.

Atleast Australia and India win at home, England dont even win at their home.

LOL, India have finally realized that they can't win anything outside their home (Well now adays they aren't winning at their home also :)))).

Well, it is always nice to see matches in India, good grounds, huge crowd, excellent tech.

Good luck.

Like all the other teams are setting stages on fire when they are away from home!!!

Most big team stars will get a warm reception at their IPL ground, even if playing against India. Likes of abd, Pollard, fizz will find crowds chanting their name in their respective IPL home grounds. So how is it much different.

What a lame argument. Diversity doesn't have anything to do with getting the hosting rights. The fact is England, India and Australia got these rights as part of big 3 take over, but I get it why few insecure British Pakistanis would want to ignore that, so that they can have a go at India.

No, the fact is that India demands to be the hub of cricket and uses the examples of England and Australia in their defence when questioned. It has got to the point that viewers are being stuffed with India in cricket, its all India this, India that. Kohli is practically paying cricket like a premier league footballer.

I wont be surprised if India is hosting the 2031 wc also. or at least 3 ICC tournaments before that. As I said, Indian cricket council (ICC) is real yo

This is brilliant, a victory on indian soil would be juicy :afridi

Wasn't Sri Lanka the first host nation to the win the World Cup? In the post it says India was the first one to do it in 2011.

No, the fact is that India demands to be the hub of cricket and uses the examples of England and Australia in their defence when questioned. It has got to the point that viewers are being stuffed with India in cricket, its all India this, India that. Kohli is practically paying cricket like a premier league footballer.

I wont be surprised if India is hosting the 2031 wc also. or at least 3 ICC tournaments before that. As I said, Indian cricket council (ICC) is real yo

Again how is having 3 big tournaments held in 1 nation in space of a few years different from the same being held in another.

So that means Kohli will officially become a GOAT after 2023 World Cup final.

He is already.Only player in the history of game to have 52+ Average in all 3 formats of game.He averages 54+ in FC & LOI..only in Domestic T20 averages 40 ;(

Which fiasco? India getting out in first stage?

They played poorly and got knocked out.

from Cricketing point of view nothing to do with India going out,at least we lost against fellow test playing team :)). But from financial point of view world cup in WI will never going to work.

He is already.Only player in the history of game to have 52+ Average in all 3 formats of game.He averages 54+ in FC & LOI..only in Domestic T20 averages 40 ;(

Oficially..

Unofficially, there are many GOAT.

Wasn't Sri Lanka the first host nation to the win the World Cup? In the post it says India was the first one to do it in 2011.

Sri Lanka co-hosted the 96' WC, but won the final in India.

Lol.Diversity means zilch.Its no one's concern from which origin people in a certain country are from. Hosting rights are not given on that basis.

Insecurity and burn has made you blind.

India demands?Lol.Even if there is a bid system like in the old India will still outbid anyone.

India is the hub of cricket both in terms of followers and finance and there is nothing you can do to change it.

You do not like Indian cricket do not watch it.Virat Kohli's pay wont be decided by you, though it may cause you a lot of burn.

India may even host WC 2027, do something about it.Ask your board to get more finances and followers rather than whine here.

Lol.Diversity means zilch.Its no one's concern from which origin people in a certain country are from. Hosting rights are not given on that basis.

Insecurity and burn has made you blind.

Lol ok so diversity means zilch now. lets just host all ICC tournaments in Germany or something :)) :))

Insecurity? thats an Indian thing my friend

Who will win is secondary,i want all matches including practice for World cup played in India only.

If they didn't have the farcical ticketing process for 'world' events in India where tickets go on sale a matter of weeks before the event starts then there'd probably be marginally better foreign support. The way it went down for the latest wt20 basically ruled out nearly any travelling supporters.

Lol ok so diversity means zilch now. lets just host all ICC tournaments in Germany or something :)) :))

what next quota based on Race/religion etc in teams/playing 11 to manage diversity?

Yea if Germany has enough cricket fans and can get enough finances hold icc events there.

The only people insecure here are those crying about IPL and India hosting icc events.

So you have no problem with England hosting three ICC tournaments in six years but you believe viewers are stuffed with India because they will host three ICC tournaments in 12 years? Hard to argue with such logic.

Not going to happen. RSS will not allow Pakistan in Mumbai. Pakistan have not gone to Mumbai since 25 years ago. In fact many theorists claimed that Pakistani team was pressurised to throw the Mohali semi final in 2011 by the government so that they would not have to go to Mumbai for the final.

If RSS is dumb enough to try something as stupid as attacking a cricket match, that will severely damage (if not destroy) the game of cricket as India (or at least Maharashtra) will not be permitted to host matches for years. You think it was bad for Pakistan when terrorists attacked SL? RSS is a political party that's part of the ruling coalition. There's no way to explain that one away.

Yeah but why cant it ever be vice versa? Why cant a victory at Sharjah for India ever be the scenario?

because per India there are dangerous bookies who will entrap their players there.

You are confusing RSS with Shivsena,those goons will not be allowed to do something stupid as that atleast not nowadays.

Yeah but why cant it ever be vice versa? Why cant a victory at Sharjah for India ever be the scenario?

That's true, maye the tournament should be co-hosted between India, Lanka , BD and the UAE ?

Am not bothered, am just happy the next one is in England :akhtar can't wait to attend some games, never been to a WC game before. Do feel sorry for Pak fans, will be a while before they host an ICC tournament

That's true, maye the tournament should be co-hosted between India, Lanka , BD and the UAE ?

Because India will have to play Pakistan at their ground in Sharjah and they cant allow that to happen :)) :))

So you have no problem with England hosting three ICC tournaments in six years but you believe viewers are stuffed with India because they will host three ICC tournaments in 12 years? Hard to argue with such logic.

I definetly have no problem with England hosting 'QUALITY' tournaments. All ICC tournaments held in England have been absolutely epic!

I don't see whats the problem here - ICC events should be hosted where it fills the biggest bucket, which eventually will be shared by every member proportionally. As long as the arrangements are great, weather is good, and pay day gets fatter, I don't mind every ICC event being hosted by India, UK, AUS or even USA.

In global sports if I can recall correctly in last 25 years, France hosted the highest number of events - 1998 WC, 2016 EURO, couple or Rugby WC, couple of winter Olympics, 2024 summer Olympics, athletics meets, several age level tournaments - one main reason is that they have the infrastructure, they have a critical mass of population and their tax policy is suitable for such events (& Michel Platini was a French :)).

Like MLB or NFL, India might survive without cricket, but not sure about cricket's survival without BCCI - besides I don't want it either. Boards like PCB, BCB, SLCB, WICB, NZCB, CSAF can't manage their own domestics properly - if they are are allowed to have their incompetent hand on ICC, they'll make cricket like BPL, PSL, CPL, Global T20 circus.

As I have said earlier ICC is the most incompetent sports body in the world, I have never seen foot ball world cup or other sporting events happening two three times in one country every 5 year or so.

Revenue maximization is not the ultimate aim of any international sports body rather development of sport and expanding its reach is the main aim.