Inzamam-ul-Haq expects Pakistan to do well on the tour of New Zealand

MULTAN: Pakistan’s chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq has said that he is expecting Pakistan to do well on the tour of New Zealand.

“A camp will be set up in Lahore on December 23 to train players for the overseas tour,” Haq told reporters in Multan, where he was accompanied by former teammate Mushtaq Ahmed.

“Whoever performs well will be selected in the team,” he said, adding that Pakistan would arrive in New Zealand a week earlier to get used to local conditions.

To a question, the chief selector said that Pakistan Super League (PSL) should be played across the country, including Multan.

“We also want to boost club cricket,” he said.

Responding to another question, the cricket legend, who hails from Multan, said South Punjab has got a lot of new talent.

Speaking on the occasion, Mushtaq Ahmad appreciated services of Inzamam-ul-Haq Cricket Academy in Multan predicting that Multan would soon produce another Inzamam-ul-Haq. – SAMAA

https://www.samaa.tv/sports/2017/12/inzamam-expects-pakistan-well-nz-tour/

Some more quotes

"Its great that top-level cricket is now heading to Karachi as well and we hope that PSL matches will be played in all cities of Pakistan"
"Its important that we improve the basics of cricket in Pakistan to improve cricket in our country"
"Hopefully we will see some good cricketers coming out of Southern Punjab who will play FC cricket, PSL and also play for Pak team"

adding that Pakistan would arrive in New Zealand a week earlier to get used to local conditions.
Excellent, we need to start preparing properly for these overseas assignments. The preparation for the NZ and Australia tours last year was woefully inadequate.

Pakistan's ODI bowling attack is among the best in the world right now so no worries there. If the batting unit can put up a good show (not going to be easy) Pakistan should win the ODI series. The secret lies in the mindset. When in New Zealand bat like New Zealanders. Batting far too conservatively against NZ in NZ would be a recipe for disaster.

Hard to predict what will happen in T20s as NZ batting lineup is full of T20 match winners.

Pakistan's ODI bowling attack is among the best in the world right now so no worries there. If the batting unit can put up a good show (not going to be easy) Pakistan should win the ODI series. The secret lies in the mindset. When in New Zealand bat like New Zealanders. Batting far too conservatively against NZ in NZ would be a recipe for disaster.

Hard to predict what will happen in T20s as NZ batting lineup is full of T20 match winners.

Which country are you from?

I hope the likes of kamis, butts are not invited to the camp. I don’t know why i have a feeling that akmal is going to be back for the series (i hope not)

Predicting good batting performances from Babar, Malik, Fakhar, Hafeez on this tour.

No matter how good our bowling attack is, it will be put to the sword in a few games on the Micky Mouse boundaries and the big hitters of New Zealand who got no chill once they get going.

I hope Amir, Hassan and Rumman/junaid got this

Backing Faheem Ashraf to announce himself in a game where he clobbers a 25 ball 60

Which country are you from?

Confused? :))) How does it matter?
FBI here. Full Blooded Indian :). Doesn't mean I can't be neutral. I think Pakistan will win the ODI series if the batsmen do well. The likes of Babar should make use of the pace of the track and look to play more shots instead of focusing on the 'V' all the time. When there is good, consistent pace and bounce one should look to play cross batted shots too after the first few overs as they arguably fetch more runs.

I think last time we played very well in New Zealand but were a bit unfortunate and also didn't have the killer instinct - something which the kiwis had in abundance.

A 9th wicket partnership that was completely out of the ordinary, an Amir injury, and a second innings insane umpiring mistake resulted in us losing the matches as we did.

I think we are more balanced now however Hafeez not bowling and being in the team will hamper us. Also want to play two seam bowling all-rounders in the 11 instead of 1. This is the ideal place to give Talat, Yameen, H. Azam, A. Butt, or anyone else on the radar a go along with Fahim.

The only thing that goes against us is the rustiness and not having played international cricket in such a long time. It's like the real issue while our board head is squabbling over a meaningless league with a channel that he himself was a part of.

A comment just for the sake of it or can you point out a few examples of Inzamam not selecting a good squad?

Nahi yaar, I like Inzi except for 1 selection.

Mr Shan Masood :facepalm:

But anyway he’s definitely the best selector we’ve ever had.

If a good squad is picked I think we can. In the last series, we had NZ struggling badly but rubbish captaincy let NZ's lower order add a lot of valuable runs. Also in another match, Babar Azam and Hafeez were smashing NZ all over the park but then we collapsed and this was with a not so great ODI team. I think we can win the series if we play to our potential but it's not going to be easy.

Test;
Azhar
Ahmad shahzad
Umar amin
Saad ali
Asad shafiq
Haris
Sarfaraz
Yasir
Amir
Wahab
Nawaz
Reserves
Junaid
Fahim ashraf
Usman salahuddin

One dayers
Fakhar
Umar amin
Babar
Sarfaraz
Shoaib malik
Haris
Fahim
Imad/shahdab
Amir
Hassan
Junaid
Reserves
Imamul haq
Shahdab
Usman shinwari

20-20
Sahibzada farhan
Hussain talat
Babar
Umar akmal
Shoaib
Sarfaraz
Fahim
Shahzad/imad
Ruman
Shinwari
Hassan
Reserves
Amir yamin
Imad
Imamul haq

This series has a lot of hype. There are a lot of expectations for the Pakistan team to do well because of the performance in the Champions Trophy. I am skeptical to how they can do. Pakistan team is certainly strong, but New Zealand are not a bad outfit either.

Recently, NZ beat India in an ODI. The move for Tom Latham to #5 has been an excellent one. He is a superb player of spin and proved it in his hundred v.s. India. Imad and/or Shadab have their work cut out for them against him. Colin Munro has been awesome as well ever since moving to open. Scored 75 off 62 in the last match when NZ fell just 6 runs short of chasing 337. The weak part of their batting order is the lower-middle. Nicholls, De Grandhomme, and Santner are either too inexperienced or haven't performed well in the past. Key for Pakistan will to be to get 2-3 wickets early and put them on the backfoot.

Of course, Pakistan's bowling is well set. Amir and Junaid will open the bowling. Hasan and Faheem will definitely play as well as the 3rd and 4th seamers respectively. As for the 5th bowler, Pakistan have been playing Imad and Shadab together, but with the emergence of Faheem one of them may have to sit out. Shadab brings athleticism in the field, wicket-taking ability, and the potential to construct a long innings in case of a batting collapse. Imad brings a defensive option with the ball, and boundary hitting skill with bat. Will be a tough choice for Mickey and Sarfraz, but expect them to make the right one. Malik will do okay as the 6th bowling option and off-spin.

Pakistan's batting is settled, but prone to collapses as seen on June 4th against India and one of the ODIs against Sri Lanka in UAE. There is a heavy reliance on Babar Azam and if he gets out early, there is a high chance of a low score. Especially with Sarfraz Ahmed not having scored a lot of runs in the past few months. Fakhar Zaman and Imad Wasim have also been relatively poor with the bat in recent times, but expect them to do well on the flat tracks of NZ and the small boundaries. Pakistan need their two most explosive hitters to come back into form. Azhar Ali seems to be fit and should slot into the opening slot ahead of Imam ul-Haq. It remains to be seen whether or not Mohammad Hafeez will be selected, but don't think Pakistan will need him. As Haris Sohail is a more than capable replacement. Or Pakistan have the option of playing an extra all-rounder and moving Shoaib Malik up to #4. Malik needs to redeem himself after a low-scoring torunament in England. He has an opportunity to better his record outside of Asia. Faheem Ashraf looks to be Pakistan's best hitter on potential, this will be his chance to prove himself, while Hasan Ali's slogging abilities should also be utilized.

NZ's bowling looks strong on paper, but all of them are known to bowl poorly on a given day in this format. Boult and Southee aren't as prolific in ODIs, though very strong. Santner won't be much effective in these conditions. The new ball is their best opportunity to get Pakistan. For them, it's very much about wickets up top just like Pakistan. Choking the run rate won't be much effective, as Pakistan bat deep (Amir with two fifties at #10) and can start hitting whenever required.

I hope rain does not occur. That will be a spoiler.

Pakistan's ODI bowling attack is among the best in the world right now so no worries there.

This is just a myth and it is about time that we understand the science of different conditions. Yes our bowlers did do world class stuff on UAE and English pitches, but that does not mean that they would automatically do well in NZ. A different technique is required for bowling on bouncy conditions and so bowlers will have to work as hard as the batters to get adjusted to such conditions.

Luckily we’re arriving a week earlier to acclimatise to conditions :)

Against New Zealand, Inzamam backs ‘Champions Trophy winners’ Pakistan

KARACHI: Pakistan chief selector Inzamamul Haq believes national team has the ability to perform well against New Zealand when Sarfraz Ahmed’s men travel Down Under for a limited-overs series in January. Pakistan will play five ODIs and three T20Is against New Zealand, and Inzamam is hopeful Sarfraz and his men will take inspiration from their Champions Trophy victory, where they delivered a championship-winning performance. “Pakistan won the Champions Trophy; they’ll be successful against New Zealand too,” Inzamam said while addressing media on Sunday.

Inzamam said conditions in England were difficult during the Champions Trophy but Pakistan pulled a rabbit out of the hat and walked away with the silverware. “Conditions in England were not easy during the Champions Trophy but Pakistan put on a brilliant performance to claim the title,” he said. “The players we selected lived up to the expectations and were successful in producing splendid performances.”

Inzamam left Afghanistan head coach job to take up the role of chief selector with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), and he admitted that delivering results in his position is not a piece of cake. “Selecting teams is not an easy task,” he said. “It is a stressful job, but we try to absorb the pressure and try to make decisions based on merit. All selectors have only one aim: to find a balanced squad.” The 47-year-old said selecting players on merit always gave fruits. “We selected suitable players for Champions Trophy and they performed even in difficult English conditions. I hope we’ll be able to maintain these standards.” Former captain continued that conditions in New Zealand would be difficult too, but they’ll do their best to select a squad which can perform well. “I am hopeful that young players will perform to the best of their abilities and bag victory on the New Zealand tour, which will offer trying conditions.”

‘Don’t own a team in T10 Cricket League’: Inzamam made headlines in the past few months for trying to buy a franchise in the upcoming T10 Cricket League set to take place in Dubai from December 14-17. PCB first disallowed him from taking any part in the league but then allowed him to buy a franchise, if he followed certain conditions. However, when asked if he owned a team in the league, Inzamam replied in the negative. “I don’t own any team in the league, but the format is good, and cricket will become much faster because of it,” he replied to the question.

‘Focus set on grassroots cricket’: Pakistan’s domestic cricket structure has always got flak from former cricketers, who believe it should be developed in order to produce better quality of players. Inzamam clarified PCB’s stance on the matter and said the development of domestic cricket is a work-in-progress. “PCB is trying its best to promote club cricket,” he said. “If the foundation is strong, players will be able to perform better at the international level. When club cricket in Pakistan was good, the national team mirrored it.” Inzamam said PCB is also trying to promote five-day cricket at district, division and regional levels. He also praised the initiative of bringing three Pakistan Super League matches to Pakistan, saying “it is good for cricket in the country”.

https://dailytimes.com.pk/156964/new-zealand-inzamam-backs-champions-trophy-winners-pakistan/

Pakistan will win both the Test series and ODI series.

NZ will struggle to score over 250 in all the innings irrespective of the format.

Pak has the best bowling attack and NZ will get no respite unlike the last time where the likes of Wahab Riaz and a comeback Amir weakened the attack.

NZ will struggle to score over 250 in all the innings irrespective of the format.

Pak has the best bowling attack and NZ will get no respite unlike the last time where the likes of Wahab Riaz and a comeback Amir weakened the attack.

I doubt it. Pakistan bowling in tests is nothing special. They have good ODI bowling attack but in tests they are still figuring out their best bowling attack. They rely on Yasir a lot and on NZ pitches he will not get any help. You are overrating Pakistan's test attack. I agree Pakistan has a great ODI attack.

I am watching the WI-NZ series and I am not convinced by NA batting. Even their bowling is average apart from Boult.The likes of Wagner, Southee, Santner does not inspire any confidence.

A bowling attack of Amir(finally find his groove), Hasan Ali, Raees/Shinwari/Junaid and Yasir will be hard to deal with for Kiwis. No weakness that NZ batsmen can exploit.

The only issue is Pak batting. If Pak batting unit can put up 250 scores consistently, they will win the series. If they keep collapsing, even Pak bowling cannot help them. All it needs is Babar to start contributing and things will look different.

Also, there is no spinner in NZ of the calibre of Herath to torment Pak batsmen.

I am watching the WI-NZ series and I am not convinced by NA batting. Even their bowling is average apart from Boult.The likes of Wagner, Southee, Santner does not inspire any confidence.

A bowling attack of Amir(finally find his groove), Hasan Ali, Raees/Shinwari/Junaid and Yasir will be hard to deal with for Kiwis. No weakness that NZ batsmen can exploit.

The only issue is Pak batting. If Pak batting unit can put up 250 scores consistently, they will win the series. If they keep collapsing, even Pak bowling cannot help them. All it needs is Babar to start contributing and things will look different.

Also, there is no spinner in NZ of the calibre of Herath to torment Pak batsmen.

Seriously? Wagner averages 22 in the last 2 years with over 80 wickets and you say he is not convincing. Amir who during the same period of time has an average of 37 with an SR of 81 is supposed to bowl the Kiwis out? Hasan Ali is the only hope for Pakistan in NZ. He needs to be in grove in tests like he is in ODI's. Pakistan will receive lots of short pitched stuff from Wagner and they would have to negotiate that in order to score runs. I feel that this will be bowling dominated series with NZ edging Pakistan out in batting and scoring enough runs.

There aren't any tests. This is the ODI leg of the tour.

1 week isnt gonna do us any good. We lost 2-0 last time. Best case would be a drawn series. Luckily Zamam plays well in those conditions.

ODI Squad

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Azhar Ali (will probably retain his spot to begin with)
3. Babar Azam
4. Shoaib Malik
5. Mohammad Hafeez (as a batsman, could switch spots with Malik depending on situation)
6. Sarfraz Ahmed (can't go any lower)
7. Fahim Ashraf (aggressive pace all-rounder, can do well in NZ)
8. Shadab Khan
9. Hasan Ali
10. Mohammad Amir
11. Junaid Khan

Reserves

12. Amir Yamin (really want to see him, great prospect)
13. Imam ul-Haq (did well enough against Sri Lanka to warrant selection)
14. Rumman Raees
15. Mohammad Asghar/Umar Amin (can either pick between a pure spinner or another batsman)

I doubt it.

Last time we toured - NZ chased 290 and scored 280+ after being 80/5.

I expect atleast a few 300+ scores.

Not much changes in the team. Look at the batting line up and how much they score. Bowling line up is pretty much capable and remain the same.

Usually the ball swings a fair bit in NZ. Pitches and the conditions there generally assist swing bowling. So I think Pak pacers will do well there especially since the Kiwi batsmen except Williamson and Latham seem to have the tendency to swing their bat at everything.

Btw Azhar Ali making it to the XI is a tactical surprise. Surprising in a not so pleasant way,

Usually the ball swings a fair bit in NZ. Pitches and the conditions there generally assist swing bowling. So I think Pak pacers will do well there especially since the Kiwi batsmen except Williamson and Latham seem to have the tendency to swing their bat at everything.

Btw Azhar Ali making it to the XI is a tactical surprise. Surprising in a not so pleasant way,
He passed 50 in the SF and Final which were his last two ODI innings so unfair to drop him.

We have all bases covered for LOIs and should play any three of these 5 in this order,

1_Amir
2_Hasaan
3_Shinwari
4_Rumnan
5_Junaid

And with Fahim as pace all rounder who can bowl 140 kph plus stuff this can be top 2 pace attack in next WC, only Australia with fit Starc, Hazelwood, Cummins, and Pattinson along with Mitch Marsh as fourth seamer can outdo us, and if batting of both team clicks I can see Pak vs Australia final in UK just like 1999, but just hope final have different result this time.

But for tests we have 2 sure startes in Amir and Hassan even though Amir hasn't been to his pre ban level in test and time is running out, and Hassan is also a newbie in Tests but has all ingredients other than tall height to be successful in test as well if he can keep up the good work, Abbas makes it as 3rd seamer based on current form but I am not sold on him, with his pace he will have to be M.Asif level good to retain his place and I don't think he can pull that off in long run on docile pitches vs top teams, Shinwari with his action can be very injury prone in tests but we can try him out in Wahab role as inforcer if his fitness permits in short sharp burst of 3 to 4 overs otherwise he is too valuable for LOI side to be forced to play tests and get injured, Rumman Raess could also be tried before being labeled as LOI specialist, he has increased his pace and can be very deceptive has great control as well. And JK if he can show good performance in FC can also be given a go if other options fail, and we badly need a tall and fast bowler like Shaheen Shah Afridi but he should first prove himself at least by playing next full FC season if not 2 more that he deserves a place and if he can make it big we will have one of the best attack for tests as well along with Fahim on Pace friendly pitches as fourth seamer, So do you guys agree with me, and [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=137148]Rayyman[/MENTION] [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=140234]DRsohail[/MENTION] [MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] [MENTION=93712]MenInG[/MENTION]

For New Zeland tour this is the ideal squad in my opinion considering all things and being realistic,

1_Fakhar
2_Azhar
3_Babar
4_Harris
5_Sarfraz
6_Malik
7_Fahim
8_Shadab
9_Amir
10_Hassan
11_Rumman

Reserves

12_Imam
13_Junaid
14_Umer Amin
15_Imad

In ideal world sharjeel for azhar would have made this a great LOI side and a keeper who could have a 5th gear but dilemma is we have to get sarfi in for his captaincy even though as a player his performance off late doesn't merit selection, and he need to show some spine and take responsibility and bat at 5 in middle overs where he can be most useful with his limited skill set, there he can hold inning together and bash spinner and rotate strike vs pacers, anywhere else he become counter productive for team cause.
He should realize this being a good captain is all cool but the being just a specialist captain you Don't have much breathing space, the moment he start losing few matches on the trott the Knives will be out.

Any realistic changes you would make? [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

[MENTION=132340]Zeshan547[/MENTION]

I am hoping Hafeez gets dropped. Probably won't happen though.

Then I hope he does bad in first two-three games so somebody can replace him in XI. Preferably a batsman in Harris or an all-rounder in Faheem/Imad/Shadab.

For New Zeland tour this is the ideal squad in my opinion considering all things and being realistic,

1_Fakhar
2_Azhar
3_Babar
4_Harris
5_Sarfraz
6_Malik
7_Fahim
8_Shadab
9_Amir
10_Hassan
11_Rumman

Reserves

12_Imam
13_Junaid
14_Umer Amin
15_Imad

In ideal world sharjeel for azhar would have made this a great LOI side and a keeper who could have a 5th gear but dilemma is we have to get sarfi in for his captaincy even though as a player his performance off late doesn't merit selection, and he need to show some spine and take responsibility and bat at 5 in middle overs where he can be most useful with his limited skill set, there he can hold inning together and bash spinner and rotate strike vs pacers, anywhere else he become counter productive for team cause.
He should realize this being a good captain is all cool but the being just a specialist captain you Don't have much breathing space, the moment he start losing few matches on the trott the Knives will be out.

Any realistic changes you would make? [MENTION=79064]MMHS[/MENTION]

It's a hypothetical team, because we do know that MoHa & Azhar will start.

In your starting team, I'll replace FZ with Amin, and Azhar with Maqsood - rest are fine. I would like to take Irfaaaan as well, because guy is bowling exceptionally well with new ball, but he won't last till 2019. Not sure who, but I would like to see a new ball partner for Amir, preferably right armer - Raees is not a new ball specialist, neither JK or UKS and all 3 are lefti. If he was few years younger, I would have definitely, definitely picked Asif and bowl him in 7+3 spells inside 25 overs. For the time being, Raees is fine. I am just wondering why this guy Umaid Asif was never tried - guy is 6'5" and bowls on fantastic length at pace with a high arm action & up-right seem; it's like a dream bowler for ENG/NZ wickets.

For 5 reserves, FZ, Talat, Aga Salman, JK (or a new pacer) & one genuine spinner (Raza Hasan) over Imad. PAK has to come out of this dart syndrome, it's not helping anyone; economy is a key KPI only in T20, for ODI one should pick spinners for taking wickets in middle overs.

He passed 50 in the SF and Final which were his last two ODI innings so unfair to drop him.

That's why I felt it's a tactical surprise in a negative way. If I'm the selector I'd bring in someone a bit more aggressive and confuse NZ. 50 ain't much of an accomplishment these days anyway. Especially at the rate he's scoring them. PCB selectors should demand what BCCI selectors demanded from Pujara. Pujara was asked to increase his scoring rate in Tests if he wants to keep his place in the XI. He responded positively to this. Azhar should score at a better SR in NZ. 75-80 is too slow.

Man I want to see this squad. Series starts in 2 weeks.

Of course there is talk of a rubbish camp to take place. But no news of that either. I'm guessing it will be a short camp too. Only like 3-6 days.

Ikr, anxious for it to be released.

Typical PCB though, any other board would have released the squad weeks ago :(

Excellent, we need to start preparing properly for these overseas assignments. The preparation for the NZ and Australia tours last year was woefully inadequate.

Only a week earlier!It should have been at least two weeks.

I doubt it.

Last time we toured - NZ chased 290 and scored 280+ after being 80/5.

I expect atleast a few 300+ scores.

Actually they were 99/6 but acha bacha Azhar Ali decided he would stop captaining after that point. Sarfaraz Ahmed wipes the floor with Azhar Ali as captain. If Saifi has a team at 99/6 you can bet your bottom dollar the opposition will be dismissed under 150.

I hope so!

The only changes probably will be Junaid, Shinwari out. They will have to add a new pacer unless they go with TTF's.

According to youube video, Kamran is returning along with Shoaib maqsood.

Don't know who will replace Junaid and Shinware, may be Gul and Sami as experience players. Anything possible under PCB

Recycling same TTFs again and again and expect better performance are mockery of die hard fans like us.

Beating NZ in NZ is not a joke, there batting is very aggressive , Pakistan need to take right combination there .

I see Amir, Hasan and Rumman being the first choice attack with Fahim in there as well. In terms of replacing Junaid and Shinwari who are huge losses I'd say they'll bring in a bench warmer. I don't see them bringing in another young fast bowler but probably someone like Sohail Khan or Umar Gul as a stop-gap solution for the tour. They're probably thinking of using Malik, Imad and Shadab to bowl some of the overs if you think about it like that. T20's is not an issue at all.