India's young fast bowling factory - 38 better bowlers than Naseem Shah?

India didn't produce quality quick bowlers until recently(2018 onwards). Producing Quality express bowlers are not only about having raw talent. It starts from scouting for talents, grooming the talents, backing the skills, and then methodically using them at the right time and in the correct format(not to mention building the fitness required to sustain International and Club matches).

Being the wealthiest board in the largest cricketing country gave BCCI the wealth it processes. But unfortunately, BCCI, with all the Money, never cared about strategically grooming talent from the ground up. Due to IPL, India has a lot of competition and opportunities, leading to a new corps of bowlers. Still, they don't get the support and a well-designed system to succeed at the international level, barring a few like Bumrah and Shami.
Also, the BCCI administration is bureaucratic and politically driven. (A competitive bowling coach like Bharat Arun should have been part of the ICT; instead, he's thrown out for his excellent service over the years)

Despite all the flaws(handling injuries, fitness, workload, etc.), PCB knows how to groom and support their quicks and take them to the international stage. Nassem was a failure in his first Australian tour. But PCB didn't give up on him, knowing his worth.

How the number 38 has been deduced? It seems the OP has created the thread in response to a troll, or he is trolling.

Don't run away now. I never claimed it was the strongest or anything. Go ahead and prove me how the team that we beat in 2020/21 was "one of the weakest" Australian teams. I'll be waiting. :angel:
How about you prove it since you are the one going on and on about India winning in Australia while ignoring other SENA countries? :inti

Weakest Australian team of all team that went on to win a series in Pakistan of all places. Atleast troll with some credibility if troll you must :91:

Looks like you are drunk lol. What has Pakistan got to do with this now? And then you will cry here that Indians don't compare themselves with Pakistanis. No one hypes Pakistan team here anyway. They are also at their lowest. :91: :inti

Looks like some guys who were making fun of Naseem Shah can't keep up with this thread and now are trying to derail it. :inti

[MENTION=156349]Hextro[/MENTION] bhai jaan....

You're not getting the point we're trying to make here and going on an emotional tangent here..:)

Having 38 better fast bowlers than Naseem "52 average against decent teams and 70 average in SENA" Shah doesn't mean that India are filled to the rim with ATG bowlers. The bar is so low with Naseem that not a single Indian bowler has a worse average than him against decent sides in the last 7-8 years. Every Indian fringe bowler that debuts will in tests will leap above the bar. :91:

You must be adding grandma's to that list of 38 "fast" bowlers. If you're gonna be this delusional you should go all out and say Ind has 100 better "fast" bowlers than Naseem.

Don't you know 19 year old experienced veteran Naseem can never improve his average in tests? :inti

Naseem Shah doesn't seem like a one hit wonder tbh. Guy's real quality.

The way he's been consistently bowling that tight channel of uncertainty at perfect length is no ordinary feat for someone just debuting and speaks volumes about his quality.

But I fear he's also the kind of player who's gonna get tons of flak from both Indians and Pakistani fans if he has 1 bad match.

Will be interesting to see how Indians play him this time. Won't be surprised if he's not as effective though. Indian batting is great at doing its homework. It's the surprise more often than not that gets them down.

There's not a single bowler in India who can move the WHITE BALL ball at 145 like Naseem was doing.

He has his shortcomings - short, unfit and prone to getting hit but saying that there are 38 or even 10 fast bowlers in India better than Naseem is lol worthy.

Weakest Australian team of all team that went on to win a series in Pakistan of all places. Atleast troll with some credibility if troll you must :91:

The only credibility that poster has is to keep producing comments as embarassing those every now and then.

A team which has Warner, Smith, Marnus, Green, Starc, Hazelwood, Cummins and Lyon as weakest Australian team? Damn :facepalm :inti

The only credibility that poster has is to keep producing comments as embarassing those every now and then.

A team which has Warner, Smith, Marnus, Green, Starc, Hazelwood, Cummins and Lyon as weakest Australian team? Damn :facepalm :inti

I think I have already addressed why that Australian team was the weakest in the last 2 decades multiple times on this forum and everytime you reacted the same way. You like some other pyjama league lovers have never seen legendary Australian team play live so your reaction is understandable. :91: :inti

There's not a single bowler in India who can move the WHITE BALL ball at 145 like Naseem was doing.

He has his shortcomings - short, unfit and prone to getting hit but saying that there are 38 or even 10 fast bowlers in India better than Naseem is lol worthy.

Really? Do you mean injury wise or struggling to bowl quota in a T20I?

Only shortcoming / fear I have is the upcoming injury due to PCB and its coaches' incompetence.

Naseem is still a teenager. In five years (InshaAllah if he doesn't suffer major injuries); he should be easily one of the best bowlers in the word. He has potential to end up as a great of the game.

Very early days tho:

FormatMatInnsBallsRunsWktsBBIBBMAveEconSR4w5w10w
Test132020371198335/315/8136.33.5261.7210
ODI33156111105/335/3311.14.2615.6010
T20I22363442/72/78.55.669000
FC274438402239846/599/11126.653.4945.7540
List A74216137125/335/3311.413.818010
T20474710031351485/205/2028.148.0820.8110

How about you prove it since you are the one going on and on about India winning in Australia while ignoring other SENA countries? :inti

So you can't prove your claim that Australia of 2020/21 were "one of the weakest". Thought so. Cheers.

He has not proved any claim of his. According to his ****** logic, that Australian team is the weakest of all time because India won there . The series before, he put Asterix on that win because Smith and Warner didnt play.

Weakest Australian team of all time somehow won a test series in Pakistan and smashed England 4-0. Then with his typically paindu logic he'll say that England and Pakistan are at their respective weakest. :91:

Really? Do you mean injury wise or struggling to bowl quota in a T20I?

Only shortcoming / fear I have is the upcoming injury due to PCB and its coaches' incompetence.

Naseem is still a teenager. In five years (InshaAllah if he doesn't suffer major injuries); he should be easily one of the best bowlers in the word. He has potential to end up as a great of the game.

Very early days tho:

FormatMatInnsBallsRunsWktsBBIBBMAveEconSR4w5w10w
Test132020371198335/315/8136.33.5261.7210
ODI33156111105/335/3311.14.2615.6010
T20I22363442/72/78.55.669000
FC274438402239846/599/11126.653.4945.7540
List A74216137125/335/3311.413.818010
T20474710031351485/205/2028.148.0820.8110

I meant his bowling stamina is definitely questionable from what I have seen uptil now, this is not just based on the last t20 but also the fact that he tends to become slower after bowling for some time in tests but yeah with age this will be sorted.

He has all the talent but he will need way better control on his line and lengths to compensate for the lack of height, it's difficult for short bowlers to control the run rate as they don't get steep bounce.

As I said earlier anyone who has never seen the great Australian team play live will think of Australian team of 20/21 to be their strongest. How can a team losing to reserves be the strongest of all time? Open your youtube app and watch India vs Australia matches from 2001 onwards. Aur tu toh rehne hi de bhai tere logics. :facepalm :inti

He has not proved any claim of his. According to his ****** logic, that Australian team is the weakest of all time because India won there . The series before, he put Asterix on that win because Smith and Warner didnt play.

Weakest Australian team of all time somehow won a test series in Pakistan and smashed England 4-0. Then with his typically paindu logic he'll say that England and Pakistan are at their respective weakest. :91:

I have proved my claims multiple times. Go use the search functionality on this forum. Why should I repeat the same thing over and over again and let you succeed in derailing this thread also? We are in Naseem Shah's thread. Since he has given some paindus a reality check they are all looking to run away from the discussion at hand. Here is an advice : use the search function. :inti

As I said earlier anyone who has never seen the great Australian team play live will think of Australian team of 20/21 to be their strongest. How can a team losing to reserves be the strongest of all time? Open your youtube app and watch India vs Australia matches from 2001 onwards. Aur tu toh rehne hi de bhai tere logics. :facepalm :inti

What on earth are you on about? Who said Australia of 20/21 were their strongest team ever? Are you now making up lies to cover up your embarrassing claim? Dear oh dear... :)))

It's you who said they're one of the weakest Australian team. And now you're pulling out the lamest straw man just because you can't prove that statement right?

Here's a tip. Just admit that you got emotional and botched up big time (as usual) by making that uber stupid statement and end the discussion here. I'm only going to drag you further down if you won't. :angel:

Honestly though... one can only take so much second hand embarrassment. Here's the mental gymnasium he went through the course of the discussion on this thread today ....

"India only won because it was the weakest Australian team in 2020/21".

(I ask him to prove his claim)

"Prove me how Australia of 2020/21 were their strongest team ever"

(even though I never made that statement :91:)

"How is Australia of 2020/21 their strongest team? Go and watch 2001."

(again... no one ever made that statement :91:)

And all this while dodging the 'prove me how Australia of 2020/21 we're their weakest team" question of mine. :)))

Pakistan did not play any matches at home for more than 10 years.This did a lot of damage to cricket but thankfully Pakistan has recovered and getting back on track.Pakistan needs to develop a few good batsmen and spinners though.

Honestly though... one can only take so much second hand embarrassment. Here's the mental gymnasium he went through the course of the discussion on this thread today ....

"India only won because it was the weakest Australian team in 2020/21".

(I ask him to prove his claim)

"Prove me how Australia of 2020/21 were their strongest team ever"

(even though I never made that statement :91:)

"How is Australia of 2020/21 their strongest team? Go and watch 2001."

(again... no one ever made that statement :91:)

And all this while dodging the 'prove me how Australia of 2020/21 we're their weakest team" question of mine. :)))

You should be the last person to think about handing embarrassments to others here lol. I have lost count of you embarrassing yourself with your OTT statements here :91:

Even after repeating it over and over again that I have already proved how they were the weakest Australian team in the last 2 decades few months ago and in other threads, you are purposely derailing this thread because you can't criticise Naseem Shah currently. Go read those other threads and stay on topic. :inti

Pakistan did not play any matches at home for more than 10 years.This did a lot of damage to cricket but thankfully Pakistan has recovered and getting back on track.Pakistan needs to develop a few good batsmen and spinners though.

This is the point which everyone ignores and take it for granted. Pakistan has managed to survive even without playing cricket at their real home. Any other country except India may be would have gone bankrupt without cricket at home. Still they have managed to unearth guys like Naseem Shah. :inti

I think I have already addressed why that Australian team was the weakest in the last 2 decades multiple times on this forum and everytime you reacted the same way. You like some other pyjama league lovers have never seen legendary Australian team play live so your reaction is understandable. :91: :inti

You have addressed nothing via your posts. Absolutely nothing, go and read some cricket history rather than blatantly lying and making false claims.

Anyone who claims that a team that featured the bowling attack of Pat Cummins, Josh Hazelwood, Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon and batsman like Steve Smith, David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne is the weakest that Australia have produced in last two decades is absolutely clueless and is actually showing his real age by living in a delusion while growing up that the Australian team was immense for last two decades, although in reality that team's greatness was only till 2007.

Allow me to teach you some history of cricket in the last two decades as it seems you have probably heard something from a couple of folks and basing your last two decades assumption on that. For the start, the Australian team between 2007-16 was a pretty ordinary team. Their team only started coming into their own from 2017 onwards when Pat Cummins joined the pace attack which only had Starc and Hazelwood earlier. Lyon also improved a lot with time and was a much better bowler now than he was in early 2010s.

The present Australian team is undoubtedly the second best Australian team in the last 40 years after the Australian team of 1995-2007. It seems you probably learnt about their greatness as a kid and seems to be in a delusion that it stayed for two decades lol. Hence, first go and learn cricket history before really getting on these debates with half knowledge and illogical posts. :inti

LMAO botched up? Let me say it again. They were the weakest Australian team. Now go cry once again. :91: :inti

Yes sir sure I will go ahead and cry. But first prove me how they were the weakest Aus team. I'm still waiting for your analysis post come on. Even a mentally challenged person can give these blanket statements but one has to back them up with logic and reason.

I'll be waiting.

The Australian team which got beaten by England in 2011 ashes was definitely the worst Australian team of the last two decades.
Their bowlers were Hilfenhaus and Siddle.
While Xavier Doherty was the main spinner.

The Australian team which got beaten by England in 2011 ashes was definitely the worst Australian team of the last two decades.

This . That was the weakest Australian side I have seen. But don't get in the way of the logic of paindus who actually know how to use a search function :O :rabada2

Does India have 38 better batsmen than Naseem Shah, that's the real question.

This . That was the weakest Australian side I have seen. But don't get in the way of the logic of paindus who actually know how to use a search function :O :rabada2

Yeah so what stopped India from beating that weakest Australian team then lol? And I guess we won't see some paindus here for quite sometime. :91: :inti

You have addressed nothing via your posts. Absolutely nothing, go and read some cricket history rather than blatantly lying and making false claims.

Anyone who claims that a team that featured the bowling attack of Pat Cummins, Josh Hazelwood, Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon and batsman like Steve Smith, David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne is the weakest that Australia have produced in last two decades is absolutely clueless and is actually showing his real age by living in a delusion while growing up that the Australian team was immense for last two decades, although in reality that team's greatness was only till 2007.

Allow me to teach you some history of cricket in the last two decades as it seems you have probably heard something from a couple of folks and basing your last two decades assumption on that. For the start, the Australian team between 2007-16 was a pretty ordinary team. Their team only started coming into their own from 2017 onwards when Pat Cummins joined the pace attack which only had Starc and Hazelwood earlier. Lyon also improved a lot with time and was a much better bowler now than he was in early 2010s.

The present Australian team is undoubtedly the second best Australian team in the last 40 years after the Australian team of 1995-2007. It seems you probably learnt about their greatness as a kid and seems to be in a delusion that it stayed for two decades lol. Hence, first go and learn cricket history before really getting on these debates with half knowledge and illogical posts. :inti

Yes sir sure I will go ahead and cry. But first prove me how they were the weakest Aus team. I'm still waiting for your analysis post come on. Even a mentally challenged person can give these blanket statements but one has to back them up with logic and reason.

I'll be waiting.

It was indeed the weakest Australian team of all time. Watch some cricket before spouting nonsense here. And this is Naseem Shah's thread. You guys were making fun of him before now that you have nothing left to say you have shifted the thread towards Indian tour of Australia. :facepalm :inti

These are some silly backhanded comments about Naseem because he is hardly short at 5'11... Especially comparing him to "Indias fast bowling factory"... at 5'11, he is taller than Shami, Bhuvi and Bumrah too. You are acting like all Indian pacers are enormous Shaheen-esque heights (without his skill ofcourse)!

We haven’t seen the best of Naseem yet, not even close. People forget Shaheen has had a much easier initiation into international cricket, while this lad had to endure two tough away tours to Australia and New Zealand in his first year of international cricket!

He is a special talent and will only get better from here.

We haven’t seen the best of Naseem yet, not even close. People forget Shaheen has had a much easier initiation into international cricket, while this lad had to endure two tough away tours to Australia and New Zealand in his first year of international cricket!

He is a special talent and will only get better from here.

Yes young Naseem was the closest to Steyn I have seen he is still not bowling like that watch his five wicket haul vs SL and Karachi the late outswing and skiddy bouncers is what you got from Steyn, he is on the road to recovery and hopefully we will see his best in next 12 months.

These are some silly backhanded comments about Naseem because he is hardly short at 5'11... Especially comparing him to "Indias fast bowling factory"... at 5'11, he is taller than Shami, Bhuvi and Bumrah too. You are acting like all Indian pacers are enormous Shaheen-esque heights (without his skill ofcourse)!
He is not 5'11 bhai.
Also those weren't backhanded comments.
He is not taller than Bumrah, please check your fact again.

I would be surprised if there are 38 bowlers in India who can bowl over 135...

Naseem Shahs performance in asia cup vs Ind

27-2 vs Ind
45 - 1 vs Ind

Thats 72 - 3 - > avg 24, economy 9.
Decent performance at best vs Ind.

Did well against Afg.

Decent tournament for him as a bowler but nothing great.

You are acting like all Indian pacers are enormous Shaheen-esque heights (without his skill ofcourse)!
As for this comment, let Shaheen perform against the big boys in test cricket before comparing him with a bowler like Bumrah.

Actually let alone Bumrah, first let him perform like Shami or even Siraj for that matter.

This is going to be a very entertaining thread if Naseem remains injury free Inshallah

27-2 vs Ind
45 - 1 vs Ind

Did well against Afg.

Don't forget he is just a 19 year old baby in international cricket. Just like some of your favorite players(who are older than him by 5-6 years) he is yet to reach his peak. Infact he hasn't even started running, he is barely walking. It is funny that guys like you want to see 22 year old Umran play 2-3 years of domestic cricket first and expect a 19 year old Naseem to bowl like a world class bowler. :inti

As for this comment, let Shaheen perform against the big boys in test cricket before comparing him with a bowler like Bumrah.

Actually let alone Bumrah, first let him perform like Shami or even Siraj for that matter.

Yeah first let Shaheen perform like Siraj, Shami and Bumrah but first let him play another 5 years of cricket. He is just 22. You are getting too ahead of yourself now lol. :inti

Don't forget he is just a 19 year old baby in international cricket. Just like some of your favorite players(who are older than him by 5-6 years) he is yet to reach his peak. Infact he hasn't even started running, he is barely walking. It is funny that guys like you want to see 22 year old Umran play 2-3 years of domestic cricket first and expect a 19 year old Naseem to bowl like a world class bowler. :inti

Naseem, by his own admission, is 21. And that's just what he has admitted to.

27-2 vs Ind
45 - 1 vs Ind

Did well against Afg.

Lol19 years old (officially) and making his debut in this tournament. He will get better with experience. So this performance is more than decent.

bumrah is arguably indias greatest ever pacer. shaheen at the moment would get into an all time pak bowling attack. its a strange comparison, esp given they are not similar in style, they arent the same age, they have differing levels of experience, and for the most part have played their cricket on vastly different surfaces.

the focus of this topic should remain on the fact that some people completely wrote naseem off, and he has proved that if not world class yet, hes good enough to get into most teams bowling line ups. this original statement, regardless of how naseems career pans out, is an epic failure.

but lets not get carried away, naseems pace has dropped from low 150s to low 140s, he still is injury prone, and if he doesnt keep a tight line around off he will not be succesful in test cricket. medium term he needs to work on a wobble seamer, and trying to improve his upper pace limit by 5 clicks at least.

27-2 vs Ind
45 - 1 vs Ind

Did well against Afg.

So what's your verdict....Does India have 38 better bowlers than him or not

27-2 vs Ind
45 - 1 vs Ind

Did well against Afg.

Naseem Shah has become a superstar in this tournament

This was a major success tournament for him in every aspect.

What was stopping guys like Arshdeep and Avesh Khan to do things that would make them such global stars?

Getting axellent advice and guidance from Waqar Younis? :inti

Shaheen is far superior to Shami and Siraj despite being almost a decade younger!

Birman is a good bowler but any sane cricket fan would rather have Shaheen than Bumrah as a member of their cricket team… Shaheen is far younger Whilst their quality is pretty much the same.

bumrah is arguably indias greatest ever pacer. shaheen at the moment would get into an all time pak bowling attack. its a strange comparison, esp given they are not similar in style, they arent the same age, they have differing levels of experience, and for the most part have played their cricket on vastly different surfaces.

the focus of this topic should remain on the fact that some people completely wrote naseem off, and he has proved that if not world class yet, hes good enough to get into most teams bowling line ups. this original statement, regardless of how naseems career pans out, is an epic failure.

but lets not get carried away, naseems pace has dropped from low 150s to low 140s, he still is injury prone, and if he doesnt keep a tight line around off he will not be succesful in test cricket. medium term he needs to work on a wobble seamer, and trying to improve his upper pace limit by 5 clicks at least.

I think Naseem is better off keeping his pace to the 140s with a high 140s effort ball. Young Pat Cummins was also a tear away quick but he decided to tone down the speeds a notch to maintain longevity in his career. There is far too much cricket being played in this era for express fast bowlers to last long enough!

What’s stopping them is their looks. Even the Indian coach said our bowlers are not as sexy as the Pakistani bowlers but they get the job done. That comes a long way in making you a superstar if you’re already skillful enough unfortunately for the Indian bowlers they lack in both departments.

First of all you need to understand what 'Global star' means.

Secondly Arshdeep and Avesh Khan are nowhere near Naseem.

But the hype he is getting based on a decent performance in a tournament is just too much.

Shaheen is far superior to Shami and Siraj despite being almost a decade younger!

Birman is a good bowler but any sane cricket fan would rather have Shaheen than Bumrah as a member of their cricket team… Shaheen is far younger Whilst their quality is pretty much the same.
Just have a look at their test stats before declaring that their quality is same.

But the hype he is getting based on a decent performance in a tournament is just too much.

Lol it is nowhere near the hype which chotu bhaiya and Pandya gets though. :inti

Are you saying Naseem has not announced himself globally through this tournament?

I read on a social media post that in trials held by Islamabad United, one bowler namely Faheem Khan was consistently bowling at 155 k speed,and one ball he Bowl @ 160 k speed....
Is it true ,can anybody tell me [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION]

Wasn’t there some Varun guy who was making ripples a few years ago, supposedly bowling in domestic at 200 miles per hour or something?
What happened?

He is not 5'11" . A poster from PP has met him in person and he said he was just about 5'9" . :)

What’s stopping them is their looks. Even the Indian coach said our bowlers are not as sexy as the Pakistani bowlers but they get the job done. That comes a long way in making you a superstar if you’re already skillful enough unfortunately for the Indian bowlers they lack in both departments.

An entire generation of Pakistani fans had to find solace in the "s**iness" and the pace of Pakistani fast bowlers since they had little else to celebrate.:wy

I hope this trash talk comes good for you, buddy . Because if this new crop of elite bowlers makes little difference to the outcome of Pakistan's cricketing fortunes vis-a-vis India's, you'll have to teach your kids and grandkids the importance of your "s**iness" and pace so they too will have a coping mechanism :ssmith

An entire generation of Pakistani fans had to find solace in the "s**iness" and the pace of Pakistani fast bowlers since they had little else to celebrate.:wy

I hope this trash talk comes good for you, buddy . Because if this new crop of elite bowlers makes little difference to the outcome of Pakistan's cricketing fortunes vis-a-vis India's, you'll have to teach your kids and grandkids the importance of your "s**iness" and pace so they too will have a coping mechanism :ssmith
Why are you getting so salty? Wasn’t two first round exits enough for your team? If I was an Indian fan, I would keep quiet and let my team’s performance do the talking in the World Cup.

Pakistan fans are excited about the pace for certain as we had been deprived of this sight for a long time, and now we have five bowlers capable of producing electrifying spells of pace bowling. Their skill level is nowhere near most pace attacks though, the likes of Bumrah, Cummins, Starc, Rabada etc have played more than the combined total of matches of these five bowlers :facepalm:

Why are you getting so salty? Wasn’t two first round exits enough for your team? If I was an Indian fan, I would keep quiet and let my team’s performance do the talking in the World Cup.

Pakistan fans are excited about the pace for certain as we had been deprived of this sight for a long time, and now we have five bowlers capable of producing electrifying spells of pace bowling. Their skill level is nowhere near most pace attacks though, the likes of Bumrah, Cummins, Starc, Rabada etc have played more than the combined total of matches of these five bowlers :facepalm:
He isn't looking too much into it. He and some others believe that it is due to 'toss' our players performed poorly on the field. We will see you and other teams on patta pitches of Australia. Good luck. :kp :inti

Exactly.

I’m sure the toss wasn’t the reason the ‘in-form’ middle-order bombed spectacularly in two must-win games and blew two good/decent starts. Sharma and Kohli have carried the batting long enough, its time for Pandya, Pant, Yadav etc to step up.

What a beauty by Naseem to get Kusal Mendis!

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/7byzr2?autoplay=1&loop=0" width="560" height="560" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen allow="autoplay"></iframe>

They must have some good battery farms. Just need to clone more jasprits and that crazy *** action.

Pace bowling is generally an art and a tradition

Same history told us that India has never produced a fast bowler. Take it easy, stuff changes.

Producing fastest bowler isn't the point here. There have been just a handful of genuine fast bowlers in the world in the history of the game who have achieved something. So not able to produce a genuine fast bowler isn't something to be ashamed about.

Against India and SL, he took 4 wickets in 3 matches at an economy of 9.33.

Top bowler. India has never produced and never will produce such a high impact bowler. :)