India to host ICC Champions Trophy in 2021 followed by 2023 World Cup

Because India will have to play Pakistan at their ground in Sharjah and they cant allow that to happen :)) :))

We'd probably have to play India in India if in the same group as them but unlikely, otherwise all our group games would be in UAE with India being in a different group. Perhaps a knock out game would force India to play in the UAE though if it came to it.

India demands?Lol.Even if there is a bid system like in the old India will still outbid anyone.

India is the hub of cricket both in terms of followers and finance and there is nothing you can do to change it.

You do not like Indian cricket do not watch it.Virat Kohli's pay wont be decided by you, though it may cause you a lot of burn.

India may even host WC 2027, do something about it.Ask your board to get more finances and followers rather than whine here.

You are flaunting cricketing events being held by India like its the ultimate aim of any nation around the world.
Lol! Dude good for you but its not that big a thing as you are making it out to be.

Hosting an event when out of 10 nations more than 5,6 nations are not being considered to host an event for one reason or another and India getting to host it is not a big achievement by any means. So chill!

I don't really care where tournaments are held. All I want are the conditions to be of optimal standards and the cricket to be competitive.

You are flaunting cricketing events being held by India like its the ultimate aim of any nation around the world.
Lol! Dude good for you but its not that big a thing as you are making it out to be.

Hosting an event when out of 10 nations more than 5,6 nations are not being considered to host an event for one reason or another and India getting to host it is not a big achievement by any means. So chill!

Exactly. This guy is patronising us as if we need Indian cricket for our survival :))

As I have said earlier ICC is the most incompetent sports body in the world, I have never seen foot ball world cup or other sporting events happening two three times in one country every 5 year or so.

Revenue maximization is not the ultimate aim of any international sports body rather development of sport and expanding its reach is the main aim.

Football is more polarized, trust me and FIFA is more corrupt. You are comparing it with watermelon vs mustard seed. Cricket is a niche sports even in most countries which is good in it (it total max 10-12 countries, considering WI as multiple country) and among those, to be honest only 2 country has the capability to host a stand alone WC. Football is BIG, compared to cricket it's insulting even bringing football in same post.

Still, in last 50 years (13 WCs, including 2023), cricket WC had been hosted by every Test playing nation - ENG 5 times (once shared), IND 4 (2 shared), AUS/NZ twice, WI once, SAF/ZIM once, SRL/PAK 2 (Shared, PAK should have 3 - why not, you know better), BD once shared.

Compared to that, at least 25 countries can host Soccer WC, still this is what we have got

France, Brazil, Mexico, Germany, Italy 2 each; Spain, Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, USA, SAF, JPN/SOK, Switzerland, Sweden, England once. Now, they are going to host 2018 in Russia !!!!!!!, 2022 in Qatar !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and 2026 again in USA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Next Asian WC will be hosted by China, next European WC in England, next Latin American WC again in Brazil ..... and now Gianni Infantino is planning to make 48 team WC, they'll go to 96 if required until China is confirmed qualifier!!!!

PAK cricket has many, many other things to be upset than the hosting right of IND - don't waste your energy where it doesn't earn anything. For example, if you carefully study the score cards of last rounds of QEA Super League :(), you should be wondering, why cricket is played on such wickets, let alone WC.

If its not that big a thing why are you whining about India hosting ?

Which nation apart from Pakistan is absolutely not capable of holding a ICC event?

Oh come on. Why is 2023 world cup only in India and not in srilanka and Bangladesh also. If it were up to me I would also let Pakistan host at least 1 match at home in Lahore.

I definetly have no problem with England hosting 'QUALITY' tournaments. All ICC tournaments held in England have been absolutely epic!

You mean like the 2014 champions trophy where most games are rained out and finals turned into a t20 affair?

As I have said earlier ICC is the most incompetent sports body in the world, I have never seen foot ball world cup or other sporting events happening two three times in one country every 5 year or so.

Revenue maximization is not the ultimate aim of any international sports body rather development of sport and expanding its reach is the main aim.

Two champions trophy in row wee held in england. didn't see you complaining about that.

Which one? comments or India getting to host WC?

A bit of both. Comments stating the obvious, and the hosting of ICC tournaments being designated to 3-4 sides, and India has already hosted the WC and T20s tournaments in recent memory.

Spread it, around for goodness sake.

I don't see whats the problem here - ICC events should be hosted where it fills the biggest bucket, which eventually will be shared by every member proportionally. As long as the arrangements are great, weather is good, and pay day gets fatter, I don't mind every ICC event being hosted by India, UK, AUS or even USA.

In global sports if I can recall correctly in last 25 years, France hosted the highest number of events - 1998 WC, 2016 EURO, couple or Rugby WC, couple of winter Olympics, 2024 summer Olympics, athletics meets, several age level tournaments - one main reason is that they have the infrastructure, they have a critical mass of population and their tax policy is suitable for such events (& Michel Platini was a French :)).

Like MLB or NFL, India might survive without cricket, but not sure about cricket's survival without BCCI - besides I don't want it either. Boards like PCB, BCB, SLCB, WICB, NZCB, CSAF can't manage their own domestics properly - if they are are allowed to have their incompetent hand on ICC, they'll make cricket like BPL, PSL, CPL, Global T20 circus.

This is accurate. Also India isnt just banking on cricket and laying all its eggs in one basket. They have moved from just cricket and have for the last couple of years set up football and rugby league franchise setups and investors are now pumping money into those leagues as well.....

If its not that big a thing why are you whining about India hosting ?

Which nation apart from Pakistan is absolutely not capable of holding a ICC event?

SA (Due to their Govt restrictions), ZIM (Political turmoil and financial handicap), Srl (Without a combined sub continent event they only host T20 cups or max Asia cup, financial constraints are also a big part), Bng (Security and stuff), WI (Again situation pretty much like Srl, not enough financial feasibility as witnessed in 2007 world cup).

and if they are capable enough why doesnt ICC give them the WC instead of giving India 2 in last 3.

None of the nations including Pakistan can be said to be absolutely not capable. Its all one reason or another for ICC.

Pakistan hosted tennis Davis cup recently, many other events including international motor cross free style events, international wrestling events, international stars concerts etc. Security situation now is as good as it can be in the current world scenario.

Two champions trophy in row wee held in england. didn't see you complaining about that.

Champions trophy is not equivalent to world cup. I dont remember England or any other nation holding two world cups in last 4.

It's unrealistic to expect Pakistan being named a co-host for an event when they've only managed to host one poor side for a single T20 since 2009.

Maybe things will improve in 2018-19, but no other board would allow Pakistan to co-host the WC at least until a few years of safe tours.

I think leaving out Bangladesh and Sri Lanka is the real problem. They could use the boost and are close enough to be deserving secondary hosts.

meh. you are splitting hairs.

So then you have no preference if your team won the CT instead of the WC?

I think Titan is talking about significance and the attention the WC gets. The money it generates, the viewership it gets.

Nothing in cricket gets that kind of attention. On the other hand, CT is lucky to still be around. It wasn't expected to continue and was to be permanently scrapped.

SA (Due to their Govt restrictions), ZIM (Political turmoil and financial handicap), Srl (Without a combined sub continent event they only host T20 cups or max Asia cup, financial constraints are also a big part), Bng (Security and stuff), WI (Again situation pretty much like Srl, not enough financial feasibility as witnessed in 2007 world cup).

and if they are capable enough why doesnt ICC give them the WC instead of giving India 2 in last 3.

None of the nations including Pakistan can be said to be absolutely not capable. Its all one reason or another for ICC.

Pakistan hosted tennis Davis cup recently, many other events including international motor cross free style events, international wrestling events, international stars concerts etc. Security situation now is as good as it can be in the current world scenario.

The ban on CSA has been lifted. SOURCE

ZIM: They have just had a change of govt.The reason they cant host is because of political boycott by England and Australia.

SRL:They have hosted T20 WCs and CT alone.

BD:What security stuff?They recently hosted AUS and ENG.

WI:They are not a country actually and ICC faced too many hassles with logistics in 2007 and 2009 but they are not absolutely handicapped from holding an event.

If you see all the countries you mentioned have hosted a ICC event in last 10 years or so.Except Pakistan.

Pakistan is absolutely incapable at this point because various teams have not visited Pakistan for last 8-9 years.

England hosted 3 WCs continously.
Yeah like 30 years ago when England really was the main hub of cricket. Times have changed now. There are 6-7 nations that can provide plenty of good stadiums for a World Cup to be solely held in their country.

Clearly BCCI is doing its best to build up its trophy cabinet during its golden era.

I don;t see aus making noise. You guys have heart burn becos you can't stand India having this level of influence and there nothing PCB can do about it..

Nahi yaar

Actually i’m excited for Pakistan to beat India in the final of the 2023 world cup, with Hasan Ali being man of the match and Sarfraz completing the triple over India.

Nahi yaar

Actually i’m excited for Pakistan to beat India in the final of the 2023 world cup, with Hasan Ali being man of the match and Sarfraz completing the triple over India.

yessshhhh!!

Beating India in India will make it even more sweater.. :p

Good decision by the icc, although I think there were better options for Champions trophy avenues. If I remember correctly, Australia never hosted a Champions trophy event and therefore it would be really nice of icc to give the hosting rights of CT to Australia.
Secondly, it was wrong of ICC to give England the rights of 3 icc events on a row, namely 2CTs and 1WC.

You are confusing RSS with Shivsena,those goons will not be allowed to do something stupid as that atleast not nowadays.

Sorry my mistake I meant Shiv Sena.

Last time they said they would not let Pakistan team set foot in Mumbai

I read somewhere that the South African government have forbidden any global sporting event from being held there, after the corruption scams surrounding the football world cup and the IPL bonus scandal, among others.

As for West Indies - I think they've sunk without a trace at the ICC boardroom level.

World Cup in WI was a farce cricketing wise and money wise as well. Maybe because India and Pak exited early but it was one of the worst World Cup event.

Fakhar toh bahut jaldi fukra hone wala hai
Amir sohail ne bata diya hai
Azhar ali is a joke in ODI cricket
Khaayli pulaaw khao meethay wale

Lol

Amir Sohail ne ye bhi bataya hai ke Asad Shafiq aur Salman Butt hamaray sab se achay batsmen hai.

75' England
79' England
83' England
87' India-Pakistan
92' Aus-NZ
96' India-SL-Pak (gap of 9 years)
99' England
03' Africa (first since readmission)
07' WI
11' India-SL (gap of 15 years)
15' Australia-NZ (gap of 23 years)
19' England (gap of 20 years)
23' India (gap of 12 years)

So what do the 'BCCI is a bully' folks have to say about the frequency that India-SL-Pak had before BCCI really became the giant it is now?

Truth is Pak and SL lose out because of their own fault. Pak can't guarantee safe cricket, Sri Lanka make huge losses. So unfortunate world cup in Asia means India will host it, ALONE.

It is an unfortunate reality that cricket is running by profits of 3-4 nations and it has to be catered to those. If the rest feel left out, they have to make it marketable in their regions. Comparing it to FIFA which is played by 100+ countries is stupid.

Good decision by the icc, although I think there were better options for Champions trophy avenues. If I remember correctly, Australia never hosted a Champions trophy event and therefore it would be really nice of icc to give the hosting rights of CT to Australia.
Secondly, it was wrong of ICC to give England the rights of 3 icc events on a row, namely 2CTs and 1WC.

Cricket's two biggest markets. Asia and England. Will fans watch a match starting 8 AM in the morning(Asia) or 1 AM in the night in London? lol some people need to know the logistics before making random suggestions.

The people at ICC aren't fools, they have to make these decisions based on realities.

Cricket's two biggest markets. Asia and England. Will fans watch a match starting 8 AM in the morning(Asia) or 1 AM in the night in London? lol some people need to know the logistics before making random suggestions.

The people at ICC aren't fools, they have to make these decisions based on realities.

People of sub-continent are passionate enough to watch their teams play anywhere in the world. Isn’t it why India tour Australia so frequently. Because it’s profitable. Coming back to the argument of England, people are still watching The Ashes so I’m sure they can tune in for a global event too.

Actually it explains that how easily you can take the ready made cake and credit.

And talking about experiment, yes you don't do experiments of 4 days like other countries but on the other hand you do experiments of playing Pink ball in your domestic circuit.

And yeah you will play more and more matches at home and we know the reason :))
What :10:
4e6da28748b4f3026cfa840d38b168c1d8afa03b72fb10606238c2ac2591a147.jpg

People of sub-continent are passionate enough to watch their teams play anywhere in the world. Isn’t it why India tour Australia so frequently. Because it’s profitable. Coming back to the argument of England, people are still watching The Ashes so I’m sure they can tune in for a global event too.

For Australia. It's because even if a tiny fraction wake up at 5 am in the morning to watch it still is more than the number that tune in for other nations.

So for a broadcaster more eyeballs = more sponsorship. And for ICC it means favourable venue for broadcaster = more money in rights bidding.

Excellent points made BCCI CEO, unless govt agrees BCCI cannot play Pakistan.BCCI is not liable to anybody as getting permission is not in its hands.

The arm twisting tactics used by others will not work.PCB should be talking to its govt to see if they can start a dialogue with Indian govt on how to resolve political issues.Once dialogue starts peace can follow.

Ball is in PCB's court to talk to their govt.

For Australia. It's because even if a tiny fraction wake up at 5 am in the morning to watch it still is more than the number that tune in for other nations.

So for a broadcaster more eyeballs = more sponsorship. And for ICC it means favourable venue for broadcaster = more money in rights bidding.

International cricket works with the concept of quid-pro-quo. You have to give the rights to host an event to every country on a rotation policy. If there are eye balls in an event held in India then, according to your logic, there is no need for any other country to host any reputable icc event. This makes the allocation of icc events to any other country irrelevant, to say the least. But if there is a system where you have to choose the host nations on a rotation policy then Australia deserves the chance to host CT.

You know right hosting rights are allocated o countries that have contested. Now, do you have any sources on to why any country beside India wasnt considered for hosting rights?
PPers are just basically having a go at India for contesting and winning hosting rights. South Africa didnt contested as their Govt have barred them from hosting any ICC event. Sri Lanka made a huge mess with funds in 2011 WC which resulted in never ending India-SL series to bail them out. Bangladesh can host T20 and perhaps CT, however unlikely to host WC on their own. We dont even know if BD contested to host CT. Now that leaves Aus-NZ and Windies. Aus-Nz just recently hosted a WC and Windies are financially weak ATM to host ICC event.

Pakistan is capable of hosting CT and WT20 events on neutral venue (UAE) but for WC I doubt ICC would hold WC in UAE.

Now tell me how is this unfair that BCCI is hosting it? Someone has to and it happens to be India. Lets face it you guys had no problem with England being a host for 3 ICC events on the trot, but as soon as it comes to India, ICC is sellout or what not.

You know right hosting rights are allocated o countries that have contested. Now, do you have any sources on to why any country beside India wasnt considered for hosting rights?
PPers are just basically having a go at India for contesting and winning hosting rights. South Africa didnt contested as their Govt have barred them from hosting any ICC event. Sri Lanka made a huge mess with funds in 2011 WC which resulted in never ending India-SL series to bail them out. Bangladesh can host T20 and perhaps CT, however unlikely to host WC on their own. We dont even know if BD contested to host CT. Now that leaves Aus-NZ and Windies. Aus-Nz just recently hosted a WC and Windies are financially weak ATM to host ICC event.

Pakistan is capable of hosting CT and WT20 events on neutral venue (UAE) but for WC I doubt ICC would hold WC in UAE.

Now tell me how is this unfair that BCCI is hosting it? Someone has to and it happens to be India. Lets face it you guys had no problem with England being a host for 3 ICC events on the trot, but as soon as it comes to India, ICC is sellout or what not.

I’m not saying it’s unfair. The point that I’m trying to make is that if there is any rotation policy, in giving the hosting rights to the cricketing nations by the icc, I cannot see it. I have no problem with India hosting the icc events. India can host all the icc events for all I care, but is it a good policy in the long run? I don’t think so. Icc can make all the money it wants to make by solely focusing on India but remember one thing, icc is just one step away from facing financial crisis, if the economy of one country becomes unstable.
Coming to the main point that you made about the lack of bidding by the other boards, I can say that BCCI of all boards wanted to scrap CT, if my memory serves me right. So it doesn’t make sense for them to acquire the hosting rights for an event that they thought wasn’t sellable in the first place.

I’m not saying it’s unfair. The point that I’m trying to make is that if there is any rotation policy, in giving the hosting rights to the cricketing nations by the icc, I cannot see it. I have no problem with India hosting the icc events. India can host all the icc events for all I care, but is it a good policy in the long run? I don’t think so. Icc can make all the money it wants to make by solely focusing on India but remember one thing, icc is just one step away from facing financial crisis, if the economy of one country becomes unstable.
Coming to the main point that you made about the lack of bidding by the other boards, I can say that BCCI of all boards wanted to scrap CT, if my memory serves me right. So it doesn’t make sense for them to acquire the hosting rights for an event that they thought wasn’t sellable in the first place.

Again you're missing the point. The only reason why BCCI holding it because no one else contested. Now if you wanna blame anyone then blame ICC for not making it financially rewarding for members hosting such events.
Another point you're making is rotation policy. Well ICC can only do as much members arent willing to host. ICC cant force members to host an event.

Id accept its unfair if other nations were wanting to host but BCCI bullied them to backout. As of now we havent heard any such cases, so its fair to say that not many countries are keen on hosting ICC events.

Dont think BCCI wanted to scrap CT, it was ICC who were gonna scrap CT after 2013 and replace it with Test Championship. However, after blockbuster success of 2013 CT broadcasters urged ICC to continue with CT as they weren't keen on broadcasting Test Championship.
9/10 times CT will always be more sellout than boring Test Championship in India. I do not see in near future CT to fail in India. Test Champipnship on other hand have epic failure written all over it.

Dont think BCCI wanted to scrap CT, it was ICC who were gonna scrap CT after 2013 and replace it with Test Championship. However, after blockbuster success of 2013 CT broadcasters urged ICC to continue with CT as they weren't keen on broadcasting Test Championship.
9/10 times CT will always be more sellout than boring Test Championship in India. I do not see in near future CT to fail in India. Test Champipnship on other hand have epic failure written all over it.

Understandable points.

Well personally it's good news for me.Now I can watch pakistan's match live in stadium like i watched one in world t20 2016.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), in the recent International Cricket Council (ICC) quarterly meeting, was told by the world governing body to get tax exemptions for conducting future global events like the 2021 T20 World Cup and 2023 ODI World Cup. If BCCI fails to get the exemption, it will have to bear the tax liability for hosting the showpiece events. But the move has not gone down well with certain sections in the Indian board. Speaking to IANS, a senior BCCI official said that the ICC was free to move the tournaments out of India if it felt that was the way forward as matters related to tax needed the government's approval and external pressure would not help.

"We will abide by what the Tax Department and the Ministry decides on this. We would love for the World Cup to take place here, but if the ICC wants to play hard ball, they must be ready for everything.

"If they want to take the ICC tournament out of India, it's fine. Let BCCI then take the revenue out of the ICC and see who loses more.

"Those in-charge of administration are trying to take policy decisions without jurisdiction to do so. The ICC will find it difficult to hold the BCCI to those decisions since a lot of these decisions do not have the approval of the board," the official said.

Another BCCI official added that while the ICC claims to have an inclusive approach, it looks at every possible opportunity to hurt India's interest.

"It was found earlier that the ICC had a different contract with different member boards. For example, Cricket Australia was only required to make best endeavours to get tax exemption while the BCCI was required to ensure tax exemption.

"See, this is a result of a situation where the present BCCI is found wanting. The CoA bigwig wants to show that he is in control of things and whenever that happens, the democratic functioning of an organisation is the first casualty.

"There is no way that the BCCI should agree to this. The ICC cannot on the one hand say that they aim to have an inclusive approach and on the other hand look at every possible opportunity to hurt India's interest," the official signed off.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/tax...odi-world-cups-out-of-india-says-bcci-2002809

"It was found earlier that the ICC had a different contract with different member boards. For example, Cricket Australia was only required to make best endeavours to get tax exemption while the BCCI was required to ensure tax exemption."

So the BCCI have signed a contract stating they will ensure they get tax exemption for the tournament?

"It was found earlier that the ICC had a different contract with different member boards. For example, Cricket Australia was only required to make best endeavours to get tax exemption while the BCCI was required to ensure tax exemption."

So the BCCI have signed a contract stating they will ensure they get tax exemption for the tournament?

If they have signed a contract then it will have a force majeure clause. They can make an honest try to get tax exemption and provide details to ICC. If Indian government doesn't budge then it is too bad. No court can force BCCI to bear the consequences. Worst case they will take away ICC tournaments from India which I personally think will be for betterment of sport in India. I would be livid if any government provides tax exemption to a well established sport like cricket in the country. Cricket (including IPL) doesn't need tax exemption to grow in India.

I know force-majeure becamse the buzz phrase with the recent MOU case, but it covers events that can not be forseen. Signing a contract that explicity includes a clause that is clearly dependant on someone else (in this case the government) means the possibility of not being able to meet that clause could have been forseen ruling out anything to do with force-majeure.

events that cannot be foreseen and events that are not controlled by the contracting parties, for eg govt policies. Any corp to corp contract has those clause.. you can pick any from your job verify yourself.

Getting a feeling these two will be epic events.

India rarely disappoints when it comes to hosting global cricket events

It’s important to do well in England and possibly win it.

Post that India is capable of assembling very strong squads for these two home events.

Pant, Gill, Shaw are all going to fit somewhere.

CT 06 was a big disappointment tbh. Was a pretty long and tasteless tournament. Long qualifiers, low scoring pitches and boring semis and final.

confirms that ICC is cam mean to drain resources from India. Hope it leads to complete breakdown. Would be fun to see just like the MOU result.

India should win both 2019 and 2023 WC and take the count to total 4 WC trophies.

I really don't think 2023 WC should be held in just India. The 2011 World Cup was cool, with matches taking place in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh . If matches could take place in Pakistan too, and maybe even 1-2 in UAE that would be superb.

So there’s a World T20 in 2020 and 2021? And 2021 in India? We had one in 2016 in India. Although I wouldn’t mind, India is another that will be like home away from home for BD and am sure big amounts of BD fans be going there and plus there. But I’d like to he held in South Africa they haven’t stages anything since 2007. I love SA venues.

I really don't think 2023 WC should be held in just India. The 2011 World Cup was cool, with matches taking place in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh . If matches could take place in Pakistan too, and maybe even 1-2 in UAE that would be superb.

India have the stadiums to do it alone. I think it is the right time they go solo. Am sure 2023 will be a great WC.

The Asian Bloc ditched BCCI when it needed them. It’s time now to go solo and host a World Cup alone.

Australia, India and England are only the three real candidates to hold these competitions. As India is the biggest contributor to ICC's purse they'll naturally get most of the hosting rights. The inept PCB only has itself to blame.

its myth tbh
the crowds for non India matches except the knockouts is pretty poor (unlike england who have brilliant crowd for ll matches for obvious reasons)
only side that attracts a bit of crowd is Pakistan and even that is not a sell out
remember Eng vs SA, Pak vs Nz/Aus Bang vs Nz
all being played in front of poor crowds
SA should have been given this event

I can't see pak participating in the 2021 world t20 if its held exclusively in india.
If pak do go and make it to the final and the final is in mumbai, there will be riots! If bcci move the final to a different city, pak should refuse to play!
Oh, i love the drama!

its myth tbh
the crowds for non India matches except the knockouts is pretty poor (unlike england who have brilliant crowd for ll matches for obvious reasons)
only side that attracts a bit of crowd is Pakistan and even that is not a sell out
remember Eng vs SA, Pak vs Nz/Aus Bang vs Nz
all being played in front of poor crowds
SA should have been given this event

What? WC 2011 had packed crowds for each games with public cheering non indian teams big time. The atmosphere in all games was like nothing else

I have a feeling 2023 might be the greatest World Cup ever.

Good :)

2023 will be the year when Pakistan will beat India in a world cup final in India under the captaincy of Sarfraz Ahmed :) Sarfraz will complete his hatrick as 3 time final winner against arch rivals India with u-19, Champions Trophy and World cup all under his belt.

You heard it here first ;)

How I wish it could come true. As of now Sarfaraz might be playing his last series. :(

Why dont Pakistan SL BD bid againist India to hold the WC?

Why should India be sharing its hosting rights?

BCCI was magnanimous when it shared the WC rights with its neighbours, despite the fact that almost all the funding for the bids in 1987 and 1996 were arranged by Indian sponsors like Reliance and ITC(,Owner of Wills).

Again in 2011 BCCI arranged the funding to outbid Australia and get the WC to Asia. But in 2009 it learnt a hard lesson. When teams refused to tour to Pakistan,PCB tried to get the world cup shifted out of Asia. With other hosts not agreeing to that, PCB went to court and ultimately took $11mn to let go off the matter.

BCCI hence doesnot want any such headaches. Its very capable of funding and hosting the world cups. Other countries should do the same.