Indian Coach Ravi "The Cheerleader" Shastri Performance Watch

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/d69iz/vdhrsx" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Look at Kohli :))) :))) :)))

Good catch.

Blown away by the level of disrespect shown by Kohli.

This is what happens when success goes to your head.

This bewda guy needs to be sacked,can't take this fool's bombastic stupidity anymore.If we lose wc19 his removal will be the only good thing to come of it.

Ravi Shastri: Tracing the bullet

Ravi Shastri, who is forever frozen in adolescence, seems to enjoy the feeling of fighting the world and succeeding against all odds.

When the move to make Anil Kumble the Indian team’s head coach was afoot in June 2016, and not long after he had made his presentation to the interview panel, Ravi Shastri was swimming in a pool in Bangkok. It was typical Shastri: presenting a devil-may-care attitude of a man forever frozen in adolescence. He would lose that round but bounce back when Kumble was toppled a year later. Since then, he has been thrown more bricks than bouquets but Shastri is no stranger to criticism.

His remarkable playing career would be known for couple of things: his achievement in transforming from a talented young left-arm spinner to a manically self-driven Test opener who hit hundreds against Pakistan, West Indies and Australia. And for the way he handled adverse fan reactions — no other Indian player, or from any country for that matter, has probably been booed as much as he was by his own countrymen.

Here is his quote about how he handled the ‘Shastri hai-hai’ days. “One game, I was injured against the West Indies. The game’s going on somewhere. And I can hear, ‘Shastri Hai Hai, Shastri Hai Hai’. Shastri hai bhi nahin! (Shastri isn’t even there!) It had reached that level that it had become time-pass for the crowd. But then what? It made me play even harder. I mean, with (Richard) Hadlee bowling, and they’re going ‘Hai Hai’. You are focusing on leaving him and playing him properly. Hai Hai what? You score a 50 or a 100 against the same opposition then they phirao topi (make an about turn). They clap.”

Also Read: Australia did miss Smith and Warner, but India deserved to win the Test series
Shastri’s world makes for a fascinating head space. Of a man who would revel when he was adored as he was during his Champion of Champions days but who quickly adjusted to the taunts in the later years. Of a man who almost thrived when the world was against him. He almost loved when he was hated. Often, he gave the feeling he was fighting the world.

Indian cricket team coach Ravi Shastri with captain Virat Kohli during a practice session. (Source: PTI)
“If we had won that first Test, mazaa aa jaata..(it would have been so much fun). But wait and watch, we shall win this Test. And the series. All the nonsense will stop.” We were sitting at a Bangkok street-themed restaurant in Nottingham, England, just before the Test India would go on to win. There seemed to be so many problems going around from poor tactical decisions to team combinations that the optimism seemed only in his mind. But that’s coach Shastri’s strength.

Over the series, Shastri would boil internally, almost aghast at how his batsmen stumbled. One particular evening comes to mind. It was a celebratory evening at a pub in the shadows of sandstone cliffs when he suddenly jabbed his finger at his chest, and said almost quietly (without his customary bombast), ‘Boss, jigar chahiye. I understand that it’s not easy in these conditions against world-class bowlers like Anderson, but man, you have to try. If you succeed against them here, there is no greater satisfaction. It would stay with you all your life.”

The passion in his words kept ratcheting. “You have to do something, anything to counter. Yes, the ball is doing crazy things, but you can’t just stand there and be swallowed. Stand outside the crease, stand on the off stump, go out of your comfort zone which hasn’t worked and put yourself out there. Cut out the drive .”

He seamlessly transferred to a story from his own career when Sunil Gavaskar knocked on his hotel room in Pakistan to tell him that he would open for the first time in the next Test. Shastri was drinking with Sandeep Patil then and “I immediately stood up. Saara nasha khatam. (the high evaporated). I knew this was what I was waiting (for) all along. You have to grab these opportunities, boss.”

Even in the retelling, decades after the event, you could sense he was stirred as if he had transported himself back to that hotel room.

Ravi Shastri, Ravi Shastri viral video, Ravi Shastri's ballsy comment, Ind vs Australia, India wins, Indian cricket team, viral memes, twitter reactions, indian express, indian express news
Despite copping his fair share of criticism as India’s head coach, Ravi Shastri brings a devil-may-care attitude that fits his team. (Reuters)
To deduce Shastri, the coach, from Shastri, the bombastic commentator, is a slippery slope of tropes. His coaching style isn’t of a man who is happy to be on the sidelines, mouthing “just go enjoy”. He does that, as one should, but a lot more and players from Virat Kohli to Ravichandran Ashwin have detailed the technical assistance provided by him.

Post match press conference: This series win is as big as 1983 World Cup win if not bigger, says Ravi Shastri
To paint Shastri as an attitude-shaper and Kumble as a discipline-invoker with hands-on ability to influence the team doesn’t do justice to him. The truth is that Shastri isn’t just a psychological mentor – that by itself is no small ability, of course – but he has been hands-on with the technical side as well.

In the nets, he would stand close to batsmen and tell them to get upright in their stance, explaining the rationale. He would check their stance, suggest them to open up if needed. Players in private talk about the suggestions he makes and how they have helped them.

It isn’t that some players didn’t have an issue with him. The main charges being: Why did he allow Kohli to make so many changes in the team? What does he really think of us, deep inside? Is he disappointed with us that we aren’t as gutsy as he would like us to be? But how can we be when we aren’t sure of our places? These are some questions conveyed by a few in private.

Some changes have been baffling. Like playing two spinners at Lord’s after a full day was washed out due to rain and the toss had yet to take place, reluctance to use Bhuvneshwar Kumar in South Africa, preferring a less-than-fully-fit Ashwin over Ravindra Jadeja at Southampton.

A better team combination in that Test would perhaps have allowed India to beat England and go to the last Test 2-2. So much was at stake.

The thing with Shastri is that you can question some of his decisions but not the intent. To his credit, he has admitted his mistakes on more than one occasion.

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli (R) and head coach Ravi Shastri during a press conference ahead of the team's departure for England and Ireland, in New Delhi
Virat Kohli and India head coach Ravi Shastri in a press conference. (Source: PTI)
But even here, the man who refuses to shed his adolescence has his way of getting even if he senses that there was some agenda in the criticism. Thus, at the end of the series triumph, he fires a “tracer bullet” about blanks and lead that is right out of a boy’s world.

When he had dried himself off after that swimming session in that Bangkok pool two years back, he talked about how Sourav Ganguly was not present during the Skype interview. In his mind, that was a clear agenda. Ganguly probably reckons he had made up his mind about Kumble, especially since he was clear about the direction he wanted the team to take. Ganguly also took a dig that why, if he cared so much, was Shastri not in flesh and blood, but did a Skype interview? One can rest assured neither party would forget the episode in a hurry.

One day, India’s bowling coach Bharat Arun, Shastri’s friend in this team, made an observation about how Kohli is similar in mental make-up to Shastri. He was talking about the doggedness, ambition and determination in general, but there is another commonality. Like Shastri, Kohli almost thrives on being the victim – not in the negative sense but how it fires both of them internally. Both rage against the world and both love the world to be raging against them.

https://indianexpress.com/article/s...let-india-australia-bcci-virat-kohli-5527605/

For those who think shastri is merely a cheerleader, there is another side to this coin!

^ Excellent article, the jokes and memes from Indian fans on internet make Ravi look like a joker but he is complete opposite to that, very intense and competitive guy. What do you say after reading the above article [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

That's a fluff piece, shastri is great, he is such a technical genius, such a great coach, except when it comes to actually improving a struggling batsman, or strategizing to help us in big moments or picking the correct team. He is an overpaid *** who is lucky to have the best our bowling attack and the weakest aussie batting happen to him.

^ Excellent article, the jokes and memes from Indian fans on internet make Ravi look like a joker but he is complete opposite to that, very intense and competitive guy. What do you say after reading the above article [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

I think he is a wonderful motivator and is exactly the type of coach that a top class team needs. He has created a very positive environment in the team and is very protective of his players. His arrogance and attitude towards the critics is bonding the team.

Ravi Shastri is not known to pull back punches and the India head coach has made it amply clear he wouldn’t change his ways if he feels that criticism directed at the national team is “agenda-driven”.

Speaking to The Daily Telegraph, Shastri also complimented Virat Kohli, describing the skipper as someone who comes “closest to Vivian Richards” in the manner he bats.

On the criticism, there was no direct reference to the critics he considers agenda-driven. “You expect it. I am one of those that if it is constructive, then fine. If I find it is agenda-driven, I don’t care who the individual is, then I will throw a punch back straightaway. I mean it. I don’t care if he is a legend or a normal person. If I feel I have to punch back I will,” Shastri told former England captain Michael Vaughan, who was interviewing him for the newspaper.

The most recent criticism against the team came from the legendary Sunil Gavaskar, who had questioned the team combination and training methods after India’s defeat in the Perth Test, which according to Shastri, was akin to “firing blanks” sitting million miles away.

India’s greatest opener then responded by saying that it were these blanks that pushed the team into doing well at Melbourne.

When asked to compare Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar, Shastri said the Mumbai maestro was “more composed” and in a zone while Kohli is more “in your face”. “Yesterday someone asked me if there are any similarities between Sachin [Tendulkar] and Virat. I said there were plenty. Let’s start with work ethic,” he said.

“It is doing the hard yards, looking ugly in the nets and sacrificing important things for your cricket. It is staying in the zone. No excuses. No pointing fingers at others. If you make a mistake, then own up. They do that,” Shastri added.

He then cited the difference. “Virat can be in your face. He is the closest a player has come to Vivian Richards in the way he bats. That ‘in your face’ approach with fast bowlers and any opponent. He is also prepared to do hard work and be ugly. That is part of his batting he learned in England,” he explained.

The best aspect of Kohli’s personality, according to Shastri, is his mindset which is pretty similar to his own. Also the fact that he is very caring of his teammates also makes him the “role model” that he is, said Shastri.

“He is very caring with his team-mates and just a fantastic role model. He has achieved greatness but to still be in the zone and being humble and hungry and wanting Test cricket makes my admiration for him grow more and more,” he said.

Kohli had recently urged youngsters to focus more on becoming good Test players rather than concentrating on shorter formats. The coach, like on many other issues, seemed to be on the same page with his skipper.

“In our country where everything is driven by T20, IPL and one-day cricket to have an individual like him to put the onus on Test cricket more than any format of the game is massive because all the young kids want to emulate him. That is the biggest thing to come out of it.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...-punch-back-at-the-critic-ravi-shastri-792863

And in today's version of Shastri bingo:

Asked to describe his role as head coach, Shastri said he preferred tinkering with mindsets rather than techniques. "I am more into fine-tuning, mindsets, and how you play the game. Very rarely will I go and tinker with a player unless I think it is needed," he said. "Yes, I will bang him on the head if I think he is a p**** or afraid of something. That is when I am at my nastiest. Then I'm not a coach, I am something else.

"You have to be fearless if you want to play for this team. Fearless means trusting your instincts and clarity of thought. Once you have made up your mind, don't be scared of what if. You would rather get out testing your instincts than being in two minds."

We all know that Kohli is Shastri’s puppet and only a pseudo captain.

Indian fans by and large are ungrateful.

Shastri cant teach batting or bowling at this level.

His job is to strategize and motivate.

He is doing well in both regards.

Took us to number 1 rankings in both tests and ODIs.

45 mins of bad play doesn't diminish his legacy.

Make MS Dhoni the coach if he agrees. A laid back guy, master strategizer, keeps the sponsors happy, can groom youngsters at 4, 5. Can guide Pant in batting and keeping. Can guide the young spinners. Problem solved

Indian fans by and large are ungrateful.

Shastri cant teach batting or bowling at this level.

His job is to strategize and motivate.

He is doing well in both regards.

Took us to number 1 rankings in both tests and ODIs.

45 mins of bad play doesn't diminish his legacy.

Where are those shiny ICC trophies? A team that dominates needs to win silverware at the end

Everything is not about cups.

Shastri helped India beat SA in SA in ODIs.

Aus in Aus (even in tests).

NZ in NZ.

---

Look at his win-loss records.

Not his fault that Rahul-Rohit-Kohli choked.

Question must be asked...if they choked INSPITE of Shastri's legendary motivational skills....how big chokers they must be.

One of Shastri's gems from last summer was that the team would acclimatise for the Test series in England after playing the ODIs and T20s first.

I don't think the white Kookaburra swung an inch in that series, but the red Dukes swung around corners. And he still chose to play two spinners at Lord's on a wet pitch.

Big favourites yet they even failed to reach the final - surely his time is up?

I think he is a wonderful motivator and is exactly the type of coach that a top class team needs. He has created a very positive environment in the team and is very protective of his players. His arrogance and attitude towards the critics is bonding the team.

And then in a recent thread, you called him a drunkard and said had he been Pakistan's coach, he would have turned Pakistan cricket into a bigger circus.

I got very hurt.

qE6VHQy.gif

Love the guy partly cause he gets a raw deal from Indian supporters. Sure he's made mistakes with selection and encourages Kohli's excesses, but that needs to be tempered with his impact in creating a harmonious dressing room. The fact that this gig keeps him away from the commentary box is an added bonus.

And then in a recent thread, you called him a drunkard and said had he been Pakistan's coach, he would have turned Pakistan cricket into a bigger circus.

I got very hurt.

qE6VHQy.gif

But Pakistan is not a top class team. Shastri works for India but he will be disastrous for Pakistan unless he puts his ego aside and changes his attitude.

This is where cricket gives more time to coaches compared with football.

If he was a football coach in the same position, he'd have been booted out by now.

Australia made a bad bad mistake of awakening the sleeping giant.

Shastri is like Kumbhakaran.

He might be sleeping but once awakened, he will WREAK HAVOC.

Be afraid.

Be very very afraid.

It's embarrassing with all the BCCI resources and relationships top coaches have with India and some of it's players they still have Shastri as coach.

The current tour could be a defining moment in Shastri's career as coach.

If India really get hammered then he could be without a job.

So far, not so good.

The current tour could be a defining moment in Shastri's career as coach.

If India really get hammered then he could be without a job.

So far, not so good.

Not in your life. He's like Vladimir Putin.

He'll engineer a no-hoper candidate like Sehwag to contest just so he can prove he's the best among the available options and remain in the job.

After the worldcup farce
Just when you thought it couldn't get any worse
He single-handedly took india down to absolute rock bottom!!!!

Not in your life. He's like Vladimir Putin.

He'll engineer a no-hoper candidate like Sehwag to contest just so he can prove he's the best among the available options and remain in the job.

India doesn't really need a coach. How many coaches make a difference at that level.

Shastri is Colly's yes man, & there's no one who can take on Colly at the moment, hence Shastri is here to stay.

The day BCCI decided to go ahead with Shastri as Coach, Bharat Arun as bowling coach & Bangar as Batting coach instead of Kumble-Zaheer khan-Rahul Dravid, I knew this would happen. But again, Colly has become bigger than the game in India, hence no one can touch the troika even if India reaches no. 10 in rankings, & Colly ends up with zero ICC trophies, as long as the PR is at work.

Somebody should have shown this post to Justin Langer and Tim Paine at Christmas.

Yes.

Yes.

Yes.

They woke up the sleeping giant.

Now they must face.....

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/0Y7EID2" ><a href="//imgur.com/a/0Y7EID2">THE PAIN !!!!</a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The key takeaway over the past 3 years has been that Shastri is responsible for all Indian losses and has nothing to do with any good performances.

So much for modernity, rigid opinions, and the squalid world of trolling.

The key takeaway over the past 3 years has been that Shastri is responsible for all Indian losses and has nothing to do with any good performances.

So much for modernity, rigid opinions, and the squalid world of trolling.

What a great motivator. He is the ideal foil to Kohli.

Lol if you are dictating then you need to change the spelling of Kohli 🤣

Shastri is Colly's yes man, & there's no one who can take on Colly at the moment, hence Shastri is here to stay.

The day BCCI decided to go ahead with Shastri as Coach, Bharat Arun as bowling coach & Bangar as Batting coach instead of Kumble-Zaheer khan-Rahul Dravid, I knew this would happen. But again, Colly has become bigger than the game in India, hence no one can touch the troika even if India reaches no. 10 in rankings, & Colly ends up with zero ICC trophies, as long as the PR is at work.

Lol if you are dictating then you need to change the spelling of Kohli 🤣

Ravi Shastri has contributed in bringing the jazba and daleri in this team and it shows.

In recognition of his contribution to Indian cricket, India should he generous and barter a trade with the Aussies. We'll give them Shastri in exchange for Langer.

Exactly doesn’t deserve as much credit as he will hawk

I don't rate him as a coach but he must be doing something good as you wouldn't see fight like if the coach was absolute rubbish.

He is the luckiest coach of all time, second only to Pakistan's very own Mohsin Khan who whitewashed the number one test side of the world while sipping tea in a track suit.

Haters.

Haters everywhere.

The reason players play out of their skins is cos Shastri touches their SOUL with his speeches.

We thought it was Kohli who was responsible for the results with Shastri as support role but now that he is gone, it's obviously clear that it's Shastri who has been responsible for all the wins.

His tactical nous is under-rated.

People only credit his motivational aspect but he is very good tactic wise too.

His biggest weakness has been selection, but to be fair to him the changes during this series after the first test have been spot on.

I don't expect any of his haters to relent though. People have rigid opinions, they can't bear to accept any information that is contrary to their biases.

His biggest weakness has been selection, but to be fair to him the changes during this series after the first test have been spot on.

I don't expect any of his haters to relent though. People have rigid opinions, they can't bear to accept any information that is contrary to their biases.

Absolutely.

They just can't digest a loudmouth like Shastri doing well.

I used to think motivation was useless in the past.

But after seeing impact of Shastri, I started investing in them and developing my mind.

I don't start work until I heard a YouTube motivation video or two to pump me up.

People might laugh but it works.

Shastri must have pumped up Vihari and Ashwin too.

Ravi Shastri gets unnecessary hate without any reason sometimes, due to his lifestyle and his straight forward behavior.

Yes, the wait for an ICC Trophy is still there, but still a very decent record under his coaching.
As many said above he need to correct the selection errors.

The GOAT coach for India. What a man, we would be lucky to have him.

Ravi Shastri gets unnecessary hate without any reason sometimes, due to his lifestyle and his straight forward behavior.

Yes, the wait for an ICC Trophy is still there, but still a very decent record under his coaching.

Selection is on the chief selector, not on him. ICC trophy will come soon.

Absolutely.

They just can't digest a loudmouth like Shastri doing well.

I used to think motivation was useless in the past.

But after seeing impact of Shastri, I started investing in them and developing my mind.

I don't start work until I heard a YouTube motivation video or two to pump me up.

People might laugh but it works.

Shastri must have pumped up Vihari and Ashwin too.

I fully agree. I have recently been reading a lot of stoic philosophy to help me focus and keep life in perspective.

The power of the mind is vastly underestimated, especially by people in the subcontinent. I used to laugh when folks like Martin Crowe and Richard Hadlee swore by their use of motivational mantras to help focus the mind while they were playing.

lol

The guy was sleeping during 36-9 and was no where to be seen by the journalists

This turnaround is due to Rahane

He is very arrogant though and that is why many dont like him. Normally people tend to remain humble after defeat but he loves to blow the trumpet and makes OTT statements.

After our series win in Australia he told to the players "If you look at the last three years, we [Indian cricket team] have won eleven matches overseas and four series (against West Indies,Australia and twice in Sri Lanka). This is the best Indian touring side and have achieved things that bade bade dada of Indian cricket [referring to Ganguly's team] nehi kar paaye the"

I mean who talks like that? :))

:ravi

He is very arrogant though and that is why many dont like him. Normally people tend to remain humble after defeat but he loves to blow the trumpet and makes OTT statements.

After our series win in Australia he told to the players "If you look at the last three years, we [Indian cricket team] have won eleven matches overseas and four series (against West Indies,Australia and twice in Sri Lanka). This is the best Indian touring side and have achieved things that bade bade dada of Indian cricket [referring to Ganguly's team] nehi kar paaye the"

I mean who talks like that? :))

:ravi

He don't like DADA, reasons are obvious.
Dada gave him left and right many times :))

It’s remarkable things are going as well as they are for IND with Shastri on shore-leave.

It's days like today when the value of having :ravi as coach truly manifests itself.

Utter genius at man management.

Too much negativity.

Let us give credit where its due.

Ravi Shastri isnt a technical coach.

But he is a genius with his man management skills and he lets players express themselves resulting in a team of spiritied bravehearts.

Too much negativity.

Let us give credit where its due.

Ravi Shastri isnt a technical coach.

But he is a genius with his man management skills and he lets players express themselves resulting in a team of spiritied bravehearts.
The GOAT Indian coach, FC bhai. Would love to have him in pakistani team mgmt. :sree