India Under-19s: Genuine fast bowlers coming through

in_cutter

Looks like a lot of hard work has been put in at the academies. Nagorkati & Malvi are clocking in at speeds of 145kph. Porel clocking in at 140’s...and they will only get quicker.

If these guys remain fit then Indian fast bowling is in safe hands.

Have heard that for so many years only to turn out becoming maha trundlers...

On a serious note Indian fast bowling nowadays is decent.

Both these pacers are really impressive.

We are King of trundlers now with likes Ruman Raees,Sohail Khan, Aamir Yamin and Faheem Ashraf bowling gentle 130s :))

They have worked hard to improve their bowling stock, bowled so well in South Africa, whereas our bowlers were outclassed by Sri Lankan fast bowlers in the test series. A very interesting case study of both countries.

The reason being off late Teams have realized the importance of fast bowling beside with the emergence of Ipl kids get to spend chances with foreign players especially quality fast bowlers and high profile coaches so they take inspiration from them and these guy's help them sort their issues look at bhuvi for example he was carted in 2015,he realized the importance of pace worked on that, earlier he use to bowl 128-135 kph now a days he bowls 135-143 clicks clocking 146 even

We are King of trundlers now with likes Ruman Raees,Sohail Khan, Aamir Yamin and Faheem Ashraf bowling gentle 130s :))

They have worked hard to improve their bowling stock, bowled so well in South Africa, whereas our bowlers were outclassed by Sri Lankan fast bowlers in the test series. A very interesting case study of both countries.

They have worked hard on their system which develops these players at very young age..on other hand we have still same crooks holding 7 days tournament on flat uneven roads.

They eventually have become better than us in the bowling department. They have a system in place, invested a lot of money in the grass root level.

I did watch Nation T20 cup, I was so disappointed by what I saw, a whole pack of trundlers. Our pitches are the worst in the world I believe, we will keep on producing trundlers like Ruman Raees, Fahim Ashraf, and Anwar Ali.

Not reallly..we have Arshad,Musa,Afridi all bowl 140 plus

Learn to appreciate others without insulting your ownself

Not reallly..we have Arshad,Musa,Afridi all bowl 140 plus

Learn to appreciate others without insulting your ownself

Dude I am talking currently in the domestic circuit. We have likes of Ruman Raees, Aamir Yamin and Fahim Ashraf in the squad. We were outclassed by Sri Lankan bowlers in the test matches, if you didn't see that then it's not my fault

Tbh, a lot of credit needs to be given to Shoaib Akhtar. He has had a lot of effect on Indian fans. Most of these kids grew up watching him and wanted to be as fast as him.
Btw, we have quite a few in the circuit who are pretty sharp in terms of pace.

Dude I am talking currently in the domestic circuit. We have likes of Ruman Raees, Aamir Yamin and Fahim Ashraf in the squad. We were outclassed by Sri Lankan bowlers in the test matches, if you didn't see that then it's not my fault

90% Indian domestic bowlers are similar.

Plus the ones you mentioned two are ALL-ROUNDERS and only one is a pacer.
What about the odis against Sri Lanka?
Why take out stats that suits your opinion?

90% Indian domestic bowlers are similar.

Plus the ones you mentioned two are ALL-ROUNDERS and only one is a pacer.
What about the odis against Sri Lanka?
Why take out stats that suits your opinion?

Test matches is what it counts and we lost 2-0. if Sri Lanka fast bowlers were better than ours, then it's a problem. Our team also struggled in Australia, brutally exposed.

Good speeds by the Indian U19 boys and apart from these there are some others in the Indian domestic cricket too, soon India will have a good bench-strength in the fast bowling department, they will have to learn bowling skills but the pace will not be a problem. So, hopefully at-least one or two will develop into bowlers with both pace and skills, this is the plus point of having decent number of 140K+ bowlers.

Wasn't there another one in the last U19 world cup who all the Indians were salivating over? Avesh Khan or something? Where is he now? You always have to be cautious with Indian pacers.

Avesh Khan and Sarfaraz Khaleel. Both are doing good and Avesh is in South Africa as a reserve with the Indian team.

Impressed with both Nagarkoti and Mavi.

Pretty sharp for 18year olds. Hope they don’t slowdown when they enter into their 20’s.

Looks like we can't taunt our Indian brothers anymore, they will eventually have on par bowling and maybe even better as they have more academies and proper coaching in grassroots level compared to us, batting is already a religion in India.

No offence, but do you really believe your current bowling attack is quicker and better than the current Indian bowling attack?

Test matches is what it counts and we lost 2-0. if Sri Lanka fast bowlers were better than ours, then it's a problem. Our team also struggled in Australia, brutally exposed.

I think it was just poor batting from us pitch was dead for pace bowling and our batsmen struggled for no justifiable but more so against herath as usual.

So if you want to compare pacebowling, compare the two sides bowling against good batting sides.

CT 17 was one of the best display of pace bowling, I dont remeber any oth other recent tournument where pace bowling was the main reason team winning it.

No offence, but do you really believe your current bowling attack is quicker and better than the current Indian bowling attack?

I guess three out of top 5 wicket takers in CT 17 were from Pakistan.

Pace is a good weapon to have but that doesnt necessarily make you a great bowler. There are many other traits required to become a good international pace bowler.

Umesh Yadav and Varun Aron, I dont remember them as world beaters while Glenn Mcgrath.

You are changing subject. While Pakistani bowlers of the past were great, the current batch is poor. Your performance in NZ should give you the picture, too bad if you want to be in a make believe world.

I think it was just poor batting from us pitch was dead for pace bowling and our batsmen struggled for no justifiable but more so against herath as usual.

So if you want to compare pacebowling, compare the two sides bowling against good batting sides.

CT 17 was one of the best display of pace bowling, I dont remeber any oth other recent tournument where pace bowling was the main reason team winning it.

Keep believing our test bowling unit is good lol. it's extremely rubbish imo with no strike bowler in the team.

Test team is my main concern, ODIs we are alright but not the best in the world.

Our cricket is going nowhere. We cant even taunt the paresis on having the better bowling. :smith

Keep believing our test bowling unit is good lol. it's extremely rubbish imo with no strike bowler in the team.

Test team is my main concern, ODIs we are alright but not the best in the world.

I never said that our test bowling attack is great.

I am just saying that Srl pace bowlers look more effective only because our batsmen were struggling big time but main weapon of Sri was Herath not their fast bowlers.

By the way Hassan and Abbas a are yet to play 10 matches test matches combined. So obviously its too early to take calls.

Quite impressive pace, need to work on line and length tho. Lol at the Aussie batsmen, they are absolutely clueless and look sub standard.

Indian cricket has left Pakistan cricket in its dust in all three facets. It was only a matter of time before they surpassed in the bowling department as well.

These 18 year old boys are clocking impressive speeds, Nagarkoti clocked 149K and Mavi clocked 145k in today's match. Some footage for you Mamoon, any comments and analysis from you : https://streamable.com/x3ajj

Actions look engineered and robotic. Quite like the Aussie bowlers. You can tell a lot of coaching is behind their development.

Impressive pace for this age.

Also for the paindus that keep talking about big muskules, look at their physiques. Hardly any muscle on them. It's what inside the body that generates pace - fast twitch muscle fibre.

Impressive stuff and this was about time really. Let’s see how they develop.

Actions look engineered and robotic. Quite like the Aussie bowlers. You can tell a lot of coaching is behind their development.

Also for the paindus that keep talking about big muskules, look at their physiques. Hardly any muscle on them. It's what inside the body that generates pace - fast twitch muscle fibre.

Avg pace of 144.5 and top speed of 149 is impressive for any age.

Do you think they can last?

Looks like a lot of hard work has been put in at the academies. Nagorkati & Malvi are clocking in at speeds of 145kph. Porel clocking in at 140’s...and they will only get quicker.

If these guys remain fit then Indian fast bowling is in safe hands.

They'll get speeding tickets the moment they start playing Ranjis :P

Nagarkoti reminds me of Ajit Agarkar who was pretty quick. Hope he is less wayward and has a better career especially in Tests.

Nagarkotti has good control and even his action is very straight. he shouldnt be wayward.

The Aarons have already clocked 152+ for India consistently. It is the accuracy of Nagarkoti that impressed all.

I think you are right, the actions seem engineered and product of coaching. Good signs for India

Their actions shouldn't be a problem except for Mavi's head jerking a bit. Their durability will be up to their physiques. No one has the answer to that. Mavi has a bit more mass and looks athletic.

https://streamable.com/cvmby

Another Indian 140k plus bowler. Slightly open chested action like WI bowlers.
[MENTION=143290]Reddy[/MENTION]
[MENTION=134300]Tusker[/MENTION]
[MENTION=130419]shah_1[/MENTION]
[MENTION=217]in_cutter[/MENTION]

About time a country of 1bn+ started producing some genuinely quick bowlers.

Yeah, have seen KM Asif videos too, looks very good. The Indian domestics has 8 to 10 bowlers now who can bowl around 140 kph and then you have the senior Indian team with 5 to 6 bowlers who can do the same. The long term aim should be that every Ranji team should have one 140kph bowler within a decade.

Nagarkoti looks like a future,nice action follow through and rhythm.The more you groom him better will be he

Mavi doesn't looks that impressive for me,obviously the pace was their but the lad was just spraying balls here and their

"Yeah it was a bit of a surprise," he said. "We thought spin definitely would be their strength. We were probably aware they had good quicks, but thought they'd use spin through the middle. They were pretty sharp, I didn't realise it was 145[kph] until one of the boys told me. I guess they bowled not only quick but also accurate, they were pretty tough to get away. We just had to use the pace as much as we could. We didn't play them terribly, definitely could have played them better. It's a good experience facing someone that quick."
- This is what Australian batsman has to about them. So heartening to read this as an Indian.

Yeah right! Munaf Patel and Irfan Pathan amongst others were also touted as being future speedsters. It is easy to bowl so fast like these lads are when you are so young and just starting out. Raw passion helps at that age as well with dreams in your eyes. They will become the normal Indian medium pacers if they ever reached the highest level. Producing fast bowlers is not in the genetics of Indian people.

Genetics ,lol.
You know why we are suddenly producing so many pacers?2 things.
Demand and infrastructure.
Ranji pitches are no longer spin friendly only after bcci directive in 2011 following losses in eng and australia,every domestic side wants a fast opening pair if it wants to compete.Otherwise domestic teams that do have fast bowlers abuse the advantage by creating fast home pitches .This tactic is being used regularly by bengal(when dinda and shami present),by punjab and by karantaka too often.Don't know about others.Fast bowlers these days get much better pitches in ranji and develop better.

IPL - every IPL team is scouting for domestic talent they can get cheap,especially fast bowlers.Thats how Bumrah and (also spinners like Kuldeep yadav,jadeja) emerged.

[MENTION=146114]austerlitz[/MENTION]

Speak when you have produced some at the highest level. Ranji trophy is not international Cricket.

Perfect time to throw a couple of million on them in the IPL auctions and turn them into circus cricket bowlers in a year or two. That's exactly what happened to Ishant Sharma who came in bowling 150+ at 18 years old troubling Ricky Ponting, immediately was picked up for an obscene amount of money in IPL 1, success got to the guy's head and his downfall was as fast as his rise.. and the Indian team has had to carry the dead weight of his unfulfilled potential for almost 80 Test matches now. There is just no fast bowling culture in India.

Right to earn your living is a fundamental right in India.

And ofcourse for some people fast bowling culture only exists in Pakistan.

Right to earn your living is a fundamental right in India.

And ofcourse for some people fast bowling culture only exists in Pakistan.

I'm not blaming the player, I'm blaming the system which sucks the ambition out of the player and/or channels it in the wrong direction right from their formative years in cricket. When budding cricketers see someone like Ishant Sharma getting close to 1 million for bowling 2 good spells at 18 years old, that sends a terrible signal as to what standards you should strive to achieve in cricket, and don't even argue about fast bowling culture lol.. Ishant Sharma is now the 4th most prolific fast bowler in the country's history. That's how dire the situation has been on that front in Indian cricket.

This Asif kid looks like a slower Varun Aaron, bowling in the mid 140s and very young, what is he 21 ? he can work up some serious pace it seems..

well there's a rule now. for uncapped there's a limit for maximum pay.

Nagarkoti and Mavi are'nt even the first choice,nagarkoti opened the bowling because this guy Ishan porel was injured.He's 145 kph too.He did play warm up match to wc u19 and will play in subsequent matches.

That action reminds me of Mohammed Zahid.

Porel is a Bengali who can bowl fast like that :akhtar

I hope they are fast tracked to the India A side. Shouldn't be wasted on those dust bowl domestic pitches for too long.

P.S: Dravid is doing a good at U19 level. He really sees the bigger picture. Wish I could say the same about Shastri!

really impressed by improvement in Indian fast bowlers , even seniors have bowled well in SA. They are putting lot of heart and effort. Credit should be given where its due.

Mavi looks like the real deal. Good pace. Excellent bounce and carry and seems like he can move the ball pretty late. Hope he breaks into international cricket sooner than later.

Nagarkoti is quicker but looks like a bit more of a spray gun. India already have two of those in Aaron and Yadav. And as others have mentioned, pace isn't everything.

Porel I haven't seen enough of. Seems quick too though.

That being said, the world can never have too many genuine fast bowlers.

When you compare these upcoming Indian pacers to what we have in Pakistan you quickly realize how this is a classic case of resting on our laurels. While we took production of fast blowers for granted, expecting them to be noticed in some obscure match or street somewhere, the Indians went to work systematically. The MRF pace academy is now the premier fast bowling academy in the world, their academies at different levels are also very organized and professional. Finally they have also started to slowly change there wickets. There is still time for Pakistan but not much before they are left behind in the dust forever, never to close the talent gap between ourselves and the top playing nations.

I hope they are fast tracked to the India A side. Shouldn't be wasted on those dust bowl domestic pitches for too long.

P.S: Dravid is doing a good at U19 level. He really sees the bigger picture. Wish I could say the same about Shastri!

Shastri sees the biggest picture. Tell me which is bigger, 10 million dollars or getting some 11 players who are world beaters?

When you compare these upcoming Indian pacers to what we have in Pakistan you quickly realize how this is a classic case of resting on our laurels. While we took production of fast blowers for granted, expecting them to be noticed in some obscure match or street somewhere, the Indians went to work systematically. The MRF pace academy is now the premier fast bowling academy in the world, their academies at different levels are also very organized and professional. Finally they have also started to slowly change there wickets. There is still time for Pakistan but not much before they are left behind in the dust forever, never to close the talent gap between ourselves and the top playing nations.

I also think that Pakistan needs to be proactive with their present team as well. We can see that Amir is not someone who you can depend upon. And it seems the fans and the selectors have decided that Amir is the future of fast bowling. Get better players, who may not be talented but have the hunger to perform. Kick players out who dont have the pride to play for the nation.

Nagarkoti, Mavi and Porel can form a fearsome pace trio for India in the future. They not only bowl fast, but can swing it at pace.

They are swinging the ball at over 90mph. In fact they are faster than all Indian pacers bowling in the series against SA and they are only 18.

Watching them bowl is making me think of they are really Indians. So athletic and so fast.

Nagarkoti, Mavi and Porel can form a fearsome pace trio for India in the future. They not only bowl fast, but can swing it at pace.

They are swinging the ball at over 90mph. In fact they are faster than all Indian pacers bowling in the series against SA and they are only 18.

Watching them bowl is making me think of they are really Indians. So athletic and so fast.
Desis don't understand just how athletic they are. It's because of the culture. The parents have the kids immersed in studies from a young age with little to no interest in sports. India's starting to develop a sports culture now, you will see more and more of this potential.

Bhai itna accha bhi nahi hai.

Haha thank you for kind words Sir but we are far far away from developing a sporting culture.. Will take few decades more.