India v Pakistan: Love the excitement and buzz!

Rana

Hall of Famer
This is what I love this game of cricket for. To look forward to these encounters! Media hype, fan tension. Selection dilemmas! Banter, bragging rights!

But I guess Indian fans feel that buzz and excitement before a game against Australia as they are India’s no.1 rival…

This is what I love this game of cricket for. To look forward to these encounters! Media hype, fan tension. Selection dilemmas! Banter, bragging rights!

But I guess Indian fans feel that buzz and excitement before a game against Australia as they are India’s no.1 rival…

O we all know so waterdam well that India match against Pakistan gets all of them glued to TV. Australia is nothing in comparison, but the two teams India vs Australia do play exciting cricket against each other.

Undoubtedly in terms of excitement and buzz, nothing beats an India- Pakistan match. India vs Australia off late has been exciting too and it is two top teams playing vs each other so quality is highest too. India vs Pakistan quality wise is pretty top notch too but the buzz, hype and a bit of ********* overshadows that which I feel isn't the case in India vs Australia.

Yesterday apart from Babar looked like someone had given the likes of Salman Shafique kushdil Haris Nawaz a cricket bat for the first time.

Thank god Pak don’t play Ind regularly.

I always find it amusing the way people say that this rivalry is dead but its always not the case!

Without Shaheen (Pakistan's best white ball player), this will be an easy win for India. Can't see any other result as our pace attack is completely toothless without him.

Tbh, I’m not too excited about these games anymore. Its a rivalry in name only.

India is so far ahead that they treat us a bit of a diddy team.

Pakistan is a better team than India even with or without the injuries.Pakistan has better pace attack.

I don’t think India is taking it too seriously otherwise Kohli, Sharma and other players would be in ZIM in the name of practicing similarly as Pak is in Netherlands with full strength (minus Shaheen, if he was fit he would be there too)

That's not true, I can't remember the last time India went to Zimbabwe with a full strength squad. India have stopped sending full strength squads to Zimbabwe, Ireland etc long time ago, that is not going to change just because there is Asia Cup. Also there isn't much time between Asia Cup and Zimbabwe series, so it does not make sense to send the full squad anyways.

The rivalry surely exists but the intensity has mellowed down in past decade for sure.

India-Pakistan is still the biggest rivalry in cricket.

The vibe of it is unmatched.

Having my Indian brothers and Pakistani brothers over at my place. Hopefully we get exciting match

Asia Cup as tournament is only viable because of this matchup.

Whatever the team compositions are, there is nothing like India-Pakistan cricket match in whatever format.

Asia Cup as tournament is only viable because of this matchup.
Actually it is quite well profitable. SLC board members explained the revenue sharing model of asia cup in one of their recent press meets. According to the figures revealed by them, conducting the trophy in UAE is fetching SL(hosts) more money than hosting it in their own country, which probably would have had more indirect benefits like promoting SL tourism etc.

I haven't seen too much buzz for this game to be honest. Especially among the general public. Media (especially the Indian one) hypes even a random India vs Sri Lanka series so nothing to take home there.

Personally I feel the most hyped up India-Pak games in the last decade or so are -

1. Mohali.
2. CT2017 final
3. World Cup 2015 game
4. T20 WC 2021
5. World Cup 2019

Build up and anticipation for this Asia cup game is nowhere near the levels of the above. Probably would see it for the big game at the MCG.

On paper India clear favourites. But Pakistan can have an outstanding day, so you never know with these games.

I'm not feeling it this time. Without Shaheen and Bumrah it feels like 2nd XIs playing.

Not that excited this time around but it's the greatest rivalry in the sports.

India and Pakistan could play three times possibly in this Asia Cup.

I won't be surprised if Pakistan loses all three games but i would love them to win the final one.

Even if Pakistan loses two times i hope they beat them in the finals.

I m very much assured Pakistan can certainly reach to the finals.

I haven't seen too much buzz for this game to be honest. Especially among the general public. Media (especially the Indian one) hypes even a random India vs Sri Lanka series so nothing to take home there.

Personally I feel the most hyped up India-Pak games in the last decade or so are -

1. Mohali.
2. CT2017 final
3. World Cup 2015 game
4. T20 WC 2021
5. World Cup 2019

Build up and anticipation for this Asia cup game is nowhere near the levels of the above. Probably would see it for the big game at the MCG.

Just because you haven't seen it, it is not there lol? According to you media hypes even India vs Sri Lanka series, yes they do but it is nowhere India vs Pak. Heck even a practice match between India vs Pakistan before a world cup got more eyeballs than an IPL match lol. It seems your ego doesn't let you accept the reality that India vs Pak is still the greatest rivalry in cricket. :inti

I would say India v Pakistan is definitely a bigger rivalry than Real Madrid and Barcelona. That’s one rivalry people consider to be the biggest in sport. I don’t know much about NFL, NBA or MLS to know about the rivalries in those sports and if they can be considered as big as two nuclear powers who are constantly at war or a Cold War.

Pakistan have beaten the excitement and buzz out of the Indian fans, smashed them black and blue, maybe they should let them leave with a bit of dignity next time to revive the rivalry

https://syndication.bleacherreport.com/amp/1128435-the-100-most-heated-rivalries-in-sports.amp.html

According to this article, India/Pakistan is at #7 whereas Rangers/Celtic is at 6 and Barca/Madrid is at 5.

I personally disagree. There is no way Rangers/Celtic is a bigger sporting rivalry than Pakistan v India. The el Classico is debatable because it is a spectacle viewed by all football fans around the world, in North America and Africa as well so without a doubt it is the most viewed sports match when it’s at its peak. Especially lately when the two sides were stacked with superstars of the game.

The only time when India v Pakistan trumps this encounter is when there is severe political tension between the two countries and it falls Into a knockout in the ICC tournaments. I don’t think there has ever been a bigger match in the history of sport in than the 2011 World Cup semi final

I haven't seen too much buzz for this game to be honest.

Agree with you here.
I don't see that much hype this time, don't know what the reason is but there's hardly any hoopla around this game.

Maybe it's bcoz this is just an asia cup and we have been dominating asia cup since last two times.

Just because you haven't seen it, it is not there lol? According to you media hypes even India vs Sri Lanka series, yes they do but it is nowhere India vs Pak. Heck even a practice match between India vs Pakistan before a world cup got more eyeballs than an IPL match lol. It seems your ego doesn't let you accept the reality that India vs Pak is still the greatest rivalry in cricket. :inti

Oh bhai shant ho jaa!!!

I'm just saying there is no build up for this game up aa much compared to the usual hype. Even the 2018 Asia cup had more anticipation than this one. Now if you feel hurt by this simple fact, then it's not on me.

And yes, India vs Pakistan is the greatest rivalry in cricket. Stop being too sensitive for once.

Agree with you here.
I don't see that much hype this time, don't know what the reason is but there's hardly any hoopla around this game.

Maybe it's bcoz this is just an asia cup and we have been dominating asia cup since last two times.

Or may be our fans are acting cautiously these days because of the drubbing we got from Pakistan last year? :inti

Oh bhai shant ho jaa!!!

I'm just saying there is no build up for this game up aa much compared to the usual hype. Even the 2018 Asia cup had more anticipation than this one. Now if you feel hurt by this simple fact, then it's not on me.

And yes, India vs Pakistan is the greatest rivalry in cricket. Stop being too sensitive for once.

But didn't you say India vs Australia is the greatest rivalry in some other thread? Or was it your other half jeetesh? :91: :inti

Broadcaster's perspective

India vs Pakistan wooing sponsors but AD-SPOTS being sold at 20% discount to last T20 World CUP rates

ICC T20 World CUP 2021 in UAE: AD-SPOTS for India vs Pakistan clash were sold for 22-25 Lakhs per 10 Seconds
ASIA CUP 2022 in UAE: AD-SPOTS being offered at 16-18 Lakhs per 10 Seconds.

“The traction for the tournament is decent. No client want to miss India vs Pakistan clash. The good part is that format is such that 2 India Pakistan matches are guaranteed, 3rd one can be bonus if both teams can reach finals. We have sold 90% of the inventory”, informed senior team member in Star Sports Sales team.

https://www.insidesport.in/asia-cup-live-broadcast-india-vs-pakistan-wooing-sponsors-but-ad-spots-being-sold-at-20-discount-to-last-t20-world-cup-rates-follow-asia-cup-cricket-live/

Greatest rivalry in sports without any doubt! Those worrying about the hype should hold their horses. You will see the hype getting jacked up from 25th Aug.

Asia cup is a tournie with a lot of potential but with probably the worst marketing team. Broadcasters are getting finalized last minute, half of the people are not even aware of the schedule.

Rivalry for historical/political reasons. Our fiercest cricket rival is actually Australia If you consider only the cricketing aspect :inti

Australia's first rival will always be England. India vs Australia looks like a one sided rivalry mostly from desperate indian fans. :inti

Indian fans wanting Australia as their rivals reminds me of Shah Rukh Khan’s one sided love for Kiran in Baazigar

I would say India v Pakistan is definitely a bigger rivalry than Real Madrid and Barcelona. That’s one rivalry people consider to be the biggest in sport. I don’t know much about NFL, NBA or MLS to know about the rivalries in those sports and if they can be considered as big as two nuclear powers who are constantly at war or a Cold War.

As far as North America rivalries are concerned, there's nothing that matches it. Closest one is probably NBA with LA Lakers & Boston Celtics but you don't get anywhere near the amount of views in a Pakistan-India match.

Tbh, I’m not too excited about these games anymore. Its a rivalry in name only.

India is so far ahead that they treat us a bit of a diddy team.

I would say both teams are pretty evenly matched atm. If anything Pak are better T20 side but in this format anything can happen.

Match is on Sunday afternoon so will have a huge worldwide audience.

Winning against Pakistan feels good but beating Australia in Australia is totally different level of ecstasy

No bigger challenge in world cricket than beating Australia in Australia in a test series

Nobody will remember this Asia Cup after a few months. How many people remember 2018 Asia Cup ?

but test series win in Australia will be remembered forever

Indian fans wanting Australia as their rivals reminds me of Shah Rukh Khan’s one sided love for Kiran in Baazigar

That one sided love did ruled the show though for many many years. :afridi

And anyways back to topic, most Australian cricketers have already mentioned that winning the test series in India will be special and is their ultimate goal now so it is a case both ways now. After the consecutive hammering by Pant and co away from home(BVB ki jalegi ab :inti), they definitely have a point to prove and especially with India's dominance in tests in India.

Steve Waugh called India the Final Frontier. Adam Gilchrist have said winning 2004 series was so special. Tim Paine lost his head during the last Border Gavaskar series and probably lost his captaincy bcoz of the series defeat to India . Mitchell Starc and his wife cannot stop ******** about India - probably bcoz of the 2 consecutive series losses !

But Pakistanis still think its so one sided ! May be bcoz Australia dont take Pakistan seriously. Remember Ian Chappell suggested Australia should not even invite Pakistan to play in Australia :P

Although the levels of excitement is not what it used to be till 2012, the ct 17 and wt20 victory against India has injected some new life in the rivalry.

The lowest point for Pak fans probably was around 2015-2016. Pak fans were expecting good close matches in 2012 and 2014 wt20 but got hammered by Kohli.

The win in wt20 was unforeseen by us fans as India was looking quite superior on paper.

Thankfully there will be no Dhawan this time around. Kohli as always is the biggest threat. With Shaheen's absence, Rohit's assault becomes a big big risk as he is quite vulnerable to left arm pace earlier in the innings. Pant is someone who can take the game away as well. Karthik is there probably the oldest warrior for India against Pak (he was 2004 team against Pak if I remember correctly)

Naseem Shah is one bowler India haven't faced and if he bowls to his strengths could be a surprise weapon for us. Shadab will be the attack leader for us funnily here. If he can control the middle overs well, Pak will have a good chance to restrict India to a chase able total.

If Ind-Pak test games resume, the rivalry may return.

Ind-Aus rivalry is mainly due to test matches.

Again, no need to draw knives, it’s just a personal opinion.

No one remembers T20s really. Some fans may claim that they are big fans of tests but they are the one who flood T20 threads with their useless posts.

Despite their not being much hype, I still think this will be an exciting match, only because both teams are missing their star fast bowlers. It will make the intensity even more high, since the other bowlers will feel the pressure. Regardless of the result I feel Sunday Match should be a close game.

For me, personally, it is tough to get too excited about a T20 game - unless it is a WC. Even then, it pales in comparison to ODI tournaments like champions trophy or the world cup.

So, I am not really feeling the vibe with this Asia Cup, but I might just be in the minority.

Realistically speaking the Pakistan vs India rivalry isn’t what it once was. Pakistan were the more dominant in the 90’s and early 2000’s. But after that India have been the better team consistently against us. Right now India is in a crucial stage. They can’t drop kohli, but eventually you have to think if he’s not performing then is it worth investing in him when you have a youngster coming through

I am not tense at all. If Pak loses I will still have plenty to eat and drink coz the players would never stay hungry for the fans. Being the Asia Cup the intensity seems somewhat lacking.

This game has barely any hype at all. Not sure what the OP is talking about.

There's too many problems in Pak at the moment. This is a sideshow match.

Realistically speaking the Pakistan vs India rivalry isn’t what it once was. Pakistan were the more dominant in the 90’s and early 2000’s. But after that India have been the better team consistently against us. Right now India is in a crucial stage. They can’t drop kohli, but eventually you have to think if he’s not performing then is it worth investing in him when you have a youngster coming through

Its a myth that post 2003 India dominated. Between 2003 and 2012 both teams were pretty much even stevens in terms of matches won H2H. Post 2012 is when India dominated.

I would argue the match has become bigger due to social media and having only 1 match/year there is build up and a sense of occasion.

Well last year, the hype was extraordinary because it came after a long time.

Pakistan had last faced India in 2019 wc and in t20s in 2016. 5 years!

Pakistan had grown a lot as a T20 team since 2016 and there was a great sense of anticipation,wonder (and speculation) about how exactly Pakistan matches up against India in t20s.

Then we had our answer.

Virendar Sehwag speaking on TV:

"What I feel is that when India and Pakistan are on the ground, it's a difficult game. Everybody gives their best. If somebody is from India, the person plays to win the game for his team. If somebody is playing for Pakistan, the same thing happens. When we finish the match and return to the hotel, we spend time together. There is lot of love between us"

"Some people say that there is tension between India and Pakistan, or that there is fight between Indian and Pakistan players, but I would like to say that nothing of that sort happens. You see the competition only on the field. Outside it we are friends, we behave as if one is the elder brother and the other the younger brother. "

The fact that you have to keep reminding everyone that Aus vs India is a rivalry says a lot. May be you were not around in 2001 but Australia has been saying the same thing since 2001 lol. Kuch naya la aur jali toh teri padi hai meri posts se. :91: :inti

Shaheen is special. The way Indian players(including Pant :ab) are meeting him, shows he has earned the respect of Indian players after his performance against India in the last T20 WC. :inti

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/7zh0qy" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shaheen is special. The way Indian players(including Pant :ab) are meeting him, shows he has earned the respect of Indian players after his performance against India in the last T20 WC. :inti

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/7zh0qy" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Respect is earned. Pakistan play rubbish, all this respect will also go.

Virat Kohli is a mega-star… No, scratch that, a superstar. Kohli's stardom is not only confirmed to India but transcends well beyond the border. He has fans who are willing to go the extra mile just for something as trivial as getting a selfie clicked. Don't look too far back. In the Bengaluru Test between India and Sri Lanka, a fan gatecrashed security and ran on to the ground to get a picture clicked with Kohli. And more recently, during the IPL, a fan came dashing towards Kohli at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata before a security guard lifted him on his shoulders and escorted him out of the ground.

Ahead of the Asia Cup 2022 that gets underway on Saturday and the blockbuster India vs Pakistan clash on Sunday, fans have flocked the ICC Academy ground, where the teams are practicing. India had their first practice session on Wednesday, after which a beautiful gesture from Kohli is now becoming talk of the town. As Kohli was making his way back to the team bus, a fan came rushing towards him. The fan, who claimed to be from Lahore, the city where Babar Azam was born, was stopped by a couple of security guards, who wanted to get a picture clicked from Kohli.

Initially, Kohli kept walking and the security did not allow him to roam anywhere near the former India captain. After the fan screamed at Kohli and told him that he has come all the way from Pakistan only to get a picture clicked with him, Virat took notice, and later came back to get a selfie clicked. The fan, who goes by the name Mohammad Jibran, and who considers Kohli his favourite player later said that it is a moment he will never forget.

"I am not a fan of anyone but Virat Kohli, for whom I have come from Pakistan hoping to get a picture clicked with him. I waited for an entire month for this so the moment he finished his practice and was about to go back to his hotel, I tried a lot. He is an amazing person besides being a fabulous cricketer. He listened to me and agreed to my request of getting the selfie clicked," the fan said.

Jibran added that he wants Kohli to return to form as quickly as possible, and does not care if it happens to be during the game against Pakistan on Sunday. He also mentioned that he has not gotten a single picture clicked with any of the Pakistan cricketers in his life but has always wanted to get a phot clicked with Kohli.

blob:https://imgur.com/28e12a4d-3d78-4edf-9d32-48d9551905e0

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ards-for-approaching-him-101661430614057.html

Virendar Sehwag speaking on TV:

"What I feel is that when India and Pakistan are on the ground, it's a difficult game. Everybody gives their best. If somebody is from India, the person plays to win the game for his team. If somebody is playing for Pakistan, the same thing happens. When we finish the match and return to the hotel, we spend time together. There is lot of love between us"

"Some people say that there is tension between India and Pakistan, or that there is fight between Indian and Pakistan players, but I would like to say that nothing of that sort happens. You see the competition only on the field. Outside it we are friends, we behave as if one is the elder brother and the other the younger brother. "

LOL the recent phainty given to India has made this sehwag guy a bit humble.

He spread a lot of nonsense during champions trophy 2017 but he got his mouth shut in the finals and then he started it again after 2017 and was speaking lot of rubbish but then India was given the phainty of their life in 2021 world cup and now he seems bit humble.

Ae taa dande taa putar e niklya. Laaton ke bhoot baaton se ni maante.

Think I will agree with [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION]

If you see the VK SSA interaction - VK had ear pods on, SSA said something and he took one ear pod out to listen...as in he wasnt in the mood to have a conversation

In this Asia Cup India and Pakistan are gonna play thrice.
2 matches are almost confirmed and final 90-10 confirmed.

Even if Pakistan loses twice i would like them to win the final.

If you see the VK SSA interaction - VK had ear pods on, SSA said something and he took one ear pod out to listen...as in he wasnt in the mood to have a conversation

1dSqs8M.png

During the interaction between Shaheen and Kohli, the India batter first checked up on Pakistan pacer. And after that, Shaheen was heard saying: "Aapke lie dua kar rahe hai aap wapis form me aaye (We are praying that your form comes back)".

https://sports.ndtv.com/asia-cup-20...-what-shaheen-afridi-told-virat-kohli-3288446

Kohli is like me (personality wise)

We don’t forget things easily. I would be riled up too inside after seeing how Shaheen mimicked the wickets of Rohit, Kohli and KL.

No Indian player has mocked Pakistani cricketers and their failures on the field like that as far as I know.

A Dubai-based businessman has gifted free Asia Cup cricket match tickets to 270 blue-collar workers working in his organisation.

Anis Sajan, the vice chairman of Danube Group and well-known lover of the sport, said out of the 270 tickets distributed to the workers, 120 would be for the highly anticipated India-Pakistan match set to take place on Sunday, August 28.

Scores of cricket fans have been patiently waiting to get their hands on match tickets as they were sold out hours after they went on sale on Monday, August 15. However, despite the high demand, the tough-to-get tickets were distributed to workers along with free t-shirts, said Danube Group. Transportation to and from the stadium and food packages have been organised for the workers.

Tickets for Asia Cup were not readily available, said Sajan, who is fondly known as Mr Cricket. "The staff at Danube Group spent countless hours online waiting to get their hands on the tickets for the workers. It was a matter of right timing and luck. Though I was travelling when they were trying to procure the tickets, I was overseeing the matters constantly as it was a real challenge for the staff to buy them online," he said.

Sajan said giant screens had been installed across seven Danube Group warehouses in the Emirates for live viewing for workers who could not get their hands on a ticket. "Workers are a backbone of our business. Though the tickets are tough to find, most expatriates here can afford them. However, the same cannot be said for blue-collared workers," he added.

Highly anticipated India-Pakistan match

Cricket matches between India and Pakistan have become increasingly rare, even on neutral grounds, said Sajan. "Even when it does happen, only a select few can see the entire game live at the stadium. For the blue-collar workers who slog through the day to make ends meet, seeing such a game live is a distant dream," he added.

The India–Pakistan cricket rivalry is one of the most intense sports rivalries in the world. The growth of large expatriate populations from both countries around the globe led to neutral venues, including the UAE and Canada, hosting bilateral and multilateral One Day International (ODI) series involving the two teams. The teams have met during International Cricket Council (ICC) competitions.

Though hundreds of Danube Group staff would be watching the India-Pakistan match at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Sajan chose to watch the game at his home with some close friends and family members. "I've been fortunate enough to watch cricket games in stadiums worldwide, including India, Australia, New Zealand, etc. Now, it is time for me to enjoy the game with my friends and family," he explained.

In addition to the India-Pakistan match, the cricket enthusiast will distribute tickets for other important Super four games. "Asia Cup organisers sold the tickets in a package of three. If we needed one match ticket, we had to buy them for three games," he added.

Regarding his plans for watching the India-Pakistan game, Sajan stated that he was more than happy to watch it at home, where he has arranged a screening with a group of his friends who are a mix of Indians and Pakistanis.

"UAE is probably the only country where the value of tolerance allows people of all nationalities to come together to celebrate such momentous occasions," he explained.

"When Pakistan won against India in the T20 match last year, I celebrated with my Pakistani friends. I cannot imagine celebrating like that in India or the same way in Pakistan. The rivalry in cricket is very intense," he stated.

Sajan added, "As much as I enjoy Bollywood films, I also enjoy watching Pakistani dramas, and vice versa for my Pakistani friends. Our office also has a diverse mix of nationalities, particularly Indians and Pakistanis, who all work and enjoy together." Sajan has planned a mini carnival in his house for friends who haven't been able to procure them. "We will have a live cooking counter, face painting, flags of both countries, and much more," he added.

Last year, Sajan gifted free tickets to 100 blue-collar workers for the most awaited ICC Men's T20 World Cup match between India and Pakistan. "For me, this is more than just a CSR activity. It speaks volumes about my love for the game," he stated.

https://www.khaleejtimes.com/uae/as...kistan-match-tickets-to-blue-collared-workers

all the friendship videos are dimming down the excitement for me

Nothing like old days

We don’t forget things easily. I would be riled up too inside after seeing how Shaheen mimicked the wickets of Rohit, Kohli and KL.

No Indian player has mocked Pakistani cricketers and their failures on the field like that as far as I know.

What did he do? I dont see shaheen mocking them 3 anywhere. Even if he did, so what? It's a game. It makes it more fun. Shoaib used to taunt players all the time. That's why he was special. You need characters.

Are you serious? Why would shaheen even say such things lol? Arch rivals and they treat each other like friends.

That's what I was wondering, bizarre. And why is Shaheen getting this amount of coverage anyway if he's not got a part to play?

Kohli 2015 wc mocked the way Afridi ran. Other Indian players don’t.

Winning against Pakistan feels good but beating Australia in Australia is totally different level of ecstasy

No bigger challenge in world cricket than beating Australia in Australia in a test series

Nobody will remember this Asia Cup after a few months. How many people remember 2018 Asia Cup ?

but test series win in Australia will be remembered forever
Pakistan vs India rivalry is a reality and when one team beats other its joy for the winners. Most of times the teams are not evenly matched but in this rivalry it does not matter to the winner because the rivalry is more relevant for historical and politcal reasons rather than quality of cricket or joy of beating an old rival. Even if loosing team is minn0w level .

However i agree beating Australia in Australia is a like very high qualité opium smoking. The reason is not historic rivalry as this a rivalry thats maybe just started in 2001 but the joy of beating a strong gutsy quality Australian team is a different nasha alltogether

India and Pakistan will be squaring off against one another in a Group A clash of the ongoing Asia Cup 2022 on Sunday at the Dubai International Stadium. The fans are eagerly waiting for this contest and it would be interesting to see how Babar Azam and Rohit Sharma rally their troops around. Ahead of the game, Indian stars such as Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya spoke about the games against Pakistan and what can one expect.

"First game on 28th, we will try and be in present. Preparation wise, we have not been short. We are not looking at the opposition at all, what we need to achieve as a group is more important than the opposition we play. It is going to be a challenging one so we have to be up for it," said Rohit in a video uploaded on official website of BCCI.

Talking about the contest, Suryakumar Yadav said: "Obviously, when I was growing up, there was a lot of talk around the India-Pakistan games and people say it is the greatest rivalry. But when we go out to the field, it is just another game. When you enter the field, all our preparation and routine we do, reflects on the ground. I just try and stay in my zone when I enter the field."

"It is a great opportunity for us to play 2-3 games, challenge ourselves. Pakistan have been a really good team over the past few years. They have played some excellent cricket, it is a high-pressure game and it will always be that," said India vice-captain KL Rahul.

Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya both said that the pressure is there around the game, but it is important to focus on the processes rather than the "outside noise".

"There is an interesting environment. The match is hyped up quite a bit. As a player, we try to give our 100 per cent. Pressure is there in India-Pakistan game, expectations also rise," said Pant.

"Hype is there outside, a lot of people have emotions attached to the game and we all understand that. For us, we have to make sure that we keep the outside noise outside and we focus on things we really need to," said Hardik.

https://sports.ndtv.com/asia-cup-20...lry-india-star-on-matches-vs-pakistan-3293253

I hate this good boys interaction and saying what they don't mean. No one in pakistan and no single player in pakistan actually wants kohli back in form. This is all unnatural to say the least.

Speak for yourself [MENTION=57110]JibranAnsari[/MENTION]. We must remember that cricket is a sport, and sports fans admire class players, wherever they are from. And there is no doubt that when he is in form, there are not many batsman in the class of Virat Kohli. As a Pakistan fan, I look forward to him getting back into form and showcasing some of those trademark cover drives.

That is not true for most of my fellow indian fans though especially when it comes to guys like Babar or Shaheen. :inti