"Instead of being thankful, Shahid Afridi backstabbed us, no longer my friend" : Harbhajan Singh

Former Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has vowed to never support Shahid Afridi again, after the latter’s controversial remarks during a visit of selected areas in Azad Jammu and Kashmir on Saturday.

A video went viral on the social media in which Afridi could be seen making comments against Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his government for the abrogation of Article 370 from Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

"Modi deployed 7 lakh soldiers in Kashmir, same as the total strength of Pakistani forces,” said Afridi. "I am in your beautiful village, I am very delighted. I was planning to visit you all for a long time. The world is currently infected by such a big disease. But the bigger disease is in Modi's mind.”

Earlier, Indian cricketers Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan had unleashed a social media storm by backing former Pakistan captain Afridi's foundation in its fight against the coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic.

The two countries are bitter rivals and the move touched a raw nerve in India.

Afridi's appeal for donations to help people affected by the deadly virus in Pakistan has had overwhelming support from leading cricketers.

But after Afridi’s recent remarks, Harbhajan no longer consider the former as his friend.

“Shahid Afridi is no longer my friend because he ridiculed my country and our prime minister,” said Harbhajan while talking to Sports Tak. “Me and Yuvraj supported Shahid Afridi’s work and his foundation purely on basis of humanity and instead of being thankful he backstabbed us. I will never support him again. I promise everyone that you will never see a video or post for Shahid Afridi in the future.”

Harbhajan also requested Indian fans to take into account his services for the country before abusing him on social media.

“I’m facing backlash on Twitter since Afridi’s statement but I just want to tell all those people to go look what I have achieved for our country before you use such harsh words. It is easy to abuse people on Twitter,” he said. “What people forget is that I have served this country for more than 20 years while also winning two World Cups.”

https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/n...r-shahid-afridi-in-the-future-harbhajan-singh

==

Shahid Afridi recently made controversial remarks against India and Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his recent visit to Pakistan occupied Kashmir (PoK). Afridi has always been a fierce critic of the Indian government and his recent comments have been roundly criticised in India. Afridi’s arch-rival Gautam Gambhir lashed out at his remarks, stating that the former batsman spews venom against India and the PM.

Inadvertently, two cricketers who have come into the line of fire are Harbhajan and Yuvraj Singh. Both cricketers extended a helping hand to the Shahid Afridi Foundation in its fight Coronavirus. The humanitarian effort was good in its heart but attracted plenty of flak due to Afridi’s stance towards India.

Harbhajan has not taken kindly to Afridi’s remarks, saying he plans on terminating his relation with the former Pakistan captain.

“This is very upsetting what Shahid Afridi has come up with, talking ill about our country and our Prime Minister. This is just not acceptable,” Harbhajan told India Today.

“To be honest, he (Afridi) asked us to make an appeal for his charity. In good faith, we did it for humanity and for the people suffering due to the Coronavirus. “Even our Prime Minister has said that Coronavirus is a fight that extends beyond borders, religions, and caste. So we were very clear with the cause that we were promoting, which was simply to help those in crisis.

“But this man (Afridi) is talking ill about our country. All I have to say is we have nothing to do with Shahid Afridi. He has no right to speak ill against our country and he should stay in his country and limits.”

Harbhajan went on to say that he doesn’t need to prove his loyalty to the country and is ready to serve at the border if needed.

“I was born in this country and will die in this country. I have played for my country for over 20 years and have won many games for India. No one can say that I have done anything against my country.

“Today or tomorrow, if my country needs me anywhere, even if at the border, I will be the first one to pick up a gun for the sake of my country.”

As for his relations with Afridi, it’s a closed chapter now. “One person asks me to make an appeal for the sake of humanity, and I did my bit. That was it. I have no relation or tie-up with any Shahid Afridi from here on,” Harbhajan signed off.

In reply to Afridi’s remarks, Gambhir wrote: “Pak has 7 lakh force backed by 20 Cr ppl says 16 yr old man [MENTION=134090]SAfridi[/MENTION]Official. Yet begging for Kashmir for 70 yrs.”

“Jokers like Afridi, Imran & Bajwa can spew venom against India & PM [MENTION=140582]Naren[/MENTION]dramodi ji to fool Pak ppl but won’t get Kashmir till judgment day! Remember Bangladesh?” he added.

Gambhir and Afridi shared intense cricket rivalry when the two were playing for their respective countries. The former Pakistan allrounder in his autobiography ‘The Gamechanger’, which was published in April last year, had given his opinion about Gambhir, someone he clashed with several times on the field during his career.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...and-pm-modi/story-8a4sSUf0fg7SCFnuotUH3M.html

LOL Bhajji and Yuvi were expecting anything else? If yes then they are fools of the highest order.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> is saying is not surprising. Pakistan was created on foundation of Hindu hatred. <br><br>When a Pakistani comes to India to make money through films, sports, business or even as a tourist, he puts on a mask of “love & humanity”.<br><br>This is the face behind the mask. <a href="https://t.co/TCCQwE22rG">pic.twitter.com/TCCQwE22rG</a></p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1261882004448014336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Tbh he is right. Why is Afridi playing this Shah Rukh Khan role of uniting the two countries and engaging its cricketers but also humiliating its PM and incompetent Army?

He needs to pick one side.

This is where India has failed as a country.

You cannot have views that go against Modi and their RSS extremist followers...

A person cannot do charity and have a view on its government.
Poor Harbijhan is clearly under so much pressure and taking so much abuse that he had to relent to their way of thinking or just state that he will no longer support Afridi...

I am a supporter of IK, but if someone who is doing charity work for the country and spirals our against IK, we’re not going to suddenly attack that person.

Tbh he is right. Why is Afridi playing this Shah Rukh Khan role of uniting the two countries and engaging its cricketers but also humiliating its PM and incompetent Army?

Actually that’s not right...
It’s the Indian way of thinking, same reasons for refusing to play Pakistan in cricket...
Warped, dangerous way of thinking.

This is where India has failed as a country.

You cannot have views that go against Modi and their RSS extremist followers...

A person cannot do charity and have a view on its government.
Poor Harbijhan is clearly under so much pressure and taking so much abuse that he had to relent to their way of thinking or just state that he will no longer support Afridi...

I am a supporter of IK, but if someone who is doing charity work for the country and spirals our against IK, we’re not going to suddenly attack that person.

Bhajji gave money to a guy who supports separatism in India and made comments againist the Indian nation, its PM, its armed forces.So ofcourse people will give him a piece of their mind.

LOL Bhajji and Yuvi were expecting anything else? If yes then they are fools of the highest order.

Afridi has proven his Indophobia on multiple occasions in the past. I really don't get why Bhajji is acting surprised.

Bhajji gave money to a guy who supports separatism in India and made comments againist the Indian nation, its PM, its armed forces.So ofcourse people will give him a piece of their mind.

Actually no that’s not right.
He has an opinion, a political affiliation and a stance on what he thinks is right and what is wrong.
What is that called? Oh yes, freedom of speach and freedom of expression.

If he takes the view that the Indian government and its army are doing something wrong then he has every to get to express that, it doesn’t mean that he wants to go to war with every Indian or that he hates its people.

Actually no that’s not right.
He has an opinion, a political affiliation and a stance on what he thinks is right and what is wrong.
What is that called? Oh yes, freedom of speach and freedom of expression.

If he takes the view that the Indian government and its army are doing something wrong then he has every to get to express that, it doesn’t mean that he wants to go to war with every Indian or that he hates its people.

No one is questioning Afridi.

But Bhajji.

He isn’t scared of India and Modi lol

Indians trying to drive Phobia into the equation just like they do in Jammu Kashmir

"Indians have smaller hearts".

"I smashed my TV as my daughter was watching an Indian show".

These don't really shout out "Modiphobia" to me. :afridi

First comment is an opinion.

There was context to the second one.

Most of his comments are aimed at Modi and the govt. and the treatment of Kashmiris.

:sendoff

Poor bhaji Under so much pressure and abuse from indians Has no choice to prove his loyalty Disgusting

Unfortunately not surprising We have bigger hearts :afridi

This must be the most emotional break up since asif apparently used veena malik for money

We don’t need Harbhijan as a friend. We can live without his friendship.

His charity actually helps hindus in Pakistan. I do not like Afridi but lets not spread false things.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We are in it together and we shall prevail together. Unity is our strength. Visited Sri Lakshmi Narain mandir along with <a href="https://twitter.com/JK555squash?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JK555squash</a> President <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> to deliver essential food items.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<br> <a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/1VpOhSkc8L">pic.twitter.com/1VpOhSkc8L</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1259461825860702208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

there was no specific context he clearly said he smashed it bcoz his daughter was imitating aarti

But this guy seems to hinduphobic as even danish kaneria said he didn't treat him well & it's bcoz of danish's religion !

https://scroll.in/field/962124/coul...ted-me-unfairly-says-pakistans-danish-kaneria

Yes, he was angry because he told his wife to watch the serials alone and he wasn't pleased to see his daughter there instead, imitating another religion's rituals. Not because of 'Hinduphobia.'

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We are in it together and we shall prevail together. Unity is our strength. Visited Sri Lakshmi Narain mandir along with <a href="https://twitter.com/JK555squash?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@JK555squash</a> President <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> to deliver essential food items.<br>Ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a><br>پاکستان بھر تک, آپ کے گھر تک<br> <a href="https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr">https://t.co/KGY2Gs2zUr</a> <a href="https://t.co/1VpOhSkc8L">pic.twitter.com/1VpOhSkc8L</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1259461825860702208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 10, 2020</a></blockquote>

Means nothing though. Modi stopped his speech in between to pay respect to azaan. That dont stop others to call him an Islamophobic. I think we run behind optics too much and forget the real persona.

First comment is an opinion.

There was context to the second one.

Most of his comments are aimed at Modi and the govt. and the treatment of Kashmiris.

:sendoff

In my opinion , Earth is flat. But that doesn't make me a flat earther because that's just my opinion . /s

:afridi

Yes, he was angry because he told his wife to watch the serials alone and he wasn't pleased to see his daughter there instead, imitating another religion's rituals. Not because of 'Hinduphobia.'

ohh i see ok

But even danish kaneria confirmed afridi's hinduphobia. I have given link above.

So according to the Hindutuva Inds, anyone that espouses Kashmiri peoples rights is anti Indian. Its says more about their own fascist mindset than anything about the person saying it. If Bhajji doesn't want to be his friend, so what. Let the Kashmiris chose

Sorry who? A fixer convicted in the Uk courts and banned from playing cricket again?

Exactly. But Indians would pick and choose anything that suits their narrative, regardless of realising that Kaneria had no chance against Afridi as a limited overs cricketer.

Who knows they might be texting each other and having a laugh together after Bhajji's statement. :inti

ohh i see ok

But even danish kaneria confirmed afridi's hinduphobia. I have given link above.

Did he? He didn't let me play odi cricket was his complaint, and anyone that saw Danish knew he was a poor odi player. Danish needs to look closer to home and the ECB for his banning, not PK cricket.

Sorry who? A fixer convicted in the Uk courts and banned from playing cricket again?

Think those hinduphobic discriminations that Danish Kaneria faced which Shoiab Akhtar also validated were before he fixed matches. So not sure what he being fixer has got anything to do with it.

Bhajji is behaving like a lady now. It has come down to: I won't be your friend because you spoke something bad about my other little fat friend!

Strange world now where you have to seek validation from trolls and please them before your every act. Trolls that have nothing productive to do all day than wiggle their a** on the couch. That is what has happened here. A noble cause between two individuals has been hijacked by a bunch of idiots on social media and the narrative has changed completely.

Afridi did a noble cause, and Bhajji supported him. That is humanity. And that is not related to Afridi's views on a different matter (Kashmir) which by the way is also a matter of humanity, that has been conveniently blanketed under 'its our internal business' cheap rhetoric.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This is why Harbhajan Singh is unhappy.<br><br>Shahid Afridi "We even brought down their 'choozay' from the air, gave them tea and then sent them back to their country with respect" <a href="https://t.co/QnMiE6ISAf">pic.twitter.com/QnMiE6ISAf</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1261995259426476032?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote>

In Bahrain.... when they were friends

Afridi-2.jpg

Think those hinduphobic discriminations that Danish Kaneria faced which Shoiab Akhtar also validated were before he fixed matches. So not sure what he being fixer has got anything to do with it.

Learn to write. This isn’t a twitter thread where you people can talk straight garbage and you’ll get a 100 likes just based on how many of you fascists there are

Afridi didn’t say anything wrong. Harbhajan has just shown his true cowardly colours. He’s using this as an opportunity to win the support of the fascists. He knows how stupid they are and how easy it is

I can legitimately label you an Indian RSS extremist...
Why? Because there is no matter what you will always defend your views even if it’s based on a bunch of stupid lies or on the words of a convicted cricketer and another one that faced bans for substance abuse and is now making money by making outrageous statements, a publicity *****.

In my opinion , Earth is flat. But that doesn't make me a flat earther because that's just my opinion . /s

:afridi

Indians having smaller or larger hearts isn't a verifiable fact like the theory of the Earth being flat or not.

Bhajji is behaving like a lady now. It has come down to: I won't be your friend because you spoke something bad about my other little fat friend!

Strange world now where you have to seek validation from trolls and please them before your every act. Trolls that have nothing productive to do all day than wiggle their a** on the couch. That is what has happened here. A noble cause between two individuals has been hijacked by a bunch of idiots on social media and the narrative has changed completely.

Afridi did a noble cause, and Bhajji supported him. That is humanity. And that is not related to Afridi's views on a different matter (Kashmir) which by the way is also a matter of humanity, that has been conveniently blanketed under 'its our internal business' cheap rhetoric.

Well said

Bhajji is acting like a smart lady though and doing the damage control. Can't blame him for this statement. The amount of jaahil trolls who were after him when he and yuvi supported Afridi had a lot to do with this statement. He doesn't want to be called a traitor. He is living in a third world country which is full of sensitive and intolerant people. You can find some of them in this thread too. :inti

I can legitimately label you an Indian RSS extremist...
Why? Because there is no matter what you will always defend your views even if it’s based on a bunch of stupid lies or on the words of a convicted cricketer and another one that faced bans for substance abuse and is now making money by making outrageous statements, a publicity *****.

Well. I too can label Afridi's statements as publicity ***** by a former cheater who got banned twice for ball tampering and wicket tampering. No ?

And I would agree with you.

This is not about Afridi or Harbijhan..
It’s not about the pawns who delivery their message, it’s about the extremism of India and the likes of you..

Don't open this topic bro. We also have ball tamperers and cheaters on our side and less we talk about fixing the better. :inti

It should be well-known by now that the biggest dispute between Pakistanis and Indians is the issue of Kashmir. Though lately I have been observing some dharam vs abrahamic religion kinda rhetoric.

Pakistani disagree with the Indian view.
Indians disagree with the Pakistani view.

Anybody who is shocked and surprised by this must be living in a bubble.

Also in India they don't have political correctness.

What they have is Modical correctness or BJPolitical correctness. If your views are not inline with their principals you will be feel the heat of a verbal public execution.

It should be well-known by now that the biggest dispute between Pakistanis and Indians is the issue of Kashmir. Though lately I have been observing some dharam vs abrahamic religion kinda rhetoric.

What they have is Modical correctness or BJPolitical correctness. If your views are not inline with their principals you will be feel the heat of a verbal public execution.

You are right. Modical correctness it is. :inti

Former Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has vowed to never support Shahid Afridi again, after the latter’s controversial remarks during a visit of selected areas in Azad Jammu and Kashmir on Saturday.

A video went viral on the social media in which Afridi could be seen making comments against Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his government for the abrogation of Article 370 from Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

"Modi deployed 7 lakh soldiers in Kashmir, same as the total strength of Pakistani forces,” said Afridi. "I am in your beautiful village, I am very delighted. I was planning to visit you all for a long time. The world is currently infected by such a big disease. But the bigger disease is in Modi's mind.”

Earlier, Indian cricketers Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan had unleashed a social media storm by backing former Pakistan captain Afridi's foundation in its fight against the coronavirus (Covid-19) pandemic.

The two countries are bitter rivals and the move touched a raw nerve in India.

Afridi's appeal for donations to help people affected by the deadly virus in Pakistan has had overwhelming support from leading cricketers.

But after Afridi’s recent remarks, Harbhajan no longer consider the former as his friend.

“Shahid Afridi is no longer my friend because he ridiculed my country and our prime minister,” said Harbhajan while talking to Sports Tak. “Me and Yuvraj supported Shahid Afridi’s work and his foundation purely on basis of humanity and instead of being thankful he backstabbed us. I will never support him again. I promise everyone that you will never see a video or post for Shahid Afridi in the future.”

Harbhajan also requested Indian fans to take into account his services for the country before abusing him on social media.

I’m facing backlash on Twitter since Afridi’s statement but I just want to tell all those people to go look what I have achieved for our country before you use such harsh words. It is easy to abuse people on Twitter,” he said. “What people forget is that I have served this country for more than 20 years while also winning two World Cups.”

https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/n...r-shahid-afridi-in-the-future-harbhajan-singh

Modi-ji-cal correctness strikes again!

He has been experiencing backlash even before Afridi's latest video. Modi-ji-cal correctness doesn't allow for a soft spot for Pakistan or its people. Acknowledging each other's differences and still maintaining a healthy relationship isn't allowed.

Afridi didn’t say anything wrong. Harbhajan has just shown his true cowardly colours. He’s using this as an opportunity to win the support of the fascists. He knows how stupid they are and how easy it is

Bro, Bhajji got a family and he has to live in India. Can't go against the general narrative.

I understand his point of view. In a fascist society you can't become a hero. Life is not a movie.

Mr. Afridi my advise to you is first join any political party or make yours own and then make statements. Phir acha bhi lage ga bolte huye.

He has done more than any politician in these past few weeks. Man's been going directly to the poorer areas and doing manual work of actually distributing sacs of rice/wheat/food.

What have you/me/*insert your favorite celebrity*/*insert your favorite politician* done?

Nope wrong. It maybe the biggest dispute that Pakistan wants to believe in but Indian stance is totally different. India has always been clear that no relationship, talks, ties or sports can resume with Pakistan unless cross border terrorism is stopped and Pakistan acts on its non state actors. And its not only current Modi govt, even Congress in the past also had same view but perhaps not as explicit. India has made it clear time and again in various international forums that cross border terrorism is the biggest and only issue between the two countries. Kashmir is Indian internal matter and after Aug 2019, its an Indian union territory managed by New Delhi. Just like we dont discuss about internal issues related to UP, Tamil Nadu or Maharastra with Pakistan, there is no question of discussing anything regarding Kashmir too.

The above is India's official stance. The rest of the fake bravados we see in twitter is just that.

Huuuuh?

Surely speaking on uniting the two countries would include criticism of the only leader on the two sides currently carrying out a military imposed, ethnic and religious based lockdown?

Huuuuh?

Surely speaking on uniting the two countries would include criticism of the only leader on the two sides currently carrying out a military imposed, ethnic and religious based lockdown?

You’ve still got to be respectful of the sentiments of the opposition. Look I’m personally enjoying the trolling, but I can’t help but think that Afridi seems to change his statements according to the place and environment he finds himself in.

Just my view.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Really disappointed by <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a>‘s comments on our Hon’b PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> ji. As a responsible Indian who has played for the country, I will never accept such words. I made an appeal on your behest for the sake of humanity. But never again. <br><br>Jai Hind &#55356;&#56814;&#55356;&#56819;</p>— yuvraj singh (@YUVSTRONG12) <a href="https://twitter.com/YUVSTRONG12/status/1262001367561846784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Nope wrong. It maybe the biggest dispute that Pakistan wants to believe in but Indian stance is totally different. India has always been clear that no relationship, talks, ties or sports can resume with Pakistan unless cross border terrorism is stopped and Pakistan acts on its non state actors. And its not only current Modi govt, even Congress in the past also had same view but perhaps not as explicit. India has made it clear time and again in various international forums that cross border terrorism is the biggest and only issue between the two countries. Kashmir is Indian internal matter and after Aug 2019, its an Indian union territory managed by New Delhi. Just like we dont discuss about internal issues related to UP, Tamil Nadu or Maharastra with Pakistan, there is no question of discussing anything regarding Kashmir too.

The above is India's official stance. The rest of the fake bravados we see in twitter is just that.

Will you be chanting your state's official stance like some kind of a diplomat on a mission for the rest of your life or will you for once question it critically and examine the bigger picture?

Will you for once be your own person and develop your own independent opinions and views on crucial affairs or are you happy to parrot the stance by politicians, who are not known to be the best and most honest of human beings?

Does anybody else feel that if we were to hide usernames, it would be difficult to tell one Indian poster from another, since they all seem to have the same manufactured opinions without any personality or thought of its own?

Bhajji is acting like a smart lady though and doing the damage control. Can't blame him for this statement. The amount of jaahil trolls who were after him when he and yuvi supported Afridi had a lot to do with this statement. He doesn't want to be called a traitor. He is living in a third world country which is full of sensitive and intolerant people. You can find some of them in this thread too. :inti

Agreed. He has played it to the masses. It is smart, and bails him out in the short-term.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Really disappointed by <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a>‘s comments on our Hon’b PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> ji. As a responsible Indian who has played for the country, I will never accept such words. I made an appeal on your behest for the sake of humanity. But never again. <br><br>Jai Hind ����</p>— yuvraj singh (@YUVSTRONG12) <a href="https://twitter.com/YUVSTRONG12/status/1262001367561846784?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Ok let me get this straight did Afridi promote violent non-state actors or counter border terrorism in his speech?

I only saw the clip posted in this thread so it's possible I might have missed it. Since that clip was posted I am assuming it was supposed to be highly controversial.

Indians want us to believe that the Pakistani military's backing of violent non-state actors is the actual issue between the two nations.

Then why did Afridi expressing a negative opinion about Modi caused such a reaction?

I am sensing the actual reason to be Modi-ji-cal correctness.

Does anybody else feel that if we were to hide usernames, it would be difficult to tell one Indian poster from another, since they all seem to have the same manufactured opinions without any personality or thought of its own?

Most of us would still be able to identify joshila and rajdeep though, for their unmatched hypernationalism and complete absence of critical thought respectively :afridi

Will you be chanting your state's official stance like some kind of a diplomat on a mission for the rest of your life or will you for once question it critically and examine the bigger picture?

Will you for once be your own person and develop your own independent opinions and views on crucial affairs or are you happy to parrot the stance by politicians, who are not known to be the best and most honest of human beings?

Only a couple here on PP do that and they are thought of as traitors by their countrymen.
Look at the abuse Yuvi and Harbijhan received from their countrymen.

These are surreal times we’re living in now where a pandemic is killing tens of thousands of people globally and a country of 1.2b people is falling to right wing extremism...

Ok let me get this straight did Afridi promote violent non-state actors or counter border terrorism in his speech?

I only saw the clip posted in this thread so it's possible I might have missed it. Since that clip was posted I am assuming it was supposed to be highly controversial.

Indians want us to believe that the Pakistani military's backing of violent non-state actors is the actual issue between the two nations.

Then why did Afridi expressing a negative opinion about Modi caused such a reaction?

I am sensing the actual reason to be Modi-ji-cal correctness.

He and Bhajji have to oppose publicly as both of them were under criticism lately for giving statements in favour of Afridi.

Shahid Afridi grows in stature politically with these comments. It helps him in his own country and at that he would not care about such so called friendship which are always superficial anyway.

It's similar to kind of things Gautam Gambhir used to say.

I think Afridi showed a lot of resilience in dealing with Gautam Gambhirs provocations but he's also finally stopped to the same level for political gains.

This does hurt relationship between the tek countries.

Not very mature stuff or choice of words there.

We will never get anything when we resort to name calling and stuff.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">What <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> is saying is not surprising. Pakistan was created on foundation of Hindu hatred. <br><br>When a Pakistani comes to India to make money through films, sports, business or even as a tourist, he puts on a mask of “love & humanity”.<br><br>This is the face behind the mask. <a href="https://t.co/TCCQwE22rG">pic.twitter.com/TCCQwE22rG</a></p>— Major Gaurav Arya (Retd) (@majorgauravarya) <a href="https://twitter.com/majorgauravarya/status/1261882004448014336?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Can someone give me the timestamp, where Afridi supported cross border terrorism or non-state actors in this video?

When a Pakistani comes to India to make money through films, sports, business or even as a tourist, he puts on a mask of “love & humanity”.

Ok maybe actors and singers are greedy business people but why vilify a Pakistani tourist?

I didn't even know Pakistani tourists are allowed in India.

Will a Pakistani tourist makes money in India or will he spend his money in India and contributes to Indian economy?

What's the purpose behind vilifying a tourist who is curious about your country? To create mistrust and prevent the two opposing group of people from interacting with one another and forming bonds of friendship instead of hate?

Does this guy really think that everybody in a country is supposed to blindly support his nation's official stance and can't have an opposing point of view?

Are we going to one day solve our differences by coming together as real people and not as diplomats of our state or are we going to solve them by promoting mistrust and drifting further and further away from one another?

There is this popular tourist vlogger on YouTube Karl Rock, whose videos on India really made me curious about the country from the tourist point of view but this kind of rhetoric just destroys any kind of interest.

"This is the face behind the mask"
What mask?
Did Afridi ever pretend to like Modi ji?
Did Afridi ever agree with Indians stance on Kashmir?

Criticizing Modi ji = Hindu hatred?
Ok Afridi was a bit too harsh with his words and his remarks could be seen as insulting a public figure. Still insulting Modi ji = Hindu hatred?

What's all this talk about Hindu hatred and foundation of Pakistan when the real issue is cross border terrorism and non-state actor?

Who is actually wearing a mask here?

Now before someone comes and narrates India's official stance again and tells me to ignore the false bravado on twitter: This tweet is by a retired Indian Major with a blue tick to his name and 1 million followers. Surely he must have quite an influence on the average Indian and the kind of rhetoric expressed by him can't just be seen as just another random troll.

You’ve still got to be respectful of the sentiments of the opposition. Look I’m personally enjoying the trolling, but I can’t help but think that Afridi seems to change his statements according to the place and environment he finds himself in.

Just my view.

Do you have statements where he has been pro modi?

Afridi as an active sportsman should have avoided making the comments he did, it was going to have a backclash

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Yes NEVER AGAIN no matter what <a href="https://t.co/PZBWAEoloR">https://t.co/PZBWAEoloR</a></p>— Harbhajan Turbanator (@harbhajan_singh) <a href="https://twitter.com/harbhajan_singh/status/1262016678851784705?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 17, 2020</a></blockquote>

Feel bad for bhajji and Yuvraj. They might get lynched by their rabid, blood thirsty countrymen

Lol at people here thinking they got "scared" of getting lynched by mobs and are "forced" to do this. :))

They helped Afridi with noble intentions and when their help is reciprocated by him abusing their PM and armed forces, they are reacting the way they're supposed to.

It's scary to see Indian dominance on social media, filled with abuse and personal attacks against Afridi

Lol at people here thinking they got "scared" of getting lynched by mobs and are "forced" to do this. :))

They helped Afridi with noble intentions and when their help is reciprocated by him abusing their PM and armed forces, they are reacting the way they're supposed to.

The help for Afridi was done knowing fully well that there is no peace on such fronts between Pakistan India - why this feigned surprise?

The Army is terrorizing innocent people. t the directive of the PM. Deserves criticism from all, including non terror sympathizing Indians. Are you one?